Should Sarfaraz Ahmed be stripped of captaincy in all 3 formats due to his abusive remarks?

To me his position has now become untenable.

Forever he will have to answer this question and as captain of Pakistan he will always be in an uncomfortable position.

Quite apart from the rights and wrongs of the whole episode which can be argued till kingdom come, Sarfaraz cannot continue in this position.

Agree or disagree?

Do it like Cricket Australia did with Steve Smith.

Sack him from the captaincy, send him home and suspend him for at least a year.

He should be removed even without this episode, just based on his performance as captain and batsman.

Absolutely and waiting for the moment who will take action first PCB OR ICC. Looks like PCB is in usual sleep mode

He's an idiot but no different from the other guys in the team. Pakistan lacks a culture of sensitivity and political correctness and it's just not limited to cricket, racism is very common. You can look up videos of Pakistani comedians making fun of west indians and sri lankans for their skin colors, even if these comedians themselves aren't much lighter. Sooner or latter this was going to happen.

Thats now how it works, the desi comedians work within their circle, the cricketers have sponsors, team management and what not, I cannot see Hafeez,Babbar or Malik indulging in this but Safaraz did.

I dont think PCB will do anything, unless there is pressure from ICC or South African cricket board.

Something tells me that Mickey Arthur deep down is absolutely delighted that Sarfaraz has shot himself in the foot. Had read many uncomfirmed news stories and reports online that Mickey had lost faith, confidence in Sarfaraz and had even made his feelings known to the PCB Chairman and Selectors that Sarfaraz did not deserve to be captain due to his inconsitent performances or should i say consistently poor performances.

So why not make a statement and set a precedent for future generations? This will be remembered.

To me his position has now become untenable.

Forever he will have to answer this question and as captain of Pakistan he will always be in an uncomfortable position.

Quite apart from the rights and wrongs of the whole episode which can be argued till kingdom come, Sarfaraz cannot continue in this position.

Agree or disagree?

Yeah they already had questions with his place in the team on his form this makes his position untenable. Will be bad time for us to lose the captain before the world cup though so I think they will probably remove him after the world cup. Unless he wins the world cup of course.

ohh yes making him captain was a mistake.
We need a more polished individual to represent us globally. This guy has become food for laughter.
He's not street-smart he's actually street-level cricketer

I wonder who the replacement captain will be? Imad Wasim? Malik? Hafeez?

He probably should be stripped of captaincy for being a poor captain. Don't think he is either a good leader or great tactician. Things have to fall in place for him. Don't think he is creating a good atmosphere for players. I would be really angry if India has a captain like him. Inspite of so many wins i prefer Rohit to be our ODI captain over Kohli.

He has not been reported and noone has complained about him anywhere. While it was a stupid remark, he is not a racist and everyone is going overboard.

Did we all ban Dean Jones after his terrorist remark? A remark far worse.

This is an excellent moment for subcontinental teams to get rid of racist and sexist trash like Sarfaraz and Pandya, could start a cultural revolution.

Disgusting comments. Why talk about some one's mother in the ground or the color of his skin. :facepalm:

Sarfraz showed his mentality with his poor comments. There is nothing funny about it. Its shocking some people were laughing it off on social media. This is not Nazimabad ki galiyan(streets), he is a street cricketer not an international cricketer in any way.

Shameful and disgraceful from Pakistan captain. From Misbah to Sarfraz, the standards have gone down the gutter.

One day, this guy will win a WC match for Pakistan against India.

Dean jones lost his commentary contract with Ten Sports after this and was missing for a while. Its is a Sub continental thing to be racist and to call one a G*O*R*A, K*A*L*A, Bandar etc. We all are inherently growing up (a lot of us) not because we necessarily mean disrespect but because it sounds fun I suppose ( I dont know). But as you grow in life and are more educated, you need to know where to draw a line. A SC guy wouldnt take offence to being called a Bandar as much as a Western guy would, similarily a Western chap wouldnt mind being called a ' Bast**d' and a SC chap would flip out as we have seen on the cricket field.

There is no place for racism and misogyny in today's world. Hardik's comments may been construed as harmless fun a decade or two back but not today. Similarily Sarfu has to be punished and made an example of by the PCB even if ICC doesnt punish him or SA dont complain.

All I'll say it is has given us a fantastic excuse to shell Sarfraz out which he deserved on merit, regardless of what the punishment should or should not be for the words used.

Ban for 2 months from international cricket(Anyways, there isn't any international cricket for Pakistan, for 2 months).

Sack from captaincy forever.

Captains:

Test: Shan
ODI: Hafeez (till WC), Babar post WC
T20I: Babar (let him captain from this series and get some experience before becoming ODI captain)

Don't think PCB will take any action against Sarfraz. More worse we will see if we don't end it right now.

