Politics - Pakistani 2018 General Election and post-election discussion

Which will be the top party after the upcoming general elections?

Selecting Ghulam Sarwar for such an important ministry might be risk

He was federal minister for overseas pakistanis in Mush times so he got some experience as minister. Plus he won us 3 seats against Ch Nisar :yk

As they say Sabar ka phal meetha. Amin Aslam got the advisor role in first round while greedy Tahir Sadiq even after winning 3 seats isn't getting any ministry so far (maybe later he gets a state ministry)

What about Dr Shoaib Saddal and Dr Atta ur Rehman?

Nasir Durrani i heard is also getting advisory role

Really happy to see Farugh Naseem getting ministry he is the best guy to come out of MQM and i wish Faisal Sabzwari was given the other ministry instead of Khalid Maqbool. Zubaida Jalal of BAP is another interesting name she was minister of education in Jamali and Shaukat Aziz cabinet

Aamir Liaqat and Ali Zaidi both should be given Ministry of Twitter and Facebook Affairs

Ali Zaidi will be given shipping and ports, it was confirmed by Aamir Liaqat.

Not bad MQM take extra advantage of that ministry so good thing is if PTI is keep this ministry i still remember how babar ghori used this ministry.

ok i listened to him and he is presentable not that bad as i expected. He is a calm and cool guy not aggressive like shobaz let's hope he delivers.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Exclusive interview of PTI's nominee for CM Punjab Mr. -<a href="https://twitter.com/UsmanAKBuzdar?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@UsmanAKBuzdar</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PTI?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PTI</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/UsmanBuzdar?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#UsmanBuzdar</a> <a href="https://t.co/ndWSDdWDka">https://t.co/ndWSDdWDka</a></p>— PTI South Punjab (@PTISPOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTISPOfficial/status/1030847762567315457?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2018</a></blockquote>

Anybody watch Think Tank today on Dunya news. Ayaz Amir was criticizing Imran alot. Haroon ul Rasheed also.

ok i listened to him and he is presentable not that bad as i expected. He is a calm and cool guy not aggressive like shobaz let's hope he delivers.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Exclusive interview of PTI's nominee for CM Punjab Mr. -<a href="https://twitter.com/UsmanAKBuzdar?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@UsmanAKBuzdar</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PTI?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PTI</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/UsmanBuzdar?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#UsmanBuzdar</a> <a href="https://t.co/ndWSDdWDka">https://t.co/ndWSDdWDka</a></p>— PTI South Punjab (@PTISPOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTISPOfficial/status/1030847762567315457?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2018</a></blockquote>

I agree with you Bro.

So every party in coalition got a ministry except BNP.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The missing ally in the proposed cabinet.PTI offered federal ministry to <a href="https://twitter.com/sakhtarmengal?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@sakhtarmengal</a> or his nominee but he said we don't need ministry we want you to address our 6 points and first point is about missing persons <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> must address this problem urgently</p>— Hamid Mir (@HamidMirPAK) <a href="https://twitter.com/HamidMirPAK/status/1030849266015760384?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2018</a></blockquote>

As Faiz said which can be related to missing persons and what their families have to go through:

Un dukhi maoun k naam
Raat ko jin k bachay bilaktay hain aur
neend ki maar khaye huay aansoun mai
sambhaltay nai, dukh batatay nahi

The missing person cases have to be solved to bridge the gap of mistrust among security agenices and the locals.

Anybody watch Think Tank today on Dunya news. Ayaz Amir was criticizing Imran alot. Haroon ul Rasheed also.

Watched it. Suddenly Ayaz Ameer has issues with everything now. Not sure what’s the reason behind his “narazgee”. Haroon Rasheed being Haroon Rasheed. The guy takes 180 degrees turn everyday.

Aljazeera had Taimur Jhagra today as PTI rep and he looked good. He is a former Mckinsey Partner and recently resigned and joined politics to serve his country just like Asad Umar. Jhagra is a PTI MPA now i hope he is given a bigger role in KP Govt. We need more and more people like Asad Umar and Jhagra in Pak politics both of them were also part of PTI 100 days plan.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Taimur Khan Jhagra speaks on Al-Jazeera <a href="https://twitter.com/AJInsideStory?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@AJInsideStory</a> on how <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> will fulfil his promises to the Pakistani people, and how he will tackle the multiple challenges facing Pakistan <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PrimeMinisterImranKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PrimeMinisterImranKhan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/jhagra?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Jhagra</a> <a href="https://t.co/hmlI5or7S8">pic.twitter.com/hmlI5or7S8</a></p>— PTI (@PTIofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial/status/1030910324625551361?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2018</a></blockquote>

We need more and more people like Asad Umar and Jhagra in Pak politics both of them were also part of PTI 100 days plan.

