[PICTURES/VIDEOS] Indian Politics - News & Updates Thread

'If UCC is implemented in Assam, BJP will die', Badruddin Ajmal's warning to Himanta government

Badruddin Ajmal On UCC In Assam: AIUDF chief and MP Badruddin Ajmal has warned that UCC will not be allowed to be implemented in Assam under any circumstances. He has attacked CM Himanta Biswa Sarma.

Uniform Civil Code: Himanta Biswa Sarma government of Assam has taken steps towards Uniform Civil Code (UCC). In the cabinet meeting of the state government on 23 February, the proposal to abolish the Muslim Marriages and Divorces Act, 1935 was approved. This is being seen as an attempt by the government to implement UCC.

After this, AIUDF Chief and MP Badruddin Ajmal in the state has given a strict warning. He has said that if UCC is implemented in Assam, BJP will die. Attacking the Assam government, Ajmal said, “They want to polarize their votes by provoking Muslims. Muslims will not let this happen… This is the first step towards bringing UCC law. But through this the BJP government in Assam will end.”

In the video shared by news agency ANI, AIUDF chief and MP Badruddin Ajmal can be heard saying, “India Alliance will present a big challenge to PM Modi and BJP-NDA. Our party will win three seats ( in the Lok Sabha elections ) and will support the India Alliance.”

Before this, Uttarakhand government has implemented UCC in the state a few weeks ago. Uttarakhand is the first state in India to implement UCC. With the implementation of UCC, the tradition of applying laws based on different religions in matters of marriage, divorce and inheritance ends.The same laws apply to people of all religions in these matters.

Assam Government Minister Jayant Mal Barua informed about the government's decision to abolish the Muslim Marriages Act. He said that this bill will be presented in the Assam Assembly. The assembly session will continue till 28 February. He said, "The Chief Minister had recently said that we are going to take steps towards the Union Civil Code. A very important decision has been taken in this direction."

ABP Live

lmao another Operation Lotus fail in Himachal.

Your daddy DK Shivakumar owns you every single time and there's nothing you can do about it hahaha

dk.jpeg

DKS is such a legend. He has thwarted every single attempt by the fake Chanakya pouring cold water on Amit Shah's shiny head whenever he's tried his stunts. The only time he's lost a direct contest was when they threw him in jail and brought down the Karnataka government. I dread the day this guy assumes national power. Vengeance will be dire :dhoni

@Rajdeep

DKS is such a legend. He has thwarted every single attempt by the fake Chanakya pouring cold water on Amit Shah's shiny head whenever he's tried his stunts. The only time he's lost a direct contest was when they threw him in jail and brought down the Karnataka government. I dread the day this guy assumes national power. Vengeance will be dire :dhoni

@Rajdeep
I hope DKS is given national role by Congress so that he puts the likes of motabhai in his place. But don't think he'll head to play national politics as he strongly harbours ambition of become Karnataka CM one day!

Btw, what bucks DKS must have been offered by sanghis when no name MLAs are given 100s of crores by them! They must have so dearly wanted DKS in sanghi camp.

Credit to DKS for not budging from his ideology for cash.

Did you hear what that serial turncoat Jagdish Shettar had to say about Congress? He said Congress won't ever form government in Karnataka.

Whether or not Congress forms government in Karnataka will be decided by Kannadiga electorate not by this guy who has party hopped twice in a single year!

Surprisingly, no one is talking about the Sandeshkhali incident. If this had happened in a BJP state, democracy lovers would have been tearing up and going gaga.:tb

Btw, what bucks DKS must have been offered by sanghis when no name MLAs are given 100s of crores by them! They must have so dearly wanted DKS in sanghi camp.

In 2018, DK and the Congress upstaged Shah and dethroned the fake 3-day BJP government. They formed a government with the minority partner JDS and made Kumaraswamy CM.

BJP leader and ex-CM Yeddyurappa in parliament had this to say.

Translating the important bits:

DK, you will regret this, you're the main person responsible for making a guy who has lost all respect of the people, the CM today.

You're the villain in this piece, but I respect you.

DK responds - I have a good relationship with Yeddy, but I'm not a villain. I just worked for my party's objectives.

Yeddy apologizes and adds, I see you as a future CM of Karnataka. Are you going to be CM sitting there on that side lolol

In a few months if Congress isn't wiped out here, I'll change my name
This last bit took more than a few months, over a year actually. Shah made his final offer to DK, then threw him in jail and the government was toppled.

But we all know what happened as the Congress came roaring back on their own without a partner a couple years later :dhoni

Surprisingly, no one is talking about the Sandeshkhali incident. If this had happened in a BJP state, democracy lovers would have been tearing up and going gaga.:tb
Not about bjp or congress, but anyone irrespective of their political leanings would find this disgusting. But there is complete radio silence.