This incident will bring bad name to Pakistan cricket. Shameful stuff from Pakistan captain. This is why education is important, education is not about your English speaking skills only. PCB needs to punish him and remove him from captaincy to set the right precedent. This is 21st century and you are the captain of a country for God's sake this is not street cricket of Nazimabad. Potty mouth needs to be flushed.

Agree on both counts: racist comment and extremely poor leadership. He needs to be sacked and reprimanded.

The way he came out to bat at 8, was absolutely baffling. Nation needs explaining from him and management of such delinquency.

Inzi needs to get away from the team and let Mickey run the show for which he has, hopefully, been paid.

I am against removing him from captaincy. But he needs a strict warning. PCB needs to make sure this does not repeat again.

He should be removed from the team but on the basis of his comments , but on the basis of his lack of performance.

He should at least be stripped of his test captaincy on the basis of performance. The comments, well, this would be going over the board for just this reason.

Any cricket board would have sacked their captain but its PCB where everything goes and until or unless ICC pressure the board they will not do anything. All will be forgotten until Sarfraz will make bigger misconduct to humiliate himself and PCB. Administration changed but mentality still remaining same.

Also its hard to believe Sarfraz is a Hafiz-e-Quran at the age of 10 years (Source::::: https://www.parhlo.com/celebrities/sarfraz-ahmed/).

What he has learned and where is his morale to disrespect another God's creation based on colour. I am really really disappointed with him due to his recent cheap TV Ad and racist/inappropriate remarks.

Absolutely not on the basis of that comment.

What he said was wrong and discriminatory, but it was never meant to be racist nor did he have any clue about the apprehensions of the matter when travelling in South Africa. He's gullible as any of the average South Asian Joe who would easily pass such a comment..... Sarfraz is simply unlucky that he stands next to a stump mic 99% of the time.

He should be punished for the comment but removing him as a captain is going too far. To do something like that will leave a permanent mark on the individual, throughout his life. Sarfaraz certainly does not deserve that.

His performance as a player as well as captain has been questionable, which is why he receives a lot of flak and why people want to see his back. But all that hate should not translate into labelling him as a racist for life.

This is outrageous. He doesn't deserve to play for Pakistan even if he scores 100s in each innings.

Pakistan cricket does not represent values displayed by skipper.

Disgusting behavior.

Any cricket board would have sacked their captain but its PCB where everything goes and until or unless ICC pressure the board they will not do anything. All will be forgotten until Sarfraz will make bigger misconduct to humiliate himself and PCB. Administration changed but mentality still remaining same.

Also its hard to believe Sarfraz is a Hafiz-e-Quran at the age of 10 years (Source::::: https://www.parhlo.com/celebrities/sarfraz-ahmed/).

What he has learned and where is his morale to disrespect another God's creation based on colour. I am really really disappointed with him due to his recent cheap TV Ad and racist/inappropriate remarks.

Alright, first of all what has religion to do with this? Also, he didnt called him "black man" as an insult, he actually asked him what has his mother prayed for him? He should not have done that but lets not divert this whole issue towards a direction which was not intended.

Not too sure about abusive behaviour but i definitely think he needs a break and some time away from the team to assess himself. He has lost the dressing room now as far as i can see it and unfortunately this has been his own doing. This is coming from a sarfaraz fan.

Totally agree with this plus I think its just Sarfraz attempt at trying to vent out his frustration and muttering away in a jokingly fashion for the player surviving many close calls. Most Asians refer to people by skin colour "****", "****" etc. They even do it their own ethnic people. Sarfraz was not directly call him "****" - it is unfortunate that it got picked up by microphone. God knows what other country players are calling sub continent players, but they are clever enough to say in away from the microphone. So I agree we need a smarter captain after all these dramas with Sarfraz.

I voted for sacked.

But mostly because of his performance.

Bring Rizzy in and make Shan skipper.

Calling someone " K***A" is very common in our part of the world however this is not how its elsewhere. I don't think Sarfaraz meant to be racist there rather he was obviously trying to sledge batsman to upset his rhythm though he was doing it in urdu which anyway wouldn't have made any harm to batsman's concentration. The fact that once this was picked by the stump mic meant Sarfaraz was going to be in trouble because the choice of that one word makes it sound racial no matter how you look at it. So stupid of Sarafraz to shoot himself in the foot when he is already fighting for his survival as a player and captain of PCT.

Can anyone tell me "Does PCB aware of this incident or just pretend to be not aware of that." What an unprofessional cricket board. Always wait until ICC insist on punishment.

