Shoaib Malik ODI average to exceed 35 - Countdown thread

Mir jibran

Before his comeback it was 32 and now it is 34!
Let's see when it exceed 35

What an absolute champion.

I love this team.

A Misbah-less team is the way forward.

Misbah ruined Maliks career for 5 years. Now its time for Malik to make up.

I hope he can finish with a 37+ average.

One of our greats in the limited overs formats for sure.

I love this team.

Not a Misbah fan, but honestly, Misbah did NOT ruin Malik's career.

Malik was an absolutely pathetic players over the last 5 years internationally. A deer caught in the headlights. Couldn't score a 50 to save his life. Horrible.

Came back like a champion, though.

I love this team.

in sha allah 37-38

Not a Misbah fan, but honestly, Misbah did NOT ruin Malik's career.

Malik was an absolutely pathetic players over the last 5 years internationally. A deer caught in the headlights. Couldn't score a 50 to save his life. Horrible.

Came back like a champion, though.

exactly Malik was horrible but came back strongly i hope he continues he is the key to our bright ODI future

He as of now is playing the finisher role to perfection. A role that Misbah did not manage to fulfill for various reasons.

As of now though, the quality of pitches is absolutely different. Will like to see how things work out in different conditions

What an achievement it would be for Malik to reach 35 average.

Bradman must be proud, for all these he years averaged 29-32 - masterclass batsman, leaving behind Tendulkar, Dravid and Viv Richards. ;-)

I think he will be given a long rope in the team now, so I hope for Pakistan's sake that he's able to consistently score, against all sides and on all pitches.

Will be great if he can turn a corner and become a late bloomer like Misbah.

I think he will be given a long rope in the team now, so I hope for Pakistan's sake that he's able to consistently score, against all sides and on all pitches.

Will be great if he can turn a corner and become a late bloomer like Misbah.

InshaAllah he will never ever bat like Misbah :)

I feel if Malik had batted higher in this series he could have scored a few centuries that is how good and comfortable he has looked in this series.

IF he wants to average 37+ then he has to bat more and preferably at 4 or 5. Finishing isn't his specialty and the low scores wouldn't help his course. I hope Azhar realizes this and makes full use of his batting form by keeping him at 4/5.

I love this team.

btw bhai can you tell us what was his highest career average ? as far as i know it was 35 in 2009

Yes going against the legendary pace attack that rival Australia in 2003-2007 and Windies of the 80s.

I love this team.

lol MIsbah gave him every damn chance, personally got him into the team even though Malik coundt even average 20 the past couple of seasons

what revisionism

as for Malik, good to see him doing well so far, lets wait more before saying he has turned a corner

lol MIsbah gave him every damn chance, personally got him into the team even though Malik coundt even average 20 the past couple of seasons

what revisionism

as for Malik, good to see him doing well so far, lets wait more before saying he has turned a corner

Revisionism from Malik fans?

Never.

He's playing well but seriously 35 is not a benchmark in modern day cricket. :))

I love this team.

Malik did get a lot of undeserved chances, no other country would give him a shot for 5 long years inspite of his tail ender average. But glad to see him finally performing.

Still got a few years left.

If he bats at his favoured (3) could see him averaging higher.

Really good pressure player, Reckon if he played instead of YKvs India 2011 wc pak would have won

Still got a few years left.

If he bats at his favoured (3) could see him averaging higher.

Really good pressure player, Reckon if he played instead of YKvs India 2011 wc pak would have won

I don't think there is any doubt about that.

These countdown threads never really work.. and infact the player starts to regress.

If Malik does well it is for the benefit of Pakistan, but there is more chance that he will falter as soon as we face tougher opposition

[MENTION=1080]miandadrules[/MENTION] [MENTION=134250]wasimjunior[/MENTION] [MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION] tough times being these three posters. #embarrassing
[MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION]

I tried clicking on the hashtag but it didn't take me anywhere. Could you fix this problem, why are hashtags not working for me on PP?

no lets be realistic he was one of the worst batsmen during that period

Stop hating.

He was a victim of a world wide conspiracy.

Biased umpiring, doctored pitches, personal vendettas, meteorological society conspiracy and mass media campaign.

One thing you can say about Malik is that he has always been the victim. You never hear about him conspiring to remove the captain, taking an oath to under perform, match fixing or using political interference to get selected.

It takes a great man to withstand all these vendettas and not resort to such underhand tactics.

Bit desperate that we're celebrating a player getting a 35 average.

Anyway the T20 leagues seems to have helped Malik a lot, he's very good at rotating strike and is the dynamic, modern day ODI batsman that we've needed.

