Politics - Pakistani 2018 General Election and post-election discussion

Which will be the top party after the upcoming general elections?

Wouldn't be that bad a deal if IK can make Zardari & Co. sign plea bargain for their crimes.

they should negotiate from a position of strength. All the money should be brought back and he should submit himself for trial. It will absolve Bilawal of any wrongdoing but zardari and any of his former ministers must hand themselves over for trial. End of.

Alliance with MQM has become neccesary after the “reverse rigging”, but let’s not kid ourselves - they will create plenty of problems for PTI and the blackmailing won’t stop.

Jahangir Tareen can buy their loyalties with the millions that he has made from insider trading and the sugar mill fraud, but their loyalty will come at a cost.

It appears that we will have a weak government in the center which is quite unfortunate, but it was on the cards because PTI won more seats than the army anticipated, which is why the system “crashed” as soon as they reached 124 seats, and that is when the reverse rigging took place.

Alliance with MQM has become neccesary after the “reverse rigging”, but let’s not kid ourselves - they will create plenty of problems for PTI and the blackmailing won’t stop.

Jahangir Tareen can buy their loyalties with the millions that he has made from insider trading and the sugar mill fraud, but their loyalty will come at a cost.

It appears that we will have a weak government in the center which is quite unfortunate, but it was on the cards because PTI won more seats than the army anticipated, which is why the system “crashed” as soon as they reached 124 seats, and that is when the reverse rigging took place.

The last few weeks have exposed you to being a clown...... but this....First rigging, then reverse rigging... what the hell!!

You can call me what you want, and post as many smilies as you wish, but I am not interested in exchanging pleasantries. I will simply quote my post from another thread:

The military wanted PTI to win around 90 odd seats so that they would form a weak government.

We need to understand that the military doesn’t care who forms the government; their only interest is to keep the government in check so that they can run the show from the background. They want a puppet PM.

They made a mistake by letting PML-N win overwhelming majority in 2013, and once Nawaz Sharif decided to stop dancing to their tunes, he became corrupt overnight and the whole country came to a standstill over a few apartments in the UK.

His corruption and his apartments existed in 2013 as well, but it wasn’t a problem as long as he was ready to work for the interests of the army. It is not a game of corruption; it is a game of power struggle.

However, people bought the relentless 5 year propaganda and PTI won a lot more votes than the army anticipated, which is why as soon as they reached 124 seats, the “system crashed” and they started to lose seats.

The election was engineered to help PTI form central government, but once the military saw that they were on their way to win overwhelming majority, they engaged in reverse-rigging to snatch some seats from PTI’s grasp.

If their seats wouldn’t have been reduced, PTI wouldn’t have had to form a controversial alliance with MQM after insulting them for years, and Imran would have taken oath by now.

It wouldn’t have been a problem if the military would have helped PTI win if they would have had PTI’s best interests at heart, but all they want is to maintain their unjustified control and dominance.

The people have clearly made a choice and gave Imran the chance he so richly deserves, but if Imran actually goes on to improve relations with India and Afghanistan as he stated in his victory speech, it won’t be long before the military puts anti-Imran propaganda in motion and leaves no stone unturned to derail his government.

What is going on guys? Imran Khan facing roadblocks on way to premiership.

The results of all five NA seats that Imran Khan won have been ordered to be put on hold by the ECP. If you are not an MNA, you cannot become the PM.

Don't think there's too much to worry about.

Seems like IK will be retaining his Mianwali seat which was a resounding win for him.

Imran vows all appointments in ‘Naya Pakistan to be based on merit’

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan has said that all appointments in the government-in-waiting would be based on merit.

Addressing PTI parliamentary members at an event held in Peshawar on Tuesday, he directed all elected members that “in the previous governments those who came into power put their own interests before the country’s”.

The prime minister-in-waiting went on to say that the upcoming government would always put the needs of the people before their own. “We’ll enforce strict accountability with each minster having to reach office on time and no discretionary funds for anyone,” he added.
The former cricket star said that the discretionary fund would be removed via legislation.

A committee, he said, would formed to decrease the expenditures of prime minister, president and other ministers as well.

Pakistan is facing a financial crunch with half of the country bereft of getting two meals a day, he added. “I’m sure that with hard work we can achieve our goals with me being a clear example of that.”

