Pakistan v New Zealand | 1st Test - Day 1 | Dunedin | 24/11/09

Stating the obvious here but Pakistan need wickets bad.

NZ have 6 specialist bats plus McCullum and Vettori, so effectively they have 8 batsmen.

Those 2 dropped chances are costing Pakistan big time and both should have been taken by professional players.

I'll put my neck on the line here and say, This test match is heading towards a boring draw.

There is absolutely nothing in this pitch for the bowlers once the new ball is negotiated.

These 2 batsmen have shown if you apply yourself and be patient there are runs in this wicket. If Pakistani batsmen play sensibly they can put up a decent score as well.

fawad_wellwisher said:
These 2 batsmen have shown if you apply yourself and be patient there are runs in this wicket. If Pakistani batsmen play sensibly they can put up a decent score as well.

That bloke in your display picture will score big here.

I'll put my neck on the line here and say, This test match is heading towards a boring draw.

There is absolutely nothing in this pitch for the bowlers once the new ball is negotiated.

Doubt the batsmen from either team are good enough to bat for 5 days on any pitch. Moyo excepted.

But from Pakistan's point of view a draw would be a reasonable result first up. Obvs a win is better but still.....long time since they played Test cricket.

Random Aussie said:
Doubt the batsmen from either team are good enough to bat for 5 days on any pitch. Moyo excepted.

But from Pakistan's point of view a draw would be a reasonable result first up. Obvs a win is better but still.....long time since they played Test cricket.

Exactly win will be a bonus and draw will be more than satisfying. But knowing Dan's previous record against Pakistan and only Bond the main threat in their bowling I can see us surviving this test.

If we can get a wicket now, we will be fine. As someome pointed out earlier, it's a test match, long way to go

I'm back now and it looks like New Zealand have put themselves in a nice position.

Bring back Aamer and tell him to bowl fast and straight.

Asif bowling very well. Only a matter of time until a ball jags back two centimetres more and knocks out the off stump.

Random Aussie said:

There is a chance that as the match progresses, the pitch will start to misbehave and there will be uneven bounce. In that case, Pakistan will be at a disadvantage especially if NZ put up a big score.

I think MoYo got it wrong..he should have batted first! But then again our batting could have been 38-4!

mmkextreme_1 said:
I think MoYo got it wrong..he should have batted first! But then again our batting could have been 38-4!
:pissed:
Why did I know this must have happened!

Aamer say bhi bowl karao. It should be Aamer with Malik or Fawad next 6 overs. There will be 2 wickets if they do it now as batsmen have been setup nicely.

ufff sun went away and need a new plan now

:pissed:
Why did I know this must have happened!

because your a Pakistani..you know we see a tinge of grass...and you know what happens from there on..

We are missing :afridi
When cricket history will be written in a hundred years time, one question that no historian will be able to answer will be, why did Afridi play only 25 odd test matches before he was 29.

The sheer stupidity!

When cricket history will be written in a hundred years time, one question that no historian will be able to answer will be, why did Afridi play only 25 odd test matches before he was 29.

The sheer stupidity!

But at that time Afridi might have come out of retirement and might start playing test matches..cause a hundred years from now..Afridi will be..what umm..26?!

The sheer stupidity!

:afridi

Please tell me Moyo didn't put NZ in to bat. :moyo

If its a flat pitch then , its best to get best use of it first up as it will get easier to bat on later so its better to chase

i expect a big pakistan totals if its flat

saj001 said:
pakistan world class fielding showing why it is great weapon for the opponents.
Well that part is a given now. We know this even before a match starts. And sadly another thing that is a given is negative captaincy.

I don't care what pitch it is and what kind of a match it may be, winning toss and fielding is the biggest sin a captain can do. :moyo

If Moyo is afraid of batting, well I have news for him. He will have to bat anyway. And now it will be chasing a biggish total.

Damnmmm Farhat!! We could have had a couple more wickets by now if he took that catch!! Damn him!!

i think their needs to be change now from ajmals end.........they are picking him really well now.......maybe fawad should be given a few overs

mmkextreme_1 said:
But at that time Afridi might have come out of retirement and might start playing test matches..cause a hundred years from now..Afridi will be..what umm..26?!
Actually 35. And he would have 400 tests under his belt. :afridi

master_blaster said:
no you are missing him, it seems like an obssession, the guy doesnt wanna play test cricket , let him be , lol

lol wali baat hum sey bhi share ker hum ney bhi lolna hai.

Actually 35. And he would have 400 tests under his belt. :afridi

Then historians will wonder how did Afridi achieve this feat of playing 400 odd tests? And scientist will wonder..how is Afridi still 35 only lol..

While I right this..Aamer back on..and takes a wicket!!!!

i think aamer was expecting that to be dropped (from the look on his face when the ball went up)

Aamer strikes. Guptil out hooking and Alam catches him around bakward square leg

Great catch that. Now need to keep on getting wkts. Aamer is just class- even on this slow pitch he is too quick.

any anti fawad ppers here...seriously this guy has the heart to be a true cricketer...great catch under pressure

Ok, bes ab itna bhi acha catch nahi tha, was ghood but not a beauty yaar.

Lets keep it real. :P

I am ready for some bashing

Waqar helping with pronunciations? English speaking guys better get used to it FAWAD!