That being said, diehard Malik fans are doing major revisionism. Other than the Woolmer era where he went on a great run feasting on Indian bowling batting at No 3 in Asia, he's been consistently poor outside of Asia against quality bowling attacks. He wasn't held down by Misbah or anyone and was deservedly dropped.

If he continues his current form, helps mentor Azhar with his captaincy and is a positive influence as a senior player in the dressing room then I've no problem with him in the team.

[MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION]

I tried clicking on the hashtag but it didn't take me anywhere. Could you fix this problem, why are hashtags not working for me on PP?

Must be something wrong at your end.

I clicked on it and I got directed to Malik's record in England and New Zealand.

Bit desperate that we're celebrating a player getting a 35 average.

Anyway the T20 leagues seems to have helped Malik a lot, he's very good at rotating strike and is the dynamic, modern day ODI batsman that we've needed.

That being said, diehard Malik fans are doing major revisionism. Other than the Woolmer era where he went on a great run feasting on Indian bowling batting at No 3 in Asia, he's been consistently poor outside of Asia against quality bowling attacks. He wasn't held down by Misbah or anyone and was deservedly dropped.

If he continues his current form, helps mentor Azhar with his captaincy and is a positive influence as a senior player in the dressing room then I've no problem with him in the team.

It is bit premature for celebrating 35 averages. Then again, i never cared about the average as stats can easily be misleading thank to BlackZero and W63L65. Misbah averaged well, but availed naught for Pakistan cricket. Just go out there and play accordingly, and even if it means assuming some risks with your wicket compromising the average for the sake of Pakistan cricket, then so be it. That was Inzimam we knew, and anti-Inzimam was Tendulkar during 90. Unfortunately, anti-Inzimam replaced Inzimam in 2007, and it had been disaster for Pakistan cricket.

Shoaib Malik had done well in Australia, South Africa and elsewhere under the captaincy of Inzimam back then. He averaged low in New Zealand because he played in New Zealand for the first time at the year of 2004 and never played again. I am confident he will do well there if ever to play in NZ in the future. Average low in England because he was coming from the injury after scoring centuries endlessly against India at home in one down position, and drafted as opener while coming back from the injury to accommodate Younus Khan didn't end well for Malik thank to Imran Khan being loudmouth's advocate for Younus Khan.

Shoaib Malik found stability down the middle-order during Champion Trophy in India, 2006, which helped him to score runs comfortably on the tour of South Africa. In first two ODI matches on the tour of South Africa were prepared flat track, failed in the first, but performed in the second by everyone. The remaining of the ODI matches, not so much whereas everyone failed except Shoaib Malik.

The reason he survived because he was playing attacking shots. If you are going to defend the moving delivery, you are likely to get dismissed just by blocking than by playing front attacking shots to negate any swing, and he used to play fast bowlers well in flat track in the past. I have extended highlight of the complete, "Pakistan tours of South Africa 2006". I don't know if i ever posted it in PakPassion or not.

The bottom line is average means nothing for Pakistan as we witnessed the last five years. I would rather settle for Malik winning us some matches than worry about getting average up to 50. I remember the interview where anchor criticized Misbah for Pakistan team not doing well, but in his defense, expected us to be realistic about the team's background and talked about his average. I was like...what? Pakistan team not doing well seemed no longer concern for Misbah while he repeatedly boasted about his average being the only player out there for Pakistan team.

It is bit premature for celebrating 35 averages. Then again, i never cared about the average as stats can easily be misleading thank to BlackZero and W63L65. Misbah averaged well, but availed naught for Pakistan cricket. Just go out there and play accordingly, and even if it means assuming some risks with your wicket compromising the average for the sake of Pakistan cricket, then so be it. That was Inzimam we knew, and anti-Inzimam was Tendulkar during 90. Unfortunately, anti-Inzimam replaced Inzimam in 2007, and it had been disaster for Pakistan cricket.

Shoaib Malik had done well in Australia, South Africa and elsewhere under the captaincy of Inzimam back then. He averaged low in New Zealand because he played in New Zealand for the first time at the year of 2004 and never played again. I am confident he will do well there if ever to play in NZ in the future. Average low in England because he was coming from the injury after scoring centuries endlessly against India at home in one down position, and drafted as opener while coming back from the injury to accommodate Younus Khan didn't end well for Malik thank to Imran Khan being loudmouth's advocate for Younus Khan.

Shoaib Malik found stability down the middle-order during Champion Trophy in India, 2006, which helped him to score runs comfortably on the tour of South Africa. In first two ODI matches on the tour of South Africa were prepared flat track, failed in the first, but performed in the second by everyone. The remaining of the ODI matches, not so much whereas everyone failed except Shoaib Malik.

