Narendra Modi : Mega Discussion Thread

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/AvutgpiNJmw" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I'm guessing the creators of this rating system felt including Kim Jong-un's chart topping position would be too much of a giveaway.

If Modi was actually any good, his fans wouldn't feel the constant desperate need to prove he was any good :))
This.

Hapless devotees have this constant urge to glorify the bigot. Maybe they get paid some pennies for it.

I'm guessing the creators of this rating system felt including Kim Jong-un's chart topping position would be too much of a giveaway.

If Modi was actually any good, his fans wouldn't feel the constant desperate need to prove he was any good :))

yeah ..Global survey consultant companies are so desperate :))

Another Surevy

Modi Government’s Popularity at Highest Since Start of Pandemic
Survey shows inflation, unemployment are the shortfalls
Modi seeking a third term in power in the 2024 elections

Approval ratings of Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s government have risen to the highest since the start of the pandemic though there’s lingering concerns over the surging prices of essential items and unemployment, the latest survey showed on Monday.

Modi’s government has met or exceed expectations in the second term, according to 67% of 64,000 people polled by LocalCircles. That’s a jump from 51% last year when a brutal second wave of Covid-19 infections overwhelmed hospitals and crematoriums and 62% in 2020 when the pandemic started.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2022-05-30/modi-government-s-popularity-at-highest-since-start-of-pandemic

An Adani project in Sri Lanka is yet again at the centre of controversy, after a top official of the Ceylon Electricity Board (CEB) told a parliamentary panel that a renewable energy project in the island’s northern Mannar district was given to the Adani Group after Prime Minister Narendra Modi “pressured” President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

CEB Chairman M.M.C. Ferdinando made the remark on Friday before the Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE), but soon withdrew it, saying he had been “emotional”. Between his statement on Friday and swift withdrawal was a tweet from Mr. Gotabaya on Saturday that said: “Re[garding] a statement made by the #lka CEB Chairman at a COPE committee hearing regarding the award of a Wind Power Project in Mannar, I categorically deny authorisation to award this project to any specific person or entity. I trust responsible communication in this regard will follow.”

The President’s office followed up with a statement “vehemently denying” the CEB official’s remarks. “Sri Lanka is currently in an acute shortage of power and President desires to expedite implementation of mega power projects as early as possible. However, no undue influence will be used in awarding such projects. Project proposals for large-scale renewable energy projects is limited, but special attention will be paid to the selection of institutions for the projects, which will be carried out strictly in accordance with the transparent and accountable system by the government of Sri Lanka.”

The development comes days after Sri Lanka amended its electricity law, effectively eliminating competitive bidding for energy projects. The move drew flak from the Opposition and government critics. In the parliamentary debate on the Bill, subsequently passed, Opposition lawmaker Nalin Bandara flagged concerns that competitive bidding was being done away with “to make way” for projects like the Adani Group’s, according to the Colombo-based Sunday Times.

This is not the first time that Sri Lankans have questioned the Adani Group’s entry into the island’s energy sector, or brought up Mr. Modi’s name in this regard. Following an agreement between the Group and the CEB in March 2022, to execute renewable energy projects in the northern Mannar and Pooneryn districts, Sri Lanka’s main opposition party Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB or United People’s Force) said the Indian businessman was making a “backdoor entry”, and accused Mr. Gotabaya of “pampering” Mr. Modi’s “notorious friends”.

The energy project is the second major venture in Sri Lanka involving the Adani Group, after it bagged a strategic port terminal deal in Colombo. The Group was brought in to execute the West Container Terminal project at the Colombo Port, with majority stakes, after Colombo unilaterally cancelled a trilateral agreement among the governments of Sri Lanka and India and Japan to jointly build the East Container Terminal at the same port. The Adani Group, Sri Lankan Ministers have said, was the Indian government’s “nominee” in both cases, indicating there was no competitive bidding process.
https://www.thehindu.com/news/inter...sy-in-sri-lanka-yet-again/article65520090.ece

But Modiji is not corrupt :warner

What should have been an Indian state project is now a private Modi funder's.

Sab Changa Si [MENTION=152021]Rajdeep[/MENTION]

https://www.thehindu.com/news/inter...sy-in-sri-lanka-yet-again/article65520090.ece

But Modiji is not corrupt :warner

What should have been an Indian state project is now a private Modi funder's.

Sab Changa Si [MENTION=152021]Rajdeep[/MENTION]

Modiji and BJP just changed the source of their corruption.

They don't loot the people directly.

They loot them indirectly by favouring industrialists who fund them.

Corruption with extra steps.

[MENTION=152021]Rajdeep[/MENTION]

Have always said that there is no one more corrupt than the bigot. His and his cronies made billions during demonetization.

That he is an outright bigot on top of being a thoroughly lying incompetent corrupt being, makes him most abominable politico we have ever had.

No wonder Adani has multiplied his wealth astronomically under his chum, the bigot.

In a huge controversy over an energy project in Sri Lanka awarded to industrialist Gautam Adani's group, a Lankan official who had claimed that President Gotabaya Rajapaksa acted under pressure from Prime Minister Narendra Modi resigned today.

MMC Ferdinando, the chairman of Sri Lanka's Ceylon Electricity Board (CEB), had yesterday retracted a claim that he was told by President Rajapaksa about PM Modi pressuring him to give the wind power project directly to the Adani Group. The official dropped the bombshell claim on Friday, at an open hearing of the Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE), a parliamentary panel.

The allegations involve a 500-Megawatt renewable energy project in Sri Lanka's Mannar district. A video of Mr Ferdinando's comment at the parliamentary hearing has been widely circulated on Twitter.

"On November 24, the President summoned me after a meeting and said that India's Prime Minister Modi is pressuring him to hand over the project to the Adani group. I said 'this matter doesn't concern me or the Ceylon electricity board and this consists of the board of investments'. He insisted that I look into it. I then sent a letter that the President has instructed me and that the Finance Secretary should do the needful. I pointed out that this is a government-to-government deal," the official said in Sinhala in the video, addressing the panel.

Three days after those comments, Mr Ferdinando has quit.

On Sunday evening, following a strong denial by President Rajapaksa on Twitter, Mr Ferdinando had also withdrawn his comments, claiming he had been "overcome with emotion" while facing questions that suggested wrongdoing by him.

