Questions Regarding Cricket Equipment (Bats, Pads, Gloves etc)

Pro's bats are ridiculous, the size of virat's bat OMG
A friend of mine recently had Jacob Oram's bat and it was as thick as Virat's (maybe slightly thinner) but unbelievably light.

Aamer Bhai, have you used the gloves yet? If so how are they in terms of comfort, weight etc

JazakAllah Khair

The gloves have not been used yet but my first impression is that they offer excellent protection. I have compared them to M&H Distinction gloves and these offer far more protection than the M&H. The M&H offer little protection at the tips of the fingers and the general padding is much softer than the Newbery's. These gloves are very impressive.

I bought my son a size 6 Mjolinar sps. I got it for less than fifty pounds but he is not that impressed with it and tbf it is not in the same league as his Harlequin.

I picked up my Sher Amin at the weekend. It was bought in Feb 2009 same time as my Bubber Sher but it is still in the packaging stored in my dad's house for the last nearly 2 years. I'll post some pics by the end of the week.

does anyone know how to remove old extratec sleeve of bat

Sleeve?Are you by any chance talking of scuff sheet on the face?

I was in a store around a month ago they had a few very nice CA 12000 TRD bats.
There were two in particular that I like.
One had a 2lb 6 sticker and the other had a 2lb 9 sticker. The 2lb 9 bat picked up lighter than the 2lb 6 bat. It also had more meat on it. Could not figure it out...

Usually the stickers on the edges are not precise. Sometime the weight on the edge sticker is not dead weight. Sometime when they weigh the bat and apply those sticker then it is without grip, toe guard, stickers etc and sometime it is with that.

As far meat and pickup goes I believe that is art of a batmaker. How the pickup system basically work is that the further the mass from your hands (handle) the heavier the pick up is and vice versa. Its not just in cricket but it is just Physics. Even if you see Baseball training bats which have low sweetspot they are heavy as well.

Pro's bats are ridiculous, the size of virat's bat OMG
A friend of mine recently had Jacob Oram's bat and it was as thick as Virat's (maybe slightly thinner) but unbelievably light.

Professional players do get top quality cleft by which batmaker can make huge profile bats for professional. This is basically reserved for the players. But if you are lucky enough then you can get hold of similar clefts if you have good contacts with a batmaker. I mean he can get you similar clefts bat.

The gloves have not been used yet but my first impression is that they offer excellent protection. I have compared them to M&H Distinction gloves and these offer far more protection than the M&H. The M&H offer little protection at the tips of the fingers and the general padding is much softer than the Newbery's. These gloves are very impressive.

I bought my son a size 6 Mjolinar sps. I got it for less than fifty pounds but he is not that impressed with it and tbf it is not in the same league as his Harlequin.

I picked up my Sher Amin at the weekend. It was bought in Feb 2009 same time as my Bubber Sher but it is still in the packaging stored in my dad's house for the last nearly 2 years. I'll post some pics by the end of the week.

JazakAllah Khair for your reply.

Yes, traditional gloves are the most protected gloves in cricket. Since Distinction gloves are split they are quite light in terms of weight as well. While on the other hand traditional style gloves are usually heavier compare to split.

Newbery, Salix etc are one of the few companies in the market who have best softs.

To be honest, I believe he has every right not to be happy with Mjolinar. Personally I don't like traditional shaped bats at all as they feel wired in my hands. I saw Mjolinar C6+ at my local store here in Canada and it was one of crapiest bat I have seen in my life. So I don't like traditional profile bats at all! I am not sure but if you closely look at traditional bats profile then you will notice that most of the meat goes down the splice. So I my opinion the sweetspot is just limited. I mean it is long vertically but horizontally it is totally limited.

Yes, it would be good if you can post pictures of your Sher Amin as one or two people are interested in seeing them. Back when you got your Sher Amin it was Grade 1 bat whereas now it has been demoted to G2 after introduction of MB LE.

