Pakistan South Africa | 2nd Test | Cape Town | 14/2/13 | Day 1

:facepalm: just when you thought we couldnt bat as pathetically as the last test we are doing so once again in this one!

I bet the pitch will flatten out when S.A bat and another heavy defeat will follow.

Morkel just bowling short and the batsmen don't have the technique to cope. They didn't do their homework

Shafiq has been our best batsman on this tour. Brave and positive.

Some fans actually thought we would take the series before it started....how pathetic.

We have the most pathetic batting line up in test at present and people actually thought we would challenge SA in their backyard

he is inconsistent but can rip apart any side on any surface.

All international players can. That's why they have been picked from a population of millions because they have a lot of talent and potential. Flawed logic.

To all who say Morkel is world class, Younis will never be able to smash Steyn and Philander like that.

Morkel is indeed the most overrated pacer in the world. This guy will be a joke like Ishant Sharma if he would have played for India.

Steyn and Philander continue to save his backside every match.

To all who say Morkel is world class, Younis will never be able to smash Steyn and Philander like that.

Morkel is indeed the most overrated pacer in the world. This guy will be a joke like Ishant Sharma if he would have played for India.

I'm happy for this overrated player to keep his place in the team. Even if his stats are just decent, he unsettles the batsmen allowing the others to strike from the other end.

when was the last time Ishant bowled a delivery like Morkel did to Misbah?

De Lange will kick out this one dimension Morkel eventually.

Pitch is good for batting..should have made a decent score..saffers only gonna bat once here

Younis Khan is a class above all the other batsmen when on song.

That's for sure.

I'm happy for this overrated player to keep his place in the team. Even if his stats are just decent, he unsettles the batsmen allowing the others to strike from the other end.

That's a horrible excuse.

younis aaj khud apni wicket dega, warna koi bowler to lag nahi raha ussey out kare. Younis ki form return lag rahi hai alhamdolilah

Pakistan Strategy against new ball has being sit back and play late... This does not work very well, it lets bowler keep bowling full, some of them are going to be peach, it also let them fetch for the right length without any fight from the batsmen... This is a very bad strategy, why they did not learned that from last game???

This wicket is not very quick, you can easily stay outside the crease (Vernon is bowling at 125K)... Two batsmen gave away their wickets and other two's wickets are taken by good balls... One of the important aspect of batting in test is not to let the bowler bowl good balls, if he keeps on bowling good deliveries soon or later your defense will fail (no matter how good you are), you have to make bowler thinking and change his length (specially with new ball) and at times line of attack... Pakistan sit back and play late approach is not doing that at all :facepalm:

This track is beautiful. Anything less than 300 and SA will take the series 2-0 guaranteed.

Shafiq is definitely better than most , I underestimated him

He is very good when he bats positively and that he does when Misbah isn't batting with him. Take his last 100 for instance, he played a gem with Adnan in the morning session to get his hundred and bail us out.

When he bats with Misbah, he gets too negative.

I really do not want to jinx him but YK looking good in his little innings so far. This is where SRT stroked a classy 146. Can YK full off a similar epic innings here? He has the ability, for sure.

Meanwhile, Wahab Riaz tweets:

"hw many of u r still single on the Valentine's day?"

via Cricinfo

I gather you talking about Jimmy Anderson right? Agree massively overrated for the reasons you have outlined.

Anderson is not overrated and let me tell you why.

He wasn't rated before the last few years because he was handicapped without a cloud following him.

In the last few years he has been immense everywhere.

and he is way better than Morkel at the moment.

He is very good when he bats positively and that he does when Misbah isn't batting with him. Take his last 100 for instance, he played a gem with Adnan in the morning session to get his hundred and bail us out.

When he bats with Misbah, he gets too negative.

did well in joburg with misbah

Junaid's identical twin is Pakistan's analyst sitting in front of the computer?

Hafeez ko aur rest karao practice matches mein

FArhat or faisal won't do worse than him as a batsman but he is the vice captain of the side and knowing misbah's history he will still play. I'll be shocked if misbah or dav rest hafeez.

Pretty much need a 100 here today from YK to bail pakistan out here!

So what do you guys think is a par score on this pitch? im thinking 300-350, pitch looks pretty slow, not as much seam as the 1st pitch.

Anderson is not overrated and let me tell you why.

He wasn't rated before the last few years because he was handicapped without a cloud following him.

In the last few years he has been immense everywhere.

and he is way better than Morkel at the moment.
Failed miserably against us...in his own back yard. Morkel averaged 34 in that series, and Anderson averaged 40.

PLease dnt ever tell jamshed to see off the new ball, you r killing the attacking batsmen natural game.

So what do you guys think is a par score on this pitch? im thinking 300-350, pitch looks pretty slow, not as much seam as the 1st pitch.

350-400 in my opinion. Pitch doesn't have much carry and the swing also seems to have relented.

That's why Azhar's shot was pathetic. It has cost us two extra wickets. 2 wickets down at lunch would've been okay.