Indo-Pak or interfaith marriages

rollingstoned

Tape Ball Star
This is a question for mostly the Pakistanis on this forum, do you know of any Indo-Pak couples - inter religion preferably - and if so what were the challenges they faced? I don't wish to go into much detail but i've discovered that Islam doesn't allow women to marry non-Muslim men? Or is this false? Any advice or inputs would be appreciated. Cheers!

means kay hamari honi wali bhabhi pakistani hain ? :P

Larkay ko koi Pakistani larki pasand agayi hai :ashwin

This is true.

Learn the religion and convert. No further advice needed :moyo

I know a couple . Both of them are Indian Muslim girl and Pak Muslim man marriages. No conversion required.

I had a Sikh class fellow in Karachi. A big part of her family was in Indian Punjab so her parents married her off to some older Sikh guy in Ludhiana when she was 18. Which all of us class fellows felt was kinda cruel. But that is the only Indo-Pak marriage I know off.

Only to then be told you cannot do it for a woman?

Not sure what you mean.

Muslim men can marry women who are people of the book, ie Christians and Jews. No Muslim is allowed to marry a Hindu.

If you love the girl, study the religion and if it makes any sense at all, then convert and marry her. If she's not religious then what does it matter?

Not sure what you mean.

Muslim men can marry women who are people of the book, ie Christians and Jews. No Muslim is allowed to marry a Hindu.

If you love the girl, study the religion and if it makes any sense at all, then convert and marry her. If she's not religious then what does it matter?

Life is not that easy. Even if the girl isn't religious or if Hinduism isn't a big part of the guys life they are still Muslim and Hindu, respectively, on face value, and leaving their religions (or marrying someone not allowed) will get the ire of their families. Family's approval is a big deal in desi culture.

Not sure what you mean.

So he reads the book and he is not interested. Should he forget the girl? What if the girl is not religious, but the parents are?

Recently a Telugu friend of mine fell in love with a Muslim girl. He was religious and the girl was not. But he had to convert to Islam for the sake of her parents who were practicing Muslims. Long story short, he changed his name to Abdul Waheed and his parents got super mad and kicked him out of the house.

2 of my mums cousins are married to Hindu Gujarati men, neither of them converted to Islam. I don't think it caused too many problems as my mum's mums family is super liberal compared to the average Punjabi Muslim family. I think it also helped that they were from East Africa like my family is as well.

Gujju's (Hindus or Muslims) once they are outside of the country, they are very united. All they care for is the Gujrati language. I think it also helps them that Patels are there in both Muslims and Hindus.

My childhood friend is married to a Pakistani girl, but he is a muslim. Just had beautiful kids so I guess everything is fine between the two and marriage is successful.

Life is not that easy. Even if the girl isn't religious or if Hinduism isn't a big part of the guys life they are still Muslim and Hindu, respectively, on face value, and leaving their religions (or marrying someone not allowed) will get the ire of their families. Family's approval is a big deal in desi culture.

Agree

So he reads the book and he is not interested. Should he forget the girl? What if the girl is not religious, but the parents are?

Recently a Telugu friend of mine fell in love with a Muslim girl. He was religious and the girl was not. But he had to convert to Islam for the sake of her parents who were practicing Muslims. Long story short, he changed his name to Abdul Waheed and his parents got super mad and kicked him out of the house.

You shouldnt convert to any religion if you reject it after some study. This is considering religion is important to you. If it is, then there is plenty more fish in the sea. If religion isnt so important and the girl is, then many convert for the sake of it.

If religion is important and so is the girl, then you will have to sacrifice one or the other.

I aspired to marry a Hindu Indian girl few years ago..she was gujju. We dated for 3 years and were pretty serious but it got really ugly once her parents found out. They said something to her along the lines of "You will never marry a Muslim who has eaten meat all his life and he is a Pakistani who cannot be trusted"

Funny thing is the girl's family has been in the US for over 20 years and seemed to be pretty liberal. I'm not sure if it was because I'm Pakistani or Muslim..or maybe both, but her family caused a lot of issues which at one point almost forced the girl to relocate to a different state. My parents who have lived in Saudi Arabia most of their lives were surprisingly more receptive to our relationship than hers.

I do know a couple where the girl is Hindu and Indian and she's married to a Pakistani Muslim. But both were born and raised in the US and consider themselves atheists. Not sure how their family viewed it but I got to know them after their marriage.

Muslim men or woman are not allowed to marry from the polythestic faiths, which most indians follow.

