Politics - Pakistani 2018 General Election and post-election discussion

Which will be the top party after the upcoming general elections?

This is not the first time that Imran has made diabolical decisions in Punjab.

1. Giving tickets to the Khagga's in Pakpattan. Well known land grabbers.

2. Letting that guy who assaulted the actress Shabnam years ago into the party(thankfully he rectified this quickly).

3. Completely messed up ticket distribution in Sahiwal, Okara etc.

4. And now CM Punjab.

He relied on JKT and Aleem Khan for the above and they were bad bad decisions.

good speech.
really wish things get better for Baluchistan our neglected province.

gulistan ko jab bhi lahoo ki zaroorat pari
sab sai phlai he gardan hamari kati
phir bhi khtay hain mujh sai ye ahl e chaman
ye chaman hai hamara tumhara nahi

This is not the first time that Imran has made diabolical decisions in Punjab.

1. Giving tickets to the Khagga's in Pakpattan. Well known land grabbers.

2. Letting that guy who assaulted the actress Shabnam years ago into the party(thankfully he rectified this quickly).

3. Completely messed up ticket distribution in Sahiwal, Okara etc.

4. And now CM Punjab.

He relied on JKT and Aleem Khan for the above and they were bad bad decisions.

SMQ was more involved in Sahiwal and Okara ticket distribution.

Is letting Hamza Shahbaz win, and the voting him out in a vote of no-confidence an option?

At this stage, I don't know what is worse:

1.) Voting for a murderer, letting him take oath, make him step down, and then vote for a new candidate.

OR

2.) Letting the opposition you have fought hard against win, toppling their government, and then voting for a new candidate.

What a stupid decision.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Prime Minister Imran Khan has approved twenty member cabinet, the cabinet comprises on fifteen federal ministers and five advisers, The ministers shall take oath on Monday morning at President’s House</p>— Fawad Hussain (@fawadchaudhry) <a href="https://twitter.com/fawadchaudhry/status/1030791775810711552?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2018</a></blockquote>

good speech.
really wish things get better for Baluchistan our neglected province.

gulistan ko jab bhi lahoo ki zaroorat pari
sab sai phlai he gardan hamari kati
phir bhi khtay hain mujh sai ye ahl e chaman
ye chaman hai hamara tumhara nahi

This year is the first time I have heard Akhtar Mengal, and I really like him. I am glad that he's sitting with PTI, I hope they do good work for Balochistan together.

Imran needs to give his advisors a good hiding.

Also he needs to man up and admit his mistake.

Again if this news turns out to be true

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Name of ministers and portfolios <a href="https://t.co/txlLJ2UZZP">pic.twitter.com/txlLJ2UZZP</a></p>— Fawad Hussain (@fawadchaudhry) <a href="https://twitter.com/fawadchaudhry/status/1030794627543121920?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2018</a></blockquote>

Cabinet is out now

When is the address to the nation... And from what it seems Buzdar's appointment is turning out to be a farce. What a blunder. Hope it is rectified soon.

Shireen Mazari is a waste as Human Rights she should have been defense minister. I don't know how good would Khatak be in that role.

When is the address to the nation... And from what it seems Buzdar's appointment is turning out to be a farce. What a blunder. Hope it is rectified soon.

Some PTI leader says it'll be tomorrow or on Monday, probably in the evening.

Giving interior ministry to Fehmida Mirza is garbage decision

Involving Dr. Ishrat Hussian is good move, I wanted Dr Atta ur Rehman to be involved in higher education as well

Responsible for all internal affairs including security. And who goes on ECL.

Imran WILL BE IN CHARGE OF WHO GOES ON ECL!!!

Great decision.

Leading from the front! It's probably better that he looks after this one rather than trusting someone else with it.

Sheikh Rasheed wanted defence minstry but it's gone to Khattak.

He will not be happy about this.

Explanation coming from PTI.

Usman Buzdar was accused in the FIR but was cleared by the court after due investigation. Some of the others who were accused alongside him were convicted. The Diyat was paid by them and not Usman Buzdar. The representative said that the media was only showing the FIR and part of the judgement which said the case was settled through 'Diyat'. The full judgement makes it clear that Usman was not involved.

Explanation coming from PTI.

Usman Buzdar was accused in the FIR but was cleared by the court after due investigation. Some of the others who were accused alongside him were convicted. The Diyat was paid by them and not Usman Buzdar. The representative said that the media was only showing the FIR and part of the judgement which said the case was settled through 'Diyat'. The full judgement makes it clear that Usman was not involved.

Well I hope this is true, it would truly be a huge embarassment for PTI if he really did pay diyat.

So far MQM, GDA, PML-Q have all got one ministry each. I think MQM are due one more, and BAP are due one too?