Exactly. Actually was just thinking today that those who joined pti as their first party are really good like Asad, Atif, Dr. Yasmin and now you mentioned Jhagra while i have some reservations over those who had 2 3 party changes and now joined pti.

Jhagra, Atif and Dr Yasmin actualy all 3 were in the race of becoming CM but their opponents had strong lobbies within the party but PTI is the first love of these 3 so they are still gonna serve instead of throwing the toys and making a mess.

Exactly! Really good picks.

So how soon can we expect some major decisions? I mean like sacking certain heads like head of state bank and other cronies.

A couple of weeks. I was wondering if Dar's buddy Saeed Ahmed is still National Bank president?

Some anchor asked Asad Umar if he will remove Saeed Ahmed and Umar said that since it is constitutional position we cannot replace him until his term ends or some corruption is proven against him. So we are stuck with him for the foreseeable future, when does his term end?

If they have chosen Usman Buzdar to kill the bewildering expectations then I think they have done a good job. I personally have decreased my expectations and think this is gonna be a 'bits and pieces' type of government, instead of an across the board well performing govt.

The only thing I'm happy about is Imran Khan also keeping interior minister portfolio. This will be great for accountability process, the whole state information and intelligence would pass through him, both IB (works under PM) and FIA (works under IM) are gonna work under him and there would be no infighting among agencies as we saw during Nawaz Sharif period.

This is Jhagras first election, don’t think he should be too disappointed for not getting the chief minister’s position.

Some anchor asked Asad Umar if he will remove Saeed Ahmed and Umar said that since it is constitutional position we cannot replace him until his term ends or some corruption is proven against him. So we are stuck with him for the foreseeable future, when does his term end?

National Bank President is not a constitutional position. Can be replaced at any time.

Ofcourse not, National Bank is a corporation is it not, so the board and shareholders (which is 100% pakistani gov.) can get rid of a presidant when ever they want,

Farogh Naseem is a lawyer of Mushraf treason case

Will be interesting that will goverment drop the case treason case or not? I hope not since Law minister has to appoint prosecution laywer since old has resigned.

Aljazeera had Taimur Jhagra today as PTI rep and he looked good. He is a former Mckinsey Partner and recently resigned and joined politics to serve his country just like Asad Umar. Jhagra is a PTI MPA now i hope he is given a bigger role in KP Govt. We need more and more people like Asad Umar and Jhagra in Pak politics both of them were also part of PTI 100 days plan.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Taimur Khan Jhagra speaks on Al-Jazeera <a href="https://twitter.com/AJInsideStory?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@AJInsideStory</a> on how <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> will fulfil his promises to the Pakistani people, and how he will tackle the multiple challenges facing Pakistan <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PrimeMinisterImranKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PrimeMinisterImranKhan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/jhagra?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Jhagra</a> <a href="https://t.co/hmlI5or7S8">pic.twitter.com/hmlI5or7S8</a></p>— PTI (@PTIofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial/status/1030910324625551361?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2018</a></blockquote>

He seems like a good percent but you can’t compare jhagra to Asad Umer. Jhagra is one of those khandani rich people. He was going to leave the west to come back to Pakistan anyway. These people have a ton of lands here and if PTI wasn’t around they’d have joined another party

Not taking anything away from him but just telling you he’s more of a “khan” and local lord type than Asad Umer

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">To put to rest any doubts. The <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/100DaysAgenda?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#100DaysAgenda</a> was not a gimmick. They begin today. <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> is fully committed, and we are working on specific milestones for each point. Rest assured. We will try our best to deliver as much as we can. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PrimeMinisterImranKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PrimeMinisterImranKhan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NayaPakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NayaPakistan</a> <a href="https://t.co/WEN9eGDVG3">pic.twitter.com/WEN9eGDVG3</a></p>— Taimur Saleem Khan Jhagra (@jhagra) <a href="https://twitter.com/jhagra/status/1031198864001384453?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>

For me the 100 days is just politic talk but i may be wrong. I want to see proper long term plans which are thought out and then implemented by competent people. Knowing the way the mindset of the political elite and their civil servants works in PK, many of these guys will be shirkers. If IK is to change this mindset, he needs be ruthless with these people. If he isnt then the change we want,wont come.

100 days is all about showing us that we are going toward right direction if they can do that Nation will stand behind this weak government.

