Sohail Tanvir as captain in ODI/T20I?

Seriously man, we come out with some ramdom threads. Now let me just ask you ??
has sohail tanvir improved as a bowler ? or a batsmen ?
will injuries not strike him as they used to ?
has he proven himself to be a captain ??

one final question - ud rather have the all rounder sohail over hafeez as captain ??

cmon u gta be kidding, please be mature in ur thread making, the truth is the truth whether it affects u, this is a childish and immature thread !!

AZ Bhai haters gonna hate He is very mature in his approach and if you see recently performance gaining pace

also plus his power hitting ability plus his brain His brain works like calculater in nervy situatons of the match AGREED FULLY
attachment.php

Good man, and well said! :sohail

cmon u gta be kidding, please be mature in ur thread making, the truth is the truth whether it affects u, this is a childish and immature thread !!

Stick to the topic, if anything than comments like these make you look like an idiot.

Hafeez is an opening batsman and that is his primary role, has nothing to do with Tanvir.

OCTOBER FOOLS!

It must be, this guy doesn't deserve a place in the playing 11.. check his record in the last 2 years to see how he fares.

Hammad Azam is a much better cricketer than him all-round..

He may be a good captain but we need 11 players who perform, he will be like Sammy.

Can't bowl, Can't bat.

Atleast Sammy can field well, Tanvir doesn't even have that.

OCTOBER FOOLS!

It must be, this guy doesn't deserve a place in the playing 11.. check his record in the last 2 years to see how he fares.

Hammad Azam is a much better cricketer than him all-round..

He may be a good captain but we need 11 players who perform, he will be like Sammy.

Can't bowl, Can't bat.

Atleast Sammy can field well, Tanvir doesn't even have that.

i second that :)

I can understand why AZ is saing this, hes leading the Rams very well, got good players knows how to use them and instruct them, good captaincy, knows his stuff...

The only problem is his skill level is enough to get him place in Rams but not enough to get him in the Pak playing XI with the other quality players we got.

If after Misbah the captaincy situation is desperate Gul is a good option, hes doing well with, thinking about Suhail will be a desperate resort.

iam a big fan of rams and i have always been aware of all the updates going in rams camp

n i heard from some where that sohail tanvir is not comfortable with sadaf hussain
and its just because of tanvir sadaf is still out of ram team

don't know the real reason
but may be tanvir is insecure with the presence of a young and better left arm bowler than him who is a future star for sure

For LOI I would rather prefer to have someone like Hafeez as the captain.

iam a big fan of rams and i have always been aware of all the updates going in rams camp

n i heard from some where that sohail tanvir is not comfortable with sadaf hussain
and its just because of tanvir sadaf is still out of ram team

don't know the real reason
but may be tanvir is insecure with the presence of a young and better left arm bowler than him who is a future star for sure

totally rubbish its sabih azhar who decides the most and Sadaf Hussain is not a T20 material

I don't care if Tanvir has even Imran Khan's captaincy, if he is captain of the Pakistan ODI and T20 teams, we're just taking 1 step forward and 2 steps back.

As an international bowler, he is a liability. 2007-2008 were his best years, probably due to the unknown entity factor, but he's seriously been worked out now. AZ there is a big difference between domestic and international cricket.

The captain needs to be the one who sets the example, the one who others can look up to. Is Sohail Tanvir going to be that man for Pakistan? :facepalm: x10.

sohail is btw proved to be a better captain than former captain of rams yasir arafar
he has taken the rams to the new heights

he won the title which the previous rams teams fail to win even with the presence of yasir arafat and m ammir

before his captaincy rams were consider as underdogs a minnow team in the tournament...no where near the big guns like sialkot lahore n karachi

but now rams is consider as one of the most strongest team of the torunament

credit goes to sohail tanvir

To be honest, he is captain of Pakistan “A” team as well as the Rawalpindi Rams. He has been leading both of them successfully. It’s actually a decent option mainly for Twenty20s as that’s his most suited format. He can be a bit of a T20 specialist. Capable pinch hitter down the order who can get quick fire runs, one of the very few bowlers Pakistan bowlers who has mastered the slower ball bouncer and can also bowl well at the death. He can nibble the ball about up front too.