The lavish culture of ministers will be replaced by austerity measures, Imran said, adding that the new government would double the work in Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa and will look to strengthen the local government system and infrastructure.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1775454/1-imran-vows-appointments-naya-pakistan-based-merit/

Read somewhere on Twitter that Zardari has been trying to reach out to IK and has sent a message through his intermediaries that the PPP will fully support the PTI in the National Assembly against the PML-N and is prepared to bring back all the laundered money back to Pakistan in exchange for dropping the NAB and JIT cases against AZ and Faryal Talpur.

Hope IK lives up to his pre-electoral promises off "Main in logon ko choroon ga Nahin"

Not a bad deal when we know someone is an obsessive con man and will commit frauds in very near future to again provide occasions to trial him under law.

I wonder what are dimensions of "Plea Bargain" under NAB Law.

Most of what you said is right and kinda agree on some points but i believe and you also mentioned chances of them doing it to Pakistan are very low we are not Sri Lanka.

The chances of an ownership deal are low definitely, but the converse is true for a Chinese naval base at/near Gwadar.

I think the notifications of only two are put on hold. The notifications of the other 3 have been issued, though conditional.

You can call me what you want, and post as many smilies as you wish, but I am not interested in exchanging pleasantries. I will simply quote my post from another thread:

"The election was engineered to help PTI form central government, but once the military saw that they were on their way to win overwhelming majority, they engaged in reverse-rigging to snatch some seats from PTI’s grasp."

I definitely have an inclination towards believing this. But the rest, we will have to see.

The chances of an ownership deal are low definitely, but the converse is true for a Chinese naval base at/near Gwadar.

I think it was already going to happen? We had this agreement that China will build it's offshore naval base in Gwadar it was in news a year ro so ago.

Winning the election was just the first step to power for IK. Now actually comes the harder part as people expectations are extremely high and a slight misstep will see another fall of a democratic government in Pakistan. But Occam's razor suggests that ecp a pakistani government department was incompetent too many assumptions are needed for most conspiracies of election fraud for or against PTI. Btw the apartment issue started because of the panama papers which didn't have anything to do with the so called establishment.

Thank you both. I almost missed this news! The SCMP resource was great.

And the base is to be built at Jiwani which is about a 100 km from Gwadar. Jiwani is closer to the Hormuz lanes and has a better projection into the sea, meanwhile it allows for a separation between the commercial and military activities. It would be really bad if the Chinese were building a naval base on Gwadar port.

Thank you both. I almost missed this news! The SCMP resource was great.

And the base is to be built at Jiwani which is about a 100 km from Gwadar. Jiwani is closer to the Hormuz lanes and has a better projection into the sea, meanwhile it allows for a separation between the commercial and military activities. It would be really bad if the Chinese were building a naval base on Gwadar port.

Yea with a base in Lanka and also sitting in East Asia and now into Arabian sea i guess we are getting the idea what China is planning for our perosis bros :yk

For CM Punjab we heard names of Aleem Khan, Fawad, Dr Yasmin, Mian Aslam and Sibtain Khan.

It seems that Mian Aslam and Dr Yasmin are now out of the race.

[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] Still no confirmation on CMs and key cabinet posts?

Just rumors so far and IK is hiding his cards from everyone! He is not even watching TV these days where candidates are running their own campaigns for CMship and ministries through different anchors :))

For CM Punjab we heard names of Aleem Khan, Fawad, Dr Yasmin, Mian Aslam and Sibtain Khan.

It seems that Mian Aslam and Dr Yasmin are now out of the race.

Raja Yasir of Chakwal and Tahir Sadik of Attock were also in race. Raja Yasir is still in race bur Tahir Sadik is out. PTI won most of their MPA seats from North and South of Punjab so there is a chance of CM coming from there. Mian Aslam, Aleem and Dr Yasmin all are from central punjab and the groups within party can resist.

Aleem went 2 NAB 2 days ahead of the date when they asked him to come with answers :)) I think he want to get a clean chit

Raja Yasir of Chakwal and Tahir Sadik of Attock were also in race. Raja Yasir is still in race bur Tahir Sadik is out. PTI won most of their MPA seats from North and South of Punjab so there is a chance of CM coming from there. Mian Aslam, Aleem and Dr Yasmin all are from central punjab and the groups within party can resist.

