Supreme Court declares deputy speaker’s ruling null and void, restores National Assembly

Jaisey log, waisay hukumran - make what you want of that statement.

It is the standard procedure, as far as Pakistan is concerned.

30 years more of misery for Pakistanis. Hopefully they will have learned their lessons by then. And Insha'Allah they will find proper leadership by then.

Until then, America ka joota aor Pakistanion ka sar.

USA owns all the puppets who can be bought by the $.

All 5 judges found this to be ridiculous ruling by deputy.

The attorny genwral said i aint gonna defend this stupidity.

Where are all pti fans who were doing bhangra?? All are quiet :)))

Go niazi go niaizi.

Wish the nara was nuss niazi nuss niaizi

There was no other choice. No court in the world could have held this up.

Let's see if opposition presses Article 6 charges against IK now. I'm quite confident given the nature of these crooks they would wholeheartedly press these charges on IK.

I can sense massive turmoil coming through in Pakistan now. There is no doubt IK is the ultimate most popular leader of Pakistan at the moment and everyone is legislative power is against him.

IK should resign from NA seats at earliest. No way ECP would conduct polls on 140 odd seats without having to conduct a general election.

Conceding power albeit only for 4 months or so to these crooks is the worst thing to have happened to Pakistan. I'm quite sure that Russia and China would not appreciate our US boot polish efforts and that would be detrimental to Pakistan's interests.

it would have barred SC from taking any action for decisions of parliament had it gone through. This would be dangerous in future.

not any of my concern but when you call SC as sell outs, then it is a disrespect towards the country also since SC is one of the basic pillars of a country.

This is a SC that legitimized 3 Army dictators, that hanged a Prime Minister. Do they deserve respect? Not to mention a SC where the Chief justice launces a dam fund like he is Prime Minister.

Nahi nahi, thepti fans thought that supreme court can also do such ridiculous moves like the speaker did

one thing i agree on with diesel, Pakistanis should start praying for the country

Any independent judiciary would have made the same decision. how can a PM (who doesnt have the confidence of the house) decide that the house should be dissolved? It's clearly unconstitutional

IK knew this would be the case from the start. He wanted to become a political martyr and this may prove useful when elections are eventually held

Congratulations Pakistan and its citizens. A huge victory for the judicial and parliamentary institutions. You guys should be proud as this is sign of a maturing democracy.

Will there be judicial process against the speaker and his handler for subverting the constitution and resorting to corrupt means for falsely maligning opposition and trying to protect their power base at the cost of everything else?

This is a SC that legitimized 3 Army dictators, that hanged a Prime Minister. Do they deserve respect? Not to mention a SC where the Chief justice launces a dam fund like he is Prime Minister.

This decision would have had much drastic effect than previous one. Common Gharib admi, even you know it. Accountability has to be there somewhere.

Doesn't matter who the party is.

IK is out of options now. Now the Opposition and the Judiciary can charge him under Section 6 which is punishable by death. Mass Resignations will be countered with by elections by the Election Commission. If he goes on the streets, he could be assasinated.

Go niazi go niaizi.

The new nara is Agli Bazi Phir Niazi

not any of my concern but when you call SC as sell outs, then it is a disrespect towards the country also since SC is one of the basic pillars of a country.

For pti, imran is above the constitution and country

Go niazi go niaizi.

Lol, you have obviously come out of the hole. Nothing to fear. People will respect the SC's verdict. But there are proper elections next year so just get ready for that.

The SC immediately took action on this on a Sunday whereas they allowed Ayyan Ali's name to be taken of the ECL but have made no decision on blatant Horse trading going on in the country.

Don't be surprised if this accelerates Brain Drain from the country.

This decision would have had much drastic effect than previous one. Common Gharib admi, even you know it. Accountability has to be there somewhere.

More drastic than saying the coups were legitimate? When the coup was launched judges with integrity resigned. The corrupt ones stayed on.

Common Gharib admi, even you know it. Accountability has to be there somewhere.

I dont mind the verdict in a legal sense, however my point was they deserve no respect. They need to earn it. Accountability only against one party is a joke.

IK is out of options now. Now the Opposition and the Judiciary can charge him under Section 6 which is punishable by death. Mass Resignations will be countered with by elections by the Election Commission. If he goes on the streets, he could be assasinated.

Yes, this is very concerning.

