PM Modi set to review Indus Waters Treaty

Lonewarrior

First Class Star
Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi will review the Indus Waters Treaty (IWT) today (Monday), days after he threatened Pakistan with a global ‘isolation’ in the aftermath of Uri terrorist attack, The Hindu reported.

“It is only a meeting to assess the Indus Waters Treaty. The Prime Minister will discuss the pros and cons of turning off the tap to Pakistan,” a senior government official said.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/1188627/modi-set-review-indus-waters-treaty-weigh-diplomatic-response-pakistan/

Good.
I think no boday told him that stopping water to any country is an Act of War.

Master.jpg

The treaty has with stood 3 wars and will with stand this cold war as well

And it aint out of fear of Pakistan, but because India leaves it self exposed to similar action from China, which interestingly hasnt signed any water treaties.

Again all hot air.

Nothing is going to happen because there are always consequences and *** for tat actions when taking such drastic actions.

Its just more of a warning shot but with no ammunition.

Again all hot air.

Nothing is going to happen because there are always consequences and *** for tat actions when taking such drastic actions.

Its just more of a warning shot but with no ammunition.

Though to be fair, Pakistan can do nothing in this case, other than taking it to Intl Tribunal and winning it. But on a bilateral basis, zilch. But the joker in the pack is China to Pakistan's rescue.

Modi Govt acting hard to prove to the Indian nation that his Govt is doing something.

Nothing will happen. Just give it a couple more weeks. People will forget Uri just like Mumbai attacks.

Very big moh ka fire this guy.

Though to be fair, Pakistan can do nothing in this case, other than taking it to Intl Tribunal and winning it. But on a bilateral basis, zilch. But the joker in the pack is China to Pakistan's rescue.

Good luck "closing the tap" on 3 huge rivers. Go build dams on them for the next 20-30 years and then threaten us with stopping our water.

Modi probably thinks he will fence the river and the water will stop :)))

Ain't gonna happen, as world bank was the third party involved and has official involvement in this treaty. Moreover, abrogating the treaty will mean facing severe backlash from world and obviously from world bank.

Exactly as you said because the Indus River passes from China, right ?

So like I said for every drastic action like this there will always be a reaction if the other side has enough power. I do believe Pakistan can but if not then it could be China as it obviously affects them.

All I sense is the goalposts keep changing from milltary action to trying or selling the headline that Pakistan will be isolated and now that goal can not be achieved we are talking about shutting water when it's not a realistic proposal at all.

The only realistic proposal I have seen is to ban Pak artists which will achieve nothing other than headline grabbing and soothing some egos for the extremists.

So like I said for every drastic action like this there will always be a reaction if the other side has enough power. I do believe Pakistan can but if not then it could be China as it obviously affects them.

All I sense is the goalposts keep changing from milltary action to trying or selling the headline that Pakistan will be isolated and now that goal can not be achieved we are talking about shutting water when it's not a realistic proposal at all.

The only realistic proposal I have seen is to ban Pak artists which will achieve nothing other than headline grabbing and soothing some egos for the extremists.

More than Indus originating in China, issue is Brahmaputra originating in the Tibetan plateau and China is already building dams on those and causing long term issues for India.

Plus reneging on an Intl. treaty is only gonna make India look bad and Pakistan a victim- which no GOI of any hue will be stupid enough to d0, even though they may mull over it.

Lastly is the more practical issue, what do you do with the water if you stop it- it has to go somewhere? Flood J&K??

Day 1: Attack Pak.
Day 2: We are scared to attack, so isolate Pak globally.
Day 3: Isolation requests rejected even by close allies like Russia and Iran, so kick Pakistani artists out.
Day 4: Indian fans dont want Pakistani artists out, so we wont play cricket.
Day 5: We are already not playing cricket with Pak, so lets stop water.
Day 6: but then China will stop our water too.
……..
keep making your country look like a joke Modi.

More than Indus originating in China, issue is Brahmaputra originating in the Tibetan plateau and China is already building dams on those and causing long term issues for India.

Plus reneging on an Intl. treaty is only gonna make India look bad and Pakistan a victim- which no GOI of any hue will be stupid enough to d0, even though they may mull over it.

Lastly is the more practical issue, what do you do with the water if you stop it- it has to go somewhere? Flood J&K??

