Politics - Pakistani 2018 General Election and post-election discussion

Which will be the top party after the upcoming general elections?

Looking at the weather forecast now, it doesn't look too bad. Most of the country is clear, some parts of Central and North Punjab, and maybe some parts of KPK may get on and off showers and thunderstorms in some pockets. No forecast for heavy rain though, which is good news.

I actually think we will more or less know who will win by 11 or 12 pm Pakistan time and not 9pm.

Remember there will be recounts on the day in very close seats. Candidates can demand that.

So the 2 am deadline doesn't mean much and this could go into 4 or 5 am Pakistan time.

There is no way all results will come in by 2 am.

I predict that several recounts will be done in Punjab in the neck and neck seats.

For example if a winner has 55000 seats and the runner up 53000 seats then the runner up can ask the RO for a recount. This will add another couple of hours to the time.

IN short you mean, raat ko soona nahi :))

Looking at the weather forecast now, it doesn't look too bad. Most of the country is clear, some parts of Central and North Punjab, and maybe some parts of KPK may get on and off showers and thunderstorms in some pockets. No forecast for heavy rain though, which is good news.

Drizzling here since 3 days, hope tomorrow will be a bright sunny day.

PTI should not include MQM in a coalition. I don't know why some of you guys are happy for this to happen.

They can't be trusted. History tells you that.

And who says that Altaf has really left them?

Do any of of you guys think that Imran needs to get rid of Imran Ismail and Ali Zaidi?

These two spend more time on Tv talk shows and even then they look sleepy most of the time.

Imran could have done much better in Karachi had he had a more energetic team that really tried to make inroads in Karachi rather than these two guys who seem to get fatter and fatter every year and look completely out of energy.

Faisal Vadia is good but surely Imran needs to look at his Karachi team again.

Guys, Look out for these three seats tomorrow:

1. Saad Rafique's (v Imran).
2. Khwaja Asif.
3. Rana Sanaullah.

These 3 are master riggers and they will try their best tomorrow to rig.

Do any of of you guys think that Imran needs to get rid of Imran Ismail and Ali Zaidi?

These two spend more time on Tv talk shows and even then they look sleepy most of the time.

Imran could have done much better in Karachi had he had a more energetic team that really tried to make inroads in Karachi rather than these two guys who seem to get fatter and fatter every year and look completely out of energy.

Yes, both really need to go, especially Imran Ismail. Firdous Naqvi needs to go too. I hope Imran Ismail loses his seat to Jibran Nasir because he literally brings no value or substance to the assembly, Jibran is someone who can really give PPP a tough time.

Faisal Vawda is fine, but the likes of Arsalan Taj Ghumman, Khurram Sherzaman, and Adeel Ahmed should also be given more responsibility.

2. Khwaja Asif.
3. Rana Sanaullah.

Hopefully all the measures being taken to prevent rigging work out. I don't see any major rigging taking place in the presence of the army and CCTV cameras.

2. Khwaja Asif.
3. Rana Sanaullah.

Any one know about new introduced rule about Whatsapp system during counting of votes?

Imran Ismail can go no doubt but i think Ali Zaidi is a very reasonable guy. He represents PTI on media well and have seen lot of famous people and celebrities endorsing him as an honest person so he must have done something right. He was also one of bravest PTI rep even when MQM was still at it's peak.

Khurram Sherzaman is very good option and i hope this election will give us more new faces in assembly like Adeel, Arsalan etc.

JI people caught red handed with stolen ballots in DIR
PPP people caught red handed with Postal ballots in Sehwan
PMLN people caught red handed with Stolen ballots in Shangla
PPP people caught red handed with stolen ballots in UmerKot

but ofcourse they call it establishment rigging in favor of PTI.

A former police officer, Farrukh Waleed, is claiming that Rana Sanaullah made him conduct extrajudicial killings. He's on 92 News right now.

You don't give up.

I mean, no party has gained more from boot polishing then PMLN, from the mid 80s to the 90s, and then again in 2013, the only thing left was Nawaz and co. wearing a fuji uniform himself. The "Quaid" of the party has been rightly convicted.

You weren't that involved in posting about elections but from the past few weeks, you have been at it like no tomorrow. Kya tumhi bei koi lifafa tho nai milgiya?

When Nawaz was polishing military boots, I did not support him. My policy is simple - I will support any party that opposes military involvement in politics.