Agree

You shouldnt convert to any religion if you reject it after some study. This is considering religion is important to you. If it is, then there is plenty more fish in the sea. If religion isnt so important and the girl is, then many convert for the sake of it.

If religion is important and so is the girl, then you will have to sacrifice one or the other.

He still is not a serious Muslim. He is a confused soul. His parents got mad because he changed his name to Abdul Waheed. They are still not talking to him.

There is another way. Both guy and girl have to give up their religion and be like normal humans. You are answering from Muslim point of view.
He could have kept his name and faith while marrying that Muslim girl if people were broad minded.

Muslim men or woman are not allowed to marry from the polythestic faiths, which most indians follow.

Why are they not allowed? Do people from Polytheistic faiths have special organs that Abrahamic Faith people do not? What is wrong with believing there are Multiple Gods? Its all a matter of faith.
If both guy and girl are fine, why does religion have to poke its nose into it?

Dunno why I found it funny. Maybe the way you presented it.

But then my parents would do the same to me.

Who knows I might do it to my kid too.

Cycle continues. :P

Gujju's (Hindus or Muslims) once they are outside of the country, they are very united. All they care for is the Gujrati language. I think it also helps them that Patels are there in both Muslims and Hindus.

Totally agree with you on that. Being a Gujju muslim myself i can vouch that We Gujjus are very united and always help newcomer settling here in Canada.

Dunno why I found it funny. Maybe the way you presented it.

But then my parents would do the same to me.

Who knows I might do it to my kid too.

Cycle continues. :P

What'll the reaction be if say, a Western European married into the family ......

Think extensive knowledge of (2 words) Marathi would sweeten the deal?

What'll the reaction be if say, a Western European married into the family ......

There have been a few such marriages in my family.

My mom's cousin married an American of Taiwanese origin. Talked to her once when she came to our home. Wonderful person she was.

His elder brother married a white American female. Dunno about her. Their kids are great.

My dad's cousin married a Italian dude. Never met him.

If I did any of this stuff, my parents would throw me out. No mercy. lol.

Didn't get you mate.

There have been a few such marriages in my family.

My mom's cousin married an American of Taiwanese origin. Talked to her once when she came to our home. Wonderful person she was.

His elder brother married a white American female. Dunno about her. Their kids are great.

My dad's cousin married a Italian dude. Never met him.

If I did any of this stuff, my parents would throw me out. No mercy. lol.

Didn't get you mate.

I'm just being my usual bored, nonsensical self. Disregard.

If you or your family ever have a wedding in Dublin though....... :P

I know many Indian Muslims and Pakistanis that have married here in America. There's this Indian American girl that's Hindu and I'm interested in her, shw doesn't seem religious but I kinda am so im not gonna pursue her lol.

Not sure what you mean.

What i mean is that i had no plans to convert to Islam anytime soon and apparently doing it for a girl is a no-no. It is not that religion is very important to me though you could say in general my faith doesn't place restrictions on whom we can marry and whom we can't unlike Islam. The girl says she was not that religious inspite of being a Kashmiri Wahabi but now a namehram is in her life so she has moved closer to religion.
About Muslims not being allowed to marry Hindus haven't there been a few Pakistanis who have taken Hindu wives? Conspicuous by absence are the Pakistani women who married Hindu men.
If this thing had to go anywhere we both obviously need to leave our countries which I'm prepared for, I come from a conservative Brahmin background myself with an established business here and while I don't think my dad would 'disown' me it will take some time for him to come around. For her there's no option as her dad was a fauji who even fought in kargil. All very messed up i know.:|

I aspired to marry a Hindu Indian girl few years ago..she was gujju. We dated for 3 years and were pretty serious but it got really ugly once her parents found out. They said something to her along the lines of "You will never marry a Muslim who has eaten meat all his life and he is a Pakistani who cannot be trusted"

Funny thing is the girl's family has been in the US for over 20 years and seemed to be pretty liberal. I'm not sure if it was because I'm Pakistani or Muslim..or maybe both, but her family caused a lot of issues which at one point almost forced the girl to relocate to a different state. My parents who have lived in Saudi Arabia most of their lives were surprisingly more receptive to our relationship than hers.

I do know a couple where the girl is Hindu and Indian and she's married to a Pakistani Muslim. But both were born and raised in the US and consider themselves atheists. Not sure how their family viewed it but I got to know them after their marriage.

