India, the easiest prey for the opposition in the 2019 World Cup semi-finals?

KP From India

The bubble is about to burst.With this pathetic batting approach, we wont beat Bangladesh.
Any team would love to face Ind in semifinal and would be a walkover.
Opinions?

The only 'walkovers' are the ones who will not reach the SF.

And anyone who says that'India's batting is weak' based on the one match against England is thinking with his rear end. We did manage 300+ in the chase, something not many others have done.

The SF will be competitive and every team that reaches it will do well.

I think they’re taking the matches lightly knowing they’re already qualified, we may see a different performance in the knockout matches.

India will be up for it. I back them. Dhawan's loss has hurt them big. INdia has to cover hi absence somehow.

Also scoring 300 on a bad day sound pretty freaking good to me

Great just great. Only lost one match and bubble burst! I pity who lost more then one, for them forget bubble whole dam burst!

If Kohli and Rohit are out early other Indian batsmen in Rahul, Pant, Dhoni, Jhadav, Pandya cant chase 300 even if they bat twice and that is their weakest link.

India is getting their selection right at the back end. Pant or Mayank is much better than 3D. They will probably open with Mayank and bat Rahul at 4. Also, this is a good lesson that wrist spinners aren't mandatory in every game. I still think this cup is Aussies' to lose but India won't be a pushover.

If Kohli and Rohit are out early other Indian batsmen in Rahul, Pant, Dhoni, Jhadav, Pandya cant chase 300 even if they bat twice and that is their weakest link.

Take out two gun batsmen from every side and they won't chase 300. Heck, even with all the batsmen, chasing 300 is tough. Indian bowling has been the most economical in the WC barring one game and they don't let teams score many usually

Without Jason Roy we all saw how England flunked.

With the way India played yesterday, I will not be surprised if we lose against Bangladesh and Sri Lanka both and exit the tournament in tears. Pathetic team with no intention and capability to win. Bangladesh is much better and more deserving team than India to go through.

They conceded 386 to England. Come on man lol. India scored 352 against OZ, 338 against Pak, 308/5 against England (despite zero intent in the last 5 overs)

How can India potentially be the “easiest prey”, when Pakistan and Bangladesh still have a 1 in 100 chance of qualifying?

It should've been ENG if your fav Roy wasn't playing. India would've easily won against this ENG side if we had Dhawan too.

easiest way to beat them..win toss, make a big score, ensure you get kohli and rohit out before the end , then watch dhoni tuk tuk..he wont go for it since he's too old now so no need to worry..key wicket is probably pandiya..

It should've been ENG if your fav Roy wasn't playing. India would've easily won against this ENG side if we had Dhawan too.

England are fully capable of beating India and Australia with or without Roy, but the presence of Roy makes England favorites against India.

The disadvantage for India against England is that no lineup can make bhel puri out of Kuldeep and Chahal like they can.

It was in India’s best interests to beat England in order to enhance the possibility of Pakistan or Bangladesh making the semis, who have no chance of beating India unless the latter has a complete stinker.

Complain if you have to complain. But at least make sense when you do so.

India made 37 runs in the last 5 overs chasing 340 odd. Bangladesh made 31 runs in the last 5 chasing 380+

And what's more, they had Mushfiqur batting at 100 and batting till the last ball. And even he didn't try to push past a SR of 100.

So let's shun this rubbish about which team "deserves" a SF spot and which ones don't, okay chief?

England are fully capable of beating India and Australia with or without Roy, but the presence of Roy makes England favorites against India.

The disadvantage for India against England is that no lineup can make bhel puri out of Kuldeep and Chahal like they can.

It was in India’s best interests to beat England in order to enhance the possibility of Pakistan or Bangladesh making the semis, who have no chance of beating India unless the latter has a complete stinker.

I saw what you did there. You cleverly ignored my point about Dhawan's absence. Why don't you agree that India is fully capable of beating ENG too if we had Dhawan and not useless Rahul?

Irony - You dig a hole for someone else but you are going to fall inside instead!

India may have deliberately lost to England to stop Pakistani hopes to reach semis. Many of my Indian friends disaggre but it is true, but don't forget digging hole for us your team has created a scenario where they are going to fell instead. England defeat has shown other potential teams that India is beatable and exactly where they are the weakest at the most. If England or Aus face you in knock outs then just watch out the whole effort can be a wasted when in matters the most in knockouts.

England can be deadly in knockouts..

