India vs Pakistan | 22nd Match, World Cup | Manchester | June 16 | Pre-Match Discussion Thread

Let us assume there is guaranteed rain in the afternoon. should they reduce the match to 25 overs ahead of time?

Why is it always India vs Pakistan not Pakistan vs India?? Just wondering.

Don't know why but India vs Pakistan looks better imo

Let us assume there is guaranteed rain in the afternoon. should they reduce the match to 25 overs ahead of time?

A rain curtailed match will go in Pak's favour. It'll reduce the impact Bhumrah and Kuldeep have on the match and our batsmen can last 20 overs. 50 is too much for them.

I want Rahul to fire the pak bowlers.
Let them stay calm till 10 overs and maintain the run rate from 20 to 30 overs and then play heavily from 30 to 50 overs.

We India great bowlers which can handle the pak batsman.

Excepting some minimum 5 catch dropping and lazy fielding from Pakistan

Fielding of India will make big difference in the match.

lol our catching is not good either.. though we're excellent in ground field...

A rain curtailed match will go in Pak's favour. It'll reduce the impact Bhumrah and Kuldeep have on the match and our batsmen can last 20 overs. 50 is too much for them.

You would think in theory that a shortened match would suit PCT more but the fact of the matter is that even in WT20 Pakistan is down 0-4 to India.

For some reason, whatever it is, PCT struggles to compete with India on a global stage, regardless of format.

So even in a curtailed game it would be advantage India. Pakistan can still win, even if it's 50 overs. Anything can happen in LO cricket. But it would certainly be the exception to the rule.

pak should play the following lineup and use hafeez as the later order hitter just as asif ali

Imam
Fakhar
Babar
Haris Sohail
Sarfraz
Hafeez
Shadab
Hasan Ali
Wahab
Amir
Shaheen

Pak will have a better chance to win the match if they play this team, if not their chances of winning goes alarmingly down...

That’s not the answer to my question.

Hmm you are right man, never really thought about it like that.

Aab jab washout hi hona hai, yehi sab karke time pass karna hai:faheem

pak should play the following lineup and use hafeez as the later order hitter just as asif ali

Imam
Fakhar
Babar
Haris Sohail
Sarfraz
Hafeez
Shadab
Hasan Ali
Wahab
Amir
Shaheen

Pak will have a better chance to win the match if they play this team, if not their chances of winning goes alarmingly down...

bhai u have seen shaheen go for plenty are u for real to pick him again, second ur batting ends at 6. so wheres the batting depth.

Really think people need to calm down and keep things in perspective. India are favourites and they are likely to win but that doesn't mean the result is decided. Plus, you need to back your team and hope they do well. If you can't stomach a potential loss then sport and supporting Pakistan is not your thing.

It's just a game of cricket at the end of the day, not the end of the world.

Pakistan's batting has been superior to Indian in terms of scoring rate and totals in the last few weeks so I think win toss, bat first, get a big total on the board and win. This India side is not as good as those in 2007 and 2011. Pakistan is probably just as good if they can click.

bhai u have seen shaheen go for plenty are u for real to pick him again, second ur batting ends at 6. so wheres the batting depth.

batting doesnt end up at 6... shadab , hasan, wahab and Amir all can bat...

Against India need to apply the following

1. all pace attack with one premium spinner
2. All ur best batsman in the squad
3. no free passengers
4. dont go in without 5 proper bowlers...
5. use part-timer according to then situation but not as a frontline bowler to bowl 10 overs..

fielding has to be upto the mark, shouldnt be no drop catches or misfields..

India will find difficult to play Shaheen, he just needs to bowl full with the new ball

Really think people need to calm down and keep things in perspective. India are favourites and they are likely to win but that doesn't mean the result is decided. Plus, you need to back your team and hope they do well. If you can't stomach a potential loss then sport and supporting Pakistan is not your thing.

pak have always lost with poor team combo on most of the CWC encounters against India + poor fielding ...

I expect that to happen again...

Damn, I’m pumped up for this match.

Can’t wait.

Dil dil Pakistan, Jaan jaan Pakistan!

Aisi zameen aur aasmaan!

Think Shaheen had instructions to utilize his height and bang it in short to trouble the Aussies. Only a paindu coach like Azhar Mahmood can come up with strategy like these. Only in Pak we have a bowling coach who was a better batsman than a bowler.

If its rained off, i think it will be better for us. Atleast we will have 1 point which we badly need. But If Pakistan win which is big if as they have mental block against them.

