Shoaib Akhtar speaks well of India to make money: Virender Sehwag

shebimalik

Tape Ball Star
Mumbai: While he may be known to decimate opposition bowling by simply remaining unfazed by with the situation or the bowler, former India opener Virender Sehwag also holds a strong sense of humour.

The aggressive Delhi was at his best when he ridiculed the ‘Rawalpindi Express’ Shoaib Akhtar’s words of praise for Indian cricket with the sole reason of only achieving business in the sub-continent.

“Shoaib Akhtar became a really good friend because he wanted to establish business in India. That’s why he had to talk good about India so that he could get paid by doing commentary. Whenever you see Akhtar today, you’ll notice him praising India so much, nobody would even believe him praising India so much in his life. During my time when he used to bowl to me, there was no love lost. Money can do everything,” Sehwag poked fun at former Pakistan speedster, here during the launch of mobile streaming service Viu.

Sehwag and former India pacer Zaheer Khan will feature in a brand new celebrity cricket chat show ‘What The Duck’ anchored by cricket humorist Vikram Sathaye on the digital platform. The 12-minute episode will showcase the funny side of former and current cricketers.

Sehwag gave audiences present on the terrace garden at the Mumbai hotel, a glimpse of his humorous best, tickling them with rib-tickling tales.

The veteran batsman led his side Gemini Arabians to clinch the inaugural Masters Champions League.

Former Pakistan bowler Rana Naved-ul-Hasan (who played for Sehwag’s team in the MCL) changed his stance saying earlier it was Inzamam-ul-Haq who was his best captain but now it’s clearly Sehwag.

“Yes, definitely, because now he too is in search of maybe a job in a news channel in India. If Star Sports is listening then they too can call him to give Sehwag some company and have another Pakistani commentator. Nowadays Pakistani people such as Mohammad Yousuf, Saqlain Mushtaq or Rana, who work in Pakistan TV channels, all want to come to India because they know India is a big market and obviously if you get Rs 1 lakh over here, then its Rs 2 lakh in Pakistan,” the 37-year-old Sehwag told Sathaye in a chat much to the laughter of the corporate gathering.

However, Sehwag, who announced his retirement last year in October is quite relieved to leave the game specially when it comes to his two kids Aryavir and Vedant, who would taunt their dad while he was in his playing days.

“When you have children they tease you to such levels that you can’t even expect. Today also when they watch television, they tell me, ‘Papa, agar aap khel rahe tho aap out ho jaate, tho hamara kya hota, hamare dost tho haemin maar ke ate’ (Papa, if you were playing today and if you were out then our friends would hammer us). Imagine if I was playing and got out, how much would I have to listen? Luckily now I have left cricket and my children too have grown older and mature,” Sehwag guffawed.

During the course of the chat it was revealed that former India skipper and currently coach of India under-19 cricket team Rahul Dravid, who used to meditate for 20 minutes, would not see Sehwag attend the meditation course.

“I don’t think it’s needed. My funda is to play the ball you just need 30 seconds or 20 seconds. If you can meditate for that time then it’s very good. Whenever I tried to meditate, be it for 20, 30 or 50 seconds, I just couldn’t do it so that’s why I didn’t even try to mediate. I though whatever I am doing that’s fine. Singing songs, blowing whistles (while batting), in that way I am getting to score runs and more than Dravid so what’s the problem,” he added heartily.

Source: http://www.deccanchronicle.com/spor...out-india-only-to-make-more-money-sehwag.html

I distinctly remember Sehwag enquiring Akhtar about his health after his surgery and wishing him a speedy recovery with the words "Get well soon champ!" on twitter.

Is the source credible?

Could be to repay back the love shown by Dalmiya as well..
Chill out viru :D (if you actually said this ie)

Of course he does, someone who is happy to make money by continuously lambasting his own countrymen is hardly going to be genuine in his admiration for India.

If this is true, then this is poor stuff by Sehwag. The situation between countries are tensed so no need to give such cheap statements. Has nothing to with balls, just being stupid.

And before people start bashing me then look how I started my post.

If this is true, then this is poor stuff by Sehwag. The situation between countries are tensed so no need to give such cheap statements. Has nothing to with balls, just being stupid.

