Politics - Pakistani 2018 General Election and post-election discussion

Which will be the top party after the upcoming general elections?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">We have not made any such demands. Mr. Arif Malik from <a href="https://twitter.com/dawn_com?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@dawn_com</a> is a responsible person and should have contacted us. <a href="https://t.co/DLz7Cjibfl">https://t.co/DLz7Cjibfl</a></p>— Moonis Elahi (@MoonisElahi6) <a href="https://twitter.com/MoonisElahi6/status/1023501098152341505?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 29, 2018</a></blockquote>

Maybe PML-Q will settle for some ministry in Punjab?

Interesting. Maybe this whole thing is just media hype then. Our media do like to dramatize everything :))

Congrats post number 10,000!

Alhamdulillah Bro.

It's been a great thread. You've been one of the main reasons why I'm still here Mian Bro otherwise it was mainly the election period that I was planning on hanging around.

But thanks to you Bro, Hussain Bro, Waseem, DrSohail,Syed and others I might stay whilst Imran builds Naya Pakistan inshallah.

Looking at Sindh results, I think we should ditch GDA for the next election, or just adjust on a max of 3-4 seats. We won a good share of votes in Sukkur, Dadu, Tharparkar, and Hyderabad. Inshallah, come next election, we will have put up a good performance in federal, KPK, and Punjab government, we will have done a good job in Karachi. Mark this post, if we do all that, we will expand in urban Sindh, make inroads in interior Sindh and form Sindh government.

Nazir Jutt family cost us 2 NA and 3 PP seats :facepalm: thanks to their greed resulting in a 3 way fight

Exactly. I literally cursed out loud when I saw the results of these two Vehari NA seats. The votes they sapped up were actually in excess of the margin between PTI and PMLN candidates.

Also, very surprised about the Hirajs losing the two NA seats in Khanewal.

Both Khanewal and Vehari have significant Punjabi population, which might have gone against PTI on the whole South Punjab issue because if SP province forms they will play second fiddle to the Seraikis.

Interesting. Maybe this whole thing is just media hype then. Our media do like to dramatize everything :))

Ch Bros are punching above their weight. They need to get realistic because if Khan Sahib decides to go back to the polls in a year or so time and there is no seat adjustment, they will be wiped out.

I think there is some internal conflict. JKT gave Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui a call, and they tentatively agreed to get into a coalition government. Now Faisal Subzwari says they won't join. A little while ago, there was news from an insider source that MQM are considering joining the government, but will wait to see if PML-N and PPP take oath or not.

I think they are playing safe, and maybe are waiting to see if they can get any benefit out of the situation. Otherwise, they will most likely come around and join the government.

There is conflict on PTI side as well. SMQ was on a phone call with TV channel last night where he said "MQM ke kuch log jaraim pesha hain".

This JKT and SMQ is going out of hand. SMQ's insecurities are damaging PTI.

Ch Bros are punching above their weight. They need to get realistic because if Khan Sahib decides to go back to the polls in a year or so time and there is no seat adjustment, they will be wiped out.

Dont believe the media hype; no evidence of Chaudhrys being too demanding. PTI looks relaxed so may be everything is in control.

There is conflict on PTI side as well. SMQ was on a phone call with TV channel last night where he said "MQM ke kuch log jaraim pesha hain".

This JKT and SMQ is going out of hand. SMQ's insecurities are damaging PTI.

Either he will accept his situation or leave PTI in the coming months. This cannot continue forever.

True, he might even do it in an attempt to get closer to a two-thirds majority in the NA, so he can actually create South Punjab.

Just a majority will do. Just winning an election is a great achievement but you have 2 major family businesses whose living is dependent on winning elections, it will be incredibly difficult to win again. He is starting on the back foot with the economy and that is what decides elections.

NOTE : Tweets and posts from verified accounts are allowed.From the unverified accounts,only those tweets or posts are allowed which are from accounts of known people/institutions.Thank you.