Let's show Bumrah his place and that's high in the stands of Old Trafford after being smoked by our batsmen.

Will Fakhar Zaman ever going to use his brain. He is such a critical player for Pak WC campaign, he cannot have a blind eye and just swings his bat like he did against Australia. That was a dumb shot, first it was not on, as they know it was his weak and strong point. He cant be cutting every time he see a short length bowl.

He has to realise that he must bat for pak atleast 15 overs to set the game up. If i was the Captain i will go mad the way he played in the last game, he could have waited for 10 overs before playing such shot. You play shots like this when the 3rd man is in the circle not when he is waiting for you to play a shot like that.

Its rained heavily all week here in manchester, hopefully a few more days of rain so pakistan take a point rather than getting a beating from india.

Agreed the ball went past the bat many times and was very close to getting an edge. Even at the time I thought the Aussies were getting lucky. Their innings total could have been much lower. However Pak batting is brittle and weak and can’t stand any kind of pressure. Pakistan need to bat first and put up a decent total and then look to defend.

Pak batting is very volatile. They did score almost 350 runs against England in the WC, though I have to say the English bowling is rather poor to have given Pakistan an average of 320 runs in the last 5 games they have played.

Fakhar is going to come out swinging as usual. If he is able to survive, Pakistan could end up with a 300+ score. Though this time I don't expect the Indians to make the same mistake they did last time by having Ashwin and Jadeja in the team.

Pakistan's batting has been superior to Indian in terms of scoring rate and totals in the last few weeks so I think win toss, bat first, get a big total on the board and win. This India side is not as good as those in 2007 and 2011. Pakistan is probably just as good if they can click.

What???

The only team India and Pakistan have both played in the WC is Australia. India scored 352 and Pakistan scored 266.

And I am pretty sure India is going to score more than 105 when they play the WI :)))

I concede that Pakistan did pretty well scoring against England's teletubbies attack.

Pak will have to play out of their skins to beat India. Let’s hope they have an off day.

India is nearly a perfect team. Very tough to crack.

These tried and tested failures will do no wonders on Sunday unless India plays very badly. My alternative team will show more will power to win.
1) Shan Masood
2) Azhar Ali
3) Abid Ali
4) Umar Akmal
5) Shahid Afridi ( Captain)
6) Rizwan ( Keeper)
7) Haris Sohail
8) Imad Wasim
9) Muhammad Abbas
10) Sohail Khan
11) Sohail Tanveer.

Put this team against West Indies Australia
They would have done far better than so called current super supreme stars.
Many people do not even remember how Fakhar zaman was struggling against india initially during icc ct final and it was Azhar who actually took it all and absorbed the situation, even in that epic 174 chase against kiwiz, it was Azhar who fought till the end.

These tried and tested failures will do no wonders on Sunday unless India plays very badly. My alternative team will show more will power to win.
1) Shan Masood
2) Azhar Ali
3) Abid Ali
4) Umar Akmal
6) Rizwan ( Keeper)
7) Haris Sohail
8) Imad Wasim
9) Muhammad Abbas
10) Sohail Khan
11) Sohail Tanveer.

Many people do not even remember how Fakhar zaman was struggling against india initially during icc ct final and it was Azhar who actually took it all and absorbed the situation, even in that epic 174 chase against kiwiz, it was Azhar who fought till the end.

Our fans have lost it.

Don't know whether to increase batting or bowling depth against a team like India which is good in both facets.

In both cases team will be:

Batting

1) Fakhar Zaman
2) Imam Ul Haq
3) Babar Azam
4) Haris Sohail
5) Sarfraz Ahmed(C)(Wk)
6) Mohammad Hafeez
7) Shoaib Malik
8) Shadab Khan
9) Wahab Riaz
10) Hasan Ali
11) Mohammad Amir

Bowling

1) Fakhar Zaman
2) Imam Ul Haq
3) Babar Azam
4) Haris Sohail
5) Sarfraz Ahmed(C)(Wk)
6) Mohammad Hafeez
7) Shadab Khan
8) Wahab Riaz
9) Hasan Ali
10) Mohammad Amir
11) Mohammad Hasnain

I am now preferring towards bowling depth as a bowler is more likely to score bigger than a batsman like Shoaib Malik, but it is against one of his favourite teams.

Also, it's time to unleash the only member that hasn't played a single game in this World Cup against India. Let's see how he fares, will be great to see Wahab and Hasnain in tandem bowling close to 150 Kph against Indian batsmen.