Chinese are smart. They know they can own India by controlling Brahmaputra water. So they declared Tibet as part of China. They want India to spend all its budget in controlling its borders and on weapons while ignoring its infrastructure issues.

Pakistan is not India's enemy. It is China.

Pakistan is only a tool China uses to troll India. They are smart and they are exploiting the rivalry between India and China.

China aspires to dominate Asia and world. They do not want a prospering India so close to them who has the potential to challenge their might. They will do anything to harm India's interests.

Now, USA wants someone to stand up to China in Asia. Hence their love for India. So they are going to turn a blind eye to Kashmir conflict. If USA supports India, so does its allies in Europe.

Global politics is ****. There are no friends. Its all about convenience.

He's just seeking attention, kind of like the whiny kid who threatens to stop the game by taking the ball away

Maybe the Indian public will grow weary of these sideshows and vote in a different govt next time round that can concentrate on actual policy rather than media soundbites.

The options are mediocre.

Congress and AAP.

Congress has been literally decimated now. Hard to see them win the elections. AAP is too new. Kejriwal is just a drama artist.

My guess is BJP will win. But not with a majority. They will have to form an alliance Govt.

All this war mongering from India and Modi when the poor populations of both nations can't afford to put food on the table.

Just give us Kashmir already and end this meaningless animosity.

The only one who will get screwed by china blocking the water will be Bangladesh.

Wrong! look it up. the source of indus water is under India's control . The source of Brahmaputra can be manipulated by china and the country most affected by that would be bangladesh

Meray dost, Indus is one of the biggest rivers in the world. How does India plan on "controlling" it? It is not a small naddi that India will just divert it towards it area. You need massive massive dam structures to stop and control the amount of water that is flowing through it.

As of today India is not allowed to build storage dams on the river, which means if today you plan on "controlling" it won't be 20-30 years from now when you can actually implement said plan.

Sometimes it is actually beneficial to take a step back and think rationally rather than mindless chest thumping.

all rivers are coming from China. for more info use Google.

Meray dost, Indus is one of the biggest rivers in the world. How does India plan on "controlling" it? It is not a small naddi that India will just divert it towards it area. You need massive massive dam structures to stop and control the amount of water that is flowing through it.

As of today India is not allowed to build storage dams on the river, which means if today you plan on "controlling" it won't be 20-30 years from now when you can actually implement said plan.

Sometimes it is actually beneficial to take a step back and think rationally rather than mindless chest thumping.

forget 20 or 30 years, the time India started to build Dams on Indus river, it will violet the IWT, and it will be an Act of war.

Yea yea.You want a war with India.Already today the decision has been taken to divert water from Indus to the western rivers.Pakistan can do jack about it,unless it wants to have a war with an army 2.5times its size.Pakistan can do nothing in terms of overt military terms.

here comes the saviour of Indian ppers :))
jack ? like modi cant do jack ? ok
munnay, we wont do war with you. but you will do in near future. thats for sure.

Baatien suno inki, India has decided to divert Indus's water. Jaisay yeh darya inkay baap ki jageer hai :)))

I was waiting for him to show up. :)) You can sense the extreme hatred and frustration through every post he makes.

You will see.The announcement has been made.Do something about it.But you cannot.

Baatien suno inki, India has decided to divert Indus's water. Jaisay yeh darya inkay baap ki jageer hai :)))

Kuch kar lo na tab.Kuch nahi kar sakte.Chilla lo.What can Pakistan do??Make War?Try it?Go to ICJ?Go ahead.There is nothing Pakistan can do as India diverts Indus Water.Absolutely Nothing.

I was waiting for him to show up. :)) You can sense the extreme hatred and frustration through every post he makes.

Frustration of being a citizen of the fastest growing economy in the world.Okay if you so.

40 thousand Indian Army officers applied for leave/vacation when the war mongering broke out. So much for 2.5 times larger army :)))

Kuch kar lo na tab.Kuch nahi kar sakte.Chilla lo.What can Pakistan do??Make War?Try it?Go to ICJ?Go ahead.There is nothing Pakistan can do as India diverts Indus Water.Absolutely Nothing.

Bhai chilla tou ap log rahay hain and Pakistan is following doctrine of "barking dogs seldom bite", it seems to be paying off at the moment. Modi and his BJP lulloos seem to be getting desperate with each passing day.

