Shoaib Malik Support & Performance Watch

Should Malik be in the plans for the 2019 WC?

• Poll closed .
No one can justify his exclusion from squad..(except Butt, afridi and haters).

In the sub continent conditions, I agree with you to an extent

But making him look the queen of England like you do is something altogether different

In the sub continent conditions, I agree with you to an extent

But making him look the queen of England like you do is something altogether different

No one is making him a super-hero...but comparatively he ought to picked in Pakistan squad on merit...

By the way, whats the average of queen :yk of england in last 10 ODIs?
On what merit he got picked?

If we slam Farhat's selection based on "selector's liking" then we must also slam YK's selection as he was picked based on liking and not on pure cricketing criteria...
Still YK deserves a break cause he suffered coz of not playing his own format of tests.

Anwaar, they will never accept the fact that Malik is a good player. His haters cant reply to your stats.They have some personal issues with malik.

There are very very few posters who actually observed Malik's batting and criticize/appreciate his lacking/strengths but mostly just bash him for nothing.

Still I wont say that they have personal issues as spectators/fans tend to like/dislike some players...and then unfortunately they let their emotions take control of them... (there are many posters wanted - and still desire - that Malik somehow get involved in match fixing)...

Stats against SL in SL with Kulas

View attachment 9490

IF he was so good, then why do i remember him getting owned by Kulas.. in last series i saw.

I am sure i saw those matches live. I am sure, Malik didnt strike 250 runs in those matches.

Malik is Flat track master. A bit of swing and he cant bat to save his life.

You might not like the truth cuz its painful but please dont give stats to show that Malik is the next best thing to Pakistan cricket after Imran Khan.

20527801.jpg

I actually levy my support behind Shoaib Malik for the ODI format. I think he's an important tool for Pakistan as a batsman, bowler and fielder. Especially with the upcoming world cup being held in the subcontinent.

There are valid concerns with his batting in the test format.

Although, he's better than some of the current batsmen in our ODI team. The problem is related to his so-called attitude issues [which may be true or not] but there are many others players that should be dropped before him.

IF he was so good, then why do i remember him getting owned by Kulas.. in last series i saw.

I am sure i saw those matches live. I am sure, Malik didnt strike 250 runs in those matches.

Malik is Flat track master. A bit of swing and he cant bat to save his life.

You might not like the truth cuz its painful but please dont give stats to show that Malik is the next best thing to Pakistan cricket after Imran Khan.

Well I am not sure which series you imagining about...
Malik was out once of Kulas... in 6 innings...Pakistani other "legends" were surely owned by Kulas but it was not Malik for sure.
View attachment 9508
View attachment 9509

P.S. I am not sure why you remember ... could be mind playing games...

Since you love stats... i will give you stats..... Plz dont start a stats war....
They can go both ways sweetheart.

Malik on away venues .. for the last two years has a phenomenal average of 13...

Yes, great player. Should definitely be in the team.

Start of match date between 29 Oct 2008 and 29 Oct 2010 remove between 29 Oct 2008 and 29 Oct 2010 from query
Ordered by default (ascending)
Career averages Mat Runs HS Bat Av 100 Wkts BBI Bowl Av 5 Ct St
unfiltered 192 5188 143 34.35 7 134 4/19 36.29 0 68 0 Profile
filtered 7 95 36 13.57 0 3 2/48 41.00 0 3 0
Career summary GroupingAscending Mat Runs HS Bat Av 100 Wkts BBI Bowl Av 5 Ct St
v Australia 3 66 36 22.00 0 2 2/48 32.50 0 3 0 view innings
v Sri Lanka 4 29 12 7.25 0 1 1/14 58.00 0 0 0 view innings

in Australia 3 66 36 22.00 0 2 2/48 32.50 0 3 0 view innings
in Sri Lanka 4 29 12 7.25 0 1 1/14 58.00 0 0 0 view innings

in Asia 4 29 12 7.25 0 1 1/14 58.00 0 0 0 view innings
in Oceania 3 66 36 22.00 0 2 2/48 32.50 0 3 0 view innings

away 7 95 36 13.57 0 3 2/48 41.00 0 3 0 view innings

Shoaib Malik has won 11 out of 23 matches if you exclude Zimbabwe, Bangladesh, and Hong Kong.