When you are converted as a sickular, then your conscience becomes compromised, and your mind ignores anything if the victim is a hindu.

Sickular cretins must be purged.

In 2018, DK and the Congress upstaged Shah and dethroned the fake 3-day BJP government. They formed a government with the minority partner JDS and made Kumaraswamy CM.

BJP leader and ex-CM Yeddyurappa in parliament had this to say.

Translating the important bits:

DK, you will regret this, you're the main person responsible for making a guy who has lost all respect of the people, the CM today.

You're the villain in this piece, but I respect you.

DK responds - I have a good relationship with Yeddy, but I'm not a villain. I just worked for my party's objectives.

Yeddy apologizes and adds, I see you as a future CM of Karnataka. Are you going to be CM sitting there on that side lolol

In a few months if Congress isn't wiped out here, I'll change my name
This last bit took more than a few months, over a year actually. Shah made his final offer to DK, then threw him in jail and the government was toppled.

But we all know what happened as the Congress came roaring back on their own without a partner a couple years later :dhoni
Unlike fake chanakya, this guy has saved many a Congress governments by his sheer political willpower.

Fake chanakya has got all the might of money, central agencies at his might. However, he still get outsmarted every now and then.

lmao another Operation Lotus fail in Himachal.

Your daddy DK Shivakumar owns you every single time and there's nothing you can do about it hahaha

View attachment 142448
That was such a masterstroke to suspend those 6 turncoats.

Just yesterday, sanghis bought 2 Bihar Congress MLAs. Will their assembly membership be also terminated too?

@FearlessRoar

This was what I meant that feku is omnipresent in India. This is a metro station where his cutout is being made to sit.

Why won't his blind bhakts consider him god? They've every right to do so.

BJP embraces sacked BJD MLA who rammed SUV into saffron crowd​

BJP's decision to embrace expelled BJD MLA Prasanta Kumar Jagadev surprises BJD. BJP aims to strengthen the party by welcoming leaders impressed with PM Modi. Jagadev envisions a developed India. Reactions of BJP workers and leaders to Jagadev's joining remain to be seen.

BHUBANESWAR: There is a saying that everything is fair in politics and there are no permanent foes. This was evident in Odisha on Thursday when expelled BJD MLA Prasanta Kumar Jagadev, who was arrested in March 2022 for ramming an SUV into a crowd comprising BJP supporters, injuring more than 20 people, was welcomed with open arms by the saffron party.

Despite its tumultuous history with the legislator, the BJP chose to bring the 55-year-old controversial leader on board, signalling a willingness to move on. On March 12, 2022, Jagadev drove his SUV into a crowd gathered in front of the Banapur block office in Khurda district during the block chairperson's election.

Several BJP workers and then inspector in-charge of Banapur police station Rashmi Ranjan Sahoo were injured. Following the incident, a mob assaulted the MLA and set his vehicle ablaze.

Almost all political parties, including the BJD, BJP, and Congress, had condemned his actions then. The MLA was arrested by the police 10 days later and charged with attempted murder (IPC Section 307).

The two-time MLA spent more than four months in jail before he got bail from the Supreme Court in July 2022. He was suspended from the Naveen Patnaik-led BJD, for thrashing another BJP leader in September 2021. BJP and Congress had agitated against him.

He was expelled from the regional party after the SUV incident. After joining the BJP in the presence of Bhubaneswar MP Aparajita Sarangi and former state BJP president Samir Mohanty here, Jagadev said he foresees a "double engine" government, with BJP returning to power at the Centre and forming the next government in Odisha. "It's time for action. I will work as a solider to ensure a viksit bharat (developed India)," he said. Aparajita said, "BJP will be strengthened with Jagadev's joining."

The BJD questioned the BJP's decision. BJD spokesperson Lenin Mohanty said it is surprising that the party that vehemently protested against Jagadev, who attempted to harm its workers, and now they have embraced him.

"BJD had expelled Jagadev from the party due to his hooliganism, whereas the BJP, unable to groom its own leaders, has welcomed him," Lenin said, adding, "I am astonished at how BJP leaders, who previously condemned Jagadev, will now confront their workers who were victims of Jagadev's actions."

Former state BJP chief Samir Mohanty said BJD had used Jagadev against the BJP. "BJP has no reason to stop leaders and workers joining the party impressed with Prime Minister Narendra Modi's leadership and vision for the country," he said.

In September 2021, BJD had suspended Jagadev after he physically assaulted BJP leader Niranjan Sethi. Jagadev, who was elected from Begunia in 2014 and from Chilika in 2019, has a track record marked by controversy, particularly regarding his strong-arm tactics. His 2019 poll affidavit revealed that he had 10 pending cases against him.

feku's lust for power knows no bounds. Take whatever garbage comes your way!