If this is true then i would be more than disappointed that Assad Umer didnt know that. Afterall its his job to know.

The question that Asad Umer answered was regarding State Bank of Pakistan's Governor, He said they'll replace National Bank of Pakistan's President Saeed Ahmed.

Thanks for the clarification. I would have been seriously worried if he didnt know what he could and couldn't do.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">عمران خان ضیا الحق نہ بنیں کام کریں، سعد رفیق - <a href="https://t.co/JTPX2zKNbN">https://t.co/JTPX2zKNbN</a> <a href="https://t.co/BowT6p0vso">pic.twitter.com/BowT6p0vso</a></p>— Express News (@ExpressNewsPK) <a href="https://twitter.com/ExpressNewsPK/status/1031278225803145217?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>

Bhai pehla container is ke ghar pe deliver kar do :vk2

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">عمران خان ضیا الحق نہ بنیں کام کریں، سعد رفیق - <a href="https://t.co/JTPX2zKNbN">https://t.co/JTPX2zKNbN</a> <a href="https://t.co/BowT6p0vso">pic.twitter.com/BowT6p0vso</a></p>— Express News (@ExpressNewsPK) <a href="https://twitter.com/ExpressNewsPK/status/1031278225803145217?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>

Bhai pehla container is ke ghar pe deliver kar do :vk2

Lohe ke channe ke sath jo aaj Pervez Ellahi ne as speaker punjab assembly main ki he wo dekhne wali thi :))

Day 1 of PM Imran Khan

Dk_ZmjqWsAE1azu.jpg:large

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">آپ جس کابینہ کا حصہ تھے اس کی آدھی تعداد بھی مشرف صاحب کی ہی کابینہ تھی لیکن اس وقت آپ کی آنکھوں پر منافقت کی پٹی اور اقتدار کا ہوس تھا تو آپ کو اعتراض نہیں تھا ۔۔جعلی ارسطو صاحب <a href="https://t.co/P0gxwNNvB3">https://t.co/P0gxwNNvB3</a></p>— Fawad Hussain (@fawadchaudhry) <a href="https://twitter.com/fawadchaudhry/status/1031186090227580928?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>

Haha what happened

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">پرویز الٰہی: حمزہ شہباز صاحب مائیک پر آئیں۔<br><br>خواجہ سعد: جنابِ اسپیکر۔۔۔۔۔۔۔۔۔۔۔۔۔<br><br>پرویز الٰہی: آپ حمزہ شہباز ہیں؟<br><br>خواجہ سعد: جی وہ نماز پڑھنے گئے ہیں۔<br><br>پرویز الٰہی: تو پھر آپ بیٹھ جائیں۔<br><br>ایوان میں قہقہے&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;<br><br>پرویز الٰہی اخیر ای کیتی اج، سہی بِگھو بِگھو کر مارے گا&#55357;&#56834;</p>— Engr. Javed Khan (@EngrKhan161) <a href="https://twitter.com/EngrKhan161/status/1031279403957927941?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>

So reportedly Imran has sacked Awn Chaudhry after it was revealed he was leaking his details to IB/media for the past five years.

Khaawaja Saad ke boht bure din chale rahe hen :))

Pehle NAB ne ragra dya

THen seat hara IK se phr recount main dubara hara

Phr Speaker se troll hua and phr aaj motorway waalon se challan be kerwa betha :)))

However, this relationship might run into difficulty soon as one of the country’s intelligence agencies has warned Imran Khan to disassociate himself from Aown Chaudhry, The Nation has learnt through multiple sources.

Imran Khan has been communicated that his continued relationship with Aown Chaudhry can damage his reputation in public, sources say.

The sudden rise of Aown Chaudhry through the PTI ranks has been viewed with both jealousy and suspicion by the party leadership and cadres. The real reason of the confidence that Aown enjoys in the eyes of Imran Khan remains a secret, party leaders say.

Aown Chaudhry is a Lahore-based businessman and former husband of film actress Noor. He has a ubiquitous presence in all of Khan’s activities, often seen standing behind the PTI leader during press briefings or sitting with him in Islamabad’s popular eateries.

READ MORE: Constable shot dead, one injured in Karachi
Background interviews with some PTI’s leaders reveal that a number of party leaders and workers have dislikes for the role of Head of the Chairman Secretariat for a long time but, despite their all-out efforts, they have failed to limit his influence at the Bani Gala residence of Khan.

