Sreesanth says he's inspired by Mohammad Amir’s comeback after court lifts fixing ban (update #520)

so sir, assuming u r part of that 'most of the world', why don't u put ur money where ur mouth is..Let all of us also know who ll win the tournament.
Weren't you the same guy preaching on the quality and legitimacy of the IPL just a few weeks ago :facepalm:

According to Pungi spot fixing occured in 47th match KKR vs R.R in which Ankit Chavan bowled a wide ball off first ball.

Here is the video in which he bowled a wide off 1st ball

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BnmzxiWdR_M

yes, acc. to me spot fixing happened in this match...and the news i had was wrt the 4th over...and slow batting of Owais Shah..I hav no doubts that spot fixing happens in IPL, but if u r going to tell me that wide ball was a fixed event then that's childish. U can't make money by bowling just a wide ball through betting marketplace unless the wide ball is the last ball of the final over of a session.

I have my money on Mumbai

this is Sachin's last IPL

Mumbai already on top of table.

my sixth sense or a bookie telling me its Mumbai time :asif

All cricket matches are fixed, it's just there is an art in fixing. Innocents gets caught :asif :butt :amir

Only the legends survives

I think Chennai will win :msd

I know your hate for INDIA but do you have any proof/links for this Bolded part?

Sweeping Disparaging Statement from you as usual.

(In before someone calls me a BCCI Stooge or IPL Cheerleader, I ain't one. If you still don't believe me try reading any of my previous posts herein PP. I am for objective way of discussing/viewing any topic without wearing Tinted glasses/agenda)
http://www.espncricinfo.com/indian-premier-league-2012/content/story/552470.html

Talk about playing on a level playing field..

I think Sreesanths being set up he shouldn't really need the money.... As for the actual news is anyone really surprised?

A bunch of non sense. How do you rationalize above two bold statements?

To determine winner in all games in advance , 22 players have to be involved. If Sreesanth didn't need money then why every single player out of 22 will need money? I am sure that quite a few players among those 22 have more money than Sreesanth.

If you want to type non sense then at least don't contradict yourself in same post.

A bunch of non sense. How do you rationalize above two bold statements?

To determine winner in all games in advance , 22 players have to be involved. If Sreesanth didn't need money then why every single player out of 22 will need money? I am sure that quite a few players among those 22 have more money than Sreesanth.
He's Indian the money he can earn from a BCCI contract alone should deter him from spot fixing, and he just doesn't really seem like the kind of guy who would fix.

And yet you claim that result is known in advance in IPL when you have many players( Indians/non-Indians) earning more than Sreesanth.

So here's the deal

1. Only names mentioned in the ndtv report to be discussed
2. NO OTHER names to be mentioned as involved apart from that being reported by the media (with sources)

Fortunately, In my town we don't get to see many of these low grade news channels.
Yup not even here in my town. It used to be my favourite source of entertainment when i travelled to the winter capital. 3 suns, people walking on water and what not.

Do not make any allegations about IPL - all such posts will be deleted.

@Kiwi - WHere did I defend anyone or anything?

Did you read my earlier post completely?

All I am asking is, don't let your personal bias occlude your views when expressing about such controversies/scandals (which is still in its early days in terms of revelation) in a public forum like this.

Who knows the owners might have already struck a deal to ensure a certain team wins, the mafia stooge certainly doesn't mind over stepping the boundaries.

I was only pointing out inconsistency in your one post.

In this quoted post, you are painting 100's of Indian/Non-Indian players with same brush without having any proof. Owner making a deal in advance is only possible if all players are fixers. If you happen to believe that every single player is fixer then I am not sure what you are doing in a cricket forum? Same players play international cricket as well.

Saying you suspect stuff is one thing but to claim"everyone knows etc" has legal implications
You know I'm onto something just look at the number of corruption stories that come out every year come ipl time..

Sunil Gavaskar to NDTV: "We need
to remember that people are
innocent till proven guilty.
The T-20 format is such that
unorthodox things are tried,
sometimes they come off, sometimes they don't. I don't
think there has been anything
in the IPL that has raised my
eyebrows"

I was only pointing out inconsistency in your one post.

