Pakistanis happier than Indians, finds UN report on happiest nations

Madplayer

Senior Test Player
India was ranked at 140 on the United Nation’s latest World Happiness Report that gauged 156 countries, a decline of seven spots from the last edition of the survey. India was also among the five countries that experienced the highest decline since 2005-2008 in the index.

Finland topped the list for the second consecutive year, followed by Denmark and Norway. South Sudan was ranked at the bottom of the index.

The report said the countries which had suffered such a decline had some combination of economic, political, and social stresses. The study based its findings on individuals’ assessment of their lives in relation to the Gross Domestic Product per capita income, social support, healthy life expectancy, freedom, generosity and absence of corruption.

Meanwhile, India’s South Asian neighbours ranked higher with Pakistan pegged at 67, Bhutan at 95, Bangladesh at 125 and Sri Lanka at 130.

The report said the large gaps in happiness between countries will continue to create pressure to migrate.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.sc...n-further-ranks-140-on-index-of-156-countries

Pakistan at number 67. What makes Pakistanis so happy?

So winning world cup matches does not make a country happy? Who would have guessed, eh

Punjabi. You need to compare ethnically Indian punjabis to pakistanis punjabis and you may not find much difference in this survey.
Punjabis like to live life happily, although there are many many problems in both sides of Punjab.

The only thing I can think of is a Punjabi adage that goes "aqal na howay tay maujaan e maujaan" which can be roughly translated as - life's easier when one thinks less.

Finland and Denmark happier than us Norwegians? Lol I will not take this report serious.

This should be a big concern as it demonstrates insensitivity of Pakistani citizens to the current state of the country.

The decline in happiness of Indians at least show their concern for their current political setup.

This should be a big concern as it demonstrates insensitivity of Pakistani citizens to the current state of the country.

The decline in happiness of Indians at least show their concern for their current political setup.

You guys have been using "current state of Pakistan" or "current state of country" for decades to show somehow that Pakistan is about to slip into bankruptcy. Things are pretty much as good as they have been in last 10 years in Pakistan. Maybe that's what people are happy about? As for India, maybe its because a huge chunk of youth are unemployed which the Indian government doesn't acknowledge, and Modi wants to instead focus on starting wars?

I am not comparing ourselves to India. 67 is not that good at all.

Most pathetic and wrong response. We are a happy people because we are big hearted good people. We are thankful to God for what ever we have, little or alot. Life can always be better, but it can also be worse. We enjoy our time with family, and friends, our friends weddings and mehndi. We have fun and live life.

You can make this argument about any country, especially for US where I reside. The gap between rich and poor keeps growing. Worker wages are flat since the late 70's whereas the executive pay keeps rising exponentially. Healthcare is exorbitantly expensive and most can't afford college education. Manufacturing and other high paying blue collar jobs have been shipped off overseas for fattening the profits of the wall street fat cats. Homelessness is rampant in all big cities and people are really struggling.

Yet Americans are relatively happy being in Top 20. The survey is purely based on the people's perception and nothing more, there is no in depth analysis of the merits of that perception. Don't make it another Pakistan bashing exercise.

You guys have been using "current state of Pakistan" or "current state of country" for decades to show somehow that Pakistan is about to slip into bankruptcy. Things are pretty much as good as they have been in last 10 years in Pakistan. Maybe that's what people are happy about? As for India, maybe its because a huge chunk of youth are unemployed which the Indian government doesn't acknowledge, and Modi wants to instead focus on starting wars?

As if the problems in India do not exist in Pakistan. Everybody in Pakistan is employed and people like Nawaz and Zardari were better leaders. There really is no cure to delusion.

d7f249e0a48f298182a9e414ff96a66a.jpg
d06e97e9ab82c440c16fbfeb13be6f3d.jpg
8938328cd4d48e36a8a84ae89fa85ace.jpg

Considering all the chest thumping by India and Modi, this is shameful news.

Pakistan has just been through 2 decades of war, so understandable.

There is a strong perception in India that we somehow live in a completely different and more advanced world than failed , backward and bankrupt State of Pakistan. So these rankings could be shocking to the Indians who think they are on the verge of being a Superpower so how can inferior Pakistan be better in any rankings?

No brainer really.

Imran Khan is PM of Pakistan, Pakistan is happy.
Modi is PM of India, India is slipping into depression.

