Politics - Pakistani 2018 General Election and post-election discussion

Which will be the top party after the upcoming general elections?

If true, it seems that PPP are doing this to get rid of corruption and money laundering cases.

I don't think this is a quality source because I have specially listened to the 12 am bulletin on ARY for corroboration and there wasn't even a peep regarding PPP's position on Punjab govt.

Yeah, this thread has really picked up steam ever since we have had a positive election. At this pace, and with all the drama regarding coalitions, we are going to hit 15k by IK's oath. :))

let's aim for 11,111 post to be IK taking oath.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">After PTI clarification now pics of Rana Sanaullah of <a href="https://twitter.com/pmln_org?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@pmln_org</a> meeting ASWJ to seek support doing rounds. Is this <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/VoteKoIzzat?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#VoteKoIzzat</a> dena by shaking hands with those who are responsible of bloodshed of 1000s. 2 yrs ago I confronted him on this issue. Watch here <a href="https://t.co/uPWP0VK4un">https://t.co/uPWP0VK4un</a> <a href="https://t.co/FjoI83ruMo">pic.twitter.com/FjoI83ruMo</a></p>— M. Jibran Nasir (@MJibranNasir) <a href="https://twitter.com/MJibranNasir/status/1023660588042469380?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 29, 2018</a></blockquote>

Here we go. This is the ASWJ guy who has joined PML-N.

There was such outrage when Ch Sarwar went to meet him, there was such outrage. The meeting was not on PTIs behalf, and PTI did not offer him to join.

Now he has joined PML-N, let's see if the same level of outrage is shown by people.

Brothers,

I can confirm that we are on the verge of forming gov'ts in Punjab and Balochistan.

We already have KP.

All will be finalized in the next 48 hours.

Regarding Punjab:

Hamza Shabaz met around 4 independent MNA's today in his office and they are more than likely to join him.

With PMLQ joining we need another 10 MNA'S which we should get by Tuesday afternoon inshallah.

Breaking news I am reading PTI is not in the Balochistan government. It is HDP, BNP, and BAP.

Didn't someone say we should try not reach 10000 until Imran Khan takes oath? :yk
[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] bhai, time to delete about 1000 posts from the beginning the the thread :))

We are aiming for a bigger number!

Breaking news I am reading PTI is not in the Balochistan government. It is HDP, BNP, and BAP.

This is not good, what caused this to happen? Considering we are also going to have an alliance with BAP at the federal level, leaves a bad taste.

Damn, congrats to everyone for hitting the 10k post mark! :ds

Especially [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] [MENTION=133865]hussain.r97[/MENTION] [MENTION=147106]PakWarrior[/MENTION] [MENTION=146984]awan_from_soon[/MENTION]

Congrats too bro to you and every contributor in this thread!

According to 92 and dunya news 11mpas have joined pti. First four then seven which brings their tally to 134?without PMLQ.

In another news Maulana and Maryam are desperate to form a coalition government without PTI. They want to see imran out.

I hope this isn't true, PTI need to be part of government there to gain a foothold in Balochistan, and help oversee things there. This is not good, and if it's true, I feel like it's a move by BAP and BNP to prevent PTI from establishing itself in Balochistan.

In another news Maulana and Maryam are desperate to form a coalition government without PTI. They want to see imran out.

Public already accepted Imran as PM so any act like that will result in more damage for oppositions.

Not gonna happen, there is no way PPP will join hands with them. Joining hands with PML-N and MMA now is going to destroy any party's chances in the next election.

These guys are hilarious. My favorite video by them.

They have their official channel as Rang Productions on YT.

This is my 2nd favorite:

Sheru is seraiki i think i saw his video ad for a PTI candidate from DG Khan and he was speaking really good Seraiki.

Yes they are brothers from DG Khan currently living in Lahore. Their names are Aun Ali Khosa and Ali Sher Khosa (Sheru).

I also don’t see happening but Zardari can do anything for PMship.