Here is what I said about him back in July before the final against KD: Highly impressive captaincy from Sohail Tanvir throughout the tournament. Innovative, creative, dynamic, flexible planning, outside of the box tactics, leading from the front, setting high standards & marshalling his troops with all the experience he has to the tournament finale. Full marks & praise must be credited to him regardless of today’s outcome. He also captained Pakistan “A” to a 3-0 whitewash over Afghanistan towards the end of last month. Top job from the 2008 IPL hero & 2007 T20 WC find. Maybe should be used by the national team as a 20/20 specialist all-rounder. I don’t rate him that highly in ODIs and beyond.

To be honest, he is captain of Pakistan “A” team as well as the Rawalpindi Rams. He has been leading both of them successfully. It’s actually a decent option mainly for Twenty20s as that’s his most suited format. He can be a bit of a T20 specialist. Capable pinch hitter down the order who can get quick fire runs, one of the very few bowlers Pakistan bowlers who has mastered the slower ball bouncer and can also bowl well at the death. He can nibble the ball about up front too.

Here is what I said about him back in July before the final against KD: Highly impressive captaincy from Sohail Tanvir throughout the tournament. Innovative, creative, dynamic, flexible planning, outside of the box tactics, leading from the front, setting high standards & marshalling his troops with all the experience he has to the tournament finale. Full marks & praise must be credited to him regardless of today’s outcome. He also captained Pakistan “A” to a 3-0 whitewash over Afghanistan towards the end of last month. Top job from the 2008 IPL hero & 2007 T20 WC find. Maybe should be used by the national team as a 20/20 specialist all-rounder. I don’t rate him that highly in ODIs and beyond.
BBC you sumed it up pretty well These abilities are rare in other players at the moment plus He is controvercy free with no scandels :asif:amir:afridi:butt:akhtar

Good thread AZ.

Imran Farhat
Shahzaib Hassan (vc)
Sohail Tanvir (c)
Shoaib Malik
Imran Nazir
Kamran Akmal (wk)
Wajahatulla Wasti
Junaid Zia
Mohammad Sami
Sohail Khan
Ijaz Butt

Who needs Gul and Wahab when you have Tanvir and Sami opening the bowling? Oh wait, I thought this thread was talking about our Backyard XI...

Sohail Tanvir's T20 record sucks. Let him captain these pajama teams, at international level he is horrible.

Good thread AZ.

Imran Farhat
Shahzaib Hassan (vc)
Sohail Tanvir (c)
Shoaib Malik
Imran Nazir
Kamran Akmal (wk)
Wajahatulla Wasti
Junaid Zia
Mohammad Sami
Sohail Khan
Ijaz Butt

Who needs Gul and Wahab when you have Tanvir and Sami opening the bowling? Oh wait, I thought this thread was talking about our Backyard XI...

why opening batsman at last batting number Oh its a fun post okkk :yk

IMO he is a top and I daresay my leading candidate for the job after Misbah.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/7_KIzbktgJk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

hes ridiculously lucky

awais zia
hammad azam
umar amin

are all performing ridiculously well

he hasnt been too great at all himself

and he sits in the dugout constantly looking worried...what if things arent going for him and people look at his body language...they will all drop too

he seems like a decent captain but even at this level his batting or bowling is not consistant enough, when he gets them right he is quite good, but unfortunately its too rare.

even at this level if you discount his captaincy he is not one of pindis star players, 3/100 in fb t20, and apart from todays knock nothing with the bat of mention.

its a shame because he comes across as a very chilled out and thoughtful captain.