If tomorrow, Imran takes a u-turn and opposes the military, I will support him again. As far as my posting activity is concerned, I have always contributed to political threads regularly.

However, like everyone else, my activity has increased in the build up to the election because I am trying my best to educate the people.

Can some of the guys condense things for us?

which constituencies should we watch out for as the results start coming in. Also what do you guys think will be the best channel for updates?

When Nawaz was polishing military boots, I did not support him. My policy is simple - I will support any party that opposes military involvement in politics.

If tomorrow, Imran takes a u-turn and opposes the military, I will support him again. As far as my posting activity is concerned, I have always contributed to political threads regularly.

However, like everyone else, my activity has increased in the build up to the election because I am trying my best to educate the people.

We know your anti establishment stance is a lie. We showed you the thread when you apparently changed. You are looking for any rationale to back criminals and thugs, and it this point in time, this is the bandwagon you jumped on.

To vote shobaz.

JI people caught red handed with stolen ballots in DIR
PPP people caught red handed with Postal ballots in Sehwan
PMLN people caught red handed with Stolen ballots in Shangla
PPP people caught red handed with stolen ballots in UmerKot

but ofcourse they call it establishment rigging in favor of PTI.

You are trying to defame famous parties :))
saazish hai bhai saazish hai

Oh The Irony..................

Can some of the guys condense things for us?

which constituencies should we watch out for as the results start coming in. Also what do you guys think will be the best channel for updates?

I am personally mainly going to stick with 92 News. They are fairly neutral, and have got very widespread and high quality coverage for the election.

Seats to watch out for:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Bellwethers can give an important indication of the direction of an election. 21 seats (20 in Punjab) have voted for the national winners in the past three elections. Watch out for these seats early on election night to see which way the swing voter is headed. <a href="https://t.co/abKEwCnNcV">pic.twitter.com/abKEwCnNcV</a></p>— Roshan Pakistan Opinion Polling (@RoshanOpinion) <a href="https://twitter.com/RoshanOpinion/status/1020161374775926784?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 20, 2018</a></blockquote>

Also watch NA-245, NA-230, NA-260, NA-125, NA-135, NA-131, NA-126, NA-59, NA-67. Also keep an eye on Faisalabad and Gujranwala, and all of central Punjab in general. Karachi is worth keeping an eye on, especially NA-244, NA-249, NA-251, NA-242, NA-243.

[MENTION=253]the Great Khan[/MENTION]

Forgot to add, Sialkot seats are ones to watch too, especially Usman Dar vs Khawaja Asif!

I have decided not to visit dawn news page from today onward.Such a biased newspaper with full of lies.

In the UK we have a choice between;

1. Geo News.
2.Ary News.
3.Express News.
4. Samaa.
5.Dunya News.
6. 92 News.
7. Hum News.
8. C44.

To think 10 years ago there were only 2 news channels here which were GEO and Ary, we now have a huge choice.

I find Samaa to be good but will probably be flicking through all the above.

This is what dawn posted today
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">In its hatred for IK & PTI Dawn has gone too far! Today it has a story "On the streets of Karachi" where reporter implies the murder of IK! This is beyond bias, it is spreading hate & inviting ppl to murder a national leader. Dawn must held accountable! Relevant extract below <a href="https://t.co/S2uK2AFPxu">pic.twitter.com/S2uK2AFPxu</a></p>— Shireen Mazari (@ShireenMazari1) <a href="https://twitter.com/ShireenMazari1/status/1021644512081465344?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 24, 2018</a></blockquote>

In the UK we have a choice between;

1. Geo News.
2.Ary News.
3.Express News.
4. Samaa.
5.Dunya News.
6. 92 News.
7. Hum News.
8. C44.

To think 10 years ago there were only 2 news channels here which were GEO and Ary, we now have a huge choice.

I find Samaa to be good but will probably be flicking through all the above.

Well we have so political parties as well and every party deserves its own madia platform. So there’s that.

Now you know what it is like for Donald Trump fans. #fakenews

I have just come to know about medical reports of mr criminal.I know what it is and PIMS teams of doctors decided not to shift him to hospital,but they say Nawaz refused it.it has been For the last one year.Feel sorry for a historical newspaper being used for money.it was like national heritage.By the way i dont watch ARY or Geo news as well.This newspaper is now sselling blatant lies.

Why our nation get so excited about pieces written in western papers? most of them are written by Pakistanis lol
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It’s amazing that the narrative that foreign press is highlighting election anaomalies is shouted from rooftops and when the truth is bulk of these pieces are being written by our very own Pakistani journalists. <a href="https://t.co/Wa2plfUU3W">https://t.co/Wa2plfUU3W</a></p>— Faisal Sherjan (@fsherjan) <a href="https://twitter.com/fsherjan/status/1021684158580645888?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 24, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">In its hatred for IK & PTI Dawn has gone too far! Today it has a story "On the streets of Karachi" where reporter implies the murder of IK! This is beyond bias, it is spreading hate & inviting ppl to murder a national leader. Dawn must held accountable! Relevant extract below <a href="https://t.co/S2uK2AFPxu">pic.twitter.com/S2uK2AFPxu</a></p>— Shireen Mazari (@ShireenMazari1) <a href="https://twitter.com/ShireenMazari1/status/1021644512081465344?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 24, 2018</a></blockquote>

Is it not a fact though?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">CNICs recovered from a nullah in Lahore<a href="https://t.co/DjJn1Kf9zf">https://t.co/DjJn1Kf9zf</a></p>— Dawn.com (@dawn_com) <a href="https://twitter.com/dawn_com/status/1021674527909130240?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 24, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Are you assuming that Imran Khan is from Karachi?

acha hussain what is the situation in Na-252 karachi South..

NA-252 is in Karachi West, do you mean that one? I originally said MQM-P will take this while PPP bag a large share of votes. After revisiting, I realized that deliminiations separated this seat from the main city, and hence, the Muhajir votebank has been totally cut off. I think this one will probably go to PPP now as this constituency is largely Sindhi and Balochi. Runnerup will be between PTI and MMA.

Welldone Mazari.Sharam un ko BBC k interview pa nahee aayi.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It has emerged that their names are included in the United Nations' terror watchlist.<a href="https://t.co/LM4KCst6mP">https://t.co/LM4KCst6mP</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DawnElections?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DawnElections</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ElectionPakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ElectionPakistan</a></p>— Dawn.com (@dawn_com) <a href="https://twitter.com/dawn_com/status/1021687112482078720?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 24, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

A bag full of ID cards found in Dr Yasmin halka

Di2znJRXgAEl7tw.jpg:small

I have just come to know about medical reports of mr criminal.I know what it is and PIMS teams of doctors decided not to shift him to hospital,but they say Nawaz refused it.it has been For the last one year.Feel sorry for a historical newspaper being used for money.it was like national heritage.By the way i dont watch ARY or Geo news as well.This newspaper is now sselling blatant lies.

You just have to wait for one day. All these media platforms will change their allegiance as quickly as the snake shed its skin. Saw it after last elections. This won’t be the first time.

Paisaa bolta ha.Such a sorry states of affairs ,I cant trust who is telling the truth.Azaad media,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Wasim bhai playing on front foot for his skipper!
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A cricketer who became a politician? Or a man who was born to serve this nation, protect our people and lead us in to our own. And one day they will say, that this same man was once a phenomenal cricketer. The time is now for change, Our country Our history! <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/VoteForKaptaan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#VoteForKaptaan</a></p>— Wasim Akram (@wasimakramlive) <a href="https://twitter.com/wasimakramlive/status/1021687937971433472?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 24, 2018</a></blockquote>

nah but PTI is running this campaign frm last few months ke "Wazir e Azam Karachi se" and Dawn is adding extra spice

Well there’s your answer. He’s not from Karachi, so nothing will happen to him. He’s not even from Sindh, so rest assure, he won’t be hanged or assassinated either.

Wasim bhai playing on front foot for his skipper!
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A cricketer who became a politician? Or a man who was born to serve this nation, protect our people and lead us in to our own. And one day they will say, that this same man was once a phenomenal cricketer. The time is now for change, Our country Our history! <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/VoteForKaptaan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#VoteForKaptaan</a></p>— Wasim Akram (@wasimakramlive) <a href="https://twitter.com/wasimakramlive/status/1021687937971433472?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 24, 2018</a></blockquote>

