[PICTURES/VIDEOS] To those who think the India-Pakistan rivalry is dead...

To be honest india vs pakistan rivalry is over in 2015 world cup, afterwards most of the matches are 1 sided and pakistan is not a match for india currently.
And yet, it's a blockbuster event, marketing-person's dream come true, provides huge revenues to every one.

Right, it is not a cricketing rivalry. Just an extension of the historical issues playing out in a stadium. About time indians focus on true sporting rivalries than this pseudo cricket rivalry. Didn't watch a single ball of the match. Was preparing for my half marathon the very next day.
:ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: Is that why you were posting non stop in the match thread even until 2 wickets of India were dismissed?

"Dead" is a strong word but it's definitely on a downward spiral. And it's spiralling fast proportionally to the quality and skillset of the Pakistani team.

Yes, people will still fill up the stadiums and watch the games on TV because of the scarcity of this fixture these days but there's no longer the sheer euphoria that we used to have ala Mohali 2011 or Adelaide 2015.

Former India opener batter while speaking about India Pakistan rivalry, he said:

"Pakistan has dominated India a lot of times. Currently, if you see the level of both teams, India is far superior to Pakistan in all three formats. If Pakistan defeats India it's an upset, if India defeats Pakistan, it's very much given."

"India and Australia, from a cricketing point of view, is a top rivalry. If you ask a cricket fan what is the actual rivalry, they will also say India and Australia."

There is no rivalry any more, future generations of Pakistan supporters will find other sports to follow. Cricket craze was a colonial hangover and ufortunately the biggest players have shot themselves in the foot by licking colonial tush.

IT is a hollow rivalry now. I don't see onfield exchanges, stares, glares, aggression anything of that sort. This Pakistan team is meek. Kohli who is normally aggressive against ENgland/OZ is quiet meek against Pakistan/NZ. They try to be extra nice to each other instead. Miandad-More, Sohail-Prasad, Gambhir-Arfidi we don't see that anymore. Viewership cannot be used to show "rivalry" exists. Indian viewership is going to be there for any match. India vs zimbabwe dead rubber match at the mCG was attended by 87000 Indians. When India meets pakistan Indian population and Pakistan population combine. Hence the numbers. Also neutrals always have a fascination about INdia vs Pak match much like some of us are interested in Australia vs England rivalry. Nowadays i watch SL vs BD without fail :)

Former India opener batter while speaking about India Pakistan rivalry, he said:

"Pakistan has dominated India a lot of times. Currently, if you see the level of both teams, India is far superior to Pakistan in all three formats. If Pakistan defeats India it's an upset, if India defeats Pakistan, it's very much given."

"India and Australia, from a cricketing point of view, is a top rivalry. If you ask a cricket fan what is the actual rivalry, they will also say India and Australia."
Which batter?

Pakistan had such an enthusiastic cricket audience it seems absurd that it has been sidelined so aggressively by the ICC due to the clout of the Indian vote. I don't blame the Australians or the English for this outcome, it's a political play. Eventually it will kill the game as an international sport, and we will see non-flag T20 leagues prosper as a result.

IT is a hollow rivalry now. I don't see onfield exchanges, stares, glares, aggression anything of that sort. This Pakistan team is meek. Kohli who is normally aggressive against ENgland/OZ is quiet meek against Pakistan/NZ. They try to be extra nice to each other instead. Miandad-More, Sohail-Prasad, Gambhir-Arfidi we don't see that anymore. Viewership cannot be used to show "rivalry" exists. Indian viewership is going to be there for any match. India vs zimbabwe dead rubber match at the mCG was attended by 87000 Indians. When India meets pakistan Indian population and Pakistan population combine. Hence the numbers. Also neutrals always have a fascination about INdia vs Pak match much like some of us are interested in Australia vs England rivalry. Nowadays i watch SL vs BD without fail :)

SL vs BD is possibly the feistiest battle currently. LOL. They didn't even shake hands last World Cup.

As a neutral, I always enjoy Pakistan vs India and The Ashes. I also enjoy India vs Australia. I think these 3 are the top battles in cricket.