What an 19th over by Sohail Tanvir... Stallions are at 170-3

he comes out with 0, W, 0, 0, 1, 0

Really played a match winning knock today for the :ss, 14 runs of 18 balls while chasing 170+ and on top of that he ran out Hammmad Azam who could have won the game for Pindi

His decision to bat higher than Hammad Azam, was the best decision in the tournament

Surely, he should lead pakistan in the next series

Kaptain Kukri cost the final with his stupid decision to put himself ahead of Hammad and Jamal

Like I said in an earlier post he is not fit enough to play and that showed today with him getting hammad azam run out. most of the times he doesn't come back for the second run and this time he decided to come back and forced hammad to go back for second :pissed:

lol AZ liking a player is a curse to that player ... they always end up failing :butt

he does not deserve a place in a full strength Pak side let alone allowed to captain it. their r a lot lot better players than him in Pak.
he at best is an average freak bowler. Who has been found out.
He not a bats man for sure and as a fielder he is simply pathetic.

There is no doubt in my mind the Sohail Tanvir cost the rams the match, through selfishness. And people on this thread have been discussing him as a potential captain.

First of all, it was a big mistake not bowling Hammad Azam. He had an over to spare and of all the seamers seemed to be difficult to score off. Secondly, all he needed to do was take singles and let Hammad keep hitting them, instead he got him run out.

I strongly believe he was trying to make an impression on the selectors, in doing so the team and Hammad were not his priorities. I hope the selectors got the message loud and clear as well as those supporting him.

:)) :)) I will stick with Misbah for now, if this is the "cream of the crop" as they say. Complete T20 domestic bully, really needs to work on his game/fitness.

NO otherwise he will promote himself ahead of Umar Akmal, Asad Shafiq etc in batting order to cement his place.

As i said before the final game, he loves promoting himself ahead of recognised batsmen and it was going to cost his team the game sooner or later.

What selfishness, he has consistently batted before Hammad in this tourney, and played good cameos...were people here even watching the matches?!

did not click with the bat today sadly, but overall an excellent display from him and his Rams.

Next captain FTW! :sohail

Are you alright AZ? Tanivr doesn't even deserve a place in the team!! Hafeez after Misbah IMO.

WOuld love to have this guy as captain, due to his marvelous T20 performance as captain, today he is playing against Sri Lanka good luck

Afridi deserves T20 captancy ... it will get Misbah load little less frm his shoulders:hafeez

He may be a thinking and smart cricketer but the problem is there is tough competition for fast bowling spots in Pakistan,so it's always better to keep a batsman as captain.

Afridi deserves T20 captancy ... it will get Misbah load little less frm his shoulders:hafeez

One captain across all formats is the best way to go about it for us I think. Afridi shouldn't take back any form of captaincy. He was good in ODIs but quite average in T20s as captain [in terms of win percentages]. I don't think Misbah warrants a place in the T20I team but we must pay a price for stability

I demand that he gets named the T20 captain NOW , did you see how he lead the bowling attack from the front today, figures of 2 overs 29 runs with no wickets are just astonishing

Umar gul second over 11 runs!!!!!

Tanvir only bowled 2 overs, he din't get a chacne to bowl more then 2.

One of the most useless bowler/players to have ever represented Pakistan, why the PCB is persisting with him is a mystery.

Umar gul second over 11 runs!!!!!

Tanvir only bowled 2 overs, he din't get a chacne to bowl more then 2.

Even after Gul's second over going for 11 runs his economy rate after 2 overs was still only 8 while Tanvir's Econ rate after two overs was 14

Honestly AZ I do think that Tanveer's an exciting player MashaAllah.

But no way is he at all even a remotely smart cricketer. Positioning himself above Hammad, who is Pakistan's best batsman from the allrounders by a couple of light years, in the Twenty20 was just a sign of this: brainless tactic that cost the final. And he is extremely, extremely unreliable.