President Rajapaksa had tweeted: "Regarding a statement made by the #lka CEB Chairman at a COPE committee hearing regarding the award of a Wind Power Project in Mannar, I categorically deny authorisation to award this project to any specific person or entity. I trust responsible communication in this regard will follow."

Re a statement made by the #lka CEB Chairman at a COPE committee hearing regarding the award of a Wind Power Project in Mannar, I categorically deny authorisation to award this project to any specific person or entity. I trust responsible communication in this regard will follow.

— Gotabaya Rajapaksa (@GotabayaR) June 11, 2022
His office issued a longer statement "vehemently denying" the charge. The President has "categorically stated that he had not at any time given authorisation to award a wind power project in Mannar to any person or any institution," the statement said.

"Sri Lanka is currently in an acute shortage of power and President desires to expedite implementation of mega power projects as early as possible. However, no undue influence will be used in awarding such projects. Project proposals for large-scale renewable energy projects is limited, but special attention will be paid to the selection of institutions for the projects, which will be carried out strictly in accordance with the transparent and accountable system by the government of Sri Lanka," said President Rajapaksa's office.

A day later, Mr Ferdinando was quoted by Sri Lankan daily The Morning as apologising and saying that due to "unexpected pressures and emotions", he was compelled to name the Indian Prime Minister.

The controversy erupted a day after Sri Lanka changed its laws to remove competitive bidding for energy projects. The Adani group figured in the parliamentary debate on the Electricity Amendment Bill before it was passed amid opposition protests. The opposition accused the government of ramming the bill through parliament to facilitate large renewable energy deals to the Adani group, which signed an unsolicited government-to-government agreement to build the Mannar wind power plant.

The main opposition SJB in Lanka asserted that projects beyond 10 MW capacity should go through a competitive bidding process, but government MPs voted against it.

The Adani Group reportedly won contracts to develop two wind power projects, in Mannar and in Pooneryn, in December.

Gautam Adani had visited Sri Lanka in October and had tweeted about his meeting with President Rajapaksa.

In 2021, the Adani Group had signed a $700 million deal with the state-run Sri Lanka Ports Authority (SLPA) to develop and run the strategic Colombo Port's West International Container Terminal.

NDTV

"Maa...This Isn't A Mere Word": PM Modi Visits Mother On Her 99th Birthday

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday met his mother Heeraben Modi at her residence in Gandhinagar in Gujarat on the occasion of her birthday.

The Prime Minister sought his mother's blessings and washed her feet.

Born on June 18, 1923, Heeraben Modi entered the 100th year of her life today.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/maa...odi-visits-his-mother-on-her-birthday-3077901

What a showpony and a drammebaz! Who the hell takes a cameraman (or probably cameramen) when he is meeting his mother on her birthday? This is an occasion which should always be a private affair. Should not be beamed LIVE to media and being flashed on front pages of prominent dailies!

We all love our mothers but do exhibit this as some sort of ehsaan we are doing on her.

But this is feku we are talking about! The one who didn't hesitate to ask his 95-years old mother to stand in ATM queues when he declared the disastrous demonetization! All for some narrow political gains.

You won't find a more shameless politician than this guy!

Our house may have been small, but she was extremely large-hearted. A close friend of my father used to stay in a nearby village. After his untimely death, my father brought his friend's son, Abbas, to our home. He stayed with us and completed his studies," PM Modi said in the blog post on his official website.

"Mother was as affectionate and caring towards Abbas just like she did for all of us siblings. Every year on Eid, she used to prepare his favourite dishes. On festivals, it was commonplace for neighbourhood kids to come to our house and enjoy Mother's special preparations," PM Modi said.

This guy :)))

So they used to cook mutton in the Modi household?

When is he going to remember his father's other friends, whose sons came and stayed over - George Anthony and Sarabjeet Singh.

This guy :)))

So they used to cook mutton in the Modi household?

When is he going to remember his father's other friends, whose sons came and stayed over - George Anthony and Sarabjeet Singh.
There is also no bigger liar than this guy, ever.

View attachment 116260

You have to a be a special kind of sociopath to market taking care of your mother as a big deal and event.

More pictures from the same international event. :inti

2e0795d8-ef33-11ec-8ce9-c5e14b8baf57_1655576430159_1655580283571.jpg

pm_modi_and_mother.jpg

The last pic was on the front page of ToI, India's largest read English daily. lol, purpose solved.

Modi also gave the reader a peek into his poverty-stricken family, explaining how his mother’s childhood was “extremely difficult” and how she was forced to “wash utensils” at a few houses to help ends meet.

Modi described his family home as a “tiny house which did not even have a window”.

“In Vadnagar, our family used to stay in a tiny house which did not even have a window, let alone a luxury like a toilet or a bathroom. We used to call this one-room tenement with mud walls and clay tiles for a roof, our home. And all of us – my parents, my siblings and I, stayed in it,” he said.

https://theprint.in/india/never-tak...to-be-gujarat-chief-minister-in-2001/1002229/

I, me, myself and my poverty!

Doesn't this guy ever get tired of blowing his trumpet of childhood poverty? Can some remind him that he is living a luxurious life far lavish than that of a king for more than 2 decades now so these gimmicks have become old now?

I don't understand this at all. Aise to kuch bhi kaam karna mushkil ho jaayega if people find loop-holes in everything.

PM picks up litter from newly opened tunnel as a part of his 'Swaccha Bharat' abhiyaan. He is doing it in camera on purpose to set an example to Indians to not throw litter on roads. It is known advertisement technique adopted by leaders of many country to set an example. Isme Nautanki aur dramebaazi kya hai?

I remember few years ago, he did a beach clean campaign which resulted in many volunteers, incl. celebrities participating in cleaning of Juhu beach (one of the dirties beaches in the world). Even at that time liberals, who are burning like charcoal since 2014 were moaning why is he doing it on camera? Well, he is doing it on camera to set an example. What else you expect - PM to act as sweeper and clean the beach himself offline? :91:

People also has problem if he goes to meet his mother. Again he is doing it in camera as a lesson for Indians to take care of their aged parents. What is the harm in it? Well, atleast it is better than an adolescent kid wanting to become PM being found in a Nepali nightclub.