Eating meat is a big deal for some vegetarian Hindus. Thats why you hear news of hindus not wanting to rent their apartments to muslims because they believe that cooking meat in their house will make it impure. Was the girl you dating Jain by any chance? The Jain cuisine is completely vegetarian and also excludes onions, potatoes and brinjals.

You will be fine. Indians are more accepting of white people than the people of different faith in their own country. Marathi words in Irish accent is certainly going to make you popular with the aunties of the girl.

Why are they not allowed? Do people from Polytheistic faiths have special organs that Abrahamic Faith people do not? What is wrong with believing there are Multiple Gods? Its all a matter of faith.

Polytheism is considered the greatest sin in Islam, that is why.

Its the 21st century marry who you want, why should you let someone dictate YOUR happiness?

I know a couple in US( guy is Pakistani American and lady is Indian American) who are married for some years now, al though they are of same religion. So they had little or no trouble getting along, however the real problem was when they wanted to visit India. Guy till date have never been able to acquire Indian visas and have been getting rejected. I assume same would be the case for female trying to acquire Pakistani visas.

I know 3 Indo-Pak marriages, they are working perfectly with no issues. One was a conversion as well which caused big problems on the bride's family but its all good now.

Eating meat is a big deal for some vegetarian Hindus. Thats why you hear news of hindus not wanting to rent their apartments to muslims because they believe that cooking meat in their house will make it impure. Was the girl you dating Jain by any chance? The Jain cuisine is completely vegetarian and also excludes onions, potatoes and brinjals.

Yaar what do they eat then! :misbah3

They believe in non-violence and make considerable efforts not to injure animals, insects and even plants in their day to day lives. Consumption of most root vegetables like onions etc involves uprooting and killing the entire plant, hence most avoid eating them.

If anyone of you have to convert,then think about it yourself,is it really worth it.

People change for marriage but changing faith,is not similar to stop going to do McDonald's but giving up your entire childhood and your own beliefs which could be atheist/Dharmic.

They are the only non-violent religion in the world, but they have started eating root vegetables now,only the orthodoxed don't,and they(orthodoxed) don't even filter water.

I've related here before that two of my old friends from Uni married Indian girls, and they both have families now and are going strong. I don't really see them that often as they moved away because of careers so can't really say how they cope with day to day stuff, but they seem to be happy enough. I do know that the families on both sides cut them off initially, although I know they cooled off in the end to some degree, at least on the boy's side. I don't really like to ask those sort of questions so hard to be more specific when you don't see these people every day.

They believe in non-violence and make considerable efforts not to injure animals, insects and even plants in their day to day lives. Consumption of most root vegetables like onions etc involves uprooting and killing the entire plant, hence most avoid eating them.

That is their choice. Although nothing superior about it. A jain baniya who runs a jewelry shop and doesnt kill insects is not necessarily superior to a farmer who kills rodents and insects as part of his job.

If anyone of you have to convert,then think about it yourself,is it really worth it.

People change for marriage but changing faith,is not similar to stop going to do McDonald's but giving up your entire childhood and your own beliefs which could be atheist/Dharmic.

One of the girls I was talking about was a very high caste Hindu, and she is still vegetarian although she did convert superficially at least. I would think she did think very clearly about whether it was worth it, otherwise why would she do it?

In the case of Islam it's quite problematic. Even if the girl is not religious, the parents and society at large would not accept her if she married a non Muslim and it can create a lot of problems. Forget about someone who is deeply rooted in the Islamic faith. There is no question of taking a relationship further unless there is a conversion to Islam on your part. That said there are interfaith marriages where the couples have managed to live without any interference, though usually the girl has to cut herself off from her previous family altogether but such instances are not that common.

It's a problem in the case of Sikh and Hindu faiths as well, no idea why you singled out Islam. In both the cases of the Hindu girls I mentioned, the parents of the girls cut off the girl when they married British Muslims. We have seen already the fuss made by the Sikh community about love jihad when the Sikh girls do likewise.

One of the girls I was talking about was a very high caste Hindu, and she is still vegetarian although she did convert superficially at least. I would think she did think very clearly about whether it was worth it, otherwise why would she do it?

She probably did and was ok with conflict of faiths mentally,its her life, in my personal opinion its easier for Abrahamic religions to marry each other(assumption) because of same line,similarly its easier for Dharmic religions to marry each other,the problem wouldn't arise till they decide to have kids,an even then if they are able to figure it out as you see great.

The issue is generally in this day and age people are ok to be without parents and go against their consent,because they after marriage can be occupied by work and then family and hardly have time to think about it as such,its not until later around mid 30s(assumption again) when they probably think was it really worth it considering parents still don't talk.