Aggressive/fun allrounder Sohail Tanveer is, reliable/smart he is not.

that was a bad day for :sohail

haters are moaning like russel dude just got 4 wickets in his last match :snack:

Has terrible terrible control! Not a fan at all!!

that was a bad day for :sohail

haters are moaning like russel dude just got 4 wickets in his last match :snack:

lol u act like he seldom has a bad day.....its actually the reverse...he seldom has a good day.....4 wickets in a dead rubber......he is trash.......i would rather have rana naved/sami instead of this turd.....we show so much dislike for farhat.....but even farhat is more worth his place in the side than this joke of a cricketer

I was looking forward to his bowling considering the last game. Huge let down, extremely disappointed with the lack of ball control. Was awful to watch, but will give him another game.

He looks really mediocre when the ball isnt swinging.

He doesn't look mediocre when the ball isn't swinging, he looks absolutely horrendous. ;-) And he looks almost equally rubbish on seaming wickets (New Zealand).

The likes of Anderson are mediocre in non-swinging conditions.

Who's great idea was it to select this glorified orthodox bowler and label him "PHAAST"?

Pehlay AZ saab salman butt kay dewanny thayy aur ab sohail tanvir kay....... I think imran farhat is next in line..

Very ordinary cricketer, nothing intimidating about him. The only special thing he has is his action and even that doesn't help him in any way. Batsmen seem to have no trouble reading him.

Barely international level material, let alone captain.

Good thread AZ.

Imran Farhat
Shahzaib Hassan (vc)
Sohail Tanvir (c)
Shoaib Malik
Imran Nazir
Kamran Akmal (wk)
Wajahatulla Wasti
Junaid Zia
Mohammad Sami
Sohail Khan
Ijaz Butt

LOL, deserves the funniest post of the week award. By the way, you forgot to mention Faisal Iqbal as 12th man. :yk

:))) Seems like pwnage season has taken over PP.. A few threads out there making the OPs look pretty silly:)))

Ahem :afridi

still don't know if OP is srs.

if so one of my profs is a supposedly a terrific shrink. i don't mind being the middle man...truly

Two very expensive overs today. Don't know what AZ and Danny Morrison see in him. Hammad Azam is just miles ahead of him so don't understand why selectors are picking this guy over him.

HAH!

Why didn't the haterz bump this thread a couple of days ago?!

Tab kidhar thay?!

Just read the signature!

:sohail :sohail :sohail

I have nothing against Tanveer, he's an entertainer when on song MashaAllah

But where the heck did you get the idea that he's a smart cricketer? That ugly slog in the last game and the numerous games where he goes for 6+ an over are proof that he is anything but an intelligent player.

Who, seriously, would have Tanveer (a handy slogger) bat above Hammad (a proper batsman)? Just poor captaincy and tbh Rawalpindi had a fairly strong team, lots of intnl fringe players

So basically, yeah Tanveer's pretty fair (he gets too much criticism and was outstanding back in 2008) but he's nowhere near captaincy material

Underrated cricket. He hasn't shown his full potential. He reminds me of Sami.

He was so good in that first IPL where he played for Rajasthan Royals!

Apart from that, I find him a bits and pieces cricketer!

No way, don't want him as captain for Pakistan. Captain material needs a masters degree :misbah look how he has managed the team, no controversial statement or anything. Quite man and a smooth operator. Another educated captain for Pakistan will be nice, maybe Inshallah :shehzad after getting his degree. Captains should be role model, like :imran and :misbah both are well educated, Jakazallah

I have nothing against Tanveer, he's an entertainer when on song MashaAllah

But where the heck did you get the idea that he's a smart cricketer? That ugly slog in the last game and the numerous games where he goes for 6+ an over are proof that he is anything but an intelligent player.

Who, seriously, would have Tanveer (a handy slogger) bat above Hammad (a proper batsman)? Just poor captaincy and tbh Rawalpindi had a fairly strong team, lots of intnl fringe players

So basically, yeah Tanveer's pretty fair (he gets too much criticism and was outstanding back in 2008) but he's nowhere near captaincy material

just gives that impression, he's got that swagger! :viv

also his death bowling is quite canny, mixes it up well. :wasim