The problem is Indian's are used to bureaucratic & puppet PMs like Manmohan Singh. So when they get a leader who does good work and lead by example, they can't digest it.

Oh and by Indian's I meant only a very small miniscule population because the mass majority stands with PM :thumbsup:yess

lol at kaam!

If only he concentrated on kaam and kaam only and not to show off every little thing on camera, things won't have been as disastrous in India as they are under his 8-years despotic rule!

lol at taking care of his mother! Is that why he made his 95-year mother stand in ATM queues so as to defend his disastrous demonetization? And god forbid, if someone has to learn how to take care of one's mother from feku!

Trust his gullible bhakts to defend him, no matter what!

And unlike NRIs, its us who are bearing the brunt of the 'kaam' done by their master on daily basis. If he is doing as good work as you're claiming he is, how about returning to your motherland where Ram raj has long been setup under the tutelage of feku maharaj?

His mother has been his ardent supporter like any mum would be for his son. She herself stood in the line to set an example that if a 95 year old lady can stand in queue, youth of this country should not complain.

I still fail to understand since when taking care of your elder mother or cleaning up roadside litter is a bad thing?

If the problem is why is he doing in front of camera, then I already answered he is setting an example for people to follow. PM/leader's job is not only work like donkey but also live & set an example for his citizens. Its similar to a cricket captain whose job is not only to score runs/take wickets but to lead his side and set standards by example.

But if the problem is PMs good social work getting highlighted which will increase his vote share, then that is a different issue all together. Opposition need to up their game to tackle this. Nepal ke nightclub me baith ke nehi hone waala.

Rest all jibes like 'Gullible Bhakts', 'NRI' etc are typical ones which has no meaning. Unless you are saying that a PM who wins 2 national elections in record numbers and every people who voted for him are gullible bhakts

Corner him with real facts/figures if got any guts and create an alter narrative so that people can buy it. If meeting a 95 year old mother/ removing litter from street is the problem and opposition wants to create a narrative out of it, then a bigger chappal waiting in 2024 even more than the one in 2014 & 2019 :91:

Real facts and figures have been put forward many times. But one needs to be literate enough to decipher them.

Oh, i didn't see the mention of date of return to India.

If someone doesn't even dare to address this, then leave cheap sermons for same species or else chappal could have someone else's name written on it.

His mother has been his ardent supporter like any mum would be for his son. She herself stood in the line to set an example that if a 95 year old lady can stand in queue, youth of this country should not complain.

I still fail to understand since when taking care of your elder mother or cleaning up roadside litter is a bad thing?

If the problem is why is he doing in front of camera, then I already answered he is setting an example for people to follow. PM/leader's job is not only work like donkey but also live & set an example for his citizens. Its similar to a cricket captain whose job is not only to score runs/take wickets but to lead his side and set standards by example.

But if the problem is PMs good social work getting highlighted which will increase his vote share, then that is a different issue all together. Opposition need to up their game to tackle this. Nepal ke nightclub me baith ke nehi hone waala.

Rest all jibes like 'Gullible Bhakts', 'NRI' etc are typical ones which has no meaning. Unless you are saying that a PM who wins 2 national elections in record numbers and every people who voted for him are gullible bhakts

Corner him with real facts/figures if got any guts and create an alter narrative so that people can buy it. If meeting a 95 year old mother/ removing litter from street is the problem and opposition wants to create a narrative out of it, then a bigger chappal waiting in 2024 even more than the one in 2014 & 2019 :91:

You should also come back to India and then talk. UK mein baith ke nahi hone wala. You are an outsider, who is not aware of ground realities of what's happening exactly in India. Apni chappal apne sar pe rakh aur SabChangaSi da jap kar. :91: :inti

It seems like a PR stunt. A PM has better things to do esp the Indian PM.

Im more interested in why Modi hides his wife? Surely being a good husband is also important to show in a nation like India where domestic abuse is often the norm?

Who is his wife? What is her role and how does he treat her?

Unemployment figures? I was in India when he became the PM , I remember his job campaign..

Im more interested in why Modi hides his wife? Surely being a good husband is also important to show in a nation like India where domestic abuse is often the norm?

Are you interested in IK’s personal life too?

Mr Modi in 2013, man self Twitter handles are the biggest opposition to the current world elected leaders lol

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">UPA Government and the Rupee seem to be in a competition with each other on who will tumble down more. <a href="http://t.co/Rl8RMMJ9kZ">http://t.co/Rl8RMMJ9kZ</a></p>— Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi/status/360073561903333377?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 24, 2013</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Are you interested in IK’s personal life too?

Of course. Any leader who is married will be judged on how he treats his wife. We know a lot about IK's wife even though he doesnt use his family members for cheap publicity.

Now you are happy, either you know something about Modis wife or you're on the wrong thread?

Of course. Any leader who is married will be judged on how he treats his wife. We know a lot about IK's wife even though he doesnt use his family members for cheap publicity.

Now you are happy, either you know something about Modis wife or you're on the wrong thread?

So you believe IK’s second wife?

Unfortunately here is what Modi’s wife thinks about him (probably brainwashed imo)

https://www.theweek.in/news/india/2...eaks-out-says-he-is-like-Lord-Ram-to-her.html

So you believe IK’s second wife?

Unfortunately here is what Modi’s wife thinks about him (probably brainwashed imo)

https://www.theweek.in/news/india/2...eaks-out-says-he-is-like-Lord-Ram-to-her.html

lol. You seem very defensive. Use the correct thread for IK :sachin

Interesting link.

In 2014, this writer had spoken to a couple of people who had taken part in Modi's marriage. A few of PM Modi's childhood friends had said Modi married under parental pressure, but left home later. He did not stay with Jashodaben after marriage. According to them, she lived at her in-laws place (Modi's parents) in Vadnagar for some time, and later went back to her parental home.

So it seems Modi was in a forced , arranged marriage :))

Now I understand why Modi shuns her even though she sees him as Lord Ram.

In my opinion Modi should divorce her and marry again. However imo he bats for the opposite side which wont down well with his RSS followers.

Yeah, not her fault though.. conservative society.

The irony hey from an RSS leader.

Modi has no children also?