We hear all that stuff about India Pakistan rivalry losing importance. But recently, the Indian media has gone berserk about the India Pakistan clash on 9th of June this year in the Caribbean. Surely this rivalry is 100 times more stronger than the cricketing rivalry between Australia and England and therefore this immense response.

I want Pakistani players to sledge during the game to put pressure on India and distract them.

Been dead for past 2 decades most games have been one sided beat down ditched out by India

What are your thoughts on this?

huxJovp.png

Unusual T20 cricket world cup timings impact TV viewership

he ongoing ICC T20 Men's World Cup has seen an 8% drop in TV ratings for the first 30 matches, compared to 2022, due to reduced time spent - influenced by odd timings for non-India matches - despite a 4% rise in cumulative audience reach to 205 million.

As per Broadcast Audience Research Council (BARC) data, the average ratings for the T20 World Cup have dropped 8% to 0.97 TVR for all-India male and female 2+ audiences and 13% to 1.2 TVR for all-India male 15+ audiences. TVR or TV rating is a combination of time spent and reach. The June 9 match between arch-rivals India and Pakistan garnered 3.89 TVR and 4.81 TVR for all-India MF 2+ and M 15+ audiences, respectively. Experts point out that the India-Pakistan game's TV rating is among the lowest for the matches between the two arch-rivals since 2019.

While the cumulative reach for 2+ audiences has gone up, it has declined 2% to 86 million for male 15+ audiences.

Advertisers target males aged 15+ as they are the core cricket audience base.As per BARC data, the average free commercial time (FCT) consumption across the Disney Star network is upwards of 1,300 seconds. On Star Sports 1 Hindi, which is one of the key channels of monetisation, the average FCT per match is over 1,400 seconds.A total of 51 advertisers are advertising during the tournament.Media buyers say that the broadcaster has so far raked in ad revenue worth '900-1,000 crore across TV and digital.

"The T20 World Cup got impacted due to the IPL and general elections. The T20 World Cup is happening after the IPL, which sucked out a lot of money from the market," said the CEO of a media buying agency, on condition of anonymity.

EssenceMediacom South Asia CEO Navin Khemka said the TV ratings for the tournament have taken a hit due to the unfavourable timing of most of the matches, barring the India games. The India matches are broadcast in prime time for the Indian audience, while non-India matches are aired in the early morning, he added.

Pakistani players have been getting a bit too cozy with their Indian counterparts lately. What we really need is for Pakistan to clinch a crucial ICC match and unleash some serious post-match aggression with wild celebrations.

That'll surely rile up the Indians and reignite the rivalry with a bang! (Just in case it was losing its spark or something.)

Pakistani players have been getting a bit too cozy with their Indian counterparts lately. What we really need is for Pakistan to clinch a crucial ICC match and unleash some serious post-match aggression with wild celebrations.

That'll surely rile up the Indians and reignite the rivalry with a bang! (Just in case it was losing its spark or something.)
It's lost somewhere now. And also for that we need to win a match against them first.

God Bless Ajay Devgan Cricket Board.

We will get the champions match every year thanks to him.
And we'll stop watching in 2034 when babar and Rizwan is in this squad by then 🤣🤣.

Sorry but why is every social media account especially from Pakistan propping up this legends tournament like it’s some Olympics? Till yesterday I had no idea that something like this was going on lol.
Yeah if India had won this series then this championship would have even announced as bigger than the FIFA World Cup. :ROFLMAO:

Ok. However India did win the WT20 which is the equivalent of FIFA WC for cricket fans. You are laughing at something that might happen instead of missing the comedy right in front of you. As usual wrong priorities :ROFLMAO:

I watched highlights of few matched, Pakistan has played a very strong side.
Sharjeel, Akmal, Maqsood, Malik are still quite good and are out batting every other team.

Indian players how retired are just too fat and lazy now. They been splurging the money from their playing days on beer and food.

Matches are fun but quality of bowling is extremely poor.