Pakistanis usually have this happy go lucky attitude although they are more poor than Indians. Also Pakistanis usually dont keep hate in their hearts

It is a myth that Pakistanis are poor than Indians..

I think you might be trying to say Pakistani govt is poorer than Indian govt

Considering all the chest thumping by India and Modi, this is shameful news.

Pakistan has just been through 2 decades of war, so understandable.

Could the chest thumping be because they are unhappy and like to take out frustration on Pakistan? 🤔

Have you tried prozac ?

India is a bit like US in regards to wealth inequality. The rich hoard vast majority of the wealth. The poor people in the US are poorer than the poor from countries that have 10-20% less GDP per capita but have social welfare, e.g. Canada.

As if the problems in India do not exist in Pakistan. Everybody in Pakistan is employed and people like Nawaz and Zardari were better leaders. There really is no cure to delusion.

So you misrepresent my point sarcastically and then shoot down that point, without even answering what I said.

I was merely disproving your argument for why Pakistan is happier than India. Many Indians seem to have this huge superiority complex that has no justification and is not based in reality, and your post reeked full of that.

Pakistanis are more prosperous than Indians. Our half of the population is Punjabi who born to eat wear & love. Now tell me why wouldn't be one happy if he is doing only these things in his entire.

I don't think it's due to a single ethnicity in Pakistan only. I do think the general attitude of majority of Pakistanis, regardless of ethnicity, is rather optimistic and easy going.

I have had friends from Pakistan from all ethnicity. There are many negatives about us Pakistanis but trait that I admire the most about us: Faith in God for a better tomorrow while not worrying about today as long as there is food on the table, roof over head, and health to wake up next day. We are resilient.

I don't like to compare ourselves too mich with India, since there is little wisdom in comparing yourself with a low standard. However Pakistan being happier than India seems to be a consistent trend and not some statistical anomaly.

Here are the result from past reports
2016: Pakistan - 92 India - 118
2017: Pakistan - 80 India - 122
2018: Pakistan - 75 India - 133
Current: Pakistan - 67 India - 140

Not only has Pakistan been ranked better it also has an upwards trend while India is in a downward spiral. Besides the general positive attitude towards I life I believe few reasons behind the upwards trwnd might be the major decrease in terrorism related incidents and a crackdown on corrupt leaders.

If indians want to sincerely understand this issue they need to look at how the report was derived and lopk beyond merely economical aspect. We all know money alone can't buy happiness otherwise rich celebrities wouldn't be depressed, taking drugs and committing suicides.

For Pakistan I hope may we continue this trend and our governments look to improve our ranking in Human development index. Which is a lot more significant and comes under the government's responsibility.

There is a strong perception in India that we somehow live in a completely different and more advanced world than failed , backward and bankrupt State of Pakistan. So these rankings could be shocking to the Indians who think they are on the verge of being a Superpower so how can inferior Pakistan be better in any rankings?

Is that the case in India itself? As an outsider I always expect living standards in India to be better than in Pakistan, so when I see documentaries of the country I am always shocked that it actually looks worse.

Pakistanis always seem to be over the top happy, but maybe that is just how it seems to me being the worst type of cynical Brit. When I watched the PSL and see the crowds smiling and laughing, then making fools of themselves brushing their shoulders in the head and shoulders milionaire challenge I am perplexed.

You would make a great Brit, you really should come and settle over here. We could get together in a coffee shop and moan about the cheap ingredients and overly cheerful staff.

Wish there was a like button (pretty sure there use to be one)

India has way too many cultures, languages, religions and social economic diversity.
I wonder how the survey was done.
I am sure India is not that bad to iraq and so many countries ahead.
Well sri lanka is at 130 and Pakistan is happier than sri lanka as well. Even Nepal one of the most peaceful place is behind Pakistan.
Well there goes the survey down the gutter.
Only punjabis are the difference.

India has way too many cultures, languages, religions and social economic diversity.
I wonder how the survey was done.
I am sure India is not that bad to iraq and so many countries ahead.
Well sri lanka is at 130 and Pakistan is happier than sri lanka as well. Even Nepal one of the most peaceful place is behind Pakistan.
Well there goes the survey down the gutter.
Only punjabis are the difference.

What's with Punjabi this and Punjabi that? Perhaps in India Punjabi form a very distinct group but in Pakistan Punjabi and the rest of the cultures are very close to each other.

