Second ODI between India [321/6] and West Indies [321/7] ends in a tie, India lead series 1-0

Just goes to show 2 of our top 3 have to perform for India to win. This time only Kohli performed and we are getting annihilated.

Even WI has a better middle order than our jokers. But hey, we need experience there and the advice of Grandpa is invaluable for Kohli.

Umesh Yadav wouldn't have made it into our 90s ODI team. Good that all pretenders are being exposed tonight.

320 on these pitches is barely par score.

Any good batting unit will score over 350. Our middle order did not fire. Scoring at under 80 S/R is criminal on these pitches. We are not in 90's era anymore.

Umesh Yadav is not an ODI bowler. He may have his good days, but he is still a back up player who should only play if someone is injured.

Overall, a very weak batting effort from India.

So our batsmen should score 350+ so that our incompetent bowlers can defend it?

Indian team is all about Kohli and Bumrah these days. Batting looked poor without Kohli in the Asia Cup and now bowling looks toothless in the absence of Bumrah.

If Evin Lewis slots back into this side replacing a past it Marlon, that's quite a strong batting lineup. Best they've had in years since Lara,Hooper were playing together.

So our batsmen should score 350+ so that our incompetent bowlers can defend it?

Indian team is all about Kohli and Bumrah these days. Batting looked poor without Kohli in the Asia Cup and now bowling looks toothless in the absence of Bumrah.

How quickly people forget that Indian batting is not just Kohli. It is our Top 3. Both ROhit and Dhawan have been in terrific form in the last 1 year.

Our bowling is also not bad. We have one of the best bowling attacks in the world. On these pitches all bowlers will be taken to the cleaners. Its just that our Middle order did not smash WI spinners. Too much circumspect and too slow in scoring.

Discard this Umesh from LOIs. Let him stick to India B test team. Turning into another Shinwari.

He is India's answer to Wahab Riaz. Bowls well in patches. Looks world class sometimes but bowls like a total noob 75% of the time. The only good thing about him is his pace and he hasn't slowed down after playing for so many years. Should only play test cricket.

Time to unleash some beasts and monsters from IPL? :inti

India had issues even before IPL. They actually won a World Cup after 3 years of IPL! At least IPL is showing some solutions which the selectors/management fail to see! Don't conclude everything to IPL... We were not fielding like this before, our spinners were ineffective outside SC before (even in LOIs) exposure to IPL gave an indication that you have to be aggressive & wrist spinner, we were not chasing like this before (barring one-off efforts like Natwest victory which we remembered and chanted for long time!) And we were trundlers even before (even Prabhakar, Srinath, Prasad, etc, were taken to cleaners!), now at least we have Bumrah, Bhuvi kind of thinking bowlers!

On another note, it's nice to see this Indian team being challenged by a proper team at home rather than romping home with 9 wickets in hand against certain other teams in the asia Cup :srini

No Mystery = No Wickets on these batting tracks.

Jaddu is still an excellent Test bowler. But on flat tracks, he is a cannon fodder.

Bishoo + Nurse gave away only 86 runs in 20 overs. That is where India faltered.

Contrast that to how Indian spinners were dealt with.

On another note, it's nice to see this Indian team being challenged by a proper team at home rather than romping home with 9 wickets in hand against certain other teams in the asia Cup :srini

That's very much right :) I knew WI would challenge India in ODIs, I was surprised even with their efforts in 2nd test! I also think they are going to win both the T20s if they continue this form even if India fields all its best XI...

No Mystery = No Wickets on these batting tracks.

Jaddu is still an excellent Test bowler. But on flat tracks, he is a cannon fodder.
Not sure why are you singling out Jadeja only when you yourself said the quote below
Our bowling is also not bad. We have one of the best bowling attacks in the world. On these pitches all bowlers will be taken to the cleaners. Its just that our Middle order did not smash WI spinners. Too much circumspect and too slow in scoring.

Jadeja today has the best economy so far. :inti

WI Board, Players, Fans, Media have to come together again and resurrect their cricket! They still have mighty talents to become a strong team! Cricket needs that!

Not sure why are you singling out Jadeja only when you yourself said the quote below

Jadeja today has the best economy so far. :inti

Jaddu came back well in the last 2 overs. Only gave away like 3 runs.

I am singling out Jaddu because he will not make into the 1st team automatically. He is still back up to Kuldeep and Chahal.

To be frank, I would pick Jaddu over Chahal. Jaddu is blessed in all facets of the game. Chahal is a better ODI bowler, but his fielding and batting are no where near Jaddu level.

I am singling out Jaddu because he will not make into the 1st team automatically. He is still back up to Kuldeep and Chahal.

To be frank, I would pick Jaddu over Chahal. Jaddu is blessed in all facets of the game. Chahal is a better ODI bowler, but his fielding and batting are no where near Jaddu level.

Agree.Jaddu just needs to bit more consistent

Pandya,Jaddu and Bhuvi can be very good lower order

Khaleel came from domestics too. :inti

Listen to what Zaheer said about how he made the grade. U-19-> Dravid's recommendation ->Delhi Daredevils-> Dravid and Zaheer's mentorship -> Dravid's recommendation -> India A -> Dravid's recommendation -> India :Dravid

He isn't even a regular for his state Ranji team

Jaddu is a backup for Hardik Pandya not Kuldeep or Chahal.

Listen to what Zaheer said about how he made the grade. U-19-> Dravid's recommendation ->Delhi Daredevils-> Dravid and Zaheer's mentorship -> Dravid's recommendation -> India A -> Dravid's recommendation -> India :Dravid

Just checked his IPL stats. He has played a grand total of 1 IPL match lol. You are so desperate. Khaleel was not found by IPL. Picking cricketers from Under 19 teams and labeling them as their own? :inti

His last 3 overs only went for 5 runs. Darted like a pro. I would still pick him ahead of Chahal.

Don't understand the dislike for Chahal. Is a genuine wicket taker, goes normally at less than 5 runs per over, today is the first time after that SA shocker by Klassen when he is going at 6+ RPO

Khaleel played for Delhi?How did he do?

Jaddu is a backup for Hardik Pandya not Kuldeep or Chahal.

Hardik will play as the main allrounder unless he is injured.

The competition would be between Kuldeep/Jaddu/Chahal for the 2 spinners positions.

My guess is India will go with Bumrah/BK/Kuldeep/Chahal/Hardik to start off the WC. Depending on form, Jaddu can replace one of the spinners.

Holder playing like Dhoni. Ice cool under pressure. May be he will slog in the 49th over :msd

Indians were moaning about Jadeja and Dhoni SR, look at Jason Holder. Comes in with RRR at 5.5 and single handedly takes it to nearly 8 by batting at 40 SR :))

From Cric Info - "Rishabh Pant has not sustained any serious injuries from thudding into the advertising boards while trying to take a catch at long-on. Lacerations on the shoulder and finger. Nothing major"

Hardik will play as the main allrounder unless he is injured.

The competition would be between Kuldeep/Jaddu/Chahal for the 2 spinners positions.

My guess is India will go with Bumrah/BK/Kuldeep/Chahal/Hardik to start off the WC. Depending on form, Jaddu can replace one of the spinners.

Will you also play Pant?

Don't understand the dislike for Chahal. Is a genuine wicket taker, goes normally at less than 5 runs per over, today is the first time after that SA shocker by Klassen when he is going at 6+ RPO

He's damn good bowler,prolly why he plays ahead of Kuldeep sometimes

But its about balance and he has no secondary skill

Indians were moaning about Jadeja and Dhoni SR, look at Jason Holder. Comes in with RRR at 5.5 and single handedly takes it to nearly 8 by batting at 40 SR :))

Haan bhai kon jeet raha hai? Habshi log kuch kar bhi rahe hai ya nahi

[MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] this is why I said restricting India to only 321 here was a super effort from the Windies. The dew has quickened the pitch and the spinners are going for aplenty. WI just needs some smart batting here and they're home.

Indeed bro, unbelievable chase, even if they miss it. I am really scared with our boys in DEC - if these two kids at 3 & 4 can put a partnership, Sharmaji's 264 will be in risk.

Will you also play Pant?

I would prefer Shaw over Pant if Pant is not keeping.

Pant does not deserve a place in the middle order if he is not the keeper. Which means, MSD needs to be kicked out.

Rohit
Dhawan
Kohli
KL Rahul
Shaw
Pant W/K
Pandya
Jaddu
BK
Kuldeep
Bumrah

This should be the ideal team for the WC 2019.

MSD is throwing off the teams balance.

Kohli must be feeling Tendulkeresque today. So many personal milestones , a great knock of 157*, did everything he could individually do but ends up on the losing side.

Well deserved though for atrocious selections

Pant does not deserve a place in the middle order if he is not the keeper. Which means, MSD needs to be kicked out.

Rohit
Dhawan
Kohli
KL Rahul
Shaw
Pant W/K
Pandya
Jaddu
BK
Kuldeep
Bumrah

Good team but Dhoni and Rayudu are not going anywhere. :kohli

Kohli must be feeling Tendulkeresque today. So many personal milestones , a great knock of 157*, did everything he could individually do but ends up on the losing side.

Well deserved though for atrocious selections

Still haven't lost, but WIN have to do a WIN of recent times to miss it. Never thought my post in this thread will come back like this :(

Rohit
Dhawan
Kohli
KL Rahul
Shaw
Pant W/K
Pandya
Jaddu
BK
Kuldeep
Bumrah

Jadhav hasn't done anything wrong.Plus his bowling is much needed

Will this loss drill some sense in Kohli on Dhoni's (and other grandpas) utter uselessness

Why didn't Kohli tried a 6th bowlers today? IND was missing an Offie against Shimron, ATR could have tried few overs.

Will this loss drill some sense in Kohli on Dhoni's (and other grandpas) utter uselessness

Never assume anything. Shai Hope is anchoring the innings but if he falls the remaining batsmen will still need to rotate strike off every ball and get doubles.

No.

Kohli will come out and say, these are the games why we precisely need Grandpa Dhoni in the team. Kohli needs the broad shoulders of MSD to cry and MSD will console him like a wise sage.

Why didn't Kohli tried a 6th bowlers today? IND was missing an Offie against Shimron, ATR could have tried few overs.

No one else can bowl. Dhawan and Rayudu are proper chuckers, Kohli and Dhoni are pie chuckers. Rohit used to bowl but stopped bowling ages ago

Then it's extremely risky XI - forget bad day, what if one bowler breaks down after 2-3 overs? That Jadav guy should replace ATR or Pant.

Discard these Shamis and Yadavs Pls. Let them stick to Test cricket. Should have given Khaleel another chance today.

Shami is still a useful ODI bowler. He should be in the team as a backup. Vut Umesh should stick to Tests. ODI's are not his forte. He is too wayward and goes for plenty most of the times.