Hence why he won't join now. No point in being PM or President of such a weak coalition of parties. Zardari is smart, and the entire PPP campaign has been about launching Bilawal into politics to prepare him for 2023 and 2028. He knows well that if he joins PML-N now, the public will hate PPP, and PTI will win the next election by a landslide.

If he stays quiet now and stays in PTIs good books, PPP will most likely make a comeback in 2023.

[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] you hit the nail on the head regarding PPP unconditionally supporting PTI while sitting in the opposition in both NA and PA. Excellent foresight.

Personally, I don't think PPP would be that bad of a party if they can dissociate themselves from a few bad eggs they are carrying, starting with there "chairman", Asif Zardari. It's about time that Bilwal is no longer a pseudo chairman and actually starts taking more responsibility. There is potential he can lead PPP into a new era, but as I said above he is going to have to let off some of the extra baggage he's carrying in the party.

Also, again great job everyone seems like since IK has won, this has really ignited a new wave of posters who are interested in Pakistani politics. I personally, since election day, have been in this thread more than the cricket forum (which is rare for me). Also, ithna IK kei victory sei josh/interest hei, raat ko bei randomly es thread ko update kaliyi check kara hotha hun (hoping koi maza ki news ai ho, especially PPA lol).

Thanks bro i know the nature of PPP they try their best to play as champions of democracy (if in result it's not hurting them).

And same here i am on PP just for Time Pass section and the updates and discussion in this thread otherwise i left cricket section a long time ago btu will be more active there before next year WC.

I've told you PTI are about to form govt in Balochistan.

PTI will be joining the parties mentioned in your post.

Not really, it looks like what I said. ANP, HDP and BAP with direct quotes from their press conference which happened an hour or so ago, so it does look like no PTI in Balochistan.

I also don’t see happening but Zardari can do anything for PMship.

Stealing PTI's mandate this time around will mean essentially wiping yourselves off the political map in 2023.

Maulana is on a suicide path because he isn't in the parliament. yesterday, he was babbling about not taking oaths and both PMLN and PPP rejected him. I am sure MMA elects would also ditch him. There was a video yesterday of an MMA candidate who won from Qilla Saifullah. He said these elections were fair and only those who previously got elected using unfair means are crying.

I am sure PPP and PMLN will stay in opposition. PPP is even working towards making Bilawal as opposition leader. They are taking full advantage of PMLN's focus on Punjab.

The Hazara Democratic Party (HDP) and Awami National Party (ANP) on Sunday pledged their support to the Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) for the formation of a coalition government in Balochistan.

"We pledge our complete support to the Balochistan Awami Party for the formation of the forthcoming government in Balochistan," HDP Chairman Khaliq Hazara announced while addressing a joint press conference alongside BAP and ANP leaders in Quetta.

Hazara said that the party's efforts will be geared towards resolving the issues faced by the people of the province.

"HDP has never supported the spread of religious propaganda. Our doors are open to everyone," he said.

Asghar Achakzai, the provincial chief of ANP, said his party had decided to support BAP in the interest of the people of Balochistan.

"We have no personal desire for supporting BAP, other than to get the objectives of our masses achieved," Achakzai said. "We will strive for equal development in the province."

ANP and HDP were previously in an alliance with Balochistan National Party (BNP)-Mengal during the election campaign but have now parted ways.

"Our only purpose is to see Balochistan prosper. The province does not belong to just one party, but to all of them," said BAP President Jam Kamal Khan Alyani, expressing his desire to see the province granted it's due rights by the federation.

"The BAP with its allies has now secured 23 seats," Alyani said. He expressed confidence that the number will see a rise in the coming days.

With the inclusion of independent candidates who had joined BAP following the July 25 results, the number of BAP legislators in the Balochistan Assembly rose to 18 out of a total of 51 general assembly seats excluding reserved seats.