Nothing impressive Anwaar.

Also Malik should be nowhere near the test team. He averages less than 30 in First Class cricket for Christ's sake and he always looks like a sitting duck outside of the Subcontinent as far as test matches are concerned.

Shoaib Malik has won 11 out of 23 matches if you exclude Zimbabwe, Bangladesh, and Hong Kong.

Nothing impressive Anwaar.

Maybe you new to this thread, your objection is already forwarded to ICC and they have rejected this objection...

Only official data is applicable...and acceptable!

Imran khan has won only 52 out of 139 excluding wins over SL, BD and Zim (21 wins over SL)
Imran Khan managed to lose 5 times against minnow SL...

Also Malik should be nowhere near the test team. He averages less than 30 in First Class cricket for Christ's sake and he always looks like a sitting duck outside of the Subcontinent as far as test matches are concerned.

We don't want him to play FC...please ask fawad to play.

Maybe you new to this thread, your objection is already forwarded to ICC and they have rejected this objection...

Only official data is applicable...and acceptable!

Imran khan has won only 52 out of 139 excluding wins over SL, BD and Zim
Imran Khan managed to lose 5 times against minnow SL...

Sri Lanka was more of a New Zealand of those days rather than a Bangladesh. Zimbabwe was much stronger back then.

Can't believe you're actually suggesting Malik is better than Imran. Regardless Imran won us matches as a captain Malik did not. It's unfortunate you missed out on the Imran era.

We don't want him to play FC...please ask fawad to play.

Fawad even has a higher test average than Malik. :yk

I've no problem with Malik as an ODI player but he is definitely not a test match player. I hope you agree with me on this.

Since you love stats... i will give you stats..... Plz dont start a stats war....
They can go both ways sweetheart.

Malik on away venues .. for the last two years has a phenomenal average of 13...

Yes, great player. Should definitely be in the team.

Start of match date between 29 Oct 2008 and 29 Oct 2010 remove between 29 Oct 2008 and 29 Oct 2010 from query
Ordered by default (ascending)
Career averages Mat Runs HS Bat Av 100 Wkts BBI Bowl Av 5 Ct St
unfiltered 192 5188 143 34.35 7 134 4/19 36.29 0 68 0 Profile
filtered 7 95 36 13.57 0 3 2/48 41.00 0 3 0
Career summary GroupingAscending Mat Runs HS Bat Av 100 Wkts BBI Bowl Av 5 Ct St
v Australia 3 66 36 22.00 0 2 2/48 32.50 0 3 0 view innings
v Sri Lanka 4 29 12 7.25 0 1 1/14 58.00 0 0 0 view innings

in Australia 3 66 36 22.00 0 2 2/48 32.50 0 3 0 view innings
in Sri Lanka 4 29 12 7.25 0 1 1/14 58.00 0 0 0 view innings

in Asia 4 29 12 7.25 0 1 1/14 58.00 0 0 0 view innings
in Oceania 3 66 36 22.00 0 2 2/48 32.50 0 3 0 view innings

away 7 95 36 13.57 0 3 2/48 41.00 0 3 0 view innings

I don't know what data you pasted...(you ran the query incorrectly)

Here is his stats for last 2 years outside Pakistan (there were two in pakistan that I excluded)
View attachment 9510

Fawad even has a higher test average than Malik. :yk

I've no problem with Malik as an ODI player but he is definitely not a test match player. I hope you agree with me on this.

Good for Fawad...still got lot to prove and win/save matches for Pakistan.
Haven't seen yet.

No I don't agree with you on your last assessment as it's against data in hand.
Go through pages of this thread, lot lot of arguments in favor of his inclusion.

Sri Lanka was more of a New Zealand of those days rather than a Bangladesh. Zimbabwe was much stronger back then.

Can't believe you're actually suggesting Malik is better than Imran. Regardless Imran won us matches as a captain Malik did not. It's unfortunate you missed out on the Imran era.