In a landmark judgement, the Supreme Court on Thursday ruled that the National Assembly deputy speaker’s ruling to dismiss the no-confidence motion and subsequently dissolution of the lower house by the president on the PM’s advice were contrary to law and Constitution.

The court has also order to reinstate the National Assembly and summon its session at 10.30 am on Saturday to hold voting on no-trust motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan.

A five-member bench headed by Chief Justice Umar Ata Bandial and included Justice Munib Akhtar, Justice Jamal Khan Mandokhel, Justice Ijazul Ahsan and Justice Mazhar Alam Khan announced the verdict, which was reserved earlier in the day.

The top court had also summoned the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) officials including its secretary.

Earlier, during a hearing of the case, CJP Bandial, after consultation with fellow judges, observed that it was clear that the ruling of the deputy speaker to dismiss the no-confidence motion submitted against the prime minister was “wrong”.

The chief justice remarked that there would be no stability in the country even after the restoration of the National Assembly that had been dissolved as a result of the ruling.

The court retired for a 15 minutes break. The CJP said after the break the court will touch upon salient features of the Constitution which include democracy and the parliamentary form of system.

Attorney General for Pakistan Khalid Jawed Khan argued that everyone needed to be loyal to the state. He said that he is not defending the ruling. "However, I think new elections are the only solution," he added.

Charter of economy

PML-N President and Leader of the Opposition Shehbaz Sharif was also called to the rostrum by the top court. Shehbaz said the Constitution was trampled multiple times in the history of Pakistan and the absence of penalization emboldened others and things reached the present stage.

He urged the SC to restore parliament and let it hold the vote of no-confidence. He also urged political parties to come together and sign a charter of the economy.

Justice Mandokhel said the opposition wanted fresh elections from day one. “It’s not about elections, but the abrogation of the Constitution,” Shehbaz responded. “We will consult the opposition on electoral reforms for transparent elections,” the PML-N chief said, adding that measures will be taken to provide relief to the masses.

The CJ said the court will decide the case on merit, not allegations. “Who hurled allegations of treason must need to prove them,” he added.

CJ Bandial also listened to PPP Chairperson Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari in the court. Bilawal said the opposition wanted to bring electoral reforms before the next elections. "Whatever your suggestions for reforms in the Senate are...bring them to the court," CJ Bandial told Bilawal.

'Speaker can circumvent law to save Pakistan'

At the outset of the hearing, PM Imran’s counsel Imtiaz Siddiqui argued that the scrutiny of parliamentary proceedings was beyond the mandate of the judiciary. “The court should ask parliament to clean up its mess,” he added.

CJ Bandial said the premier left the country in a lurch by announcing snap elections in 90 days and added that, according to the petitioners, the speaker could not have ruled before March 28 before leave was granted for the no-trust motion to be moved.

“What will you say on this,” Justice Bandial asked.

The PM’s counsel added that the opposition did not object to the deputy speaker chairing the session. “The deputy speaker [Qasim Suri] used his mind to come on a decision he considered better,” the lawyer said, adding that the speaker was not answerable to the court.

CJ Bandial said the court will review to what extent the proceedings were protected under Article 69.

The lawyer said if the speaker had knowledge of a foreign-backed regime-change plot or a threat to national security then he could circumvent the law to “save the country”. The speaker made a “perfect decision in accordance with his oath”, he said, asserting that it was an “internal parliamentary matter”.

Read SC will only focus on Suri’s ruling: CJP

“If you read Article 69 with Article 127 then you will see that parliamentary proceedings are completely protected,” the lawyer said, adding that the top court could not interfere in parliament.

Justice Munib Akhtar said the court was not bound to follow the decision that was referred to by the counsel. The lawyer said, “With due respect, you [five-member bench] are bound to follow the decisions of a seven-member bench.” The verdicts that were being alluded to only had observations and the court was not bound to follow “observations in verdicts,” Justice Munib added.

PM’s lawyer Siddiqui said the speaker made the National Security Committee meeting the basis of his decision. “Did the speaker have some material [to prove conspiracy] to reach this decision,” the CJ asked. “Was it based on good faith,” he further asked.

Justice Bandial asked, “When did the deputy speaker receive the minutes of the NSC.” This PM’s counsel expressed ignorance. “Then kindly don’t comment on things you don’t know,” the CJ rebuked.

According to the counsel, the speaker had the relevant material on the basis of which he ruled against the no-trust vote, the CJ said. “The PM breached Article 58…what will be the consequences,” he asked.

