WebGuru
- Post of the Week
Habib Akram was doing NA-61 Rawalpindi survey today where are the results 

A lot of people that I have talked to who are from Karachi have said that MQM actually do work and that is the ground reality. I've never visited Karachi (except the airport), and you are from Karachi (at least from what I remember reading in other posts), what is your take on MQM without that dullu mollu Altaf in power.
Even without a named candidate MQM is quite ahead. However, I don't think we can rule out Vawda just yet. He is quite rich and has the resources to run a great campaign. Furthermore, he can also bank on a wave of PTI popularity as we get closer to the election date.
I'd say the end result will be closer than this survey. MQM might win but it won't be a walk in the park as depicted here.
Left out of much of the discussion in the lead up to the election is how various demographic groups will behave. Who are the poor voting for? How will women voters vote? Do religious minorities have a role to play? We broke down the results of our national poll conducted from June 22-24 to discover what the voting opinion looks based on gender, religion/religious sect, age, income group and education. First, we are looking at how gender influences voting opinion in the upcoming election. Overall, PTI performs better amongst men whereas PPP and PML(N) perform better amongst women, although the difference is not significantly high for any of the three major parties.
Imran Khan and Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui running neck in neck. The margin of error is 5%, so they are both within the margin of error. This is going to be one to watch.
Next, we are looking at how religious sect/religion can influence voter behavior. Historically, the Shia and minority vote had been seen as key to PPP's electoral chances, whereas PML(N) would depend on a wide margin amongst the Sunni majority to win elections. The emergence of PTI has significantly damaged both PML(N)'s Sunni constituency as well as PPP's Shia constituency, however, PPP's surprisingly still does really well amongst non-Muslims, as a majority of non-Muslim Pakistanis are Hindus living in rural Sindh. PTI, for its part, can thank Shia voters for its edge in the popular vote, as it is tied with the PML(N) for the Sunni vote.
I have absolutely no doubt that MQM-P will emerge as the single largest party in Karachi, however each passing day is making me think that MQM may not even suffer any significant losses. Reflecting on these surveys, MQM have definitely lost support but they are still winning. The biggest issue is that while MQM are only registering around 30-35% on most seats (compared to the usual crushing margins), the opposing vote is split between multiple parties.
PTI have failed to capitalize on a fractured MQM while PPP have taken full advantage, and it shows with PPP bagging a significant share of votes on every seat while PTI are similar to 2013. The thing that is hurting PTI the most is the emergence of PSP. I personally know many people from Karachi who would vote for PTI but are now voting for PSP due to the development projects Mustafa Kamal undertook during Musharraf's era. PSP won't win more than 1 seat, but they are denting PTI's votebank.
Apparantly this poll was conducted a few days ago, but the actual MQM-P candidate will be Ali Raza Abidi. Don't think it will make a huge difference as MQM vote is mostly party vote rather than candidate vote.
Lyari will be the usual landslide.
I predict MQM will win this despite Imran standing here and it being so close.
MQM will use all the tricks in the book here to get their man across the line.
In most democracies, income is considered the most likely determinant of a voter's decision. In Pakistan, many people have historically associated the PML(N) with the middle and upper middle class, as PPP depended on a significant support base amongst the poor to win elections. PTI for much of the past few years has had a reputation for being popular amongst the rich and well to do, but with little support elsewhere. The upcoming election might yet prove that perception wrong. While PTI has a clear lead amongst upper middle/ upper income voters, it's also leading amongst middle income voters and polling an impressive 24% amongst low income voters. Both PPP and PML(N) fare best amongst poor voters, whereas PTI fares best amongst upper middle/ upper income voters.
Age also plays an important role. PTI has often taken credit for being the sole representative of the burgeoning and increasingly numerically significant young voters in Pakistan. However, other parties have responded to the demographic change by courting young voters through tall promises. However, PTI enjoys a significant lead amongst voters under and 30 (36%-26%), and ties the PML(N) amongst voters over 30 (both at 26%). PPP, with the youngest leader of the three party leaders, performs significantly worse amongst younger voters compared to voters over 30.
Education is also an important factor in voting decision. Typically, less educated voters have tended to support PPP and smaller religious parties, with more educated voters opting for PML(N). With the emergence of PTI, the education-voter behavior has also significantly changed. PML(N) is now likely to do better amongst less educated voters. PTI leads 39%-24% amongst voters with at least a bachelor degree. It's lead over PML(N) grows slimmer amongst other groups, just 4% amongst those with a Matric/Intermediate, and just 1% amongst illiterate/under Matric.
Shahid Khaqan Abbasi has won his appeal. He will win his Murree seat comfortably.
Expected this and right decision as well, no doubt Khaqan is a corrupt person but no point singling him out when 99% others have been allowed to contest.
This is why i thought it was too early to revise the prediction, seat back with PMLN![]()
Apparantly this poll was conducted a few days ago, but the actual MQM-P candidate will be Ali Raza Abidi. Don't think it will make a huge difference as MQM vote is mostly party vote rather than candidate vote.