Tbf a bit late for him to marry again, looks on his last legs. He may as well appreciate his wife now, show her some public love as i assume she has been taking care of him for years.

The irony hey from an RSS leader.

Modi has no children also?

Tbf a bit late for him to marry again, looks on his last legs. He may as well appreciate his wife now, show her some public love as i assume she has been taking care of him for years.

RSS leader is Mohan.. not Modi.

In his wife’s own words:

-He told me once that "I will be travelling across the country and will go as and where I please; what will you do following me?" When I came to Vadnagar to live with his family, he told me "why did you come to your in-laws' house when you are still so young, you must instead focus on pursuing your studies". The decision to leave was my own and there was never any conflict between us. He never spoke to me about the RSS or about his political leanings. When he told me he would be moving around the country as he wished, I told him I would like to join him. However, on many occasions when I went to my in-laws' place, he would not be present and he stopped coming there. He used to spend a lot of time in RSS shakhas. So I too stopped going there after a point and I went back to my father's house.

——

I don’t see any issue with Modi’s personal life, if anything this is the only area where I don’t see an issue with him, since he doesn’t care about making for his family (brother, Wife etc children rich)..

[MENTION=152021]Rajdeep[/MENTION] this also proves he had abandoned his parents so he should stop the PR with his mother, again nothing against him for doing so because in his heart he wanted to serve the country in a Hindutva way where we can disagree with him in a civil way.

In his wife’s own words:

-He told me once that "I will be travelling across the country and will go as and where I please; what will you do following me?" When I came to Vadnagar to live with his family, he told me "why did you come to your in-laws' house when you are still so young, you must instead focus on pursuing your studies". The decision to leave was my own and there was never any conflict between us. He never spoke to me about the RSS or about his political leanings. When he told me he would be moving around the country as he wished, I told him I would like to join him. However, on many occasions when I went to my in-laws' place, he would not be present and he stopped coming there. He used to spend a lot of time in RSS shakhas. So I too stopped going there after a point and I went back to my father's house.

——

I don’t see any issue with Modi’s personal life, if anything this is the only area where I don’t see an issue with him, since he doesn’t care about making for his family (brother, Wife etc children rich)..

[MENTION=152021]Rajdeep[/MENTION] this also proves he had abandoned his parents so he should stop the PR with his mother, again nothing against him for doing so because in his heart he wanted to serve the country in a Hindutva way where we can disagree with him in a civil way.

Well hes the spiritual leader as made it to PM but sure.

Interesting thanks. I see a lot of issues. The one pointed out seems like Modi was married to the RSS more than his wife. Following extremists, he was in trance. It helps to understand why this man being PM has changed India to a Hindutva nation.

Abbas Ramsada, the Muslim boy who had lived for over three years at Prime Minister Narendra Modi's Vadnagar home in the early 70s and became like a family member, is now enjoying his retirement life with his son in Sydney, the PM's younger brother Prahlad Modi said on Monday.
Abbas Ramsada found a mention in the blog written by PM Modi on the occasion of his mother Hiraba entering the 100th year of her life on Saturday.

Abbas was a classmate and friend of Pankaj Modi, the youngest of the Modi siblings.

"Abbas became an integral part of the Modi family," Prahlad Modi, president of the Gujarat Fair Price Shop Owners Association, told PTI.

"A close friend of my father used to stay in a nearby village. After his untimely death, my father brought his friend's son, Abbas, to our home. He stayed with us and completed his studies. Mother (Hiraba) was as affectionate and caring towards Abbas just like she did for all of us siblings. Every year on Eid, she used to prepare his favourite dishes" the PM had written.

According to Prahlad Modi, Abbas Ramsada was a native of Kesimpa village near Vadnagar town in the Mehsana district and was a classmate of Pankaj Modi at Shree BN High School in Vadnagar.

"When Pankaj learnt that Abbas might have to leave his studies midway due to the untimely death in his family, Pankaj urged my parents to do something for his friend. Without any hesitation, my father brought him to our house to ensure that he finishes his education. He stayed with us till the completion of his matriculation," said Prahlad Modi.

According to him, Abbas lived with the Modi family for almost four years in the early 70s and became like a family member.

Remembering those days, Prahlad Modi said their parents had told Abbas that he was free to follow his religious practice and also allowed him to offer namaz at their home.

"Our family always believed in religious harmony. He was like our younger brother. Abbas used to play garba with us during Navratri too. He later went on to become a government servant and retired as a manager with the Gujarat State Civil Supplies Corporation a few years back. He is now living with one of his sons in Sydney, Australia," said Prahlad Modi.

This can be easily verified if any media house cares. Would like if this were true, not because it would particularly correct Modi's image, but because it would at least mean he doesn't always lie.

Modi govt’s deepest damage isn’t Hindu-Muslim divide but PM’s ‘mogic’ dumbing us down

There is logic. And then there is ‘mogic’ — the special kind of logic patented by our Prime Minister. The current debate on Agnipath illustrates mogic at work, just as it did during demonetisation, Covid lockdown and the 2020 farm laws.

It operates as follows. First of all, we are told that we have a serious problem. It could be black money, the pandemic, or the state of our agricultural markets. The second step is straightforward: Something really needs to be done. How can anyone disagree with that? Step three — the PM pulls out a rabbit from his hat: Here is something. It could be overnight demonetisation, complete national lockdown or the farm laws. Before you have had the time to absorb what has just been presented, you are rushed into the final step: Let’s do it. Let’s not waste time.

The magic of mogic lies in tricking the audience to skip a step that lies between steps three and four. It induces a toxic mix of anxiety and enthusiasm so as to make the public forget to ask a question: Is the “something” that really needs to be done the same as “something” that is being offered? Would the proposed remedy really solve the problem that we set out to address? How would demonetisation possibly attack black money? Is a lockdown of this kind the only or the best way to address the pandemic?

The power of mogic lies in drowning this question — if at all it does get raised — in other questions: Aren’t you concerned about the problem? Don’t you think something should be done about it? Someone is offering something, why nitpick? Why don’t you think ‘positively’? Why can’t you trust the leader? Or, it can be drowned in a heap of words — fact, fabrication and fiction. We are invited to debate the real and imagined benefits of the solution, unrelated to the problem. Before you can recover, the debate is over. We move on to the next big solution in search of a problem.