Yes. These will probably be announced in the next few weeks.

Other alternative is that they will get advisory positions in cabinet which are still prestigious positions.

Yes. These will probably be announced in the next few weeks.

Other alternative is that they will get advisory positions in cabinet which are still prestigious positions.

Actually, MQM have been given two. Law minister is from MQM. I haven't heard of him, but reading his profile, he seems like a decent guy.

I believe Shiren Mazari is wasted there. She should have been given interior ministry portfolio. What are human rights minister’s job duties?

Why should she have been given the interior ministry which is perhaps the most important position in the cabinet which Imran has kept for himself.

Kindly explain why you think that she would have been given the interior ministry? Do you actually know what the interior ministry entails?

Mqm got two I think

Law and IT

Yup, probably good a good choice to give those two to MQM. Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui is a good guy, and I think he will do a decent job. I don't know much about the other guy, but judging from his profile, he seems decent.

Actually, MQM have been given two. Law minister is from MQM. I haven't heard of him, but reading his profile, he seems like a decent guy.

Farogh Naseem is a very very decent guy. If I'm not mistaken he either represented IK or Sheikh Rashid in a recent case as well. I was surprised to know that he was in MQM

That's positive news. All in all, PTI haven't had to compromise too much by joining hands with MQM.

Why should she have been given the interior ministry which is perhaps the most important position in the cabinet which Imran has kept for himself.

Kindly explain why you think that she would have been given the interior ministry? Do you actually know what the interior ministry entails?

Yes I do and because of her qualifications. She is highly educated and has been loyal to the party. She would have coordinated well with Imran Khan. Right now IK has to much in his plate. Prime Minstership, Punjab Cmship and interior Ministry. Need to spread portfolios.

Looks like many of the minstries will be kept by Imran Khan himself.

Housing
Planning and commision
Shipping and port
Energy and power
Commerce( through Abdul Razzaq)

Looks like many of the minstries will be kept by Imran Khan himself.

Housing
Planning and commision
Shipping and port
Energy and power
Commerce( through Abdul Razzaq)

The announcement was only for cabinet ministers. The rest of the ministries will be announced in due time.

I see for health it says "National Health Services"... Got me excited for a second are we going to get UK type NHS basic health coverage?

So far MQM, GDA, PML-Q have all got one ministry each. I think MQM are due one more, and BAP are due one too?

Ok, just realized that one of the ministers are from BAP. So that means all of the minor party positions have been delegated? The rest will go to PTI people now. Looks like 5 out of 20 people in cabinet will be from minor parties.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I want to make it clear I stand by our nominee Usman Buzdar for CM Punjab. I have done my due diligence over the past 2 weeks & have found him to be an honest man. He has integrity & stands by my vision & ideology of Naya Pakistan.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1030804804975685637?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2018</a></blockquote>

Reports are coming that the media have misquoted the reference against Usman Buzdar. He was cleared under investogation, he did not give diyat, but the other people under investigation did.

I see for health it says "National Health Services"... Got me excited for a second are we going to get UK type NHS basic health coverage?

Federal goverment hardly has a role after 18th amendment. This ministry has already existed before.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I want to make it clear I stand by our nominee Usman Buzdar for CM Punjab. I have done my due diligence over the past 2 weeks & have found him to be an honest man. He has integrity & stands by my vision & ideology of Naya Pakistan.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1030804804975685637?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2018</a></blockquote>

Reports are coming that the media have misquoted the reference against Usman Buzdar. He was cleared under investogation, he did not give diyat, but the other people under investigation did.
Hopefully this mess clears

Why would you go through all that pain to hire a controversial person who is nothing special. Could have easily hired Yasmeen Rashid or Mian Aslsm. Doesn’t make any sense. What does PTI see in him?

Well I guess we'll find out in the coming few weeks. If he is that incompetent, then there has to be some other motive. I hope he pleasantly surprises us.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This murder was a political issue related to our tribe, says Usman Buzdar<br>Watch Live: <a href="https://t.co/WzGiFMYqsz">https://t.co/WzGiFMYqsz</a> … … <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DunyaNews?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DunyaNews</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DunyaUpdates?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DunyaUpdates</a><a href="https://twitter.com/pmln_org?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@pmln_org</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@PTIofficial</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CMPunjabFromSouthPunjab?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CMPunjabFromSouthPunjab</a> <a href="https://t.co/jDImZYzfQ7">pic.twitter.com/jDImZYzfQ7</a></p>— Dunya News (@DunyaNews) <a href="https://twitter.com/DunyaNews/status/1030807978591637505?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2018</a></blockquote>

Well I guess we'll find out in the coming few weeks. If he is that incompetent, then there has to be some other motive. I hope he pleasantly surprises us.

Apparently there is none. If there was one IK would never have extended so much public support. I just want to know his thought process. He is from a poverty stricken area is not enough for such a high profile post.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">1) Usman Buzdar was nominated in FIR under Section109 of PPC (Not 302)<br>He was cleared during court proceedings - Being Sardars of tribe he & his father helped in reconciliation<br>2) He was cleared in NAB inquiry<br>3) IK scrutinised him for 2 weeks (Security clearance as well i guess) <a href="https://t.co/Hhurcdgphf">pic.twitter.com/Hhurcdgphf</a></p>— Azhar (@MashwaniAzhar) <a href="https://twitter.com/MashwaniAzhar/status/1030810129783050240?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2018</a></blockquote>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/6T2tjhUlSn0" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>.

Question, does pti have majority in federal and punjab? Can they pass bills? You can bring a change with majority.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Name of ministers and portfolios <a href="https://t.co/txlLJ2UZZP">pic.twitter.com/txlLJ2UZZP</a></p>— Fawad Hussain (@fawadchaudhry) <a href="https://twitter.com/fawadchaudhry/status/1030794627543121920?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2018</a></blockquote>

Cabinet is out now

Glad that Shafqat Mahmood got a ministry as he is one of best we have, he could have been a very good interior minister with his knowledge and expertise and Khan sb could've kept close eye on that? Still not a bad decision to keep this one to himself.

Shireen Mazari was much better option as Defence minister, Khattak is just being adjusted.

Not sure what Kyani's qualification is to get such an important ministry? I hope Khan sb knows what he is doing there.

Glad that Amin Aslam is adviser and also great to see Abdul Razzaq Daud and Dr Ishrat Hussain, i am sure Dr Ata ur Rehman will be around somewhere too.

Overall really good selections.

Punjab CM nominee is a real shocker for me, while i have no doubt that Imran Khan has done his due diligence as he claims but Buzdar just does not come across a sharp guy. He has changed parties so isn't even a reliable person (even if he is honest). I watched a short clip and wasn't impressed with his responses which were quite standard. In short, this was one of the most important decisions (far more than KPK CM selection) and I am highly confused about this selection.

I believe his location (smallest and backward village of South Punjab) proved to be lot more important than his overall ability.

At the moment it seems like Khan sb has selected a dasher like Shahzaib Hasan in his all important Test series after watching him hit a six in a club T20 game. I sincerely hope he proves me wrong but would be a huge shock for me if he does well.

Punjab CM nominee is a real shocker for me, while i have no doubt that Imran Khan has done his due diligence as he claims but Buzdar just does not come across a sharp guy. He has changed parties so isn't even a reliable person (even if he is honest). I watched a short clip and wasn't impressed with his responses which were quite standard. In short, this was one of the most important decisions (far more than KPK CM selection) and I am highly confused about this selection.

I believe his location (smallest and backward village of South Punjab) proved to be lot more important than his overall ability.

At the moment it seems like Khan sb has selected a dasher like Shahzaib Hasan in his all important Test series after watching him hit a six in a club T20 game. I sincerely hope he proves me wrong but would be a huge shock for me if he does well.

Seems like a stop gap arrangement to me. I saw his interview and did not seem impressive at all. Massive blunder by IK, and if coming from a poor destitute area is the only criteria when why not make a homeless guy the PM. That is the most stupid criteria I have ever heard.

Shafqat got a very useless ministry

Education is mostly provincial goverment job now

He should have got planning and commision ministry

Shafqat got a very useless ministry

Education is mostly provincial goverment job now

He should have got planning and commision ministry

Not really. Pti’s plan is to create technical education colleges and help people get better and effective jobs.

Again Dr sba lost her NA seat, Mian Aslam had a desi betting casino.

She is in reserved seats. This guy also lost his seat in 2013 when PMLN had won 2/3 seats. Also, he just joined by PTi 2 months before the election. He is a proper turncoat.

Glad that Shafqat Mahmood got a ministry as he is one of best we have, he could have been a very good interior minister with his knowledge and expertise and Khan sb could've kept close eye on that? Still not a bad decision to keep this one to himself.

Shireen Mazari was much better option as Defence minister, Khattak is just being adjusted.

Not sure what Kyani's qualification is to get such an important ministry? I hope Khan sb knows what he is doing there.

Glad that Amin Aslam is adviser and also great to see Abdul Razzaq Daud and Dr Ishrat Hussain, i am sure Dr Ata ur Rehman will be around somewhere too.

Overall really good selections.

Mazaari is too hot headed to a defense minister. And then there is her daughter who is very anti military.