Pti and IK can't risk it without years in government and proving their worth. Next election you can bet that the number of parties will be a lot less with everyone joining hands to stop Pti. In KPK pti took majority seats because they all split the votes. A grand alliance between PPP PMLN and MMA will form if another election is held soon. Better if all institutions are strengthened and the thieves become ineligible to stand for elections before we go to another elections.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">With mew members joining <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PTI?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PTI</a> Alhamdolillah, it now has 132 members in the Punjab Assembly, the highest from any party. <br>The game is over for PMLN. <a href="https://t.co/HVAyIKvnel">pic.twitter.com/HVAyIKvnel</a></p>— PTI (@PTIofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial/status/1023553369816944641?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 29, 2018</a></blockquote>

Latest position is that we have 132 seats in Punjab assembly, just 10 short if we include PML-Q seats.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">With mew members joining <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PTI?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PTI</a> Alhamdolillah, it now has 132 members in the Punjab Assembly, the highest from any party. <br>The game is over for PMLN. <a href="https://t.co/HVAyIKvnel">pic.twitter.com/HVAyIKvnel</a></p>— PTI (@PTIofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial/status/1023553369816944641?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 29, 2018</a></blockquote>

Latest position is that we have 132 seats in Punjab assembly, just 10 short if we include PML-Q seats.

How many needed for Punjab government?

I always wonder what is benefit in it for JKT... When he wasn't disqualified I could understand that he might be hopeful of Punjab CM or some important ministry but now that isn't the case. So what is the reason he is working so hard for IK?

Still 10 shot even after including pml Q .. where are those 10 seats going to come from.. forward block in pmln is becoming more and more significant..

I always wonder what is benefit in it for JKT... When he wasn't disqualified I could understand that he might be hopeful of Punjab CM or some important ministry but now that isn't the case. So what is the reason he is working so hard for IK?

I think he's an honest guy who wants to give his everything for the cause of naya Pakistan. He's doing it for Imran Khan and Pakistan.

The situation is still not clear. Recounts are in still in progress over several PP seats, including 4 in DG Khan of which 3 were won by PTI and 1 by an Ind. Two PP seats in Gujranwala are also being recounted on the request of PTI candidates.

The Punjabi voter was split down the middle and evenly voted for Noon and PTI... Had there been sizeable number of seats for other parties we wouldn't even had this problem at the moment

I think among the top level leadership, JKT and CS are the most sincere with Imran's cause while the biggest liability is SMQ. His insecurity in the face of the JKT juggernaut has seen him undermine the party both before and after the elections.

Goes without saying, but I hope PTI does NOT give into people who want all this recounts, reelections etc. PTI may win, or there may be Dhandli and PTI might lose. Any weakness will lead to everyone asking for a reelection.

I saw yesterday a PTI candidate say he had no problem with reelection in Fazlu's seat. Issue is, if Fazlu somehow wins, then there will be no control at all.

Start his own dynasty..... Imran won't be around forever, these guys will inherit the throne.

This is how the Sharifs started.

Just my opinion.

The situation is still not clear. Recounts are in still in progress over several PP seats, including 4 in DG Khan of which 3 were won by PTI and 1 by an Ind. Two PP seats in Gujranwala are also being recounted on the request of PTI candidates.

Another issue is that a lot of PMLn MPA elects were summoned by NAB before 25th. They are not safe as far as I know and PTI candidates already campaigning as they expect by-election in 4 months time.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I just spoke to <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> and congratulated him on the victory in parliamentary elections. We both agreed to overcome the past and to lay a new foundation for a prosperous political, social and economic future of both countries <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Afghanistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Afghanistan</a> and <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a>.</p>— Ashraf Ghani (@ashrafghani) <a href="https://twitter.com/ashrafghani/status/1023521607711707137?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 29, 2018</a></blockquote>

I'm honestly not comfortable with them at all. I prefer not to get into government with these religious parties as we are going to have to make some big compromises, and going with MMA will damage PTIs votebank too.

Well it’s just for the time being till we get back our lost seats. Also Imran Khan is not looking to change any religious laws so Maulvis should not have any problem.

[MENTION=130419]shah_1[/MENTION] [MENTION=147379]Maverick84[/MENTION] [MENTION=147106]PakWarrior[/MENTION]

Good old constitution comes to the rescue :)

So to conclude, we do not need 272 seats, we just need more than 50% of present members in the Assembly to vote for Imran Khan as PM.

Therefore, we are absolutely safe.

