Pakistan v England | 1st Test | Abu Dhabi | Oct 13-17 | Day 1

England will be returning the favor on the pitches next year.

Maybe it's just because I've been listening to Saqlain and Miandad on the pre-match show, but Bazid seems to have improved. He's not sounding nearly as boring as he normally does.

the best thing about bazid is his knowledge of pakistan domestic he is not clueless like raja and always provide detail background i wish bazid had a better voice for communication he was going to be a top commie

Maybe it's just because I've been listening to Saqlain and Miandad on the pre-match show, but Bazid seems to have improved. He's not sounding nearly as boring as he normally does.

He sticks out like a sore thumb while commentating with Atherton. Perhaps he's improved but I can't tell.

Regarding Shan,

An average of 28 odd isnt going to cut it. That too while playing all his matches in the SC.

Very limited as a player and will not come good against quality sides.

Now that drop will play in Bell's mind and he won't get any runs. I never saw such a skilled player with so little control over his thoughts.

the best thing about bazid is his knowledge of pakistan domestic he is not clueless like raja and always provide detail background i wish bazid had a better voice for communication he was going to be a top commie

Yeah, his English is pretty good too.

What a rubbish management. There should have been 3rd spinner in the squad

I don't find him boring, dude is domestic encyclopedia.

Malik must be running out of flour given the number of pies he has served to his haters in the last few months.

England need to employ a Bodyline strategy against The Don.

Malik must be running out of flour given the number of pies he has served to his haters in the last few months.

Yeah, he's been very impressive, if he can score 50-70 runs here I'd take it as a real comeback.

Cook needs to do his pacers a favour and remove Bell from the slips, if this is true.

Fixed.

In general, England's pace attack cannot be compared to ours. It is not just about UAE conditions.

Hafeez looking great, MashAllah! Please don't give it away, Professor.

Hafeez please don't bash Rashid, otherwise they will bring back Anderson

cmon guys dont smash rashid too hard too fast or england will take him out of the attack!

milk him for the rest of the day.

Lol, many of them tried to mask his good performance by labeling other teams minnows or fragile bowling attack. If he performs against England, now i don't know with what excuses they will come up.

Early days but Rashid bhai looks awful. He looks like England's answer to Azhar Ali, not Yasir Shah.

[MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION]

Riaz has done nothing in test test cricket so far. One odd good match and thats it.

And he hasn't played a match in U.A.E in ages.

Anderson and Broad in the meantime were excellent the last time around.

Saying Wahab is anywhere near as good is ridiculous. Especially when you have nothing to back up the claim.

big spin from rashid. yasir would have won this match singlehandlly for Pak

Early days but Rashid bhai looks awful. He looks like England's answer to Azhar Ali, not Yasir Shah.

To be fair, Hafeez is a very good player of spin and Malik has been attacking Wood well so they look to be in the drivers seat.

Lol, many of them tried to mask his good performance by labeling other teams minnows or fragile bowling attack. If he performs against England, now i don't know with what excuses they will come up.

the obvious excuse will be that it's a phatta wicket, it's not overseas blah blah. It'll never end

In general, England's pace attack cannot be compared to ours. It is not just about UAE conditions.

It is about the UAE conditions right now and that is all that matters. We'll have a redemption-seeking Amir back soon, along with a rejuvenated Junaid, InshAllah so things will look better.

For the next few months, Riaz's pace, heart, ability to reverse and experience with subcontinental conditions makes him a top class pacer, as good as any in these conditions.

England should have had Moeen bowl before Rashid but I'm certainly not minding the extra runs.

It is about the UAE conditions right now and that is all that matters. We'll have a redemption-seeking Amir back soon, along with a rejuvenated Junaid, InshAllah so things will look better.

For the next few months, Riaz's pace, heart, ability to reverse and experience with subcontinental conditions makes him a top class pacer, as good as any in these conditions.

Give up on Junaid, don't cry over spilt milk. He is a finished article now.

Poor field placing. Hafeez struggling with the ball above ankle height and no close fielder on leg side.

Malik's bat is not making a crisp sound. It sounds like as if he edged it even when he middles it perfectly.

It couldn't have been better directed, but you gotta do better at that pace at any competitive level let alone Test cricket.

you have answered your own question

Shan saved himself from ridiculue with his hundred but it wont be long before the pressure is back, you cant have his crappy domestic record, a dad in the pcb board, and an uncle in goverment without people asking questions if you dont perform