Legends knows the value of the legend.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">For our exit poll, we will be going to 165 polling stations, and asking voters to complete a questionnaire right after they have voted. Based on a division-by-division comparison with the previous election, we should be able to project the national popular vote...</p>— Roshan Pakistan Opinion Polling (@RoshanOpinion) <a href="https://twitter.com/RoshanOpinion/status/1021671399042244608?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 24, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">For each party as well as a range of seats various parties could win. The exit poll of course will only be an indication of which way things are headed. Our popular vote figures and seat projections will be published at 6 pm but we will be posting updates on...</p>— Roshan Pakistan Opinion Polling (@RoshanOpinion) <a href="https://twitter.com/RoshanOpinion/status/1021671790702198784?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 24, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The demographic composition of the electorate earlier in the day, including age, gender, income, education breakdown as well as responses on other defining questions of the campaign. We will also be live tweeting once actual results start coming in and comparing...</p>— Roshan Pakistan Opinion Polling (@RoshanOpinion) <a href="https://twitter.com/RoshanOpinion/status/1021672599728914432?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 24, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Them with how well our exit poll would suggest various parties should be doing in order to see how far off our 6 pm projection will be (or not). Should be an exciting night!</p>— Roshan Pakistan Opinion Polling (@RoshanOpinion) <a href="https://twitter.com/RoshanOpinion/status/1021673298026000384?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 24, 2018</a></blockquote>

To everyone who thinks that media is lying through their teeth and not doing their REAL job. Media can not do their job because they are forced not to. If they talk about establishment meddling in the foreign policy, they’ll get banned. If they talk about the root cause of religious intolerance, they’ll get assassinated. If they talk about mafias they’ll be killed by the mafias. If they talk about political credentials of the politicians, they’ll be abused by the party supporters and certain section of establishment. If they talk about national security issues they’ll be abducted. Hell, our media can’t even openly say that we lost Kargil war because the moment they spoke the truth will be the death of their careers. They’ll be mobbed for speaking the truth. Let’s be honest. We don’t want the truth. So my request to PTI supporters, just stick to ARY. My request to PML-N supporters, just stick to Geo News and Dawn News. My request to PPP supporters, stop watching television all together. My request to MQM supporters, just stick to Sama news and metro news. ‘Ignorance is bliss’.

NA-252 is in Karachi West, do you mean that one? I originally said MQM-P will take this while PPP bag a large share of votes. After revisiting, I realized that deliminiations separated this seat from the main city, and hence, the Muhajir votebank has been totally cut off. I think this one will probably go to PPP now as this constituency is largely Sindhi and Balochi. Runnerup will be between PTI and MMA.

I assume so, my relative is standing for PTI from there so one I'll be keeping an eye on..

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">All PTI workers and esp our polling agents should sleep early and be fresh and vigilant all day tomorrow to make history.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1021693034088550400?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 24, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I am not a political person... but <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> I would have loved to play under.... great leader and would do well for Pakistan if given the opportunity. <a href="https://t.co/qi1PMeWTRq">https://t.co/qi1PMeWTRq</a></p>— Dean Jones (@ProfDeano) <a href="https://twitter.com/ProfDeano/status/1020794389138771970?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 21, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I assume so, my relative is standing for PTI from there so one I'll be keeping an eye on..

You're related to Aftab Jahangir? Goodluck to him! Very tough seat though, new deliminations have made it totally rural, otherwise, PTI got a good 30,000 votes from here.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Tomorrow will decide the future of Pakistan! GO OUT AND VOTE, do not undermine the power of your vote! <br>Also make a prayer for all the precious lives lost in terror attacks during campaigns.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanZindabad?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakistanZindabad</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/bleedgreen?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#bleedgreen</a></p>— khadija siddiqi (@khadeeeej751) <a href="https://twitter.com/khadeeeej751/status/1021687103904788481?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 24, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I must say, some of the deliminations in Karachi are seriously dodgy. They are not all balanced by population, and some of the old constituencies have intentionally been cut so that there are more rural constituencies than before, it is directly favouring PPP who are looking good on 5-6 seats.

What did expect from PPP government?

Is it not a fact though?

It is a fact, and in your eyes does that make this dog whistle journalism prescribing the murder of Imran Khan totally ok?

Would you feel similarly if Salman Taseer was substituted in for Liaqat Ali Khan, and Jibran for Imran Khan and the journalist framed the narrative in a similar way? Would you be arguing about how factual the piece was or would you be in wide eyed in astonishment at someone in a national newspaper composing a piece sympathetic to the murder of someone.