Besides as per latest census Punjab is even less than 50% of Pakistan now, close to 48% and dropping. Also the most prosperous place (Karachi) and most educated place (Gilgit-Baltistan) aren't even in Punjab. So quite dumb to say that the only reason Pak ranks highly is because of Punjab.

I wonder how this survey was conducted.

Or is a 64 rank really that good or not.

Because we have alot of problems and i wouldn't believe we are a happy nation, or atleast be that much.

People saying that "oh we have faith in God" Bangaldeshis are also muslim yet there is a gap in the rank.

Or maybe im not understanding the meaning of happiness here.

Ok, i just did some little research on this survey, and the main factor behind our high rank was dystopia.

:)) so the denial part makes sense

I have met people with millions in their bank accounts and they aren't happy.

I have met people with nothing in third world countries all over South America and Caribbean, and they are they happiest.

It seem your happiness is related or at least you are pretending to make it seem like that way to materialistic objects and optics.

Just because a country isn't up to the standard of the western world you live in doesn't mean people living in third world countries can't be content with what they have.

What's with Punjabi this and Punjabi that? Perhaps in India Punjabi form a very distinct group but in Pakistan Punjabi and the rest of the cultures are very close to each other.

Besides as per latest census Punjab is even less than 50% of Pakistan now, close to 48% and dropping. Also the most prosperous place (Karachi) and most educated place (Gilgit-Baltistan) aren't even in Punjab. So quite dumb to say that the only reason Pak ranks highly is because of Punjab.

Of course you being karachaite would say that. But guess what. You can never ever match Lahore. Lahore /punjab is the backbone of Pakistan.

Bhai I'm married to a Lahori Punjabi. I'm just saying in Pak, the cultural differences are blurred because of decades of inter-marriages and mixing. A Karachi wedding of Urdu speakers and Lahore wedding of Punjabis look almost the same.

The case might not be the same in India where Punjabis are more similar to Pakistanis than rest of India.

Also no denying that Lahore is heart of Pakistan.

Ok, i just did some little research on this survey, and the main factor behind our high rank was dystopia.

:)) so the denial part makes sense

The results are not surprising.

Deluded people who don’t indulge in critical thinking and believe that they are right while others are wrong (both from religious and national perspectives) are always happy.

Evolutionists have long searched for the missing link between modern, developed human beings and our ancestors.

What they don’t know is that we are that missing link.

The results are not surprising.

Deluded people who don’t indulge in critical thinking and believe that they are right while others are wrong (both from religious and national perspectives) are always happy.

what does being happy has to do with critical thinking?

Being happy is the state of mind.

Dumbest response when you can't come up with anything better.

I have met people with millions in their bank accounts and they aren't happy.

I have met people with nothing in third world countries all over South America and Caribbean, and they are they happiest.

It seem your happiness is related or at least you are pretending to make it seem like that way to materialistic objects and optics.

Just because a country isn't up to the standard of the western world you live in doesn't mean people living in third world countries can't be content with what they have.

Caribbean people are a great example. Their country is not as developed as many in the first world, but the majority of the people there seem to have a sunny disposition to match their weather.

Karachi is very cosmopolitan compared to the rest of Pakistan, you will get every ethnic living there including Punjabis like Wasim Akram, and Pakhtuns like Afridi. The crowds at the PSL stadium were the most cheerful and warm natured I have seen in a long time, anyone watching that would think that Pakistan was no 1 in the happiness chart.

what does being happy has to do with critical thinking?

Being happy is the state of mind.

Dumbest response when you can't come up with anything better.

Critical thinking allows you to examine your own flaws and shortcomings. This can result in happiness.

However, when you don’t think and gleefully lap up the narrative that is fed to you, you have the potential to be quite happy with what you have.

Critical thinking allows you to examine your own flaws and shortcomings. This can result in happiness.

However, when you don’t think and gleefully lap up the narrative that is fed to you, you have the potential to be quite happy with what you have.

Listen Galileo of Pakistan.

Happiness is the state of mind.

I get it, you are globally unhappy.

But people in Pakistan are happy about something. and it could be for whatever reason.

You have tied your happiness with criticizing Pakistan for the sake of criticism.

Other are just happy to be alive, roof over their head, for their kids, for a cup of chai and for freedom to have their own country.

Bottom line, they are happy.

You don't seem to be happy for them being happy.