The speaker had no issue about voting on March 28 but on the day of voting, April 3, he gave the ruling to dismiss the motion. “Why didn’t he reject it on March 28,” the judge asked. “If the assembly was not dissolved, the house could have rolled back the ruling of the speaker,” Justice Ijazul Ahsan added.

Read more Opposition cries foul after dismissal of no-trust vote

“The PM took advantage of the situation and dissolved the National Assembly,” Justice Ahsan added.

After the conclusion of arguments by Siddiqui, Naeem Bukhari, the counsel representing the deputy speaker, started giving arguments.

'Rules to subvert constitutional process'

After a short break, the court resumed the proceedings again. Justice Mazhar Alam Miankhel said the ruling contained the signature of NA Speaker Asad Qaiser. Bukhari said he was still the speaker of the assembly. He added that the tabling of the no-confidence motion did mean that it could not be rejected. “The courts also dismiss pleas after entertaining them,” he argued.

Justice Mandokhel said Article 95 has a constitutional mandate. “Can the deputy speaker dissent from the constitutional mandate,” he asked. “If a no-trust motion is part of the agenda then does it not mean that the voting will take place,” Justice Mandokhel further asked. The SC judge wondered whether rules could be used to subvert a constitutional process. “Can there be proceedings for dissenting from the constitutional process,” he asked.

Justice Mandokhel said the parliamentary proceedings that resulted in the dismissal of the motion hardly lasted a few minutes. “Shouldn’t the opposition have gotten a chance to speak on point of order,” he questioned.

He further said the ruling was given by the deputy speaker but it was signed by the speaker. “The minutes of the parliamentary national security committee does not show the presence of the deputy speaker in the huddle,” he added. The deputy speaker was there, the counsel argued.

Justice Munib Akhtar said it was likely that some members of the house wouldn’t be satisfied with the ruling of the speaker. “Voting on the no-confidence motion is a constitutional requirement,” he added.

Justice Mandokhel said it seemed that the deputy speaker was given a “written ruling which he could read” in the house to dismiss the motion. “The deputy speaker read the name of Speaker Asad Qaiser at the end of the ruling,” the judge added.

The justice furter said Fawad Chaudhry had asked for the legality of the no-trust motion. “There were elected lawmakers in the house,” he said, asking, “Whether giving a ruling against the will of the public representatives beyond parliamentary proceedings.”

“Whatever happened inside parliament is protected by the Constitution,” Bukhari asserted. He added that the court could not review the ruling.

Justice Bandial said as per the rules, the opposition was also allowed to speak on the point of order after Fawad but they were not given an opportunity.

Minutes of Parliamentary Committee on National Security

The lawyer representing the National Assembly speaker submitted minutes of the meeting of the Parliamentary Committee on National Security as well.

Naeem Bukhari, who is representing the speaker and deputy speaker, said the Parliamentary Committee on National Security was briefed on the ‘threat letter’. He added that the committee was told that the letter warned of grave consequences in case of the failure of the no-trust vote.

As per the record, only 11 people attended the parliamentary committee’s meeting, Justice Bandial said. Justice Ijazul Ahsan asked who briefed the committee. “The names of those who briefed the committee are not included in the minutes,” the CJ said.

“Was the foreign minister part of the meeting,” the court asked. “We sent a notice,” the lawyer representing the committee replied. “Was he there,” asked the court again.

“It seems the foreign minister was not present in the meeting,” the lawyer responded. The court said the national security adviser’s name was also not in the minutes.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/235137...ers-voting-on-no-confidence-motion-against-pm

Any independent judiciary would have made the same decision. how can a PM (who doesnt have the confidence of the house) decide that the house should be dissolved? It's clearly unconstitutional

IK knew this would be the case from the start. He wanted to become a political martyr and this may prove useful when elections are eventually held
You can bet he'll use the 'foreign conspiracy' card at the next election. The powers-that-be will do theit utmost to ensure that he's not 'available' to take part whenever the elections take place.

And btw, this will not end today. The drama will continue.

I will be really surprised if ECP is ready for by elections on 140 sets but need 7 months of preparation for elections on 340 seats. Its would be hypocritical but I guess we have to accept the hypocritical nature going forward.

he SC immediately took action on this on a Sunday whereas they allowed Ayyan Ali's name to be taken of the ECL but have made no decision on blatant Horse trading going on in the country.

Don't be surprised if this accelerates Brain Drain from the country.