Aleem went 2 NAB 2 days ahead of the date when they asked him to come with answers :)) I think he want to get a clean chit

Bhai CM Punjab kon sa mamooli cheez ha.

Raja Yasir of Chakwal- what is his background?

You can nominate CM from central Punjab . precisely for the reason that PTI did not do very well here. Ministers will automatically belong to North and South.

Bhai CM Punjab kon sa mamooli cheez ha.

Raja Yasir of Chakwal- what is his background?

He is the grandson of famous Raja Sarfraz Khan. Yasir went to Aitchison and then to US for higher studies. He was District President of PTI Chakwal and NA candidate in 2013 ended up with 47k votes and this time he was on PP seat and won getting 77k votes.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is awesome. <a href="https://t.co/tevs3vBBev">pic.twitter.com/tevs3vBBev</a></p>— Sameera Khan (@SameeraKhan) <a href="https://twitter.com/SameeraKhan/status/1026843097051934721?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 7, 2018</a></blockquote>

Really looking forward to this.

Random shower thought:

Whenever a foreign leader or delegation comes they meet the PM at the PM house and that palace has plenty of boardrooms and meeting halls.

However, since IK is going to be living in a relatively modest minister's housing enclave, where would these meetings be held?

I understand we are a poor nation leken mehmaanon ke samnay apni thori izzat bhi tou rakhni hoti hai.

Random shower thought:

Whenever a foreign leader or delegation comes they meet the PM at the PM house and that palace has plenty of boardrooms and meeting halls.

However, since IK is going to be living in a relatively modest minister's housing enclave, where would these meetings be held?

I understand we are a poor nation leken mehmaanon ke samnay apni thori izzat bhi tou rakhni hoti hai.

I believe Asad Umar answered in one of the shows that IK will be using the PM secretariat for all official PM business

Random shower thought:

They will meet at PM's Office I guess.

Random shower thought:

They will meet at PM's Office I guess.

PM Secretariat is the answer. PM Secretariat is a different building.

Does it also have 5 gardens and 3 pools? :))

I guess more :yk it is based on mughal architecture

maxresdefault.jpg

PM House most likely can't be turned into a university or anything for the public because it is in the "red zone" in Islamabad. It is too much of a security risk, and it just doesn't make sense to have a university right beside the Supreme Court, Parliament, etc.

I was listening to Rauf Klasra, and he was saying that a better idea would be to turn it into a guesthouse for foreign dignitaries and leaders. Currently, there is no guest house in Islamabad, and the government have to rent a hotel. On top of being used as a guesthouse, they could also hold meetings with foreign leaders in there.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="da" dir="ltr">Shahzain Bugti announces support for Imran Khan<br> <a href="https://t.co/RptkDVHRMv">https://t.co/RptkDVHRMv</a></p>— Dawn.com (@dawn_com) <a href="https://twitter.com/dawn_com/status/1027050819248635904?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 8, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is awesome. <a href="https://t.co/tevs3vBBev">pic.twitter.com/tevs3vBBev</a></p>— Sameera Khan (@SameeraKhan) <a href="https://twitter.com/SameeraKhan/status/1026843097051934721?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 7, 2018</a></blockquote>

Really looking forward to this.

Is it true??

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="da" dir="ltr">Shahzain Bugti announces support for Imran Khan<br> <a href="https://t.co/RptkDVHRMv">https://t.co/RptkDVHRMv</a></p>— Dawn.com (@dawn_com) <a href="https://twitter.com/dawn_com/status/1027050819248635904?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 8, 2018</a></blockquote>

Yes he met IK yesterday at Bani Gala, and then he announced support to IK.

Imran Khan to have 'one hour of accountability' every week to answer public's questions

ISLAMABAD: Incoming Prime Minister Imran Khan avowed on Monday to bring a visible change in the style of governance by answering questions of Pakistanis for an hour, every week.

Addressing a gathering of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), the premier elect stated he has been handed colossal responsibility with the public expecting an innovation in the method of administration by the party, taking into account their outlook being perceived differently.

“The people don’t expect us to run the country in a traditional way,” said Khan.

Furthermore he added that if he is unable to bring novelty into the traditional format of politics, it would result in public outrage.

Treading ahead, the PTI chief vowed to reserve an hour each week to interact with the public and answer questions they send his way, terming it ‘one hour of accountability’.

The elected MNAs concluded their leaders talk by a round of applause.

https://www.thenews.com.pk/latest/351449-imran-khan-to

Is it true??

