New Zealand Invitation XI v Pakistanis | Tour Match | Queenstown | Nov 18-20

Inswinger said:
Umar Akmal rotating the strike with ease. Going at a run a ball now.
That's the only thing i was worried about him in test. he's gonna look for single through thirdman after he set. which u can't do in test every time.

cric said:
That's the only thing i was worried about him in test. he's gonna look for single through thirdman after he set. which u can't do in test every time.

I think he is still in ODI/T20 mode in this warm up game. Lets hope he returns to Test mode fast.

thts how umar akmal plays......forgot his 70 balls century against Australia A in the unofficial test

Sarfaraz playing pretty fast. 2 more :four

He may want to slow down a bit and pace his innings.

On the other hand :bhanja may want to speed up a bit.

And what does Bhanja do.....................he gets himself run outttttttttttt! pathetic

farsiddiqui said:
:bhanja gone. Run out in a practice test. Not the way to go.

Oh Bhanja, bhanja bhanja...the least you could have done is learn how to run between the wickets from your Uncle.

Dose of reality for us in this warm up. The batting is weak and fragile as ever.

gollumbird said:
Dose of reality for us in this warm up. The batting is weak and fragile as ever.

Malik and Misbah missing, as well as Akmal.

all jokes aside ....guys still seem to be in limited overs cricket mode....hopefully they will adapt soon ....i like that everyone got to bat for a few balls out there atleast

UsmanhailsAfridi said:
all jokes aside ....guys still seem to be in limited overs cricket mode....hopefully they will adapt soon ....i like that everyone got to bat for a few balls out there atleast

except the 2 lefties who played sensibly especially Fawad.

UsmanhailsAfridi said:

Can we blame them? When was the last time we played a test. I can't remember!!

Decent effort from the Pakistan batsmen against a pretty high quality by their standards NZ bowling attack. Not great but not awful either.

gollumbird said:
Can we blame them? When was the last time we played a test. I can't remember!!

It requires a mental adjustment. They're professionals and expected to make it.

saeed-sohail said:
Imran farhat chhaa gya.butt ki chutti.

That's why Malik doesn't play the side matches. He then is a shoo-in for the 1st test when all others fail.

Our best bowler should not be rested.

And Kaneria has worked out how to hold a bat, I think.

fawad_wellwisher said:
That's why Malik doesn't play the side matches. He then is a shoo-in for the 1st test when all others fail.
Kathak maharaj ka to naam na lo mere saamne.When I think shoaib malik and test batsman to mera khoon khol uthta hai.

K Manzoor who scored 620 runs in QEA trophy has the lowest score in the match. What irony!

fawad_wellwisher said:
Aamer should be rested and Rauf given a game. He deserves it.

We can't rest Aamer for Rauf. Our pace attack will become one dimensional because Rauf and Asif are almost the same with their bowling.

We need Aamer and Asif with the new ball.

:14: :14: Fawad Alam top scored in the pakistan innings... i think he is the backbone of our middle order...he has proven himself a lot of times and he should be given a permanent spot in the team. 77 off 145 balls is a really good score MashaAllah...he definitely deserves a spot in all three formats :)

Can they last long enough for Sarfaraz to get a 50? Would that make any difference to his chances of getting a match in this or the Australia series?

i also think that Sarfaraz Ahmed is a better keeper and a batsman than kamran akmal

kingusama92 said:
We can't rest Aamer for Rauf. Our pace attack will become one dimensional because Rauf and Asif are almost the same with their bowling.

I agree. Rauf sholuld play in place of Gul. Amir / Asif new ball combo should be interesting.

Fawad_Bhai said:
i also think that Sarfaraz Ahmed is a better keeper and a batsman than kamran akmal

I second that. There is certainly data behind it to support this stance.

kingusama92 said:

TBH. Aamer's performance against SL in the test wasn't extraordinary. If not Aamer then he can replace Gul.

Butt
Farhat
Alam
MoYo
Akmal Jr.
Malik
Akmal Sr.
Aamer
Rauf
Ajmal
Asif

fawad_wellwisher said:
TBH. Aamer's performance against SL in the test wasn't extraordinary. If not Aamer then he can replace Gul.

Butt
Farhat
Alam
MoYo
Akmal Jr.
Malik
Akmal Sr.
Aamer
Rauf
Ajmal
Asif
I agree with this team but Butt should be replaced with manzoor

SR of 100%+....Kaneria for T20 captaincy. He doesn't have any problem with any team-mates and he rarely plays for Pakistan so noone really knows him well to get in any sort of fist fight. I say make him the captain for all three format and solve this captaincy problem for eternity.

Ok so we scored 286 when there was no pressure, now guess how many are we going to score under pressure?

Btw well played Fawad :14:

tauseefm said:
Ok so we scored 286 when there was no pressure, now guess how many are we going to score under pressure?

Btw well played Fawad :14:
Why can't we admit, we are not a good test team.

Poor batting by middle order again. We need to have longer tail and no middle. kiwi second string bowlers can win from here if they score 210+.

insaaniyat said:

Janab, how many test matches we have played for last 2 years or so? we will get better after this series and hopefully after AUS we will have proper test team

Well, we have never won a match based on pure bating performance so i will be counting on our bowling and praying for an odd 60 or 70 from somebody.

insaaniyat said:

LOL you say that on what basis? The loss to Sri Lanka? We nearly beat them in all three, and now they're delivering a mega phainty to the number 2 Test team, so I don't know what your negativity is all about. But then again, what else should we expect from you.

fawad_wellwisher said:
Aamer should be rested and Rauf given a game. He deserves it.
gul should be rested. as he's out of form. and he's not test class bowler as he was before.

Rauf takes the first wicket, CD Cumming c Sarfraz Ahmed b Abdur Rauf for 16 runs
As the score is 17/1

Rauf looks to be in good bowling form as he took 4 wickets in the first innings and starts with a bang again!

Queenstown -- very picturesque town;
P1010075.JPG

IMG_5615.jpg

IMG_3031.JPG

theres an argument that gul should be able to reverse a red ball far more easily than a white one, and of course that it will wear more to possibly enable this.

is it completely unreasonable to consider rauf in place of asif? doesnt asif still seem a little off colour, relative to his pre ban skills, but even relative to rauf?

fawad_wellwisher said:

Butt
Farhat
Alam
MoYo
Akmal Jr.
Malik
Akmal Sr.
Aamer
Rauf
Ajmal
Asif

i think thats the perfect team.......you could probably replace manzoor with either of the openers (preferably fathat) but of the players we have that is the best combination