Panamagate Case: Supreme Court disqualifies Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif in unanimous verdict

Is SC's verdict due today or the hearings start today?

Another Muk Muka on the cards?

It is not a must for us to accept JIT's findings - SC

Nope, its too late for Muk muka now!

SC have said adverse things in the past too, they have too judge with an open mind. However, the evidence is over whelping now and judging or delaying justice will only lead to Street protests. Tomorrow will be an important day as the defendants have to place their defense. Potentially, case over tomorrow!

Hearings start and there is less chance of a verdict today...

How come the judges are asking the lawyers of the viability of the JIT report, remember they themselves created the JIT not the petitioners :danish :danish

All signs point towards a muq muqa..

How come the judges are asking the lawyers of the viability of the JIT report, remember they themselves created the JIT not the petitioners :danish :danish

All signs point towards a muq muqa..

They think PTI is JIT? Why judges are asking Naeem Bukhari questions about JIY report and it's authenticity

Why should JIT findings be accepted?- SC to PTI lawyer

As I predicted earlier, JIT findings will be disposed off and Nawaz Sharif will be acquitted.

I think people are getting too worried needlessly. Everyone knows SC is not bound by JIT's findings. It was a normal grilling that all lawyers get, PTI's lawyers can hardly expect to the judges to nod along to everything. It doesn't happen like that.

Watch what happens to PMLN's lawyers tomorrow.

Amused by Courts reaction today an average day for PTi & co. hopefully tomorrow Nawaz' lawyer will get :133:

Why should JIT findings be accepted?- SC to PTI lawyer

As I predicted earlier, JIT findings will be disposed off and Nawaz Sharif will be acquitted.

There are only two main angles to this case now. PTI has to highlight the reasons which make JIT an incriminating evidence against Sharifs and Noons have to satisfy the court that JIT is nothing or at least not enough to declare Sharifs guilty.

Judges probably have already made their minds after reading JIT but they still need to hear arguments.

In 70-80 percent court cases there is no need of lawyers as judges can make up their mind from available documents/reports/inquiries etc but they still do hear the both parties. The fact is that these judges are themselves not all-knowing and all-seeing. Many of them could not pass a judicial magistrate's test earlier in their careers but later qualified for high court posts. This is the idea of fair trial that every party should be heard patiently and then judges decide on both of these bases, i.e their self knowledge and arguments provided by the opposing parties.

Sharif family, in formal objection to JIT report, terms it a 'farce'

As the Supreme Court resumed hearing the Panamagate case on Monday, the Sharif family submitted its objections to the report prepared by a joint investigation team (JIT) that probed its financial history and claims to have found glaring discrepancies in the family's sources of income and their actual wealth.

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif's lawyer Khawaja Haris, in the objections, dismissed the JIT report as "eyewash" based on "mala fide" intentions.

"The entire investigation was a farce and an eyewash and was undertaken with a predisposed mind to malign and implicate the respondents in some wrongdoing or the other," the objections said.

A copy of the document detailing the objections, obtained by DawnNews, says that the JIT did not share its evidence with the defendants while recording their statements, therefore depriving them of a chance to "explain their position", which it termed a violation of their basic rights.

Another objection raised by the Sharif family is that the JIT has "sought to mislead" the court by hiring private foreign firms to help collect evidence — through what the JIT described as Mutual Legal Assistance requests — in violation of the National Accountability Ordinance of 1999, rendering them "inadmissible" as evidence.

"JIT members exceeded their jurisdiction and authority conferred by law in obtaining documents from abroad, inter alia, by hiring private firms and thereby have not only wasted public time but also public money inrendering an incomplete, inconclusive and legally untenable and inherently defective report," the document reads.

"Documents relied upon by the JIT, especially from foreign jurisdictions, have been illegally procured, none of these documents bear the attestation in accordance with law, nor are any of these documents in original," it further states.

The statement also notes that a British litigation firm, Quist London, that was hired by the JIT to assist in the investigation belongs to Akhtar Raja, a cousin of JIT head Wajid Zia, which it claims "is illegal and unsupported by the law".

In light of these points, the statement says, "none of these documents can be relied upon, nor can their contents be considered to form the basis of any averse finding against any of the Respondents".

The objection statement goes on to claim that two members of the JIT had ties to political parties ─ Bilal Rasool to the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf, and Amir Aziz to the PML-Q.

It says that JIT members' claim that they are being threatened is also an attempt to influence the court's decision.