By throwing the England match India ruined an opportunity of qualifying as 1st and facing NZ or Pak in the semis who would have been an easy semi. They will qualify as 2nd and play Eng :))

Karma is a #### it will definitely come back and bite in ...... :sree

India may have deliberately lost to England to stop Pakistani hopes to reach semis. Many of my Indian friends disaggre but it is true, but don't forget digging hole for us your team has created a scenario where they are going to fell instead. England defeat has shown other potential teams that India is beatable and exactly where they are the weakest at the most. If England or Aus face you in knock outs then just watch out the whole effort can be a wasted when in matters the most in knockouts.

its ok. let it go now :) India will win the semi and the final as long as they bat MS at #7 or #8, unless there is a collapse.

Thats how important Indo-Pak rivalry is to them; they'd throw the match and risk a harder tie.

Over here our log are supporting India lol. Allow that. I'd go down and out with pride than support them for help.

CT remember?

I'll rather face England in knock outs than an inspired Pakistan.

English are monotnous. Pakistan is unpredictable.

I can only laugh at the notion that India fixed the match against England so that Pakistan doesn’t qualify.

India dug a hole for themselves by losing to England. By beating England, they would have significantly increased their chances of winning the World Cup.

Beating England would have given India an opportunity of finishing top, and facing Pakistan in the semi-final would have been a walk in the park.

India can only lose to Pakistan if they have a complete stinker. The gulf between the two times is huge. Even at 70%, India would easily beat Pakistan.

On the other hand, England are fully capable of beating India even if the latter brings its A game.

By eliminating England, the World Cup would have been between India and Australia. Now it is between England, India and Australia.

Okay, we believe that :)))

I can only laugh at the notion that India fixed the match against England so that Pakistan doesn’t qualify.

India dug a hole for themselves by losing to England. By beating England, they would have significantly increased their chances of winning the World Cup.

Beating England would have given India an opportunity of finishing top, and facing Pakistan in the semi-final would have been a walk in the park.

India can only lose to Pakistan if they have a complete stinker. The gulf between the two times is huge. Even at 70%, India would easily beat Pakistan.

On the other hand, England are fully capable of beating India even if the latter brings its A game.

By eliminating England, the World Cup would have been between India and Australia. Now it is between England, India and Australia.
Yet, there was a conspiracy by ICC against England and for Pakistan?

It is all about one team having a bad day but our wonderful Pakpassion supporters feel that Amir will do a Wasim and knock the daylights out of team india 🤭 who are so afraid of loosing even after the mauling of over 100 runs in the recently concluded match...

If they threw the match as you suggest than how does that exactly show other teams how to beat India.
Matter in fact it’s an ingenious tactics, they have just under played showing a weak side of them but next time they won’t be playing to lose.

Wow! Ingenious from Virat and Shastri, I didn’t expect such forward thinking and planning from those two z

England team is not deadly in knockout but obviously they have fair chance to beat india due to there group match win which have exposes few weaknesses in indian team .

No wonder pakistan cricket is in a mess where no one wants to take responsibility for the hole they have created for themselves 😔

C'mon guys I know all media personality and ex players are trying to be diplomatic while dropping subtle hints that India actually did lose deliberately. We all saw the match and saw what happened in the first 10 overs and the last 10 to 12 overs. Anyone with basic cricket knowledge can see Dhoni's slow batting, a small ground with no sixes when chasing a total of 338 till the very last over when the game was lost. India is fooling no one and people defending them are either very gullible or know deep inside what happened.

No doubt India were less motivated against England for some strange reason that even honest Indian fans will accept. India if they finish second will end up with the more difficult semi final it seems.

Yet, there was a conspiracy by ICC against England and for Pakistan?

ICC did all they could to screw England, but it appears that Bairstow’s moaning put them under pressure.

Any proof?

Also, why would ICC deliberately try to oust one of their Big 3 cash cows?

But the final will be NZ vs PAK.

India did not stretch itself against Eng. I don’t think India considers either Pakistan or England as especially tough. It can lose against either team depending on how the day goes but on a normal day, it should beat both. India’s only main challenger is Australia.

There’s an extra spice, for Indians especially Dhoni, in making life difficult for Pakistan.

There’s no conspiracy. India did not want to expose all its strengths to England and has no interest in making Pakistan’s life easier.

No harm meant!

Any proof?

Also, why would ICC deliberately try to oust one of their Big 3 cash cows?