Step one: There is a real problem. The armed forces’ salary and pension bills have mounted over the years. Thanks to its own fiscal mismanagement and the pandemic, the Union government is hard-pressed for money. The national security threat from China has accentuated the need for better defence preparedness, technology and weapons. The problem cannot be postponed further. We reach step two: ‘We need to do something’.

The elaborate propaganda exercise is aimed at covering up three simple but awkward facts about Agnipath. One, that direct, regular recruitment to the armed forces has come to an end — that Agnipath does not supplement but substitutes existing regular recruitment. This is a staggering decision by any measure but never mentioned in any press release or media interaction. Two, that the Services are being downsized, perhaps reduced to half of its present strength. This decision is impossible to sell to the public, given all the developments in Ladakh and Arunachal Pradesh. Hence the fudging of numbers. And three, the share of regions and communities that have historically contributed in greater numbers to the armed forces will be cut down to their population proportion. Since this could enrage powerful regions and vocal communities, Army spokespersons resort to a bold-face lie: There is no change in regiment recruitment.

This empire of lies is going to be PM Modi’s enduring legacy. When a child watches starred generals lie on national television, it affects their cognitive faculties. The deepest damage that the Modi government has inflicted on us is not the division of the people on Hindu-Muslim lines. It is not even the moral debasement that it has normalised. It is the routinisation of collective cognitive degeneration — our failure as a people to recognise truth and catch a lie.

Political philosopher Hannah Arendt spelt out the consequences of this institutionalisation of lies: “If everybody always lies to you, the consequence is not that you believe the lies, but rather that nobody believes anything any longer… And a people that no longer can believe anything cannot make up its mind. It is deprived not only of its capacity to act but also of its capacity to think and to judge. And with such a people you can then do what you please.”

That is the whole point of mogic.

https://theprint.in/opinion/modi-go...divide-but-pms-mogic-dumbing-us-down/1006992/

Very well written, Yogendra Yadav. Its a fact that there is a no bigger liar in world than feku.

Good bouncer there. Has surely put [MENTION=152021]Rajdeep[/MENTION] on a defensive mode. :inti

In beneath me to answer on someone's wife and mum. Not my upbringing...pls don't tag me in such posts.

And if anyone is that much interested why he left his wife and went to himalayas, you can always google or read about life of Gautama Buddha.

In beneath me to answer on someone's wife and mum. Not my upbringing...pls don't tag me in such posts.

And if anyone is that much interested why he left his wife and went to himalayas, you can always google or read about life of Gautama Buddha.

I was wrong. He didn't put you on a defensive mode, he actually clean bowled you. You have no answer now. :91:

What is the use of discussion forums if you keep hiding behind expert opinions and send people to google? You were talking about his mother and were praising Modi above. Has nothing to do with upbringings. You are trying to run away it seems. :inti

In his wife’s own words:

——

Sorry missed this post.

PR and marketing from a leader is good thing. A leader is a trend setter and one who leads by example. By taking care of his mum or by picking litter from road, he is not showing his personal side to the world. He is setting example to his fellow citizens to follow him. Its a brilliant PR strategy actually. He is not doing that PR for himself. Let me break it down to you...Narendra Modi dosen't need a PR as he is the biggest superstar and most famous person in India and millions love him. He will also easily win the next general election and will be his last term as a PM. He also dont have any kids or family after him. Why would he need a PR?

Everything that he does or doing or had done or will be doing is for India and Indians only and that too in a selfless manner. Still some creatures love to hate him.

Chalo koi nei..

Don't you dare put Modi in the same sentence as Buddha, ever again :moyo

You may put him in the same sentence as Buddhu though, if you like :)

Well hes the spiritual leader as made it to PM but sure.

Interesting thanks. I see a lot of issues. The one pointed out seems like Modi was married to the RSS more than his wife. Following extremists, he was in trance. It helps to understand why this man being PM has changed India to a Hindutva nation.

I can put back the same question and ask why does IK hide his wife. To be more accurate 3rd wife (I think). Also for a man in his 60’s-70’s dedicated his life to the country whats the “need” to get married. It’s wrong to raid peoples closets so let’s stick to the main points only.

Modi has left his wife and there seems to be mutual consensus there but what’s IK’s excuse.

It definitely is a great example for the youth that follow him. I would rather take these kind of optics than complaining and whining about every little thing and be a miserable Pappu.

And what's that example?

Abandon your wife and mother. Keep the wife abandoned, but use the mother for your personal gain? If his mother was a terrible person I am totally ok with him not wanting to give a damn about her. But by his own words, she was caring. Wonder how she feels about having her feet washed by this actor under the glare of the cameras once a year.

There’s a new world’s No. 4 richest: India’s Gautam Adani, who moved up one spot in Forbes’ Real-Time billionaire rankings after Bill Gates announced a huge new gift this week.

The billionaire math is simple when it comes to big charitable donations: Give money away and your net worth shrinks. That’s what happened to Bill Gates, who said Wednesday that he’s donating $20 billion to the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation this month as part of the foundation’s effort to increase its annual giving 50% by 2026.

The shift in funds led to Adani moving into the No. 4 spot—Bill Gates’ prior rank. The Indian tycoon’s wealth has more than doubled since early 2021 to a current $112.9 billion. Adani, an infrastructure tycoon, owns stakes in six publicly traded companies that bear his name and operate in power, green energy, gas, ports and more.

Wah Modiji wah

:ds

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi owns assets worth over ₹ 2.23 crore, mostly as bank deposits, but has no immovable properties as he has donated his share in a piece of land in Gandhinagar, according to his latest disclosure about assets.
He has no investment in any bond, share or mutual funds, does not own any vehicle, but has four gold rings valued at ₹ 1.73 lakh, according to his declaration updated till March 31.

PM Modi's movable assets rose by ₹ 26.13 lakh from a year ago, but he no longer owns the immovable assets which were worth ₹ 1.1 crore as on March 31, 2021.

His assets total ₹ 2,23,82,504 as on March 31, 2022, according to details uploaded on the Prime Minister's Office (PMO) website.

The residential plot he jointly held with three other owners, each having an equal share, was purchased by him in October 2002 when he was the Chief Minister of Gujarat.