That is their choice. Although nothing superior about it. A jain baniya who runs a jewelry shop and doesnt kill insects is not necessarily superior to a farmer who kills rodents and insects as part of his job.

Jains are not superior,but Jainism and its followers have set a path of nonviolence that is remarkable and they hold moral high ground basically on all fronts of "peaceful religion".

She probably did and was ok with conflict of faiths mentally,its her life, in my personal opinion its easier for Abrahamic religions to marry each other(assumption) because of same line,similarly its easier for Dharmic religions to marry each other,the problem wouldn't arise till they decide to have kids,an even then if they are able to figure it out as you see great.

The issue is generally in this day and age people are ok to be without parents and go against their consent,because they after marriage can be occupied by work and then family and hardly have time to think about it as such,its not until later around mid 30s(assumption again) when they probably think was it really worth it considering parents still don't talk.

British desis who marry across faiths tend not to be that highly religious anyway, 90% of them wouldn't be familiar with terms like Abrahamic or Dharmic religion. They would probably compromise in the same way Bollywood actors in India do over the minor details.

In the case of Islam it's quite problematic. Even if the girl is not religious, the parents and society at large would not accept her if she married a non Muslim and it can create a lot of problems. Forget about someone who is deeply rooted in the Islamic faith. There is no question of taking a relationship further unless there is a conversion to Islam on your part.

Not true, but then I don't know lots of such cases.

It's a problem in the case of Sikh and Hindu faiths as well, no idea why you singled out Islam. In both the cases of the Hindu girls I mentioned, the parents of the girls cut off the girl when they married British Muslims. We have seen already the fuss made by the Sikh community about love jihad when the Sikh girls do likewise.

I'm talking within India. i have no idea how it is in the UK. I guess it is because usually the Muslim side of the family insists on conversion of the man/woman to Islam whereas the Hindu side is OK as long as there is no conversion and don't insist on one either. Now obviously there are Hindu families that would do the same but from what i've seen they are generally more agreeable than Muslim ones.

British desis who marry across faiths tend not to be that highly religious anyway, 90% of them wouldn't be familiar with terms like Abrahamic or Dharmic religion. They would probably compromise in the same way Bollywood actors in India do over the minor details.

Which makes sense because of the society there not to forget the entertainment options available,the entertainment in place I live except for movies/beaches is only religious festivals happening every month.

In the next hundred years or so, everybody will be the same race due to race mixing. I would rather stay with my own kind but that's just me.

Not true, but then I don't know lots of such cases.

A practising Muslim man/woman can never accept a Hindu man/woman into his/her life unless there is a conversion to Islam and this is from their own scripture since Hindus are seen as polytheists and Islam is definitely against it.

Hinduism is quite open and I don't say it in a holier-than-thou way since it does depend from family to family. Does one really change just because they decide to convert or adopt a faith superficially? We have people like Dharmendra who converted here just to have an extra wife and hardly anyone considers him a Muslim in the true sense of the term. I have also wondered what the real reason is that 'idol worshippers' cannot marry Islamic women, if it had a context way back then is it really relevant now?

There can be a marriage among diff faiths in India,special marriage act where both of you don't have to convert to anything,that is legally.

Spiritually if you are not converting what's the point in converting on paper,when there are laws to make inter-religious marriage happen,the problem here would be Pakistani citizenship?

Converting on paper because the girl has a problem with going against the tenets of the book, people here may disagree but i see this as only a technicality. So basically her own religious guilt here. I won't be going to live in Pakistan.

If Hinduism is quite open to inter-faith marriage, I don't see any problem anyway.

Converting on paper because the girl has a problem with going against the tenets of the book, people here may disagree but i see this as only a technicality. So basically her own religious guilt here. I won't be going to live in Pakistan.

Ok?So its conversion today,what if you have to pray based on the book?There are many instances in the book that might be an issue later,look am no any expert in this,and if its an online thing without you even meeting her once then i can tell you with assurance you need to think about rationally.

In reality, any Muslim girl who wants to marry a non-Muslim is not going to be the type who insists that they pray according to the book. Let's keep it real here.

A practising Muslim man/woman can never accept a Hindu man/woman into his/her life unless there is a conversion to Islam and this is from their own scripture since Hindus are seen as polytheists and Islam is definitely against it.

I was focusing on part which said even if girl is not religious.....

In reality, any Muslim girl who wants to marry a non-Muslim is not going to be the type who insists that they pray according to the book. Let's keep it real here.