More lies from the master liar,

It is my resolution that Tamil Nadu must develop at a pace similar to India's development. Over the past 10 years...If AIIMS were inaugurated in India, we made sure that Madurai, too, got its AIIMS.If the poor have been guaranteed treatment for Rs. 5 Lakh in India, you must know that over 50 lakh beneficiaries are from Tamil Nadu.We are working for the development of Tamil Nadu even when the state govt is not cooperating with the Central govt. You must be cautious of such people and parties who hinder the progress of Tamil Nadu.

Tamil Nadu had 5.54% Real NSDP Growth Per Capita CAGR, compared to 4.43% Real GDP Growth Per Capita CAGR for India (RBI's statistics). This is Compound Annual Growth Rate (CAGR) for the 10 year period ending March 31, 2023 as the 2024 Fiscal Year still has one month left.As a consequence, we went UP from at least 1.3 times to at least 1.44 times the Indian average per capita GDP (2011-2012 Rupee Base). (Note the state data is NET, while the National is GROSS).

Why would anyone WANT to slow TN's growth by more than 1% every year, to come down to the Indian average? In reality, the gap will likely widen further under the leadership of Hon CM @mkstalin, rather than come down to the Indian average. The rest of the reported statement, if accurate, has worse deviations from the facts, and indeed the truth (e.g. AIIMS Madurai's construction is yet to start; the TN Governor does not even sign Legislation from the Assembly - an illogical way of working for the development of TN)The great luxury of advanced levels of education, and widespread rational thinking - both clear outcomes of the Dravidian Ideology in Government for decades - is that the vast majority of Tamil people recognize reality, and experience progress, in their daily lives.

So they cannot be duped into believing gross falsehoods. Ultimately, the people get the Government they elect, and then experience the differing outcomes they chose at the booth..

@FearlessRoar

This was what I meant that feku is omnipresent in India. This is a metro station where his cutout is being made to sit.

Why don't you go out to the streets or work with ammayi Sonya's party to beat your feku ??..

@FearlessRoar

In my opinion, Modi is on a mission to make India a one-party state and wants to become a dictator. I'm not sure, but I have seen news saying that, there was some rigging in local elections to ensure BJP's victory. Moreover, during Modi's tenure, there have been numerous Bollywood movies influenced by Hindu religion, Indian Army, and anti-Pakistan sentiments. I believe Modi poses a threat to the democracy of India. I am stating this neutrally and not as a Pakistani.

If not for CCTV cameras in that room, that rigging would have never been caught! Imagine how much this guy must have cheated Indian public during last 10 years!

feku doesn't just pose threat to democracy in India but also to humanity.

LOL...lets not go there bro..no one will talk about it.

Remember how these guys were maintaining pedestrian distance when crores of black money found on Odhisa Cong MP's house? I had to remind so many times to speak up, only to get perepheral response and that too most of it was whatsboutery.

So pls don't expect anyone to talk about Sandeshkhali since the victims are hindus, culprit is from minority community and his political party is non BJP. Basically the perfect recipe for a topic one should not discuss.

Just keep on voting Modi...thats all I say to Indians. Rest all will fall in place on its own.

Not contesting but could be a good politician
====
Yuvraj Singh Breaks Silence On Reports Claiming He'll Contest Elections From Gurdaspur

Yuvraj Singh on Friday denied reports that claimed that the former Indian cricket team star would be contesting elections from Gurdaspur, Punjab. Yuvraj is one of the best known Indian cricketers who emerged in the new millennium. With his stylish left-handed batting and effetive spin blwoing, he won India many a matches. His exploits were crucial in the Indian cricket team winning the 2007 T20 World Cup and 2011 ODI World Cup. It led to the rise in his immense popularity that went beyond the cricket field.

Though, Yuvraj Singh retired from cricket, he is very active off the field with his charitable work. He has said he will continue to do so but will not be contesting elections.

"Contrary to media reports, I'm not contesting elections from Gurdaspur. My passion lies in supporting and helping people in various capacities, and I will continue to do so through my foundation
@YOUWECAN. Let's continue making a difference together to the best of our abilities," Yuvraj Singh wrote in a post on X.

Recently, Yuvraj Singh was asked about the captaincy change at Mumbai Indians with Hardik Pandya taking over the reins from Rohit Sharma. He said that the franchise had to think long term, but the experience that Rohit Sharma brings, can't be replaced.

"In franchise cricket, it always gets tough as you get old. Every franchise is always looking to promote a young player on whom they have spent a lot, and that is only fair. I have faced this situation too. But then, there can't be a replacement for experience. Rohit has huge experience and has delivered. But a franchise has to think long term," Yuvraj told the Times of India.