Being a critical thinker does not mean you stop being happy and be content with what you have nor it means that you stop trying to be better than yesterday.

Pakistan is made up of multiple ethnicities and that's one of its strength and beauty. Especially on a topic where Pakistan as a whole country did well, it doesn't make much sense to give credit to one particular ethnicity only. We aren't talking about from where the most successful Pakistani fast bowlers hailed, now are we.

Additionally an atmosphere where each ethnicity is trying to compete with one another isn't constructive nor beneficial. Mutual cooperation towards the betterment of Pakistan is much more productive and preferable.

My guess is you aren't a Pakistani, hence why I am extra wary of sentiments that might cause division.

Pakistan is made up of multiple ethnicities and that's one of its strength and beauty. Especially on a topic where Pakistan as a whole country did well, it doesn't make much sense to give credit to one particular ethnicity only. We aren't talking about from where the most successful Pakistani fast bowlers hailed, now are we.

Additionally an atmosphere where each ethnicity is trying to compete with one another isn't constructive nor beneficial. Mutual cooperation towards the betterment of Pakistan is much more productive and preferable.

My guess is you aren't a Pakistani, hence why I am extra wary of sentiments that might cause division.

Oh bhai i am not dividing your Pakistan. I am punjabi myself, so i said the same with the experience.
Second dnt tell us Indians about diversity.

Most pathetic and wrong response. We are a happy people because we are big hearted good people. We are thankful to God for what ever we have, little or alot. Life can always be better, but it can also be worse. We enjoy our time with family, and friends, our friends weddings and mehndi. We have fun and live life.

Key word :afridi

Main reason could be that Pakistanis don't hate us as much as our people hate them. There is a saying 'where the mind goes energy flows'. :inti

Best Post our belief in Almighty and thankfulness in what ever he has provided is the main reason.
So called critical thinking would be good for progress but could also make you unhappy in desire to always wanting more and more and never be content with what you have. I am not saying one must not thrive for improvement but not to point that you are constantly stressed by it . Life is too short.

Faith, gratitude and let go attitude of Pakistanis make them happy.

It all comes to peace of mind and internal peace.

If Pakistanis are content with what they have and have internal peace, good for them.

Come to my ancestral town of Loralai and surrounding areas and see how happy the people there are.

This is a survey of countries, not towns. Loralai may be the happiest or saddest of towns, but that would make little difference on this scale

Lahore is like a village, or should i say pind, when compared to Karachi.

Karachi not Lahore is the backbone of Pakistan. Karachi has people not just from every part of Pakistan, but every part of the subcontinent. Its one of the most cosmopolitan cities in the world. People of all religions, ethnicity can live there in peace.

Economically Lahore is no match for Karachi, hence why people migrate there. Also the media is based in Karachi, the reason why the tv and now film industry has had a revival is because it shifted from Lahore to Karachi. Besides from historic sites in Lahore, which are not very well maintained, there is nothing that Lahore has that is better than Karachi.

Karachi not Lahore is the backbone of Pakistan. Karachi has people not just from every part of Pakistan, but every part of the subcontinent. Its one of the most cosmopolitan cities in the world. People of all religions, ethnicity can live there in peace.

Economically Lahore is no match for Karachi, hence why people migrate there. Also the media is based in Karachi, the reason why the tv and now film industry has had a revival is because it shifted from Lahore to Karachi. Besides from historic sites in Lahore, which are not very well maintained, there is nothing that Lahore has that is better than Karachi.

I have heard Karachi is just like Mumbai?

Bhai I'm married to a Lahori Punjabi. I'm just saying in Pak, the cultural differences are blurred because of decades of inter-marriages and mixing. A Karachi wedding of Urdu speakers and Lahore wedding of Punjabis look almost the same.

The case might not be the same in India where Punjabis are more similar to Pakistanis than rest of India.

Also no denying that Lahore is heart of Pakistan.

How is Lahore the heart of the Pakistan when people from every corner of the country live in Karachi? When Karachi is the main economic hub of Pakistan? When the media is based in Karachi? Surprising that a person from Karachi would say that.

Also while I agree with you that cultural differences are being blurred in Pakistan, that is mostly because other ethnicities are adopting the Urdu Speaking culture. No one is adopting the Punjabi culture. So if people across Pakistan are adopting the Urdu Speaking culture, which is based on Karachi, that would make Karachi not Lahore the heart of Pakistan.