Still lot of confusion on Chakwal seat
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">My decision to withdraw from <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Elections2018?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Elections2018</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NA55?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NA55</a> and stand firm with <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PTI?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PTI</a> ideology for a <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NayaPakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NayaPakistan</a> Inshallah <a href="https://t.co/Lg5hS54Nl1">pic.twitter.com/Lg5hS54Nl1</a></p>— Malik Amin Aslam (@aminattock) <a href="https://twitter.com/aminattock/status/1012666171085262848?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 29, 2018</a></blockquote>
I have absolutely no idea what is happening there, way too many theories floating on Twitter, why would they take back tickets from them? This is quite insane what they are doing with this, i thought this was done deal and we don't even have alternative option so why would they bring him in last minute, award ticket and then take the ticket back??
PTI is no where close to as popular as IK thinks.
Khan sahab is saying PTI will sweep elections but all polls and surveys are predicting 50-50 contest if not 55-45 to Noon league.
I feel so sorry for Malik Amin Aslam, he clearly looks disappointed in this video and the fact that even considered contesting Independently is quite sad because he has one of the stars for PTI and what is even worse is he has his personal voterbank and has full capability to win the seat on his own with his personal votebank and increased popularity of PTI.
What is this fiasco in NA-64 PTI has committed.
At present it seems like PTI is working against themselves. They just don't look in the mood to win a good seat count with the mockery they are making of their campaign.
Express News also started these surveys.
How are the things going on.Unfortunately i am out of the country and will miss the most important elections in our history.
Guys I can assure you that PTI is still on course to perform very well and inshallah form goverment despite the few hiccups over the last few days.
I am hearing from friends and relatives from many Punjabi constituencies that despite the fact that PMLN is still strong, that a huge wave in favour of PTI is building.
Things are looking good but we need a massive campaign in next 25 days!
In all these negative news we missed the joining of Raja Basharat from Rawalpindi and he got a PP ticket. Another boost to PTI in NA59.
Our candidates should not wait for the lion to come and rescue them.They should do it by themselves.
I think we are strong in Rawalpinidi.And upper dir things are getting good.Sahibazada Tariqullah cousin is working hard to defeat him....i see a very close contest bw the two.
Meanwhile Amir liaqat bhai got beaten up by voters in karachi.
Another thing going against PTI in NA-243 is Shehla Raza. She is very well respected and reasonably popular amongst the educated middle class Urdu speaking population. I get the feeling that the traditional parties won't mind a status quo in Karachi. For them, MQM sweeping Karachi is a much better result than PTI taking a few seats here and there.
We were always expecting 1-2 seat for PTI in Karachi. You showed us green pastures by estimating at least 4-5 seats of PTI.
I am starting to believe SMQ is a mole in PTI and all those who came from PPP are on board with him and will show their power soon as a group. Even in 2013 SMQ tried his best to give ticket to all his old buddies switching to PTI from PPP like Sohna, Samsaam etc
I don't think we are at point to deem SMQ a mole. He may have taken some weird decisions but I think he is just consolidating his hold on the party being VC - a hold that is being threatened by JKT.
I think PTI is still in a strong position, once this whole ticket fiasco comes to end post 30 June, things will become clearer by the day.
Also what is up with Zulfiqar Khan for NA-64? Is he Sardar Ghulam's covering candidate given the disqualification?
I hope you are right because this report came through different sources and anchors/journos so there must be some weight in it.
We need at least 45% of Punjab seats to have a shot at forming govt and need to keep PMLN below 40% while the rest of 15% goes to Ind, PPP, PMLQ etc
There are so many conflicted reports but i think Sardar is still on board and Pervez Ellahi also called IK yesterday regarding Chakwal issue so i guess thing will be fixed in a day or two. And no he isn't his covering candidate he was PMLN candidat and was given PTI ticket at the last minute i think RO rejected his application too.

