RBS Twenty/20 Cup | Day 6 Matches Thread | 05/Mar/10

Amazing to think that Akhtar and Asif have not played together probably since that test win over India in Karachi

Shoaib should carry on for one more over and bring on Rao in place of Mahmood.

Eagle_Eye said:
Amazing to think that Akhtar and Asif have not played together probably since that test win over India in Karachi
They played in the first innings of the SA test. Have been lethal whenever they've combined though.

That last ball was VERY fast from Shoaib, probably quickest of the day (guess).

This commentator doesn't know what he's talking about!

Shoaib getting a bit frustrated now, these batsmen just want to see him off.

Right hander looks more suspect against Shaoib with his big lung across the stumps

:))) These commentators are just LOL reminiscing about Akhtar as if its the Shoaib Akhtar show

Batsmen looking to just throw cautions to the winds and hoping for the best

These umpires are USELESS, another no ball missed.

Lefty looks a decent player.. but his first class avg is pretty shocking... maybe he plays one way even in the longer version

Hopefully Shoaib will get a wicket here on a would be free hit.

Poison said:
:))) These commentators are just LOL reminiscing about Akhtar as if its the Shoaib Akhtar show
Yeah but can't blame them - the game's pretty one-sided now, and Shoaib is by far the most interesting thing happening!

Lmao, getting ridiculous. A HUGE no ball missed there, Akhtar hits the batsman in the box and sledges.

HIT WHERE THE SUN DONT SHINE! Good come back from akhtar. as i said earlier in the thread...shoaib will be bowling 90mph plus from 18 yards and geting away with it

:)) Akhtar giving the youngster some of his own treatment 'beta seniors ko boundaries nahi marna' :akhtar

This new commentator really reminds me of Hasan Jaleel - quality commentator, the only one in this tournie, shame the others are all so woeful!

4 first ball. All thats left to look 4wad to in this game is Akhtars last over :(

Rao 'Pants above my ankles' Ifthikar is a good muslim insaan.

Rao must be bowling at half the speed of Mr. R. Express.

Wolves should cakewalk this and reach the semis!

Shoaib looking tired and Misbah looking extreamly happy that he wont have to face The Rawalpindi Express

Just tuned in. Shoaib looks leaner and bowled well. This may be an OTT reaction but Shoaib can be a dark horse for the T20 WC.

Akhtar is seems soo unfit while bowling..cant believe some people want him in the team!!

I want to see Shoaib in T20 for world cup.... He still better than the medium pace bunnies that we currently have

Inswinger said:
Just tuned in. Shoaib looks leaner and bowled well. This may be an OTT reaction but Shoaib can be a dark horse for the T20 WC.

i was really shocked not to see him in the 30 man squad

Great bouncer to finish a brilliant come back spell no plz plz plz just stay fit and if not the T20 WC then play in the tour of Eng

shoaib is not as fit as people are making in sound. Sweating like a pig and limping a bit. Looks still 10kg overweight to me. Too much lower body weight.

How quick was that bouncer by Shoaib?! wow..

Why are people saying Shoaib is unfit, he's looking in good shape. Breathing hard is going to happen when you're bowling that quick, he hasn't slackened his pace at all, these 4 overs have been as sharp as.

Fawad_Bhai said:
Akhtar is seems soo unfit while bowling..cant believe some people want him in the team!!

:13: :13: :13: wer not talking about videos on youtube talking abt the life game :p

Switching off now. Akhtar has been the only talking point of this game, otherwise a very mediocre affair.

Poison said:
Because you cannot appreciate outstanding pace bowling, as this spell has been.

He cant even walk properly.

When we have young talent that is better than him, why take a step backwards in stead of moving ahead?

Fawad_Bhai said:

Dont be a hater brother... he seems fit for T20.. Genuine pace man and match winner for Pakistan. I dont see anyone else taking his mantle just yet...

Fawad_Bhai said:
When we have young talent that is better than him, why take a step backwards in stead of moving ahead?
Let me guess.. Mohammad Talha?!.. Wahab Riaz!!? :)))

Fawad_Bhai said:
Open your eyes poison uncle...he cant even walk properly...Dil pe na lo

Which young talent are you refering to?

Fawad_Bhai said:

Wahab IS crap.
Talha is nowhere to be seen.

Which young talent are you exactly referring to?

Fawad_Bhai said:

when ur bowling at that speed after such a long lay off in such heat a slight limp and a break of sweat is defo allowed.

Credit where credit is due...yes akthar isnt 100% fit but he is 100% better then what he was the last time we saw him play and he has bowled a brilliant fast spell that any bowler around the globe would be more then happy with.

Fawad_Bhai said:
Chal be...:p

i mean Anwar Ali, Mohommad Irfan, Aizaz cheema and many others!!

Cheema is 31. :inzi 'Youngster'

Irfan is not an international standard bowler as of yet, as proved by his capitulation in the last over of the last T20. Anwar Ali is possibly the most dissapointing of the lot, has shown zilch since U/19 win.

So now, who?

He didnt look out of breath to me... bowled at good pace all the way through... the more he plays the more match fit he will get....

Poison said:
Wahab IS crap.
Talha is nowhere to be seen.

Which young talent are you exactly referring to?

LOL. did i even mention their names?? this other person named sledger takes their name and u think i mentioned them. I believe they are bad. but 17 crore awam mein we can find many, many bowlers better than :akhtar both in fielding and bowling!

Fawad_Bhai said:

Ali is not a specialist bowler, Irfan was taken apart by Umar Akmal (who Shoaib has dominated in Pak domestics) while Cheema is hardly that much younger than Shoaib. Please go on and name these 'many others' - I expect at least 10 names.

Fawad_Bhai said:
LOL. did i even mention their names?? this other person named sledger takes their name and u think i mentioned them. I believe they are bad. but 17 crore awam mein we can find many, many bowlers better than :akhtar both in fielding and bowling!

so we dont have many...we MAY have many but we havent found them in last 10 years or so but we will now? only one with potential is Aamer but even he is no where near to replace Akhtar yet

ppl!! its only my opinion...it was not meant to offend light hearted people!! I watch as a fan and enjoy the game...i am no selector in disguise!

Fawad_Bhai said:

All medium pacers... We have plethora of those. Any genuine quickie? The only one we have is Aamer who bowls over 90 occasionally.

I have seen Shoaib play since 97/98... In his younger days you would never see him bowl below 90-91... whereas Aamer resorts to being medium fast in test matches especially as the game gets into the last few days.

Love him or hate him... you cannot deny that he brings the x factor to pakistan bowling which has been severely lacking since he has been out.

Fawad_Bhai said:
ppl!! its only my opinion...it was not meant to offend light hearted people!! I watch as a fan and enjoy the game...i am no selector in disguise!

and we just want to discuss ur opinion 8-| :p its cool bro :)

This Asif Hussain guy looks like a little machine :p

Fawad_Bhai said:
He cant even walk properly.

better than him?? do explain. Im curious to know who is better than him. Wahab 'dont know how to bowl under pressure' Riaz, Mohammed 'im good but still need to learn' aamer, or maybe MOh'd 'im lost' Talha?

He is 34 and is bowling fast and accurate. 4 0 21 1 in T20. Ill take that anyday and unlike ur other 'superstar' paceman, Akhtar is best under pressure against the best opposition. 2002 Aussie tour ODIs come to mind.

think they are gna loose this game giving 40-50% of the total through wides and other extras

abhi match hatam nahi hua hai come on!! : Isb keeper

mean while Waqas Ali dance downs the track and smacks a six...he has other plans

Placed well for 4. Asif wants to finish it in a hurry

sarmad1983 said:
better than him?? do explain. Im curious to know who is better than him. Wahab 'dont know how to bowl under pressure' Riaz, Mohammed 'im good but still need to learn' aamer, or maybe MOh'd 'im lost' Talha?

You haters need to stop hating on shoaib. He is 34 and is bowling fast and accurate. 4 0 21 1 in T20. Ill take that anyday and unlike ur other 'superstar' paceman, Akhtar is best under pressure against the best opposition. 2002 Aussie tour ODIs come to mind.

Arey bhai!!! go read what i have said!!! i never mentioned their names!! parho to sahi sayy!!

And have u seen Akhtar fielding?? he cant field or bat..so that is 1 out of 3 points on his ability ( A point for batting, bowling, and fielding)

And i do not hate Akhtar!! He used to be my favorite bowler!! I am just saying he is not fit right now and its not a good idea to go with him! he cant even walk properly!

TalhaSyed said:
Islamabad/Faislabad VS Lahore Lions
Karachi Dolphins/Lahore Eagles VS Sialkot

thanks buddy

a Lahore derby in the final Inshallah! :D

Ahmed Zulfiqar said:
thanks buddy

a Lahore derby in the final Inshallah! :D

no prob :) but come on man you cant have a semi/final with out Boom :afridi Boom :afridi :p

Guys - please refrain from name-calling when discussing the merits or demerits of Shoaib Akhtar.

Whether Shoaib is past-it or still our best pacer is a genuine topic for debate - no reason to employ labels like 'haters', 'chidlish', 'stupid', etc. just because you don't like someone else's opinion on Shoaib

TalhaSyed said:
no prob :) but come on man you cant have a semi/final with out Boom :afridi Boom :afridi :p

:umarakmal :butt :akmal :nj

Eagle_Eye said:
Pardon the pun but... Stallions will run away with the Title :)

they have enough titles, abh mere janasheenon ki baari hai! :p

ShehryarK said:
Guys - please refrain from name-calling when discussing the merits or demerits of Shoaib Akhtar.

Whether Shoaib is past-it or still our best pacer is a genuine topic for debate - no reason to employ labels like 'haters', 'chidlish', 'stupid', etc. just because you don't like someone else's opinion on Shoaib

sure :) sorry if i caused any offence to anyone :)

meanwhile Isb seem to rem how to field all of a sudden

ShehryarK said:

Apologies

Ahmed Zulfiqar said:
:umarakmal :butt :akmal :nj

afridi will get double the size of the crowd coming in :p plus 1 lahore teams already in the semi dont be selfish bhai! :p haha

11 still needed only 7 wickets in hand

Islamabad turning the screws :)