Yup, it's true.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Setback for <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SaadRafique?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SaadRafique</a> as <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SC?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SC</a> stays vote recount in NA-131<br>Read More: <a href="https://t.co/1AiWu1Tj74">https://t.co/1AiWu1Tj74</a> <a href="https://t.co/aOaLAb2qCM">pic.twitter.com/aOaLAb2qCM</a></p>— ARY News (@ARYNEWSOFFICIAL) <a href="https://twitter.com/ARYNEWSOFFICIAL/status/1027062102236848128?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 8, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Asad Umar share his plan regarding business opportunities for overseas Pakistani<br>in Pakistan <a href="https://t.co/s7f4b5hDkD">pic.twitter.com/s7f4b5hDkD</a></p>— Afzaal Akram Gujjar (@Afzaalchaudhry) <a href="https://twitter.com/Afzaalchaudhry/status/1027066390350573568?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 8, 2018</a></blockquote>

SC suspends LHC order for recount in NA-131, Lahore

ISLAMABAD: Suspending the Lahore High Court's (LHC) order to re-tabulate results of NA-131 constituency, the Supreme Court (SC) on Wednesday accepted PTI chief Imran Khan's petition against the ruling for hearing.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Khawaja Saad Rafique had petitioned for a recount in the closely contested NA-131 Lahore-9 constituency, from where Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan had emerged victorious. He had alleged that the presiding officer deliberately rejected hundreds of votes.

Bagging a total of 84,313 votes in the constituency, Imran had defeated Rafique by 680 ballots.

The PML-N leader had then requested the constituency's returning officer (RO) to conduct a recount of the rejected votes. Following the re-tabulation, Imran's margin of victory had reduced to 608 votes.

Later, Rafique had petitioned to re-tabulate results of the entire constituency which was rejected by the returning officer. The PML-N leader had then challenged the decision in LHC's election tribunal.

On August 4, the LHC heard Rafique's petition and ordered a recount in the constituency. The high court had also ordered the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) to withhold Imran's victory notification for NA-131.

Yesterday, the electoral body had notified all successful candidates but withheld those challenged in courts, including Imran's notification for the said constituency. The PTI legal counsel Babar Awan then contacted the apex court in this regard.

As the hearing went under way today, the Chief Justice of Pakistan Justice Mian Saqib Nisar said that NA-131's result had already been declared.

Rafique's legal counsel contended that a recount request is valid if the victory margin is less than five per cent.

"Notice of political speeches should be taken on appropriate forum," the top judge observed.

However, the apex court suspended LHC's ruling for re-tabulation and accepted Imran's plea for hearing.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/206554-sc-suspends-lhc-order-for-recount-in-na-131-l

PESHAWAR / ISLAMABAD: The opposition parties have launched protests against alleged rigging in the July 25 polls by blocking the Peshawar-Islamabad motorway and staging a demonstration outside the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) in Islamabad.

Workers belonging to Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA), Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Awami National Party (ANP) and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) have gathered outside the ECP office bringing Constitution Avenue in Islamabad to a standstill.

Former lawmakers including Saad Rafique, Javed Hashmi, Ahsan Iqbal, Yousuf Raza Gillani, Khawaja Asif, Mian Iftikhar and Qamar Zaman Qaira are participating in the demonstration outside the ECP.

In Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa, ANP and Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) supporters have blocked Peshawar-Islamabad motorway. The decision to stage a demonstartion was taken in a provincial meeting of JUI-F headed by party chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman on August 4. Rejecting the results of general polls, it announced to block all major roads of the province.

ANP had also directed its party workers to support demonstrations across K-P and outside the ECP.

According to the scheduled protests, party workers will block Indus Highway at Qureshi Chowk in DI Khan, Lakki Marwat and Tank districts will be blocked at Pezu. Dir, Paen, Swat and Chitral will be locked through Chakdara Bridge on Malakand Road while obstructing GT road in Akora Khattak will halt access to Nowshera.