INDIAN BOWLERS VS PAKISTAN

Bhuvi 12 innings 19 wickets average 20.94 ER 4.52
Pandya 5 innings 7 wickets avgerage 21.85 ER 5.40
Bumrah 6 innings 6 wickets average 30.50 ER 4.79
Chahal 2 innings 2 wickets average 40.0 ER 5.00
Kuldeep 2 innings 3 wickets average 26.00 ER 4.33

PAKISTAN BOWLERS VS INDIA

Amir 6 innings 5 wickets average 42.80 ER 4.97
Hasan Ali 4 innings 4 wickets average 43.00 ER 5.89
Wahab 5 innings 7 wickets average 36.00 ER 6.87
Shadab Khan 4 innings 4 wickets average 43.00 ER 6.49
Malik 7 innings 2 wickets aveage 54.00 ER 4.8
Hafeez 8 innings 7 wickets average 33.42 ER 3.82

PART-TIMERS

Jadhav 3 innings 4 wickets average 17.50 ER 4.66

Imad 2 innings 0 wickets average NA ER 7.13

oops corrected numbers. Looks like first 3 included t20 which should not be included.

Bhuvi 9 innings 14 wickets average 23.00 ER 4.18
Pandya 3 innings 3 wickets average 40.00 ER 5.25
Bumrah 4 innings 4 wickets average 35.75 ER 4.58
Chahal 2 innings 2 wickets average 40.00 ER 5.25
Jadhav 3 innings 4 wickets average 17.50 ER 4.66

Well put.

1) Shan Masood
2) Azhar Ali
3) Abid Ali
4) Umar Akmal
6) Rizwan ( Keeper)
7) Haris Sohail
8) Imad Wasim
9) Muhammad Abbas
10) Sohail Khan
11) Sohail Tanveer.

Your team is bizarre and just downright awful

ur batting team is the one we should go with.

i think hafeez and malik can share a few overs.
atleast the batting is full of proper batsman. when supposed to be aneway.

For the champions trophy final it had Pakistan vs India before the game started

I always thought it had to do with the home team but regardless doesn't matter India vs Pakistan or Pakistan vs India it's the same thing at the end of the day lol

Let's show Bumrah his place and that's high in the stands of Old Trafford after being smoked by our batsmen.

I like this newfound confidence, Pak fans have become too timid of late, what is the point of a match thread without some bragging and banters?

Think Shaheen had instructions to utilize his height and bang it in short to trouble the Aussies. Only a paindu coach like Azhar Mahmood can come up with strategy like these. Only in Pak we have a bowling coach who was a better batsman than a bowler.

Shaheen is genuinely talented with the gift of height and speed (for his age), in a perfect world he would be kept far away from the likes of Azhar and Aqib Javed lol.

Imam
Fakhar
Babar
Haris Sohail
Sarfraz
Hafeez
Shadab
Hasan Ali
Wahab
Amir
Shaheen

I would bring Imad instead of Shaheen.

I agree. I don’t think we are winning yet nothing is written on stones.

You people also lack great middle order batsman.

I don't see any talented middle order other than Malik. None of them are match winners. All are hit or miss guys.

1) Shan Masood
2) Azhar Ali
3) Abid Ali
4) Umar Akmal
6) Rizwan ( Keeper)
7) Haris Sohail
8) Imad Wasim
9) Muhammad Abbas
10) Sohail Khan
11) Sohail Tanveer.

Probably the worst team u could think of lol. :))

If India do play 2 leg spinners then malik is a must. He plays spin well. Harris is a dud against quality spin(should have played against australia) and so is asif who is a poor fielder as well. Would bring shadab in for asif. Will back Shaheen to come good.

1. FZ
2. Imam
3. Babar
4. Hafeez
5. Sarfraz
6. Malik
7. Shadab
8. Wahab
9. Hassan
10. Amir
11. Shaheen

Lol. We are going to play 5th match of tournament and still can't find right combination. Only happens in pakistan. Pathetic management.

Want same team which played England.Tight slap coming up for Mauka Mauka gang on Father's day.Clouds plus Amir will wreck India.Just wait and watch. People are being too pessimistic.If we had Shadab in place of Shaheen in last game we would have won. Don't know why we changed the winning combination. Play the team which was selected against England and Inshallah we will win

Malik averages 13 in england is that correct?

Also smaller word followed by longer word is always a rhythm. Sounds better. You'll always see Pakistan vs South Africa or Pakistan vs West Indies.