Source: NDTV

Movies being influenced by majority culture is normal. Being influenced by a minority religion is abnormal. But guess which one you have a problem with.

He poses threat to democracy? How?

If not for CCTV cameras in that room, that rigging would have never been caught! Imagine how much this guy must have cheated Indian public during last 10 years!

feku doesn't just pose threat to democracy in India but also to humanity.
Yes, Imagine all you can. Imagination is the best argument and best way to cope with reality.

Gautam Gambhir Urges BJP Chief To Relieve Him From Political Duties

In a surprising turn of events, Bharatiya Janata Party MP Gautam Gambhir has announced his decision to step away from active politics. The former cricketer, who represented East Delhi, took to Twitter to share the news with his followers and supporters. He expressed his desire to focus on his cricket commitments, citing the need to redirect his attention to the sport he passionately played before entering politics.

"I have requested Hon'ble Party President JP Nadda ji to relieve me of my political duties so that I can focus on my upcoming cricket commitments. I sincerely thank Hon'ble PM Narendra Modi for giving me the opportunity to serve the people. Jai Hind," Mr Gambhir wrote.

Good decision by Gambhir. Or was it due to him not getting ticket from his constituency?

With Lok Sabha polls looming, Arun Goel quits as election commissioner

Days before Election Commission is due to announce Lok Sabha general elections, election commissioner Arun Goel has resigned, reducing the poll panel to a single-member body with Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar.

The resignation - that left many raised eyebrows as no official reason was given - was accepted by President Droupadi Murmu. A copy of the resignation was not shared with CEC Kumar, TOI has learned.

There are indications that government may move soon to fill up vacancies of the two election commissioners. Another election commissioner, Anup Chandra Pandey, had retired last month after turning 65.

Goel's decision came as a complete surprise to sources in the commission as he had looked set to travel to Jammu & Kashmir on March 12 to hold a final review of poll preparations in states/UTs.

Incidentally, Article 324 of the Constitution allows EC to have a single member. "The Election Commission shall consist of the Chief Election Commissioner and such number of other Election Commissioners, if any, as the President may from time to time fix," it states. However, the panel has not been a single-member body since 1993, barring a month’s interval in 2015.

Goel took over as election commissioner on November 21, 2022.

Goel was next in line for CEC, would have led EC till December 2027

Arun Goel appointment was mired in controversy as it came barely 24 hours after he took voluntary retirement from government. It was challenged in SC, first as part of a plea seeking an independent mechanism for appointment of CEC and election commissioners, and then by way of a separate petition filed by senior lawyer Prashant Bhushan. The constitution bench hearing the first petition had called for the file relating to Goel's appointment in EC but refrained from commenting on the merits of his appointment. In the second case, SC cited the stand taken by the constitution bench and dismissed the petition.

Goel would have succeeded Kumar as CEC by the seniority principle and headed EC until December 2027. Goel's record as a bureaucrat does show up a history of short-lived tenures, first as DDA vice-chairman and subsequently as secretary, culture. The latter was considered an important assignment given that it coincided with the culture ministry's preparations for Amrit Mahotsav. Goel's assignment at the time of voluntary retirement was as secretary, heavy industries, which, too, is not considered a very significant posting.

For govt, Goel's exit puts a question mark on its choices for EC as this is the second election commissioner in less than four years to quit prior to taking over as CEC. In 2020, then election commissioner Ashok Lavasa - whose family members were under the income tax department's scanner - had resigned citing his appointment as vice-president of Asian Development Bank. This, incidentally, came in the wake of him having dissented in EC's decisions giving clean chits to PM Modi in cases of alleged model code violations.

SOURCE: TIMES OF INDIA

BJP may field cricketer Mohammad Shami from Bengal in Lok Sabha polls​

The BJP is contemplating the possibility of nominating star cricketer Mohammad Shami from Bengal in the upcoming Lok Sabha polls, sources told India Today TV.

Shami represents Bengal in the Ranji Trophy and continues to play domestic cricket for the state.

Sources said that the BJP leadership has reached out to Shami with the proposal. However, the cricketer is yet to make a decision.

The BJP is contemplating the possibility of nominating star cricketer Mohammad Shami from Bengal in the upcoming Lok Sabha polls, sources told India Today TV.

Shami represents Bengal in the Ranji Trophy and continues to play domestic cricket for the state.

Sources said that the BJP leadership has reached out to Shami with the proposal. However, the cricketer is yet to make a decision.

What! This is seriously shocking for me.

BJP trying to cash in on Shami's name after his world cup performance.

BJP is trying to field Shami from Sandeshkhali where a TMC MP recently got jailed for terrorizing and raping multiple women. However all speculation as of now as Shami is yet to accept the offer.
Hmm. Let's see if it happens or not. Shmai is still to answer this speculation.