Agree here. You are not going to find many examples of a girl being very religious and then marrying outside of her faith. This is true for all religions and not just Islam.

My Grandmother who lived in Sarghoda, Pakistan during her childhood told me that marriages between Hindu's and Muslims were very common pre-partition and even remained so after partition until Zia's regime. After that, an extremely strict version of Islam was enforced upon to the people.

My best friend, an Indian Hindu, dated a Pakistani Muslim girl in University however the girl wanted him to convert to Islam. My friend never ever spoke about relgion to her and didn't have any issue with her to practice Islam after marriage. Even though, like most modern Hindu guy, he was not a practicing Hindu and donot care much about religion, but he was not keen on coverting. Tbf at some point the thoughts of conversion came in his head cuz of the girl and I used to jokingly call him with a Muslim name, but he never did it. And eventually their relationship fell apart.

Regardless, I am pretty damn sure if he converted, they would have married.

As I said, I don't think he had issues with conversion, he was just upset that the girl put religion over their possible marriage and he was worried that it wouldn't just stop at marriage. And the girl would always put religion over him. And that was the reason he wasn't keen on converting.

True, my bad ,makes sense,then why the conversion?

My best friend, an Indian Hindu, dated a Pakistani Muslim girl in University however the girl wanted him to convert to Islam. My friend never ever spoke about relgion to her and didn't have any issue with her to practice Islam after marriage. Even though, like most modern Hindu guy, he was not a practicing Hindu and donot care much about religion, but he was not keen on coverting. Tbf at some point the thoughts of conversion came in his head cuz of the girl and I used to jokingly call him with a Muslim name, but he never did it. And eventually their relationship fell apart.

Regardless, I am pretty damn sure if he converted, they would have married.

As I said, I don't think he had issues with conversion, he was just upset that the girl put religion over their possible marriage and he was worried that it wouldn't just stop at marriage. And the girl would always put religion over him. And that was the reason he wasn't keen on converting.

Yes,this is what I was trying to say in post #54 and it came out wrong.

If Hinduism is quite open to inter-faith marriage, I don't see any problem anyway.

Maybe you missed the part where i mentioned the problem is not on this end.

There's no such stricture, there are enough Muslims obviously who don't really practise - drink and eat pork too - but being born into the faith means something I guess. It seems that being a person of the faith is all that's needed to enter into a matrimony.
Considering that we don't have exactly have an open border it's obvious at which stage this is at. And yes thanks for the advice but I have examined every aspect and eventuality of this situation.

In recent years, Indian obsession with Pakistani women has increased tenfold after exposure to all these TV serials and internet.
If you are referring to me i can assure you I have not made a choice as though i were ordering from a restaurant menu.

She wasn't Jain. Parents ate potatoes and onions pretty usually and all kids ate meat outside of the house. I don't blame the parents for their views honestly. My grandparents had extreme anti-India views and they grew up in Aligharh and Jaipur. I think the post partition era had a lot of bad blood on both sides.

You will be fine. Indians are more accepting of white people than the people of different faith in their own country. Marathi words in Irish accent is certainly going to make you popular with the aunties of the girl.

Lol I know man I know.

Wasnt being serious though!

Maybe you missed the part where i mentioned the problem is not on this end.

There's no such stricture, there are enough Muslims obviously who don't really practise - drink and eat pork too - but being born into the faith means something I guess. It seems that being a person of the faith is all that's needed to enter into a matrimony.
Considering that we don't have exactly have an open border it's obvious at which stage this is at. And yes thanks for the advice but I have examined every aspect and eventuality of this situation.

If you are referring to me i can assure you I have not made a choice as though i were ordering from a restaurant menu.

Yes I did miss it because it wasn't in any part of the post I quoted. Incidentally, you should learn to use the multi-quote function properly, otherwise it looks like you are quoting me in those further quotes when in fact you are quoting other posters. I bolded the part which was attributed to me to save any confusion.

My brother likes an Indian Jain girl so its both Indopak and interfaith

I myself would like to marry some Asian or girl from different race so my kids would be diverse

Why is it a sin? Are we murdering people? Are we robbing believers?

It is considered injustice to God, in Islam.

Think of it like this:

You invented a robot with artificial intelligence.

As soon as you proclaimed your invention; the robot said that it was invented by your rivals.
This is an act of polytheism by the robot.

Hope that clears up any confusion.

It is considered injustice to God, in Islam.

Think of it like this:

You invented a robot with artificial intelligence.