Additionally, Awami National Party (ANP) had secured 3 while the Hazara Democratic Party (HDP) had won 2 seats in the Balochistan Assembly.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1423672

Oh well, good luck to them.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Top Five priorities of PTI<br><br>1) Human Resource Development<br>2) Educational, Health & institutional reforms<br>3) Effective local bodies system<br>4) Fair distribution of economic resources<br>5) Unbiased and effective accountability mechanism</p>— Team Senator Sarwar (@TeamSarwar) <a href="https://twitter.com/TeamSarwar/status/1023671237485191168?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 29, 2018</a></blockquote>

Stealing PTI's mandate this time around will mean essentially wiping yourselves off the political map in 2023.

Maulana is on a suicide path because he isn't in the parliament. yesterday, he was babbling about not taking oaths and both PMLN and PPP rejected him. I am sure MMA elects would also ditch him. There was a video yesterday of an MMA candidate who won from Qilla Saifullah. He said these elections were fair and only those who previously got elected using unfair means are crying.

I am sure PPP and PMLN will stay in opposition. PPP is even working towards making Bilawal as opposition leader. They are taking full advantage of PMLN's focus on Punjab.

You know what's hilarious? One one seat MMA candidate won against Achakzai and now both Achakzai and Head of MMA Fazlu are calling it dhaandla :))

I would like to see that happen. Bilawal as opposition leader would be far better than anyone from PML-N, we might see some actual ideological debates in the National Assembly.

The Hazara Democratic Party (HDP) and Awami National Party (ANP) on Sunday pledged their support to the Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) for the formation of a coalition government in Balochistan.

"We pledge our complete support to the Balochistan Awami Party for the formation of the forthcoming government in Balochistan," HDP Chairman Khaliq Hazara announced while addressing a joint press conference alongside BAP and ANP leaders in Quetta.

Hazara said that the party's efforts will be geared towards resolving the issues faced by the people of the province.

"HDP has never supported the spread of religious propaganda. Our doors are open to everyone," he said.

Asghar Achakzai, the provincial chief of ANP, said his party had decided to support BAP in the interest of the people of Balochistan.

"We have no personal desire for supporting BAP, other than to get the objectives of our masses achieved," Achakzai said. "We will strive for equal development in the province."

ANP and HDP were previously in an alliance with Balochistan National Party (BNP)-Mengal during the election campaign but have now parted ways.

"Our only purpose is to see Balochistan prosper. The province does not belong to just one party, but to all of them," said BAP President Jam Kamal Khan Alyani, expressing his desire to see the province granted it's due rights by the federation.

"The BAP with its allies has now secured 23 seats," Alyani said. He expressed confidence that the number will see a rise in the coming days.

With the inclusion of independent candidates who had joined BAP following the July 25 results, the number of BAP legislators in the Balochistan Assembly rose to 18 out of a total of 51 general assembly seats excluding reserved seats.

Additionally, Awami National Party (ANP) had secured 3 while the Hazara Democratic Party (HDP) had won 2 seats in the Balochistan Assembly.

A few years ago there was a period in Baluchistan when there was no opposition at all and everyone was a minister and sitting in govt :))

From what I know, BNP are also trying to make Akhtar Mengal CM, but it isn't working out for them. I feel like PTI will end up joining this BAP alliance, and BNP may end up sitting in opposition. Would be a better result for PTI as it would make them the second biggest party in the coalition, and hence more likely to get ministerial positions.

I hope they do but the above presser doesn't look like it!

Zardari wanted to be President because a President is safe for next 5 years by our constitution you can't take him to court or any trial.
So he will settle for that if they do indeed try to form a coalition government. That’s not a bad incentive. But PPP might get wiped out in next elections.

PPP are so stupid, if they get rid of Zardari alone they make their party better by almost ten times.

BAP leading government in Balochistan is very depressing news for anyone interested in this province.

Does anyone have any idea why PTI has failed to have any foothold in this province? It seems as if everyone is more interested in Punjab...

BAP leading government in Balochistan is very depressing news for anyone interested in this province.

Does anyone have any idea why PTI has failed to have any foothold in this province? It seems as if everyone is more interested in Punjab...

Tell me more? For me that province should be the most important for our country in the next years. I would hate it to be left alone to the vultures.