Well I have witnessed they(SL) were like Canada then...not even BD...

Why surprised? even wasim and miandad produced better results than Imran.

P.S. I didn't miss that era...

Well I have witnessed they(SL) were like Canada then...not even BD...

Clearly not. You are talking out of your backside right now.

Why surprised? even wasim and miandad produced better results than Imran.

P.S. I didn't miss that era...

Miandad and Akram captained better teams. Imran left them with an amazing team and from then it was all downhill.

i think i did everything correctly ...

but i did a batting analysis.. not all round analysis.

Plus i ignored the neutral venues....

So even if i add neutral venues and do a batting analysis it turns out to be 25.14 ....

Nothing about it to get your salivary glands in motion

So even if i add neutral venues and do a batting analysis it turns out to be 25.14 ....

Well if Malik can get into the test team with a first class average below 30 then what's going to stop him from getting into the ODI team with an average like that.

I actually levy my support behind Shoaib Malik for the ODI format. I think he's an important tool for Pakistan as a batsman, bowler and fielder. Especially with the upcoming world cup being held in the subcontinent.

There are valid concerns with his batting in the test format.

Although, he's better than some of the current batsmen in our ODI team. The problem is related to his so-called attitude issues [which may be true or not] but there are many others players that should be dropped before him.

I agree with the bolded part.

Malik: Afridi has to deliver results

A short Interview :)

Former Pakistan skipper Shoaib Malik in an exclusive chat with ESPNSTAR.com revealed his support for Shahid Afridi and much more.

By Rajarshi Gupta

Shoaib Malik has been out in the cold for a while now and despite skipper Shahid Afridi backing him to play a role in the current series against South Africa, the selectors did not play ball. However, the stylish right-handed batsman has not given up hope. Malik is confident of getting a nod for the World Cup next year and has kept himself in nice shape. In an EXCLUSIVE interview with ESPNSTAR.com, the oft-criticised cricketer lashed out at what he called 'arm-chair critics'. Now, who could they be?

Excerpts:

Rajarshi Gupta: How have you kept yourself in shape since that last ODI you played against India in Dambulla?

Shoaib Malik: I’ve been working out regularly in the gym besides practicing in the nets wherever I am. Apart from this I’ve played some domestic cricket in Pakistan. I feel fitter than I ever was!

RG: Your all-round cricketing skills will be crucial for Pakistan in the World Cup, which will be played in the sub-continent. Surely, you are expecting you will get to play a role.

SM: It is a dream for every cricketer to play for one’s country in the World Cup and I believe I am still good enough to represent Pakistan for many more years. I will be delighted to get the opportunity.

RG: Shahid Afridi has a lot of faith in your abilities and was even learnt to have been keen on your inclusion for the series against South Africa. That must be a huge morale boost to know that the skipper is eager to have you in the side.

SM: In order to perform, it is very important to have the unstinted faith of the captain.

RG: How do you look at Afridi as a skipper? You have been team mates for the last 10 years now.

SM: I always supported him and believe he has the experience to do well but he will have to deliver positive results and grab the opportunity that was given to him to lead the country.

RG: How do you look at the present Pakistani team and its prospects in the World Cup?

SM: We have a talented bunch of players and the Pakistani team can never be written off, particularly in one-day cricket.

RG: How much of a difference does it make to be married to an equally successful athlete? Do you and Sania Mirza talk to each other about cricket and tennis a lot?

SM: I think it’s a blessing to be married to someone, who completely understands the ups and downs of professional sport and the pressures of being publicly known figures.

RG: There is no doubting Pakistan's talent as a cricket team but do you think the world media has put too much pressure on the side?

SM: Ans: I think that a professional cricketer has to learn to handle all kinds of pressures and cannot use it as an excuse for below par performances.

RG: What do you think is Pakistan's biggest strength? At the moment it certainly looks like the fast bowlers rule the roost.

