Sri Lanka v Pakistan | Asia Cup: Match 1 | Dambulla | 15/06/2010 | Pakistan Innings

We wnt Farveez We want Farveez We want Farveez

Farveez ko ball do

malik should go have a talk with the youngster, and use a few choice words that we all are thinking...

Afridi looks like he's sitting in his living room watching the match - feet up, shoes/socks off, pants rolled up.

Umar Amin has either opened or batted one down most of his career so what the problem with him batting one down. These guys were picked to play in the top order and if they are good enough they should be able to survive on tough pitches once in a while.

Is alright guise, we've seen off the new ball without being murdered :)) - How did Umar Amin look?

Leave Shahzaib alone. He knows what he is doing. He is a beastly beast.

In an unbelievable and sensational twist of epic proportions......we have taken 3 runs!

chill79 said:
I suppose both Shahzaib and Amin showing selectors their potential for test series in England

here i thought shahzaib was doing his best chris martin impression :13:

I feel sorry for Umar Amin, He was trying to take charge and score a bit of runs, because Shazaib was being a chicken and lost his wicket. Hope he gets a few more chances

It would bring in an experienced player out there. Umar Amin, it has to be said, looked secure in defense and it was just that he allowed the pressure of the run-rate to pile up. He had looked much more secure than Shahzaib < Cricinfo

azk said:
here i thought shahzaib was doing his best chris martin impression :13:
Chris Martin has better footwork.

I was hoping against hope Shahzaib would turn out to be good - we need him to place Farhat and Nazir.

But he's worse than them so far. No footwork, no ability, no class.

Pakistani awaam se zyaada jaldbaaz aur panicky awaam koi naheen yaar. Hausla rakho bhaiyo.

i want to see them murder mathews but the best we can expect is shahzaib defending the ball really hard

Lahoria said:
Umar Amin has either opened or batted one down most of his career so what the problem with him batting one down. These guys were picked to play in the top order and if they are good enough they should be able to survive on tough pitches once in a while.

Even so, you gradually bring him up the order. start him at 5/6 for a few games, let him get used to the pace and feel of international cricket and then put him at 3. You just can't throw him at 3 against international bowlers with a new ball.

Shahzaib looks a bit afraid to lose his head.

As I say that he launches it into square leg lol

ShehryarK said:
Chris Martin has better footwork.

I was hoping against hope Shahzaib would turn out to be good - we need him to place Farhat and Nazir.

But he's worse than them so far. No footwork, no ability, no class.

Finally a good shot by Shahzaib. Took him 26 balls.

Even though Umar amin didn't score many runs, his technique was impressive. The best Shahzaib can do is play T20 or play lower down the order in ODI. Now he has been out there for 10 overs, he better get some runs.

waqar_ahmad said:
Umar Amin was out coz of Shahzaib. I hope he isnt dropped just coz of one failure
Umar Amin was out coz of Umar Amin. I hope he isn't dropped just coz of one failure.

Shahzaib just reminds me of a taller and fatter Khalid Latif tbh.

waqar_ahmad said:
Umar Amin was out coz of Shahzaib. I hope he isnt dropped just coz of one failure
THIS
He needs to be given whole tournament to prove himself..I am sure he'll come good in coming matches...

Shahzaib is not playing with good intent, He wants to take singles, But is playing the wrong kind of shots to make them.

I am not against Amin, but I really don't understand this 'Amin looked impressive' thing. No he didn't.

But it was understandable, being his debut. He will come good soon inshaallah. Played badly today, first by not scoring at all, and then losing his head.

Malik walking down the track to cancel Kulsakera's swing. And now Sangakra moves up to the stumps.

Umar Amin was out coz of Umar Amin. I hope he isn't dropped just coz of one failure.

yes but he would have been better off batting with someone with a bit of experience at the other end. two rookies at once is a sticky situation. hell playing with salman butt would have been the same thing. can't help but feel that we might need younis back at no. 3 in odis as well.

Vegitto1 said:
At least Shahzeb does not throw his wicket away
Umar didn't throw his wicket away. Its just that he misplayed the short ball.

He is on debut so be easy on him

Vegitto1 said:
Even so, you gradually bring him up the order. start him at 5/6 for a few games, let him get used to the pace and feel of international cricket and then put him at 3. You just can't throw him at 3 against international bowlers with a new ball.

You don't start a top order player in the middle order just so he can get comfortable, if we needed a middle order bat we should have picked someone like Hasan Raza. I would buy your argument if someone like Fawad was sent one down but Amin is there to open the innings and that is where he should be batting.

I am not against Amin, but I really don't understand this 'Amin looked impressive' thing. No he didn't.

But it was understandable, being his debut. He will come good soon inshaallah. Played badly today, first by not scoring at all, and then losing his head.
He was playing with a tailender.

iRfaN_LA said:
Even though Umar amin didn't score many runs, his technique was impressive. The best Shahzaib can do is play T20 or play lower down the order in ODI. Now he has been out there for 10 overs, he better get some runs.
Technique wise, Salman Butt and Shahzaib didn't look fit to lace Umar Amin's boots today. The guy was solid, compact and unruffled - he had one brain freeze moment and paid the price, but it would be criminal not to persevere with him. A real prospect.

Shoaib Malik will make sure Shahzaib looses som kgs