[Reports] Gary Kirsten and Andy Flower being considered for Pakistan Head Coach role

I think Kirsten would be rather expensive for PCB, wouldnt he? (compared to Misbah /Waqar anyway)

If PCB can pay an inept coach (Misbah) 32 lacs per year; then a World Cup winning coach should be asking what he deserves

The BCCI/KGB probably rang him up and told him it won't be good for him if he signs with Pakistan.

Don't think so!! If that was the case , BCCI can easily arm twist anyone (with the $$$ power they have)
KPL is all about the name Kashmir which created controversies

G Kirsten happy to coach some random side in the hundred but isn’t available for an international stint as head coach of Pakistan???

Being head coach of Pakistan (as foreigner is no easy feat) :
1) You are not connected politically with anyone (to cover up for your mistakes)
2) You are being criticized everyday on national TV, even you produce some decent results
3) Even though you try to remain fair to players most of the time , and try to build a team and healthy environment; but selector will send his boys in the team just to disrupt all this process
4) PCB would chose to delay your payments when they want to
5) Job is not lucrative at all

On the other hand , if some coach join these leagues :
1) He can be coach of 3/4 leagues in an year , working 5 months Full time , and earning much more
2) He can earn a lot (may be 50 times more than what PCB offers for a single year)
3) No headaches, politics, selection matters, and rubbish to deal with PCB etc.

International cricket is just losing its prestige now.

Franchise cricket depends solely on legends and has beens of International cricket of 10 years ago for its playing and coaching roles. It will then depend on the star players of today as its coaches in the future.

Mike Hesson doesn't want to help Pakistan get back to the top but would more than happily work 6 weeks for RCB to try and win a pointless trophy. Money just isn't the issue here. We all know PCB can fork out the cash if they want to!

The point is, coaches can fine-tune and improve some aspects of a cricketer's game, but they can't make average players into world-beaters.

And Pakistan at the moment has far too many average players who the coaches cannot perform miracles with.

Atleast they would be tactically sound as compared to Misbah and Waqar who have been found seriously lacking in tactical and planning skills, for example not playing an extra leg spinner against England C team who were not that great against spin, where as they used Moeen ali and livingstone perfectly well.

None of Misbah and Waqar is not going anywhere at least 2-3 years. We fans can moan or bang our heads on the wall but these 2 s have serious support from PCB itself, IK, formers and journalists. With the desi mentality both can get away loosing more matches citing lack of talent than foreign coaches.

G Kirsten happy to coach some random side in the hundred but isn’t available for an international stint as head coach of Pakistan???

He can coach a team in the hundred and then in the IPL and may be another in the BBL. More money. Less number of days staying away from the family. Easier lifestyle. More visibility.

Why will he take up pakistan job? Its not a very attractive proposition.

International cricket is just losing its prestige now.

Franchise cricket depends solely on legends and has beens of International cricket of 10 years ago for its playing and coaching roles. It will then depend on the star players of today as its coaches in the future.

Mike Hesson doesn't want to help Pakistan get back to the top but would more than happily work 6 weeks for RCB to try and win a pointless trophy. Money just isn't the issue here. We all know PCB can fork out the cash if they want to!

If PCB can fork out the cash, why dont they? Offer a million dollars a year and see if a coach comes or not?

Gary Kirsten might be an Indian hero, but he's a liar and a sellout in my eyes. He stepped down as the coach of SA in August 2013 citing family commitments. Then in September 2013 he's the coach for Delhi Daredevils. It would be wise to stay away from such a insincere person.

He can coach a team in the hundred and then in the IPL and may be another in the BBL. More money. Less number of days staying away from the family. Easier lifestyle. More visibility.

Why will he take up pakistan job? Its not a very attractive proposition.

If coaching India can be made to look attractive, I’m sure Pakistan can also find ways to seduce.

It takes a man of great character to want to settle in India after being used to the luxuries of the west

Gary Kirsten might be an Indian hero, but he's a liar and a sellout in my eyes. He stepped down as the coach of SA in August 2013 citing family commitments. Then in September 2013 he's the coach for Delhi Daredevils. It would be wise to stay away from such a insincere person.

Daredevils probably take only 2 months of his time and may be pay more than SA.

He can pay his bills and give time to his family too.

Kirsten gave a decade and a half to SA cricket. One would feel he has earned the right to pick and choose at this stage of his life.

If coaching India can be made to look attractive, I’m sure Pakistan can also find ways to seduce.

It takes a man of great character to want to settle in India after being used to the luxuries of the west

Bcci pays it coaches a million dollars or more a year.

Mickey Arthur used to get 20k USD a year.

A person from the west can enjoy all the luxuries he wants in India, no restrictions on alcohol or night life.Best salary in industry and much more.

Then there are incidents that happen to coaches, like the one that happened to richard pybus.

No wonder pakistan usually struggles to get a top tier coach.

A person from the west can enjoy all the luxuries he wants in India, no restrictions on alcohol or night life.Best salary in industry and much more.

Then there are incidents that happen to coaches, like the one that happened to richard pybus.

Alcohol is available for foreigners in Pakistan, and I don’t think there’s many 50 year olds that are interested in ‘night life’ or clubbing.

With the PSL being a success and cricket finally coming back to Pakistan, I’m sure they can fork out a 100k salary for a coach.

Its 20K usd a month.

Alcohol is available for foreigners in Pakistan, and I don’t think there’s many 50 year olds that are interested in ‘night life’ or clubbing.

With the PSL being a success and cricket finally coming back to Pakistan, I’m sure they can fork out a 100k salary for a coach.

There are restrictions on alcohol in pakistan. In India is freely available.

How many bars and pubs are there in lahore or karachi?

100k per month will be 1.2mn a year. Offer that and watch coaches line up.

If PCB wants to see the results, they need to splurge the cash for a good foreign coaching team.

People will do just about anything for the right sum of money.

Any foreign coach would happily give up the ability to drink alcohol outside his home if he's racking up an excess of $1 million a year.

If PCB wants to see the results, they need to splurge the cash for a good foreign coaching team.

People will do just about anything for the right sum of money.

Any foreign coach would happily give up the ability to drink alcohol outside his home if he's racking up an excess of $1 million a year.
The Pakistani government can only splurge the cash when it comes to buying ware fare toys to keep up with India’s military inventory.

I think we can afford to offload a JF17 to Uzbekistan or someone and use the funds to revamp the entire PCB and PSL

There are restrictions on alcohol in pakistan. In India is freely available.

How many bars and pubs are there in lahore or karachi?

100k per month will be 1.2mn a year. Offer that and watch coaches line up.

I remember an interview with the late Bob Woolmer - a journalist asked him what it is like being in Pakistan where there is 'no alcohol'. And his response was 'I drink more alcohol in Pakistan than I do in England' :))

Those of us who know about Pakistan as a country know that alcohol is widely available to anyone who wants it, Muslim or non-Muslim, though Muslims will have to go 'under the table' to get it. The top hotels have bars and the main cities have off licences etc where non-Muslims can legally buy their beer, whisky, wine etc.

Though, as others have pointed - go to any nightclub in the world and you aren't going to see many people above the age of 35, maybe a handful of people in their early 40s and maybe 1 or 2 in their 50s having a mid-life crisis. Anyway, I digress but the point is that bars and nightclubs is not an issue that is stopping Pakistan getting a top foreign coach !

I remember an interview with the late Bob Woolmer - a journalist asked him what it is like being in Pakistan where there is 'no alcohol'. And his response was 'I drink more alcohol in Pakistan than I do in England' :))

Those of us who know about Pakistan as a country know that alcohol is widely available to anyone who wants it, Muslim or non-Muslim, though Muslims will have to go 'under the table' to get it. The top hotels have bars and the main cities have off licences etc where non-Muslims can legally buy their beer, whisky, wine etc.

Though, as others have pointed - go to any nightclub in the world and you aren't going to see many people above the age of 35, maybe a handful of people in their early 40s and maybe 1 or 2 in their 50s having a mid-life crisis. Anyway, I digress but the point is that bars and nightclubs is not an issue that is stopping Pakistan getting a top foreign coach !

I think Joshila bhai is too Joshila to realise Lahore, Islamabad and Karachi are actually pretty chilled out places for tourism and nightlife.

The Pakistani government can only splurge the cash when it comes to buying ware fare toys to keep up with India’s military inventory.

I think we can afford to offload a JF17 to Uzbekistan or someone and use the funds to revamp the entire PCB and PSL

Why should defence money be used on sport though lol that’s like saying allocated gov funding available for the likes of BAE Systems and RR should be used to revamp the ECB

A foreign coach is not able to work with the team.
It has been proven time and time again

I think Joshila bhai is too Joshila to realise Lahore, Islamabad and Karachi are actually pretty chilled out places for tourism and nightlife.

They may be chilled out but there are restrictions there that are not there in non islamic countries.

Says who? Are you trying to say Alcohol and company for alcohol is inaccessible in Pakistan?

Don’t understand how Woolmer, Whatmore, Lawson and Arthur managed to stay for that long unless they were devout Muslims?

I think that Andy Flower will be fine to coach Pakistan as he seems quite a straight laced guy.

Reading about cheer leader experiences in IPL ( local women experiences usually don;t get newspaper time) and you can see that Aussies and Saffers have a penchant for a "good time" so it may be difficult to pick up a coach from those countries apart from Mickey who will happily come again.

No thanks, we don't need another era of coaches playing favourites

Daredevils probably take only 2 months of his time and may be pay more than SA.

He can pay his bills and give time to his family too.

Kirsten gave a decade and a half to SA cricket. One would feel he has earned the right to pick and choose at this stage of his life.

He dropped SA halfway through his contract, lied about the reason, then went to coach in the IPL... He can choose whatever he likes, he should also live with the consequences.

Pakistan has similar laws on alcohol and nightlife as Dubai and many foreigners prefer the Arabian gulf over India. Most of these coaches are oldheads but Pakistan's elite does have a night life that is as wild as anything you'll come across in Ibiza or Miami, a young foreign player would have no issues getting into one of those parties.

Best thing is to stay quiet on matters for which you have no idea about. Multiple posters have given you correct answers, but you're just going in circles now.

None of Misbah and Waqar is not going anywhere at least 2-3 years. We fans can moan or bang our heads on the wall but these 2 s have serious support from PCB itself, IK, formers and journalists. With the desi mentality both can get away loosing more matches citing lack of talent than foreign coaches.

Man tired of reading your trash every single post about IK and Misbah. Give it a rest

Pakistan has similar laws on alcohol and nightlife as Dubai and many foreigners prefer the Arabian gulf over India. Most of these coaches are oldheads but Pakistan's elite does have a night life that is as wild as anything you'll come across in Ibiza or Miami, a young foreign player would have no issues getting into one of those parties.

They don’t know about it well enough because the current Pakistani players are a bunch of freshies who probably have no connection to that setting in Pakistani elites.

Well they can always socialize with the media and I'm sure the PSL franchise owners got sons that could show them around, it's not hard to make connections once you're an international cricket star in Pakistan. Anyways I don't think old heads like Flower and Kirsten are interested in partying, most people in the west lose interest in that once they're past their 20s, I think they'd be content with just golfing and a steady supply of beer which the PCB can take care of.

Best thing is to stay quiet on matters for which you have no idea about. Multiple posters have given you correct answers, but you're just going in circles now.

Don't know why we bother giving him airtime. The guy is so predictably boring.

It’s good because his ignorance is important for the exposure of false Indian propaganda, who he basically embodies on this forum. According to Joshila,

India= A replica of the west and the west loves India

Pakistan= A replica of the Sharia law and the west despises this

The truth is, India has to pay its foreign staff 4X the amount that they would happily accept in SENA or West Indies because it is a daunting, extremely difficult place to get used to and settle in. Pakistan will have to do the same if not more, it has nothing to do with nightlife and hospitality.

Better read the experience of Richard Pybus in Pakistan.

One mans experience from over 20 years ago can't be used to generalize an entire country especially considering how long ago it was. I've read and watched travel blogs/vlogs about India that are very critical of Indian society and why a lot of foreigners hated living in India - India is far from being westernized and has a lot of societal problems, some that are uniquely indian problems.

Looks to me Joshilla bhai is more Nashella than Joshilla

As Stephen Hawking Said

"It's not the ignorance which is more dangerous, its the illusion of knowledge"

He is commenting on something he has no idea about - not for the first time too. What did you expect?

20 years ago ? World has changed since then. Pretty sure those same foreign coaches and players are beef back then but may be killed for it if they eat that now (in India). Now you would tell me that is not my domain as I am not in India. Pretty much sums up your constant anti-Pakistan rhetoric here.

Anyway back to the point has there been any actual statements or credible news that Andy flower or Gary Kirsten have been approached or shown an interest in the job? It would be remarkable if so. Personally I think misbah will be moved towards a Director of Cricket position. Currently these are just care taker coaches to aid the strengthening of domestic cricket. I think it was a major development to establish more High performance centres and Junior cricket. Unless we get regional cricket strengthened no foreign coach is going to make a difference. I expect misbah and Waqar to remain in their positions for another couple of years while domestic cricket improves.

Misbah and Waqar are the saviours of Pak cricket, they are here to stay like Intikhab Alam. They are the best that Pak cricket have at the moment and serving. Pak will beat NZ B team and they will stay till 2023 World Cup.