Imam
Fakhar
Babar
Haris Sohail
Sarfraz
Hafeez
Shadab
Hasan Ali
Wahab
Amir
Shaheen

Only if you could follow your username. Hasan Ali and Sahan smacking few six of hapless Maxi is diff thing than hitting to Pandya (5th bowler)

Let's give India the thrashing of their life.These arrogant Indians (former players and most fans) should be shown their place.
#destroy India
#thrashing of their life coming for India

For the champions trophy final it had Pakistan vs India before the game started

I always thought it had to do with the home team but regardless doesn't matter India vs Pakistan or Pakistan vs India it's the same thing at the end of the day lol

Alphabetical order, same reason why it is Pakistan vs South Africa and never the reverse. Happens in all sports, Federer-Nadal (Fedal), Djokovic-Nadal (Djokodal), Djokovic-Federer (Djokerer), Federer-Murray (Fedray) etc.

will be a miracle if we win 12-0 on cards

need to bat first and score 330+ and then get Rohit and Kohli out in 6vovers :nasser

Scattered showers and possible thunderstorms on Sunday.

Expect several rain interruptions on Sunday and depending on how heavy the rain is even abandonment.

Have a good sleep bro. Your hashtag fantasy is age old. Keep expectations in check and enjoy the game.

What fantasy? It seems you have forgotten champions trophy final it wasn't fantasy your team got thrashing of life in final and this may happen this Sunday.
#destroy India

INDIAN BOWLERS VS PAKISTAN

Bhuvi 12 innings 19 wickets average 20.94 ER 4.52
Pandya 5 innings 7 wickets avgerage 21.85 ER 5.40
Bumrah 6 innings 6 wickets average 30.50 ER 4.79
Chahal 2 innings 2 wickets average 40.0 ER 5.00

PAKISTAN BOWLERS VS INDIA

Amir 6 innings 5 wickets average 42.80 ER 4.97
Hasan Ali 4 innings 4 wickets average 43.00 ER 5.89
Wahab 5 innings 7 wickets average 36.00 ER 6.87
Shadab Khan 4 innings 4 wickets average 43.00 ER 6.49
Malik 7 innings 2 wickets aveage 54.00 ER 4.8
Hafeez 8 innings 7 wickets average 33.42 ER 3.82

Pakistan bowling to 100 times better batsmen so the stats are better than expected.:)

To be honest, for any realistic chance of reaching semis, we have to win all remaining games, another abandoned match will be equal to a loss for Pakistan.

I like this newfound confidence, Pak fans have become too timid of late, what is the point of a match thread without some bragging and banters?

Only to brought down to earth later.

Vowels look easier to come first. That's what the case even in India vs Bangladesh (nothing alphabetic about it). But with Australia and England - Australia vs India and England vs India, Also Australia vs England looks better... Because "A" (or the sound "aa") is the first vowel...

This match will most likely be abandoned half way thru the match as rain expected by 2pm til midnight, if reports are correct.
1 point fotlr this game is fine, as long as we win our remaining 4 games and there is no more abandoned games.
It wont be easy, especially against NZ, butits not impossible, and if you want to win the wc then y

As a captain, what Asif Iqbal liked about a young Imran Khan was his determination and he believes that the current Pakistan Prime Minister will certainly do his bit in improving bilateral ties with India at all levels.

Imran played a lot of cricket under Iqbal’s captaincy and the 76-year old has seen how the former drive to achieve his goal. Not much has changed now that he is leading the nation, Iqbal feels.

“If he believes in something, he will go all the way in achieving that goal. He believes that Virat Kohli-led India and Pakistan can live as friendly neighbours. I think he will at least try his best and go all the way for peace…not just as cricketers but as Pakistanis, we believe in what he says,” Iqbal, who has been living in London for decades now, told PTI during an exclusive interaction. (ALSO READ: Adam Zampa not only one who uses hand-warmers, Indian fielders also do)

“He is totally committed and that’s what Pakistanis need economic prosperity, stability in the region. I am not qualified to comment since I don’t know. This is what the media says,” the veteran of 58 Test matches said.

India and Pakistan lock horns in the marquee ICC World Cup 2019 clash on Sunday at Old Trafford in Manchester.

Iqbal, who was given a standing ovation in his farewell Test match at the Eden Gardens in 1980, is “frustrated” how “external factors” spoil the narrative of a healthy Indo-Pak bilateral cricketing relationship.

“Times have changed but it has got nothing to do with sports itself or cricketers in general. Its everything to do with politics. I am totally frustrated. The reason for this (strained relations) is our politicians, who have had no interest in sports.