SM: Traditionally, Pakistan has had a very strong batting line-up but at the moment, the batsmen are struggling to translate talent into performance at the highest level. Recently, we have not had the benefit of playing too much cricket on the placid wickets, which are generally found in the sub-continent. Our bowlers have performed better in the prevailing conditions that have favoured them more in countries like England.

RG: You did well in the last ODI you played in the Asian Cup so when you do return to the side, you would not have to worry about completely starting from the scratch.

SM: I have done reasonably well even in the few limited over matches that I played in England and then in the domestic games in Pakistan. I am confident of improving on these performances as and when I get the opportunity.

RG: It has been a decade since you made your debut for Pakistan and you have played a myriad of roles in the team. You have been a quintessential team man in that sense so it must hurt when some sections of the media question your commitment to the national side.

SM: My job is to perform to the best of my abilities in whatever role I am required for my team and my country and the fact that I have been found good enough to play at the highest level for over a decade is proof of my commitment. It is not possible to please every one and specially the arm-chair critics, who do not understand what it takes to perform in modern day international sport.
http://www.espnstar.com/cricket/exclusive/news/detail/item522338/Malik:-Afridi-has-to-deliver-results/

IMO he should be part of ODI ..he is very useful player for Pakistan in this format.

Malik: I always enjoy playing in India

Damad Ji ....:D

Former Pakistan skipper Shoaib Malik has said that he always enjoys playing in India.

"I enjoy playing in India in front of packed crowd," Malik said at the inaugurate of a state-of-the art Tennis Academy, set up by Jharkhand State Cricket Association (JSCA).

While the tennis academy was inaugurated by Chief Minister Arjun Munda, Indian tennis player Sania Mirza, who was accompanying her husband Shoaib, was the star attraction.

Shoaib, who was not considered in the Pakistan squad for the ongoing limited overs series against South Africa in UAE, further said that there is hardly any difference between the two neighbouring nations.

"The language of both the countries is same and so is the cuisine. There is no difference," the former Pakistan skipper said, adding that he never feels being in another country when he is in India.

Responding to Malik's comments, Deputy Chief Minister Sudesh Mahto described the cricketer as "our country's son-in-law".

The famed couple also exchanged a few shots with Munda and Mahto.

Meanwhile, JSCA President Amitabh Choudhary promised that a world standard cricket stadium, which is now under construction, would also be completed by 2011.
http://www.espnstar.com/cricket/int...22140/Malik:-I-always-enjoy-playing-in-India/

Malik at no.5 or 6 would have been great option today. Will our selectors ever realize his importance? :(

Miandad and Akram captained better teams. Imran left them with an amazing team and from then it was all downhill.

People gives Imran credit to start the phase of making Pakistan a real force in cricket ... but you just can't double that credit for Imran and discredit others...
it's against logic.

Average doesn't change even you do batting or all round analysis.
its neither 13 or 25.

http://stats.cricinfo.com/ci/engine...8;spanval1=span;template=results;type=batting

Last thing, I am waiting your response about Kulas...?
I guess you surrendered that point!

People gives Imran credit to start the phase of making Pakistan a real force in cricket ... but you just can't double that credit for Imran and discredit others...
it's against logic.

It's against logic is it? Who said that?

I'm not doubling the credit for anyone. Enough of ODI stats, how many tests did Malik win?

Also Sania bhabhi I'm still waiting for you to concede that Malik should be nowhere near the test side....

^^ History repeating itself again...Normal behavior of haters when they lost in argument then they get personal and start bashing...

Likewise my friend, avoiding questions and arguments is a good old practice to avoid losing.

Calling you "Sania bhabhi" is a complete joke because your true love for Malik is matched only by Sania Mirza, no need to get offended. It's a complement in disguise.

except his thread is dominated by haters, who coincidentally are the YK fanboy group.

and emotionally disturbed cause their plan (seeing YK as the president, pm, coas and cj) interrupted by :ibutt

Look who is talking here.Emotionally disturbed because he is back after sticking to his guns and not apologising for something he never did.We are aggressive because we have facts and performances to back us up.