Blockades at Rashkai and Swabi interchanges will derail M1 motorway while Shahra-e-Raisham will be jammed at Mansehra, Batgram and Kohistan.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/177598...stitution-avenue-peshawar-islamabad-motorway/

hahaha so Shobaz in the end didn't reach Islamabad to lead joint opposition dherna? :))) PPP be nazar nae aa rae lol yeh itehad abhi he kinaare lag gaya :))

Model-turned politician Abbas Jaffery vows to resign as MPA if PTI fails to deliver

KARACHI: Two-time winner of Lux Style Awards Best Model, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf’s (PTI) candidate, Abbas Jaffrey is all set to fulfill his responsibility as Member of Provincial Assembly (MPA).

The 26-year-old will be the youngest and the only MPA from showbiz background to have made to the Sindh assembly in these general elections from PS 125 – the strongest seat under the hold of Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM).

Jaffrey won his seat with 30,687 votes, whereas, his competitor Abdul Hasib of MQM garnered 26,818 votes.

However, the model-turned-politician thinks one of the reasons he managed to grab the MPA seat, well other than PTI’s popularity, was his female fan following.

Jaffery, in 2010, changed the quintessential model outlook with his unconventional cavemen appearance. Even in politics, he is all set to challenge the pseudo political system. “I am a positive man,” he told The Express Tribune. “I am born ready for everything. I want tasks,” he responded when asked if he’s ready to hold key positions in the Sindh assembly.

Clad in a crisp black kurta shalwar, the rather naïve politician sounded more like his leader Imran Khan. Sitting in party’s district central office at Karimabad, Jaffrey was visibly tired.

Posters of the 26-year-old model and other party leaders were plastered all around the walls. The young politician has been lingering on his wedding due to politics. Soon, he revealed, he’ll tie the knot.

His entire family lives abroad while he lives alone in Karachi. “I never left showbiz. My mother had an open heart surgery and my family lived in Paris, so I had to move there for a while,” he said adding that he’s still part of the showbiz industry and will try not only continue modelling along with the politics but would benefit the industry with his presence in the assembly.

“I want people to own our culture. I’ve seen how our culture is firstly owned abroad and then we adopt it. When our Peshawri chappal is endorsed by Paul Smith, we start adopting that,” he explained adding that he plans to form a council and promote Pakistani culture and fashion industry.

When asked why he joined PTI, Jaffrey spontaneously responded that it was the only party having presence in the entire country. He then added that the most important reason is the leader of his party, who he believes is stainless in all aspects.

Before getting elected as MPA, Jaffrey was already a senior vice president of district central Karachi and has served as culture secretary in Karachi cabinet of the PTI. Jaffrey also claims to have a Master’s degree in two disciplines; one in Political Science and other in Criminology from University of Karachi.

The model vows to start with the most basic issues such as civic, water and health.

Having little knowledge on 18th amendment and parliamentary politics, the newly elected MPA says that in Sindh local government could be empowered with pressure from the federal government. “When Imran Khan will be prime minister, there’ll be pressure from the federal government for legislation and they’ll be bound to work,” he said.

Jaffrey further said that he’s an active part of PTI on the basis of ideology. After Khan, Jaffrey’s favorite politician is Faisal Raza Abidi who was previously associated with PPP. “He’s bold and speaks on front. We’re bound by party policies, but he [Abidi] used to speak against the party policies,” he says, adding that he will resign if he and his party fail to deliver.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/177587...as-jaffery-vows-resign-mpa-pti-fails-deliver/

Imran to stay at Punjab CM House annexe after becoming PM

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf spokesperson Naeem-ul-Haque on Wednesday said Imran Khan will reside at the Punjab House chief minister annexe after taking oath as the prime minister.

Speaking to the media in the federal capital, Haque said he had visited the Punjab House chief minister annexe at Imran's behest. "Imran will reside at the annexe during the week and go to his personal residence over the weekends," he said.

In his first speech after PTI stood victorious in the July 25 polls, Imran had said he was likely to turn the Prime Minister House into an educational institute. "Our government will decide what we will do with the PM House. We want to turn it into an educational or public institution," he had said.

The PTI chief had also promised to convert governor houses into public spaces which would collect revenue.

'Ready to cooperate with protestors'
Commenting on the major opposition parties that are protesting in the federal capital, Haque said the PTI-led government was ready to cooperate if the protestors wanted to resolve the matter.

"The system installed by Election Commission of Pakistan is exceedingly faulty and requires to be overhauled," he said. "We will improve the system so the future elections can be conducted with ease and nobody gets a chance to complain."

'Not opposed to recount in NA-131'
The PTI spokesperson also discussed poll results of the NA-131 Lahore 9 constituency.