Calling someone " K***A" is very common in our part of the world however this is not how its elsewhere. I don't think Sarfaraz meant to be racist there rather he was obviously trying to sledge batsman to upset his rhythm though he was doing it in urdu which anyway wouldn't have made any harm to batsman's concentration. The fact that once this was picked by the stump mic meant Sarfaraz was going to be in trouble because the choice of that one word makes it sound racial no matter how you look at it. So stupid of Sarafraz to shoot himself in the foot when he is already fighting for his survival as a player and captain of PCT.

The ICC's anti-racism policy clearly puts the onus on it's members to educate players about the requirements of anti-racism. So dont think not meaning to or being ignorant is going to fly here

The Policy contains a series of clear but flexible requirements for each Member, whether Full, Associate or Affiliate, in terms of the Member’s own conduct, its education and training of others, its communications with spectators and others, and its reporting to the ICC, each in respect of International Matches played within its jurisdiction.

Disgraceful that almost 40% of posters thinks the racism should be dismissed.

It should not be dismissed. It should be condemned but I don't think banning is necessary in this particular instance.

Ban for 2 months from international cricket(Anyways, there isn't any international cricket for Pakistan, for 2 months).

Sack from captaincy forever.

Captains:

Test: Shan
ODI: Hafeez (till WC), Babar post WC
T20I: Babar (let him captain from this series and get some experience before becoming ODI captain)

I dont think banning is the answer in this particular instance. He didnt say it in a language the intended person could understand so he clearly didnt mean to offend him. However he did prove himself a fool by coming across as racist, Since its his first offence he should be fined and spoken to this time.

Should have been removed from captaincy even before his stupid sledging remarks yesterday. This is just final nail in his coffin.

No, he should not be removed from captaincy based on this incident. Yes he made a mistake but it was due to PCB's lack of training to the players on how to carry themselves in public. These are contracted players and they represent PCB and the Country so there should be policy and training in place on how to behave in public.
This should be treated as a teachable incident and some sort of training implemented. Pakistani players sometimes come up with crazy stuff, like Hassan's border celebration to making crazy public statements. Safraz need to apologize to Phehlukwayo and that should be that. PCB also need to hire a public relation company and handle all handle the media.

You have to look at this incident as a whole. In subcontinent it is very common to make fun of and address someone by their color or by their disability. This happened to me a long time ago, out of college and I was in a leadership role and new to US. We were having lunch as a group and I noticed one younger Black Guy not there and this kid was 3 or 4 years younger than me. So I asked the some one " Where is that Black Boy?" Because where I come from it's common to call someone younger than you "Boy." So after lunch this older Black Gentleman came and asked me if study about black people in our school? I said yes we do, we learn about Dr. King. He goes, do they teach you that Black people are stupid and Dumb? I said no, why would anyone teach that in school. He said, looks like you think Black People are stupid, because you called that person "Black Boy." I said ok, I'll apologize to him and I did.

He should have been removed before his remarks yesterday.

They were ill-timed and inappropriate but not as large a deal as PP is making it.

People who want him removed are using it as a launching pad to oust him.

The reality is that if he was not performing as either captain or player for a long time.

We believe that we have become more tolerant and pacifist as a society who do not view public executions.

Yet, we still relish the social humiliations of public figures for the smallest error that we make commonly in our lives.

Does Sarfraz “deserve” the extreme punishments being mentioned or not?

The answer is that with his chatty nature, sooner or later, he would have said something that was unsafe in the wider sector.

The PP hype brigade has gone in full overdrive claiming racism when in reality it was a way of distinguishing Phehlukwayo from Van der Hessen, both who were on the pitch.

I think removing him as captain would be the best procedure. While I don't think his remarks were racist in the way most people would perceive racism, a captain has to be exemplary, and what this shows is that Sarfraz is not refined enough for such a position. Also it would help educate the rest of the world that referring to someone's skin colour is considered racist in the more developed nations.

In current environment, there is no justification in protecting him. If Pakistani board doesn't do anything, then Pakistanis won't be able to complain when they are abused. They should do it before ICC acts. England removed two players from Lions tour of India.
Shock treatment needed especially since SA has been quite supportive of Pakistan

He has apologized but upto powers that be to take that at face value or NOT!

For his abusive remarks, he should be banned for a month or two but he should be stiripped of captaincy because of his recent performances and his tactical decisions

Insanity!!!!! seems like this issue is being used to get rid of Sarfaraz.

Get rid of him all you want but don't use this incident to get to your agenda.

Insanity!!!!! seems like this issue is being used to get rid of Sarfaraz.

Get rid of him all you want but don't use this incident to get to your agenda.

Agreed, the PP brigade are trying to become holier than thou..... I live in US and at times when someone white or black person speaks to my friend/family and I don't hear the person I would ask in Urdu, yeh ****/**** kya keh raha hai..... I never ever mean it in a degrading manner and respect them for who they are. It's a matter of speaking not taunting or disrespectful. Now if I use an N word or a H (for whites) then I am being disrespectful and should be taken to tasked for being insensitive.