One of only two world cup winning captain for Pakistan.
One of only three 50+ test average batsman in our history.
One of only Three #1 ranked batsmen from Pakistan.
One of only Three triple centurians from Pakistan

Look who is talking here.Emotionally disturbed because he is back after sticking to his guns and not apologising for something he never did.We are aggressive because we have facts and performances to back us up.

great post

Karachi: Former captain Younis Khan did not tender any written apology to PCB chairman Izah Butt in Lahore last week to pave his way back into the national squad, board legal advisor Tafazzul Rizvi said.
Younis, one of the four players excluded from team since their disastrous Australia tour, was drafted in the squad for the ODI series against South Africa after he gave a written undertaking that in future he will strictly follow the code of conduct and follow all team regulations
But Rizvi said Younis didn't give any written apology to the Pakistan Cricket Board chairman.

"No I would not say that Younis gave any written apology to the board but he did sign an undertaking that in future as a member of the national team he would strictly abide by the code of conduct and discipline," Tafazzul Rizvi said.

I know that when Younis went to meet with the board Chairman he was told to sign an apology statement but he made it clear he would not apologise as he had done nothing wrong.

what does supporting YK aggressively have to do with Shoaib Malik?

you're in the wrong thread.

what does supporting YK aggressively have to do with Shoaib Malik?

you're in the wrong thread.

except his thread is dominated by haters, who coincidentally are the YK fanboy group

AZ sahab yeh kis ki likhaai hai?You brought YK fans here and it was taken a step futher by another poster by calling us aggressive.

Karachi: Former captain Younis Khan did not tender any written apology to PCB chairman Izah Butt in Lahore last week to pave his way back into the national squad, board legal advisor Tafazzul Rizvi said.
Younis, one of the four players excluded from team since their disastrous Australia tour, was drafted in the squad for the ODI series against South Africa after he gave a written undertaking that in future he will strictly follow the code of conduct and follow all team regulations
But Rizvi said Younis didn't give any written apology to the Pakistan Cricket Board chairman.

"No I would not say that Younis gave any written apology to the board but he did sign an undertaking that in future as a member of the national team he would strictly abide by the code of conduct and discipline," Tafazzul Rizvi said.

I know that when Younis went to meet with the board Chairman he was told to sign an apology statement but he made it clear he would not apologise as he had done nothing wrong.

There is another thread about the very same topic...
we all know there wasn't any written it was all verbal :133: by :ibutt

except his thread is dominated by haters, who coincidentally are the YK fanboy group

AZ sahab yeh kis ki likhaai hai?You brought YK fans here and it was taken a step futher by another poster by calling us aggressive.

yes, I suppose I was the one that brought the mob here when this thread was made last year during the tour of NZ.

Search for SM's performance log in UK and issue was addressed there...
FYI, SM was second best (or second least worst) top order performer among his team mates.

I did and it was mediocre. Wasnt he dropped for the 3rd test in England after comprehensive failures in the first 2? plus the 2 test against Australia?

how does that make him second best (or second least worst)?

I did and it was mediocre. Wasnt he dropped for the 3rd test in England after comprehensive failures in the first 2? plus the 2 test against Australia?

how does that make him second best (or second least worst)?

Yes He was dropped for third test but there was no justification for that. There were 4 other players needed to be dropped b4 him.

He made 58 in against Aus in Aus but was not picked by Afridi in 1st test against Aus in UK.

repeat : regarding second best -> check that thread... (hint: IF was the best top order)

http://stats.cricinfo.com/ci/engine...al1=span;team=7;template=results;type=batting

I am a watching an old match on geo super right now. It was a T20 between Pak and Australia during Malik's captaincy. And man, he almost single handedly pulled Pakistan from a losing position to a very thrilling victory. I say almost single handedly because he had some assistance from Misbah towards the end who was in very good form. What a match!

I am not a Malik fan, per se, but credit where it's due.

I am a watching an old match on geo super right now. It was a T20 between Pak and Australia during Malik's captaincy. And man, he almost single handedly pulled Pakistan from a losing position to a very thrilling victory. I say almost single handedly because he had some assistance from Misbah towards the end who was in very good form. What a match!

