[PICTURES/VIDEOS] Jasprit Bumrah is the best fast-bowler in the world right now

He needs to win a WC.

Otherwise a wonderful bowler and a likeable guy.
This one I disagree with, single handedly you cant win a world cup, he should perform exceptionally in one WC final but I am sure our batsmen will blow it.

Don't think i have ever seen a bowler who can adjust his line, length on the fly on any type of service. Even Mcgrath wasn't this perfect. The man is literally a once in a generation talent.

And like McGrath he follows the team plan, surely he would have more wickets if he didn’t.

It's a no contest. He's the best bowler in the world in all formats. He is also the smartest bowler in the world. Teams are trying to play his overs out in T20s and are still losing wickets. That's un heard of

He needs to win a WC.

Otherwise a wonderful bowler and a likeable guy.
There are number of players who are considered great without winning a WC. Malcolm Marshall, Alan Donald, Brian Lara, Waqar Younis etc did not win a WC trophy but are still considered greats of the game. Bumrah has a long way to go but if he can get to 300 Test wickets at an average under 24, he will be one of the greats of the game. India have quite a few Tests this year and I hope he plays majority of them. This is the forum which goes gaga over Asif who barely scraped to 100 Test wickets and he was not even a good white ball bowler.

Bumrahs choked in 2 finals which those guys didn't.

It's a no contest. He's the best bowler in the world in all formats. He is also the smartest bowler in the world. Teams are trying to play his overs out in T20s and are still losing wickets. That's un heard of

Let's see in the final or semis. Australia or England.

Bumrahs choked in 2 finals which those guys didn't.
Those players did very well in the finals? Except for Marshall, the others were not even good enough to play enough finals still get called greats and they had long careers. This is the same argument used against Sachin to belittle him and any Indian player who does well. Cricket is a team game and one player can make a difference but cannot win you a tournament. They can contribute towards a win but cannot win it all by themselves. It will be great if Bumrah can be part of a ICC title but I will not hold it against him if he had a great career winning us lots of games. He is a brilliant bowler and one of the best we have seen in the history of the game. How many WC finals has Waqar Younis played? Why is he called great?

Waqar didn't choke a final at home in front of 1 lakh people.

Sachin won a WC.

That is because he choked even before playing one. That is even worse than Bumrah who at least was instrumental in India getting to knockouts. The only knockout game I remember Waqar playing was against India in Bangalore (1992 wasn't in the squad injured, 1999 he did not, 2003 ah well), we all know what happened there. If Waqar can be great, Bumrah certainly can too.

Ajay Jadeja hitting him to all parts of the ground in the 96' WC QF is one to remember for ages. I was 10 years old back then and still vividly remember it.

He was excellent in the world cup final vs Aus. He can't help if batters don't score runs
This is the same strategy they used to use once to big up their beloved Inzamam against Tendulkar. The same Inzamam who has quite possibly the worst batting record of all specialist batsman who have played 5 ODI World Cups.

He was excellent in the world cup final vs Aus. He can't help if batters don't score runs
Very first ball KOhli dropped a catch in the final. Warner. In 2019 semi final in his second spell very first over MSD spilled a simple chance of Taylor.

Sachin won a WC.
Sachin choked it if not for others.Bumrah played well in both knock outs.As per u imran is also a choker till his last odi ,which is a complete ridiculous.

Yes, he is the best fast bowler in the world in current times. His impact has been all over the game.

His performance is yet to be seen in the big games like finals and semi-finals. Let's see.

Honestly for me Bumrah is the GOAT Indian cricketer, period. We have been blessed with many batting greats- Gavaskar, Tendulkar, Kohli & many spin wizards but for a country which had pretty abysmal fast bowling stocks at one point (I have lived through the Debasis Mohanty era 😂) , the emergence of somebody like Bumrah has breathed a new life in Indian cricket. There was a time when we would switch off our TVs when Tendulkar got out, now we have belief that Bumrah can turn it around even if our batting tanks (like the India- Pakistan match). Hope he inspires many other Indian kids to take up pace bowling.

What about Ambrose? Dale Steyn? Dennis Lille?

None of them are great?

He makes Indians watch bowling instead of batsman, never did I think that would happen.
In fact we watched almost the entire WC'23 for our bowlers rather than batsmen! It was a treat to watch... (Even in finals to some extent till Travis Head took off)

Bumrah is someone that I can see having a massive influence on the next generation of Indian fast-bowlers. Similar to how Abdul Qadir, Wasim Akram, Malinga inspired a generation of youngsters to such an extent that they modelled their actions after them. Similarly, I think we will see many bowlers from India in the future that will model their actions after Bumrah.

Unquestionably, the greatest fast-bowler that India has ever produced.

May be. He may even be the greatest Indian cricketer. But he won't win an ICC title due to choking nature of his teammates. That will tar his legacy.

To be fair, he has choked as well. How can you forget the unforgivable- his big no ball in the CT 17 final? Every member of this squad including Bumrah is equally responsible for choking in all final matches.