The latest update said, "Immovable property Survey No. 401/A was jointly held with three other joint owners and each having an equal share of 25 per cent is no more owned by the self as the same has been donated."

The cash in hand with the prime minister as on March 31, 2022 was ₹ 35,250 and his National Savings Certificates with post office were worth ₹ 9,05,105 and had life insurance policies valued ₹ 1,89,305.

Among the prime minister's Cabinet colleagues who have declared their assets, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh has movables worth ₹ 2.54 crore and immovable assets worth 2.97 crore as on March 31, 2022.

Of all the 29 Cabinet ministers, the ones who have declared their own and their dependents' assets for the last fiscal also include Dharmendra Pradhan, Jyotiraditya Scindia, RK Singh, Hardeep Singh Puri, Parshottam Rupala and G Kishan Reddy.

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, who was a Cabinet minister in the last fiscal and demitted office in July, has also declared his assets.

NDTV

What an actor again. :91: [MENTION=147527]MP2011[/MENTION]

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is the funniest PR stunt till date 😂<br><br>- Classroom has a fake window <br>- Only six children in a tiny classroom <br>- All walls look like cardboard <br>- Look at the facial expression of children <a href="https://t.co/WoKPFCI786">pic.twitter.com/WoKPFCI786</a></p>— Dhruv Rathee (@dhruv_rathee) <a href="https://twitter.com/dhruv_rathee/status/1582998101610008576?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 20, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Haha what a clown seeking camera attention all the time, didn't know he was that desperate.

No wonder his followers seem the same ignorant attention seeking type. Or prefers its from the built in inferiotiy complex of majority of padosis....always seeking attention and approval

There are many reasons why Modi has been winning. Just look at the clowns running the states from other parties. The biggest nepotistic goon is Stalin in Tamil Nadu that runs a conversion mafia and doles out free junk with massive corruption. This is the same goon along with his dad that supported LTTE openly and caused massive corruption scams including 2G spectrum auction.

Next is Mamta Begum that has been ruining Bengal with illegal Bangladeshi migrants. Apparently all the smart bengalis are moving to other states as they don't have jobs in West Bengal.

The guys running Bihar- Nitish and Loloo are massively corrupt, socialist goons that don't understand the word 'development'. It's a massive socialist agenda ruining the country.

Jagan in AP runs another conversion scheme. His dad and he apparently scammed to the tune of 5 billion dollars

Kejriwal is the biggest scammer of them all with freebies and poor governance. Delhi is still a cesspit and he's now overseeing the Khalistan vibe catch on in Punjab.

We all know about the duffer Rahul Gandhi and his goofy speeches. He's an entitled brat with no experience in administration. His own party didn't seem him fit to be a minister under Manmohan.

TRS in Telangana is reasonably good but massive overspending on agri and schemes is causing financial distress to the state with the highest per capita GDP.

Amidst all of this, there's only one party that can chug along while also knowing how to win elections. Modi improved the road network more than what Congress did it 70 years. Railways, health insurance, schemes, diplomacy, direct money transfer, cleanliness and financial strength when world is staring at recession. He will win again because of his strength and policies. He will win again because of the promises he kept with Ayodhya Mandir and Article 370 abrogation. He will win again because Hindus aren't second class citizens in their own country anymore. He will win again because the others are duds. Until then these walk shows, talk shows funded by conversion mafias will go on. But they won't affect Modi or his electability.

Gujarat CM Bhupendra Patel Allegedly Obstructed From Entering PM’s Car

An alleged video of Gujarat Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel being obstructed from Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s car is making rounds on the internet.

In the video, the Gujarat CM is seen entering the PM’s car, and the SPG personnel is seen obstructing Mr Patel from entering the car.

“Look at what an elected CM has to face. If a BJP CM has to undergo this treatment from Modi ji, then imagine the plight of common man!”, TRS leader YSR said in a tweet.

Look at what an elected CM has to face. If a BJP CM has to undergo this treatment from Modi ji, then imagine the plight of common man!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Look at what an elected CM has to face. If a BJP CM has to undergo this treatment from Modi ji, then imagine the plight of common man! 👇 <a href="https://t.co/tDLSeZTiJE">pic.twitter.com/tDLSeZTiJE</a></p>— YSR (@ysathishreddy) <a href="https://twitter.com/ysathishreddy/status/1584541614277816321?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 24, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Reacting to the video Aam Aadmi Party leader Sanjay Singh said “So much respect for the Patel community, Gujarat CM wanted to sit inside the car but PM said run behind the car you are not worthy of sitting beside me.”

Gujarat a BJP-ruled state is set to witness elections later in the year. On 11 September 2021, former CM Vijay Rupani resigned from the post of Chief Minister of Gujrat after which Patel was unanimously elected as the BJP legislative party leader and Chief Minister-elect of Gujarat on 12 September 2021.

https://hwnews.in/news/national/wat...l-allegedly-obstructed-from-entering-pms-car/

This is how he treats a CM, now imagine what he thinks of those andhbhakhts who work for him for pennies. :facepalm :inti

Elections 2022 - Shock defeat for Modi’s ruling party in Delhi local elections

Indian prime minister Narendra Modi’s ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) suffered a shock defeat in municipal elections in national capital New Delhi as the opposition Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) edged out the Hindu nationalist party and wrested power.

In a tightly contested fight that went down to the wire, the AAP crossed the half-way mark of 125 wards out of a total 250 in the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD), as results were counted on Wednesday.

The BJP, which had been in power in the corporation since 2007, was down to 103 wards.

With the win in the municipal polls, the AAP now has control of both the state assembly and the municipal body.

AAP, just a month before the Covid pandemic began, had won a resounding mandate in the assembly elections, clinching 63 out of a total 70 seats, in one of the most heavily communally polarised contests ever seen in the national capital.

The party’s national convenor Arvind Kejriwal was elected chief minister of the Union Territory after the win.

Mr Kejriwal, who has positioned himself as a direct challenger to Mr Modi and is looking to take on the prime minister in the 2024 national elections, thanked the people of Delhi for voting his party to power in the municipal body.

“Thanks to the people of Delhi for this grand victory and many congratulations to all. Now all of us together have to make Delhi clean and beautiful,” he said in a tweet.