It concludes that the findings of the report and evidence collected by the JIT should be discarded and all cases against the premier should be dismissed.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1345906/sharif-family-in-formal-objection-to-jit-report-terms-it-a-farce

oh boy!
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">وزیراعظم نےتواپنےخالومحمدحسین کوبھی پہچاننےسےانکارکردیا،جسٹس اعجازالاحسن<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Abbtakk?src=hash">#Abbtakk</a></p>— AbbTakk (@AbbTakk) <a href="https://twitter.com/AbbTakk/status/887187650804887552">July 18, 2017</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">جو باتیں جے آئی ٹی نے نہیں پوچھی تھیں وہ ہم نے پوچھ لیں، بات ختم، جسٹس عظمت سعید</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/887185585475125252">July 18, 2017</a></blockquote>

Look at the trolling level...
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">آپ انگلینڈ میں کوئین کو تو چٹھی نہیں لکھیں گے، جسٹس عظمت سعید</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/887195137364959232">July 18, 2017</a></blockquote>

So there goes the old argument of "onus is on PTI to provide the proof as they are the accusers".
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">تمام دستاویزات شریف خاندان نے دینی تھیں، جسٹس عظمت سعید</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/887214477611081729">July 18, 2017</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">وزیراعظم عدالت نہیں تو جے آئی ٹی کو ہی رکارڈ دے دیتے، جسٹس اعجاز الاحسن</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/887213720329498624">July 18, 2017</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">جے آئی ٹی سے پہلے عدالت میں بھی موقع دیا گیا، جسٹس عظمت سعید</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/887214429108150273">July 18, 2017</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">اگر آپ دستاویزات نہیں دیں گے تو کوئی نکال لائے گا، جسٹس اعجاز الاحسن</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/887213846288642048">July 18, 2017</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">وزیراعظم نے تمام دستاویزات دینے سے انکار کیا، جسٹس اعجاز الاحسن</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/887213752675950593">July 18, 2017</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">جے آئی ٹی کا مقصد شریف خاندان کو موقع دینا تھا، جسٹس اعجاز الاحسن</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/887213121177309184">July 18, 2017</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">وزیراعظم کی تقاریر رکارڈ کا حصہ ہیں، جسٹس اعجاز الاحسن</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/887213653497401345">July 18, 2017</a></blockquote>

Interesting remarks...
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">آپ نے اپنے جواب میں کسی دستاویز کی تردید نہیں کی، جسٹس عظمت سعید</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/887184073625657344">July 18, 2017</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">سپریم کورٹ ایک سال سے پوچھ رہی ہے، اب بتا دیں، جسٹس اعجاز الاحسن</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/887219080482127872">July 18, 2017</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">عدالتی فیصلے موجود ہیں کہ جس کی جائیداد ہو ثابت اسی کو کرنی ہوتی ہے، جسٹس عظمت سعید</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/887216944822308864">July 18, 2017</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">وزیراعظم نے کہا یہ ہیں وہ ذرائع جن سے لندن فلیٹ خریدے، جسٹس اعجاز الاحسن</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/887214740451332097">July 18, 2017</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">ہم تمام مواد کو جانچیں گے پھر طے کریں گے کہ نااہلی بنتی ہے یا نہیں، جسٹس اعجاز الاحسن</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/887217394229403648">July 18, 2017</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">شواہد کےجائزےکےبعدفیصلہ کرینگےکہ معاملہ نیب کودیں یانااہلی کافیصلہ دیں،جسٹس اعجاز</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/887218310076669952">July 18, 2017</a></blockquote>

I thought that the NS owned company in the UAE was set-up to make JIT look stupid but it has been confirmed by his lawyer thats its true. Whats going on, is this PM that stupid?

His lawyer admitted that Hussain own that company in UAE.

Justice Azmat and his trolling... :)))

DFATJeoXcAAPFGL.jpg

so what I can tel from those tweets is that SC isnt happy with the signatures and the overall documentation provided by the sharifs?? also given the JIT was to help them to provide more evidence?

Will this go to NAB?

The same SC judges declared NAB as dead a few months ago so can't see it going to NAB or maybe they will handpick NAB officers and build a team just like JIT for further investigation? Irfan Mangi one of the JIT member came from NAB and performed really well because SC was standing behind him.

Justice Azmat: To date, not ONE document has been presented by Sharif family proving Hussain as owner of LDN flats.

So the question is who is the owner of all these flats? Maryam? Hassan? or NS himself :D

Justice Ijaz Afzal : Aik baat ker ke saara muqaddama khatam ker dein. Assason ke wasail kahan se aye!
Khuwaja Haris: Nawaz Sharif ko safai denay ka moqa nahi diya giya.
Justice Ijaz Afzal: Aik saal ho gaya hai aap se poochtay howay!
Khuwaja Haris: Court ne humara moqaf nahi poocha.
Justice Azmat Saeed: Yaar ab pooch rahay hain, ab bata bhee do!
Khuwaja Haris: Wazir e Azam JIT mein gaye thay, JIT ka kaam tha poochna.