I have heard Karachi is just like Mumbai?

Yes but a lot, lot, cheaper. One big difference is Mumbai is smaller geographically so they have expanded the city vertically, but Karachi has been expanding into Interior Sindh so its been more horizontal growth. You can get a very large house, for the same price as apartment in Mumbai.

Karachi had a lot of potential but it was all wasted by incompetent politicians and bureaucrats. If Karachi had someone like Shabaz Sharif for 10+ years then things would've been different. But unfortunately it's stuck with leadership that gets its votes from interior Sindh, places you never even hear about.

Best Post our belief in Almighty and thankfulness in what ever he has provided is the main reason.
So called critical thinking would be good for progress but could also make you unhappy in desire to always wanting more and more and never be content with what you have. I am not saying one must not thrive for improvement but not to point that you are constantly stressed by it . Life is too short.

Exactly bro, the person who is grateful and content with what he has will be happy. If you are trying to be something else and comparing yourself to others in west or somewhere then you will feel bad. God has given us a life, and we should live it to the full. Try to improve ourselves and our country, but do it with content mind and proud heart. There is a saying in our language that I cant type properly hear but it says along the lines that the bird has to tried to copy another bird and in the process has lost it's own ways. I see that happening in certain communities and it's not a good result

How is Lahore the heart of the Pakistan when people from every corner of the country live in Karachi? When Karachi is the main economic hub of Pakistan? When the media is based in Karachi? Surprising that a person from Karachi would say that.

Also while I agree with you that cultural differences are being blurred in Pakistan, that is mostly because other ethnicities are adopting the Urdu Speaking culture. No one is adopting the Punjabi culture. So if people across Pakistan are adopting the Urdu Speaking culture, which is based on Karachi, that would make Karachi not Lahore the heart of Pakistan.

Economic is not mean heart, economically Karachi is most prosperous and contributes huge amount to Pakistan. Lahore is the cultural center of the country. That is why people called Lahore Heart of Pakistan, I'm from Islamabad but I cant deny Lahore its credit.

Happiness is a choice. Some people choose to be happy regardless of the hand life has dealt them.

Punjabi. You need to compare ethnically Indian punjabis to pakistanis punjabis and you may not find much difference in this survey.
Punjabis like to live life happily, although there are many many problems in both sides of Punjab.

dude this survey is not just about punjabis lmaoo, you're trying to reduce a country to like one ethnicity.

Indian punjab has one of the highest suicide rates so there's no correlation lmaoo, funny how indians are always trying to link themselves with Punjabis :))

reading all of your posts on here, you're definitely pretending to be a Pakistani. Really common on the internet but kinda pathetic.

Nobody cares if your punjabi dude, half of bollywood claims to be punjabis lmaoo.
Who said you should care. Nobody cares if you care or dnt care dude. I just said it as he told something.
Between bollywood rightly claim, half of Bollywood is ethnically punjabi.

Who said you should care. Nobody cares if you care or dnt care dude. I just said it as he told something.
Between bollywood rightly claim, half of Bollywood is ethnically punjabi.

They might have punjabi origins but I wouldn't go so far to say they're ethnically Punjabi.

Economic is not mean heart, economically Karachi is most prosperous and contributes huge amount to Pakistan. Lahore is the cultural center of the country. That is why people called Lahore Heart of Pakistan, I'm from Islamabad but I cant deny Lahore its credit.

I think you mean "Kawai Chala Hans ki challenge aur apni bhi chal bhi bhool guys". Appropriate for the wanna bes.

One aspect is certain, money doesn't make you happy. India is a booming economy alledgely but happiness has been declining 4 years running in India.

I think you mean "Kawai Chala Hans ki challenge aur apni bhi chal bhi bhool guys". Appropriate for the wanna bes.

Yes bro thanks for understanding and writing it because I would gave messed it up big time lol

One aspect is certain, money doesn't make you happy. India is a booming economy alledgely but happiness has been declining 4 years running in India.

That's because India is following extreme capitalist neo-liberal trajectory of growth, where all the fruits/profit of growth and development flow to the top.

Because Pakistanis live in a bubble and think they are the best. Denial makes them happy.

What happened? Used to be a bustling and vibrant city. Been years since I have been there, I can only assume it was overrun by the walking dead and became a ghost town like in the famous tv series.

both public and government wise India has more money than Pakistan. But money cannot buy happiness and we can see it.