"We are not opposed to re-tabulation in NA-131," he said. "Five members of our party were ready for a recount. The issue of four other constituencies will also be resolved by tomorrow."

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Khawaja Saad Rafique—who lost the election to Imran from NA-131—had challenged the returning officer's decision to not open the entire constituency in the Lahore High Court (LHC). After the LHC had ruled in Rafique's favour, the Supreme Court suspended the former's verdict and ordered re-tabulation to be halted.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/206607-imran-to-stay-at-punjab-cm-house-annexe-after-becoming-pm

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">پنجاب کے وزیراعلٰی کے لیے ایک نیا نوجوان لارہا ہوں،عمران خان</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/1027150686847414272?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 8, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">پنجاب کے وزیراعلٰی کے لیے ایک نیا نوجوان لارہا ہوں، یہ نوجوان کلین ہوگا، اس پرکسی قسم کاکوئی سوالیہ نشان نہیں، عمران خان</p>— Ali Salman Alvi (@alisalmanalvi) <a href="https://twitter.com/alisalmanalvi/status/1027151229619789829?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 8, 2018</a></blockquote>

Nojavan? Raja Yasir written all over this statement.

Imran to stay at Punjab CM House annexe after becoming PM

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf spokesperson Naeem-ul-Haque on Wednesday said Imran Khan will reside at the Punjab House chief minister annexe after taking oath as the prime minister.

Speaking to the media in the federal capital, Haque said he had visited the Punjab House chief minister annexe at Imran's behest. "Imran will reside at the annexe during the week and go to his personal residence over the weekends," he said.

In his first speech after PTI stood victorious in the July 25 polls, Imran had said he was likely to turn the Prime Minister House into an educational institute. "Our government will decide what we will do with the PM House. We want to turn it into an educational or public institution," he had said.

The PTI chief had also promised to convert governor houses into public spaces which would collect revenue.

'Ready to cooperate with protestors'
Commenting on the major opposition parties that are protesting in the federal capital, Haque said the PTI-led government was ready to cooperate if the protestors wanted to resolve the matter.

"The system installed by Election Commission of Pakistan is exceedingly faulty and requires to be overhauled," he said. "We will improve the system so the future elections can be conducted with ease and nobody gets a chance to complain."

'Not opposed to recount in NA-131'
The PTI spokesperson also discussed poll results of the NA-131 Lahore 9 constituency.

"We are not opposed to re-tabulation in NA-131," he said. "Five members of our party were ready for a recount. The issue of four other constituencies will also be resolved by tomorrow."

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Khawaja Saad Rafique—who lost the election to Imran from NA-131—had challenged the returning officer's decision to not open the entire constituency in the Lahore High Court (LHC). After the LHC had ruled in Rafique's favour, the Supreme Court suspended the former's verdict and ordered re-tabulation to be halted.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/206607-imran-to-stay-at-punjab-cm-house-annexe-after-becoming-pm

Punjab house looks as lavish as PM house. Can somebody show us what the annexe looks like? Who normally uses Punjab house?

Punjab House is a palace itself. So Imran’s first promise has been broken - these cheap publicly and showbaazi of no protocol and VIP culture was always going to backfire.

Punjab house looks as lavish as PM house. Can somebody show us what the annexe looks like? Who normally uses Punjab house?

Punjab House is used by CM Punjab for political meetings and other stuff when he comes to Islamabad. There is a KP House, Punjab House, Sindh House and Baluchistan House for the CMs in Islamabad to do their political meetings, gathering etc whenever they come to the capital.

It was a stupid idea to be away from PM house, he could have saved loads of money even in the PM house as well.

All this showbazi is useless imo

Punjab House is used by CM Punjab for political meetings and other stuff when he comes to Islamabad. There is a KP House, Punjab House, Sindh House and Baluchistan House for the CMs in Islamabad to do their political meetings, gathering etc whenever they come to the capital.

so he will be sharing the property with the CM? where and how big is the annexe?

I still think he should have moved into the enclave..im dissapointed with this..

The Punjab house is pretty big. Still small compared to the PM house if I recall correctly but it's a Lavish palace. Imran wants to set an example but the reality of the situation demands differently. One thing Imran Khan desperately needs to learn is to have a plan in place before announcing his ambitions publicly. He could have consulted with the security forces and agencies before coming out in public to say that he will not be living in the PM house to save money and would move in to the Punjab house. Raising public expectations through 'bayan baazi' and then inevitably falling short has come to bite him in the back before. That too despite doing good work.

so he will be sharing the property with the CM? where and how big is the annexe?

