Pakistan [306/7d & 195/4] beat CSA Invitation XI [318/7d & 182/7d] by 6 wickets in tour match

Asad Shafiq fails again on the best pitch he'll ever bat in South Africa. Needs to be dropped.

Sarfraz will be toast after this tour, he and Arthur need to respond to the nepotistic selector and drop Imam. Play Shan with Fakhar Zaman, opening slot continuing to remain a worry. Even Viv Richards brought back in the time machine won't able to sustain the pressure Imam imposes on his partners.

Asad Shafiq fails again on the best pitch he'll ever bat in South Africa. Needs to be dropped.

Sarfraz will be toast after this tour, he and Arthur need to respond to the nepotistic selector and drop Imam. Play Shan with Fakhar Zaman, opening slot continuing to remain a worry. Even Viv Richards brought back in the time machine won't able to sustain the pressure Imam imposes on his partners.

You can only play Fakhir, with Azhar as opener...

I hope Shadab and Abbas are fit to play, we have to play 5+2+3 to have decent show... We just cannot play 6+4, that is non starter. I bet you Shadab, Faheem, Amir will score more runs than any two batsmen(Exclusing top 1 run getter)... what’s the point of playing extra batsman?? - They will take 6-10 wickets each. That is lot more productive and keep you in the series or match longer, plus this is investment that is needed to make us tier 1 test team.

Azhar and Fakhar should open. I haven't many hopes from Amir.

1 Azhar
2 Fakhar
3 Haris
4 Babar
5 Shafiq
6 Sarfaraz
7 Shadab
8 Faheem
9 Hassan
10 Shaheen
11 Abbas

Azhar and Fakhar should open. I haven't many hopes from Amir.

1 Azhar
2 Fakhar
3 Haris
4 Babar
5 Shafiq
6 Sarfaraz
7 Shadab
8 Faheem
9 Hassan
10 Shaheen
11 Abbas

Amir will play, he has bowled better than both Hasan and Shaheen in this warm-up game. Hasan is leaking too many runs also whereas Shaheen hasn't taken a wicket. Add to that Amir's batting will be crucial, he can stay on the wicket and score vital runs at the end, our tail is being termed weak since he left and he will restore balance.

Azhar is going to be our main batsman on this tour. Hope he averages 50+ and Babar and Haris average around 45. Shafiq will be good for his pretty 30s and 40s and if the openers can get us off to a good start, the series is ours, InshAllah.

wow, I forgot Rizwan was in the squad :facepalm:
A clear indication of opposition against Rizwan in the team atm.

Rizwan is not going to play unless Sarfaraz is injured. There is nothing against him, the team is simply being practical given that this is the only prep they are going to get.

Really doubt he'd be in the XI

Really? I don't desperately want him in the team but it will be a big call to not have your premier spinner in the playing XI. Is the pitch expected to be green?

Azhar is going to be our main batsman on this tour. Hope he averages 50+ and Babar and Haris average around 45. Shafiq will be good for his pretty 30s and 40s and if the openers can get us off to a good start, the series is ours, InshAllah.

But I hope Amla scores a 100 each test so his average is not disturbed. :amla

Rizwan is not going to play unless Sarfaraz is injured. There is nothing against him, the team is simply being practical given that this is the only prep they are going to get.

Tbf I reckon if Rizwan is in good batting form they could find a way to fit both him and Sarfaraz in the XI. But I guess we can kiss goodbye to that happening seeing he didn't get a chance to bat here.

Agree. That's another mistake of seeing Rizwan as specialist WK

But I hope Amla scores a 100 each test so his average is not disturbed. :amla

Yes, hoping for at least two tons from the legend. However, Abbas might end his career if Amla is not at his best.

What way? No way are they dropping any of Azhar, Haris, Shafiq or Babar until the third test at least. Rizwan can't open either.

I see haris failed again. Everyone talks about Azhar but nobody asks why Haris is still not kicking on?

Haris is Pakistan's highest run-scorer in Tests this year and the only Pakistani batsman who has managed to hit more than one hundred in 2018...

Media Release by CSA:

Centuries by Azhar Ali and Babar Azam ensured that Pakistan enjoyed a far better second day of their tour to South Africa after reaching stumps well-placed in their warm-up game against a CSA Invitation XI in Benoni on Thursday.

Having been on two for none overnight replying to the home sides’ 318 for seven declared, the tourists piled on 306 for seven declared, before the opposition closed on 45 for one – a lead of 57.

