Politics - Pakistani 2018 General Election and post-election discussion

Which will be the top party after the upcoming general elections?

How the hell could you have a cabinet of PTI with Shahbaz or Zardari as PM? That's fricking dysfunctional.

It should not even have been a possibility. A proper joke lol.

Will take [MENTION=147106]PakWarrior[/MENTION]'s suggestion into consideration (thanks for the feedback) but if I'm honest, the main issue is that most of Time Pass' activity is related to politics anyway.

How the hell could you have a cabinet of PTI with Shahbaz or Zardari as PM? That's fricking dysfunctional.

It should not even have been a possibility. A proper joke lol.
Seems like Pml-N, PPP and MMA are mulling to form a coalition govt. in center. If that happens then that would be the beginning of the end for Pakistan. God save Pakistan.

No they are not. PPP has rejected a coalition with PMLN at the federal level and is actively campaigning for making Bilawal the leader of the opposition.

They want to come up with their own speaker and deputy speaker from opposition. They are campaigning for that not for PM they know very well what it means to go against people choice.

Will take [MENTION=147106]PakWarrior[/MENTION]'s suggestion into consideration (thanks for the feedback) but if I'm honest, the main issue is that most of Time Pass' activity is related to politics anyway.

ok maybe rename this thread into Pak Politics or something?

Better off just adding politics to the forum name as political posts are a lot around election but die down rest of the time so change the name to Time Pass, Politics & Sports

ok maybe rename this thread into Pak Politics or something?

Have changed to a more generic title. But we will need new thread for the PM, eventually :ik

Better off just adding politics to the forum name as political posts are a lot around election but die down rest of the time so change the name to Time Pass, Politics & Sports

Yes, I thought of that too and it's under consideration.

Thanks Bro.

I can assure you that with Imran's victory a new generation and a wave of intelligent and passionate posters are wanting to talk and be a part of Pakistan Politics more than ever before.

A time pass section is great but now it will not do justice to the disucssion, and the vast depth of discussion, that many of us and lurking guest posters want to get involved in.

Be it Imran's and our Naya Pakistan in general, the economy, health, education etc, one single thread and generalized time pass section cannot do justice to that and the type of discussion it will bring.

Just look at the wave of youngsters who are now getting involved in Pakistani politics discussion as they see a new hope for Pakistan.

A separate Pakistan Politics section will also bring in so many Pakistani's from around the world. From various background and ages.

They all ready to discuss Pakistan Politics like never before.

So Bro please open a new separate Pakistan Politics sub section.

It would be greatly appreciated.

[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] [MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION]

Guys, when will IK be sworn in as PM? Why is it taking so long?

I have to appreciate all of you guys. I've been getting more news from here than the news channels. Now I think I have developed this new found appreciation and interest in Pak politics. Before the election times, I was all about Wallstreet Journal.

[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] , [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] let me take us back too the day when PTI first announced tickets.

Why exactly ? PTI is committing a harakiri through a daylight robbery by Aleem Khan and SMQ.

IK came with a message but it was delivered door to door by PTI workers. For common masses, for years, these very workers have been representatives of IK. Bond between IK and Public was established through efforts of his workers and people have a strong affiliation with them and they are major part of the brand we call PTI. Make no mistakes, without them, PTI would have been a one season wonder.

Go through the final lists and try finding the "PTI-Group". You will see only "PMLn/q group" or "PPP group". That could have been understandable if "PTI-group" had weaker candidates but surprisingly their stronger candidates have been rejected in favour of weaker candidates of other groups.

As I write, "PTI-group" from few cities are going to press against these lists. That's a confirmed news.

Central Punjab was Aleem Khan territory. He selected WRONG candidates for tickets.
He should never be in race for CM. Visionless.

No money corruption involved in Ticket decisions.
Hearing some news that money corruption was used in Surveys conducted by PTI.
[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] , Who is this Shoaib Siddiqi ? Sources telling Siddiqi received billions for manipulating PTI-conducted surveys for some seats in Punjab. Who is Shoaib Siddiqi ? Anyone here with an insight into him ?

His PP seat, This is one PTI seat I am happy we lost. Leechers.
[MENTION=146984]awan_from_soon[/MENTION] , Baba Makki Madni got 50k votes as independent, PTI candidate got 60K. Thanks to Aleem Khan we lost it.

Aleem Khan may have been a good worker, good businessman but he isn't a good manager/visionary. Shouldn't be anywhere near to CM house.

I have to appreciate all of you guys. I've been getting more news from here than the news channels. Now I think I have developed this new found appreciation and interest in Pak politics. Before the election times, I was all about Wallstreet Journal.