That’s good but we will have trouble to pass laws in first 100 days.

So what about South Punjab province? When is PTI going for that? Maybe Shah Mahmood Qureshi could be the CM of SP.

IK could keep SMQ busy this way.

Total PTI MPAs in PA: 138 including Q-league and newly-joined independents.

Q league haven't joined PTI yet and have made no such announcement. It is expected that they will but it's not official yet.

So take out Q league from your tally.

If this happens Hamza Shahbaz will become the CM of north punjab.

How? It could take a year to get it done. Till then PTI would have had its CM for Punjab (north). The only remaining debate will be who will be cm of South Punjab where PMLN is nowhere (no majority).

Yes Hamza could benefit from this from 2023 onwards. But even that is not sure yet as PTI hasn't even started yet.

How? It could take a year to get it done. Till then PTI would have had its CM for Punjab (north). The only remaining debate will be who will be cm of South Punjab where PMLN is nowhere (no majority).

Yes Hamza could benefit from this from 2023 onwards. But even that is not sure yet as PTI hasn't even started yet.

I believe PMLN has more seats in the northern part and they can immediately go for a revote and bring in their own CM.

The funding for Punjab will be split (hopefully 50/50 but sadly unlikely) so I'm guessing being CM of north Punjab won't be as lucrative as being CM of Punjab currently is.

PTI will not have the numbers to retain the CMship.

Alhamdulillah Bro.

It's been a great thread. You've been one of the main reasons why I'm still here Mian Bro otherwise it was mainly the election period that I was planning on hanging around.

But thanks to you Bro, Hussain Bro, Waseem, DrSohail,Syed and others I might stay whilst Imran builds Naya Pakistan inshallah.

Thanks for your words brother you and all others have been a great asset for this thread! We are thinking about converting this thread into Pakistani Politics threads instead of closing it.

If you remove seats of South Punjab, PMLN will be in complete majority. They can remove any PTI appointed CM with a vote of no confidence and then install their own.

Exactly. I literally cursed out loud when I saw the results of these two Vehari NA seats. The votes they sapped up were actually in excess of the margin between PTI and PMLN candidates.

Also, very surprised about the Hirajs losing the two NA seats in Khanewal.

Both Khanewal and Vehari have significant Punjabi population, which might have gone against PTI on the whole South Punjab issue because if SP province forms they will play second fiddle to the Seraikis.

I think PTI deserve a little blame too we were too soft for come electables like Tahir Sadiq while being too hard for others.

Yea Khanewal was a surprise but thank God Syed Fakhar Imam was an Ind and still ended up in PTI after winning against us.

[MENTION=146984]awan_from_soon[/MENTION]

[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION]

[MENTION=147106]PakWarrior[/MENTION]

[MENTION=133865]hussain.r97[/MENTION]

sorry if i miss someone

Great work guys i was just lurker from 25 july but have enjoy very good analysis and discussion:14::14::14:

If you remove seats of South Punjab, PMLN will be in complete majority. They can remove any PTI appointed CM with a vote of no confidence and then install their own.

if punjab is split then there will be fresh provincial elections in both north and south. None of the current provincial assembly seats will count.

I still remember when he was in PMLF back in Musharraf times he was the first to stand in NA and asked everyone to declare assets and also asked govt to implement agriculture tax starting from him because he himself is one of the biggest agriculturist.

Thanks for your words brother you and all others have been a great asset for this thread! We are thinking about converting this thread into Pakistani Politics threads instead of closing it.

Bro it is my humble request to the Pakpassion team to create a separate section on this forum called Pakistan Politics.

This thread can be moved there and made sticky and then it can be made unsticky once Imran has taken oath.

We can then use that politics section to talk solely on Pakistan politics.

Leave the time pass as it is.

I can guarantee that creating a separate sub section called Pakistan Politics will bring in a whole new wave of even more educated and insightful posters who will contribute greatly to it.

These guys are probably just browsing the forum as guests and aren't joining as the time pass section I believe makes them feel hesitant even though this thread has been a success.

Now that Pakistan Politics has been given a new sense of zeal by Imran's victory this should be done now asap to capture all these browsing guest posters.

Kindly can mods and admin take note of my request and give a comment and do this request?