Some exchanges today between Judge and Nawaz's lawyer :))

Justice Ijaz Afzal : Aik baat ker ke saara muqaddama khatam ker dein. Assason ke wasail kahan se aye!

Justice Azmat and his sense of humor :))

So Sharif's lawyer is fighting a political war in legal battle. His sounds more like Talal Chauhdary and Danial Aziz than top lawyer representing corrupt billionaires.

I do not see Nawaz going anywhere. This is Pakistani judicial system.

Then why would they publish the JIT report?

If it were a muk-muka, we would never have heard of JIT report. Model Town JIT report is one recent example. The very fact that JIT report was made public is enough to negate perceptions of muk-muka. Unless of course they want to cover all bases in muk-muka, something Sharifs are not capable of. otherwise they could have covered bases in money trail.

Then why would they publish the JIT report?

If it were a muk-muka, we would never have heard of JIT report. Model Town JIT report is one recent example. The very fact that JIT report was made public is enough to negate perceptions of muk-muka. Unless of course they want to cover all bases in muk-muka, something Sharifs are not capable of. otherwise they could have covered bases in money trail.

Publication of the JIT is no big deal. The real deal is to give a verdict against the Sharif clan which doesn't seem like a possibility despite innumerable incriminating evidence implicating the Family in financial wrongdoings.

It is increasingly looking like SC will forward the case to NAB and will wait for their findings before making decision about Nawaz Sharif and family.

The SC has already utilised like a year. If they further refer the case; then this is just delaying justice. Delayed justice is no justice.

I have a law degree #EnglishLaw. I assume / read that trial court is for sentencing purposes in Pakistan. Can NS be disqualified by SC and sentenced by trial court if necessary?!? Sorry for my ignorance, if only I focused on my course and read widely :)

The SC has already utilised like a year. If they further refer the case; then this is just delaying justice. Delayed justice is no justice.

I have a law degree #EnglishLaw. I assume / read that trial court is for sentencing purposes in Pakistan. Can NS be disqualified by SC and sentenced by trial court if necessary?!? Sorry for my ignorance, if only I focused on my course and read widely :)

the lines are blurry now; there should have been a trial court first but that never happened so SC is also acting like a trial court? this may be the main reason SC may not disqualify NS and co and instead send the case to NAB

In an ideal scenario NS should be disqualified for life prisoned for 21 years and penalty of 50crore at least

But this is Pakistan

Is it not possible to check ownership of London property with the Land Registry?

It's already established that which offshore company own which flat but now they need to establish the owner of those offshore companies. The flats were purchased under offshore companies name not individuals and its almost confirmed through JIT report that Maryam is tue beneficial owner of at least 2 offshore companies that means shr is owner of som of yhe flats.

PMLN objections on JIT report.

DFBWPddXsAAwHzM.jpg:large

I bet Nawaz dictated while his lawyer typed this, this is the only excuse I can think of when reading these diabolical, sorry and pathetic ''objections''.

I'd print a million of these and sell as them as toilet paper. They'd atleast have some value then.

UK's agencies have already verified they are Maryam's.

It's already established that which offshore company own which flat but now they need to establish the owner of those offshore companies. The flats were purchased under offshore companies name not individuals and its almost confirmed through JIT report that Maryam is tue beneficial owner of at least 2 offshore companies that means shr is owner of som of yhe flats.

So there's evidence that the family has ownership and they lied? The guy should have resigned on that alone. God Almighty, such shameless people.

I bet Nawaz dictated while his lawyer typed this, this is the only excuse I can think of when reading these diabolical, sorry and pathetic ''objections''.

I'd print a million of these and sell as them as toilet paper. They'd atleast have some value then.

A few points in are contradictions, but that won't stop these vermin.

[MENTION=133397]WebGuru[/MENTION] anything less than adyala jail bamushqat for 14 years will be a big joke with the nation,,,,and money should be brought back with interest...

True but i am keeping my expectations very low...

I personally think his disqualification is guaranteed, what is yet to be determined is if he will be sent to jail, financial penalties and duration of disqualification (which is irrelevant because i don't see him ever coming back).

Dunya News reporter at SC predicted that judges will refer this case to NAB. If this happens then PML-N will again distribute sweets.

Abid Sher Ali frustration shows they are still not sureif they can find a way out of this mess...

Dunya News reporter at SC predicted that judges will refer this case to NAB. If this happens then PML-N will again distribute sweets.

Unlikely as JIT was formed because the institutions like NAB and SEC were not doing their jobs when the SC asked them for the details. To put the case back to NAB will mean SC went back on their own ruling so sending case to NAB is useless unless Nawaz is removed from power and NAB given independence. PPP have been trying to defang NAB in last 1-2 years in Sindh as well as they expect NAB to come after them next.