However Bumrah’s influence goes beyond a cup. Not everyone who has won a cup automatically are GOATs, similarly not everyone who has not won a cup can be dismissed simply because they haven’t won a cup.

To be fair, he has choked as well. How can you forget the unforgivable- his big no ball in the CT 17 final? Every member of this squad including Bumrah is equally responsible for choking in all final matches.

However Bumrah’s influence goes beyond a cup. Not everyone who has won a cup automatically are GOATs, similarly not everyone who has not won a cup can be dismissed simply because they haven’t won a cup.

To be fair he bowled a very good spell in WC 23 finals. He was breathing fire till he went out of attack and his team mates bottled it from there. Moreover the batsmen should have given him at least 35-40 runs more.

Also Indian superstars could not chase a moderate total he restricted NZ to, in 19 Semifinals.

I would give him benifit of doubt for 2017 and 2016 T20 world cup, he was fairly new and inexperienced then.

Also to be called a GOAT you must have a big trophy. That is just my opinion.

He is clearly the best in world cricket currently. When he is bowling, you can see the gulf in class between him and other international bowlers. He has an aura, very disciplined and smart, unlike our dumb and overrated third-class pacers.

Bumrah makes opposition batsmen incompetent and lolworthy. That's the man's class.

He (along with Kuldeep and Siraj in tests) has made sure Indian fans longing to see Indian bowling more than Indian batting, something unheard of not so long ago.

Honestly so impressed with him.Sends down so many overs still doesnt encounter fatigue easily like snowflake bowlers from Eng,Aus.Very smart with his change of pace and Yorker specialist which many bowlers have forgotten about.Also plays all 3 formats and is equally good in them.I will say he is better than Aussie, English, Pakistani bowlers and at par with RabadaJust because he is Indian he goes under the radar.
Thoughts
With a doubt, he's the best fast bowler in the world right now.

If Bumrah can get 300 or more test wickets at a good avg say early 20s he can be considered one of the best ever in the game.

Bro, I think Tom Moody has 1 WC, the 1999 WC. I just checked he wasn't in the 87' and 03' Australian WC sides. Or am I wrong?
He Played the game against India but was dropped later on, still was in squad.

Bumrah has that McGrath like consistency of hitting the line and length and moving the ball both ways from the same spot.

But what's interesting that he has developed that 90s 2Ws like knack of bowling a magical delivery and picking a wicket at crucial time.

5 more years of the same and Bumrah will be counted among the greats.

2011 world cup was an ode to Sachin, hopefully we win a world cup for Bumrah before he retires bcoz he is the only one in the current team who deserves it. Apart from his injuries and occasional off days he has consistency produced the goods.
Bumrah's impact to India has always been better than anybody else while being quiet and humble about it.

Can go down as the best pace bowler in the current era taking over the mantle from Dale Steyn.
In the GOAT list - NO, but can come into the top 20 if he continues like this especially in test cricket for another 6 years.

2011 world cup was an ode to Sachin, hopefully we win a world cup for Bumrah before he retires bcoz he is the only one in the current team who deserves it. Apart from his injuries and occasional off days he has consistency produced the goods.
Bumrah's impact to India has always been better than anybody else while being quiet and humble about it.

Can go down as the best pace bowler in the current era taking over the mantle from Dale Steyn.
In the GOAT list - NO, but can come into the top 20 if he continues like this especially in test cricket for another 6 years.
'We win a world cup for Bumrah'? I thot Bumrah is the one playing, representing the country and he is supposed to win for us, as he's being paid handsomely for that. None of us stopped him from winning it against Australia 6 months back, or winning against England in semis in aus 18 months back. Ye sahi hai, our players can't deliver in crunch situations so we should win the world cup for them because we are such gullible fools.

Over the next 12 months, Bumrah could potentially feature in as many as 16 tests, besides IPL and other bilaterals.

Could completely soil the bed with fatigue or injury or affirm himself among the greatest.

Bumrah is a great bowler with pinpoint accuracy and deadly yorkers. He is still to prove himself in big games. He seems to be an under-achievers when it comes to knock-out stage games.

Still rate him as the best bowler in the world atm.

'We win a world cup for Bumrah'? I thot Bumrah is the one playing, representing the country and he is supposed to win for us, as he's being paid handsomely for that. None of us stopped him from winning it against Australia 6 months back, or winning against England in semis in aus 18 months back. Ye sahi hai, our players can't deliver in crunch situations so we should win the world cup for them because we are such gullible fools.
What i meant was Bumrah is doing his part, what about the others? Against teams like Australia, one person alone cannot drag an entire team, Bumrah was still our best bowler that final. It was the batsman who screwed it up. We were 40 runs short of par but still Bumrah gave us a chance with his initial spell. The rest of the bowlers did not turn up.

Siraj was trash. Should have been dropped.
Also spinners were bad. Hardik sintbplay. As much as he gets hate he would have helped india cause he can pick wickets and can bat.