Which is why they deserve no respect. This country has corrupt politicans, corrupt army, corrupt media. Who decided that the judiciary was Doodh ka dhula? Majority of the judges are corrupt badmash besharam people.

whats the situation if PTI members give mass resignation, will it forced the Parliament to conduct new elections ?
whats the magical number for that ?
i think someone said this on Tv.

You can bet he'll use the 'foreign conspiracy' card at the next election. The powers-that-be will do theit utmost to ensure that he's not 'available' to take part whenever the elections take place.

This is something I fear. This is not 1970s where they can simply hang IK but they are going to indulge IK in some complex case which would make him ineligible to contest elections.

I can see a massive uprising in IK's favour in general public. The opposition hasn't really seen the power of general public when they do they would regret this little stunt of theirs. Public would absolutely not tolerate any wrongdoing towards IK.

Well this was expected. You cannot just dismiss a NCM just like that. The speaker should have suspended the defecting PTI members and then hold the NCM.

Nowhere in a parliamentary democracy can a speaker refuse to hold a NCM and the PM then dissolve the house. This way the NCM law will be redundant.

More drastic than saying the coups were legitimate? When the coup was launched judges with integrity resigned. The corrupt ones stayed on.

I dont mind the verdict in a legal sense, however my point was they deserve no respect. They need to earn it. Accountability only against one party is a joke.

They found Nawaz guilty, barred him from contesting elections and sent him to jail.

Btw anyone knows how many actual days are left for the house to complete its term?

This is something I fear. This is not 1970s where they can simply hang IK but they are going to indulge IK in some complex case which would make him ineligible to contest elections.

I can see a massive uprising in IK's favour in general public. The opposition hasn't really seen the power of general public when they do they would regret this little stunt of theirs. Public would absolutely not tolerate any wrongdoing towards IK.

The people of Pakistan have never ever shown a massive uprising ever in their history, why will they do so now?

They will. If you can recall what happened when a coup was attempted on Erdogan some years back I fear something similar would happen with IK and like Turkey the people will come out to support their leader.

Too busy fighting among themselves. Put 5 of them in a room, they'll split into groups and start arguing with each other and walking out.

whats the situation if PTI members give mass resignation, will it forced the Parliament to conduct new elections ?
whats the magical number for that ?
i think someone said this on Tv.

The election commission will have to hold by-elections for the resigning legislators. Till the by elections elections are held the remaining legislators will enjoy a supermajority and it will be easy for them to pass any laws

Serious question for IK fans. I agree he is an honest and charming guy but is your expectation that he will alone run defense, economy, foreign policy because I look at the people around him, they don’t seem that intelligent or qualified? Maybe it is my perception.

I am only asking this because last few days I saw IK supporters criticizing army, Supreme Court and the entire political system.

I mean if you say your army,
Judiciary, entire politics system is corrupt than trust me nothing IK will be able to do to fix it if that is the case.. He is just a cricketer who has good intentions. He seems to have 0 clue on how to play politics or be diplomatic. Hope for his sake though he stays safe and doesn’t get into deeper mess.

A friend told it the best for me. PTI supporters outside Pakistan are willing to do everything for their leader except live under his leadership in Pakistan.

As a Pakistani I support and honour the SC ruling. I am totally against the opposition parties and their discredited leaders but the rule of law and the guardian of that law must be respected.

ISLAMABAD: The Opposition leaders Thursday celebrated the Supreme Court of Pakistan's decision to nullify the government's actions from April 3 to date.

The top court restored the National Assembly after it declared the government's decision to dissolve the assembly and NA Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri's ruling against the Constitution.

"...the prime minister did not have the right to advise the president to dissolve the assembly [...] all the decisions made till date have been nullified," the top court's ruling said.

The top court has ordered National Assembly Speaker Asad Qasier to summon the session on Saturday (April 9) at 10am to allow the vote on the no-confidence motion against the premier.

Read more: Supreme Court declares deputy speaker’s ruling null and void, restores National Assembly

"...if the no-confidence motion against the prime minister succeeds, then the assembly will appoint the new prime minister," the top court's order said.

"Democracy is the best revenge! Jiya Bhutto! Jiya Awam! Pakistan Zindabad," Bilawal said in a tweet as the government's narrative faced a severe setback following the court's ruling.

Talking to media personnel, Opposition Leader in the National Assembly Shahbaz Sharif said the top court's decision was in line with the expectations of the masses.