Deputy chief minister Manish Sisodia said the mandate showed the people of Delhi had shown the door to the “world’s biggest and most negative party”.

According to the state election commission, the lone transgender candidate Bobi, fielded by the AAP, won from the Sultanpuri-A ward.

“I faced insults all my life, but it never stopped me from dreaming that transgender people like me will get value and respect in society one day. I never lost that hope. I know that transgender and queer people are still looked down upon and do not get equal opportunities… a lot has to done, but this is first step,” she said to The Indian Express last month.

Both parties had launched a high-decibel campaign in the national capital.

The AAP focused on anti-incumbency and accused the BJP of not delivering on its promises of clean roads and garbage management in the city, while the BJP had homed in on attempting to prove that the AAP failed on its main anti-corruption plank.

In the days running up to the elections, a series of videos were released which showed jailed Delhi minister and AAP member Satyendar Jain getting a massage in his jail cell, where he has been lodged for months on money laundering charges.

The BJP had capitalised on the videos to prove its point.

But the MCD elections showed the party was capable of unseating the BJP, perceived by its supporters to be undefeatable, it said.

Prior to its current victory in the municipal polls, the AAP has either attempted to buck an anti-incumbency trend, as seen in Delhi in 2020, or ventured to other states like Punjab, where it snatched power from the Congress this year.

“The BJP would always say AAP has only defeated Congress. Today, Arvind Kejriwal has given them an answer,” AAP’s Sanjay Singh was quoted as saying by NDTV.

The municipal polls are the first since the civic body was reunified and wards redrawn. In 2012, the MCD was trifurcated area wise into three bodies.

The poll results on Wednesday also established AAP as the principal opposition to the BJP, with the Congress being reduced to just nine wards.

The election results come a day before the state assembly election results for Himachal Pradesh and Gujarat are slated to be announced on Thursday – where the AAP is again looking to emerge as the principal challenger to the BJP, especially in the latter, which is Mr Modi’s home state.

MSN

Nothing shocking about sanghis' getting defeated in MCD elections. They were in power for 15 long years and all they did was to reduce the capital city Delhi to a city of garbage mountains and overflowing sewage.

However, they still got 100+ seats which is surprising.

AAP'ians hyping up the municipal election as saving grace after being humiliated in Gujarat and Himachal assembly elections :91:

MCD elections are meaningless
It is no secret that ruling party in a state mostly wins municipal polls. Since Kejriwal is a CM of Delhi for so long, its a surprise that BJP was able to hold onto municipal post for so long. Even in this MCD election, AAP is only 4% vote share ahead of BJP.

AAP wanted to be a national party to challenge Modi for PM post. The net result being 1 seat in Goa, 6 in Gujarat, 0 in UP, 0 in Himachal Pradesh :)))

Atleast before, Congress was able to give some sort of fight to BJP. But now with AAP poking its nose in every election, it is cutting into congress's vote making it even more easy for BJP to win.

There was a survey conducted by India today and 1 in 3 people vote for BJP party only bcoz of Modi, otherwise they would opt for other party. We are talking about a leader of such popularity. We are talking about a statesman whom people simply love and that too after him being in power for 9 years as PM and 12 years as CM before that. So he must be doing something right.

Any amount of propaganda or any Kejriwal or Pappu's of the world can't do a thing about it unfortunately. People in India trust Narendra Modi as their leader..thats all. Zero negotiation.

#FACT

Nothing shocking about sanghis' getting defeated in MCD elections. They were in power for 15 long years and all they did was to reduce the capital city Delhi to a city of garbage mountains and overflowing sewage.

However, they still got 100+ seats which is surprising.

Well, Delhi wasn't exactly like Zurich or Tokyo before that, was it?

The fact of the matter is that nothing much can be done in place like Delhi irrespective of the party in power. With all its inherent corruption and the fact that every second person has political connections, there is zero accountability. It's very difficult to get anything done in that place.

Let's see if Kejriwal can change anything. I doubt he can, given how his government is faring in Punjab.

Well, Delhi wasn't exactly like Zurich or Tokyo before that, was it?

The fact of the matter is that nothing much can be done in place like Delhi irrespective of the party in power. With all its inherent corruption and the fact that every second person has political connections, there is zero accountability. It's very difficult to get anything done in that place.

Let's see if Kejriwal can change anything. I doubt he can, given how his government is faring in Punjab.
It wasn't Zurich or any other first world city but it wasn't this bad either.

Those mounds of garbage are such a 'sight'. Worse still, 2/3 mounds are situated on borders of Delhi, making it such a turn off for visitors visiting Delhi for the first time!

As for Kejriwal, I guess he'll prove to be equally incompetent as the previous regime was. Don't have much hope from any of our current politicos.

"Narendra Worked Hard So Bhupendra Could Break Record: PM On Gujarat Win

Prime Minister Narendra Modi thanked Gujarat today for the massive, record-breaking mandate in the assembly elections, saying he was "humbled by your trust and faith in us". Speaking at the party headquarters in Delhi, PM Modi -- whose personal popularity and contribution to the victory is seen as the largest -- made light of his role.

"I had said during the campaign in Gujarat that this time that Narendra Modi's record (of 127 seats in 2002) has to be broken.... that Bhupendra (Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel) will break Narendra's record, and for that Narendra will work relentlessly and with all his heart and mind," he said. That, he added, "resonated with the people".

There was a word about the Chief Minister's personal achievement as well. "Today, Bhupendra-bhai Patel won his seat by over 2 lakh votes - that is phenomenal - to win an Assembly seat by 2 lakh votes is something that does not even happen to most in Lok Sabha seats," the Prime Minister said.

Mr Patel will continue as the Chief Minister of the state. He will take oath on Monday.

Speaking after party chief JP Nadda, who launched a no-holds-barred attack on Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party, PM Modi's approach was milder. There was an arch reference to "exploiting the fault lines".

"Those political parties today that try to exploit the fault lines and pose new challenges to India from within just to make some political gains, those parties are being watch and understood by the people of the nation," PM Modi said.

"They might find a lot of things to exploit and divide the people, but there is one thing that unites us all - our motherland. And we in BJP work only for the benefit of the motherland. Today, BJP is the first choice of most people in India," he added.