Any update on PTI's manifesto? Can someone please share it here?
Some major updates today:
Sardar Abbas is on board and will support PTI and Pervez Ellahi on all 4 PP and NA65 seats of Chakwal and he will decide NA64 support when his verdict comes in a day or two.
3/4 more MNA/MPA ticket holders of PMLN from South Punjab return their tickets and decide to go Independent.
Faisal Karim Kundi of PPP withdraw his papers from DI Khan in favor of PTI candidate Dawar Kundi and Fazlu is up for a tough fight.
Groupings in MMA on tickets and on the issue of supporting Shahbaz on Swat seat.
Ch Nisar applied for Jeep symbol and looking at him all those going Independent in Punjab are applying for Jeep symbol and this can result in all of them getting together under the Umbrella of Ch Nisar later and can play a major role when next govt is formed.
Confusion within PMLN camp after yesterday statement of Shahbaz clearly showing soft corner for Establishment so now PMLN voters and workers are not sure ke izat ko vote deni ye ya boots ko.
5 apparantly - https://tribune.com.pk/story/1746566/1-five-pml-n-candidates-south-punjab-return-party-tickets/
All of them using the jeep symbol.

We were always expecting 1-2 seat for PTI in Karachi. You showed us green pastures by estimating at least 4-5 seats of PTI.

Is it only me or anyone else think PMLN tactic of using these Imran videos of mazarat and madina are going to backfire badly and can activate silent Bralevi votebank of Punjab in PTI favor?
PML-N aren't being smart about this. Pakistan is a deeply polarised country, and not everyone subscribes to the same views. By appeasing one segment of society, they may just be shooting themselves in the foot.
They may succeed in stopping Wahabi/Ahl e hadees and Deobani swing voter from voting for PTI but it will result in massive support from Bralevi and Shia sects in favor of PTI. Bralevis are the biggest sect of Pak and now they will not be able to blame PTI if they start using Khatam e Nabuwat card at the national level against them in every jalsa. Media sided with PMLN against IK in using this religious issue and now they will find it hard to attack PTI when they start using same tactic against PMLN
Shias are already overwhelming voting for PTI, the survey I posted here shows that too, and pretty much everyone I know are voting for PTI. These tactics by PML-N may just go against them because the Wahabi/Ahl e Hadees/Deobandis weren't really going to vote for PTI anyway.
The (PML-N) received a major setback in NA-16 Abbottabad-II due to Sardar Mahtab Ahmed Khan's decision to withdraw his son Sardar Shehryar Khan from the race.
Should be an easy victory to Mr. Jadoon PTI
Looks like they are imploding from within ...
An interesting way to look at the voting intention for various parties for the upcoming elections is to look into how those voters voted in recent elections. Which party has PTI taken the most votes from? Has PML(N)'s vote remained stagnant? We will first be looking at how voters who voted in 2008 are planning to vote this time around. As is common perception, PTI has caused the most damage to the PPP, where amongst its 2008 voters it can expect to win more votes in the upcoming election than the PPP itself. It has the highest share of the vote amongst PPP's 2008 voters, but also wins a significant 26% amongst 2008 PML(N) voters and 28% amongst 2008 PML (Q) voters. PML(N) expectedly maintain almost 60% of its 2008 voter base and also wins the most PML(Q) votes.