I still think he should have moved into the enclave..im dissapointed with this..

It's a palace by all means. The PM house is much bigger though so one can say he has down scaled (technically). Also consider the fact that the Punjab house does remain empty most of the time we'll probably see large amounts saved by this move.

But I agree this is disappointing. Imran set the expectations too high with his speeches and bayan baazi but the reality of the situation demands he stay in a highly secure facility. From the news reports it's clear Imran wanted to get a house or a lodge in the enclave but the security forces convinced him against it.

Here's a video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M3JB79GEKCM

He was advised by agencies not to use a flat in minister enclave. He is going to stay in Bani Gala for 2/3 days every week and rest of the week he will using the bed room of Punjab House. He wanted to stay in Bani Gala just like now but the officers ruled out that option too because they can't protected the hills.

]There are flats which fall in the lowest category, but since necesary SOPs and protocol for prime minister could not be implemented there, the senior officers advised Mr Khan against using a flat and instead prefer a house to which Mr Khan agreed.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1424086

It's a palace by all means. The PM house is much bigger though so one can say he has down scaled (technically). Also consider the fact that the Punjab house does remain empty most of the time we'll probably see large amounts saved by this move.

But I agree this is disappointing. Imran set the expectations too high with his speeches and bayan baazi but the reality of the situation demands he stay in a highly secure facility. From the news reports it's clear Imran wanted to get a house or a lodge in the enclave but the security forces convinced him against it.

Here's a video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M3JB79GEKCM

He wanted a flat instead of house but since necesary SOPs and protocol for prime minister could not be implemented there, the senior officers advised him against using a flat and instead prefer a house to which he agreed.

Also consider the fact that the Punjab house does remain empty most of the time we'll probably see large amounts saved by this move.

True most of the time i saw Punjab house being used in last 5 years was when Ch Nisar had to do a press conf lol

This whole thing was very poorly handled by Imran Khan and PTI. They should have consulted with security forces before announcing this whole "no protocol", "no lavish house" thing. It comes across as immature, and it is now casting a huge shadow over the real issues.

It was obvious from the beginning that it simply isn't possible to give Imran Khan no protocol due to security reasons, his life is in danger and he needs adequate security.

I have lived in Punjab House and it is not big compared to Prime Minister's House. Below is a satellite view of Punjab House.

Punjab House.jpg

The area circled as 'A' is where I used to live (my dad was in the foreign service at the time.) Each building has about 10-12 one-bedroom flats. No kitchen - food is cooked by chefs. Ministers who come to Islamabad stay here.

The area circled as B is where Imran Khan is likely to stay. These are also more rooms plus conference rooms and offices. It looks grand from the outside but rest assured its all purpose build and always in use.

Now below is the Prime Minister's House

It is simply for the occupation of the Prime Minister. And all that land around it is exclusively for the PM. It is a true waste of resources.

PM House.jpg

Punjab House is in use regularly but we only hear about it when something important happens. the PM house is built for one man! and remember, PM secretariat is a separate building all together so its not as if PM house is a makeshift office as well.

- Punjab House already has a fully functional management staff, chef, guards, gardens, lights and gas bills are paid etc.

- Imran Khan will be saving around 2 billion rupees each year by not staying in the PM house. https://dunyanews.tv/en/Pakistan/45...an-Khan-to-save-Rs1.85b-annually-for-Pakistan

I have lived in Punjab House and it is not big compared to Prime Minister's House. Below is a satellite view of Punjab House.

View attachment 83204

The area circled as 'A' is where I used to live (my dad was in the foreign service at the time.) Each building has about 10-12 one-bedroom flats. No kitchen - food is cooked by chefs. Ministers who come to Islamabad stay here.

The area circled as B is where Imran Khan is likely to stay. These are also more rooms plus conference rooms and offices. It looks grand from the outside but rest assured its all purpose build and always in use.

Now below is the Prime Minister's House

It is simply for the occupation of the Prime Minister. And all that land around it is exclusively for the PM. It is a true waste of resources.