“Fortunately, we now have Imran Khan as Prime Minister, who has shown an intention to curb the hostility. That is brilliant,” Iqbal said.

However, he did not elaborate on how any of Imran’s policy decisions have shown the intent to curb hostilities, which have risen after the Pulwama terror attack in which 40 CRPF personnel lost their lives.

Iqbal reiterated that bilateral cricket can change relations. “When they start playing bilaterals regularly, you will see totally different attitude of players and supporters. They love watching cricket as a sport, as a rivalry, which is healthy not a rivalry where we would kill each other.

“You can fight tooth and nail on the field and then enjoy a good time off the field,” he said.

On the current state of Pakistan cricket, Iqbal said skipper Sarfraz Ahmed, as per his assessment, has achieved “much more” than many of his predecessors save Imran, who gave the country its only World Cup title.

“Sarfraz has delivered more than most of the big names in Pakistan cricket,” declared Iqbal.

A product of elite private schooling, Iqbal believes that the current generation, which has evolved from the maidans and streets, are more skilful than the English speaking school cricketers of his times. (ALSO READ: Shikhar Dhawan hits the gym as he targets quick recovery)

“Boys with economically stable background paid more attention to education than sport. Parents during our times used to stop children from playing sports saying that you are wasting your time.

“Captain in our times was selected on the merit of someone’s stature, family background, whether or not he can express himself properly language wise, because of cricket being a British sport, but no longer,” Iqbal spoke about the distinct class division that existed in sport back then.

“Now you get cricketers, they are not really from private schools. They are from street and maidans but they are better cricketers than the ones that schools produced during our days. That is my explanation for the current difference between past and present leaders.”

With T20 cricket providing stable livelihoods to many, the game awareness nowadays is far more than the time when cricketers used to get Rs 10 per day as Test match fees.

“Cricket has evolved. Not just current cricketers from Pakistan but all cricketers from sub-continent. Five teams are from sub-continent out of 10 which is a huge contribution.

“They (the players) are much more aware that they have to be physically fit to be a part of the current generation, they also have to produce results as this (T20) is their livelihood and they are dependent on it.

“When I started, we used to get 10 rupees a day for representing Pakistan, but we never even thought the money was large enough or not. Times have changed. Cricket right now is an industry where cricketers are goods who need to be good enough to stay in the market and remain saleable,” he observed.

https://www.cricketcountry.com/news...live-as-friendly-neighbours-asif-iqbal-856511

This match will most likely be abandoned half way thru the match as rain expected by 2pm til midnight, if reports are correct.
1 point fotlr this game is fine, as long as we win our remaining 4 games and there is no more abandoned games.
It wont be easy, especially against NZ, butits not impossible, and if you want to win the wc then y
you should be able to do that.

Yes unfortunately looks like an abandoned match on Sunday due to the rain.

It's a shame. Was really looking forward to it.

So annoying.

Had friends and family coming over to watch the match. Had planned it for weeks.

So frustrating

Should never have a World Cup in England.

BBC weather saying very little chance of rain...

Forget BBC forecast.

The match is not happening. There is 50 to 70% chance of rain with thunderstorms.

The toss may happen but that will be it.

It's a definite abandonment.

70% chance of rain as per weather.com and I would love to see greedy ICC losing money on this one I hope it is a washout.

Armed officers will be part of the huge policing operation in place for the the India versus Pakistan cricket world cup match being held in Manchester.

The two countries face-off at Old Trafford on Sunday in one of sport's biggest games and bitterest rivalries.

Due to the frosty relations between the pair, they only play each other in world tournaments such as the world cup being staged in England and Wales for the first time in two decades this summer.

Their last meeting was the final of the 2017 Champions Trophy at the Oval which attracted a worldwide audience of over half a billion people meaning the fixture is regarded as one of the biggest in world sport.

It was a huge coup for Lancashire Cricket Club bosses when they were awarded the match, the first of six being staged at Old Trafford, which also includes England's clash with Afghanistan, South Africa against Australia and one of the two semi-finals.

Both sides have large British fan-bases and there were a staggering half a million ticket applications for the match, meaning 25,000 capacity Old Trafford could have been sold out 20 times over.

https://www.manchestereveningnews.c...afford-16426927.amp?__twitter_impression=true

Forget BBC forecast.

The match is not happening. There is 50 to 70% chance of rain with thunderstorms.

The toss may happen but that will be it.

It's a definite abandonment.
So we should disregard weather forecasts, and listen to you? Give us one good reason why?