IK developed this interest in us otherwise most of us had no interest at all in Pak politics and it wasPPP vs PMLN so i am glad if we are giving it back to others what we got from IK.

Yeeh cheez. App ka syasi tajizye aur shehat ki malomat on another level bro

lol here you go

arytzkhxvwnze0lurvhi

[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] , [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] let me take us back too the day when PTI first announced tickets.

Central Punjab was Aleem Khan territory. He selected WRONG candidates for tickets.

[MENTION=146984]awan_from_soon[/MENTION] , Baba Makki Madni got 50k votes as independent, PTI candidate got 60K. Thanks to Aleem Khan we lost it.

Aleem Khan may have been a good worker, good businessman but he isn't a good manager/visionary. Shouldn't be anywhere near to CM house.

Good call brother Aleem decisions in Central Punjab cost us big time and from what i heard IK isn't happy with him.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">جھنگ۔مسلم لیگ ن کے رہنماء سابق صوبائی وزیر قانون رانا ثناء اللہ صاحب کی قائد اہلسنت علامہ محمد احمد لدھیانوی صاحب اور نو منتخب ایم پی اے جھنگ مولانا معاویہ اعظم طارق صاحب سے ملاقات ۔پنجاب میں مسلم لیگ کی حکومت بنانے میں معاونت مانگی <a href="https://t.co/Zgj9ikK4l6">pic.twitter.com/Zgj9ikK4l6</a></p>— ASWJ Official (@ASWJPak) <a href="https://twitter.com/ASWJPak/status/1023609637168455685?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 29, 2018</a></blockquote>

Yeh lo jee. Rana sahab ka naya Hajj?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">جھنگ۔مسلم لیگ ن کے رہنماء سابق صوبائی وزیر قانون رانا ثناء اللہ صاحب کی قائد اہلسنت علامہ محمد احمد لدھیانوی صاحب اور نو منتخب ایم پی اے جھنگ مولانا معاویہ اعظم طارق صاحب سے ملاقات ۔پنجاب میں مسلم لیگ کی حکومت بنانے میں معاونت مانگی <a href="https://t.co/Zgj9ikK4l6">pic.twitter.com/Zgj9ikK4l6</a></p>— ASWJ Official (@ASWJPak) <a href="https://twitter.com/ASWJPak/status/1023609637168455685?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 29, 2018</a></blockquote>

Ch Sarwar was criticized a lot for visiting and meeting Muavia so let's see how desi liberols react now :yk

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">BREAKING: <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PPP?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PPP</a> will NOT support SS in Punjab & may unconditionally back <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PTI?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PTI</a> while setting in opposition. <br><br>Game really OVER for <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PML?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PML</a>-N <br><br>گیدڑ شیر کی کھال پہن کر شیر نہیں سکا</p>— Jan Achakzai (@Jan_Achakzai) <a href="https://twitter.com/Jan_Achakzai/status/1023608360556548098?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 29, 2018</a></blockquote>

Keep it this way... Too many subdivisions in the forum aren't good

Good call brother Aleem decisions in Central Punjab cost us big time and from what i heard IK isn't happy with him.

You heard it right. AFAIK IK had this session with Aleem Khan today where Aleem was questioned about majority of his-choice losing.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">BREAKING: <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PPP?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PPP</a> will NOT support SS in Punjab & may unconditionally back <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PTI?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PTI</a> while setting in opposition. <br><br>Game really OVER for <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PML?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PML</a>-N <br><br>گیدڑ شیر کی کھال پہن کر شیر نہیں سکا</p>— Jan Achakzai (@Jan_Achakzai) <a href="https://twitter.com/Jan_Achakzai/status/1023608360556548098?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 29, 2018</a></blockquote>

In a long run, there has to be An opposition and PMLn may just disintegrate. AZ won't bet on a sinking ship that PMLn is.

I was expecting this and posted earlier i had a feeling PPP will unconditionaly support us in NA and Punjab just to be in good books of new PM

Yeah, a three-way fight screwed things up there. If Baba was given the ticket like it was done originally, we would have 1 lac+ votes, and a real shot at the seat.

I was expecting this and posted earlier i had a feeling PPP will unconditionaly support us in NA and Punjab just to be in good books of new PM

Yeah I had a similar feeling despite all its faults PPP is a political party though and Zardari is not a political lightweight. You will see many PTI bills pass through the NA assembly with ppp support as long as not related to strengthening federal government and weakening provincial. PPP has actually done better than last election and PMLN/Sharifs getting destroyed gives them better chance to make inroads into punjab to compete with Pti rather than get sidelined as the 3rd party in the next election again.

