Pakistan v England | 1st Test | Abu Dhabi | Oct 13-17 | Day 1

Malik looking imperious, MashAllah. I'm ordering my humble-pie as I type.

you have answered your own question

Shan saved himself from ridiculue with his hundred but it wont be long before the pressure is back, you cant have his crappy domestic record, a dad in the pcb board, and an uncle in goverment without people asking questions if you dont perform

All that's true, but he has deserved this match (and perhaps the next one) on merit.

This series should've been in December/January like last time. Its very hot at this time of the year. Pakistan with a massive advantage batting first. England will really have to toil under the hot sun.
We are supposed to play India in December time. Aman ki asha.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

man, this is gonna be a tough day for a lot of folks that have spent the last few years making colorful tables about malik

Malik must be running out of flour given the number of pies he has served to his haters in the last few months.

There was never any doubt that in form Malik is an asset and a useful player for Pakistan in all formats of the game.

It is so sad that 4-5 years of his career were wasted due to dirty politics.

Almost always bowls one full toss and a half tracker per over.

No need to be aggressive against him he will give us plenty opportunities.

How good is it to watch the two OGs of Pakistani cricket bat together.

Hafeez should attack Rashid more. He can easily come down the track and help himself to three boundaries an over if he backs himself.

All that's true, but he has deserved this match (and perhaps the next one) on merit.

give him the series if we dont loose the next two games

this way we can just have a definitive answer

either way i wont be suprised if he ends up being the new farhat or fasial iqbal. Always in the squad for a paid holiday with the understanding they wont play unless its due to injury

[MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION]

Mirza is back after the World Cup, told you so. :malik

But no pies for you, can't blame you for thinking otherwise.

hafeez, getting his mental groove back: facing an equally timid bowler making a debut.
haha gem from rameez

Please. Malik asked for it by having beef with everyone he came across and looking like a tail-ender before him most recent comeback.

:ibutt confirmed yesterday that seniors conspired against him.

give him the series if we dont loose the next two games

this way we can just have a definitive answer

either way i wont be suprised if he ends up being the new farhat or fasial iqbal. Always in the squad for a paid holiday with the understanding they wont play unless its due to injury

Regardless of how Malik and Hafeez do, I have serious issues with the top 5 for 2016. Opener choices are between Shehzad, Hafeez, and Shaan. And thats followed by Malik and YK...and then Misbah. All 5 dont inspire

Younis only 19 runs away from breaking Miandad's record. That too against England. Some people will no doubt be unhappy over that occasion, should it come to pass.

I hope this partnership is big. Needs 100s from both these players.

This thread has officially become a Malik vs Hafeez arguement

My money is on Hafeez like always. Currently he leads Malik 2 runs.

Malik looks good vs pace.

Hafeez more vs spin.

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk

Hafeez really need to see his partner while running.

So is Misbah for that matter, but he's an asset nonetheless.

Misbah has done relatively well.

Anyway if Malik does well and scores runs than he deserves to be in squad when we your just don't have high hopes from him at all.

Hopefully he proves me wrong.

Maybe it is good thing what happened to Shoaib Malik? This Shoaib Malik 2.0 is far better than past Shoaib Malik. Who knows 2.0 will do well in England and Australia next year? :mv

# He will score centuries after centuries in this series and next year as well, God Willing. :)

Malik must be running out of flour given the number of pies he has served to his haters in the last few months.

He didnt perform for 5 years of getting numerous chances. He was a passenger in the side for a very long time.

Hafeez also made a come back after years of being a passenger, and then became one of our best players in SC conditions. This doesnt mean Hafeez wasnt a terrible player back in the day, it just means he improved.

Dare I mention that the team runrate is higher and Azhar is sitting out. It is an area of improvement for him.

Regardless of how Malik and Hafeez do, I have serious issues with the top 5 for 2016. Opener choices are between Shehzad, Hafeez, and Shaan. And thats followed by Malik and YK...and then Misbah. All 5 dont inspire

What can you do , we never play overseas tests in enough of frequency to get the FTBs out of the team.

One area of hope though is that pitches everywhere are getting flatter, especially in Australia

Dare I mention that the team runrate is higher and Azhar is sitting out. It is an area of improvement for him.

Its obvious he should be opening, he doesn't have the game for 3 yet people treat such critisim as insulting his mother

He didnt perform for 5 years of getting numerous chances. He was a passenger in the side for a very long time.

