South Africa vs Pakistan 2nd ODI: 1st Innings

Pollock's job here will be damage limitation and get that run rate back under control for South Africa.

Quick single taken, run out chance by Pollock with the boot but no go.

117-2 after 19 overs

Pollock bowls a good over, just 2 from it, generally keeping it short of length.

Yousuf hs scored 13 off 28 so far. Thats 5 overs of field restrictions.

one more over before the powerplays finish- this is a great platform for Inzi & Shoaib Malik to also play naturally and build on this with a swashbuckling end in the last 10 or 15 overs.
They can go at 5 an over for 15 overs and then go berserk.

Single taken, sort of pulled to fine leg along the ground by Younis.

Quick single taken, good running by this pair. Good call from Yousuf.

Another excellent single taken, another good call from Yousuf.

Rameez is stupid - saying that Nazir needlessly going across to get out - a soft dismissal- completely missing the fact that it was a great slower ball and totally foxed Nazir who was playing from the crease and across throughout to the normal deliveries and just got out due to good bowling rather then bad technique or thought process.

Angled in and flicked to fine leg for a single by Yousuf

121-2 after 20 overs. Good going so far.

Keep the commentary coming guys! How was Nazirs inngs?

TheSaint said:
Rameez is stupid - saying that Nazir needlessly going across to get out - a soft dismissal- completely missing the fact that it was a great slower ball and totally foxed Nazir who was playing from the crease and across throughout to the normal deliveries and just got out due to good bowling rather then bad technique or thought process.

I agree, had that not been a slower ball that would have gone for 4, no doubt.

Didn't see it, but from the sounds of it it was very good, took the attack to the South African bowlers.

Very good, clean shots..took risks, but well executed. Out to a good ball, didn't exactly "throw" away his wicket.

If younis scores a hundred (which he should) pakistan will win this game Inshallah

Anything above 300 is going to be very tough to chase under lights when the ball will do a lot more InshaAllah- I think we are seeing an unexpected turnaround today by our team after looking really poor recently.

TheSaint said:
Rameez is stupid - saying that Nazir needlessly going across to get out - a soft dismissal- completely missing the fact that it was a great slower ball and totally foxed Nazir .
You are forgetting that Rameez was a legend in the 'Sir Viv' mould - and is entitled to make such claims.

Improvisation, Younis moves to the offside and dabs it to the onside for a single.

Cleverly played, no slip in place, opens the face of the bat and steered through the first slip area for 4 by Yousuf. Good thinking from Yousuf

127-2 after 21

Run rate dips under 6, 5.95 now.

doesn't need to worry at the moment. they just need to keep not going below 5.5 for the next 10 overs.

DotCom said:
Rameez needs a big @$$ whooping

Nazir didnt throw his wicket away

Very annoying comments from Ramiz

Great konck by Nazir, now Younis is carrying on with the good work.

pak surely needs more than 300.

Payback Time!!!! Great start this.. dwan yousuf you can build that lead!!

These two are running well between the wickets, pinching singles at will.

Flicked elegantly off the backfoot for 2 through midwicket by Younis.

run rate not a problem.

We have Malik, Razzaq, Afridi and Mahmood to come. All four are huge hitters of magnificent propotions capable of completely and utterly destroying the opposition beyond any sort of comprehension or imagination.

Remember the average first innings score in a day night here is 219! And they were saying at the beginning that 250 would be a competitive score. 15 of the 20 matches played under lights have been won by the side batting first. We just need these two to build a solid foundation.

Things are looking good at the moment. Just keep fingers crossed.

Full toss and smashed to third man for a single

Younis gets his 50, well played yaar!!!

run rate not a problem.

We have Malik, Razzaq, Afridi and Mahmood to come. All four are huge hitters of magnificent propotions capable of completely and utterly destroying the opposition beyond any sort of comprehension or imagination.

Remember the average first innings score in a day night here is 219! And they were saying at the beginning that 250 would be a competitive score. 15 of the 20 matches played under lights have been won by the side batting first. We just need these two to build a solid foundation.

Things are looking good at the moment. Just keep fingers crossed.

Nicely put!!

Well played Younis and well played Pakistan.

So far we have shoved the words of the wrist slitters, critics and bashers straight up their fat backsides.

Well played nazir, glad to see u back. As will nadeem, big daddy and co will be. As I always said I will take nazir on top of order, ahead of Afridi any time.

Lets hope he keep this up for the rest of games as well. Good start for the series but needs to do more damage.

what kind of BAT is YK using?

he has the sticker still on it from the airport .. hehe

Well played Younis and well played Pakistan.

So far we have shoved the words of the wrist slitters, critics and bashers straight up their fat backsides.
ahem ahem.. match isnt even finished yet!

Bob looking at some BIRDS me thinks through the binoculars.
Another four from Younis- powerful pull off Pollock.

Hash you make a valid point how ever we should also consider that PAK bowling for this game is quite weak and the S Africans are in great form!

Hooked for 4 by Younis, Kemp had a chance at deep backward square, but couldn't get there in the end.

PlanetPakistan said:
Hash you make a valid point how ever we should also consider that PAK bowling for this game is quite weak and the S Africans are in great form!

theek hai yaar. I said 'so far' bhai.!

that was a bit lucky .. Kemp has buckets for hands... but YK still going strong ...

Smashed over mid wicket for 4 by Younis. Excellent shot.

YK likes to pat people. he just did it to Pollock. did they collide here or is it something from the test match where Pollock threw the ball at him

Pakistan in an excellent position now. These two batting well.

And now Yousuf gets into the act, he pulls it this time to fine leg for 4.

Too early to comment on it but this is a good start to the batting effort, now what our bowlers need is to make sure that they do not bowl no-balls and wides and just bowl within themselves and let the pressure build when SA come out to bat- Smith will come down the pitch- he needs to be kept in check by bowling short to him initially and later if needed by Akmal standing up if possible to Azhar & Razzaq.