Lol look at his face and body language. I really feel PMLN is losing their battle for Punjab if their former law minister has to endure uncomfortable photo sessions with radicals for a single MPA's support.

Quality of the source? No channel is currently running this.

I saw this coming. Zardari isn't stupid, supporting PML-N doesn't do PPP any good. Supporting PTI is much better for their public image, and it puts them in PTIs good books too.

Yeah I had a similar feeling despite all its faults PPP is a political party though and Zardari is not a political lightweight. You will see many PTI bills pass through the NA assembly with ppp support as long as not related to strengthening federal government and weakening provincial. PPP has actually done better than last election and PMLN/Sharifs getting destroyed gives them better chance to make inroads into punjab to compete with Pti rather than get sidelined as the 3rd party in the next election again.

Completely agree they got 10 extra seats this time so they only gained from this GE just like PTI while PMLN is losing ground in Punjab so PPP will try to fill the gap i am expecting them to help us in senate as well on bills where they can gain public support without losing much.

Lol look at his face and body language. I really feel PMLN is losing their battle for Punjab if their former law minister has to endure uncomfortable photo sessions with radicals for a single MPA's support.

Or could be the last push they need. Though I doubt it

Completely agree they got 10 extra seats this time so they only gained from this GE just like PTI while PMLN is losing ground in Punjab so PPP will try to fill the gap i am expecting them to help us in senate as well on bills where they can gain public support without losing much.

I know it’s between a rock and a hard place but AZ is the other side of the NS coin.

[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] if PPP support PTI on South Punjab, what do you think are the chances that a group within PML-N will vote against their party in Punjab assembly for the creation of South Punjab?

Brothers,

I can confirm that we are on the verge of forming gov'ts in Punjab and Balochistan.

We already have KP.

All will be finalized in the next 48 hours.

Regarding Punjab:

Hamza Shabaz met around 4 independent MNA's today in his office and they are more than likely to join him.

With PMLQ joining we need another 10 MNA'S which we should get by Tuesday afternoon inshallah.

Thanks Bro.

I can assure you that with Imran's victory a new generation and a wave of intelligent and passionate posters are wanting to talk and be a part of Pakistan Politics more than ever before.

A time pass section is great but now it will not do justice to the disucssion, and the vast depth of discussion, that many of us and lurking guest posters want to get involved in.

Be it Imran's and our Naya Pakistan in general, the economy, health, education etc, one single thread and generalized time pass section cannot do justice to that and the type of discussion it will bring.

Just look at the wave of youngsters who are now getting involved in Pakistani politics discussion as they see a new hope for Pakistan.

A separate Pakistan Politics section will also bring in so many Pakistani's from around the world. From various background and ages.

They all ready to discuss Pakistan Politics like never before.

So Bro please open a new separate Pakistan Politics sub section.

It would be greatly appreciated.

I'll agree with this. I think to have a separate subsection for Politics would definitely be better.

Or could be the last push they need. Though I doubt it

Maybe. But the body language isn't indicative of that. He wouldn't have been so defensive in his posturing if he knew he had broken through with the final MP. He would be more open, and maybe would have even cracked a wry smile. But no, based off this reading, things aren't looking so fine.

[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] you hit the nail on the head regarding PPP unconditionally supporting PTI while sitting in the opposition in both NA and PA. Excellent foresight.

Personally, I don't think PPP would be that bad of a party if they can dissociate themselves from a few bad eggs they are carrying, starting with there "chairman", Asif Zardari. It's about time that Bilwal is no longer a pseudo chairman and actually starts taking more responsibility. There is potential he can lead PPP into a new era, but as I said above he is going to have to let off some of the extra baggage he's carrying in the party.

Also, again great job everyone seems like since IK has won, this has really ignited a new wave of posters who are interested in Pakistani politics. I personally, since election day, have been in this thread more than the cricket forum (which is rare for me). Also, ithna IK kei victory sei josh/interest hei, raat ko bei randomly es thread ko update kaliyi check kara hotha hun (hoping koi maza ki news ai ho, especially PPA lol).

[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] if PPP support PTI on South Punjab, what do you think are the chances that a group within PML-N will vote against their party in Punjab assembly for the creation of South Punjab?

I am not sure but i don't think they can vote against their party after 18th amendment and for creation of new province you need 2/3 voting so even remaining absent not gonna work.

Brothers,

I can confirm that we are on the verge of forming gov'ts in Punjab and Balochistan.

We already have KP.

Regarding Punjab:

Hamza Shabaz met around 4 independent MNA's today in his office and they are more than likely to join him.