Ali and Azam were the stars of the day, while there were also starts for Shan Masood (41), Fakhar Zaman (19) and Imam-ul-Haq (23).

The latter two, who opened the batting, fell with the total on 29 and 57 respectively, before a stand of 50 followed for the third wicket.

That was between Masood and Ali, who went on to record exactly 100 (151 balls, 12 fours, 3 sixes), before retiring to give others a chance.

However, the Pakistanis had been in trouble around the midway point through his innings after quick wickets in their middle order saw them slump from 107 for two to 112 for five as Haris Sohail (4) and Asad Shafiq (0) recorded failures.

Thandolwethu Mnyaka was the man to trouble them the most after the seamer grabbed three for 45 in 16 overs.

Following that mid-innings bump, Ali and Azam, who made 104 not out (129 balls, 11 fours, 3 sixes), put on 155 for the sixth wicket to rescue the visitors, before captain Sarfraz Ahmed (7) opted to close their innings after 78.2 overs.

Paceman Mohammad Amir then removed Joshua Richards (8) quickly, before Neil Brand (30) and Tshepang Dithole (7) took the home side to the close without the loss of any further wickets.

The injuries to Philander and Ngidi gift another huge thing to Pakistan.

I wrote last March when I was in South Africa that the mandatory racial quotas are averaged over a calendar year, and that against Australia and India the South Africans has picked excessive numbers of white players, which would have to be cancelled out by picking more non-white players against Pakistan.

The loss of Philander and Ngidi leave a quota problem and the recall of Steyn only cancels out the retirement of Morne Morkel.

The pace attack was meant to be two Africans, a Coloured and a white man with an Indian spinner. But now they have 2 white quicks with one Indian spinner and one black quick.

Now they have to drop a white batsman to accommodate Hamza.

And they can’t drop Amla in spite of his obvious decline.

That kinda sucks :facepalm:

Best XI players should represent their country (doesn't matter race/caste etc)

Amir will play, he has bowled better than both Hasan and Shaheen in this warm-up game. Hasan is leaking too many runs also whereas Shaheen hasn't taken a wicket. Add to that Amir's batting will be crucial, he can stay on the wicket and score vital runs at the end, our tail is being termed weak since he left and he will restore balance.

Amir's economy was higher in the 1st innings, champ.

Babar and Azhar continuing where they left off. Good stuff and hopefully they score when it matters.

The injuries to Philander and Ngidi gift another huge thing to Pakistan.

I wrote last March when I was in South Africa that the mandatory racial quotas are averaged over a calendar year, and that against Australia and India the South Africans has picked excessive numbers of white players, which would have to be cancelled out by picking more non-white players against Pakistan.

The loss of Philander and Ngidi leave a quota problem and the recall of Steyn only cancels out the retirement of Morne Morkel.

The pace attack was meant to be two Africans, a Coloured and a white man with an Indian spinner. But now they have 2 white quicks with one Indian spinner and one black quick.

Now they have to drop a white batsman to accommodate Hamza.

And they can’t drop Amla in spite of his obvious decline.

Normally I don't post anything on racial quota as it shouldn't exists, but do you realize that you are sounding a bitter bigot here?

This guy Hamza is 23 and he averages 49 in SAF FC cricket for 3.5K+ runs. He had an outstanding 2017-18 FC season scoring 828@69 with three centuries. His 3 innings for SAF A in IND tours were 0, 63 & 93, which takes his FC runs in last 6 months close to 1,000 @ 65+ average, and he is 23 - which WHITE batsman had to be dropped to accommodate him?

Normally I don't post anything on racial quota as it shouldn't exists, but do you realize that you are sounding a bitter bigot here?

This guy Hamza is 23 and he averages 49 in SAF FC cricket for 3.5K+ runs. He had an outstanding 2017-18 FC season scoring 828@69 with three centuries. His 3 innings for SAF A in IND tours were 0, 63 & 93, which takes his FC runs in last 6 months close to 1,000 @ 65+ average, and he is 23 - which WHITE batsman had to be dropped to accommodate him?

He is talking about the batting lineup for the first Test, they have to drop De Bruyn who scored a century in his previous match to play him, now that Philander is injured and Oliver is replacement.

I think we need to risk it in the first game (pitch dependent)
Play our 6 bats, wicket keeper, faheem amir Abbas and one of Hasan and shaheen.
That will only work if our quick can bowl 22 overs each in the day.
It's a gamble but one we have to take I feel.
Shame they didn't let faheem bat today , which means they are probably not considering it

Azhar Ali should open. Imam is out of form. Shan isn't good enough. Would prefer Fakhar in the middle order but looks like he is seen as an opener by the management.

I think we need to risk it in the first game (pitch dependent)
Play our 6 bats, wicket keeper, faheem amir Abbas and one of Hasan and shaheen.
That will only work if our quick can bowl 22 overs each in the day.
It's a gamble but one we have to take I feel.
Shame they didn't let faheem bat today , which means they are probably not considering it

Amir does not get to play ahead of Hasan and Shaheen. He can keep his behind on the bench.

He is talking about the batting lineup for the first Test, they have to drop De Bruyn who scored a century in his previous match to play him, now that Philander is injured and Oliver is replacement.

Doesn't matter - Hamza deserves a spot in XI on playing merit. Quota system is never supported, but there is a reason for it as well - Cricket SAF is trying to promote the game among 90% of countries majority people, who have been kept aside deliberately from this game. Centuries long deprivation has limited the game among 10-12% people and unless non white community is encouraged to come in this game, SAF has no future in cricket. We have seen players like N'tini, Amla, Phillander, Tahir, Mahraz, Rabada, Ngidi .... making SAF team on merit - this'll continue and in future SAF will have enough players from non white community to make a good squad.

I can go back to 1950s & 1960s when some of the no names played for SAF simply for their skin color, some even Captained the Test side as well. It's not that SAF non whites are genetically inferior that they can't learn the game or excel in it - but they need leverage to overcome that 100 years head start by white community. Take soccer - Viv Anderson was first black man to represent England in 1977, today over half of English squad is non white. In 1984, there were only 2 black player is French Euro winning squad - today, 90% of their squad is non white. 10-12 years down the line, I am sure we'll see a tremendous SAF side again and that can only happen if their non white community comes more into the game. I actually don't see much commitment from most of the white SAF players - AdV definitely wasn't struggling to find his spot for racial quota and he left SAF at his prime.

There is definitely a requirement of racial quota, though the numbers we may disagree. Also, they are quite flexible with that number - selectors are allowed to pick more white players than the quota as long as they are managing the year end budget by playing more non whites in "soft" games. Given the century long discrimination, this is the only way to bring a parity, otherwise SAF will never reach their full potential. It's their country, their rule - I don't like this constant rant against non white players. For couple of years we had to read how Keshab Mahraj is depriving a spot of the supreme spinner Harmer that is!!!!

Having said that, form the squad they have picked, Hamza can easily play with De Bruyn - Elgar, Markram, Hamza, Amla, FaF, de Bruyn, Kok, Styen, Mahraz, Oliver, Rabada. It's Bavuma that can cost de Bruyn a spot, not Hamza.

Really? I don't desperately want him in the team but it will be a big call to not have your premier spinner in the playing XI. Is the pitch expected to be green?

I read somewhere recently that SA are looking to prepare fast bouncy pitches for visiting Asian sides. I think Mickey is going with the same balance we had in England - 5 man bowling attack with Shadab and Faheem batting at 7+8

Doesn't matter - Hamza deserves a spot in XI on playing merit. Quota system is never supported, but there is a reason for it as well - Cricket SAF is trying to promote the game among 90% of countries majority people, who have been kept aside deliberately from this game. Centuries long deprivation has limited the game among 10-12% people and unless non white community is encouraged to come in this game, SAF has no future in cricket. We have seen players like N'tini, Amla, Phillander, Tahir, Mahraz, Rabada, Ngidi .... making SAF team on merit - this'll continue and in future SAF will have enough players from non white community to make a good squad.

I can go back to 1950s & 1960s when some of the no names played for SAF simply for their skin color, some even Captained the Test side as well. It's not that SAF non whites are genetically inferior that they can't learn the game or excel in it - but they need leverage to overcome that 100 years head start by white community. Take soccer - Viv Anderson was first black man to represent England in 1977, today over half of English squad is non white. In 1984, there were only 2 black player is French Euro winning squad - today, 90% of their squad is non white. 10-12 years down the line, I am sure we'll see a tremendous SAF side again and that can only happen if their non white community comes more into the game. I actually don't see much commitment from most of the white SAF players - AdV definitely wasn't struggling to find his spot for racial quota and he left SAF at his prime.