If this happens Hamza Shahbaz will become the CM of north punjab.

For now, south punjab will get administrative status of province where we will have an administrator with powers equivalent to CM but officially CM Punjab will still be CM Punjab (South & North).

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Gujrat city still celebrating <a href="https://t.co/Ede5KgyUux">pic.twitter.com/Ede5KgyUux</a></p>— Moonis Elahi (@MoonisElahi6) <a href="https://twitter.com/MoonisElahi6/status/1023593178182701057?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 29, 2018</a></blockquote>

This kinds of answers who PML-Q are going with.

For now, south punjab will get administrative status of province where we will have an administrator with powers equivalent to CM but officially CM Punjab will still be CM Punjab (South & North).

That could do PTI a lot of good.

1. They would be honoring their promise (unlike other parties who just talk big)
2. SMQ could be kept happy.
3. Less stress for Cm Punjab as he/she could focus more on the north or other general issues in the province.

Is such an arrangement allowed in the constitution? Having an unelected "administrator"/(Chief Commissioner?) assume the powers of a political office.

sorry if i miss someone

Great work guys i was just lurker from 25 july but have enjoy very good analysis and discussion:14::14::14:

You missed me.. JK. I also joined PP just because of this thread. Very unbiased pti supporters. Thats the best thing about them.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Gujrat city still celebrating <a href="https://t.co/Ede5KgyUux">pic.twitter.com/Ede5KgyUux</a></p>— Moonis Elahi (@MoonisElahi6) <a href="https://twitter.com/MoonisElahi6/status/1023593178182701057?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 29, 2018</a></blockquote>

This kinds of answers who PML-Q are going with.
It’s on every news channel that PML q is in alliance with pti.

sorry if i miss someone

Thanks brother i hope you enjoyed humaare masoomana tajziay :D

Bro it is my humble request to the Pakpassion team to create a separate section on this forum called Pakistan Politics.

This thread can be moved there and made sticky and then it can be made unsticky once Imran has taken oath.

I can guarantee that creating a separate sub section called Pakistan Politics will bring in a whole new wave of even more educated and insightful posters who will contribute greatly to it.

These guys are probably just browsing the forum as guests and aren't joining as the time pass section I believe makes them feel hesitant even though this thread has been a success.

Now that Pakistan Politics has been given a new sense of zeal by Imran's victory this should be done now asap to capture all these browsing guest posters.

Kindly can mods and admin take note of my request and give a comment and do this request?

Good suggestion [MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION] please consider

Is such an arrangement allowed in the constitution? Having an unelected "administrator"/(Chief Commissioner?) assume the powers of a political office.

It will be interesting if its tested in court. I would also go further a create one for Pothowar. The region as a whole is more educated both the other 2.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Excellent decision by ECP to upload all form 45's on website. This is the kind of transparency we need to enhance public confidence.</p>— Asad Umar (@Asad_Umar) <a href="https://twitter.com/Asad_Umar/status/1023606324205158402?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 29, 2018</a></blockquote>

sorry if i miss someone

Thanks for the appreciation! :)

Seems like Pml-N, PPP and MMA are mulling to form a coalition govt. in center. If that happens then that would be the beginning of the end for Pakistan. God save Pakistan.

Very good suggestion. I myself joined PP just because of this thread and solely post in it. Excellent, active crowd here. Previously, I was on Siasat.pk but the threads there rarely pick up and not a lot of good posters get a chance to post before the threads fades into oblivion.

Seems like Pml-N, PPP and MMA are mulling to form a coalition govt. in center. If that happens then that would be the beginning of the end for Pakistan. God save Pakistan.

No they are not. PPP has rejected a coalition with PMLN at the federal level and is actively campaigning for making Bilawal the leader of the opposition.

[MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION] is the man to ask.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Imran Khan outperforms his party's support when it comes to who voters think would be the best PM. <a href="https://t.co/vfgyXN1zLO">pic.twitter.com/vfgyXN1zLO</a></p>— Roshan Pakistan Opinion Polling (@RoshanOpinion) <a href="https://twitter.com/RoshanOpinion/status/1023621306644881410?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 29, 2018</a></blockquote>

Who voted for Zardari :133: