South Africa v India | 1st Test | Centurion | 16-20 Dec 2010

:))) at Jusarrived's excuses

The toss played a small part; no more. If RSA had scored 310 you could have said it was the toss; when they racked up 620 for 4 at 4.80 an over it's not the toss mate, utter denial by some of India's fans here

RSA are THE most underrated team in the world yet Indian fans still convin e themseves that Unadkat and Sreesanth would have blown the hosts away for 100

I have really noticed the staggering India hate on PP for the first time during this match, and it seems to affect the judgment of even the better posters...I always knew the hate was there, but never to this slightly embarrassing level. the coin toss always has been a significant part of a test match, sometimes a huge one, and it was here

SA have been just lucky with the toss here . Shocking pitch really , if not for the rain this would have been a boring draw , but its only indian pitches which gets criticized .

Maybe but if we won the toss I wouldn't be complaining so Im not now. It was raining their for a while before the match started and they probably didn't have enough time to prepare the pitch. we lost fair and square, the good thing is Our batsman can pretend this is the practice match that they needed before the test started.

I have really noticed the staggering India hate for the first time during this match, and it seems to affect the judgment of even the better posters...the coin toss always has been a significant part of a test match, sometimes a huge one, and it was here

This was a very good toss to win, probably 50% advantage but I am sure you as an england fan can probably remember India being this lucky with a toss as well.

Of course I'm not going to feel particularly sorry for India, but the fact has to be acknowledged that the day 1 and day 2 pitches were way different, thus the toss was a big one

Whippy I definitely agree but come on.....they got smashed for 4.8 runs per over? Even on flat wickets, that is a run-rate that is a little high and to make it worse...they only took 4 wickets. The ball was moving early on, that is why Alviro and SMith were crawling but they negotiated the tough bit and it got better.

yeah the Indian bowling was poor, atrocious even. But the juicy day 1 wicket was never going to be seen again in this match - do not be surprised if Tendulkar and Laxman are still knocking it about tomorrow evening.

I have really noticed the staggering India hate on PP for the first time during this match, and it seems to affect the judgment of even the better posters...I always knew the hate was there, but never to this slightly embarrassing level. the coin toss always has been a significant part of a test match, sometimes a huge one, and it was here

That made me laugh out loud.

why, were you watching something funny on telly at the time?

yeah the Indian bowling was poor, atrocious even. But the juicy day 1 wicket was never going to be seen again in this match - do not be surprised if Tendulkar and Laxman are still knocking it about tomorrow evening.

Juicy or not. If you are the number one team, 136 is terrible on any wicekt. I could understand if India had them at 250 all out and said, look that is the difference....but in reality there is a WIDE margin between the two at this point.....so India has done themselves no favour. Personally I felt Smith declared too early. I would have went till tea, aimed for 700 and then declared.

The fact that India only have 8 wickets in hand 300 behind, and could still conceivably draw a match with 6 sessions to go, shows what a joke of a pitch this is. Surely only scoreboard pressure can take wickets on this pitch, unless the ball is screaming all over the place as on day one (thus the toss was important and it was a good toss to win, that is a FACT no matter what anyone says). I agree that SA should have batted a bit longer to give themselves best chance of taking remaining Indian wickets.

Until I see a good argument as to why the toss is not important in cricket and the toss was not important in this match, I won't be able to see why my post has amused you.

This part..

I have really noticed the staggering India hate on PP for the first time during this match, and it seems to affect the judgment of even the better posters...I always knew the hate was there, but never to this slightly embarrassing level.

Definitely.

For some reason, everyone seems to be forgetting that the toss is important in cricket and has been important here, because they just want to bash India.

Posters have been following India through various threads and seem to be more interested in them failing than they are ever excited about Pakistan playing. These are poor excuses for cricket fans.

Sreesanth has been bantered at (which is fine) but suffered possible racial abuse on the boundary as well, and Pakistan fans do not even seem to be entertaining the chance that he could have been racially abused, which strikes me as surprising, hypocritical and in shockingly bad taste. Racism is still a big problem in sport and must be investigated if suspected.

God knows India and its fans are not perfect, but the perception of them here is very strange and misinformed, and it can only be because a lot of you hate them.

Don't give me the banter excuse, because the difference between banter and ignorance is quite easy to see, even over an internet forum.

Apologies in advance, just a view from a non Pakster/Indian

Not your fault, mate. One has to BE a Pakistani or an Indian to see the humor in this.

Your neutral view is, ofcourse, fine.

I can't see anything humorous in the racial abuse thread, just a lot of strange reactions from Pak fans.

If this is how somebody sees things outside of your loving honest Ind-Pak banter bubble, maybe it tells you summat, like.

I can't see anything humorous in the racial abuse thread, just a lot of strange reactions from Pak fans.

If this is how somebody sees things outside of your loving honest Ind-Pak banter bubble, maybe it tells you summat, like.

This is getting funnier. :)))

there are trolls on either side, who is denying that? but it is utterly disappointing on your part Whippy that you are associating that with the majority. (generalizing)

Then I will leave you to it. You have this really odd way of looking at things as many people pointed out in 'that' thread on time pass a while ago, so there's no point in me trying to create a debate here - I actually expected a response from you that wasn't just a smiley, because you're a good poster.

there are trolls on either side, who is denying that? but it is utterly disappointing on your part Whippy that you are associating that with the majority. (generalizing)

The way I worded that was a mistake, but there's a definite atmosphere coming from somewhere

Rahul Dravid and Sachin are the key now.

India still trail by 294, the big guns need to bat the whole day, somehow!

Then I will leave you to it. You have this really odd way of looking at things as many people pointed out in 'that' thread on time pass a while ago, so there's no point in me trying to create a debate here - I actually expected a response from you that wasn't just a smiley, because you're a good poster.

Leave that thread whichever it was. I didn't even see it. I am talking about this thread. This much of a banter, we have a license to, Whippy. It does sometimes seem like much more than light hearted to an outsider, but that's because it is quite rarely light hearted. There is nothing light hearted between India and Pakistan. You need to get the whole perspective between the two countries to understand it from our point of view, which is why I said one needs to actually BE a Pakistani or Indian to get it. Never take a sport banter as just that between Pak and India. Because it is not. Which is why when a bomb blast takes place in Mumbai, India decides to take out its anger on the Pakistani cricket by refusing to play them. And that is why when Pakistan beats India, many fans on this side of the border start demanding the resolution of Kashmir issue on the cricket pitch. :)))

This is also the reason why Indians crawl out of the woodwork in surprising numbers on this forum when Pakistan does bad. It's not in order to pass their free time. I am quite sure most of them lead quite busy lives. The same reason a loss of India is celebrated with the same vigor and zeal as a Pakistan win by us.

Yes it does get out of control more often than not (I know of many Indian as well as Pakistani sites and forums that cross the line almost as a habit), but this site usually keeps a good check on that limit. That thread you refer to must be an exception.

India is like the fat spoiled kid next door to Pakistan, bigs up his everyday achievements and never misses an opportunity to step on our toes as he waddles by in the morning. Therefore it's nice to see the strong silent South African from across the street take him down. I'm sure many of them see us as the uppity mongrels next door as well

That said, I don't have a thing against Indians personally; guys like M_Q and most here on PP, or chaps like Dravid and Dhoni, are very likeable and admirable even. If it wasn't for their stupid media/fanbase, I wouldn't dislike India that much

India is like the fat spoiled kid next door to Pakistan, bigs up his everyday achievements and never misses an opportunity to step on our toes as he waddles by in the morning. Therefore it's nice to see the strong silent South African from across the street take him down. I'm sure many of them see us as the uppity mongrels next door as well

That said, I don't have a thing against Indians personally; guys like M_Q and most here on PP, or chaps like Dravid and Dhoni, are very likeable and admirable even. If it wasn't for their stupid media/fanbase, I wouldn't dislike India that much

are u trying to justify your hate???? lolzzzz we are a big spoilt kid and your country is as innocent as it gets!

The way I worded that was a mistake, but there's a definite atmosphere coming from somewhere

Frankly, I cant understand this hostile defense from Indians(+sympathizers) et all. First the over-reaction thread, and now the Sreesanth episode. Facts are

1) India has been outplayed in the test so far. There was some banter yes but over-reaction? common! it was only limited to the match thread, no threads frenzy, no abuses whatsoever. Over-reaction is when people make "Fawad Alam fans - is that what you are in love with" after one bad innings :fawad

2) Sreesanth is a classic prima donna. All that has been reported so far was that he endured jeers from the crowd on misfields and got [allegedly] verbally abused. The point that it hasnt even been reported by India-centric cricinfo tells how much of a non-issue it really is.

India has been outplayed in the test so far. There was some banter yes but over-reaction? common! it was only limited to the match thread, no threads frenzy, no abuses whatsoever. Over-reaction is when people make "Fawad Alam fans - is that what you are in love with" after one bad innings :fawad

Not sure what people's idea of banter is though.Should be more wit and less malicious.Cynical retorts , sneers get tiresome sooner or later :sachin

I'd feel more sorry for them if they didn't go on about the test they won last time when they got to bowl first on a way worse wicket.

My thoughts currently.

I see a very good chance for India to save this game.

You hardly ever see a S.A wicket this flat that 3 batters can get a hundred in a row. This is FLAT. The Indian batsmen so far have shown as much. They simply need to bat out tomorrow and level the scores/get a lead of 150 plus going into mid day 5 and it's a draw. The only thing that will help saffers is if the pitch starts to play up and down (rare on such a flat pitch) or some cloud cover gives some swing. The new ball tomorrow will be key. If India play it out I expect a draw.

A proper fast saffer wicket in the nest tests will see us win 2-0 even if they draw. Centurion is always flat the last days.

If you see Indian Comments on Pakistani Players( Except few Sensible Posters ) They post even more abusive things about Pakistan Cricket.

We Never Attack them Straight away, and our Mods never put any Ban on them at the first place.

If it was like an Indian Forum which are available on internet, Then, They would get banned the first day they joined @ PP.

And Yes,,, Why you are getting so worried Bro??? We have Indian Buddies and We Keep throwing jokes at each other every now and then..

M_Q , Sir John and Few Others are pretty close to me and with others and favorite posters here on PP. Even they enjoy to Come @ PP.

( Its like Aunty is Crying more than the Baby's Mother After the Baby got Injured )

Wow, this post has racked up 2k+ replies!

Couple of comments to share:

1) Indian bowling attack is toothless
2) Really good toss to win
3) India still might draw the game

I think the toss played a marginal role but ultimately its not the reason why India lose this test if that does happen to be the case. India's batsmen were hopeless in the first innings and the bowlers were absolutely terrible.
Also If it wasnt for those 3 dropped catches today India would of been looking down the barrel.

How you conclude that toss played a marginal role?
What should have happened to believe toss played a "major" role?

Saffers got extremely lucky the 1st day.... damp conditions made the ball move quite a bit and then the pitch flattened out....if India was bowling first...they might not have gotten saffers out for 136 but no way they would have gone past 250.

It's awesome to watch Dravid bat... so technically fine tuned...they don't make batsman like that anymore...he is my childhood hero along with Sourav Ganguly

Rahul Dravid and Sachin are the key now.

India still trail by 294, the big guns need to bat the whole day, somehow!

Yes ...and I want Ishant to score atleast 25 runs ..which means he will play lots of balls ....we'll save this match...

If India draw this it will be a huge achievement. The pitch is flat, but not nearly as much as some people are making out. should flatten further though

Master bhai, match day 5 tak jayega kya? baarish waarish karwao do centurion mein yar

agar phele session mein do wkt gir gayi to phir poore joro-shor se baarish karne k liye prayers start kar denge ......:D :D

kal last session k phle ghante tak batting karegi apni team dekhte jao ....InshaAllah MashaAllah

If India draw this it will be a huge achievement. The pitch is flat, but not nearly as much as some people are making out. should flatten further though

Bounce will be the key, if it remains even, playing out could be comparatively easier. But I don't it see remaining even. Yesterday a lot of balls fro Morkel kept low and some just jumped off good length.

We are perhpas one good spell away from a loss. Can't see how we can bat out 150 overs on this track. Looks very tough. I will be more than happy if we can take this to day 5 or if we can avoid an innings loss.

First Session of play is crucial, if India can survive with the loss of I Sharma only, the pressure will be on SA bowlers.

For India to win, all of the middle order has to fire, Tendulkar, Dravid, Laxman, Dhoni have to get good scores, if they can somehow get to 400/4 they will fancy their chances of drawing.

Btw, Tsotsobe has yet to get a wicket in this match he is 0/98 right now!

One player holds the key- DRAVID

As said before by whippy, only the scoreboard can get a batsman out,so Dravid plays the key role here.Plus the way he played yesterday was pretty positive.

C'mon Dravid vindicate yourself and show em who's the best batsman in the team for all seasons and reasons ;)

Any chance of rain?No hopes of saving this here.All guys have some good practice today as far as possible and make it count in the 2nd match.

Gambhir getting out just before stumps was a killer blow for India. He can not only bat for long periods of time but can also score runs at a fair clip which would've helped us in erasing runs deficit.

Pitch seems to have flattened up a lot, Sub-continent like conditions for batting now.

we still have to bat close to more 140 overs !

lol, guyssssssss what position have you put yourselves in :O

Jaapies having trouble trying to get the MIGHTLY AND TALL ISHANT out.

I think they placed Amla just before that ball and the very fruitful results. Good Captaincy Smith :clap

now the pitch has turned docile Indians will come out fighting good .This batting line is full of FTB's.

Leave that thread whichever it was. I didn't even see it. I am talking about this thread. This much of a banter, we have a license to, Whippy. It does sometimes seem like much more than light hearted to an outsider, but that's because it is quite rarely light hearted. There is nothing light hearted between India and Pakistan. You need to get the whole perspective between the two countries to understand it from our point of view, which is why I said one needs to actually BE a Pakistani or Indian to get it. Never take a sport banter as just that between Pak and India. Because it is not. Which is why when a bomb blast takes place in Mumbai, India decides to take out its anger on the Pakistani cricket by refusing to play them. And that is why when Pakistan beats India, many fans on this side of the border start demanding the resolution of Kashmir issue on the cricket pitch. :)))

This is also the reason why Indians crawl out of the woodwork in surprising numbers on this forum when Pakistan does bad. It's not in order to pass their free time. I am quite sure most of them lead quite busy lives. The same reason a loss of India is celebrated with the same vigor and zeal as a Pakistan win by us.

Yes it does get out of control more often than not (I know of many Indian as well as Pakistani sites and forums that cross the line almost as a habit), but this site usually keeps a good check on that limit. That thread you refer to must be an exception.

Spot on, that's all I wanted to see :) I have studied Indo-Pak relations a little in this semester but I know I can never understand, so thank you for your insight. However, I will continue to comment on things that I have my own opinion on, obviously :19: