New Zealand (259 & 255) beat India (156 & 245) convincingly in the 2nd Test by 113 runs to seal a 3-Test series victory (2-0) with one match remaining

I think Rohit was surprised by the slowness of the pitch. The ball stayed pretty low. A brilliant delivery...don't think you can blame a batter too much especially when they have just come out and are trying to get used to the pace of the pitch

Rohit man what a horrible technique against swing as a opener. Beautifully squared up by southie

If Rohit captains for Australian Test Series, then its advantage Australia... India should go with a bold team (like they did last time for whatever reasons) Jaiswal & Gill should open, heck Sundar can bat at No.3. Kohli should be the only one oldie present in the team... But more than anything we should identify the pacers accompanying Bumrah... And Pant should be fit...

Southee does not get enough credit. He may be a poor man's Jimmy Anderson but he is very good nonetheless.

Waisay its amazing how India have like for like replacements for Ashwin and Jadeja just waiting to come into the team.
At risk of self praising, i would say our FC set up has improved leaps and bounds, so has the ability of the talent scouts who unearth good cricketers now and then....
big example is Akshar Patel...dude played for india in about 2014, got dropped - did the hard yards of Ranji, Duleep trophy , improved his batting, worked hard on his fielding (that catch vs Aus - T20 WC - St lucia)and came back with more intensity, hunger and has proved himself....dude like Sarfraz, Akash are other examples

Southee does not get enough credit. He may be a poor man's Jimmy Anderson but he is very good nonetheless.
yes, and Trent boult decided to follow the T20 franchisee megabucks route, else he would be here as well....both in tandem are hard to handle....
TBH - that delivery that got Hitman - would get 8 out of 10 current top order batsmen

Day 1: Stumps - India trail by 243 runs

NZ 259
IND 16/1 (11) CRR: 1.45

At risk of self praising, i would say our FC set up has improved leaps and bounds, so has the ability of the talent scouts who unearth good cricketers now and then....
big example is Akshar Patel...dude played for india in about 2014, got dropped - did the hard yards of Ranji, Duleep trophy , improved his batting, worked hard on his fielding (that catch vs Aus - T20 WC - St lucia)and came back with more intensity, hunger and has proved himself....dude like Sarfraz, Akash are other examples
That's impressive and I wouldn't call it self-praising since the results are there. Guys that are coming out of India's domestic system are dong well for India in test cricket.

yes, and Trent boult decided to follow the T20 franchisee megabucks route, else he would be here as well....both in tandem are hard to handle....
TBH - that delivery that got Hitman - would get 8 out of 10 current top order batsmen
No doubt it was an excellent delivery. Perfectly pitched on a wicket that is slow and lacking in pace and bounce.

Boult has a poor record in India. He wouldn't do well. Surprised they dropped Henry though

That's impressive and I wouldn't call it self-praising since the results are there. Guys that are coming out of India's domestic system are dong well for India in test cricket.
I would go as far as to say even your guys have unearthed a diamond in Sajid Khan. you can see the passion in him, he wants to be involved, he wants to win and if channelled properly, such guys lift whole teams and win you games - like Multan 2nd test.
The biggest parameter/indicator of any person is their attitutude/receptiveness/willingness when asked to perform out of their comfort zone/in cricket- out of their primary skill...for eg a bowler when told to bat and defend i/e jason gillespie or Saqlain mastaq or vettori/andy bichel kind of guys....
and this parameter/indicator holds true in real life/corporate life/relationships also...
for Sajid when i saw him throw his body on the line, saved the 6 , almost got the guy out, that effort spoke volumes of the character of such persons....
I dont know much about your pitches preparation or pak team internal selections or that kind of stuff...but surely It is up to PCB and your coaches/ team management to give such guys therir space, see such guys propser and get the best out of such personalities.

Why I'm getting the feeling that India is going to lose its 1st series on home soil since 2012??

Last time in Pune, Australia made 260 in the 1st innings and went on to win the match by 333 runs..

Batting in 4th innings in Pune is very difficult, Newzealand won the crucial toss.

Why I'm getting the feeling that India is going to lose its 1st series on home soil since 2012??

Last time in Pune, Australia made 260 in the 1st innings and went on to win the match by 333 runs..

Batting in 4th innings in Pune is very difficult, Newzealand won the crucial toss.
That pitch was way worse than this....
Steve Smith played one of the all time great innings ever played on indian soil....
Bro - trust our boys...we'll do it...:)

It will be fantastic to see NZ win a test series in India.

I would go as far as to say even your guys have unearthed a diamond in Sajid Khan. you can see the passion in him, he wants to be involved, he wants to win and if channelled properly, such guys lift whole teams and win you games - like Multan 2nd test.
The biggest parameter/indicator of any person is their attitutude/receptiveness/willingness when asked to perform out of their comfort zone/in cricket- out of their primary skill...for eg a bowler when told to bat and defend i/e jason gillespie or Saqlain mastaq or vettori/andy bichel kind of guys....
and this parameter/indicator holds true in real life/corporate life/relationships also...
for Sajid when i saw him throw his body on the line, saved the 6 , almost got the guy out, that effort spoke volumes of the character of such persons....
I dont know much about your pitches preparation or pak team internal selections or that kind of stuff...but surely It is up to PCB and your coaches/ team management to give such guys therir space, see such guys propser and get the best out of such personalities.
I didn't think much of him initially because of that ugly, windmill action but he has won me over for sure. Finding such players in Pakistan is remarkable because they find a way to thrive inspite of the system rather than because of it. I hope he can keep perfroming this way in tests because we haven't had a good and reliable spin bowler since Yasir Shah

2nd Test: Sundar Career-Best 7/59 Limits NZ to 259, IND 16/1 At Stumps on Day 1​

India’s three changes for the 2nd Test against New Zealand became the talking point after the toss in Pune in the morning but by the time the stumps were drawn, Washington Sundar had done justice to his selection over Kuldeep Yadav with a career-best 7/59. His maiden five-wicket haul in Test cricket helped India bowl out New Zealand for 259 in 79.1 overs at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium.

However, India received an early jolt in their reply when Tim Southee cleaned up captain Rohit Sharma for a nine-ball duck before they ended the day with 16/1 in 11 overs. India decided against sending a nightwatchman with Shubman Gill (10*) and Yashasvi Jaiswal (6*) finishing the day unbeaten, trailing by New Zealand by 243 runs in the first innings.

Rohit, who was cleaned up for the third time in the series and for the second time by Southee, was squared up as he looked to defend in the line of the delivery but the ball moved away to beat his outside edge and crash into the off-stump.

Southee thus became the first among fast bowlers to take a wicket in this Test after a dominating show by the Indian spin duo of Sundar and R Ashwin (3/64), who did not allow New Zealand to break free.

The 25-year-old Sundar, playing his first Test for India since March, 2021, ran through New Zealand after Ashwin claimed the first three wickets in the innings to move past his Australian peer Nathan Lyon in the list of highest wicket-takers in Tests.

Ashwin began by trapping New Zealand captain Tom Latham (15) in front of the wickets and getting Will Young (18) caught behind in the first session, while Sundar took the centrestage towards the end of the second.

While he was measly to begin with as New Zealand batters looked to consolidate, Sundar reaped rich dividends for his perseverance.

He swung the momentum in India’s favour with two late wickets in the second session, including the in-form Rachin Ravindra, as New Zealand stumbled to 201/5 at tea.

Ravindra’s dismissal close to the tea break proved instrumental as New Zealand could never recover from the blow and folded in the final session without much resistance.

The young batter looked primed for another big knock but Sundar’s brilliance stopped him in his tracks.

Of his seven dismissals in an outstanding spell on a day one wicket, Sundar showed mastery in hitting the off-stump to snare five of his victims bowled, one pinned in front of the wickets while the other caught by fellow tweaker Ashwin.

Among those who were cleaned up by the Indian spinner were Ravindra, Tom Blundell (3), Mitchell Santner (33), Tim Southee (5) and Ajaz Patel (4).

The highlight, however, was the manner in which he cleaned up the in-form Ravindra, who looked good after his efforts of 134 and 39 not out in New Zealand’s eight-wicket win in the opening Test.

Sundar pitched the ball just perfectly to have it spinning away from Ravindra’s bat and crash into the off-stump, beating the in-form batter fair and square who had otherwise struck a perfect balance in attack and defence.

At the top, Conway managed 76 from 141 balls with 11 fours but he was among Ashwin’s three wickets at the top.

The Kiwis’ opener used his reverse sweeps against the spinners and drives down the wicket against the Indian pacers to good effect to accumulate his runs, but he had only himself to blame for missing out on scoring a century again.

On an innocuous delivery outside off, Conway went for a stroke but got an edge to be caught behind off Ashwin.

New Zealand’s woes compounded when off-colour batters in skipper Latham and Mitchell continued to struggle for runs despite spending considerable time in the middle.

Unless india puts up 450+ they can lose this. They are not going to chase anything more than 125 in the last innings

At one stages NZ were 195-3. From there 350 was on the card.

Good fightback by india but still match is perfectly balance. India has to bat last so anything above 175 + will be tough to chase.

In the balance much like it is in Pindi. These two look iffy at the moment, nipping them out early tomorrow is very possible for NZ

the way commies were talking in closing stages post-match , they expect IND to get 375+ . I s it that easy knowing Washington adds to the batting & Ashwin will bat at 9 ?

Kiwis will be disappointed with their effort , they should have got 350 here.
India ahead , kiwis bowling unit has to make a big effort to come back in the game.

At one stages NZ were 195-3. From there 350 was on the card.

Good fightback by india but still match is perfectly balance. India has to bat last so anything above 175 + will be tough to chase.
even 150 would be more than enough

Yea with duds like kohli.

Kohli is a walking wicket vs spin. He will make that constipated face after he gets bamboozled by a straight ball.

Rohit is a no show. Washed up has been. 37 and probably 40 in reality given age fudging.

Rest of the batting looks good though.

But can't keep carrying passengers

King kohli or the supposed great player averages 29 in the last 4 years.

There is nobody that is technically sound against spin in this line up bar Jaiswal and Sarfraz. Jurel actually plays well. SHreyas Iyer briefly played spin well before he started failing against every type of bowler.

Most fans here want the Australia India duopoly in cricket to carry on for some reason.

So who is stopping other teams from unearthing talents & making a team of world beaters & exactly how?
If you have a rational/empirical/quantifiable/measurable/factual answer followed by solid examples/sources - provide it.

Whatever they do, shouldn't be chasing > 150 off to win....
Hoping for a big batting day by our guys ..

I think we are not going to score more than 270 in first innings .

Santner will take five wickets Today. :dw

I want some expert to explain to me why India struggles against nice guys NZ. Do the smiles on their faces totally disarm the Indian aggressive attitude which they reserve for Australia? I wonder what it is..
Just like some teams are bamboozled by IPL contracts against India, I guess the Indians deeply covet the New Zealand sheep and have deep desire of visiting Middle Earth. :p

LOL. KOHLI walks in like a boss of a Million-dollar company, and goes back like an employee of a company that is about to go bankrupt.

What a pathetic from he is in.

hes one of the famous big 3 bade dibbey players Team India is carrying in tests since last 4 years. earlier dibba included rahane and pujara too who last did well in bgt 2020.

imagine what an even dominant team India could without their overrated top 3 dibbey ( rohit bkl rahul and kohli ) . since india keeps winning dibbey keep carried by 9 other actual star players

Pcb had to kick their dibbey out to see fortunes change
LOL. KOHLI walks in like a boss of a Million-dollar company, and goes back like an employee of a company that is about to go bankrupt.

this isnt form . form refers to scores over few series or months. Chokeli is in terminal decline in tests since 2019. see his records since 2019. probably less than 30 avg.

and he fails against spin bowling consistently. shameful for an asian / indian legend since we grow up on spin.

even more shameful to get out to a gora spinner. but chokli loves money more than self respect so will continue to delay / spoil young players ( karun nair/ gaekwad / vihari / eshwaran etc careers.)

this isnt form . form refers to scores over few series or months. Chokeli is in terminal decline in tests since 2019. see his records since 2019. probably less than 30 avg.

and he fails against spin bowling consistently. shameful for an asian / indian legend since we grow up on spin.

even more shameful to get out to a gora spinner. but chokli loves money more than self respect so will continue to delay / spoil young players ( karun nair/ gaekwad / vihari / eshwaran etc careers.)
Pak fans and media are more objective and powerful than India. They got rid of Babar after failing for just 9 test over the period of 2 years.
Kohli has been failing for 5 years and no one is allowed to bat an eyelid in India

Jaiswal is such an important wicket for NZ...

He has such a heartwarming backstory too. I genuinely want the guy to succeed. Once he gets out I will go back to my work...lol

Pak fans and media are more objective and powerful than India. They got rid of Babar after failing for just 9 test over the period of 2 years.
Kohli has been failing for 5 years and no one is allowed to bat an eyelid in India
It will require something drastic.. Like Jay Shah's career hanging on a thread and he has to to take tough decisions or womething.

At the moment, his father is doing great, he is doing great, no one is even whispering against him... KOhli and Rohit can do what they want till they get bored.

Will India also be 70 odd for 3, to mirror the Pak-Eng match... lol
I will take this opportunity to brag about my 'once in a blue moon' prediction coming true.. :tahir2

yeah yeah it was a question and not a prediction.. but I want to brag

delulu is the not solulu bro. Fans ke hath mei waha bhi kuch nai hai. its just that overall pak team couldnt carry the 3 top dibbas , while team india has enough talent n power to carry the big 3 dibbe so their misfires get tolerated. kohli obviously scores a 50 70 here and there so is allowed as he brings millions trp crowds.

the pak big 3 didnt do that , neither bring millions crowd or trp to pcb . so why keep the dibba. star sports is called kohli sports for the kind of kohli based shows they do all the time. no one is there to replace kohl atm is liye the long rope to megastar

So funny man.. India lays doen these spinning tracks when they themselves dont know how to bat on them :tahir2

Jaiswal is such an important wicket for NZ...

He has such a heartwarming backstory too. I genuinely want the guy to succeed. Once he gets out I will go back to my work...lol
kya ganda jinx kia yaar tu.dont comment when he bats ever

It always need a humiliating defeat to make big changes.. Pakistan did when they lost to Bangla and lost the first test to England..

What humiliation does India need to face to force them to make sweeping changes?

This requires a thread to be honest.. But I dont feel like opening one because one or two players always stand up unexpectedly to bring India out of a hole...

Sarfaraz dropped at slip :cry:

Is that the luck India needed? I will take a break.. I am posting too much.

Kohli is one of the main reason why we didn't win more games (especially the more important ones) during last 4 years.

If Babar had previously accomplished similar to what Kohli has, forget 5 year failures, Babar would be safe for likely a decade of failures.

Don't bring Pak fans and media into this, not relevant whatsoever, instead look at what Kohli has previously done for India vs Babar for Pakistan.

Babar is the equivalent of Asad Shafique right now, if not worse.