Yusuf Pathan Joins Mamata Banerjee's TMC; To Contest Lok Sabha Polls From Berhampore

Former Indian cricketer and IPL star Yusuf Pathan has kicked off his new innings as a politician after the joined the Mamata Banerjee's All India Trinamool Congress today. Pathan will also contest the upcoming Lok Sabah polls from the Berhampore (Bahrampur) Lok Sabha seats, announced West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee.

By fielding Pathan from the Berhampore seat, the TMC has also posed a significant challenge to the Congress. The Lok Sabha seat is currently held by Congress MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury. While the Congress has yet not released its candidate list for the state, it's likely that Chaowdhury may contest from the seat once again.

SOURCE: https://zeenews.india.com/india/yus...-lok-sabha-polls-from-berhampore-2729291.html

Yusuf Pathan Joins Mamata Banerjee's TMC; To Contest Lok Sabha Polls From Berhampore

Former Indian cricketer and IPL star Yusuf Pathan has kicked off his new innings as a politician after the joined the Mamata Banerjee's All India Trinamool Congress today. Pathan will also contest the upcoming Lok Sabah polls from the Berhampore (Bahrampur) Lok Sabha seats, announced West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee.

By fielding Pathan from the Berhampore seat, the TMC has also posed a significant challenge to the Congress. The Lok Sabha seat is currently held by Congress MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury. While the Congress has yet not released its candidate list for the state, it's likely that Chaowdhury may contest from the seat once again.

SOURCE: https://zeenews.india.com/india/yus...-lok-sabha-polls-from-berhampore-2729291.html

Won't be easy for Pathan to win from Behrampore.

Adhir Ranjan is a 5-term MP from this constituency.

He would have lost anyway. Good decision by him. He should concentrate on cricket. He should stay away from Bhartiya Jumla Party. :inti
In any case, its not Gambhir who won that LS election. Its due to feku, he won that election.

Also, politics is not Gambhir's cup of tea. Its a full time job and requires immense struggle which Gambhir was incapable of doing, notwithstanding the LS membership he got on platter last time.

Supreme Court Slams SBI For "Wilful Disobedience", Warns Of Contempt

The Supreme Court on Monday came down strongly on the State Bank of India for "wilful disobedience" of last month's order - that data about donors and recipients of electoral bonds be released by March 6. In a significant development, the court warned SBI of contempt proceedings if it failed to release this data by close of business tomorrow.

The court also directed the Chairman and Managing Director of SBI - India's largest bank, with a 23 per cent market share - to file an affidavit after complying with its new direction.

"While we are not inclined to exercise the contempt jurisdiction at this time, we place SBI on notice that this court may be inclined to proceed against it for wilful disobedience if it does not comply with the directions by the timelines indicated in this order," the court said.

Good work by SC. Why do you need 3 months to provide this info? SBI is biggest Indian bank and has plethora of resources at its disposal. Not too difficult to understand why it was trying to delay/suppress this info.

SBI is only being fair with its "Come after lunch" policy. This time their lunch time will be election time.

This ex-secretary makes it clear that this information can be made available in a day. Yet another institution (SBI) that's been corrupted by the BJP.

Indeed. Great to see that lawyer, Salve too had to eat humble pie, another stooge of regime.

But no, we are living in a democracy.

Indeed. Great to see that lawyer, Salve too had to eat humble pie, another stooge of regime.

But no, we are living in a democracy.
We are indeed living in democracy, where people who are elected and are answerable to the public make the rules, not some self appointment milords who are unelected and unaccountable making a career of a constitution written by lawyers, for lawyers.

How do you know? Didn't BJP won all 7 seats in Delhi last time?

For LS in Delhi BJP might still bag all 7 seats, if it was VS then Gambhir would have probably lost out to AAP candidate.

For the most part, Elections in Delhi are basically run by Modi (LS) and Kejriwal (VS) not the candidates.

SC urges Centre to rescue Kerala with one-time package before Mar 31

The Supreme Court on Tuesday urged the Centre to consider rescuing Kerala from its severe financial crisis with a special package in the current fiscal year even as the Centre maintained that as a matter of principle, bailout packages were turned down for other states too.

“We are not experts. We won’t be able to tell you the way out but perhaps your experts can... Let your experts explore the possibility. See if you can be slightly liberal in relaxing your norms and give a one-time package before March 31, subject to more stringent conditions in the next financial year,” a bench of justices Surya Kant and KV Viswanathan told the Centre, as it heard the southern state’s suit against the borrowing restrictions.

The suggestion from the bench came after senior counsel Kapil Sibal, representing the Kerala government, submitted that while the state has accepted the Centre’s proposal to borrow an additional ₹13,608 crore for the time being, its request for an additional ₹19,000 crore was shot down.