Judges have more than enough evidence to disqualify Nawaz Sharif, could go to NAB for further investigations to determine final punishment. Volume 10 of JIT report contains further information about Sharif's investments worth $300Million in Europe which was discussed with Musharaff but he couldn't act on this since he had made an agreement with Saudis so this file could be re-opened with further investigations required.

Farcical and comical arguments of PM's lawyer completed.

Sonny and Fredo's lawyer to start

Judges have more than enough evidence to disqualify Nawaz Sharif, could go to NAB for further investigations to determine final punishment. Volume 10 of JIT report contains further information about Sharif's investments worth $300Million in Europe which was discussed with Musharaff but he couldn't act on this since he had made an agreement with Saudis so this file could be re-opened with further investigations required.

So it really about that story mentioned by Maalick and Klasra? About someone sharing all the evidence with Mush back in 2005/06

have high hopes from Court i hope they will live upto expectations otherwise history will mock them forever

I think political talkshows on TV and these trials are the best entertainment you can have in Pakistan, they surely must have surpassed the drama serials?

Hussain and Hasan lawyer refused to give his argument today and is asking for time. Salman Akram Raja says he is not ready yet, needs time; in reply judges says track record of you guys not good when given time

I think political talkshows on TV and these trials are the best entertainment you can have in Pakistan, they surely must have surpassed the drama serials?

true... These politcal anchors are highest paid actor in Pakistan. There is a reason actors like Nabeel, Hamza Abbasi etc are moving to news channel and switching their careers :))

Media, Nation Assembly, 2 Benches of Supreme Court, JIT & now Supreme Court again; I wonder if anyone in human history was given more opportunities to clarify his position? (Interesting point by Moeed Pirzada)

"Hazoor yeh hen wo zeraaye..."

yeh Zeraaye dhundte qaum or judges ne agle jahan pohanch jana he btu zeraaye saamne nae aane :))

So it really about that story mentioned by Maalick and Klasra? About someone sharing all the evidence with Mush back in 2005/06

Yes and judges also made remarks today that Volume 10 of JIT (which wasn't made public) has some very dangerous material and it is predicted that the material relates to Sharif's $300Million investment in Europe.

If it's true thn even judges will find it hard not to disqualify Sharif family...

[MENTION=135]Waseem[/MENTION] look at this panel image :))

DFCjlNLVYAA05cv.jpg

Firdos Ashiq Awan ex PPP representing PTI

Jaan Achakzai ex JUIF representing PMLN

Naz Baloch ex PTI representing PPP

Why are judges wasting time of nation as per PM and his cronies counsel well they are paid for this but why judges

[MENTION=135]Waseem[/MENTION] look at this panel image :))

DFCjlNLVYAA05cv.jpg

Firdos Ashiq Awan ex PPP representing PTI

Jaan Achakzai ex JUIF representing PMLN

Naz Baloch ex PTI representing PPP

Lol that's not the best panel i have seen recently, most of them have recently joined other parties and will be presenting their CHANGED point of view which will seem fake and useless. Personally, i would much prefer Naz Baloch to represent PTI rather than aapa Firdous who may have joined PTI for personal gains (just like Naz Baloch and Achakzai) but also because she is not usually logical. Fawad Chauhdry is aggressive but very logical especially when his opponent is not Talal, Abid Sher Ali or Dani.

PTI should train some youth candidates and bring them on media even if they lack experience. I came across this young educated PTI MPA Ali Salman from Nankana Sahib on Twitter. This guy actually won as an indepdendent defeating PMLN candidate and joined PTI instead of PMLN which is very unusual. I think he is a lawyer so perfect candidate to bring on media rather than likes of Firdous Awan.

Lol that's not the best panel i have seen recently, most of them have recently joined other parties and will be presenting their CHANGED point of view which will seem fake and useless. Personally, i would much prefer Naz Baloch to represent PTI rather than aapa Firdous who may have joined PTI for personal gains (just like Naz Baloch and Achakzai) but also because she is not usually logical. Fawad Chauhdry is aggressive but very logical especially when his opponent is not Talal, Abid Sher Ali or Dani.

PTI should train some youth candidates and bring them on media even if they lack experience. I came across this young educated PTI MPA Ali Salman from Nankana Sahib on Twitter. This guy actually won as an indepdendent defeating PMLN candidate and joined PTI instead of PMLN which is very unusual. I think he is a lawyer so perfect candidate to bring on media rather than likes of Firdous Awan.

Yea i follow that guy on Twitter he is a lawyer and should be given opportunity on media. People like Hammad Azhar and Waleed should be tried too...

Judge sahab ke sabar ka paimana labrez hote hue...
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">پوچھ پوچھ کر تھک گئے کون مالک ہے کوئی نہیں بتاتا، جسٹس عظمت سعید</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/887554045594013696">July 19, 2017</a></blockquote>