40 thousand Indian Army officers applied for leave/vacation when the war mongering broke out. So much for 2.5 times larger army :)))

I know at least 2 of them who applied for a leave grudgingly to attend my marriage due in a couple of months. Family of patriots!

Bhai chilla tou ap log rahay hain and Pakistan is following doctrine of "barking dogs seldom bite", it seems to be paying off at the moment. Modi and his BJP lulloos seem to be getting desperate with each passing day.

Already we have announced diversion of water.And total scrapping of the treaty hasnt been ruled out as well.

We know who are the dogs who have been barking for KAshmir for 70 years.

Already we have announced diversion of water.And total scrapping of the treaty hasnt been ruled out as well.

We know who are the dogs who have been barking for KAshmir for 70 years.

Ok we will see when something actually happens on the ground.

Dukan pakoron ki baatien caroron ki :)))

These joshilay parosi are hilarious.

India will unilaterally dissolve a World Bank sponsored treaty when it owes WB $73 billion as off Jan 2016, and we are the ones that are barking. :srt

For some people ignorance truly is bliss.

Need to have an all out war to decide which country's children have most jazba for the nation.

CtJYIJ8WAAEA_GX.jpg

This is the reality of India-Pakistan while political and religious leaders from both sides bark about war.

Disgraceful poverty levels in subcontinent.

Stopping water supply to Pakistan will do any good to India? If you think it's true then you're a dumbest ignorant and the fool patriotic of India and a real threat to India.

India will unilaterally dissolve a World Bank sponsored treaty when it owes WB $73 billion as off Jan 2016, and we are the ones that are barking. :srt

For some people ignorance truly is bliss.

World Bank sponsored treaty?WB was just the broker.

You guys have no idea.LOL.

The UN mediated the 1948 ceasefire,didnt stop 65,71 or 99.LOL.

Stopping water supply to Pakistan will do any good to India? If you think it's true then you're a dumbest ignorant and the fool patriotic of India and a real threat to India.

Its a reaction to Pakistan supporting terrorism in India.

World Bank sponsored treaty?WB was just the broker.

You guys have no idea.LOL.

The UN mediated the 1948 ceasefire,didnt stop 65,71 or 99.LOL.

Ok good luck breaking an international treaty.

Yeh koi gully mohallay ka pinky promise thori hai lol

I'm done here, can't shed anymore IQ points dealing with folks like you.

Dukan pakoron ki baatien caroron ki :)))

These joshilay parosi are hilarious.

Yea tell that to your freinds.

Economy of 240bn dependent on IMF bailouts and talking about a 2.4tn economy which the fastest growing in the world.

Ok good luck breaking an international treaty.

Yeh koi gully mohallay ka pinky promise thori hai lol

I'm done here, can't shed anymore IQ points dealing with folks like you.

Pakistan can break UN mediated ceasefire agreement.Tashkent Agreement,Shimla Agreement,Lahore Agreement,almost every international agreement regarding terrorism and we cant break even one.

LOL.You have no idea.

Yea tell that to your freinds.

Economy of 240bn dependent on IMF bailouts and talking about a 2.4tn economy which the fastest growing in the world.

21.25% of Indians live on less than $1.9 per day, this is equal to about 250 million (MORE THAN THE ENTIRE POPULATION OF PAKISTAN). The same percentage is 8.3% in Pakistan, meaning about 16 million people.

You can take your 2.4 trillion economy and be happy with it, we are happy with having less number of bhookay nangay, and incase you are unable to comprehend the numbers, here is the link of the WORLD BANK website where I got them from.

http://data.worldbank.org/topic/poverty?locations=IN-PK

The numbers become even worse for India if the parameter is changed to $3 per day.

The world's fastest economy isn't growing fast enough for these 250 million people.

21.25% of Indians live on less than $1.9 per day, this is equal to about 250 million (MORE THAN THE ENTIRE POPULATION OF PAKISTAN). The same percentage is 8.3% in Pakistan, meaning about 16 million people.

You can take your 2.4 trillion economy and be happy with it, we are happy with having less number of bhookay nangay, and incase you are unable to comprehend the numbers, here is the link of the WORLD BANK website where I got them from.

http://data.worldbank.org/topic/poverty?locations=IN-PK

The numbers become even worse for India if the parameter is changed to $3 per day.