View attachment 83205

Punjab House is in use regularly but we only hear about it when something important happens. the PM house is built for one man! and remember, PM secretariat is a separate building all together so its not as if PM house is a makeshift office as well.

- Punjab House already has a fully functional management staff, chef, guards, gardens, lights and gas bills are paid etc.

- Imran Khan will be saving around 2 billion rupees each year by not staying in the PM house. https://dunyanews.tv/en/Pakistan/45...an-Khan-to-save-Rs1.85b-annually-for-Pakistan

I have been to both as well and you are right that nothing can compare to the Pm house it is a true palace.

But let's not act like Punjab house is built purely for utility either. Of all the governor houses Punjab is the most lavish one.

Like I said IK probably wanted a simpler house but he should have pushed harder for it. Despite being his supporter I'm going to call him out when I feel he made a wrong decision.

Imran Khan should have been vague when he talked about no protocol and not living in the PM house. He messed it up.

Even though he would be living outside the Punjab House’s main building but it would still be seen as living in the Punjab House. People only see things black and white.

More importantly who is this "Naujavan"(youngster) who is going to become the CM of Punjab.

Raja Yasir according to reports and here is his profile i posted earlier

He is the grandson of famous Raja Sarfraz Khan. Yasir went to Aitchison and then to US for higher studies. He was District President of PTI Chakwal and NA candidate in 2013 ended up with 47k votes and this time he was on PP seat and won getting 77k votes.

Darn, so they didn't announce the CM Punjab. 92 HD had said they would announce it today, I guess not :(

Why couldn't they stay in Bani Gala? IK has lived there for the last 15 years and during times when he became a high profile popular politician. If he never had security concerns there before then what would make it impossible to provide him with top notch security now?

The security forces did an assessment of Bani Gali to declare it as PM House but they deemed it to be too insecure and infact they would have to spend more to secure it for a sitting PM.

Not much from what i heard he is running a school chain and college. You can see his profile here (read the last 2 paragraphs) http://myers.edu.pk/bgnhist.html

Profile to solid hai boss.... a graduate in Computer and Information Science from University of Florida. IK always finds the most educated and competent people. However, as Punjab CM he would need to be rough and tough to handle the bureaucracy.

Haan rough or tough to kaheen se be nae lag raha but i think IK plan is to get a new face for CM in both Punjab and KP but appoint a rough and experienced guy as governor to make a good combination

5b2c1daa514cb.jpg

Haan rough or tough to kaheen se be nae lag raha but i think IK plan is to get a new face for CM in both Punjab and KP but appoint a rough and experienced guy as governor to make a good combination

5b2c1daa514cb.jpg

Bilawal is an Oxford graduate, but I wouldn't trust him to run anything :)

If you are rich enough, you can goto any university. Any you get to be competent in the subject area you studied.

What qualifies him to be CM of a province? what experience/political nouse is he bringing to the table?

Not a dig.... just interested in what makes him standout.

If Yassir endup being CM Punjab (as mentioned in report) this will be a very interesting story lol

Till 1 year ago JKT was our candidate for Punjab CMship: Disqualified

Ch Sarwar was adjusted in Senate so went out of the race too.

SMQ become front runner in the race of CMship before election: Endup losing PP seat and wins NA seat so no chance for him

Aleem Khan chances for being CM increase after winning PP seat: NAB starts a speedy investigation

Raja Yasir never applied for a PP ticket and his application was for NA ticket just liek 2013 but this time he wasn't given NA ticket and instead was forced to take PP ticket and now after winning his MPA seat he is fav for CMship :D

Allah is the best planner!

Bilawal is an Oxford graduate, but I wouldn't trust him to run anything :)

If you are rich enough, you can goto any university. Any you get to be competent in the subject area you studied.

What qualifies him to be CM of a province? what experience/political nouse is he bringing to the table?

Not a dig.... just interested in what makes him standout.

To be honest can't find much info about him and IK is left with only few choices in Punjab so he preferred to go with a new face. Aleem was the only rough and tought experienced candidate available after JKT, Ch Sarwar and SMQ but whole media and NAB is after Aleem Khan. Tahir Sadik was another experienced choice but the way he blackmailed party i think IK no more trust him

[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION]

Any interview of Mahmood Khan to have an idea of his personality?

Mahmood Khan was minister of sports and culture in Khattak's cabinet. He did masters in Agriculture.

maxresdefault.jpg