In this quoted post, you are painting 100's of Indian/Non-Indian players with same brush without having any proof. Owner making a deal in advance is only possible if all players are fixers. If you happen to believe that every single player is fixer then I am not sure what you are doing in a cricket forum?
Games can be fixed without players knowing just by stocking up on players and gaining an advantage over other teams is pretty much fixing if you ask me.

Times now claims: Chavan fixed an over in the
match against Mumbai Indians

On NDTV, Sports Minister Jitendra Singh: Want
strict action against the guilty.

Will these guys serve jail time too, or be inaugurated into office? :)) (joke)

Weren't you the same guy preaching on the quality and legitimacy of the IPL just a few weeks ago :facepalm:

really, did i? May be u r so much obsessed with me that you take my opinion as preaching. and anyway i don't go around hiding my opinion or nationality. kiwi,yea :P

Now the news is coming that the bookies are having connections with Dawood and most of the calls has been intercepted to Dubai and Pakistan

Will these guys serve jail time too

Jail time is for court to decide but BCCI should ensure that they never play even in domestic games if they are involved. Boards should keep fixers away from game.

really, did i? May be u r so much obsessed with me that you take my opinion as preaching. and anyway i don't go around hiding my opinion or nationality. kiwi,yea :P
Lol another shot at my nationality, I'm an Kiwi Indian so you can't call me racist :)

You know I'm onto something just look at the number of corruption stories that come out every year come ipl time..

Then lets discuss them when we have something on our hand why to say whole thing is dark until there is no proof. Enough masala to discuss already go for it.

Not surprising. Domestic cricket gives an easy oppurtunity to fixing rackets. I hope they are punished severely. Given the legitimate riches that are on offer this is even harder to swallow. It could also do some damage to the IPLs reputation which I hope doesn't happen however if I was a foreign board I'd think twice about allowing players to go to the IPL now. Indian media is just as bad as Pakistans so every single anomaly will be scrutinised deeply. I'd not want my players subject to any speculation.

Now the news is coming that the bookies are having connections with Dawood and most of the calls has been intercepted to Dubai and Pakistan
The news about connection with Dawood was leaked earlier and yes involvement of bookies from Pakistan is a possibility according to media. They have also mentioned more than 40 players local and foreign are under the scanner.

:)))..:))).:)))........Can't stop my laugh..:)))

BTW Indians have lost Three legendary players.. A BIG LOSS..!!!But I Think They should be allowed to return to international once they serve their 5 year Ban :asif:amir:butt.............................:yk

Meanwhile, N Srinivasan, the BCCI president,
will address a press conference
at 2pm IST

The news about connection with Dawood was leaked earlier and yes involvement of bookies from Pakistan is a possibility according to media. They have also mentioned more than 40 players local and foreign are under the scanner.
Always sub continent bookies probably because of popularity and potential returns.

Lol another shot at my nationality, I'm an Kiwi Indian so you can't call me racist :)

racist? Dude, i wud just call u a jealous neighbor..And we all know NZ is not India's neigbour..So we know, where u come from :)

btw, in US, u c a lot of restaurants owned by non-Indians south asians, yet they name those restaurants as Indian restaurants. So i can understand if u call yourself an Indian Kiwi.

Don't know if it's appropriate to post, but the 'Alternative Cricket' Twitter account has reported that RP Singh has boarded a flight to Dubai as I type. What, is he fleeing the country?

It was a mock tweet

reports:

#SpotFixing: Ajit Chandila was sent by #Sreesanth to Sahara Mall in Gurgaon to meet bookies

Maybe he is reporting fixers and going to the ICC main office. Perhaps he will board a flight to the UK and claim asylum :zoni

Who knows? The popcorn is out though :inti

Sunil Gavaskar to NDTV: "We need
to remember that people are
innocent till proven guilty.
The T-20 format is such that
unorthodox things are tried,
sometimes they come off, sometimes they don't. I don't
think there has been anything
in the IPL that has raised my
eyebrows"

With all due respect to Mr. Gavaskar - he is paid by the BCCI to project a positive image (from what I recall)