Zardari wanted to be President because a President is safe for next 5 years by our constitution you can't take him to court or any trial.

It's honestly a tough call, but I personally feel like it is very far-fetched.

Say PML-N and Zardari come to an agreement, then what?

Zardari is President, Shahbaz is Prime Minister, good for them.

But then, PML-N supporters will absolutely hate Shahbaz for shaking hands with Zardari, PTI supporters and non voters will hate both of them for denying PTIs mandate, the government will be weak and full of issues, a very rough 5 years.

Come 2023, everyone will hate PPP and PML-N even more than they do now and they will effectively we wiped off the map. Zardari would be safe for the 5 years as President, but after that he won't be. Either way, Zardari will be investigated in 5 years if not now, so what's the point? He might as well take his chances in opposition in order for PPP to survive rather than kill PPP off himself.

Tell me more? For me that province should be the most important for our country in the next years. I would hate it to be left alone to the vultures.

Many think Army is behind BAP and it's a creation of GHQ to control Baluchistan and Gwadar

So the most popular party elected by its people is bad for it?

Tell me more how you are a supporter of democracy

Many think Army is behind BAP and it's a creation of GHQ to control Baluchistan and Gwadar

Sorry, I forgot, the GHQ directs everything while the politicians are innocent doves. I expect that's what Loralai will say :))

It is absolutely vital for PTI to be part of the government. We can't fully hand it over to BAP, these people are the same old electables who have travelled from party to party, they will suck Balochistan dry. At least PTI being there will mean a couple of ministries go to them, and there will be someone in the ruling coalition who can keep things in check.

So the most popular party elected by its people is bad for it?

Tell me more how you are a supporter of democracy

I hope BAP proves me wrong, but they are effectively a party completely made up from PML-Q and PML-N electables, who simply travel from party to party in search of the best deal. These people have done nothing for Balochistan.

It's honestly a tough call, but I personally feel like it is very far-fetched.

Say PML-N and Zardari come to an agreement, then what?

Zardari is President, Shahbaz is Prime Minister, good for them.

But then, PML-N supporters will absolutely hate Shahbaz for shaking hands with Zardari, PTI supporters and non voters will hate both of them for denying PTIs mandate, the government will be weak and full of issues, a very rough 5 years.

Come 2023, everyone will hate PPP and PML-N even more than they do now and they will effectively we wiped off the map. Zardari would be safe for the 5 years as President, but after that he won't be. Either way, Zardari will be investigated in 5 years if not now, so what's the point? He might as well take his chances in opposition in order for PPP to survive rather than kill PPP off himself.
PMLN might be able to make a strong comeback if Mian sahab is out and Maryam nawaz heads the party.

PPP might get destroyed but Zardari might be able to survive another 5-10 year.

But after rejecting the results initially independents might not join them now. They are late.

If you shout “Azaad Umeedwar” in the mirror three times, you would see Jahangir Tareen behind you!

(copied)

image.png

Loving the sea of red in the National Assembly!

Maybe due to rural area and the holds the Sardars have in playing the Baluch card, the message of IK has no resonance.

How many independent MNAs have so far joined PTI? 1 from KPK i believe. Syed Fakhar Imam has assured his support but has not formally joined PTI.

As far Punjab MPAs are concerned, 6-7 have formally joined in Bani gala, while 2-3 expected tomorrow that should take the tally to 132-133. Add 7-8 PML Q, which i believe will definitely side with PTI, they are just bargaining for the biggest prize. So, that takes the total to 140.

Around 10 more needed. As per reports N has managed to get loyalties of 4 independent MPAs. It means out of 28 independents, 9-10 +4= 14 are already booked. Out of remaining 13-14 MPAs we need at least 9, If PPP's 6 are not supporting PTI.

How many independent MNAs have so far joined PTI? 1 from KPK i believe. Syed Fakhar Imam has assured his support but has not formally joined PTI.

I can't find a list anywhere, but I think 1 from KPK, 1 from Sindh, and a few from Punjab so far.