And before people start bashing me then look how I started my post.

Arre baba... Read the entire detail... they were in a joke interview poking fun at all.

This is why I love Sehwag. A typical delhite. Says stuff like it is, no bsing around.

Sent from my ASUS_Z008D using Tapatalk

Either the stuff he said in his book - Tendulkar's leg shaking etc was not genuine, or his way too pally stance and Tendulkar being the best and all, what he has been saying in the last 2 years is not genuine.

Most likely said all that in zest pulling the legs of Shoaib and Rana Naved.

Can't believe anyone can be serious when saying such things.

Viru's just telling it like it is, he's right. He's not saying it in a malicious way, more like teasing. He and Akhtar seem pretty friendly on Twitter and in real life anyway.

Akhtar isn't exactly genuine. Can attack you or praise you too much.

Assuming this news article is true.....I feel this is uncool from Sehwag to do it in press (not that his views are wrong). Its like how we ask Dhoni to not criticize Umesh Yadav publicly.

People can see what's happening, who's who and whatnot.

Some things are better left alone.

Gotta love Viru for his genuineness lol we all know Shabby is innit for the money. But so is everyone else. Viru's just too much of a realist.

Well he might me right.

One correction though , 1 lakh indian is 1.53 lakh pakistani rs. No 2 lakhs.

Holla what a demolition!

Sehwag = the Donald Trump of cricket.

Let me just say I loved Akhtar back when he was a player, but now all he does is lick India's feet, his commentating is bakwas and he even makes fun of all Pakistani and jokes about them but is full of praise for Indians even Nehra is better than Wasim for him now. Ghatiya Insaan

I though whatever I am doing that’s fine. Singing songs, blowing whistles (while batting), in that way I am getting to score runs and more than Dravid so what’s the problem,” he added heartily.

Source: http://www.deccanchronicle.com/spor...out-india-only-to-make-more-money-sehwag.html

I agree with everything he said except for this.

Dravid was a great player and no need to take unnecessary shots at him. If as a senior player for the good for Indian team he told him to be a little more circumspect about the team situation & his shot selection (only some days) than there is nothing wrong in it.

He should only not disregard Dravid Runs by saying that at the end of the day he used to score more runs than Dravid. He should see that on many occasions it was Dravid who took rare guard of the situation after a risky shot dismissal of Sehwag as a wall as he was and stopped wickets flow.

Both of them were Great batsman in there own styles and both were effective. But Sehwag shouldn't have said this. Atleast it's good that he did not say this in his playing days :)

He is not the first one, Wasim Akram and Rameez doing the same, Wasim more than all.

Holla what a demolition!

How long before Viru starts advocating in favour of war crimes :ghalib

As for his comments, he's just joking around on a lighthearted show. Nothing to get offended about, I bet if we watched the actual footage it would be completely harmless.

It was said in jest but I don't see how this could make anyone laugh. Maybe the humor was lost in translation. :moyo

He is correct. Anything that Shoaib says or does these days cannot be taken seriously.

Classless and boorish comments from sehwag as usual. Maybe he carries a grudge against akhtar.

CC can't hide his real loyalties when it comes to sehwag, all the trolling goes out of the window and his blood boils everytime he sees or reads about sehwag, sehwag is a bigger troller than CC :srini

Akhtar isn't exactly genuine. Can attack you or praise you too much.

Assuming this news article is true.....I feel this is uncool from Sehwag to do it in press (not that his views are wrong). Its like how we ask Dhoni to not criticize Umesh Yadav publicly.

People can see what's happening, who's who and whatnot.

Some things are better left alone.

I think it is Sehwag who is in need of some contracts these days. I remember him during his retirement speech that he plans to join hindi commentary, which i don't see him yet. Anyhow, reg these comments, I think he likes the limelight, feel he gets carried away at times and fails to be diplomatic. The latest i see is a bunch of 'this guy or that guy' statements on cricbuzz. You got to give it to him for his sense of humor.

CC can't hide his real loyalties when it comes to sehwag, all the trolling goes out of the window and his blood boils everytime he sees or reads about sehwag, sehwag is a bigger troller than CC :srini

Sehwag is like a truth serum... :trollface

Good ol' Sehwag. Even after the retirement he's destroying Akthar like he used to do in his cricketing days.

All those Australians and South Africans dancing/singing is in love of India? Lets just be honest, its IPL and money power ...

This is what Dale Steyn had to say about Sehwag - "The times in the past that I have played in India, I have bowled against guys like Virender Sehwag. That guy was an absolute nightmare for me. If you missed him by a small margin, he would smoke you out of the park. It was incredibly difficult to bowl to Sehwag," :misbah
There's no shame in getting carted around by one of the greatest opener in the history of Cricket. I am sure Akthar thinks the same. :D

Joke or not Classless coment from Shewag as usual.

Lol, i agree with this, i dont particualrly like either of them, and shoaib akhtar going on Indian TV and trashing certain pakistani players was in bad taste, its obvious he is pandering to the Indian audiences but arent the ausssies and the south africans go over to India and pander to their ego all about the money too? so why just single out Akhtar cos everyone is doing it, if it werent for the money do you think these guys would give two hoots about India, NO they wouldnt.

If its true that this was shewag said then these comments are also in poor taste also.

Perfectly well said by viru, if anybody listens to Akhtar on Star Spots would feel the same

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

classless as usual. Getting a bit tired of these indian players and their big mouths..Cant wait for the day they come back down to earth...

Not really.

He makes up stuff and lies blatantly to create stories.

:baelish

No question about that. May be fantasizes about these and such comments are manifestations of those fantasies.
I stopped taking him seriously after "Baap baap and beta beta" debacle.Still love him for his personality though.

I think it is Sehwag who is in need of some contracts these days. I remember him during his retirement speech that he plans to join hindi commentary, which i don't see him yet. Anyhow, reg these comments, I think he likes the limelight, feel he gets carried away at times and fails to be diplomatic. The latest i see is a bunch of 'this guy or that guy' statements on cricbuzz. You got to give it to him for his sense of humor.
Sehwag is doing good as far as money is concerned.

Yes I know he has lots of property in Najafgarh and Delhi. May be it is not money. May be it is publicity or fame. He has a lot invested in his international school though. I see him on cricbuzz these days "Switch hit with Sehwag" which I again feel is to get some publicity. Make no mistake. I love the guy's personality. He is too Frank and blatant to take up a mic though.

My family is from west Delhi i would know all about BS!

You already told me that, that's why I quoted you since you like to claim that you are punjabi but there is no punjabiness left in you :srini

Anyway not going to comment on this again since it will derail the thread :kapil

Lol, i agree with this, i dont particualrly like either of them, and shoaib akhtar going on Indian TV and trashing certain pakistani players was in bad taste, its obvious he is pandering to the Indian audiences but arent the ausssies and the south africans go over to India and pander to their ego all about the money too? so why just single out Akhtar cos everyone is doing it, if it werent for the money do you think these guys would give two hoots about India, NO they wouldnt.

If its true that this was shewag said then these comments are also in poor taste also.

Its more how Akhtar has changed colours since he started commentating.

Former Pakistani cricketers praise India for money: Sehwag

Former Indian opener Virender Sehwag believes Pakistani retired cricketers are attracted by big money and this is the reason they are working in India and praising the players a lot.

The former right-hand batsman specifically targeted former Pakistan fast-bowler Shoaib Akhtar during his conversation with stand-up comedian Vikram Sathaye.

“Shoaib has been praising Indian players a lot these days,” exclaimed Sathaye, to which Sehwag reacted: “That is because India main business chahiye (they want business in India). They know India is a huge market for cricket. If they talk good about Indian cricket, they will get business. Sab paise ka chamatkar hai yeh (it’s the power of money).”

Moreover, Sathaye also mentioned former Pakistan right-arm quickie Rana Navedul Hasan.

“Rana Naved is also talking a lot of good things about our cricket,” remarked Sathaye, to which Sehwag said: “He may be taking a cue from Shoaib, hoping that Star Sports or someone will pick him. You see all these former Pakistani cricketers want some business from India.”

Furthermore, Sehwag said that his kids would always tease him if they ever lost to Pakistan.

“My kids would tease me a lot if we lost to Pakistan,” recalled Sehwag. “They would be worried about their friends teasing them the next day in school. So, imagine the pressure on me from my kids when I used to bat.”

Source: http://tribune.com.pk/story/1059852/former-pakistani-cricketers-praise-india-for-money-sehwag/

Sehwag is spot on and I am glad he is not shy to speak about this. I still remember how Shoaib Akhtar used to bash India and Sachin and make fun of him. And after getting contract with Star Sports, suddenly he gave interview on Zee News and said Sachin is superstar and I lied in my book about him to sell my book.

This is why I love viru - no BS with either the bat in hand or with his words. Well played sir! :yk

Knowing how Sehwag is like, this is most likely said in a joking manner to troll Shoaib. Sehwag is basically an adorable teddy bear, he never makes dumb comments out of spite, he makes dumb comments because that's his way of pulling people's leg.

Holla what a demolition!

Quite right, that's what Trump would have said. Pakistani cricketers are taking away our job...

Although it's obvious, but classless comments by one of the entertaining batsman of his time....

This flat tracker can only talk big in his home press conferences just like he bashed bowlers at home.

Send him abroad aur iski sithi gum ho jaye gi. Bashes 50 and 60 year old bowlers in grandpa cricket leagues like MCL and becomes overconfident.

Pretty spot on.. Shoaib has been smart about where to create controversy to gain attention and where to completely suck up. He knows where his bread and butter lies.

Classless statement from sewag. But nothing to be surprised really. This joker always tries to grab the media attention by spouting rubbish about others.

I thought Indians lacked sense of humour. But Pakistanis can also apparently match in this dept.

like it or not but he is saying truth.Wasim,Akhter,Ramiz are too much licking which can be clearly seen and all three of them are not genuine people.

20160306001400.jpg

20160306001401.jpg

20160306001403.jpg

Rana Naved " I am contacting Sehwag in order to know that why he said (Naved) about me wanting to follow in Shoaib Akhtar's footsteps"

Whether jokingly or otherwise...its not far from the truth.
Sehwag has always trolled well - "bangladesh are an ordinary team" (or words to that effect) - pretty sure he said that on tour in Bangladesh.

classless as usual. Getting a bit tired of these indian players and their big mouths..Cant wait for the day they come back down to earth...

*snigger* I agree, if any other country from outside says anything bad about BCCI or its players then there is a massacre by the media and the like, so let them criticise but no-one allowed to criticise them.

Finally, someone publicly ridiculed Shoaib for being the sell-out he has proven himself to be.

Will hurt him more, coming from an ATG opener.

Sehwag is quickly becoming the Younis Khan of India..

Its easy to make him talk. The guy talks as if he is sitting in his drawing room..

Education goes a long way in making people sensible. He is bashing Dravid as well as Akhtar. This interview will raise some eyebrows, however everything he said about Akhtar is true.

The guy is either all praise and exagerrates his love to no ends, or either is all hate and loses all sense of normality..

Not surprising given what we've seen from Sehwag through his career. He may be a talented cricketer, but completely unrefined and uncouth.

Also amusing to see the content of this interview. Is it a popular pastime in India for interviewers to sit down with celebrities and talk about Pakistan and Pakistanis negatively? Sure there were other topics to talk about, or is this what gets the ratings high with the public...

Haha he is apologising on Aaj Tak so much, saying it was just a joke. Further jokes that he'll also say good things about Pakistan if hes there to remain safe.

Never liked him as a batsman or an individual -- too arrogant . Had a flawed technique and was a sitting duck against moving ball.

Shoaib has actually become quite diplomatic after his stint with Star.

Though, he's always been positive about India as a country generally. Genuinely appreciated Indian crowds and people for their love and passion in his memoir.

Shoaib also doesn't play anymore, so obviously he's not going to have the same in-game behavior against opponents as he did while playing. Maybe he does genuinely like India? And shouldn't that be a good thing, we should applaud those with a voice in our society to spread friendship and goodwill?

Probably too much for a simpleton like Sehwag to process. To him, if Shoaib is not barking in his face still, it's because he isn't being genuine and wants money from India. Sehwag the simpleton aside, I was more surprised the interviewer encouraged this kind of conversation. Really does say something about what sells in India...