Maybe a temporary replacement if he is banned by ICC for a few games but can such a person be allowed to lead Pakistan? How will SA crowds react to him now?

I’d say yes. PCB can decide not to ban or suspend him. But they should ask him to step down from captaincy. A captain represents the entire team and he’s someone who’s supposed to keep a cool head under any situation. He sets the precedent for others to follow and should be in complete control of the entire squad.

People might be wondering whether being a captain is such a big deal. It is. Anyone who has played cricket at decent enough level would know how important and powerful a captain actually is in a team. Casual observers might think a captain is just another player with the additional responsibility/power to flip the coin, set the field and choose the bowlers and that the coach is someone who dictates things. It’s actually the other way around. While most captains listen to their coaches, they can overrule and override the coach’s views if they feel so. It’s such an important title and it comes with certain responsibilities too. You can’t behave like an irresponsible fellow when you’re captaining a team.

Ideally Sarfaraz shouldn’t continue to captain Pakistan. The best thing to do now is to keep him out of the limelight by making him surrender the captaincy, if protecting his career is important to PCB.

If sarfraz had any dignity or self respect he would have resigned from captaincy ages ago, let alone over current mess he has created.

He clearly doesn't understand what he did and what was wrong in doing so his apology statement was lousy luck that whatever he said was caught by the stump microphone. Problem is the same with most of PCB and Pakistanis as a nation we are very racist and when we say that this is not considered racist in Pakistan to mention someone by his or her skin color ( a common thing in Pakistan) we are saying to the world that we still live in dark ages.

He has apologized but upto powers that be to take that at face value or NOT!

It wasnt even an apology, it was a message pretty much saying he didnt expect to be caught by stump mikes! Didnt even apologize to person he abused! :facepalm:

Now Faf has also said SA have forgiven him but the embarrassment to Pakistan cricket is irredeemable until Sarfaraz is there.

Having a convicted racist captain

How are Pakistani fans going to deal with the fact their captain made fun of other player's skin. It is not some normal player but leader of the team. Irrespective of the ban I don't think he deserve to be on such a big post. It becomes really embarrassing to have a captain of your national team that had made such a stupid racist remarks 2 days ago.

Kamran Akmal is still not coming back. Though Sarfraz should never play for us. He's rubbish.

Unlike Cricket Australia, the PCB is smart enough not to let Mob Justice influence it

So asking for a captain to be removed who made fun of other player's skin is mob justice?

Yes. He cannot remain the captain of the team due to those remarks. However, anything beyond that and a fine from the PCB would be excessive. The ICC will likely hand out a ban themselves.

Well there were enough cricketing reasons to remove Sarfraz from captaincy before this saga, you would have thought this would have made the decision easier for PCB but no, they still have hope that a player who has been a passsenger in the team for last couple of years giving hardly any meaningful performance while also the captain, now with all the added pressure of this racism saga is actually going to lead the team and perform like a champ.. with the World Cup around the corner.

KARACHI: The speculation regarding the captaincy of current Pakistan skipper Sarfraz Ahmed might be coming to an end. The current captain is expected to resume the responsibilities of leadership in the limited overs series against Sri Lanka later this month. However, the final decision is expected to be taken with the input of the new head coach of the national cricket team.

Pakistan’s Test batsman Azhar Ali is being considered the favourite to replace Sarfraz as the captain of the Test side. According to details, Pakistan’s inability to reach the semi-final stage of the 2019 International Cricket Council (ICC) World Cup resulted in ouster of the previous head coach Mickey Arthur and the supporting staff by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).

There was widespread speculation about the removal of Sarfraz from the leadership role in the aftermath of the 2019 ICC World Cup. However, according to sources, this is not the case. The current captain is expected to continue in the same role in the one-day international (ODI) and Twenty20 series against Sri Lanka. According to sources, the PCB had mulled over candidates for the captaincy spot, however the officials believed that no player in the current team was eligible for the responsibility.

https://dailytimes.com.pk/459473/sarfraz-likely-to-continue-as-limited-overs-captain/

KARACHI: The speculation regarding the captaincy of current Pakistan skipper Sarfraz Ahmed might be coming to an end. Pakistan’s Test batsman Azhar Ali is being considered the favourite to replace Sarfraz as the captain of the Test side. https://dailytimes.com.pk/459473/sarfraz-likely-to-continue-as-limited-overs-captain/

Surely, surely NOT!

Azhar Ali's average has collapsed from 46 to 28 in the 2 years since he passed the official age of 32.

All his contemporaries like AB De Villiers and Alastair Cook have retired due to old age.

Azhar is clearly in terminal decline, and they think he should become the skipper?

Are they totally mad?