There is definitely a requirement of racial quota, though the numbers we may disagree. Also, they are quite flexible with that number - selectors are allowed to pick more white players than the quota as long as they are managing the year end budget by playing more non whites in "soft" games. Given the century long discrimination, this is the only way to bring a parity, otherwise SAF will never reach their full potential. It's their country, their rule - I don't like this constant rant against non white players. For couple of years we had to read how Keshab Mahraj is depriving a spot of the supreme spinner Harmer that is!!!!

Having said that, form the squad they have picked, Hamza can easily play with De Bruyn - Elgar, Markram, Hamza, Amla, FaF, de Bruyn, Kok, Styen, Mahraz, Oliver, Rabada. It's Bavuma that can cost de Bruyn a spot, not Hamza.

I agree with you on the racial quota stuff and that Non-white players deserve to play on merit that they have shown rather than something else, but coming on the squad I think they are numerically behind in balancing the Non-white players and they will most probably want to play Hamza in place of a white player not Bavuma who himself comes as a Non-white player. Among the white players everyone are established in the team for quite a few time and De Bruyn is the only one they can leave out.

118/4 now, Yasir Shah has arrived.

Yasir and Azhar bowling in tandem and guess what Azhar strikes.

W
Mohammad Amir to Brand, 2 runs, OUT,
TA Dithole run out (Hasan Ali/Mohammad Abbas/Yasir Shah/Shadab Khan/Mohammad Rizwan) 15 (66m 43b 2x4 0x6) SR: 34.88

can anyone explain this?
how is it possible . how many overthrows it need to make it happen found hard to believe

W
Mohammad Amir to Brand, 2 runs, OUT,
TA Dithole run out (Hasan Ali/Mohammad Abbas/Yasir Shah/Shadab Khan/Mohammad Rizwan) 15 (66m 43b 2x4 0x6) SR: 34.88

can anyone explain this?
how is it possible . how many overthrows it need to make it happen found hard to believe

It's just an error in scorecard like many others during the match, Mohammad Abbas and Shadab Khan were not even present in the ground.

Seems like Mohammad Amir has booked his place in the XI for the 1st Test. It's gonna be a bit of a dilemma picking the XI, uncertainty over a few spots.

If Abbas remains unfit, then Amir, Hasan, Shaheen and Yasir along with Faheem depending on the pitch. Otherwise only one of Hasan/Shaheen will play.

Keep Shaheen Afridi away from the test team. He is not good enough at the moment and will eventually breakdown.

Amir should start. Has bowled well. Hasan :facepalm:

Imam and Shan Masood opening possibly to get a spot as an opener.
Let's see who wins.
I'm voting for Shan Masood

SA Invitation XI have declared, Pakistan need 195 to win in around 45 overs. Another special chase coming up.

So it seems M Amir has booked his place in the XI for 1st test. And I highly doubt mickey and team is gonna open Azhar by dropping Imam and Shan.

Pretty sure this will be line-up:
01. Imam/Shan
02. Fakhar
03. Azhar
04. Asad
05. Haris
06. Babar
07. Sarfraz
08. Amir
09. Yasir
10. Abbas
11. Shaheen/Hasan

22 in 2.5 overs with Imam and Masood at the crease, in South Africa.

Koi bhayanak se khwaab hai bhai ye :moha

They are trying to book their spot, good to see this rivalry.
Because whoever scores more runs is more likely to open. Unless Azhar opens

If Abbas remains unfit, then Amir, Hasan, Shaheen and Yasir along with Faheem depending on the pitch. Otherwise only one of Hasan/Shaheen will play.

I have a feeling that Abbas is being rushed into it. They shouldn't play him if he's not 100% fit.

Getting closer to victory, Imam playing a good innings here.

79 Runs needed to get the victory, the first of many in South Africa Inshallah.

If everyone is fit the team will be:

Imam
Fakhar
Azhar
Haris
Asad
Babar
Sarfraz
Amir
Yasir
Hasan/Shaheen
Abbas

If Faheem plays as a fifth bowler it will be Fakhar who misses out now.

LOLZ...:jimmy
This performance will make Pakistan's moral high. But one thing has to be remembered that SA surely hasn't got any resemblance of original test pitch with the practice match pitch. The test match wicket will favor pacers a lot.

The absence of Abbas is going to hurt Pakistan's bowling too

Even Sa xi thinks pakistan's batting is that bad on the last day😂.
They fancied their chances😂