[Report] Babar Azam to be sacked after ICC World Cup 2023 - Sarfaraz, Shaheen and Rizwan emerge as potential replacements

Who should take over if Babar Azam is no longer ODI Captain of Pakistan?

No point picking somebody who is going to 40 years old by the time the next World Cup comes around.

If I was selecting the captain, I would ask ten worthy candidates (ability wise) to take a written examination..
Top 5 would then have to go through a verbal/oral test.

Too three would then have to sit through 5 interviews each...

For added excitement, televise the whole thing and make it like the apprentice

Rizwan and Shaheen will not be better than Babar.

Shan, Sarfraz or Saud all have their merits.
Sarfraz is 36 and half right now, plus we already have a keeper who is pretty much solid for the most part, yes he has some antics on and off the field but he is more consistent of the current bunch. Shan is also not the future and Saud though 28 is still a novice and has barely played any games.

4 years ago we selected a captain based on performance and 4 years later we a making thread asking to sack that captain because he doesn't have any captaincy skills but nominating another perfomer rizwab with no captaincy skills.

In 2027 we will be making a thread to sack rizwan because he's not performing and isn't captaincy material
Who is captaincy material in the current squad and is performing as well? I can only think of SSA.

A bit stupid to bring Sarfraz back who cant bat at interantional level.

Pakistan has Rizwan who is performing in all three formats. So the keeper is not going anywhere, and we cant play both sarfraz and rizwan because sarfraz is a walking wicket. Instead, of Sarfraz a batter can be added to the team.

I dont know if Shaheen or Rizwan are good candidates for captaincy.

Shaheen has never captained a domestic List A game or First Class game. Making Shaheen captain is the same mistake they made when they made Babar the captain. This time around go with someone that has experience with captaining the team.

The candidates should be Rizwan, Iftikhar, Saud Shakeel

Saud Shakeel will play ODI and Test so if he has first class captaincy experience and is good than make him the captain.
Similarly, if Rizwan has done well as captain in domestic cricket than make him captain for all three formats or for limited overs atleast.

Shaheen has captained in t20 cricket, that means nothing. You need long format captaincy experience. Even Babar got Pakistan to a World T20 final and we know what a joke of a captain he has been.

Rizwan has played years of cricket with SNGPL and i think he might have experience, and so does maybe Saud Shakeel. Look at that experience, see whether he did well as a captain or not, and than take the decision.

Iftikhar Ahmad was also given captaincy of SNGPL and KPK, he has done very well and I think KPK won under his captaincy. So he should not be ignored aswell. He is a better lower order hitter compared to all other guys and should get a world T20 aswell

Bringing back sarfraz just to wag the tails of karachi media is the dumbest move ever. Sarfraz cant bat in international cricket, at most he will play 1 more year of cricket and then he will again be exposed and we will be changing captains and be back to square one.
experience is good but we should also look at what brand of cricket we want to play.

With Rizwan, we are going to see the same approach: build the innings and explode at the end 90s type of cricket. I don’t see much changing in mindset. Although tactics may improve in fielding.

Iftikhar Ahmed could be an interesting candidate. He was the only player who said we need to improve batting standards after the perf against Afghanistan. All others blamed the bowling and fielding.

Pakistan's next ODI scheduled after this WC is a year later when they visit Australia for 3 ODI's. Would be hilarious to have a captain named and that captain doesn't even ODI until a whole year later.

Will be same issues leading up this WC where the team is under cooked and bunch of ODI's are crammed into the schedule just before the championship trophy in early 2025.

By then, I am sure whoever is captain will probably be struggling for form and captaincy questions will get asked before he even captains his first match. Such is the nature of Pakistan cricket.

I just hope this time around the captain does not get full authority of selecting his desired players in the squad. Instead it should be the job of chief selector/selection committee. So, that we can get some sort of merit in selections instead of dosti yaari eleven.