Bumrah is a great bowler with pinpoint accuracy and deadly yorkers. He is still to prove himself in big games. He seems to be an under-achievers when it comes to knock-out stage games.

Still rate him as the best bowler in the world atm.
Whole Indian team is under achieving on this metric.

CT Final 2017 is Exhibit No. 1. Bumrah had an off day, bowled that no ball and rest is history.
No-ball or not. Well we cannot take credit away from the way Fakhar batted. He was not lucky that day. He was just brilliant. He ensured that Bumrah had a bad day. And that spell from Amir. Exposed Indias weakness against quality left arm swing.
It was not Bumrah having an off day, it was Pakistan having an "on" day which is rare.

Bumrah produced another superb bowling spell in this T20 World Cup as he conceded only 13 runs in his 4 overs and took 2 wickets against Bangladesh.

This guy is the goat of indian fast bowlers. In my view in the top 10 pace bowlers of all time

This guy is unhittable. No one seems to be reading him. Even in 19th over of BD innings, they were giving him utmost respect and were trying to preserve their wicket.

This guy is the goat of indian fast bowlers. In my view in the top 10 pace bowlers of all time
Way to go for that but he has bowled more match changing test spells away from home agaisnt strong teams in his short career than many great pacers have done in their entire career.

It's extrmely rare to have a bowler who is top tier in all formats.

He the greatest bower of all time even the greats of previous errors got hit every now and then but Bumrah has never been carted around in his entire career. I have never seen this guy have an off game the undisputed great and will win India multiple World Cups including this one too

Ridiculously good and the GOAT for a reason. I don’t care what anyone says he’s up there with wasim Akram, stun and Glenn McGrath as the greatest and will retire surpassing these legends as the undisputed greatest

The only way to bring him down right now is to say he hasn't won a world cup. :unsure:

Bumrah has bowled very well in tournaments. That counts a lot more because his performance is within his control. Winning tournament is 11 players and not him.

Marshall is seen as the best pacer with no WC. If Bumrah can bowl some more match changng spells in den of strong teams in test format, he will go down in same tier as Marshal, Steyn etc.... In shorter formats, he would comfortably make into the top 5, but greatness is away tours in test format.

Bumrah’s reputation now precedes him. Nobody remotely attempts to put away even the full tosses he bowls - happened to Pakistan previously & also to Bangladesh today. His real test will be against Head & Dekock. Let’s see how he bowls then.

Over the next 12 months, Bumrah could potentially feature in as many as 16 tests, besides IPL and other bilaterals.

Could completely soil the bed with fatigue or injury or affirm himself among the greatest.

Will be rested during the BD and Zim series

So if one player played very well in an important match while others failed, so we should win a world cup for him. There are literally 10s of great players from Lara to Kallis to Donald to AbD, all of whom were three times more dominant than Bumrah is and contributed twice as much to their country's cricket and to the world cricket than Bumrah did, who didn't win the world cup, yet your point is that 30 yrs old Bumrah who famously goes missing in big games, deserves a wc more than those legends. So much so that his team be damned, let's win it for him. Wah!

He makes Indians watch bowling instead of batsman, never did I think that would happen.
That is the real impact of Bumrah.
Sachin had a similar impact for batting in India.
For the first time, people would tune in to see him bat and be less intrested when somebody else is bowling.

Starc and Cummins are both ahead of Bumrah.

World Cup - 2015 and 2023
T20 World Cup - 2021
World Test Championship - 2022
Well they are not better bowlers, they are better bullies.
That's what gives Australians their self confidence, they are basically bullies who live in a culture that supports it .
It is difficult for Asians to be bullies, there are exceptions like Kohli, but mostly all act as Acha beta.
This acha beta complex is found in guys like Bumrah who would work harder at his craft than anyone else but never have that killer instinct that comes from being a bully.

So if one player played very well in an important match while others failed, so we should win a world cup for him. There are literally 10s of great players from Lara to Kallis to Donald to AbD, all of whom were three times more dominant than Bumrah is and contributed twice as much to their country's cricket and to the world cricket than Bumrah did, who didn't win the world cup, yet your point is that 30 yrs old Bumrah who famously goes missing in big games, deserves a wc more than those legends. So much so that his team be damned, let's win it for him. Wah
Bumrah's reputation going missing in big games comes from the CT debacle. It isn't that he has bowled badly following that, it is the rest of team has let him down. Apart from the batsman failing, there were crucial catches dropped of his bowling in those knockout games. I dont care about players from other teams, their fans and management need to figure out why they couldnt win the world cup. Its simple, Bumrah's contribution to India becoming a tier 1 team is immense and arguably more than anybody else. I could only look at it from an Indian perspective. India may never produce a bowler like him again.

I have never seen a fast bowler this complete. Even his harshest critics have to quote "India's" lack of trophies rather than any weakness or flaws he as a player might have. Says a lot.

The only missing piece in Bumrah's career is a world-class performance in big matches. Finals and semi-finals come and Bumrah goes missing.