“We dislike his (Mr Chaudhry) role as Head of Chairman’s Secretariat at Bani Gala as he is neither a politician nor has long affiliation with the party. He even has sidelined the role of Secretary Information PTI,” said a PTI leader, who spoke on condition of anonymity. The leader added: “Mr Chaudhry has the blessing of two senior leaders of the party who are very close to Khan these days.”

The PTI leader speculated that perhaps both these two leaders were compelled to do so as they were using Aown Chaudhry to extract information about activities in Bani Gala.

Aown Chaudhry was part of the delegations of Chairman PTI during his recent tour to United Kingdom and to India some months earlier. In India’s tour, Central Information Secretary Naeemul Haq also accompanied chairman while in UK’s tour, two party stalwarts Aleem Khan and Jehangir Khan Tareen were also part of the Khan’s delegation besides Chaudhry.

READ MORE: Mir Jam Kamal sworn in as CM Balochistan
Currently, Aown Chaudhry shares a rented residence along with Naeemul Haq in Bani Gala and is responsible for arranging all political meetings of the chairman with the party workers, other political parties, diplomats etc on a daily basis. However, Central Information Secretary has a role in arranging the important meetings in Bani Gala.

“Chaudhry has been facing allegation for leaking party information in the past and was sidelined for some time but then again came close to Khan,” said another PTI leader.

https://nation.com.pk/01-May-2016/aown-chaudhry-the-mysterious-man-close-to-imran-khan

The nation already reported it two years ago. This might also be why Naeem-ul-haq was not allowed entry into Bani Gala early in the day. He was also implicated according to Haroon Rasheed.

I can’t see Nadeem ul Haq’s Involvement in this. He has been with Imran through thick and thin. He is one of the founding members. Why would he betray Khan Sahab now?

I haven’t seen Awn Chaudhary on tv for past few days either. If he indeed was a mole I hope IK will never let Awn near himself ever again.

Khaawaja Saad ke boht bure din chale rahe hen :))

Pehle NAB ne ragra dya

THen seat hara IK se phr recount main dubara hara

Phr Speaker se troll hua and phr aaj motorway waalon se challan be kerwa betha :)))

Lohay ke channay :))

Have come to the realization that the cabinet is absolutely garbage... IK had told Ali Zaidi that he will be IT minister (Ali is IT entrepreneur and has in-depth know how of the field), but in the end IK gave it to MQM guy. Where is Ali Muhammad Khan, where is Sheryrar Afridi, where is Zartaj Gul, where is Murad Saeed. These are the youth and young faces of PTI. Two best minds in PTI Shafqat Mehmood and Shireen Mazari are given token ministries that don't have much role anyway. On top of that he selected some unknown Usman Buzdar as CM Punjab who can't even string two sentences together.

Absolutely atrocious start.

Have come to the realization that the cabinet is absolutely garbage... IK had told Ali Zaidi that he will be IT minister (Ali is IT entrepreneur and has in-depth know how of the field), but in the end IK gave it to MQM guy. Where is Ali Muhammad Khan, where is Sheryrar Afridi, where is Zartaj Gul, where is Murad Saeed. These are the youth and young faces of PTI. Two best minds in PTI Shafqat Mehmood and Shireen Mazari are given token ministries that don't have much role anyway. On top of that he selected some unknown Usman Buzdar as CM Punjab who can't even string two sentences together.

I initially thought the cabinet is decent, but on closer inspection there are a couple serious blunders.

Asad Umar for finance, Farogh Naseem for law, Fawad Choudhry for infromation, Shah Mehmood Qureshi for foreign affairs, Malik Amin Aslam for environment, Ishrat Hussain for institutional reforms are all very good choices. I think all the other advisers are good picks too.

Adjusting Parvez Khattak and Sheikh Rasheed into defense and railways is a good decision too as these too were bound to get ministries, and giving them less important positions is a good move.

Giving Fehmida Mirza a less important ministry is also a good idea as she is probably the most competent MNA from GDA, and we owed them one ministry.

Shireen Mazari is one of PTI's best brains, and in my opinion, the ministry of human rights may turn out to be quite an important ministry this time round. Imran Khan has said he wants to address human rights issues, including the issue of these rampant child rapes happening all over Pakistan. I think Shireen Mazari is very capable, and is a good pick for this ministry.

Not sure who Noor ul Haq Qadri is, but the ministry he has been given isn't overly important as it is just there to look after arrangements for different religious pilgrimages such as Hajj, probably just giving someone from FATA representation.

Now for the blunders. Khusro Bakhtiyar, Tariq Bashir Cheema, and Zubaida Jalal don't have any background in the posts they have been given. Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui also has no background, and worst of all, we have a good IT minister candidate in Ali Zaidi, and this ministry was very important for PTI to execute their IT policy. Tariq Bashir Cheema and Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui should have been given some token ministries.

Shafqat Mehmood is one of PTI's best, but he's been given a token ministry.

I know Imran Khan said he wants a small cabinet, but I think they could have easily accommodated a few more ministries. I think the young faces like Zartaj Gul, Murad Saeed, and Ali Muhammad Khan will end up as state ministers. I hope that Ali Zaidi also at least ends up as the state minister of IT.

Yup
Also

Sarwar Khan is a matric pass and is given Minintry of energy. Most of them belong from Musharaf era. Should have promoted PTI true faces.

Pathetic and not a very good start.

Yup
Also

Sarwar Khan is a matric pass and is given Minintry of energy. Most of them belong from Musharaf era. Should have promoted PTI true faces.

Pathetic and not a very good start.

Forgot to mention him too.

Ministries should be given on the basis of qualification and background, but about 5 ministries have totally ignored this criteria.

Ali Zaidi should have been IT minister, and I strongly believe that Murad Saeed, Zartaj Gul, Hammad Azhar, Shahryar Afridi, and Ali Mohammad Khan should have been somewhere in the mix. PTI are meant to be launching a huge housing policy, but they don't have a housing minister? Najeeb Haroon was perfect for this.

Adjusting Parvez Khattak and Sheikh Rasheed into defense and railways is a good decision too as these too were bound to get ministries, and giving them less important positions is a good move.

Railway ministry is not a small one. This ministry can show true change as millions of Pakistanis use this service. A good service delivery of railway services can change perception of the governent institute reforms. The biggest CPEC project is Railway main line 1 being upgraded($8.3 billion). It's railway ministry that can solve the Karachi circular railway issue.

You gave this to a dud who was average at best during his last tenture as Railway minister

Railway ministry is not a small one. This ministry can show true change as millions of Pakistanis use this service. A good service delivery of railway services can change perception of the governent institute reforms. The biggest CPEC project is Railway main line 1 being upgraded($8.3 billion). It's railway ministry that can solve the Karachi circular railway issue.

You gave this to a dud who was average at best during his last tenture as Railway minister

I agree that railway ministry can show true change, but it is not as important as some of the bigger ones. The problem is that PTI have gotten into a coalition government, and hence, they will have to compromise on some things.

Right now, the focus is economic revival, good governance, provision of basic human rights such as health and education, environment, law and order, anti corruption, poverty alleviation, hence, those ministries were not compromised on. I am sure they will try their best to get a good result out of Sheikh Rasheed, but I think there are multiple things that probably won't totally be addressed this term. There are too many problems, too little time, and PTI don't have absolute control over the government.

Hopefully, once the mess created by PPP's and PML-N's governments is cleared, and if PTI get reelected with a stronger mandate, they will be able to focus on things like things like railways and more advanced development.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Best part of the speech was when be showed X Rays of Nawaz Sharif's brain to illustrate stunted growth...</p>— Mubasher Lucman (@mubasherlucman) <a href="https://twitter.com/mubasherlucman/status/1031411321659637760?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 20, 2018</a></blockquote>

I believe Shafqat Mehmood can play a role as the education minister. Remember that PTI holds power in 2 provinces and is part of the government coalition in Balochistan. If PTI get education ministry in Balochistan than Shafqat Mehmood can play a key role in implementing education reforms in 3 provinces otherwise 2 provinces. As long as the provincial ministers are on the same page with Shafqat Mehmood he can do a lot to implement educational reforms and policies of PTI.

Austerity and Anti Corruption drive going on

Just don’t target civilans but accross the board. It will make him best leader since Jinnah if he does that. Otherwise there will be more voices saying that he is following someones order.

All those criticizing the cabinet frankly don’t know how things are done in Pakistan government. You really need experience to get stuff done.

Shireen Mazari should say thank to her daughter Imaan Mazari for making sure her mom isn't given Defense ministry or anything related to the army/defense.

Don't think that's the case.

Khattak had to be given something important

[MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] [MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION]

I think that politics should be a separate section on the forum now. There will definitely be heightened interest over the next 5 years at least, and there are a whole lot of threads, with discussions scattered all over the place. Making a new section will bring some order to the discussion.

Perhaps make a new section, and start us with a few main threads like:

-Bye and LG Elections Thread
-PTI's 100 days performance watch
-KPK performance watch
-Punjab performance watch
-Balochistan performance watch
-Sindh performance watch
-Karachi performance watch
-Federal government performance watch