As soon as you proclaimed your invention; the robot said that it was invented by your rivals.
This is an act of polytheism by the robot.

Hope that clears up any confusion.

Do you think it's a valid analogy?

Why is it a sin? Are we murdering people? Are we robbing believers?

Several reasons, but mentioning couple:

1- kill the competition to have bigger market share and eventually create monopoly. (during last years, prophet of islam stopped making deals even with remaining jewish tribes of areas in order to force them to accept islam, leave the land or get killed, and jews are not poly)
2- it's not only about islam, monotheistic religions, by defination are against polytheism (and they are unaware that their monotheistic religion, emerged from polytheism)

You created a buggy robot, I will blame the creator and not the robot for malfunction , if I have any sense of fairness.

Well well well, we're in for a helluva debate now aren't we?? But let's not derail this thread. I've been guilty of it many times before. Create a new thread and then we can talk about this exact statement that you made and also the one above it.

What i mean is that i had no plans to convert to Islam anytime soon and apparently doing it for a girl is a no-no. It is not that religion is very important to me though you could say in general my faith doesn't place restrictions on whom we can marry and whom we can't unlike Islam. The girl says she was not that religious inspite of being a Kashmiri Wahabi but now a namehram is in her life so she has moved closer to religion.
About Muslims not being allowed to marry Hindus haven't there been a few Pakistanis who have taken Hindu wives? Conspicuous by absence are the Pakistani women who married Hindu men.
If this thing had to go anywhere we both obviously need to leave our countries which I'm prepared for, I come from a conservative Brahmin background myself with an established business here and while I don't think my dad would 'disown' me it will take some time for him to come around. For her there's no option as her dad was a fauji who even fought in kargil. All very messed up i know.:|

So even if you were to convert, her family would still be against the wedding?

For both of you to lose your families, you have to be 110% sure. Personally I wouldn't marry a girl if it came to losing my family. Your feelings could disappear or hers could. Something could go wrong in the marriage and your family will always remain at a distance.

Find a new bride to be imo.

See them all the time, it's 2017 not 1917.

Only notable challenge is if you have conservative parents and want to please them while embarking on this, same for her. If you love each other more than the need to please people who are not a part of it, then it won't matter anyway.

See them all the time, it's 2017 not 1917.

Only notable challenge is if you have conservative parents and want to please them while embarking on this, same for her. If you love each other more than the need to please people who are not a part of it, then it won't matter anyway.
My second public speaking speech in college was on divorce and marriage. I covered the false idea of " love " as it is mostly location not attraction. The reactions from the teacher and students were hilarious.

Anyone from the Greater Toronto Area would confirm that this is not a rule. Gujjus are among the most practicing Muslims here.

Because polytheists commit shirk (ascribing partners to God). That's the way it is and you disagreeing doesn't really matter.

My Grandmother who lived in Sarghoda, Pakistan during her childhood told me that marriages between Hindu's and Muslims were very common pre-partition and even remained so after partition until Zia's regime. After that, an extremely strict version of Islam was enforced upon to the people.

Not marrying a polytheist is a pretty basic tenant of Islam. Even the most liberal, non-practicing Muslims stay away from it. The only ones that don't have a problem with it are those that are only Muslim by name and don't know anything about Islam/don't care about it.

You created a buggy robot, I will blame the creator and not the robot for malfunction , if I have any sense of fairness.

I look forward to seeing you arguing your case on the Day of Judgement.

My dad would disown me if I married outside my caste.And so would [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] 's and we both are very high caste hindus , he a bit higher than me if you think about it.
Edit:Meh why single my dad out , I wouldnt marry outside my caste even if given a choice.

^ Not to mention the problems that arise when kids eventually happen. A Muslim would want his/her kids to be Muslim.

My dad would disown me if I married outside my caste.And so would [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] 's and we both are very high caste hindus , he a bit higher than me if you think about it.
Edit:Meh why single my dad out , I wouldnt marry outside my caste even if given a choice.

If you don't mind answering, how many castes are there and how is the hierarchy determined?

Anyone from the Greater Toronto Area would confirm that this is not a rule. Gujjus are among the most practicing Muslims here.

Because polytheists commit shirk (ascribing partners to God). That's the way it is and you disagreeing doesn't really matter.

Not marrying a polytheist is a pretty basic tenant of Islam. Even the most liberal, non-practicing Muslims stay away from it. The only ones that don't have a problem with it are those that are only Muslim by name and don't know anything about Islam/don't care about it.

I look forward to seeing you arguing your case on the Day of Judgement.

Good for you bud.