Hey, I was wondering if anybody knows any stores in Toronto where I can get batting gloves, and a kit bag? I bought all the equipment separately and am now just needing these two. Not looking for anything serious.. just normal batting gloves. Would appreciate if people can name me some stores in Toronto where I can find it! Thanks

Asalamalakium,

I don't know of any stores in Toronto but I know few in Brampton and Mississauga which are;
Khan Sports, Mississauga
Hagee Sports, Mississauga
Qasra Sports, Mississauga
AK Pro Canada, Oakville
Bali Sports, Brampton

One thing I must say that you will get ripped off if you buy gloves from any of these stores. I mean they would sell test level gloves (Pakistani, Indian, English doesn't matter) for $65 atleast.

Hope it helps!

Asalamalakium,

I don't know of any stores in Toronto but I know few in Brampton and Mississauga which are;
Khan Sports, Mississauga
Hagee Sports, Mississauga
Qasra Sports, Mississauga
AK Pro Canada, Oakville
Bali Sports, Brampton

One thing I must say that you will get ripped off if you buy gloves from any of these stores. I mean they would sell test level gloves (Pakistani, Indian, English doesn't matter) for $65 atleast.

Hope it helps!

Hey CD, thanks for the reply. I got your PM but it wouldn't let me message back. It said that I can only message admins for some reason..

Yea scuff sheet.
Bubber Sher Le or CA 12000 lol

Peel it off from top right corner of the scuff sheet. NEver peel from the bottom.

Between CA 12000 Plus and Bubber Sher LE I would say MB LE. Why would I say that? BEcause MB LE has got longer sweetspot compare to CA, good pickup although CA has better pickup.

This was just between CA 12000 Plus and MB Malik BUbber Sher Limited Edition.

Jazak Allah, thanks for replying :)

I am looking for a new bat for next season, insha Allah.

I need something that when I just touch the ball it goes faaaaaaaaaaaaaar but I don't like heavy bats =P Hm...

Heavy bats = ball goes far & Light bat = more power then ball travel far? Is this true? :D

Jazak Allah, thanks for replying :)

I am looking for a new bat for next season, insha Allah.

I need something that when I just touch the ball it goes faaaaaaaaaaaaaar but I don't like heavy bats =P Hm...

Heavy bats = ball goes far & Light bat = more power then ball travel far? Is this true? :D

Waiyyakum!

Whats your budget?

Arre bhai you will have to time it for the ball to go far :P if not that then power like Afridi lol.

Many people say if you need a bat for slogging then MB Malik Bubber Sher it is.

With light bat you actually have more control and can time the ball better than heavier bats. Thats what I think.

Ok Bubber Sher L.E it is, would it last?
I hav a Sher and after a season it has lost its ping
IS the Ca 12000 TRD better then sher L.E

That I can't answer. I mean its difficult to tell if a bat will last or not.

Mostly all Asian bats are soft pressed, hence, they lose ping after short period of time.

I am not sure about that as I have never used or seen a TRD.

my brother has his sher amin for 5 years now..
and is probably as good as any international bat . the ball flies of any part of the bat be it the meat or the edgee.. an absolutely monsterous bat

another thing i should mention is that it was specially order from MB factory by a sore owner here in toronto. specially for my bro... one out of some of the first sher amins to be sold

My Sher Last year was a monster, Over 20 sixes in the season
It use to make a rubbery sound before and the ball use to fly
Its degraded heaps imo..
Is the Bubber Sher L.E for slogging or strokes.

ye i have seen many shers that are just not as goodd
and regarding the bubber sher LE .. hopefully CD can answer as i have never used onee although they r quite attractive

maybe you should look at CA12000 too as it is a mighty well bat.. good for any batsman looking to score runss

Yea
I'm tossing up between Bubber L.E and CA 12000.
C.A looks much classier bt Sher looks Juicier lol

lol my mate has a Ca12000 .. looks like a rlyy good batt and have heard many good reviews about the bat from different guyss around the leaguee..
Might be a better choice but all depends on what you like and which one would be better for u

As the expert CD is , might wanna consult wit him about the two bats to see which one is better

personally i would never buy anythign online as some sites sell illegit equipment.. maybe visit ur local cricket storee and get a feel of the bats
there are many websites throughout this thread.. i think a poster was asking abou different websites in the page before so search thru u will find reliable websites..
my friend has dealt with crickestoronline.com and was happy with everything so thats a good onee and and then there is uzisports.com

and i am in toronto.. ready for the cold winter while u fellas enjoy a summer of crickett :\

My Sher Last year was a monster, Over 20 sixes in the season
It use to make a rubbery sound before and the ball use to fly
Its degraded heaps imo..
Is the Bubber Sher L.E for slogging or strokes.

Your was a monster because it is a laminated bat. The joint is quite easily visible

If you really need a slogging bat then go for a T20 bat or a Mongoose as these two bats have very large sweetspot compare to normal bats.

The one I have and have seen are actually both. The reason why I am saying that is because they have a long spine, low sweetspot etc which is good for stroke but it doesn't mean you can't slog. You can obviously slog.

Yea
I'm tossing up between Bubber L.E and CA 12000.
C.A looks much classier bt Sher looks Juicier lol

lol my mate has a Ca12000 .. looks like a rlyy good batt and have heard many good reviews about the bat from different guyss around the leaguee..
Might be a better choice but all depends on what you like and which one would be better for u

As the expert CD is , might wanna consult wit him about the two bats to see which one is better

I am not saying CA 12000 is not a good bat. It is a beautiful stick and I absolutely love the one I have. But I am just saying that I find MB LE to have a longer sweetspot whereas CA 12000 Plus has a higher positioned sweetspot which would be very good for bouncy tracks.

Since you are in Australia you might want to buy a bat which has high sweetspot as higher sweetspot bats are better for bouncy pitches.

Sydney
U
Wats best online site to get the Bubber Sher L.e.

Many website and retailers don't have this bat. However, one of the website which is very reliable and who stocks Bubber Sher LE is www.sialkotshop.com/

http://www.sialkotshop.com/mb-malik-bubber-sher-limited-edition-bat.html

There customer service and products are great!

Let me know if you still have anymore questions

personally i would never buy anythign online as some sites sell illegit equipment.. maybe visit ur local cricket storee and get a feel of the bats
there are many websites throughout this thread.. i think a poster was asking abou different websites in the page before so search thru u will find reliable websites..
my friend has dealt with crickestoronline.com and was happy with everything so thats a good onee and and then there is uzisports.com

and i am in toronto.. ready for the cold winter while u fellas enjoy a summer of crickett :\

Actually the golden rule to buy a bat is to go to a store and feel the bat in your hand. If it feels good in your hand then thats all you need.

ye true CD personally my bats are brought from pakistan either by family members or friends so they have gotten rlly good ones

Thx Cover Drive
BTW wats laminated bat lol
I think I'll go for Bubber Sher, cheaper and just as effective i guess
Hav contacted Sialkot b4. Good service
Will probably get it from there

Thx Cover Drive
BTW wats laminated bat lol
I think I'll go for Bubber Sher, cheaper and just as effective i guess
Hav contacted Sialkot b4. Good service
Will probably get it from there

No worries bhai!

Laminated bat is where two seperate piece of woods are joined together to make a bat. Have a close look at your MB Sher Amin edges and you will notice a joint (line).

I am sure you won't be disappointed with Bubber Sher LE.

Yes, I have contacted SailkotShop before and Bhasarat Bhai (owner of Sailkotshop) is a very good bloke. His response are very prompt and quick whereas his service is great as well. I am sure Bhasarat Bhai will get you a very good stick according to your specs.

Ohh another bat which would be even cheaper than MB Bubber Sher LE is AS V10. Beautiful stick it is! Sorry I wasn't able to recall this earlier, my sincere apologizes.

Which bats do you have?

well me and brother both play so technically its our bats LOl
i use
MRF Genius and kookaburra kahuna ricky ponting
and bro uses sher amin
and we have a reebok bat that we use for practices
i had a woodworm hard drive a few years ago but lost it in sunnybrook park ( u might know of the place right?) that was also an amazing battt

well me and brother both play so technically its our bats LOl
i use
MRF Genius and kookaburra kahuna ricky ponting
and bro uses sher amin
and we have a reebok bat that we use for practices
i had a woodworm hard drive a few years ago but lost it in sunnybrook park ( u might know of the place right?) that was also an amazing battt

Ah okay. My brother play cricket occasionally for fun so I hand over everything I have to him as I know he will be playing very very rarely. So it happens among brothers :)

No worries bhai!

Laminated bat is where two seperate piece of woods are joined together to make a bat. Have a close look at your MB Sher Amin edges and you will notice a joint (line).

I am sure you won't be disappointed with Bubber Sher LE.

Yes, I have contacted SailkotShop before and Bhasarat Bhai (owner of Sailkotshop) is a very good bloke. His response are very prompt and quick whereas his service is great as well. I am sure Bhasarat Bhai will get you a very good stick according to your specs.

Ohh another bat which would be even cheaper than MB Bubber Sher LE is AS V10. Beautiful stick it is! Sorry I wasn't able to recall this earlier, my sincere apologizes.

Yea, first time i noticed it.
AS hmmm, so many options yaar
I'm still pretty keen on Sher L.E
And again sorry for asking so many questions lol:jm:inzi
Do u know Bhasarat Bhai personally :misbah

Yea, first time i noticed it.
AS hmmm, so many options yaar
I'm still pretty keen on Sher L.E
And again sorry for asking so many questions lol:jm:inzi
Do u know Bhasarat Bhai personally :misbah

There are always so many options. Its upto you to choose the best one.

If you are then go for it.

No, I don't know him personally but if you mention him that Cover Drive (or Uzair) then he will remember me.

No worries mate! Ask as many questions you want to!

P.S. If you still have any question then please feel free to ask me :moyo

CD bro do you have any istore or something since it seems you have knowledge about the bats? :inzi

My budget would be maximum £100. I once batted with a very light bat (it was a hardball bat, but it was indoor) and I loved it! Was timing the ball excellent and in the gaps. Since my physiqe is not like Atul Sharma (do we have an Atul ismiley btw?) I would not prefer to play with a heavy bat. But I heard once one guy saying his bat is so good that he just touches it and it goes in the gap/for four.

Jazak Allah :D

CD bro do you have any istore or something since it seems you have knowledge about the bats? :inzi

My budget would be maximum £100. I once batted with a very light bat (it was a hardball bat, but it was indoor) and I loved it! Was timing the ball excellent and in the gaps. Since my physiqe is not like Atul Sharma (do we have an Atul ismiley btw?) I would not prefer to play with a heavy bat. But I heard once one guy saying his bat is so good that he just touches it and it goes in the gap/for four.

Jazak Allah :D

Waiyyakum!

Lol no its just a hobby :)

Where are you located by the way? I am assuming that price includes shipping to your doorstep, right? Also is it necessary that the bat has to be Grade 1?

InshAllah I will look at all the options and let you know.

Nah thats just a bull crap!

This mega thread should be moved to the new home.

Of course it will, in a day or so - once everyone who visits this thread has had a chance to read the above couple of posts about the new Section.

Waiyyakum!

Lol no its just a hobby :)

Where are you located by the way? I am assuming that price includes shipping to your doorstep, right? Also is it necessary that the bat has to be Grade 1?

InshAllah I will look at all the options and let you know.

Nah thats just a bull crap!

Norway. I will probably come over my self as flying here and there is no problem for me :ibutt

What do you mean by Grade 1?

CD, how do you feel about CA Plus extra power .. a friend of mine just got it and I'm considering it as it looks like an absolute beast of a bat!

Salams CD. Basically need a new bat for next season. Going to order it around december so not in a hurry yet. Need a light 2.7-2.8 bat top quality at the best deal possible. I dont care about company as long as the piece of willow is great and top notch. So your saying AS V10 from Sialkot store is the best deal on his site for such a bat?

I have answered your question in your thread which was opened in our newly launched Cricket Equipment Section.

You can access Cricket Equipment Section here;

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/forumdisplay.php?f=76

my friend has been using my account so that was actually him posting. I didnt know he posted that. Sorry for inconvenience. Ill talk more bout what I want on the new section didnt know it existed.

Can a mod be kind enough and move this post to Cricket Equipment section and maybe lock it.

The point of this thread now is to encourage people to use the new section of the forum. Would be pointless to put it in the section that is being advertised..

Thread moved to Cricket Equipment forum.

Kahani khatam.
:P