The reason he survived because he was playing attacking shots. If you are going to defend the moving delivery, you are likely to get dismissed just by blocking than by playing front attacking shots to negate any swing, and he used to play fast bowlers well in flat track in the past. I have extended highlight of the complete, "Pakistan tours of South Africa 2006". I don't know if i ever posted it in PakPassion or not.

The bottom line is average means nothing for Pakistan as we witnessed the last five years. I would rather settle for Malik winning us some matches than worry about getting average up to 50. I remember the interview where anchor criticized Misbah for Pakistan team not doing well, but in his defense, expected us to be realistic about the team's background and talked about his average. I was like...what? Pakistan team not doing well seemed no longer concern for Misbah while he repeatedly boasted about his average being the only player out there for Pakistan team.

Might be easier for you to remember all the excuses if your just list them.

Justifying an average of 8 over 3/4 tours of England and an average of 3 in New Zealand.

Praising a century at Super Sport park, where the pitch was so flat that year they had a record number of centuries scored there.

[MENTION=1080]miandadrules[/MENTION] [MENTION=134250]wasimjunior[/MENTION] [MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION] tough times being these three posters. #embarrassing

itni kya nafrat malik bhai se

Will u stop it now?

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk

Let them keep it up. Without them and others, there is no way "The Shoaib Malik Support Thread" would have crossed 100 pages. It is more like "The Shoaib Malik Hate Thread", nevertheless they are the one who kept that thread alive, and we owe it to them to let them keep it up. Their 'annoying-habits' only triggered Malik to be determined to play for Malik.

Smart of TheGreatKhan to realize, hence being sarcastic instead of antagonizing Malik to trigger him to perform. Although i feel antagonizing him is best effective tool, and it worked so far. The day when haters are nowhere to be found in "The Shoaib Malik Support Thread", i'd be happy to play the role of hater for the sake of Pakistan cricket, #match winner playa. :jf

Let them keep it up. Without them and others, there is no way "The Shoaib Malik Support Thread" would have crossed 100 pages. It is more like "The Shoaib Malik Hate Thread", nevertheless they are the one who kept that thread alive, and we owe it to them to let them keep it up. Their 'annoying-habits' only triggered Malik to be determined to play for Malik.

Smart of TheGreatKhan to realize, hence being sarcastic instead of antagonizing Malik to trigger him to perform. Although i feel antagonizing him is best effective tool, and it worked so far. The day when haters are nowhere to be found in "The Shoaib Malik Support Thread", i'd be happy to play the role of hater for the sake of Pakistan cricket, #match winner playa. :jf

May be you should use this speech for Malik's inauguration ceremony at the ICC hall of fame.

Besides, Shoaib Malik is going to play England in England and Australia in Australia and New Zealand in New Zealand. Regarding England and New Zealand, it will be his second time playing there. Judging by Natwest T20 and BBL, he should be able to perform well.

Time will tell, and that is only if he continues to get selected for the next year as well. :jf

Besides, Shoaib Malik is going to play England in England and Australia in Australia and New Zealand in New Zealand. Regarding England and New Zealand, it will be his second time playing there. Judging by Natwest T20 and BBL, he should be able to perform well.

Time will tell, and that is only if he continues to get selected for the next year as well. :jf

Don't let the facts get in the way of a good story.

Malik's tours of England;

2001 - One match
2003- Three matches
2004 - Four matches
2006 - Four matches
2013 - Three matches

So you're absolutely correct it will only be his second tour of England and that is why he averages 8.20 there.

Misbah carried Malik through two minnow tours, he batted him up the order, he let him bowl more than professor in order to justify, he publicly called for him to be added into the t20 squad for the England tour 2012 after the squad had already been announced and got his wish

He gave him every damn opportunity and some of the people in this thread bashing misbah for 'being against malik' were the same ones bashing misbah for being so persistent with Malik . At least be consistent, you arent a goldfish

Don't let the facts get in the way of a good story.

Malik's tours of England;

2001 - One match
2003- Three matches
2004 - Four matches
2006 - Four matches
2013 - Three matches

So you're absolutely correct it will only be his second tour of England and that is why he averages 8.20 there.

Really? I remember Champion Trophy in England, but i also remember Natwest T20 blast in the year, 2014.

I am gonna check the scorecard of those series. Didn't know Malik played 2001, 2003 and 2004 in England.

That won't change the fact that we can make informed statements when Malik plays in England next year judging by form he is in right now. :jf

Watch out now.

