Politics - Pakistani 2018 General Election and post-election discussion

Which will be the top party after the upcoming general elections?

See blaming aqlai muqlooq is a win win for PMLN..they lose they will blame them and if they win they will come out and say look we overcame outside forces, the people have.....blah blah nonsense.

Im increasingly convinced we wil see a PPP/PMLN coalition. the real powers that be , not the army establishment, but the international establishment , cannot afford to have IK in charge.

Bilawal as PM wont be a stretch and five more years of economic woes and further subservience to the worldwide agenda is coming..

They want to see strife in pakistan, be it political terrorism or economic..Pakistan must not be allowed rest..Pakistanis are to harassed and deprived because they refuse to bow down to India the wests darling..that is the game..

That's the game. Our nation is sleeping and when they realize it, it will be all too late. IK is probably our last resistance to rescue this nation. It does not look good to me at all.

Apprantly there's been a attack at Quetta Election Polling Station

Not sure how true this is

Lol. The economist has for years has trodden the western establishment path when it comes to Pakistan. its credibility when it comes to pakistani news is zero. Ignore it. They know nothing about the countyr, have hardly spoken to any real pakistanis, and care little for the issues a pakistani voter does. Everything follows the same narrative...

I find the same narrative all over British and American media. I mean if you can’t launch a successful coo, just sabotage the whole process. That’s something that annoys me the most.

ARY being shutdown in parts of Lahore and Rawalpindi? Who is at play here?

See blaming aqlai muqlooq is a win win for PMLN..they lose they will blame them and if they win they will come out and say look we overcame outside forces, the people have.....blah blah nonsense.

That's the trick they want a win-win situation

Huge argument between Rauf Klasra and Arif Nizami.

Nizami tried to prove Nawaz Sharif as victim and Klasra bluntly told Nizami he is not independent and has served Nawaz Sharif....channel had to take a break :))

Klasra's point of view was that Nawaz Sharif now has problem with everything he enjoyed himself in 2013 elections so how can you call him 'Bechaara masoom" ??? Klasra was bit blunt and rude but said it as it is, Nizami said "Mian aapki tarah Imran Khan ka khilaari nahi hon :)

I would like to wish all posters who are voting in Pakistan tomorrow all the best.

Inshallah it will be a good day and I hope voter turnout is high.

Nizami tried to prove Nawaz Sharif as victim and Klasra bluntly told Nizami he is not independent and has served Nawaz Sharif....channel had to take a break :))

Klasra's point of view was that Nawaz Sharif now has problem with everything he enjoyed himself in 2013 elections so how can you call him 'Bechaara masoom" ??? Klasra was bit blunt and rude but said it as it is, Nizami said "Mian aapki tarah Imran Khan ka khilaari nahi hon :)

haha there was a massive fight between Sabir Shakir and Iftikhar Ahmed too on ARY :))

They can’t even pretend to be neutral or objective anymore.

Qadri was a lil upset with Imran a few months ago but i think Sheikh Rasheed can get him board easily.

I have talked to his followers, message in their circles says they have been told to vote for PTI.
In fact they actively campaigned for PTI.

If you only read international media you'd think that all sorts of weird things are happening. They are all buying into Nawaz Sharif's narrative. In reality, no, there is no coup on the horizon.

I think you will find it's actually the other way around. It's Nawaz buying their narrative.

inna lillahi wa inallah-e-raji'oon :(
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Tragic.....May Allah bless them <a href="https://t.co/CXo8IzTG9S">https://t.co/CXo8IzTG9S</a></p>— Senior Analyst ™ (@TruthNdTruth) <a href="https://twitter.com/TruthNdTruth/status/1021789709889093632?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 24, 2018</a></blockquote>

inna lillahi wa inallah-e-raji'oon :(
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Tragic.....May Allah bless them <a href="https://t.co/CXo8IzTG9S">https://t.co/CXo8IzTG9S</a></p>— Senior Analyst ™ (@TruthNdTruth) <a href="https://twitter.com/TruthNdTruth/status/1021789709889093632?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 24, 2018</a></blockquote>