The world's fastest economy isn't growing fast enough for these 250 million people.

Show me the data when Pakistan actually conducts a census which it hasnot done for 20 years.

And by doing this he can avert attacks on the occupying usurpers in Kashmir? if anything it can only produce more mujaheddin, more attacks and increase the chances of an all out war. Then why not war straightaway?

Koe had hoti hai stupidity ki bhi

Congratulations for being so ignorant that you dismiss a World Bank study. :14:

World bank can only use data that is available.In case of Pakistan that is from 1998.No census in Pakistan since then.Talking about Ignorance..LOL.

And by doing this he can avert attacks on the occupying usurpers in Kashmir? if anything it can only produce more mujaheddin, more attacks and increase the chances of an all out war. Then why not war straightaway?

Koe had hoti hai stupidity ki bhi

And by attacking Indians Pakistan believes it can get Kashmir?It can scare a country many times its size?It can undermine an economy 10 times its size.Rout an army 2.5 times ts size.If anything it will only harden the resolve of India and will mean a stronger army and lower threshold and further chances of all out war.Then why not war striaghtaway.

Koi hadh hoti hai stupidity ki bhi

Day 1: Attack Pak.
Day 2: We are scared to attack, so isolate Pak globally.
Day 3: Isolation requests rejected even by close allies like Russia and Iran, so kick Pakistani artists out.
Day 4: Indian fans dont want Pakistani artists out, so we wont play cricket.
Day 5: We are already not playing cricket with Pak, so lets stop water.
Day 6: but then China will stop our water too.
……..
keep making your country look like a joke Modi.

Honestly, Indians used to be better than this.

You will see.The announcement has been made.Do something about it.But you cannot.

when the time comes, we will deal with it.
unlike your PM, we wont waste time in WAR ROOM for 48 hours and doing jack.
we dont show our cards, we know how to play games with Chanakya mindset.
and i said before, you will start the war first, not us.

And by attacking Indians Pakistan believes it can get Kashmir?It can scare a country many times its size?It can undermine an economy 10 times its size.Rout an army 2.5 times ts size.If anything it will only harden the resolve of India and will mean a stronger army and lower threshold and further chances of all out war.Then why not war striaghtaway.

Koi hadh hoti hai stupidity ki bhi

Irrelevant!

India would in fact itself declare war because If they actually manage to stop water despite international backlash still it won't have any effect on Kashmiris and mujaheddin. So, the purpose is still unfinished. What next surgical strikes?

Similarly if we are already dying of thirst what is the harm in taking few millions Indians with us?

Show me the evidence ??

Is the water going to be diverted to flood Bangladesh or Kashmir ?? Have the dams built to accomdate all this water ??

I don't want hogwash either, show me a credible news article that such a decision has been made.

Irrelevant!

India would in fact itself declare war because If they actually manage to stop water despite international backlash still it won't have any effect on Kashmiris and mujaheddin. So, the purpose is still unfinished. What next surgical strikes?

Similarly if we are already dying of thirst what is the harm in taking few millions Indians with us?

International Backlash?What BAcklash??Another imagination just like the one on KAshmir?

It is well known who funds,equips and trains the terrorists in Kashmir and this will effect them.

Show me the evidence ??

Is the water going to be diverted to flood Bangladesh or Kashmir ?? Have the dams built to accomdate all this water ??

I don't want hogwash either, show me a credible news article that such a decision has been made.

Look up any Indian media report from today.The water will be diverted to eastern rivers where we already have dams.Plus construction of 3 more dams have been expidited.And India will start greater use of the western rivers.All in the news.

when the time comes, we will deal with it.
unlike your PM, we wont waste time in WAR ROOM for 48 hours and doing jack.
we dont show our cards, we know how to play games with Chanakya mindset.
and i said before, you will start the war first, not us.

You dont have any cards.Rhetoric will get you only as far as the last wars did.

Don't want to get in useless keyboard war. We all know nothing will happen. India can't do anything except fooling their own people.