It would be better for people NOT to make statements and let facts come out

BTW, in all this there should be praise for Indian law enforcement to pursue this - with national pride on the line, I can imagine a few countries where this could easily be suppressed with a phone call or a few free tickets to watch a bollywood blockbuster

racist? Dude, i wud just call u a jealous neighbor..And we all know NZ is not India's neigbour..So we know, where u come from :)

btw, in US, u c a lot of restaurants owned by non-Indians south asians, yet they name those restaurants as Indian restaurants. So i can understand if u call yourself an Indian Kiwi.
Criticizes India, must be Pakistani If only you knew. Carry on calling me Pakistani, it just makes me laugh and just reinforces my point. :)))

BTW, in all this there should be praise for Indian law enforcement to pursue this - with national pride on the line, I can imagine a few countries where this could easily be suppressed with a phone call or a few free tickets to watch a bollywood blockbuster

Thats very true MIG. There is an alternative theory as to why they may have wanted to pursue it but I wont post it.

Sourav Ganguly, the former India captain, on CNN-IBN: "I am pretty disappointed. And angry also. They’ll have to prove it. I don’t know what the exact situation is. But if found guilty, they should be banned for life… I feel sorry for Dravid… It’s up to the players to prevent this."

With all due respect to Mr. Gavaskar - he is paid by the BCCI to project a positive image (from what I recall)

It would be better for people NOT to make statements and let facts come out

In a way our law enforcement is still asked to work with one hand tied behind their back by some of the politically powerful people who are also connected to nefarious activities involving cricket fixing. Remember 2000 match fixing saga, even then it was Delhi Police which came up with the revelation of Match fixing and caught senior cricketers through tapping of their phones.

If given free hand, I have full confident in our police force to catch many if not all these alleged fixers in a month's time.

Yep, they were the same ones who busted Cronje, Azharuddin, Malik and the rest of them in 2000 as well, the Delhi Police folks.

Good on them.

Its hard not to feel sorry for an honourable man like Rahul Dravid. He is a dignified statesman like figure and he will need to use these skills in the next few days.

Yeah he's going to have a tough few weeks. Royals are fortunate to have him, he'll see them through it.

This is exactly my feeling too (expressed the same in my first post on this very thread).

Navjot Singh Sidhu: Jodne
waalon ko mann milta hai,
todhne waale ko apman.
Vishwas todhna paap hai.
#Sreesanth

Should the IPL be suspended temporarily. Hypothetically if more than these 3 were involved then other upcoming games will already be fixed. The bookies will have already staked BIG money and the players will be forced to comply. You can't upset the Bookie mafia.

Will a suspension of future matches be a good way to guaruntee the safety of players?

Is this true??

According to NDTV, 1.2 crores cash found in Tait/Owais Shah's room.

Owais shah was already criticised for slow batting in one match.

IT will end up under the carpet we all know the power of BCCI............

this. Even I'm fearing this would happen! Hopefully no guilty person would go unpunished. And lets hope all the 'truth' gets uncovered

If the allegations are true, this is a huge disgrace for sree. I have never liked him as a person, but he would have to be increbibly greedy ( how much is his contract worth?) or stupid to the point where he is litterally insane. It's no secret that he has enemies, but this would take some elaborate frame work - if his dad is to be believed. I'm no Harby fan either, but to say he and dohni set him up, seems very hard to believe as they would have nothing to gain and everything to lose...

I guess we will have some juicy cricket news coming out over the next few days...

936890_570317376341535_737883942_n.jpg

Why would Harbhajan keep Sreesanth out of the team when he himself has no place!

P.S. Not that I support Dirtbhajan... Infact, I like Sree, how much ever crap he is, he looked like he gave 100% to the team!

I did say in one of my earlier posts that 4th suspect is expected to be a overseas player of RR (according to Twitter updates).

Hopefully, Police press meet reveals all the evidences (BBM messages and Phone calls in particular) they have gathered so far on this scandal.

Why would Harbhajan keep Sreesanth out of the team when he himself has no place!

P.S. Not that I support Dirtbhajan... Infact, I like Sree, how much ever crap he is, he looked like he gave 100% to the team!
Exactly what I mean, I don't see why he would have done it.

I did say in one of my earlier posts that 4th suspect is expected to be a overseas player of RR (according to Twitter updates).