Hafeez also made a come back after years of being a passenger, and then became one of our best players in SC conditions. This doesnt mean Hafeez wasnt a terrible player back in the day, it just means he improved.

Unlike Hafeez, Malik had proved himself at this level; he was a key player in the 2004-2008 period but lost his way thanks to a multiple factors.

No hafeez is still terrible, because even in his purple patch his batting was a joke in South Africa. We wait to see how Malik does next year.
While I cannot predict Malik will do in 2016, I can definitely tell you that Hafeez will do poorly in 2016.

Maybe it is good thing what happened to Shoaib Malik? This Shoaib Malik 2.0 is far better than past Shoaib Malik. Who knows 2.0 will do well in England and Australia next year? :mv

# He will score centuries after centuries in this series and next year as well, God Willing. :)
Shoaib Malik in 2010 for a very long time was overawed by being Sania Mirza's beau.

It was much too much for him to handle as he himself is from a humble background. Being hailed as the damaad of our neighbour country, he was under more pressure to perform. His trips to India and getting a celebrity status wasn't right for his head.

He seems to have gotten hold of himself finally.

Misbah has done relatively well.

Anyway if Malik does well and scores runs than he deserves to be in squad when we your just don't have high hopes from him at all.

Hopefully he proves me wrong.

I also don't think he should be playing Test cricket overseas, but that shouldn't count against him. He is a key player in these conditions and that's where we play mostly.

Moeen bhai into the attack..more easy runs for Hafeez..

Moeen bhai in the house. I hope he takes wickets but we score big so that his average is not disturbed.

InshAllah.

I also don't think he should be playing Test cricket overseas, but that shouldn't count against him. He is a key player in these conditions and that's where we play mostly.

Oh well right now my only concern is beating England and he is an ideal player for these conditions.

One area of hope though is that pitches everywhere are getting flatter, especially in Australia

The issue is mental, so the flat pitches wont help. Some of these FTB's are mentally scarred from the past. Give the same conditions that India go in Australia last year, Pakistan will still struggle.

I can't believe how Moeen manages to find a place in the test XI.

Encyclomedia PR deserves a pat on the back for this.

Hafeez has no such backing or celebrity status.

:ibutt confirmed yesterday that seniors conspired against him.

He also has info on the English players' spot-fixing, that Pakistan cricket is being victimized and how Afridi is the cleanest man in the team.

He also has had issues with all these seniors that he's talking about, like Afridi, Younis, Yousuf and Akhtar so I wouldn't take his words seriously at all.

Moen Ali has such a beautiful but a really fast action and he gets through his overs at a rocket pace. Plays a huge role in his success with the ball at times.

Unlike Hafeez, Malik had proved himself at this level; he was a key player in the 2004-2008 period but lost his way thanks to a multiple factors.

The only factor was himself.

Just as the only factor for jamshed getting booted is himself. Or umar akmal getting dropped from the test team was himself.

At the same time, this revival is also due to himself and credit should be given he is playing like his pre-2009 self again.

No hafeez is still terrible, because even in his purple patch his batting was a joke in South Africa. We wait to see how Malik does next year.
While I cannot predict Malik will do in 2016, I can definitely tell you that Hafeez will do poorly in 2016.

I said one of our best players in SC conditions. I know he is poor overseas lol.

Moeen bhai in the house. I hope he takes wickets but we score big so that his average is not disturbed.

Me too. Would definitely prefer Ali taking the English wickets than Broad.

Oh well right now my only concern is beating England and he is an ideal player for these conditions.

Even when we have our first-choice players available, we need to slot him in somewhere in the middle/lower-order in UAE/subcontinent/WI. He can play Moeen bhai like role.

What exactly our tall batting order on flat pitches did in SA? Average in the 20s? If we elwant good ftbs than Malik is the best of them.

Won't get into this debate here, but you can't clap with one hand. Nonetheless, it is time to forget the past and move on. He's looking as good as he ever has, I wonder if Sania has motivated him or something.

ok so should we declare now? muje angrezon per ters aa raha he :( we should act like good mehmaan nawaz

Malik has scored his average amount of runs.
Now he has to update his twitter handle and promote his #ibleedgreen hashtag. He will be getting out very soon.

Yes I'll happily have Azhar over Hafeez next match

So would I. I like professor as a person but there is no room for sentiment in professional sports and so as I have said for a while he should be dropped all formats. Professor is just useless without his bowling, in the long term his runs here wont do us any good, sad but true

I also like Moeen bhai's action. It is smooth and silky, a bit like Swann's.