Appearing for the Centre, attorney-general (AG) R Venkataramani and additional solicitor-general (ASG) N Venkatraman said the Centre has done “whatever was doable”. Venkatraman informed the bench that the Centre has proposed allowing borrowing another ₹5,000 crore on April 1.

“On 14 other occasions with different states and different political parties, we have said we cannot give bailout package...as a matter of principle. If we allow it for one state, we will have to do it for everyone...we have already done our best in so far Kerala is concerned,” the ASG submitted.

The AG added that it was not a case where there was no application of mind by the Centre or any resistance to applying its mind, especially after the Supreme Court’s suggestion on March 6.

On the court’s poser, if a one-time exception can be made for Kerala this time, the law officers said that the step would end up dividing states based on their approaching courts.
“We will place all the materials before the court, including the request for a bailout package by another southern state which wrote to us in January. In this case, the request for a bailout package is more than 100% of their budget package...the mismatch is huge. We can show that we have declined similar requests for many other states, and it is not that we are against this particular state,” Venkatraman said.

The bench remarked: “We don’t have the slightest doubt on your bona fide that you would not want to help the state. We are asking you to explore the possibility of doing something for the current financial year and the amount can be set off from their entitlement in the first quarter of the next financial year...Do something as a special case.”

The law officers said that they would consult the competent authorities and come back with a response to the court’s suggestion. The matter is likely to be taken up again on Wednesday.

The bench was hearing a plea filed by the Kerala government, claiming it has no money to clear outstanding arrears of salaries, pension, and provident fund for state employees and for other beneficiaries in the state under various welfare schemes.

The Pinarayi Vijayan government has challenged two letters issued by the Union finance ministry last year and certain amendments made to the Fiscal Responsibility and Budget Management Act in 2018 for “imposing a net borrowing ceiling (NBC) on the state by limiting borrowings from all sources, including open market borrowings.”

The Centre has argued that the financial edifice of the state has several cracks. It has given statistics to show the revenue deficit in Kerala as a percentage of gross state domestic product (GSDP) to be 3.17% for 2021-22, higher than the all-states average of 0.46%, and the fiscal deficit rate for Kerala to be 4.94% compared to an all-state average of 2.80%.

The suit filed by Kerala also raised a fundamental issue of fiscal federalism. “The orders and amendment create unconstitutional limits and impediments on the state to borrow and regulate its own finances, therefore violating the provisions and principles of fiscal federalism under the Constitution,” it argued.

Over the previous hearings, the court advised the Kerala government to exercise prudence in fiscal matters while imploring the Centre to relax its norms to enable the state to tide over the current crisis.

On March 6, the bench suggested that the state should accept the Centre’s proposal to borrow an additional ₹13,608 crore for the time being, subject to meeting certain stipulations. At the same time, it added the Centre should not put the withdrawal of the suit by Kerala as a precondition for allowing additional borrowing.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...me-package-before-mar-31-101710230478394.html

Kerala Model failing. This is what happens when you focus on appeasement politics instead of economic policies.

Why is the Supreme Court meddling in matters beyond its constitutional powers?
The idea of providing bail packages to those offering freebies for the sake of vote bank politics needs to be halted. SC should refrain from involving itself in such affairs. If this trend continues, states like Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, KA etc., will follow suit, with each state requesting special packages and extensions of borrowing limits, all while doling out unnecessary freebies in exchange for votes.

motabhai, the illiterate that he is, got his Maths wrong, yet again.

There is a perception that the BJP benefitted from the electoral bonds scheme because it is in power...Rahul Gandhi also said it is the biggest extortion racket in the world. Don't know who writes these things for him," said Amit Shah.

"The BJP received around Rs 6,000 crore through electoral bonds. The total bonds (of all parties) amounted to Rs 20,000 crore. So where did the rest of the bonds worth Rs 14,000 crore go?" asked the Home Minister.

Safe to say, feku has totally destroyed the State Bank of India too, like so many other institutions of eminence in his decade long disastrous reign.

SBI, which was once our showpiece institution of banking excellence, has now been reduced to being just a lackey of the illiterate feku.

Safe to say, feku has totally destroyed the State Bank of India too, like so many other institutions of eminence in his decade long disastrous reign.

SBI, which was once our showpiece institution of banking excellence, has now been reduced to being just a lackey of the illiterate feku.
LOL. SBI and banking excellence.

It was NDA which saved many banks from the NPA crisis of UPA times. Yet another fake news from you.