With PMLQ joining we need another 10 MNA'S which we should get by Tuesday afternoon inshallah.

This is bad news.

Brothers,

We already have KP.

Regarding Punjab:

I think PTI has had 9 MPs join them so far. PMLN only getting 4 on their side since election day is quite indicative of where the independents are inclined.

So, in numbers game, if 9 have joined PTI and 4 are taken by PMLN, we still have 17 more to go. This will go down to the wire.

However, with PMLQ's 8 MPs, and rumors of PPP unconditionally supporting PTI with their 6 MPs, the number game is almost up. Meanwhile, PMLN would have to have all of the remaining 17 inds on their side to stand a chance. A tall ask with JKT juggernaut in full steam.

Damn, congrats to everyone for hitting the 10k post mark! :ds

Especially [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] [MENTION=133865]hussain.r97[/MENTION] [MENTION=147106]PakWarrior[/MENTION] [MENTION=146984]awan_from_soon[/MENTION]

Is mein se adhay tou Mian shahab ke khud hi hain... :yk

Brothers,

We already have KP.

Regarding Punjab:

That's odd, independents normally don't join opposition parties. Must have been given some real big incentives :13:

We should get those 10 MNAs sorted quite easily. 4 from BAP, 3 from BNP, 2 from GDA, 1 from JWP. Also don't see MQM opposing us, they are going to come around, I still think this drama is just to see if they can gain something from the situation.

I think PTI has had 9 MPs join them so far. PMLN only getting 4 on their side since election day is quite indicative of where the independents are inclined.

So, in numbers game, if 9 have joined PTI and 4 are taken by PMLN, we still have 17 more to go. This will go down to the wire.

However, with PMLQ's 8 MPs, and rumors of PPP unconditionally supporting PTI with their 6 MPs, the number game is almost up. Meanwhile, PMLN would have to have all of the remaining 17 inds on their side to stand a chance. A tall ask with JKT juggernaut in full steam.

He is saying MNA's are joining. Which is not a good thing, was hoping all independent MNAs would join PTI.

If true, it seems that PPP are doing this to get rid of corruption and money laundering cases.

[MENTION=146984]awan_from_soon[/MENTION]

[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION]

[MENTION=147106]PakWarrior[/MENTION]

[MENTION=133865]hussain.r97[/MENTION]

sorry if i miss someone

Great work guys i was just lurker from 25 july but have enjoy very good analysis and discussion:14::14::14:

As Mian bhai said, credit goes to Imran Khan. If PTI didn't exist now, we would be seeing PPP making a big comeback this election, Bilawal would be the PM-elect, and none of us would care about Pakistani politics.

If people like us are discussing Pakistani politics, it's because of Imran Khan.

That's odd, independents normally don't join opposition parties. Must have been given some real big incentives :13:

We should get those 10 MNAs sorted quite easily. 4 from BAP, 3 from BNP, 2 from GDA, 1 from JWP. Also don't see MQM opposing us, they are going to come around, I still think this drama is just to see if they can gain something from the situation.

He is saying MNA's are joining. Which is not a good thing, was hoping all independent MNAs would join PTI.

I think he misspelled MPA as MNA because right above where he wrote it down, he says "Regarding Punjab". And his subject matter in the post was regarding provincial governments.

Didn't someone say we should try not reach 10000 until Imran Khan takes oath? :yk
[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] bhai, time to delete about 1000 posts from the beginning the the thread :))

He probably means MPs. If MNAs are joining N league then we are doomed.

I think he misspelled MNA as MPA because right above where he wrote it down, he says "Regarding Punjab". And his subject matter in the post was regarding provincial governments.

Oh ok, that's good. MNAs joining would be really bad! 4 MPAs is not so bad, one of those will be Najam Sethi's wife, another is the ASWJ guy, which we really don't want.

Didn't someone say we should try not reach 10000 until Imran Khan takes oath? :yk
[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] bhai, time to delete about 1000 posts from the beginning the the thread :))

hahaha [MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION] mentioned we are going to have a new thread for PM sahab.

Yeah, this thread has really picked up steam ever since we have had a positive election. At this pace, and with all the drama regarding coalitions, we are going to hit 15k by IK's oath. :))

Chalo koi baat nahi, lets aim for 20k mark for his oath taking ceremony ;) [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] bro can achieve this :)

I think he misspelled MPA as MNA because right above where he wrote it down, he says "Regarding Punjab". And his subject matter in the post was regarding provincial governments.

Got you, phewww, the joining of 4 MNAs would have caused a lot of headaches for PTI.