I am not a Malik fan, per se, but credit where it's due.

The fact is since we stopped playing at home and started playing away this guy has been found out Bit of swing or movement n he is found out

If u want 20s hes ur man, but with limited technique n fight against pace hes as much as a waste of space as afridi is

The fact is since we stopped playing at home and started playing away this guy has been found out Bit of swing or movement n he is found out

If u want 20s hes ur man, but with limited technique n fight against pace hes as much as a waste of space as afridi is

Apart from being a sorry excuse for a bat hes also a pathetic evil little weasel

How many matches in his captaincy were played at home?

All of his ODI's as Captain were played in the subcontinent...

But what he did average as captain is pretty impressive 43.75 at a SR of 88.51...thats why he is a must for the World Cup...

All of our players struggle outside the subcontinent and the problem right now is they struggle IN the subcontinent too...

Worth noting that for all the grief Malik gets for having a high average because of games against Bangladesh and Zimbabwe his average against the rest of his opponents - South Africa, Sri Lanka, India and the West Indies is 46.00 at a SR of 89.55...so as captain he actually did better against better opposition...

This isn't me making a case for him but some of the criticism he gets on here is unwarranted...

And like I have stated the fact that we are playing and ODI series in the subcontinent and a World Cup there he should be playing...hes out of form and if we can get him back in form he can be an asset at the World Cup...

All of his ODI's as Captain were played in the subcontinent...

But what he did average as captain is pretty impressive 43.75 at a SR of 88.51...thats why he is a must for the World Cup...

All of our players struggle outside the subcontinent and the problem right now is they struggle IN the subcontinent too...

Worth noting that for all the grief Malik gets for having a high average because of games against Bangladesh and Zimbabwe his average against the rest of his opponents - South Africa, Sri Lanka, India and the West Indies is 46.00 at a SR of 89.55...so as captain he actually did better against better opposition...

This isn't me making a case for him but some of the criticism he gets on here is unwarranted...

And like I have stated the fact that we are playing and ODI series in the subcontinent and a World Cup there he should be playing...hes out of form and if we can get him back in form he can be an asset at the World Cup...

Yeah I agree. That's what I thought. If I remember correctly, while he was captain, he was mainly being criticized for keeping his distance with players and being aloof. I dont think those are as big vices as the kind of problems we are having nowadays with our captains. And his good average means that he didn't let the burden of captaincy affect his performances. Something that captains after him have failed to do.

I always thought his removal from captaincy was a bit unfair. And it was after that that he became a bit vindictive as he felt mistreated. Started player politics within the team and all. Ironically, this meant he was talking a lot with players now, exactly which he was criticized for not doing when he was captain :))

I think his form also got affected and went down the drain for the same reason. In my view, he was just another good player who was wasted and ruined by PCB and its mismanagement. And I fear the damage is irreversible. I hope I am wrong. We do need him in good form and giving his 100% in the world cup.

I really dislike 'Malkoo' but please bring him back for ODI and T20 so we can get rid of useless players like Misbah, Farhat and Fawad.

Malik is Bradman compared to them.

Thanks for leaving the dark side. :)

I am in the middle, I think. I definately think he is one of our best in T20 and ODI, but not sure about Tests. He always looks lost in that format.

Depends on who he is competing against.

Yeah I agree. That's what I thought. If I remember correctly, while he was captain, he was mainly being criticized for keeping his distance with players and being aloof. I dont think those are as big vices as the kind of problems we are having nowadays with our captains. And his good average means that he didn't let the burden of captaincy affect his performances. Something that captains after him have failed to do.

I always thought his removal from captaincy was a bit unfair. And it was after that that he became a bit vindictive as he felt mistreated. Started player politics within the team and all. Ironically, this meant he was talking a lot with players now, exactly which he was criticized for not doing when he was captain :))

I think his form also got affected and went down the drain for the same reason. In my view, he was just another good player who was wasted and ruined by PCB and its mismanagement. And I fear the damage is irreversible. I hope I am wrong. We do need him in good form and giving his 100% in the world cup.