Shaheen is the kind of guy that will take his team off the field if a DRS decision goes against him
And sarfraz is kinda guy who will abuse and scold his players in the open while having a live meltdown for all the world to see. Have some shame.

That’s what they deserve.

Isn't that better then what's happening now though? Lol.

You need sarfi to put people like imam and rizwan in their place

Slim has a slim chance to have a grasp on reality
Can sarfraz even put rizwan in his place? Pretty sure he'd give rizzu the 2019 treatment aka boot him out.

I can see the conversation going like this

Rizwan: I want to bat at no 4.

Sarfi: Psl multan sultans has an opening slot for you.

very well-articulated. as much as i hate to say it, captain can only do what is team is capable of doing. Maybe the leader can push the team to achieve their full potential, and collectively punch above their weight. This is only possible if there is a well thought out plan, process behind what the leader is trying to accomplish. If it is just randomly and you end up with random results some of which are positive, you cannot say that person was great leader. I would take a good plan, process and mediocre results every day. Because over a longer period of time, good plan, process and direction is likely to generate more consistent positive results.

I agree to an extent , yes there is only so much you can do with the quality of players you have. But no one can deny that Babar is one of the tactically worst captains we’ve seen. The amount of times even the commies point out his errors is a joke in itself. And the amount of times he’s simply under bowled someone as if he’s forgot they have x amount of overs left. Pakistan wouldn’t have got to the semis with someone else as captain but it would have been a lot less embarrassing with someone else as captain. He’s so pedestrian as a captain it’s a joke and everyone can see it.

Babar should focus on his batting that’s it.

Shaheen should be ODI skipper, rizwan would be the same as babar.

Shan masood as captain would be nepotism and sarfraraz as ODI skipper would be backwards

My preference would be Saud to be captain of the ODI team & vice captain to Sarfraz in the test team with the view of taking over the captaincy from Sarfraz in a year or so.

Rizwan to be skipper for the T20 team with Sarfraz & Saud not playing in the T20 team.

I really wanted to compare this thread to revamp thread after 2019 wc performance and i don't see any changes. You guys are wasting your time to write long essays and suggestions.
Nothing will change. We will see another thread like this after upcoming t20 wc and 2027 wc. We are done & dusted as a nation.

Kohli went through similar phase and he resigned. May be he should take a break from captaincy

Do not compare Kohli's captaincy with Babars. Kohli still left behind a legacy of an aggressive in your face team and was India's most successful captain at home and the first subcontinent captain to win a test series in Australia, so high are India's standards that inspite of his overall success as captain, he was punished for India's failure to win a single ICC tournament in his tenure.

Babar has done zilch in comparison and has left a legacy of dosti yaari, mediocrity, nepotism.

No point picking somebody who is going to 40 years old by the time the next World Cup comes around.

If I was selecting the captain, I would ask ten worthy candidates (ability wise) to take a written examination..
Top 5 would then have to go through a verbal/oral test.

Too three would then have to sit through 5 interviews each...

For added excitement, televise the whole thing and make it like the apprentice
Before sitting the exam, the candidates must pass aptitude tests to ensure we appoint a captain with the right personality (aggressive and stern).

None of the - lovee dovee, jadoo ki jhupe, chal beta kuch nahi huwa - types!

Next captain has to be ruthless both on the field and off the field.

Everything else is second priority!

Feel bad for whoever gets test captaincy considering our next assignment is an away tour vs Australia. Don't see anything but a whitewash and knowing how reactionary our fans and media are, the captain will be under scrutiny straight away

He won't be. Everyone knows our record in Australia so that tour doesn't matter.

Can we please save the crocodile tears for those defending Babar's captaincy.

Here is the reality, if the AFG loss occurred within the 0 - 6 months of Babar's captaincy, then there would be sympathy and support in hope Babar would learn and improve his captaincy. However, after FOUR years, Babar the captain is STILL making the same mistakes, has minimal game awareness, and his team selection gambles have backfired - the result is simple - he has now lost the respect of the dressing room, and the nation.

Becoming a Captain is the easy part, but staying as captain is way way more difficult. Babar failed, and he is not the only captain in the history of the sport to be scrutinized and dispatched like this - because it is the price a captain pays for holding the highest sporting honour for their nation!

You live by the sword, you die by the sword.

guys this is just "reports" PCB has not announced anything in the middle of a tournament yet so calm down
if you want to bash anyone bash the media for leaking reports in middle of a tournament

The media is reporting what they've heard. And it's their job to do that. If I was a reporter and got my hands on something, I'd be very quick to report it before someone else does. It's the PCB's job to keep things under wraps. They probably leaked it on purpose.

Can we please save the crocodile tears for those defending Babar's captaincy.

Here is the reality, if the AFG loss occurred within the 0 - 6 months of Babar's captaincy, then there would be sympathy and support in hope Babar would learn and improve his captaincy. However, after FOUR years, Babar the captain is STILL making the same mistakes, has minimal game awareness, and his team selection gambles have backfired - the result is simple - he has now lost the respect of the dressing room, and the nation.

Becoming a Captain is the easy part, but staying as captain is way way more difficult. Babar failed, and he is not the only captain in the history of the sport to be scrutinized and dispatched like this - because it is the price a captain pays for holding the highest sporting honour for their nation!

You live by the sword, you die by the sword.

You changed your tune

The media is reporting what they've heard. And it's their job to do that. If I was a reporter and got my hands on something, I'd be very quick to report it before someone else does. It's the PCB's job to keep things under wraps. They probably leaked it on purpurpose
Or this might not even be to true
It's not confirmed it's just reports

Anyone but Sarfraz 😭 he led our short form teams to ruin

Also, this is a discussion for after the World Cup. What’s the point of having it right now? After the Cup, we don’t play ODIs for like a whole year, plenty of time to decide the future after the cup is finished.

So you didn't support a captain who you thought was going to win the WC???

Nice web of words.

I support Babar the batsman, under TEAM Pakistan, but not Babar the captain.

In the same way I supported Joe Root the batsman, under TEAM England, but not Joe Root the captain.

Nice web of words.

I support Babar the batsman, under TEAM Pakistan, but not Babar the captain.

In the same way I supported Joe Root the batsman, under TEAM England, but not Joe Root the captain.

Alright that's super logical and clear.....

My only question is babar agree to leave captaincy?will he perform good? Or else he disappointed as captaincy taken away from him

As i said in another thread:

Shaheen can be made captain while having Abdullah/Saus as second captain for B/C/zimbabwe level series with shaheen having veto power over squad selection so abdullah doesnt forgets his place. Rizwan is toxic asf, and having him as captain would be a disaster.

Sarfraz was rightly dropped from the team as his Captaincy, batting, Keeping all deteriorated. He took his position for granted after CT2017. His behaviour as a captain was aweful, he became rude & arrogant. I remember in one match while fielding he said "Babar kya kar Raha hai beta". Calling your professional colleagues as beta is clearly bullying and that's why I hate this seniority culture.

I have aways been with you whenever you said that Babar & Rizwan should not open in T20s and I also don't like Rizwan's on field antics & dramas and the special treatment he is getting in last 3-4 years but I would be lying if I don't accept that Rizwan with all his limitations is a major upgrade from Sarfraz. I also don't want Rizwan to become captain

Not a huge fan of Sarfaraz as captain especially at the official age of 36, but that's not a valid reason. Calling someone "beta" is much better than calling him the worst possible names and hurling insults, which some of our very successful captains have done in the past. "beta" is quite endearing in comparison.

Sarfraz is too old for the ODI captaincy and would not be a long term solution. No reason to bring back someone who hasn't played an ODI for Pakistan in 2 and a 1/2 years. What message would that send to the others, that a player who has been on the sidelines for that long can walk in one fine day and start running things?

SSA's pace is down and is nursing a knock already, committing him to every game by giving him the captaincy is not a good move. Plus both DRS reviews would be burnt within the first 5 overs. Might be a good T20 choice with less strain on him and since he has the PSL pedigree.

Rizwan is the obvious candidate on merit, he is our best white ball bat and much less passive than Babar. I don't see him shying away as easily when the going gets tough, he is always chirping away. Some of that chat may be nonsense and some of it may be good advice, but it's still way better than someone who goes into his shell completely when the tide turns.

Why is he not suitable considering the duds you have in this current XI????
Why you want him back at the age of 35+ and in replacement of whom? Now pls don't say Rizwan. Why not a new young dynamic middle order batsman who can be groomed.

I’m more interested in the coaching staff, we need to get a staff that know what modern ODI cricket is all about, maybe try and get Trott in as batting coach!
Will make no difference. First we need to find some good batsman that have real talent- too many accumulators, not enough talented risk takers, then find 8 international level fast or medium quick bowlers and then spin that can spin the ball. Then bring in a gut that knows what to do with these guys. But none is going to happen.

Sarfraz was rightly dropped from the team as his Captaincy, batting, Keeping all deteriorated. He took his position for granted after CT2017. His behaviour as a captain was aweful, he became rude & arrogant. I remember in one match while fielding he said "Babar kya kar Raha hai beta". Calling your professional colleagues as beta is clearly bullying and that's why I hate this seniority culture.

I have aways been with you whenever you said that Babar & Rizwan should not open in T20s and I also don't like Rizwan's on field antics & dramas and the special treatment he is getting in last 3-4 years but I would be lying if I don't accept that Rizwan with all his limitations is a major upgrade from Sarfraz. I also don't want Rizwan to become captain
I really appreciate how you get straight to the point !

There's definitely been an attempt amongst some to paint the Sarfraz years as some halcyon age !

However I remember the two defeats in UAE to Sri Lanka and New Zealand, the downturn in ODI results before the 2019 World Cup, a 0-3 home T20 series whitewash to Sri Lanka C, and above all Sarfraz having to be hid in the batting order as his form slumped.

He couldn't bat in 6, 7 or 8 as he lacked the powergame. Couldn't bat in top 3 as he struggled against quality pace (and I don't want to hear about a one-off 49 vs SAF in 2015 which has seemingly grown to mystical proportions). And he wasn't better than our specialist bats at 4 and 5.

His tactical brain was far ahead of Babar, but a non-performing captain is intolerable. There was no injustice done.

Fair enough Sarfraz has batted superbly since his comeback but all the Tests were on slow Asian tracks. Reappointing him as captain when he realistically has 1-2 years left at the top level would be illogical.

I really appreciate how you get straight to the point !

There's definitely been an attempt amongst some to paint the Sarfraz years as some halcyon age !

However I remember the two defeats in UAE to Sri Lanka and New Zealand, the downturn in ODI results before the 2019 World Cup, a 0-3 home T20 series whitewash to Sri Lanka C, and above all Sarfraz having to be hid in the batting order as his form slumped.

He couldn't bat in 6, 7 or 8 as he lacked the powergame. Couldn't bat in top 3 as he struggled against quality pace (and I don't want to hear about a one-off 49 vs SAF in 2015 which has seemingly grown to mystical proportions). And he wasn't better than our specialist bats at 4 and 5.

His tactical brain was far ahead of Babar, but a non-performing captain is intolerable. There was no injustice done.

Fair enough Sarfraz has batted superbly since his comeback but all the Tests were on slow Asian tracks. Reappointing him as captain when he realistically has 1-2 years left at the top level would be illogical.

There is an argument since we play non entities like Imam, Nawaz etc that instead we can play a specialist captain. Sounds bad but that's the mess we are in.

I'd go for someone younger Saud or Shafique. Give him 5 or 6 years and start fresh.

Saw Rizwan, Shadab getting scolded by Babar: Ex-pacer's bombshell amid Pakistan captaincy row in World Cup

Former Pakistan pacer Umar Gul has made a sensational claim amid the team's dwindling World Cup 2023 campaign. Babar Azam's captaincy is in massive danger as Pakistan have lost three out of their five games and one more loss will mean an early exit for the 1992 champions.

Speaking on ARY Sports, Gul said, "I was with the Pakistan team for one series and I saw Mohammad Rizwan and Shadab Khan getting scolded by Babar Azam for talking to the bowler. Maybe this is the reason why Rizwan and Shadab hesitate to give their inputs to the captain and bowler."

Further, Gul criticised Babar for not learning anything over the last few years while captaining Pakistan. Gul said that Babar didn't have an attacking mindset and when he needs to build pressure on the opposition, he isn't doing that referring to Afghanistan's brilliant chase against the Men in Green in Chennai as Pakistan were beaten rather comprehensively despite a good total of 282 runs on the board.

“He is leading the side for the past four years. He has led the team in almost all the big events. Not a single thing he has learnt over the period of time. When you need to apply pressure, he is not doing anything. When you need wickets, you don’t see the close-in fielders. You need to bring those strategies. We were playing against Afghanistan, he should have attacked by bringing the close-in fielders," Gul further added.

Saw Rizwan, Shadab getting scolded by Babar: Ex-pacer's bombshell amid Pakistan captaincy row in World Cup

Former Pakistan pacer Umar Gul has made a sensational claim amid the team's dwindling World Cup 2023 campaign. Babar Azam's captaincy is in massive danger as Pakistan have lost three out of their five games and one more loss will mean an early exit for the 1992 champions.

Speaking on ARY Sports, Gul said, "I was with the Pakistan team for one series and I saw Mohammad Rizwan and Shadab Khan getting scolded by Babar Azam for talking to the bowler. Maybe this is the reason why Rizwan and Shadab hesitate to give their inputs to the captain and bowler."

Further, Gul criticised Babar for not learning anything over the last few years while captaining Pakistan. Gul said that Babar didn't have an attacking mindset and when he needs to build pressure on the opposition, he isn't doing that referring to Afghanistan's brilliant chase against the Men in Green in Chennai as Pakistan were beaten rather comprehensively despite a good total of 282 runs on the board.

“He is leading the side for the past four years. He has led the team in almost all the big events. Not a single thing he has learnt over the period of time. When you need to apply pressure, he is not doing anything. When you need wickets, you don’t see the close-in fielders. You need to bring those strategies. We were playing against Afghanistan, he should have attacked by bringing the close-in fielders," Gul further added.

The thing is why is umar gul saying this now?why didn't he say this before the WC started? Or before or after asia cup? Or after the 2022 t20 wc? Why now? Easy to pile up on a guy when he's had a few losses.. these jealous ex cricketers become the greats strategists after their careers are finished..If Pak had thrashed Afg and then SA - there is no way gul would have come up with this nonsense

Bilkul sahi kiya

Some guys need to be told where they truly belong

I am fairly confident in Babar's return. It's untenable to keep a captain who’s inconsistent and underperforming over an extended period. At present, we lack even one player who consistently performs and participates in every match.

Bilkul sahi kiya

Some guys need to be told where they truly belong
To hear it from Umar Gul makes it so much better.

He was one of the good guys of Pakistan cricket. He always stayed away from trouble. He was a real one. Quietly went about his business without seeking attention. Unlike Misbah, he didn’t care about the hero image.

Misbah gets the hero narrative out of all the players who played in the 2010s but the guy was fake. Act kind and humble but then got exposed with the role he played in ousting MA so he could take the role for himself.

Mods - how come you dont have Ifti in the poll list ? I think Ifti is a way better option than Rizwan or Shaheen. Not sure how guys who are not even in the 11 come back as captains - like Imad Sarfaraz. Also never understood this infatuation with going back to ex players. Sarfaraz is done - time for Pak to move on. Just like ms dhoni was done for ind - time to move on. Same with Imad - hasnt been a regular and cant just walk back in as captain. Rizwan - it will be a circus with all his dramabaazi lol !:D I think Ifti should be given a chance - take a punt , try something different and see how it goes. Its not like there is a ton of options anyway. And Ifti's place is certain, for all the people who make fun of his age he has been the best performer for Pak this WC. And no way a bowler should be made captain - they miss so many games nowadays and with injuries so common - there will be no continuity..

To hear it from Umar Gul makes it so much better.

He was one of the good guys of Pakistan cricket. He always stayed away from trouble. He was a real one. Quietly went about his business without seeking attention. Unlike Misbah, he didn’t care about the hero image.

Misbah gets the hero narrative out of all the players who played in the 2010s but the guy was fake. Act kind and humble but then got exposed with the role he played in ousting MA so he could take the role for himself.
We should’ve sacked Misbah in 2015, and brought back Salman Butt.

On a serious note I wish Salman Butt had never thrown it away. He was going to be an excellent captain. His cricketing IQ was superb and was a leader of men. His career was in the ascendency as well.

If he didn’t spot fix, Misbah would’ve remained as a bum in Pakistan cricket.

Ah man. That last DRS review from round the wicket he asked for. The impact was outside the legstump - I've never seen that in my entire life before. Impact outside the leg stump; the ball has gone across a set of stumps, continuing down the leg (with Rizwan heading that way too) and then impact occurs. Outside leg!?!? Dumbfounded. Lucky if it hit leg-stump on a second set of stumps.

And Rizwan was vehemently insisting on the review. Weak captaincy.
Atherton on air commented babar was unable to push them back even though he knews its a very bad review.

Please no Sarfraz. We don't need a captain who hides behind bowlers in the batting lineup.

Almost half the vote for Rizwan!!!!

Even if I don’t consider that guy is a WK for three formats - he is an opener in T20, No. 4 in ODI & No. 6 in Test (means he bats at three crucial spots for three formats), officially 31+ and a hyper excited happy go lucky, rowdy guy who gets injured, hugs opponents, prays in field and takes DRS reviews - all for fun, often in one game!!!! Making such foppish (no offence) guy captain often makes the dressing room a boarding house.

Besides, I am not sure what extra he can add to what’s Babar is offering now - at least Babar doesn’t waste 2 DRS reviews at first opportunity. My hunch is, if he is made captain, he’ll stop keeping (might start bowling a bit as well) & bat at his preferred position/situation, play his favourites to surround (read protect) him.

He is batting exceptionally well, probably team’s best batsman right now, definitely in LO cricket - this is exactly the right time to burden him with the added responsibility of leading a struggling side.

Even if I don’t consider that guy is a WK for three formats - he is an opener in T20, No. 4 in ODI & No. 6 in Test (means he bats at three crucial spots for three formats), officially 31+ and a hyper excited happy go lucky, rowdy guy who gets injured, hugs opponents, prays in field and takes DRS reviews - all for fun, often in one game!!!! Making such foppish (no offence) guy captain often makes the dressing room a boarding house.

Besides, I am not sure what extra he can add to what’s Babar is offering now - at least Babar doesn’t waste 2 DRS reviews at first opportunity. My hunch is, if he is made captain, he’ll stop keeping (might start bowling a bit as well) & bat at his preferred position/situation, play his favourites to surround (read protect) him.

He is batting exceptionally well, probably team’s best batsman right now, definitely in LO cricket - this is exactly the right time to burden him with the added responsibility of leading a struggling side.
100% agreed

Coming from someone whose neutral makes your points stronger

Just last game his DRS as @MMHS said are enough to prove Rizwan can be an Idiot.
Wasim after the game ripped him apart for the buffoonery as well.

Yeah I just don't see what Pak see in him as captain..he will make the dressing room into a circus with all his dramabaazi and he's such a self centered attention craving guy..

Replacing Babar as captain is good...

But if you are bringing Sarfaraz again as captain....then...as a nation you have no right to play cricket....

After Afghanistan's unexpected victory, the entire world is in disbelief, and this includes many Indian (90% of my friends are indians). However, amidst this there is a third-rate journalist who appears to be the happiest person on the planet right now. You can clearly see the uncontainable smile and joy on his face. While there may be numerous disagreements with the cricket board and players, there's not a single Pakistani who can find happiness in the wake of this humiliating defeat.

I voted for Imad Wasim.
This guy looks apart from all. I don't know why, Imad looks like a captain. Well spoken, good looking, a good player.

Aaqib Javed, in an interview with PTI

"Shaheen (Afridi) is the best bet for the future of Pakistan cricket. Babar has failed to prove himself as an able captain in white-ball formats."​

Rizwan is best option for next captain consistent performer throughout

So he should be leading

Sarfraz is past no need for him now

This is where pakistan go wrong selecting a captain based on performance

This isnt gali mohallah cricket that the best player gets to captain and bat first

Personally, I wouldn't change anything until after the Australia series, after which Barbar should just be allowed to step down.

As far replacement's
3 separate captains

Some of the names mentioned don't even have regular spots in the playing X1

Shaan I fear outside influences could hinder his decision making.
Shaheen I fear outside influences could hinder his decision making.
Shadab understands both batting and bowling.
Imad understands both batting and bowling.
Rizwan always smiling and calm even when he wasn't getting into the team.
Iftikhar sorry to old
Sarfraz , he can bat, ill forgive his passed misdemeanors but I don't like the way he berates his team mates (a leopard never loses its spots)
just my opinion

You guys deserve Rizwan

Otherwise you will always target anyone else.

Have Rizwan. Me and the Karachi media will deal with him IA

I don't see Shadab or Imam's name. According to rumours & various reports these two were also tied, right?
Yeah it seems they have a different agent. But the fact that the captain and chief selector are represented by the same is serious

There will be some very big revelations coming soon about how this agency have been leading hidden campaigns to promote their players on social media and how they have been the root cause of hate campaigns against journalists and fans who have questioned their big clients.

It’s going to turn very messy soon

I saw one local program hosted by Krish Srikkanth and his son where there was a discussion about the comparison between Imran Khan's captaincy and Babar's captaincy. One of the panelists who seems to be a fan of the Pakistan team of old was telling "Babar is a very nice man. But he is too nice to be a captain. Everyone is staring at him. Back in the day, Imran would give a stare that would kill the players. Babar doesn't remotely have that authority. He is too timid to get the best out of his players "

Just shows what a poor show that is. Captaincy being discussed by stares. Like what even

Some of the things are true. His DRS is a case in point. Even though he knows it is not worthy of review he goes ahead and reviews anyway if someone pressurizes him. He is not authoritative.

Test:
Babar Australia series with Saud vice captain
Odi
Ifti captain. Saud vice captain
T20
Ifti captain Shaheed. Vc

Some of the things are true. His DRS is a case in point. Even though he knows it is not worthy of review he goes ahead and reviews anyway if someone pressurizes him. He is not authoritative.
how you use DRS is a very minor thing..

Your field placements, your strategy (to be aggressive or defensive) and the players you select matters more in captaincy

Rizwan being appointed the captain in whatever format, would mean that they would lose ALL OF THE available DRS reviews in no time. A big blunder.

Like I said before, I wouldn't vote for any one of them and instead concentrate on changing the process.

Lol pakistan would wouldn't be stupid enough to bring back sarfraz would they?
He isn't on the same level as rizwan

So Babar says after the toss that we must improve all departments specially fielding and bowling

A big lol