I watched highlights of few matched, Pakistan has played a very strong side.
Sharjeel, Akmal, Maqsood, Malik are still quite good and are out batting every other team.

Indian players how retired are just too fat and lazy now. They been splurging the money from their playing days on beer and food.

Matches are fun but quality of bowling is extremely poor.
And India still won 🤣🤣

It is still big but it has definitely subsided compared to how much hype there was earlier. I still remember Mohali 2011. Everyone knew something was on

This rivalry will always remain given the history between the two countries, even more so between the fans. “Chalo India ko to haraya kam se kam, Cup nahi jeetay to kya hua” (and vice versa) and that actually makes them feel better.
Given the hype provided by not just Indian and Pakistani but other fans too, the number of eyeballs on these games can’t be surpassed.
Fans’ self esteem is often tied to the results of these matches.

No it has not subsides
It's still big but i feel not as much as it was during 90s. Everyone was glued to their screens then. My parents used to watch India pakistan matches everytime it happened. Now only world cup matches are watched - asia cups are ignored. Of course this is purely anecdotal - I am willing to change my views if there is so objective proof regarding the popularity of the rivalry

Needs Pakistan to win a big game like 2021 T20 WC game to revive the hype

Now its has really lost its former hype. When this 2024 T20 WC game was on - most Indians were busy watching Modi govt formation ceremony. Even the news channels did very little coverage. Even Modi did not to bother to wish the team after the win !

Needs Pakistan to win a big game like 2021 T20 WC game to revive the hype

Now its has really lost its former hype. When this 2024 T20 WC game was on - most Indians were busy watching Modi govt formation ceremony. Even the news channels did very little coverage. Even Modi did not to bother to wish the team after the win !
Compare to congratulations from parliament after QF win in 96 world cup! :ROFLMAO:

Indo-Pak rivalry can never die. The intensity might have gone a bit lower but it can not die. Since cricket started for these nations, rivalry existed and till cricket dies, the rivalry is here to stay.

Its practically dead in Hockey bhai, India is unbeaten against Pakistan in hockey for the last 8 years in a total of 16 games.
One cannot remain so complacent in cricket.

Its practically dead in Hockey bhai, India is unbeaten against Pakistan in hockey for the last 8 years in a total of 16 games.
One cannot remain so complacent in cricket.
We are talking about cricket only. Hockey is not watched and followed by almost 99% people. INdia vs Pakistan is still the biggest game whenever it comes.

The trajectories are similar. I like to observe trends. Pakistani cricket has higher inertia than hockey of course.
Other teams are catching up in T20 cricket which is the future. Look at Pakistan's record this year.
A genuine Pakistan cricket fan should be worried that their can be lower lows incoming.

and point: India Pakistan match was not the biggest game in ODI world cup nor was it the biggest game in T20 World Cup.

The only way rivalry can be revived is if Pakistan beats us in a proper ODI match in CT, t20s are very volatile and a win in that format is hardly remembered.

There is definitely still a little bit of a bite to India-Pakistan games. The rarity value (we only play once a year on average) has also helped in maintaining the spice.

But it's gone more than a "bit lower." I hope you don't but you'll have to beat us more than once every 3-4 years to make it interesting again. Even professional the professional doom-mongers who infest every India match discussion with moans about our selections, players, attitudes etc. find it difficult to work up much tension about the game any more.

As long as political tension between the 2 nations exist, the rivalry will never die down

There is way too much baggage in the relationship for cricketing/hockey/kabbadi/ xyz sports rivalry to wither away.

Personally CT17 rankles more than WC'23, a SSA wicket and a Fakhar 6 is more painful than Starc and Head antics

Saeed Ajmal said, while speaking at the launch of the High School Cricket Cup, which will take place in Sharjah and Ajman:

"Even if the India versus Pakistan match happens on the moon, it will be huge. There is a lot of love between India and Pakistan and we must go to each other's countries."

"I like Virat Kohli, Joe Root, Babar Azam, and Rohit Sharma, they are good players."

"Bumrah is very intelligent bowler and intelligence is required with speed."