As far Punjab MPAs are concerned, 6-7 have formally joined in Bani gala, while 2-3 expected tomorrow that should take the tally to 132-133. Add 7-8 PML Q, which i believe will definitely side with PTI, they are just bargaining for the biggest prize. So, that takes the total to 140.

Around 10 more needed. As per reports N has managed to get loyalties of 4 independent MPAs. It means out of 28 independents, 9-10 +4= 14 are already booked. Out of remaining 13-14 MPAs we need at least 9, If PPP's 6 are not supporting PTI.

It is vital for us to get those 9 more MPAs anyway if we want a majority in Punjab government. Also, I think I saw a list, and PTI have booked 13 MPAs from Punjab, so 6 more to go in reality?

Maybe due to rural area and the holds the Sardars have in playing the Baluch card, the message of IK has no resonance.

Actually Baluchistan is a different case. There are 2 belts one is Puhstun and the other is Baloch. IK and PTI are popular in Puhstun areas that's how we won 1 NA seat against a big name like Achakzai without big effort and IK didn't even went to Baluchistan during campaign but in Baloch areas you need Sardars and our second seat from Baluchistan came from baloch belt because of Mir Zafarullah Khan Jamali who recently joined PTI and his family always end up winning that seat. We came close on 3rd seat of Sardar Rind (PTI's Baluchistan president) but lost it in a close fight.

What are the chances of 2 PTM Ind MNAs joining PTI? Remember we supported 1 of them in NA50 Ali Wazir the other is Mohsin Dawar

Actually Baluchistan is a different case. There are 2 belts one is Puhstun and the other is Baloch. IK and PTI are popular in Puhstun areas that's how we won 1 NA seat against a big name like Achakzai without big effort and IK didn't even went to Baluchistan during campaign but in Baloch areas you need Sardars and our second seat from Baluchistan came from baloch belt because of Mir Zafarullah Khan Jamali who recently joined PTI and his family always end up winning that seat. We came close on 3rd seat of Sardar Rind (PTI's Baluchistan president) but lost it in a close fight.

We need to do something for Baluchistan: We cant leave it to the vultures.

They've made inroads into Balochistan this election, goinf from 0 seats to 5 isn't a small feat.

I would like to see that happen. Bilawal as opposition leader would be far better than anyone from PML-N, we might see some actual ideological debates in the National Assembly.

why would he be better? we should be able to mop the floor with him..if we cant take him on and fail then we should hang our heads in shame..he wont be the opposition leader though..khwaja asif will be inmho if he has won his seat after the umpteenth recount..

Is it just me or anyone else also enjoying Shahbaz/Hamza vs Nawaz/Maryam camp fights overs Twitter from last few days? Man i am loving it Shahbaz being labeled as boot polishya while Shahbaz supporters accusing Maryam for destroying party with her narrative :))

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I believe there was a segment on Geo yesterday in which it was claimed that I had said there was no option except going to IMF! Absolutely false news. I had said no option including IMF is ruled out. I have said the same thing many times before and after elections</p>— Asad Umar (@Asad_Umar) <a href="https://twitter.com/Asad_Umar/status/1023551355175227392?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 29, 2018</a></blockquote>

why would he be better? we should be able to mop the floor with him..if we cant take him on and fail then we should hang our heads in shame..he wont be the opposition leader though..khwaja asif will be inmho if he has won his seat after the umpteenth recount..

We should be able to mop the floor with any of them, but I think Bilawal is good from the standpoint that there will be some genuine ideological debates. None of the others are capable of having a serious debate.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Pakistanis have towering expectations of <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a>'s government. <a href="https://t.co/dAnpWgJT7l">pic.twitter.com/dAnpWgJT7l</a></p>— Roshan Pakistan Opinion Polling (@RoshanOpinion) <a href="https://twitter.com/RoshanOpinion/status/1023692898246770688?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 29, 2018</a></blockquote>

I have thought Ansar Burney the human rights activist should be nominated for president, how many of you agree?