There was a revolt against him 8/9 players n plainly refused to play under him. As per YK, he wasn't part of that group.
That revolt was PCB assisted (yaweer saeed).

Another thing, just check the scorecard of last three odis captained by Malik and it would reveal much how his team mates were "supporting" him.

These collapse are part Pakistan batting in last few years don't know what to make of them.

Apart from being a sorry excuse for a bat hes also a pathetic evil little weasel

Every Tom, Dick and Harry can't help a team win a match on their own - doesn't matter where they're playing. Malik's not the only one who does well in the subcontinent, a lot of other Pak batsmen do well, but how many of them have helped us actually WIN matches with their contributions? Malik has actually helped us win a lot of odis and I don't care if those matches were played in his house, when you help a lot win, credit SHOULD be given without ifs, ands, buts etc etc. Like I said before, how many of our batsmen can actually "bat" decently outside the subcontinent? I fail to understand the nonstop bashing that Malik always gets on this forum. It's nothing but exaggeration at one point. A lot of these current players can't even do well in this ongoing series which is in freakin' UAE and we're here criticizing Malik for only doing well in matches played in Asia. Amazing!

Like Maula Jutt stated, Malik's career headed for a downfall post captaincy and that has a lot to do with the way the PCB handled everything as well as how certain seniors started throwing tantrums when they couldn't take a 25 year old leading them. Hopefully, during this time period Malik can reflect on what has happened to his career over the past yr or so and make it back in time for the world cup and contribute like he used to.

There was a revolt against him 8/9 players n plainly refused to play under him. As per YK, he wasn't part of that group.

Another thing, just check the scorecard of last three odis captained by Malik and it would reveal much how his team mates were "supporting" him.

I think that since Malik was made a captain at such a young age, others found it easy to disagree with him and challenge him. Age and seniority counts more than position or achievement in our culture, unfortunately. Many also felt they deserved captaincy more because of seniority. Same happened with Wasim Akram. He was also made a captain at a very young age and faced a lot of crap by his teammates throughout his captaincy. The only reason his reign was longer was perhaps because the PCB itself wasn't so involved in these player controversies as was the case in Malik's time. Akram's last few matches also were the same. He had no support from anyone in the team. No one was even talking to him.

And this same culture has come to a point now that unseating captains has become one of the easiest things to do for players. It's a disastrous development.

Thats the thing he seemed a decent guy when he was made captain and had everyones backing in terms of his abilities and his tactical nous...and for the most part I do feel he has a lot of ability in that area...his record with Sialkot shows that...Afridi has no tactical nous...

Also in terms of politicking...this seems to be the Pakistan way always yet it seems Malik gets the most flack for it...

I wasn't on this forum at the time so dont know the ins and out but I remember something about there being cliques in the team during Malik's reign and this not being of Malik's doing...he questioned Shoaib on his commitment and found himself having to retract it...and he clearly didnt feel he had the PCB's support which is a shame considering that is exactly what they should have given him...

And in terms of Mohammad Yousuf his behaviour was disgusting...just everything that he came out with during the ICL time towards Malik...I remember some appalling stuff coming out from him before Malik got sacked and him openly saying Malik needed to be removed...Moyo out of all of these guys is the worst of all...

Malik had his own captaincy undermined and wasn't really given a full crack at the whip imo...and then he was replaced by someone who had previously turned it down...it would be hard for anyone to not feel a little bit of animosity in that situation...thats why to a degree I sympathise with him...

It does come down to the PCB and how they mistreated him...and like you I agree it is irreversible...

However the fact is we have a team full of people like him...and will continue to do so...evidence of the cliquey behaviour is his very exclusion in the first place...Afridi's showing the same behaviour right now with his exclusion of Malik...

Malik may be a troublemaker but who isnt in this side?...

Yes He was dropped for third test but there was no justification for that. There were 4 other players needed to be dropped b4 him.