No proof because it is my conjecture. I believe that the ICC got a high from the crazy support for India and Pakistan in England, and they saw a lot of £££ in having another Pakistan India knockout match.

The pitch for the Pakistan vs New Zealand match was clearly designed to keep Pakistan in the World Cup.

:)) Exactly. People need to realise that we are not invincible. Other teams are fully capable of beating us.

Aisay kaisay Invincible naye hai? [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] used to say India no.1 then 1000 feet of dirt then no.2 team.. now they lost and every Indian is like we are not invincibles? itni jaldi tu girgit bhi rang naye badalta..

I didn’t say that. I said England and India are the two best teams and it is 50-50 between them.

Main Mamoon hun kya? Or can you not differentiate between 2 different posters? :)))

India are capable of beating England. Even though they would rather play NZ, India can beat England.

I think biggest hole was whien scored around 100 in first match don't you agree?
Guys to be good is not by blaming others but looking ones faults
And then calling another team kamine shows how deep is hurt

To some of our salty Pakistani friends here, just accept it that your team is simply not good enough, if they were you wouldn't have to piggyback off other teams trying to qualify.

I don’t see NZ beating any of Pakistan, Australia, India, or England in the semi final. They are the team that the others want to face.

It is all about one team having a bad day but our wonderful Pakpassion supporters feel that Amir will do a Wasim and knock the daylights out of team india 🤭 who are so afraid of loosing even after the mauling of over 100 runs in the recently concluded match...

Looking at Pathetic Pakistan Batting and tundler Bowling ...its comic that you are so confident stating that.

Yes otherwise they would have just given up instead of trying to win against India. Also England aren't that good in knockouts.

I saw what you did there. You cleverly ignored my point about Dhawan's absence. Why don't you agree that India is fully capable of beating ENG too if we had Dhawan and not useless Rahul?

A fully fit England vs a fully fit India is 50-50

England with Roy vs India without Dhawan is 60-40 England.

India with Dhawan and England without Roy is 80-20 India.

Explanation:

Dhawan is better than Roy, and Rahul is far better than Vince. Rahul is actually an excellent batsman who is low on confidence because there is too much pressure on him to perform. He simply has no room for failure.

No matter how many runs he scores as an opener, he will never be able to nail that position because of Rohit and Dhawan, plus Prithvi Shaw is breathing on his neck as well, and India have not given him a decent run at #4 because of Rahane, Rayudu, Shankar, DK and now they have thrown Pant into the mix as well. In the future, Gill and perhaps Samson will be in the mix as well.

Rahul is lost in the Indian setup and he is unlucky because he is neither from the Kohli, Rohit, Dhawan generation or the Pant, Shaw, Gill generation. If he was born 2-3 years earlier or later, he would have had more concrete opportunities.

Rohit failed for his first 5 years but India still persisted with him and he eventually delivered big time.

Since his ODI debut, India have played 77 ODIs and Rahul has only played 21.

That is not a conductive environment for a batsman to thrive in especially in a high performance team like India, where you are required to score big hundreds frequently like the the maestros Kohli, Rohit and Dhawan.

India simply don’t know what to do with him. They have the greatest top 3 in history, but the #4 has been a problem and they haven’t been patient with him. He has only been given 5 matches.

Had India stuck with him at #4 since his debut instead of wasting time with misfit mediocrities, today the world would have been in awe of India’s top 4 and not just top 3.

India is going to CRUSH England in the KOs.

Cornered Tigers Pakistan would have been much more difficult but i would never throw a match to avoid cornered tigers in semis.

Jazba Daleri Badmashi - As my idol Shoaib Akhtar are the three elements that make you a real Jatt

I do not know why some people think India fixed the England game. There is no evidence for it and it is disrespectful to think like that.

No proof because it is my conjecture. I believe that the ICC got a high from the crazy support for India and Pakistan in England, and they saw a lot of £££ in having another Pakistan India knockout match.

The pitch for the Pakistan vs New Zealand match was clearly designed to keep Pakistan in the World Cup.

Hahahahaa ooh man. Did they also made sure PAK batted 1st? That pitch was a nightmare batting 2nd, did you even watch the game?

If the ICC wanted PAK to go through they would never have given ENG 2 flat tracks in a row in a must win games with baby boundaries. Instead would have them play on used pitches vs Indias spin duo.

india will butcher England in the semis or n.z.
pakistan if they make it can beat australia for sure.