You have spoken against the saviour of Pakistan cricket, so expect a hundred fan boys to attack and quote every post of yours. The main ones being [MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION] and some Canadians who I don't even read, as they post utter filth.

Is it a crime to speak against Misbah? Do we as Pakistan fans HAVE to think Misbah is the best thing since sliced bread?

Be careful, i am Canadian too. :jf

They have their opinions and i have mine. We can differ, and that's that.

Ironically as supporters of both players going at each other, but in real life, both players are close friends to each other. Malik as captain backed Misbah and saved him from being axed from PCB and Pakistan at one time, and in return, Misbah as captain recommended him as favor, but too late as Malik was already out of form due to lack of practice in months. Took him little while to get back into the rhythm after playing leagues consistently.

35 average for an all-rounder with 160+ ODI wickets and being a tremendous fielder is a magnificent effort.

Will go down in history as one of our best ever ODI cricketers.

Man, after all the drama of being excluded for the most part of 4 years, he still averages 5 points more than hafeez who is at the peak of his powers, supposedly in the last 4 years.

Yes read his explanation of oath gate and Malik's role in the Support thread, as well as other threads.

I couldn't make that up.

I don't think I'm worthy. First I need to go watch the highlights of the triple hundred he made against Australia in the 2003 WC. Then I shall be.

I am the second greatest Malik fan ever.

I am in his debt forever for all he has done for Pakistan.

He risked his career and life to save Pakistan cricket. After a failed captaincy assignment he was left for dead by the PCB, who denied his very existence. Determined to clear his name Malik was nursed back to health, vowing to take revenge on the people who disposed of him and the PCB who betrayed him.

He found out about a powerful clandestine group who had orchestrated the coup on him. He infiltrated the group whilst working undercover in a disguise, slowly collecting valuable information on them. After, the group had successfully carried out their coup, Malik blew the cover on the whole scandal and took down each of the main protagonists.

After his heroism the PCB asked him for forgiveness and reinstated him as agent 007. But Malik said no, as he had been rehabilitated in England he wanted to be called agent 8.20 (after his batting average).

Yes read his explanation of oath gate and Malik's role in the Support thread, as well as other threads.

I couldn't make that up.

You just did. I am not surprised since the truth version is quite brutal, hence satirical version. If you were being honest, you could have easily posted the screenshot of Aaqib Javed's testimony. Talk about calling me liar and worse. :jf

CKXMwhvVEAAQR6b.png

I don't think I'm worthy. First I need to go watch the highlights of the triple hundred he made against Australia in the 2003 WC. Then I shall be.

Nothing wrong with dreaming since the truth is quite brutal to digest. Player like Younis Khan choking in WC 2003, then in WC 2007, and then in WC 2011, and once again, WC 2015. Shrudder to think what he is gonna do in the next WC 2019.

That way is better, dreaming and pretending.

Take a look at Shoaib Malik triple century against Australia especially against Mcgrath and Warne.

Take another look at masterclass double century of Shoaib Malik against Australia especially against Mcgrath and Warne.

Tremendous all round performance, Shoaib Malik especially in World Cup and take a look at his strike rate. :jf

You just did. I am not surprised since the truth version is quite brutal, hence satirical version. If you were being honest, you could have easily posted the screenshot of Aaqib Javed's testimony. Talk about calling me liar and worse. :jf

View attachment 58356

Please provide proof that this proves Malik's innocence.

All this proves is that he confessed.

Do you know the difference between confession and innocence?

Can we all just focus on how Malik is going to cross the 35 batting average barrier?

Bradman will be proud! Countless batsmen have tried but never been able to achieve this feat! :srt

Can we all just focus on how Malik is going to cross the 35 batting average barrier?

Bradman will be proud! Countless batsmen have tried but never been able to achieve this feat! :srt

It is better if we focus less on average and encourage him to take some risks regarding match chasing situation. Whoever takes some risk and get out is likely to take huge hit on average. As long as he has support, he wouldn't have to worry about average. It is really rare having match-finisher in Pakistan cricket.

Mere dip in form.

He has never taken minnows seriously.

Once we face Australia and South Africa expect it to go pack to 70.

I don't think there is any doubt about that.

Ok so let me try to clear your doubt.

Malik's career average is 34, against India it is 49.

Malik cup career highights vs India.

Asia cup 03 colombo- 143
Asia cup 08 karachi - 125 retired out

Maliks played 15 matches in Against India in India.
Pakistan Has won 10 of the, in those 10 victories Malik has scores of 89 61 75 65 41 75.

10 wins and Maliks has a good hand in 6 off them.