You dont have any cards.Rhetoric will get you only as far as the last wars did.

as if our establishment told this to modi. lol.
and rhetoric is one of the "norm" of modi, with his rhetoric of 56 inch chest he made 1.2 billion people stupid like you.
now after spending 48 hours in WAR ROOM. he comes to the idea of face saving by violating IWT.
Go ahead plz.

Look up any Indian media report from today.The water will be diverted to eastern rivers where we already have dams.Plus construction of 3 more dams have been expidited.And India will start greater use of the western rivers.All in the news.

No I don't have time to start googling on Indian media sources which can be dubious propaganda like we have been seeing for the past few weeks.

That's why I asked if you have a credible article on this decision then I will happily read it. But looks like your are blowing the same hot air.

Speculation as we know is not evidence. And the water can not be turned off like a tap without having the necessary structures in place to divert all the water.

Need to have an all out war to decide which country's children have most jazba for the nation.

CtJYIJ8WAAEA_GX.jpg
Very heart-tugging.Should I now post pictures of the slain Indian soldiers?
Indian armymen are not fodder.
Something needs to be done to avenge the deaths of Indian army men.

International Backlash?What BAcklash??Another imagination just like the one on KAshmir?

It is well known who funds,equips and trains the terrorists in Kashmir and this will effect them.

No one would appreciate the aggressive move by India to stop water. On the other hand, Its funny how your leaders keep changing their imaginations between isolating Pakistan and stopping water.

Oh yes, those bold Kashmiri youths are supplied stones by ISI, are trained how to throw stones and sometimes cover their faces in case of being tear gassed. Stones cost a heft amount which is paid by ISI.

With all due respect, anyone believing this is implicitly saying, "my country and its leaders are stupid."

I don't claim to be an expert in Indo-Pak politics, but in general, a country won't play with fire where the variables are out of its control.

What variables?

1) International backlash (water isn't taken lightly as a resource)
2) Potential instigation of war
3) Apprehension from Nepal and Bangladesh (separate water treaties)
4) China's control over Tibet (2 rivers going into India)
5) Additional costs of diversion (i.e. dams, labor, equipment)

Now, from all of these variables, you may argue one or two won't be factors. Even one would plateau the Indian economy (while a prolonged war would devastate it).

Only winner would be China.

So, either you're Chinese or being led astray by Modi.

With all due respect, anyone believing this is implicitly saying, "my country and its leaders are stupid."

I don't claim to be an expert in Indo-Pak politics, but in general, a country won't play with fire where the variables are out of its control.

What variables?

1) International backlash (water isn't taken lightly as a resource)
2) Potential instigation of war
3) Apprehension from Nepal and Bangladesh (separate water treaties)
4) China's control over Tibet (2 rivers going into India)
5) Additional costs of diversion (i.e. dams, labor, equipment)

Now, from all of these variables, you may argue one or two won't be factors. Even one would plateau the Indian economy (while a prolonged war would devastate it).

Only winner would be China.

So, either you're Chinese or being led astray by Modi.

You should have not done that.

LOL India is a joke, JUST DO IT instead of doin gthese dramas. Ppl need to keep focus on Kashmir from where they are trying to divert. Pak Army would be working on these ********, Pakistani public needs to keep themselves away from indian content for a start. Waste of time rabble rousing.

The Indians feel humiliated- PR has been a disaster and feel worried that the sheep at home will see through the crap.

These indians coming on this board and pointing the finger at pakistan for killing their soldiers, i will give you a simple analogy, One has a fight with a neighbour where he seriously hurts hims, the neighbor retaliates but the one who started the mess blames the neighbours neigbour for supporting him. You can guess which one is India, Kashmir and Pakistan in that analogy.

Such stupidity from India, this is all their own doing, you cant oppress people forever they want freedom

Very heart-tugging.Should I now post pictures of the slain Indian soldiers?
Indian armymen are not fodder.
Something needs to be done to avenge the deaths of Indian army men.

Well you should avenge it by admonishing your own government for killing your soldiers in a false flag operation.

But never expect that Pakistan won't respond it kind.

This Modi dramaybaaz has come completely undone. He has been a source of embarrassment for his entire country.

I understand Indians have to defend his antics on international forums but I'm sure they too are troubled by it.

That would be the best decision for Pakistan on the longer run, would push the country to embrace new geopolitical equations and a more technocratic approach at home. Go Modi-ji.