Outsiders don't matter.
The report was written by leftist sickulars.
Indian Express is a pro-Congress newspaper.
:dhoni

delexp.jpg

"He's Taking On Supreme Court": Chief Justice Raps Tamil Nadu Governor

New Delhi:

The Supreme Court today came down heavily on Tamil Nadu Governor RN Ravi for his refusal to re-induct a DMK leader as minister despite a pause on his conviction. In strong remarks, Chief Justice of India DY Chandrachud said the Governor was "defying the Supreme Court" and asked the Centre, "If the Governor does not follow the Constitution, what does the government do?"

The bench, also comprising Justice JB Pardiwala and Justice Manoj Misra, has now given the Governor a day's time till tomorrow to appoint DMK's K Ponmudi as minister.

The MK Stalin government has approached the Supreme Court after Mr Ravi refused to re-induct Mr Ponmudi into the state cabinet, saying it would be against Constitutional morality. Mr Ponmudi was disqualified as an MLA after the Madras High Court recently reversed his acquittal in an assets case. Thereafter, the Supreme Court paused his conviction and the sentence of a two-year jail term. The state government had then moved to reinstate him as minister, but the Governor stressed that his conviction has only been suspended and not set aside.

If we do not hear from your person tomorrow, we will pass an order directing the Governor to act according to the constitution. We are seriously concerned about the Tamil Nadu Governor and his behaviour. He has no business to do this. He is taking on the Supreme Court," the Chief Justice said. "We are keeping eyes open and tomorrow we will decide. We are seriously concerned," he doubled down.

The Chief Justice said the Governor is "defying the Supreme Court". "Those who have advised him have not advised him properly," he said. "I may have a different perspective of the man/ minister, but we have to go by the constitutional law. The Chief Minister says we want to appoint this person, the Governor should do so as part of the parliamentary democracy. He's a ceremonial head of the state."

Another of feku's stooge who he has appointed in one of the Raj Bhawans to keep an opposition government in check, infuriates SC.

There is a limit to sycophancy. Hope someone reins in those loudmouths, Delhi's LG Saxena and Kerala's governor, Arif Mohammad Khan.

lol Pappu.

Modi is winning easy.

But look at the desperate measures everywhere by the BJP and coward Modi.

Latest move is freezing the bank accounts of the largest opposition party, the Congress over two flimsy cases, one from the '90s and the other 7 years old, worth a grand amount of 14lakhs related to an IT filing.

lol Pappu.

Modi is winning easy.

But look at the desperate measures everywhere by the BJP and coward Modi.

Latest move is freezing the bank accounts of the largest opposition party, the Congress over two flimsy cases, one from the '90s and the other 7 years old, worth a grand amount of 14lakhs related to an IT filing.

How scared are you losers hahaha
It is only since a few months that I have started liking some of BJP's actions. I hope the third term brings the fascism everyone has been warning since 2014. Congress knew how to use power, they only mellowed down a bit when they were forced in a coalition. BJP for a long time hasn't known how to use power.

Hope at least the third term helps BJP supporters look a little more respectable :dhoni

Right now, most of them look like Modi - bullied men trying to be alpha or just straight.

Hope at least the third term helps BJP supporters look a little more respectable :dhoni

Right now, most of them look like Modi - bullied men trying to be alpha or just straight.
It is the language of the oppressed. BJP supporters are not going to look any better.

I want only two things: 1. The ideology of congress is eradicated completely, not even allowed to morph into another party, and 2. A more pro hindu party comes to give competition to BJP, so that they don't take us for granted.

These things will take time, so the third term is crucial in that step. I don't ask for anything when praying, but asked for a BJP win instead of a cricket world cup win. I had asked for the same in 2019 and my wish was granted, and one half of my wish has been granted so far for the next term.

Sounds reasonable.

I have new found respect for our politics, I definitely dislike Gandhi family but the founders, BJP and Congress old guard aren’t as bad.

We have managed to protect ourselves from Western interference and influence and at the same time grow with sustainability and relevance.
Issues remain but atleast I’m hopeful for many who are able to realise their dream.

In a seismic development in the national capital's politics just weeks ahead of the Lok Sabha election, Delhi Chief Minister and Aam Aadmi Party chief Arvind Kejriwal has been arrested by the Enforcement Directorate in the alleged liquor policy scam

Mr Kejriwal has become the first sitting chief minister to be arrested in the history of Independent India and his party has said he will continue to hold the post.

Speaking from outside the chief minister's residence on Thursday, Delhi minister Atishi said, "We are getting reports that the Enforcement Directorate has arrested Mr Kejriwal. His arrest is a conspiracy by the BJP and Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Since the investigation of this case began two years ago, not one rupee has been recovered by the ED or the CBI despite over 1,000 raids on AAP leaders and ministers."