This make shift government must stand on trial for their poor management of the whole process. We probably had more terrorists attacks in the last few months then we had in the last few years. This is unacceptable.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Almost 15k to 20k valid CNIC cards have been found in NA125, this is the same constituency where <a href="https://twitter.com/Dr_YasminRashid?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Dr_YasminRashid</a> lost from Kulsoom Nawaz and filed an application of missing 25k votes in by-elections. <a href="https://t.co/nCA51WWyqp">pic.twitter.com/nCA51WWyqp</a></p>— اعوان NA131 (@Sab_PK) <a href="https://twitter.com/Sab_PK/status/1021747174114320384?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 24, 2018</a></blockquote>

This make shift government must stand on trial for their poor management of the whole process. We probably had more terrorists attacks in the last few months then we had in the last few years. This is unacceptable.

This wasn't an attack but an accident they were going for election duty. But yea i agree these care taker govts are pathetic i wait for the day we make ECP so strong that we will never need these care taker govts like other countries

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x6q14w0" allowfullscreen allow="autoplay"></iframe>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Almost 15k to 20k valid CNIC cards have been found in NA125, this is the same constituency where <a href="https://twitter.com/Dr_YasminRashid?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Dr_YasminRashid</a> lost from Kulsoom Nawaz and filed an application of missing 25k votes in by-elections. <a href="https://t.co/nCA51WWyqp">pic.twitter.com/nCA51WWyqp</a></p>— اعوان NA131 (@Sab_PK) <a href="https://twitter.com/Sab_PK/status/1021747174114320384?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 24, 2018</a></blockquote>

Makes perfect sense, 15k to 20k CNIC cards gone missing and 25k votes went missing. Hmmmmm I wonder...

PMLN leaders/Sheriffs just don't have it in them to run a free/fair election. It's now etched in there DNA.

Makes perfect sense, 15k to 20k CNIC cards gone missing and 25k votes went missing. Hmmmmm I wonder...

PMLN leaders/Sheriffs just don't have it in them to run a free/fair election. It's now etched in there DNA.

Di4aoriW4AMRkG3.jpg

Well the chickens are coming home to roost.

It's pretty clear now NADRA is the khalai makhlooq and they are on bed with PMLN

Yeah, I saw that earlier, thought the same thing. What does the "Sex Symbol" have to do with anything? Just clickbait. As if the author himself is jealous lol.

He is anti PTI if you go through his twitter timeline

Yeah, I saw that earlier, thought the same thing. What does the "Sex Symbol" have to do with anything? Just clickbait. As if the author himself is jealous lol.

It is IK history you should not feel the need to hide it. Though they missed a very important role philanthropist which I feel super seeded the first 2.

This wasn't an attack but an accident they were going for election duty. But yea i agree these care taker govts are pathetic i wait for the day we make ECP so strong that we will never need these care taker govts like other countries

I stand corrected. The problem is with the mudslinging that has now come to define our political behaviour, it is becoming increasingly difficult to strengthen our Election Commission. We wouldn’t even need this caretaker government if we had accepted the legitimacy of voters’ mandate.

It is IK history you should not feel the need to hide it. Though they missed a very important role philanthropist which I feel super seeded the first 2.

What does it have to do with his political career? I mean "Sex Symbol" makes it seem way more vulgar.

I don’t think ‘sex symbol’ has any negative connotations in the western press. They basically use the phrase for defining anyone who has enough charisma to gather large crowds towards them. It’s the desi PTI supporter, the one who hate liberals, who would take offence with it.

The thing is, us living in the west understand this. Knowing the backround of this particular author and his anti-PTI stance doesn't make it sound that way. I just don't think that was the best of headlines, considering how non secular Pakistan is and since elections are happening there, this should be taken into consideration.

That’s why he’s the one writing it and not us. He managed to annoy desi PTI supporters without sounding negative to the readers in the West. That’s subtlety..

I stand corrected. The problem is with the mudslinging that has now come to define our political behaviour, it is becoming increasingly difficult to strengthen our Election Commission. We wouldn’t even need this caretaker government if we had accepted the legitimacy of voters’ mandate.

It's a chicken and egg problem we can't have free and fair elections without powerful and impartial institutions and free media but we can't have those without free and fairly elected government. Despite all his faults I feel IK can make our government institutions better if he comes to power and is the last hope for continuation of little bit of democracy that has started to grow.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Ride-hailing app <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Careem?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Careem</a> is introducing a Jamhuriyat Car type that will take voters to and from polling stations for free!<br><br>Read: <a href="https://t.co/aqZTCmo9QZ">https://t.co/aqZTCmo9QZ</a> <a href="https://t.co/t3W05BqiC3">pic.twitter.com/t3W05BqiC3</a></p>— Images (@dawn_images) <a href="https://twitter.com/dawn_images/status/1021756896791941120?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 24, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

And NY Times come up with this garbage headline? (written by Salman Masood)

Cricket Star. Sex Symbol. Prime Minister? It May Be Imran Khan’s Time.

https://www.nytimes.com/2018/07/24/world/asia/pakistan-imran-khan.html

Compare it from his work from almost a year ago. You can clearly see the biased touch that has crept in since then.

Imran Khan, Strongest Contender to Lead Pakistan, Is No Shoo-In

https://www.nytimes.com/2017/07/30/world/asia/pakistan-imran-khan.html

nah waleed is going to be PTI candidate from NA131 if IK win and resign from that seat.

Can Waleed Iqbal win against Saad Rafique? I hope Lahore choose a good person like Waleed Iqbal over lohay ka channa

It's a chicken and egg problem we can't have free and fair elections without powerful and impartial institutions and free media but we can't have those without free and fairly elected government. Despite all his faults I feel IK can make our government institutions better if he comes to power and is the last hope for continuation of little bit of democracy that has started to grow.

That’s the fatal flaw in our democracy. We expect too much from one party leader. That’s how the electables have maintained their clout over their constituents. They will do all the corruption behind Imran’s back and by the time Imran realises this fact, these very electables will jump his ship for another, all the while blaming Imran’s leadership skills for the demise of PTI. That’s the modus operandi for many of these electables.

Alright Pakistanis, I'm off to bed.

After all the hype and hoopla over the past few months, I must say I'll be quite disappointed if Imran Khan doesn't end up winning tomorrow.

Have a good voting experience, all!

Can Waleed Iqbal win against Saad Rafique? I hope Lahore choose a good person like Waleed Iqbal over lohay ka channa

He can win if PTI becomes ruling party then chances of winning by elections icnrease massively

Alright Pakistanis, I'm off to bed.

After all the hype and hoopla over the past few months, I must say I'll be quite disappointed if Imran Khan doesn't end up winning tomorrow.

Have a good voting experience, all!

Thanks buddy! Hoping for the best

And off course everything from there on will be halal.

Nope by elections are not just about rigging. Voter gives your vote because he know you are candidate of ruling party and you can make a difference while the voter of party in opposition prefer to stay at home because 1 seat isn't gonna make any difference.

So theoretically speaking, If PML-N wins it then will PTI not challenge the results of the subsequent by-elections?

PTI didn't challenge the 2 seats they lost in 2013 by election when IK won 3 and resigned from those 2 Peshawer and Mianwali.

[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION]

Can we keep the mobile phone in our pocket and enter the polling station or is it a complete no-no to have your phone on you?

[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION]

Can we keep the mobile phone in our pocket and enter the polling station or is it a complete no-no to have your phone on you?

In 2013 and 2015 i had mobile in my pocket this time i am not sure how strict they are going to be. Many had mobile in PS last time thats how we got many rigging videos.

Watching on Samaa that there are huge lines outside the NADRA office in Karachi of people who are trying to pick up there CNIC cards.

Is it just me, or is that a lot of steps?

I mean some of these larger constituencies people are going to be waiting for hours.

It is exactly like this all these step but a bit quick then what is shown in the video. There are hundred of polling stations in every constituency and dividing them to a couple of thousand votes every polling stations makes it easier.

I called home and ask everybody in my home to vote for bat.Remmeber in 2013 i was only one who voted for pti from my home now we are 8 out of 9.My dad is hardcore JI supporter,Tried my best to convince him but could not.

great!

Last election I dragged 20 people to vote. I am from KPK so we always do our part :yk2

Hoping Punjab can follow! I would love to see central punjab got some PTI seats

Arshad Sharif to MQM's Abidi: So if tomorrow voters come out & vote Kite in large numbers, it means they have rejected Altaf Hussain's boycott call?

Abidi: Well, people, I mean, people, voting, people, well, 5 years, chance, well..

Arshad Sharif: Ok, let's move on :))

Last election I dragged 20 people to vote. I am from KPK so we always do our part :yk2

Hoping Punjab can follow! I would love to see central punjab got some PTI seats

we are getting more then some from central Punjab IA

KPK is inshaAllah secure for khan. It doesn't matter that much unfortunately. We need to take complete south punjab and a majority of central.

I am very negative though. The tribal voting system is really bad and difficult to topple. Election day N will pull off some stunts.

I also feel international establishment will not allow IK to win..

Forgot the analyst's name on 92HD thinks that people voting for TLP will hurt PTI's vote bank

I think it would hurt PMLNs vote bank since the party was basically created against them.

KPK is inshaAllah secure for khan. It doesn't matter that much unfortunately. We need to take complete south punjab and a majority of central.

I am very negative though. The tribal voting system is really bad and difficult to topple. Election day N will pull off some stunts.

I also feel international establishment will not allow IK to win..

Agree with you but if we can stay ahead in North and South than even being behind central by a little margin isn't going to hurt us that badly. Intentions of international establishment are pretty clear

Is it just me, or is that a lot of steps?

I mean some of these larger constituencies people are going to be waiting for hours.

Exactly.

On average it takes 2 minutes for a voter to cast their vote and ECP has distributed up to 600 voters per polling booth.

This means if the turnout is 100%, it would take 20 hours for the process to complete. Meanwhile ECP has only got a polling time of 10 hours which is more in line with a 50% turnout. If we consider the additional 60 minutes till 7 pm (for voters who are inside the polling station when the polling time ends, and thus are allowed to vote), we can have a maximum of 30 more votes. Therefore the maximum theoretical turnout per polling booth is 330 votes or 55% (which was the national average last time).

Therefore the national average would once again be around the 55% mark.

Damn, we are about 50 views away from getting a 100k views on this thread, keep it up, guys! Tomorrow is the big day.

Arshad Sharif to MQM's Abidi: So if tomorrow voters come out & vote Kite in large numbers, it means they have rejected Altaf Hussain's boycott call?

Abidi: Well, people, I mean, people, voting, people, well, 5 years, chance, well..

Arshad Sharif: Ok, let's move on :))

Yep. For them it’s a catch 22 situation. If they support AH they’ll alienate anti-Altaf voters. If they oppose AH they’ll alienate pro-Altaf voters. It is already a thin votebank as things stand right now.

Was watching the last wordings of both the leaders last night at 11:59 PM on culmination of their election campaigns

Imran Khan's last words from 2018 election campaign:
"Kabhi kabhi Allah moqa deta hay aik qaum ko apni halat sudharnay ki.. apko is moqay ko janay nhi dena... Apni aanay wali naslon ki behtari k liye...Insha Allah Pakistan ko aik azeem riasat banayen gay"

Shehbaz Shareef's last words..
"Maryam Nawaz aur Nawaz Shareef ko jail se wapis layen gay"

Sums it up pretty much.

(Copied)

Was watching the last wordings of both the leaders last night at 11:59 PM on culmination of their election campaigns

"Kabhi kabhi Allah moqa deta hay aik qaum ko apni halat sudharnay ki.. apko is moqay ko janay nhi dena... Apni aanay wali naslon ki behtari k liye...Insha Allah Pakistan ko aik azeem riasat banayen gay"

Sums it up pretty much.

(Copied)

shows the difference

Sums it up pretty much.

(Copied)

Voters will sum up everything for Pakistan.