What has YK ever done in ODIs.

Am sure YK also dropped Tendulkar, dropped Grant elliot as well in a semi.

Yk averages 30 in India vs India.

Asia cup 03 colombo- 143

Pakistan Has won 10 of the, in those 10 victories Malik has scores of 89 61 75 65 41 75.

I said there is no doubt.

But would it have been fair on the paying public if we had played Malik? It wouldn't have been a contest, they would have handed the cup to us at the toss.

Asia cup 03 colombo- 143

Cricinfo's stats guru must have been hacked.

According to it Malik averages 9.20 at a SR 29 in ICC semi-finals.

so with today's not out mian sahab has finally attained 35 avg after 8 long years

2009-2013 was bad phase for him , he was dropped entire 2014. He has done pretty well in last couple of years.
[table=width: 500, class: grid, align: center]
[tr][td] Malik [/td][td]Mat [/td][td]Runs [/td][td]Ave [/td][td]SR [/td][td]100 [/td][td]50 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]overall [/td][td]271 [/td][td]7226 [/td][td]35.59 [/td][td]81.84 [/td][td]9 [/td][td]43 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td] [/td][td] [/td][td] [/td][td] [/td][td] [/td][td] [/td][td] [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]year 1999 [/td][td]5 [/td][td]15 [/td][td]7.5 [/td][td]150 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]0 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]year 2000 [/td][td]5 [/td][td]36 [/td][td]18 [/td][td]42.85 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]0 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]year 2001 [/td][td]9 [/td][td]94 [/td][td]23.5 [/td][td]67.14 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]0 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]year 2002 [/td][td]12 [/td][td]369 [/td][td]41 [/td][td]61.09 [/td][td]2 [/td][td]0 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]year 2003 [/td][td]27 [/td][td]620 [/td][td]28.18 [/td][td]92.95 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]3 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]year 2004 [/td][td]27 [/td][td]895 [/td][td]37.29 [/td][td]81.8 [/td][td]2 [/td][td]6 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]year 2005 [/td][td]22 [/td][td]610 [/td][td]33.88 [/td][td]76.25 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]7 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]year 2006 [/td][td]22 [/td][td]638 [/td][td]33.57 [/td][td]78.18 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]3 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]year 2007 [/td][td]21 [/td][td]707 [/td][td]41.58 [/td][td]78.38 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]5 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]year 2008 [/td][td]20 [/td][td]681 [/td][td]48.64 [/td][td]92.02 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]6 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]year 2009 [/td][td]17 [/td][td]410 [/td][td]27.33 [/td][td]75.09 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]1 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]year 2010 [/td][td]5 [/td][td]113 [/td][td]22.6 [/td][td]63.12 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]0 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]year 2011 [/td][td]8 [/td][td]35 [/td][td]5.83 [/td][td]54.68 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]0 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]year 2012 [/td][td]4 [/td][td]64 [/td][td]32 [/td][td]70.32 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]0 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]year 2013 [/td][td]12 [/td][td]203 [/td][td]22.55 [/td][td]73.55 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]0 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]year 2015 [/td][td]15 [/td][td]607 [/td][td]67.44 [/td][td]108.39 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]4 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]year 2016 [/td][td]9 [/td][td]313 [/td][td]39.12 [/td][td]100 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]3 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]year 2017 [/td][td]17 [/td][td]516 [/td][td]57.33 [/td][td]93.98 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]3 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]year 2018 [/td][td]14 [/td][td]300 [/td][td]33.33 [/td][td]76.14 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]2 [/td][/tr]
[/table]

[MENTION=53377]jeetu[/MENTION] i think he ll retire with an avg of 36 which is good for a spinner turned batsman

Something very suspicious about the 2009-13 period

Remember, this was the time when Pakistan cricket and corruption was at its peak. I’m not suggesting that the guy was involved with anything wrong at the time, but it is reminiscent of the severe rubbish that was going on at this time. Not sure how badly it affected him and his mental state

Something very suspicious about the 2009-13 period

Remember, this was the time when Pakistan cricket and corruption was at its peak. I’m not suggesting that the guy was involved with anything wrong at the time, but it is reminiscent of the severe rubbish that was going on at this time. Not sure how badly it affected him and his mental state

it all changed once he joined bbl team and since then he became more professional
his attitude towards game has changed and keeps on working hard and remember once he was called a loner, aloof and see today all the young players talk highly of him and his support towards him

[MENTION=53377]jeetu[/MENTION] i think he ll retire with an avg of 36 which is good for a spinner turned batsman

Shoaib Malik has reinvented himself well as batsman after his Doosra was banned in 2004.