"Arvind Kejriwal's arrest after the announcement of the Lok Sabha election is a conspiracy. Mr Kejriwal is not just a man, he is a thought. If you think arresting one Kejriwal can finish off the thought, you are wrong. Mr Kejriwal is, was and will remain the Delhi chief minister. We have said from the beginning that he will run the government from jail if need be. No law stops him from doing so," she said in Hindi.

NDTV

Is there any enmity between Modi and him?
Anyone who feku loses to (and Kejriwal trounced feku twice in Delhi assembly elections), becomes feku's enemy number 1. Then feku makes sure to give hell to that person.

And the feku didn't deem it fit to prosecute the likes of Sarma, Ajit Pawar, Chavan etc just because they got their corruption sins washed in sanghi washing machine.

Very stupid , Modi’s downfall has started , he just made a socialist a National leader and I was just getting hopeful.

In a seismic development in the national capital's politics just weeks ahead of the Lok Sabha election, Delhi Chief Minister and Aam Aadmi Party chief Arvind Kejriwal has been arrested by the Enforcement Directorate in the alleged liquor policy scam

Mr Kejriwal has become the first sitting chief minister to be arrested in the history of Independent India and his party has said he will continue to hold the post.

Speaking from outside the chief minister's residence on Thursday, Delhi minister Atishi said, "We are getting reports that the Enforcement Directorate has arrested Mr Kejriwal. His arrest is a conspiracy by the BJP and Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Since the investigation of this case began two years ago, not one rupee has been recovered by the ED or the CBI despite over 1,000 raids on AAP leaders and ministers."

"Arvind Kejriwal's arrest after the announcement of the Lok Sabha election is a conspiracy. Mr Kejriwal is not just a man, he is a thought. If you think arresting one Kejriwal can finish off the thought, you are wrong. Mr Kejriwal is, was and will remain the Delhi chief minister. We have said from the beginning that he will run the government from jail if need be. No law stops him from doing so," she said in Hindi.

NDTV
‘We have moved the Supreme Court for quashing the arrest of Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal, by ED. We have asked for an urgent hearing by the Supreme Court tonight itself’, claims AAP senior leader Atishi

News18

"The BJP has no other option. They (BJP) don't have faith in their party workers and people, they just want to trouble the opposition leaders through ED and CBI. But people have made up their minds that they want to remove BJP and PM Modi from being in power," says RJD leader Rishi Mishra on ED arresting Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal.

PTI

"The BJP has no other option. They (BJP) don't have faith in their party workers and people, they just want to trouble the opposition leaders through ED and CBI. But people have made up their minds that they want to remove BJP and PM Modi from being in power," says RJD leader Rishi Mishra on ED arresting Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal.

PTI
If RJD and congress stay out of this Kejriwal will get free publicity.

"Wrong, Unconstitutional": Priyanka Gandhi Vadra On Arvind Kejriwal Arrest

Congress General Secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, in a sharply-worded message, called Arvind Kejriwal's arrest this evening by the Enforcement Directorate "completely wrong and unconstitutional". The Delhi Chief Minister was taken into custody in a money laundering case linked to the alleged Delhi excise scam.

Ms Vadra is the first INDIA bloc leader to slam the arrest.

"Targeting Delhi Chief Minister Shri Arvind Kejriwal in this manner due to elections is completely wrong and unconstitutional. Lowering the level of politics in this manner suits neither the Prime Minister nor his government," she wrote on X, minutes after the arrest.

"Fight your critics in the electoral battle, confront them boldly, and of course attack their policies and working style - this is democracy. But in this way, using the power of all the institutions of the country to fulfill one's political objective and weakening them by exerting pressure is against every principle of democracy," she added.

The Congress leader listed the ways the Opposition in the country is being targetted and attacked by the BJP ahead of the crucial Lok Sabha polls.

"The bank accounts of the country's largest opposition party Congress have been frozen, all the political parties and their leaders are under pressure day and night from the ED, the CBI, and the IT, one Chief Minister has been put in jail, now preparations are being made to take another Chief Minister to jail. Such a shameful scene is being seen for the first time in the history of Independent India," she added.

Delhi Chief Minister and Aam Aadmi Party chief Arvind Kejriwal has become the first sitting Chief Minister to be arrested in the history of Independent India. His party maintained he will continue to hold the post.

The arrest has dealt a severe blow to the Opposition's mega alliance INDIA, of which the AAP is a member.

He is a vile oaf who has done irreparable damage in just 10 years ... another 5 years which is very likely & there will be chaos !!!
Our movement is much bigger than one person. He hasn't done enough damage to the termites, and has been a big disappointment, but has been doing the right things since a few months, so there is hope that he does what we expected of him in his third term.

He is a vile oaf who has done irreparable damage in just 10 years ... another 5 years which is very likely & there will be chaos !!!
Pity, actions like these only spur his bhakts to deify him even more.