Without naming anyone, he also warned the party workers against "fake news and lies".

"I will be targetted and you all will also be targeted… So be prepared. And how will you do that? By being patient and increase your sehen-shakti (forbearance)," he added. In this context, he even cited the post-Godhra riots of 2002. "After 2002, there has not been any aspect of my life that has not been shredded," he said.

The BJP has raced to a 150-plus score within the first few hours of counting of votes today and firmly stayed there, keeping the Congress and Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party to a combined score of less than 25. The party is currently leading on 156 seats – 57 more than 2017. The Congress is hoping to scrape up 17 seats and AAP has made its debut with five.

NDTV

Case Against Man For False Claim Of Publishing Book On PM's Mann Ki Baat

The editor of a local publication was booked for allegedly duping people after he collected money claiming he would publish a book compiling Prime Minister Narendra Modi's 'Mann Ki Baat' radio speeches, said Mumbai Police on Saturday.

The accused has been identified as Alok Tiwari, who is the editor of a local magazine.

"A case has been registered against the editor (Alok Tiwari) of a local publication and his team for allegedly collecting money from people by claiming they would come out with a compilation of PM Modi's 'Mann Ki Baat' radio programme speeches," said Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP) Prashant Kadam.

The DCP further said that the publication claimed that they will publish a book, called Saar Granth, which will be launched by the President in 2023.

"They claimed that they will publish a book, called Saar Granth, which will be launched by the President in 2023. They were spreading misinformation and for this, they were asking for money from big industrialists and other people," said Kadam.

Further investigation is underway.

Mann Ki Baat is a monthly radio broadcast hosted by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in which he addresses the people of the nation on All India Radio, DD National and DD News.

NDTV

As for Kejriwal, I guess he'll prove to be equally incompetent as the previous regime was. Don't have much hope from any of our current politicos.

So who in the past was the closest to ideal Prime Minister that India ever had according to you ?

Vajpayee was good overall despite the obvious but muted shenanigans from sanghis during his reign,

MMS was good in patches, at least till '11.

PVN was good except for that Lakhubhai Pathak and Harshad Mehta episodes

Same for Indira

Nehru was great in ushering in such great institutions of independent India. Of course, '62 war proved to be his downfall.

Btw, if you read that comment properly you'd have known I was talking about change in guard at MCD.

Nehru Used To Present Policies At Campaigns But PM Modi...: Sharad Pawar

Speaking at a function where he was felicitated on turning 82, the NCP president said, "I have seen the speech of our prime minister at Nagpur, where he criticised the Opposition. I have seen the speeches of almost all the prime ministers, including our first PM Jawaharlal Nehru, in my life. Nehru and most other PMs never used government platforms to criticise the Opposition unlike the current prime minister."

The former Union minister questioned the rationale behind criticising the Opposition at government functions.

"The time has now come to wonder how wise it is to use a government platform to criticise the Opposition parties. Nehru, even during political campaigning, never used to criticise his opponents. He used to present his own policies and stand on various issues during campaigns," Mr Pawar said.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/neh...at-campaigns-but-pm-modi-sharad-pawar-3601078

That's why feku is such a reprehensible figure in whatever he does or utters. He has got no shame or manners whatsoever, that's what illiteracy does to you.

All he does is to put down pre 2014 India as if it didn't exist back then.

Indian opposition politician arrested for urging to «kill» prime minister

Indian opposition politician Raja Pateria was arrested Tuesday after he made controversial comments urging to "kill" the country's Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

The Indian authorities have ordered a police case against the also former minister, who has been arrested at his home in the city of Hata, in the northeast of the country, as reported by the NDTV channel.

Pateria sparked outrage when a video of him surfaced in which they were heard inciting a group of people to "kill" Modi to "save" the Constitution.

"Modi will end elections, Modi will divide on the basis of religion, caste, language; the lives of Dalits, tribals and minorities are in danger. If the constitution is to be saved, then get ready to kill Modi," he asserted.

The chief minister of the central Indian state of Madhya Pradesh, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, condemned the comments and criticized Pateria.

"Congress people cannot compete with Prime Minister Narendra Modi in the field, that is why a Congress leader is talking about killing him. This is the height of hatred. The true sentiments of the Congress are being revealed. The law will take its course," he said.

MSN

Vajpayee was good overall despite the obvious but muted shenanigans from sanghis during his reign,

MMS was good in patches, at least till '11.

PVN was good except for that Lakhubhai Pathak and Harshad Mehta episodes

Same for Indira

Nehru was great in ushering in such great institutions of independent India. Of course, '62 war proved to be his downfall.

Sorry I missed this post ... but are you aware of the numerous authoritarian decisions taken by Nehru they range from petty to egregious ? Also keep in mind that in about 11 yrs since he passed away the institutions that Nehru created failed miserably to stop a full blown emergency rule that lasted for nearly 2 yrs ?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">There is no greater loss than losing one’s mother. My condolences to Prime Minister <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@narendramodi</a> on the passing away of his mother.</p>— Shehbaz Sharif (@CMShehbaz) <a href="https://twitter.com/CMShehbaz/status/1608697645501157381?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 30, 2022</a></blockquote>

==

Prime Minister Narendra Modi's mother Heeraben Modi, who dies early this morning, has been cremated in Gandhinagar. PM Modi, who reached Gujarat early this morning, performed the last rites. Heeraben Modi was 99.

"Smt Hiraba Modi passed away on 30/12/2022, at 3:39 am (early morning, during the treatment at UN Mehta Heart Hospital," the hospital where she had been admitted since Wednesday said in a statement.

Informing about her death, the Prime Minister posted a heartfelt tweet early this morning, "A glorious century rests at the feet of God... In Maa, I have always felt that trinity, which contains the journey of an ascetic, the symbol of a selfless Karmayogi and a life committed to values."

PM Modi, who was scheduled to launch the developmental projects in West Bengal, may join the events through video conferencing.

Heeraben Modi lived with PM Modi's younger brother Pankaj Modi at Raysan village near Gandhinagar.

The Prime Minister would regularly visit Raysan and spend time with his mother during most of his Gujarat visits.

NDTV

Losing a parent is never easy, irrespective of how old you are. My condolences to Modi Ji.