Hopefully, Police press meet reveals all the evidences (BBM messages and Phone calls in particular) they have gathered so far on this scandal.
Shah and Tait apparently...

Shah, as others pointed out played very slowly in one of the games(not able to recall whether RR won or lost that game), similarly Tait was at his usual Worst in almost all the games that he had played for RRthis season. Going for well above 8 RPO economy with loads of extras and not many wickets (not sure whether he has taken any wicket at all this season).

Is this true??

According to NDTV, 1.2 crores cash found in Tait/Owais Shah's room.

Owais shah was already criticised for slow batting in one match.

hahahaha...now wud PPers can give me some credit. Please see my post of 5 hours back. I wrote 2 names - Rahane and Shah.,,

Iain O'Brien must be feeling great.

@iainobrien I'd love to say I'm surprised by the IPL arrests, but frankly I'm not. Set up something based on greed, you reap what you sow. - Eric Young

.@RealEricYoung I've been outspoken on this subject for so long. It's not time to say "I told you so" it's time for Test cricket to rise! - Iain O'Brien

A Players Association would be a good start in India. They already have a players rep on the ICC.

LSRK it's time to shine. Or not.. - Iain O'Brien

People owe Iain O'Brien an apology.

Even IPL and CLT20's CEO SUndar Raman seems to be frustrated with the truth. Just tweeted this

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p><a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23idiots">#idiots</a></p>— Sundar Raman (@ramansundar) <a href="https://twitter.com/ramansundar/status/334944458237935616">May 16, 2013</a></blockquote>

Meanwhile, RR teammate Stuart Binny tweeted about Rahul Dravid's mood following the scandal.
He wrote: "We all r vry
shocked- Rahul bhai was a lil shaken up bt he is fine now." He also wrote, "Gettin a lot of tweets to find out how's Rahul bhai doin.He is fine and has asked all the #rr supporters to stand by us .
Love u all #ipl"

Disgraceful stuff to say the least. The worse part is that they share the dressing room with the likes of Dravid

Apart from the three Rajasthan Royals
cricketers the following
people have been arrested
according to India TV reports: Chandresh Patel, Manak Upendra Bhatt, Amit
Ramgovind Singh, SS Nambiar and Jiju Janardan. Janardan is the cousin of Sreesanth and was an U-22 player for Gujarat.

Now this

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p>Inspector investigating the spot fixing case found dead over weekend. The rot deepens. Ominous nexus and the power it wields</p>— barkha dutt (@BDUTT) <a href="https://twitter.com/BDUTT/status/334935440811515905">May 16, 2013</a></blockquote>

wwahhh sreesanth.....tumne hamaara country or state ka naam roshan kar diyaa.come back to kerela.we will give you what you want.

i am ashamed to call myself a mallu now.if these allegations are true,never let that goose to come anywhere near the cricket ground again.feeling sad for dravid and RR team who trusted and invested on him.

Sreesanth, Chavan and Chandila being questioned in spot-fixing investigation

Tip of the iceberg?

N Srinivasan, the BCCI president, will address a press conference at 2pm India Standard Time.

Two bookies and a hawala transaction

spot.jpg
Sreesanth and the two other Rajasthan Royal players who have been arrested for spot fixing were in touch with two bookies to strike an alleged deal, Delhi police sources informed rediff.com. Sources say that the two bookies who go by the names Jupiter and Shubham had contacted the players individually and offered them a certain sum of money for spot fixing. The amount has not been disclosed as yet by the Delhi police, but they do confirm that the money was being paid to bowl wides and no balls. There is no indication that money had been paid to throw away an entire match.

The Delhi police say that the bookies who were in touch with the players have been under the scanner for quite sometime, but the players came under the radar only 20 days back. The matches that are under the cloud are the games between Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab, played at Mohali and also the previous encounter between the Rajasthan Royals and the Mumbai Indians.

The Delhi police however say that there is no indication as yet about the game that the Rajasthan Royals played yesterday. The police are also probing the mode of payment that was allegedly made to the players. The money was transferred clearly through a hawala deal as has been seen in the previous cases. Such transactions normally take the hawala route as many still feel that it is the safest channel. The details about the amount that was transferred would come out during the further course of investigation, police sources also informed.

Source: