Politics - Pakistani 2018 General Election and post-election discussion

Which will be the top party after the upcoming general elections?

Lol. Just found out that my area, at least when I used to live in Pakistan, is NA-252 West Karachi-V. My area is right at the borderline of NA-253 Central Karachi-1. Does anyone know anything about Aftab Jahangir who is running from that area. Could have voted, if I was in Pakistan, for Mustafa Kamal If my area was 1/2 a mile closer in the central district. Right now I just feel pity for my muhalla dars who might have probably never heard of these candidates. So much for alternatives.

I'll say this, Aftab bhai is an honest sharif chap. definatley not a ghunda or anything like that..just an average joe. Deserves your vote..rather than the other ghunday..pretty liberal too but a staunch pakistani nationalist and karachiite..he is also disabled as he has a prosthetic arm.. that he lost when working in a factory..

The positive from that if that even if it's 50%, it's more or less 50% genuine votes. The 52% in 2013 included a lot of dhandli waley votes.

Completely agree.

Even if it's a 50 ish percent turnout then that's still a good turnout.

And like you said it's a quality over quantity turnout.

I think 1970 is still the cleanest election ever held.

But they chose to give power to Bhutto

If Imran Khan doesn't win, it's obvious that the election is fudged. He should call a revolution as early as tonight if the correct results aren't put out IMO.

dont think he will..but expect some more turmoil..

I'll say this, Aftab bhai is an honest sharif chap. definatley not a ghunda or anything like that..just an average joe. Deserves your vote..rather than the other ghunday..pretty liberal too but a staunch pakistani nationalist and karachiite..he is also disabled as he has a prosthetic arm.. that he lost when working in a factory..

Then he has my respect because he’s not your average diamond quoted lota or electable.

can vouch for the fact he isnt..he's a PTI worker for quite a while and has made his way up..was a councillor for a bit but now managed to get a ticket through hard work..he worked with arif alvi on his campaign last time..

still remember watching the world cup italia 1990 quarter final with him years ago lol..he was on cameroons side while the rest of us ribbed him because we were england supporters lol..

Wow. On Public news they just said that there's more crowds in PTI camp in NA-124. This was like a sure fire seat for PMLN..

Hamza's seat is considered the safest for N league in Lahore. I doubt that. Hamza can't lose i believe.

Sialkot remains the weakest PTI district in Gujranwala region. Out of 5 seats, only Ghulam Abbas has clear lead. So, out of 5 , it looks like PTI won't be winning more than 2 national assembly seats.

All because Dar and Firdous bibi chose their own weak provincial assembly candidates.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">MY DAADI SAID 'AAY WEKH, VOTE NU IZZAT DEIN LAGI AAN' TO A RANGER BEFORE CASTING HER VOTE! &#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;</p>— Amna Cheema (@amnacheema55) <a href="https://twitter.com/amnacheema55/status/1022049898374615040?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 25, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
Classless trolls who wouldn’t even be voting had it not been for the ranger who is standing in the heat to protect her and her vote.

Polling time might be extended to 7pm.

ECP having a meeting about this now.

Both PPP and PMLN have requested it.

A low turn out doesn't necessarily have to be a bad sign. Quite possibly some tradional N-league supporters after all the court verdicts don't want to vote for them but at the same time out of fake sense of pride don't want to vote against them.

However higher turn out in Punjab compared to last time does make me a bit nervous. It depends on who they are. You can never underestimate the power of ignorance. Especially in rural areas where pride and tradition is valued over logic and arguments.

Aye puttar hataan te nahin wikde....

Di7-QZbWsAAzpKw.jpg

PTI voters are generally more loud. PML-N voters are silent voters, we definitely should not go by crowds.

Exactly.

We must learn our lesson from 2013.

We cannot take anything for granted.

Everybody got excited in 2013 and it was devastating.

Let's be cautious this time.

Voting was hectic for me. Apparently my and my family's vote got shifted to the neighboring NA-61 from NA-60 between July 7th and now. It is understandable because the area I reside in is technically a boundary between the two but the sudden change baffles me. Had to do a lot of khwari to cast my vote for bat on both seats (that's a plus with elections postponed in NA-60 :)) ). Took me 4 hrs in total to get this mess sorted out. Updates on turnout in NA-60 are average. NA-61 had a very good turnout with adequate PTI support.

Well done Bro.

I was wondering ke tusi kithe ghayab hogae welcome back :))

can vouch for the fact he isnt..he's a PTI worker for quite a while and has made his way up..was a councillor for a bit but now managed to get a ticket through hard work..he worked with arif alvi on his campaign last time..

still remember watching the world cup italia 1990 quarter final with him years ago lol..he was on cameroons side while the rest of us ribbed him because we were england supporters lol..

Well good luck to him. My loathing for lotas and my love for hard working and honest candidates are on equal terms. I hope he wins.

Voter Turnout

1970-63%
1977-63%
1985-53%
1988-44%
1990-46%
1993-40%
1997-36%
2002-42%
2008-44%
2013-55%
2018-???

Highest: 1970 & 1977 (63%)
Lowest: 1997 (36%)

I voted in 85 election as 3 year old my dad mentioned it recently that he took me and helped me vote :69:

I was wondering ke tusi kithe ghayab hogae welcome back :))

Hahah...by the way I am expecting more turnout in Punjab this election based on a solid voter turnout in most areas of Rawalpindi. I'd say around 65% in Punjab is achievable (it was 58.5% last time). The overall turnout figure would be dragged down by Baluchistan (particularly with the unfortunate suicide bombing in the most densely populated city of the province) and former FATA areas. I'd say an estiamte of 50% would be accurate for an overall turnout.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Big match day feels, and the top players of Pakistan are out to play the winning knock. Wasim Akram spotted out at a polling station along with his mother to cast his vote. He declared his support for Kaptaan. It is important that you step out and vote too! <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BallayPeThappa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BallayPeThappa</a> <a href="https://t.co/wjgUrMxnlp">pic.twitter.com/wjgUrMxnlp</a></p>— PTI (@PTIofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial/status/1022059965253668864?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 25, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Which of these four new faces are you supporting and why?<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DawnElections?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DawnElections</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ElectionPakistan2018?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ElectionPakistan2018</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanElections2018?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakistanElections2018</a> <a href="https://t.co/yvEmVpI07g">pic.twitter.com/yvEmVpI07g</a></p>— Dawn.com (@dawn_com) <a href="https://twitter.com/dawn_com/status/1022068352628473856?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 25, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
Interesting bio for each candidate.

Hahah...by the way I am expecting more turnout in Punjab this election based on a solid voter turnout in most areas of Rawalpindi. I'd say around 65% in Punjab is achievable (it was 58.5% last time). The overall turnout figure would be dragged down by Baluchistan (particularly with the unfortunate suicide bombing in the most densely populated city of the province) and former FATA areas. I'd say an estiamte of 50% would be accurate for an overall turnout.

Reports of high turnout in Karachi but than the low turnout in interior sindh will balance it in the end. 50% means more then 50 million votes and last time we had 45 million votes

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Which of these four new faces are you supporting and why?<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DawnElections?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DawnElections</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ElectionPakistan2018?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ElectionPakistan2018</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanElections2018?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakistanElections2018</a> <a href="https://t.co/yvEmVpI07g">pic.twitter.com/yvEmVpI07g</a></p>— Dawn.com (@dawn_com) <a href="https://twitter.com/dawn_com/status/1022068352628473856?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 25, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
Interesting bio for each candidate.

JN is the only option.

Just came back after casting my vote and doing a general round up of various polling stations. Great turnout from what I saw. Lets hope its gets even better now with just 2 hours left.

PTI has huge support in NA-54. Though there is vote for PML-N and MMA (Mian Aslam), Asad is way ahead.

NA 54 and 53 should be comfortable for PTI. I think NA-52 will lean PML-N, but wont be surprised if PTI takes this too.

Just came back after casting my vote and doing a general round up of various polling stations. Great turnout from what I saw. Lets hope its gets even better now with just 2 hours left.

PTI has huge support in NA-54. Though there is vote for PML-N and MMA (Mian Aslam), Asad is way ahead.

NA 54 and 53 should be comfortable for PTI. I think NA-52 will lean PML-N, but wont be surprised if PTI takes this too.

Who is this Mian Aslam guy? Heard he is a jamaatiya but quite strong in Islamabad

Reports of high turnout in Karachi but than the low turnout in interior sindh will balance it in the end. 50% means more then 50 million votes and last time we had 45 million votes

Why is the turnout low in Sindh? In all the elections in recent years, Interior Sindh used to outpoll Karachi in terms of turnout.

I personally don’t hate him. I just don’t like the people he’s gathered around him.

I have come to the conclusion that due to mass ignorance stubbornness and close mindedness of people the end justifies the means in this case. We are in a desperate state. Someone has to come and shatter the cycle of Military rule, PPP and PMLN dominance. Once it is shattered many other positive things might be possible in the future.

Or can you come up with 272 alternative electables who are honest, pious, with a clean sheet and are known among the population?

The rest of Imran's action will be scrutinized when he becomes the PM and it's time to walk the talk.

Looks like Imran Khan is winning easily based on accounts here.

Hearing that many areas in Punjab had heavy rain. Weather has only cleared now, so turnout increasing in those areas. Also hearing of a surge in KPK.

Who is this Mian Aslam guy? Heard he is a jamaatiya but quite strong in Islamabad

He is deputy ameer of JI, one of the richest candidates in Pak. He owns a massive poultry business. He became established in Islamabad politics since he won NA-48 in 2002.

Why is the turnout low in Sindh? In all the elections in recent years, Interior Sindh used to outpoll Karachi in terms of turnout.

I get the feeling that Sindhis may not be so enthusiastic about PPP anymore, but don't see any viable alternatives either.

Looks like Imran Khan is winning easily based on accounts here.

Don't. Just please don't.

Based on social media and forums in 2013 everybody said the same thing and we all know what happened.

Forums and social media support means very little.

It's all about the ground.

That's just a projection with a considerable margin for error.

Don't think their exit poll is sponsored by anyone like their polls were. Could mean they have less money, they said they are doing polling on 100-200 polling stations, can't remember the exact figure. Not sure how accurate it will be given how things can vary from polling station to polling station.

PMLN are about to call a press conference.

They are angry that polling time hasn't been extended until 7pm.

They have started their dhandli chants.

Despite being a very very clean election day, these crooks are gonna paint it is the most rigged election in history. :facepalm:

This is for every one.

ECP should consider extending the time at 5, after evaluating rush outside polling stations.

I have come to the conclusion that due to mass ignorance stubbornness and close mindedness of people the end justifies the means in this case. We are in a desperate state. Someone has to come and shatter the cycle of Military rule, PPP and PMLN dominance. Once it is shattered many other positive things might be possible in the future.

Or can you come up with 272 alternative electables who are honest, pious, with a clean sheet and are known among the population?

The rest of Imran's action will be scrutinized when he becomes the PM and it's time to walk the talk.

I have appreciated one of his candidates who is contesting from NA-242. As I said, I don’t hate Imran personally. I hate the lotas he has gathered around himself. The whole point of voting is to scrutinise and then elect the candidates in front of you. You can’t break the cycle of Military rule by surrounding yourself around those electables who have been benefiting from this cycle for years. Yes I agree, you cannot gather 272 pious men or women, but you should always strive to get morally strong candidates. Lotas will always have dubious morality.

He is deputy ameer of JI, one of the richest candidates in Pak. He owns a massive poultry business. He became established in Islamabad politics since he won NA-48 in 2002.

oh ok so he is one of those candidates like Abbasi who made their careers out of MMA in 2002. Interesting to see JI also got these super rich candidates otherwise rich candidates try their best to join big parties maybe he is jamaatya since college days.

Election staff are also human, They are working overtime in hot conditions too. The decision to extend time is not going to reach majority of polling stations either because no one is allowed to take mobile inside even election commission staff.

Respect
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="tl" dir="ltr">Pakistan Zindabad <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WazeereAzamImranKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#WazeereAzamImranKhan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NA244AliZaidiKa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NA244AliZaidiKa</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Election2018?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Election2018</a> <a href="https://t.co/M2OPn3ujve">pic.twitter.com/M2OPn3ujve</a></p>— Ali Haider Zaidi (@AliHZaidiPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/AliHZaidiPTI/status/1022057836472426496?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 25, 2018</a></blockquote>

Don't think their exit poll is sponsored by anyone like their polls were. Could mean they have less money, they said they are doing polling on 100-200 polling stations, can't remember the exact figure. Not sure how accurate it will be given how things can vary from polling station to polling station.

165 polling stations from a total of 85,307 in the country or 0.20%. Therefore their projections have an unbelievably wide margin of error.

Yup, exactly. Exit polls are harder to get right than opinion polls IMO, especially in a place like Pakistan. Turnout is definitely not going be less than 55%.

This is for every one.

ECP should consider extending the time at 5, after evaluating rush outside polling stations.

ECP has already said the polling time would be 8 am to 6 pm - an hour longer than previous elections with a provision to go till 7pm for the people inside the PS at closing time. Don't think another hour is justifiable. But then again turnout is effected in central and north-eastern Punjab due to a heavy rain system creeping in from the Indian side.

He has been contesting from this seat for a while so yeah he has his support. Won in 2002 and in 2013 he got 25000 or so votes.

NA-54 includes the rural belts of g-12 etc and JI and PMLN are strong there.

Javed Hashmi won with 75000 and Asad Umar got 50000 later when the seat was vacated. So yeah, should be a safe seat.

He has been contesting from this seat for a while so yeah he has his support. Won in 2002 and in 2013 he got 25000 or so votes.

NA-54 includes the rural belts of g-12 etc and JI and PMLN are strong there.

Javed Hashmi won with 75000 and Asad Umar got 50000 later when the seat was vacated. So yeah, should be a safe seat.

53 and 54 are looking safe for PTI lets see what comes out of NA52 Raja Khurram seat