PTI minority minister gunned down in K-P

Major

Test Star
PESHAWAR: A Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P) minister for minority affairs was shot dead on Friday in his car by men on motorbikes in the country’s restive northwest, officials said.

Sardar Soran Singh, who was Sikh, had held one of several seats reserved for religious minorities in the K-P provincial assembly.

“Gunmen riding on two motorbikes came in front of the car and started indiscriminate firing which killed the minister on the spot,” Khalid Hamadani, district police chief told AFP.

Gurdwara Bhai Biba Singh opens its doors after 60 years

He said the minister received several bullets to his head in a shooting which took place in Buner district, some 160 km (100 miles) northeast of Peshawar city.

The incident was confirmed by the provincial information minister Mushtaq Ghani.

Nobody has claimed responsibility for the killing but Taliban militants regularly attack security forces and civilians in the province.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/1089925/pti-minority-minister-gunned-down-in-northwest-pakistan/

RIP I hope his attackers are brought to justice disgusting attack.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Very sad day.

Heard this an hour ago and have been in a state of shock. I am devastated and depressed

Was a great guy and had the pleasure to meet him once.

Very very patriotic Pakistani

Very sad news. Seemed like a great guy and was a great asset to Pakistan and PTI.

RIP man.

RIP.

Are Sikhs in KPK ethnic Pashtuns or are they settlers from Punjab? India should grant citizenship to all Pakistani Hindus and Sikhs in my opinion.

RIP.

Are Sikhs in KPK ethnic Pashtuns or are they settlers from Punjab? India should grant citizenship to all Pakistani Hindus and Sikhs in my opinion.

settlers, or more precisely belong to the khatri community who are basically merchants.

Innalillah e wa inna eleh e rajeoon

Very very Sad news :'( :'(

Aakhir kub ? ? :"""(

Rest in Peace. I hope they found the culprits and hang them. Politicians in KPK seriously need to get Armored cars and decent guards.

Man I was so bummed when I learnt that he had been killed. He was such a joshila member of PTI and a patriotic Pakistani to core also one of the very few Sikh politicians we have (if any)

Sad sad day today..

RIP.

Only a low grade person will play politics over someones death. Have some decency about yourself.

Imran Khan is responsible for this imo

Only a low grade person will play politics over someones death. Have some decency about yourself.

Sorry you feel that way but according to me proposing solutions to stop this senselessness is better than expressing empty, meaningless condolences. It's clear that Pakistan is not capable of protecting its minorities and it's time for the world to step it.

It's ridiculous to kill someone who is Pakistani no matter what his religion.

The day these people realize that, we can move forward in life.

RIP.

Pathetic new this is. Taliban and all other jihadis are enemies of humanity.

#KPBleedsPTICelebrates is trending in Pakistan it's quite sad they are busy celebrating their foundation day.

Taliban sympathizers would never come into power InshALLAH.

Sorry you feel that way but according to me proposing solutions to stop this senselessness is better than expressing empty, meaningless condolences. It's clear that Pakistan is not capable of protecting its minorities and it's time for the world to step it.

People who live in glass houses shouldn't throw stones. We all know about those bloggers who were hacked to death in Bangladesh for being secular..

How is that relevant to this thread? Yes, things aren't rosy in Bangladesh for sure but it's still not as bad as Pakistan where ministers are gunned down in broad daylight. One can only imagine the threats an average person of the minority community faces.

A true son of the soil. He chose his motherland over his family. His Indian wife and two children are settled in India.

So turns out it wasn't TTP. PTIs minorities Div President Malakand Baldev Kumar has been arrested for the murder. There are reports that he has confessed and has also told police of Alam Khan's involvement, who is Tehsil Nazim PMLN Shangla.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">PTI leader Baldev Kumar arrested in Swat in connection to Swaran Singh's murder, watch on JAAG TV <a href="https://t.co/Klc1I3Peq5">pic.twitter.com/Klc1I3Peq5</a></p>— JAAG TV (@JaagAlerts) <a href="https://twitter.com/JaagAlerts/status/724197528363778048">April 24, 2016</a></blockquote>

Not the first time TTP has lied about their involvement. They often claim responsibility of random attacks just to stay in the news.

There you go TTP-PTI showing their true colors. Expect no reaction from Imran on this.

Where were the security ? How can it be so easy for politicians from minorities to be gunned down like this. Have we learned any lessons after Shahbaz Bhatti assassination ?

RIP.

Where were the security ? How can it be so easy for politicians from minorities to be gunned down like this. Have we learned any lessons after Shahbaz Bhatti assassination ?

RIP.
PTI has put ban on security/protocols for its provincial govt which is why i said i blame Imran

Imran Khan is responsible for this imo

PTI has put ban on security/protocols for its provincial govt which is why i said i blame Imran

Do you have any idea what you are saying? Highly irresponsible and immature comment.

For your information, Soran Singh had to Government bodyguards, but being a brave and fearless character, he always preferred to travel without security especially in his own constituency.

There is a difference between banning protocol and basic security. Please learn the difference.

So PTI minority leader Baldev Singh ordered the murder due to ticket dispute, and PMLN's Councillor Alam Khan facilitated the murder by hiring TTP hitman for Rs1 million.

KPK Police arrested the killers within 12 hours that too without CM KPK or Imran calling for any commission or committee. Good to see that. Justice delayed is justice denied.

Well done KPK police. May Soran Singh's soul rest in peace forever. He'll be missed.

Soran Singh should have a monument or hospital named after him

Terrible, terrible tragedy. Had the pleasure of meeting him last year.

Like others, I also blame Imran's policies for this loss.

Me too. Will not blindly praise Immy for everything..

You could just see the jazba in him :( Really sad still.

On another note, Mr. Hafiz Saeed is giving lectures in UET Lahore.

The military is not serious about fighting terrorism, especially in Punjab. This intellectual corruption is worse than financial corruption.

Whenever people start thinking - even reluctantly - that our rulers have finally come to realise how disastrous and self-destructive their jihadi pursuits have been, they keep reminding through their deeds that nothing has changed.

What is the point of all the sacrifices given by the lower military police personnel as well as civilian casualities including school children, when the mindset that drives jihadi madness remains untouched.

One would like to believe that the current military leadership really wants to rid the country from extremism and terrorism but that is not the case.

Lest we forget, Under the command of General Zia, Pakistan Army and ISI recruited the best quality terrorists from around the world and brought them to Pakistan under the banner of 'Mujahideen', while establishing 13 local terrorist organizations like LeT.

Terrorism is a gift by the Pakistani army to the Pakistani people.

This is just one more evidence of the reality of Zarb-e-Azab - it is not against terrorists; it is against Chotu Gang, Dr. Asim, corrupt clerks, petty criminals, MQM etc.

So PTI celebrated its 20th anniversary two days after his assassination. What a great leader.

On another note, Mr. Hafiz Saeed is giving lectures in UET Lahore.

The military is not serious about fighting terrorism, especially in Punjab. This intellectual corruption is worse than financial corruption.

Whenever people start thinking - even reluctantly - that our rulers have finally come to realise how disastrous and self-destructive their jihadi pursuits have been, they keep reminding through their deeds that nothing has changed.

What is the point of all the sacrifices given by the lower military police personnel as well as civilian casualities including school children, when the mindset that drives jihadi madness remains untouched.

One would like to believe that the current military leadership really wants to rid the country from extremism and terrorism but that is not the case.

Lest we forget, Under the command of General Zia, Pakistan Army and ISI recruited the best quality terrorists from around the world and brought them to Pakistan under the banner of 'Mujahideen', while establishing 13 local terrorist organizations like LeT.

Terrorism is a gift by the Pakistani army to the Pakistani people.

This is just one more evidence of the reality of Zarb-e-Azab - it is not against terrorists; it is against Chotu Gang, Dr. Asim, corrupt clerks, petty criminals, MQM etc.

Wait, so...

you blame the PTI minister's death on Imran's policies, yet the fact that Saeed is giving lectures in Punjab (PMLN stronghold) is blamed on the army :danish

PMLN is not accountable for policies in their strongholds?

Try harder next time.

Absolutely shocking as Sardar Soran was equally loved by all, was most patriotic person :(

Great job by KPK police to arrest the culprit within hours and what a huge shame that greed of fellow party worker took life of an amazing person, hope he is hanged for this.

How Corrupt is KPK police.

They arrested the culprit of ruling party ? Shameful yaar.

Imran Khan this is naya pakistan ? Shame on you. Learn from Punjab police's Model town Lahore and Rajanpur victories.

Let's decide that we will treat our minorities like VIPs, give them equal rights and protect their places of worship...so called Taliban Khan educating & even taking oath from thousands of people and millions of viewers.

A bit confused here why are posters blaming PTI policies of TTP when its a PTI person Baldev Kumar who killed Soran Singh?

Well holding Imran Khan responsible for all Taliban related killings is best people can come up with against him so whenever there is an attack carried out by Taliban (even fake claims like this) Imran gets the blame. In this case it was pure dirty politics (nothing to do with Talibans) but Imran gets the blame anyway :)

Yeah looks like that,I don't like Imran the politician but i don't see how his policies with TTP are responsible for this unless Baldev Kumar got brainwashed and converted to a TTP sympathizer which is defn not the case.

Wait, so...

you blame the PTI minister's death on Imran's policies, yet the fact that Saeed is giving lectures in Punjab (PMLN stronghold) is blamed on the army :danish

PMLN is not accountable for policies in their strongholds?

Try harder next time.

I am also critical of PML-N policies against Taliban as well as them sucking up to the Wahhabis throughout their history, but that is not surprising because at the end of the day, Nawaz is the spawn of Zia.

However, I am focusing on the Army because in spite of the so-called crackdown against the extremists, we have a terrorist like Hafiz Saeed corrupting the minds of young engineers in the heart of Punjab, which is truly a very sad state of affairs.

Are you?

Sent from my SM-G361H using Tapatalk

How Corrupt is KPK police.

They arrested the culprit of ruling party ? Shameful yaar.

Imran Khan this is naya pakistan ? Shame on you. Learn from Punjab police's Model town Lahore and Rajanpur victories.

A bus driver was shot by KPK police two days ago for refusing to give them bribe. Of course, you don't know about it because PTI cheerleaders do not give coverage to such news on social media.

Certainly shameful indeed, I agree with you.

A day to remember Soran Singh a genuine PTI worker. What a personality he had!

DbYQcjJWAAEeirg.jpg:large

Is this the same Baldev Kumar?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Ex-MLA from Imran Khan's party seeks political asylum in India <br><br>Baldev Kumar, a former MLA of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI party) from Barikot in KPK assembly, is in India, along with his family, to seek political asylum here.<br><br>Read: <a href="https://t.co/cogYKaRk5b">https://t.co/cogYKaRk5b</a> <a href="https://t.co/sQzJwCEzrp">pic.twitter.com/sQzJwCEzrp</a></p>— Times of India (@timesofindia) <a href="https://twitter.com/timesofindia/status/1171288439943237632?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 10, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Is this the same Baldev Kumar?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Ex-MLA from Imran Khan's party seeks political asylum in India <br><br>Baldev Kumar, a former MLA of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI party) from Barikot in KPK assembly, is in India, along with his family, to seek political asylum here.<br><br>Read: <a href="https://t.co/cogYKaRk5b">https://t.co/cogYKaRk5b</a> <a href="https://t.co/sQzJwCEzrp">pic.twitter.com/sQzJwCEzrp</a></p>— Times of India (@timesofindia) <a href="https://twitter.com/timesofindia/status/1171288439943237632?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 10, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Yes indeed.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Baldev Kumar Killer Of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/LateSardarSuranSingh?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#LateSardarSuranSingh</a> runs away to India and seeks refuge citing Minority harassment. He killed my friend and now is blaming Pakistan for Hating him. Yes we HATE Killers. <a href="https://t.co/eFNG9WBlVO">https://t.co/eFNG9WBlVO</a> <a href="https://t.co/KOzLFlPSaZ">pic.twitter.com/KOzLFlPSaZ</a></p>— Dewan Sachal (@essel1) <a href="https://twitter.com/essel1/status/1171307314671968256?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 10, 2019</a></blockquote>

Yes indeed.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Baldev Kumar Killer Of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/LateSardarSuranSingh?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#LateSardarSuranSingh</a> runs away to India and seeks refuge citing Minority harassment. He killed my friend and now is blaming Pakistan for Hating him. Yes we HATE Killers. <a href="https://t.co/eFNG9WBlVO">https://t.co/eFNG9WBlVO</a> <a href="https://t.co/KOzLFlPSaZ">pic.twitter.com/KOzLFlPSaZ</a></p>— Dewan Sachal (@essel1) <a href="https://twitter.com/essel1/status/1171307314671968256?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 10, 2019</a></blockquote>

Apparently he was acquitted and cleared of all charges.

https://www.thenews.com.pk/amp/524883-ex-pti-mpa-baldev-kumar-seeks-political-asylum-in-india

Yes indeed.

Sad to see such how minorities are treated in Pakistan...

Not sure if you are being sarcastic but it was power struggle between two minority leaders Baldev Kumar and Suran Singh. Suran Singh became MPA and Baldev wasn't happy (their rift was well known even before the murder). Baldev escaped because he hired someone to murder Suran Singh but it couldn't be proven in court that killer had links to Baldev.
Indians on social media foolishly trying to exploit the issue without even understanding, another PTI minority Hindu leader Dewan Sachal is trying to educate these ignorants what really happened in tweet posted above.

Although there are plenty of issues, this case is not one of them.

This man was accused of murdering another sikh. He was found not guilty in courts I think due to lack of evidence (sigh at our legal system). However, the victim's father (also a sikh) still believed this man was guilty.

His own brother is refuting his statements.

Maybe someone else here more familiar with the story can confirm.

I know he was acquitted, but was his case still being tried in higher courts, or was he completely free and clear?

Because maybe either he was scared of revenge from his victim's family, or he was scared of further court cases not going his way. Thus ran away to India to claim asylum.