Pakistan V England, 1st Test Day 1 [13/11/05]

Gasherbrum said:
looked high in the replay, but to be honest the live shot looked like it would've hit. i would've given it. also, malik reacted like the ball had kept a little low, buckled a little so that would not have helped the umpire at all.

My 1st view...and I thought PLUMB. No complaints with that decision.

Pathan007 Bhai:

DO NOT write abusive posts about Pak players - doesnt matter who you personal favourite is - Pakistan takes preference.

I will simply delete your posts if you persist.

Regards

MIG

pathan007 said:
i'm off to sleep. pathetic run rate. had Afridi been there the run rate would be touching 5at least. some boring batting out there. thnx one of the borer Malik saab is in the hut now. let c what Butt saab does

Absolutely selfish...your bed is the best place fr you!

Gasherbrum said:
the heavyweights are all here! miggy, oxy, saj!
hope you had a nice trip miggy.

Excellent trip - will write a short memoir of that trip on TimePass soon !

btw, is Flintoff having a NO BALL problem ?

good night Pathan007. Pathetic attitude !!

sad to see how some of these fans act when they don't have it their way...I actually like Malik and he has always scored plenty of runs...I love Afridi as well but I would support the Pakistan team regardless if my fav players played or not...afridi has done very good lately but he has failed too recently...plus bob really likes him...so I would think they wouldn't do him wrong for no reason

yes, it was bowden and it was a questionable decesion, because the ball was pitched way outside off angling in, and at the same time was going go over the stumps.

Bowden 1 - Malik 0

MenInGreen said:
Pak need to score 1000 runs on the first day and another 500 by lunch tomorrow - will not be satisfied with anything less.

Sorry thats not going to be enough in my opinion. :9:

miggy, lets just say if sami had bowled as many no-balls, we would've had calls for both his and woolmer's head.

Some of the fans cannot enjoy test cricket they should watch ODI infact switch to 20-20

MenInGreen said:
Excellent trip - will write a short memoir of that trip on TimePass soon !

btw, is Flintoff having a NO BALL problem ?

Im expecting a book not a short memoir!

Cant watch cricket in Bahrain - my satellite op is trying to work out a deal - paaaathhheeetic ! following it on crickbuzz.com :(

these atrocities against pakistan has to end , we demand a plebescite. if a new thread is what it takes to get the attention of the masses , then so be it . i have done my bit , its over to u people

I say Malik did a good job. He along with Butt has given a solid platform for the rest to build on. They put on 80 odd. Im sure before the game anyone would have taken that considering the problems we have had with the opening slots.

that is disappointing MiG. will try to be as graphic as possible then with the descriptions.

MenInGreen said:
Cant watch cricket in Bahrain - my satellite op is trying to work out a deal - paaaathhheeetic ! following it on crickbuzz.com :(

You dare go on any other site apart from Pakpassion to follow cricket?! Ban and Phainti treatment i think is needed here!

salman butt lifts one towards midwicket. not the best of shots, but safe enough in the end. he's looking to get on with things, which might not be the best idea here. don't want to lose another one.

Calm down Salman! No need for ODI slogs/hoiks! That could have been disasterous!

Those Salman Butt wristy shots look incredible - very elegant.

I remember he treated a 145kph Lee to some of those magnificent wristy drives, looks almost disdainful!

Gasherbrum said:
that is disappointing MiG. will try to be as graphic as possible then with the descriptions.

Score updates as much as possible pls - I am just tuning into SkyNews for some glimpses !

Malik did a reasonable job, and has made a case for himself for future selections ...

Gasherbrum said:

You and watching matches all night doesn't mix....So the missus is allowing you or is she standing there with a balan in her hand :13:

Elan Tedronai said:
is this the first time all the mods were online together.

Absolutely not! We get together every Sunday for scones and tea :13:

harmison drifts down leg, nicely glanced by younis for 2, signalled as leg byes though. looked like it was off the bat. 2 to the total though.

Hmm.. wether 10 of my favourite players werent in the lineup I would still cheer on each and every individual... Not a very passionate fan mate.

Oxy™ said:
Absolutely not! We get together every Sunday for scones and tea :13:

Sunday roast as well ( yorkshire pudding and rass malai )

haha zushy. no, that'll be by day 4. the first few days of a series usually go by without incident :P

I think the sauces and match fixing brigade must be planning their next move...what can go wrong here ?

Pakorey and lassi?

Yaar dont remind me - still suffering tummy cramps from food street visit on the last night in Lahore !

SB watching the ball closely in the hand of the bowler as he stands at the non strikers end - good tactic

MenInGreen said:

Yaar dont remind me - still suffering tummy cramps from food street visit on the last night in Lahore !

I thought you would have learnt from the 37 pakora incident from Ramadhan.

97-1 at the moment.

my prediction is whenever the commentators run out of things to say, they'll bring up afridi's exclusion. have already heard it about 28 times.

Farhad told me that SB is a very intelligent cricketer - the thinking mans cricketer !Hope he can out think Giles!

nothing for Harmison

A 400-500 score would be par here

ive tried Mango lassi.. was too rich and sweet for my liking.. Although I love the Yoghurt chutney dip thing and some seesh kebabs. what do you guys like? what are some of your favourite pakistani dishes?

lovely cover drive from younis khan. pitched up and outside off this time from giles, and khan makes him pay.

Stadium filling up nicely as Pak reach 101 for 1

hundred up - hundred up - Jeet gaay Jeet Gaay.... :( Ok better sit down before dentures all fall out...

i wish they had decent commentators. Khoti should love Giles this series, he's our best player of spin. Excellent crowd (which won't turn up again after the cricket on this pitch)

i dont kno what the management did , but they certainly got people to fill those seats in the stadia

Good stuff.. partnerships the key here as usual. Just need occupation of the crease

Harmisons length has been all wrong this session - way too short.

And might I add, I like Pak run rate - looking very good for 300+ on the first day...

Jonty said:
ive tried Mango lassi.. was too rich and sweet for my liking.. Although I love the Yoghurt chutney dip thing and some seesh kebabs. what do you guys like? what are some of your favourite pakistani dishes?

I love Keer, Rassmaliee and Saiweeyan. I could gorge on them all day.

MenInGreen said:
And might I add, I like Pak run rate - looking very good for 300+ on the first day...
Don't jinx them dada.

Inshallah 1000 for 3 at the end of the day :D

Marooned said:
i wish they had decent commentators. Khoti should love Giles this series, he's our best player of spin. Excellent crowd (which won't turn up again after the cricket on this pitch)

Who is Khoti ?

MenInGreen said:

I thought you wanted 1000!

harmison bending his back trying to extract some bounce. butt has done well so far this over not trying anything fancy.

Is Butt standing out of his crease, like he did against Pathan ?

Jonty said:
keer.. i understand that is rice pudding?

Yeah except its made differently to the tinned rice pudding you get in shops and tastes a lot more nicer.

again the slower ball to end the over from harmison. butt plays it into the open field on the legs side from outside off for a single

Anyone remember watching Lillee bowling off spinners in Faisalabad long time back ? Hope this isnt a joke pitch !

zushy_786 said:
Yeah playing very well I may add, but his striking rate is dropping...
As long as he doesnt get out, he can play like Geoff Boycott...:D