He made 58 in against Aus in Aus but was not picked by Afridi in 1st test against Aus in UK.

repeat : regarding second best -> check that thread... (hint: IF was the best top order)

http://stats.cricinfo.com/ci/engine...al1=span;team=7;template=results;type=batting

he should've been dropped from the NZ tour itself, its a travesty that he travelled there even after failing miserably in SL. Even he himself would've preferred that instead of constantly being in-out of the team since then. As for 2nd best is concerned, you've got it horribly wrong mate. Please check the 6 test matches we played in Eng and then tell me who was our second best.

Stop playing the victim card please. As I've said before, there wasnt a revolt as such. Go and read Yawar Saeed's report. Go ask Aamer Sohail who actually voiced infavor of Malik and warned Ijaz Butt not to change the captain at that time. He has said that a zillion times on national tv.

I actually like Shoaib Malik for ODI and T20s. He is way better than Misbah ul Haq and Fawad Alam.

What I don't support is the Oath Takers and Match Fixers. Since other Oath Takers like Yousaf, kami, are allowed to play then there is no reason to keep malik out.

Also Keep Malik far away from the Test team.

Thats the thing he seemed a decent guy when he was made captain and had everyones backing in terms of his abilities and his tactical nous...and for the most part I do feel he has a lot of ability in that area...his record with Sialkot shows that...Afridi has no tactical nous...

Also in terms of politicking...this seems to be the Pakistan way always yet it seems Malik gets the most flack for it...

I wasn't on this forum at the time so dont know the ins and out but I remember something about there being cliques in the team during Malik's reign and this not being of Malik's doing...he questioned Shoaib on his commitment and found himself having to retract it...and he clearly didnt feel he had the PCB's support which is a shame considering that is exactly what they should have given him...

And in terms of Mohammad Yousuf his behaviour was disgusting...just everything that he came out with during the ICL time towards Malik...I remember some appalling stuff coming out from him before Malik got sacked and him openly saying Malik needed to be removed...Moyo out of all of these guys is the worst of all...

Malik had his own captaincy undermined and wasn't really given a full crack at the whip imo...and then he was replaced by someone who had previously turned it down...it would be hard for anyone to not feel a little bit of animosity in that situation...thats why to a degree I sympathise with him...

It does come down to the PCB and how they mistreated him...and like you I agree it is irreversible...

However the fact is we have a team full of people like him...and will continue to do so...evidence of the cliquey behaviour is his very exclusion in the first place...Afridi's showing the same behaviour right now with his exclusion of Malik...

Malik may be a troublemaker but who isnt in this side?...

a very fair post...:14:

he should've been dropped from the NZ tour itself, its a travesty that he travelled there even after failing miserably in SL. .

Could your bring the stats of Pakistani batsmen in SL or want me to break the news?

It would break your heart that he was top scorer for Pakistan...

http://stats.cricinfo.com/ci/engine/records/batting/most_runs_career.html?id=5067;type=series

unless you do your homework and improve the standard of your posting, I would have to ignore you. I am sorry.

lol ... he failed miserably in the first 2 tests, should've been dropped then and there. Problem with Malik (much like Razzaq) has been that he always comes up with that a$$-saving score in dead-rubbers to secure his place for the next tour. That has been the pattern throughout his career and unfortunately, selectors have never weighed in his performance in testing conditions.

This is the funniest part of your supposed 'revolution'. Younus has been the best Pakistani batsman in Malik's captaincy yet you consider him in the revolt group. Based on what? only two games? we are having a batting collapse in every other match right now so do you believe the players are revolting against Afridi/Butt too?

lol ... he failed miserably in the first 2 tests, should've been dropped then and there. Problem with Malik (much like Razzaq) has been that he always comes up with that a$$-saving score in dead-rubbers to secure his place for the next tour. That has been the pattern throughout his career and unfortunately, selectors have never weighed in his performance in testing conditions.
chao
View attachment 9552

This is the funniest part of your supposed 'revolution'. Younus has been the best Pakistani batsman in Malik's captaincy yet you consider him in the revolt group. Based on what? only two games? we are having a batting collapse in every other match right now so do you believe the players are revolting against Afridi/Butt too?
no he was not part of it...why don't you get someone else help in understanding posts?