England is overrated. They need flst decks. Even on flat decks if they lose the toss india will punish them as they now have Mayank. had dhawan been there india would have smashed engand comfortably. No excuses for them though. they have a beast in Mayank now.

so batting order will look like
mayank
rohit
kohli
kl playa
rishabh
dhoni
pandya
bhuvan
chahal
shami
bumrah

Thats how important Indo-Pak rivalry is to them; they'd throw the match and risk a harder tie.

Over here our log are supporting India lol. Allow that. I'd go down and out with pride than support them for help.

True, but not out of love for India. Only because India winning that match opens up the way for Pakistan

I didn’t say that. I said England and India are the two best teams and it is 50-50 between them.

But England lost 3 matches, 4 actually if you factor in the fact that India... well never mind.

CT remember?

I'll rather face England in knock outs than an inspired Pakistan.

English are monotnous. Pakistan is unpredictable.
This, Pakistan on their day have an insane peak.

Higher than India, Aus or England. On their day, everything goes their way and they're unbeatable.

India ran into that team in the CT Final.

This, Pakistan on their day have an insane peak.

Higher than India, Aus or England. On their day, everything goes their way and they're unbeatable.

India ran into that team in the CT Final.
Champions Trophy 🏆 was a fluke and as an Indian supporter i would much rather have Pakistan than England playing against us

Doesn't matter what happens in semis, I just can't see anyone defeating Australia in finals.

I think Eng’s middle order is good enough to chase 300+ even if their top 3 flop. Morgan, Buttler, Stokes is miles better middle order than Pant, Dhoni and Pandya in my opinion. Even Aus chased 350+ when Finch scored a duck and Smith and Warner werent playing against India in India.

You can take out two gun batsmen of Eng they still have the ability to chase 300+.

Champions Trophy �� was a fluke and as an Indian supporter i would much rather have Pakistan than England playing against us

Its a shame India couldnt even fluke 180 runs victory against a decent team in an ICC tournament even in their peak which is last decade.

Also as per you fluke isnt dependent upon ability why couldnt an associate team fluke a WC or so when they were given ample oppurtunities in previous multiple world cups. Atleast one fluke should have taken place. :smith

I think Eng’s middle order is good enough to chase 300+ even if their top 3 flop. Morgan, Buttler, Stokes is miles better middle order than Pant, Dhoni and Pandya in my opinion. Even Aus chased 350+ when Finch scored a duck and Smith and Warner werent playing against India in India.

You can take out two gun batsmen of Eng they still have the ability to chase 300+.

England couldn't chase 230 against Lanka, 290. Against Aussies. Aussies are always in the hunt. India actually has been the best chasing team in the last few years. Anyway those chases are different to games in the WC. The pitches are tough to chase and obviously there's the pressure factor.

With the loss of Dhawan, we might be easy prey for teams like England and Australia maybe. No other team can easily beat us lol. Just don't have the quality.

You may think so. And it might even appear so on paper. Even I think they have the potential to do it.

But the fact is that England have never chased down 300+ when their top 3 have failed.

The closest they came was when Buttler had to play the innings of his life to chase down a mere 205 against an Australian team that was without Starc, Cummins, Hazlewood and Lyon.

So it's easier said than done.

Any team that has Bumrah, Kohli, Rohit, Kuldeep is not easy prey. You have 4 match winners there.

Its a shame India couldnt even fluke 180 runs victory against a decent team in an ICC tournament even in their peak which is last decade.

Also as per you fluke isnt dependent upon ability why couldnt an associate team fluke a WC or so when they were given ample oppurtunities in previous multiple world cups. Atleast one fluke should have taken place. :smith
Did India not hammer the daylights out of you in the league games of CTand the asia cup where you were finallyeliminated by Bangladesh and what happened in this world-cup? You came into this tournament loosing 13 games and have the audacity to challenge India 🇮🇳? The side that won the WC in 1992 played for their country and were led by a dynamic captain like Imran which is not the case anymore... The current 🇵🇰 team is a shadow of the 90s....

Indian fans are the most pessimistic cricket fans in the world.

New Zealand is the easiest team, they rode on luck, along with a certain defeat at the hands of India washed out. Heck Pakistan would have likely qualified if their match vs Sri Lanka wasn't washed out.

Pakistan is the other easy team if we qualify, we aren't a consistent team, everyone knows that.

Seems like Australia has an easy road to the finals and quite possibly the World Cup.