Pathankot attack: Pakistan acts on India 'leads', arrests some suspects

dandapinda

Tape Ball Star
Code:
HIGHLIGHTS
• An unspecified number of people have been arrested.
• Raids were carried out in Gujranwala, Jhelum and Bahawalpur districts.
• IB, ISI and Military Intelligence personnel will be part of the probe team.
• India has linked foreign secretary-level talks to Pakistan's action on Pathankot.

Code:
"Probe has been going to ascertain if they were involved in the attack or some of them facilitated it," they said.
The arrests led Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif to order a joint investigation team of Intelligence Bureau(IB), Inter-Services Intelligence, Military Intelligence, Federal Investigation Agency and police to thoroughly probe the Pathankot attack links to Pakistan.

http://m.timesofindia.com/world/pak...rrests-some-suspects/articleshow/50531146.cms

Thanks Nawaz bhai...

Unbelievable News, didnt ever expect Pakistan to arrest terror suspects for terrorism in India.

Jiye Nawaz.

First India don't blame Pakistan establishment directly (Media doesn't count)

Then Pakistan acknowledges and offers full support

Pakistan actually work on the leads and captures the people involved.

As the saying goes - Daal mein kuch Kaala hai, yaa fir puri daal hi kaali hai :13:

Please cite some credible source. I have not seen PTV reporting the progress yet.

Good man Shariff. Easily the best PM ever for Pak.

Some posters calling him dog for acting against terrorists?? :facepalm:

Nawaz genuinely wants peace with India.
Can't say same about isi or pak army though.

This is being reported only in India media for now. JIT has not made anything public yet.

Politicians generally do want peace with India, not sure we can say the same about India for that matter.

We'll have to wait and see if the arrests lead to any prosecutions. While the desire for peace might be genuine, there will need to be proof to back up the accusations.

look let me educate you on Pakistani foreign policy 101 as of 2015/2016. And this is for all of you Indian posters.

Firstly we have a NSA who is a former retired army general hence the army's voice
secondly after the dharna and aps attack Nawaz sharif and the politicians had a choice, join the people or continue down the dark path. Nawaz chose survival and the people.
Thirdly the ISI is a part of the army and is under the direct control of the COAS. As of today the PM,ISI,COAS are on the same page
Fourthly nothing to do with India is done without the approval of the key national security actors within the country. The PM is now on the same page as the army. He has a good relationship with them as he has retired members in his party and has deep contacts with it.

so all this talk of the Pakistan army doesn't want peace is simply a red-herring that is waved in your faces to fool you. Peace with India is in the interest of the army.

to all the Indians thanking Shariff, you guys should know that it is the ISI that informs the whereabouts of these people to local police...our local police has 0 ability to trace and arrest such ppl.

We believe in Shariff....

Politicians generally do want peace with India, not sure we can say the same about India for that matter.

We'll have to wait and see if the arrests lead to any prosecutions. While the desire for peace might be genuine, there will need to be proof to back up the accusations.

Bhajpayees efforts could have made a big difference.... But aftermath war turned it ugly.

Since then, india became cautious even if Pakistan shows interest in peace.

Bhajpayees efforts could have made a big difference.... But aftermath war turned it ugly.

Since then, india became cautious even if Pakistan shows interest in peace.
yes bhajpayees and Musharraf's efforts were sincere no doubt but we've been stabbed hard by india on various occasions so we are very cautious when it comes to india wanting to talk to us. honestly , we don't want to talk to india idont know why Modi 56" chest came to Pakistan after saying " Pakistan ko usski bhaasha mein jawaab deina chahiyay" :D

look let me educate you on Pakistani foreign policy 101 as of 2015/2016. And this is for all of you Indian posters.

Firstly we have a NSA who is a former retired army general hence the army's voice
secondly after the dharna and aps attack Nawaz sharif and the politicians had a choice, join the people or continue down the dark path. Nawaz chose survival and the people.
Thirdly the ISI is a part of the army and is under the direct control of the COAS. As of today the PM,ISI,COAS are on the same page
Fourthly nothing to do with India is done without the approval of the key national security actors within the country. The PM is now on the same page as the army. He has a good relationship with them as he has retired members in his party and has deep contacts with it.

so all this talk of the Pakistan army doesn't want peace is simply a red-herring that is waved in your faces to fool you. Peace with India is in the interest of the army.

Well I genuinely hope Nawaz and the army are on the same page. Will be good for both countries.
If Pakistan acts on the Pathankot Perpetrators then it will go a long way in normalizing relations with India.

Well I genuinely hope Nawaz and the army are on the same page. Will be good for both countries.
If Pakistan acts on the Pathankot Perpetrators then it will go a long way in normalizing relations with India.

we can only act on what is given to us. If the evidence is not there India will have to look at internal actors. I believe the pathankot was an internal operation and not a cross border one. We will hear more in coming days. India needs to stop using these issues as excuses for refusing talks.

Good to hear. Cant really say if they really want to do it or just showing the world that we are in support. But whatever it is, good to hear at least first time they are trying.

we can only act on what is given to us. If the evidence is not there India will have to look at internal actors. I believe the pathankot was an internal operation and not a cross border one. We will hear more in coming days. India needs to stop using these issues as excuses for refusing talks.

What else you need? We have already given the evidences that they were from pak. Now its your job as well to support us. Otherwise it will be proved that you are supporting terrorism. Not me but whole world says this. And this is the chance to prove them wrong for you.

Some interesting developments.

Pakistan has detained Pathankot suspects, details can’t be shared: NIA

Pakistan has detained suspects in January’s Pathankot attack, counter-terror agency NIA said on Wednesday, and added the team visiting India has provided details of its investigation that cannot be disclosed.

The National Investigation Agency has asked the five-member Pakistani team for the voice samples of Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM) chief Maulana Masood Azhar and his brother, Abdul Rauf Asghar, NIA chief Sharad Kumar said.

India blames the attack on an air force base in Punjab’s Pathankot on Pakistan-based JeM. Six soldiers were killed in an 80-hour gun battle in the strategic facility early January.

Rauf Asghar claimed to have sent ‘mujahideen (holy warriors)’ to attack the Pathankot airbase and made fun of India’s response in an audio tape.

NIA handed over the statements of witnesses, post-mortem report of the four terrorists killed in the strike to the Pakistani team, which has an official of spy agency Inter-Services Intelligence.

This is the first time a Pakistan team is examining witnesses in a case in India, and New Delhi doesn’t want the neighbouring country to cite “lack of cooperation” at any level.

The team visited the Pathankot airbase on Tuesday, though its access was restricted to the crime scene.

Any lead picked up by the Pakistan team will not be of legal use in the absence of Letter Rogatory, a request from a court to a foreign court for any judicial assistance.

But, there are hopes that Pakistan will conduct a serious probe during the “goodwill visit”.

The visit has created a political storm, with opposition parties accusing the Narendra Modi of changing its stand and inviting the Pakistani team.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/india...-shared-nia/story-x5rQ1J1OUCGkToPL7BQY4M.html

Pakistan team in India's Pathankot to investigate attack

A five-member Pakistani team has arrived at Pathankot air force base in India to investigate a deadly militant attack on the base in January.

Opposition parties have severely criticised the government for letting the team, which includes a Pakistani intelligence officer, visit the area.

India has accused Pakistan-based group Jaish-e-Mohammad of carrying out the assault.

Seven Indian soldiers and six militants were killed in the attack.

Pakistan has said it has arrested several members of Jaish-e-Mohammad.

The investigation team left in bullet-proof cars from Amritsar, in Punjab, for Pathankot on Tuesday morning, Indian media reports said.

Authorities have said the visitors will have "limited access" to the base and that they will be taken to the area where the attackers fought a gun-battle with the security forces on 2 January.

Some sensitive areas on the base have been barricaded and would be out of bounds for the Pakistanis, Indian Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar has said.

Meanwhile, small groups of demonstrators have held protests outside the base, demanding that the Pakistani team should not be allowed in since Pakistanis were thought to be involved in the deadly attack.

This is the first time that Pakistani intelligence and police officials have travelled to India to investigate a militant attack.

In February, police in Pakistan registered a complaint against "unknown persons" over the Pathankot attack.

An official of the interior ministry of Pakistan had filed the complaint, which mentioned some Pakistani mobile numbers provided by Indian authorities.
Scepticism over claim

The United Jihad Council (UJC) - a coalition of more than a dozen militant groups fighting against Indian rule in Kashmir - said they carried out the attack.

But the claim was met with scepticism - the UJC is not known to have carried out attacks outside Indian-administered Kashmir - and India instead blamed Jaish-e-Mohammed.

Started by Masood Azhar, the Islamist militant group has been blamed for attacks on Indian soil in the past, including one in 2001 on the Indian parliament which took the nuclear-armed rivals to the brink of war.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-india-35914753

Why is Pakistan not arresting Masood Azhar?

My understanding is that the Jaish organization this guy leads has claimed responsibility themselves (not sure what other proof is needed when the said party themselves confess). Masood is roaming free in Pakistan in spite of this and any previous whackadoodle he has done. Obviously those who want progress and stability within Pakistan's government are not a fan of Masood and Jaish (especially since they are hitting targets within Pakistan).

So, he seems like public enemy #1 (within the context of this attack) for Pakistan as well as India. Why is Pakistan's government not arresting him yet? Am I missing more undercurrent dynamics like army or ISI playing a role here?

My understanding is that the Jaish organization this guy leads has claimed responsibility themselves (not sure what other proof is needed when the said party themselves confess). Masood is roaming free in Pakistan in spite of this and any previous whackadoodle he has done. Obviously those who want progress and stability within Pakistan's government are not a fan of Masood and Jaish (especially since they are hitting targets within Pakistan).

So, he seems like public enemy #1 (within the context of this attack) for Pakistan as well as India. Why is Pakistan's government not arresting him yet? Am I missing more undercurrent dynamics like army or ISI playing a role here?

I think this is a check mate for him. Pak is probably evaluating options here. If Pak arrests him, it will be seen by a common Pakistani as Pakistan bowing to India's demands.. If they don't arrest him, the FAFT will be a dud right away and will lead to a financial ruin of Pakistan. Win Win for India here. Jaish probably acted an Indian agent based on the repurcussions that Pak will face in every sphere. Especially the timing of it, right after Pak met the FAFT requirements

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1910797/2-pakistan-meets-fatf-requirements/