"The Constitution has been saved and Pakistan has been saved through this decision [...] the court has upheld its independence and respect," the Opposition leader said.

He thanked the top court for its unanimous decision to strengthen the parliament and its sovereignty. "We will no fight the battles of economy and politics for the people."

Addressing the press conference alongside Fazlur-Rehman announced to observe 'Youm-e-Tashakur' on Friday after.

Read more: PM Imran Khan to 'accept any' decision Supreme Court announces

"I would like to congratulate the entire nation as it is the victory of every Pakistani. Also, it is the victory of Constitution, democracy and judiciary," the opposition leader said.

"On Friday, we will observe 'Youm-e-Tashakur' to celebrate this victory. Also, we will pray for our country to come out of the ongoing economic crisis," added Fazl and announced conducting countrywide rallies on Friday.

In a conversation with journalists after the decision, PML-N leader Khurram Dastagir said the top court has upheld Pakistan's respect. "The Constitution is not just a piece of paper."

GEO

Serious question for IK fans. I agree he is an honest and charming guy but is your expectation that he will alone run defense, economy, foreign policy because I look at the people around him, they don’t seem that intelligent or qualified? Maybe it is my perception.

I am only asking this because last few days I saw IK supporters criticizing army, Supreme Court and the entire political system.

Judiciary, entire politics system is corrupt than trust me nothing IK will be able to do to fix it if that is the case.. He is just a cricketer who has good intentions. He seems to have 0 clue on how to play politics or be diplomatic. Hope for his sake though he stays safe and doesn’t get into deeper mess.

Imran fan here. I don't criticise army, supreme court or any other establishment.

This decision from supreme court was inevitable. Had there been a discussion in Parliament on Article 5 then there are chances that this decision would have been upheld but you cannot completely bulldoze your authority and as such the decision is reversed.

I have serious concerns around the entire notion of NCM. Why would someone do this a year before elections, think think. IK is not the answer to everything but IK is the answer to the start we need as a nation.

As a Pakistani I support and honour the SC ruling. I am totally against the opposition parties and their discredited leaders but the rule of law and the guardian of that law must be respected.

Totally agree. Not a supporter of anyone.
I just support Pakistan and constitution of Pakistan!!

forget about those around him, he himself is not very competent administratively. He has no previous experience of running any public office. His foreign policy is a joke and he doesn't seem to understand international diplomacy. His key minsters are all imports from same opposition parties he is deriding always. I don't agree with Kegriwal policies, but his politics is similar to IK and he has got a brand new set of people entering politics. If you believe everyone is corrupt but rely on same people to run your government you are an hypocrite. If you believe everyone is corrupt then get some new fresh faces like Kegriwal is doing in India

Who are these intelligent qualified people that the opposition has? You think Diesel, Bilawal, Shahbaaz are Einstein's????

Judiciary, entire politics system is corrupt than trust me nothing IK will be able to do to fix it if that is the case..
He is just a cricketer who has good intentions. He seems to have 0 clue on how to play politics or be diplomatic. Hope for his sake though he stays safe and doesn’t get into deeper mess.

Are you saying Army, Judiciary, political system is not corrupt in Pakistan?

He seems to have 0 clue on how to play politics or be diplomatic. Hope for his sake though he stays safe and doesn’t get into deeper mess.

He is the most popular leader in Pakistan which is why he wants elections asap. And why the opposition have all joined forces against him.

You dont have zero clue on politics when you have the most support in the country. And you don't need to be diplomatic in politics. Ala Trump.

Who are these intelligent qualified people that the opposition has? You think Diesel, Bilawal, Shahbaaz are Einstein's????

He is the most popular leader in Pakistan which is why he wants elections asap. And why the opposition have all joined forces against him.

You dont have zero clue on politics when you have the most support in the country. And you don't need to be diplomatic in politics. Ala Trump.

if everywhere you go it smells, stench might be coming from those who are complaining. I refuse to believe that there are no good public servants in Pakistan.

Regarding IK being most popular leader, clearly that is not even enough to get him a simple majority. I think PML (N) and PPP previously had full majority governments.. So his popularity after 20 years of politics has not been good enough to get a simple majority..

Now one can safely say the Panama Decision apart from being made on merit also had the backing of the higher powers in the country.

forget about those around him, he himself is not very competent administratively. He has no previous experience of running any public office. His foreign policy is a joke and he doesn't seem to understand international diplomacy. His key minsters are all imports from same opposition parties he is deriding always. I don't agree with Kegriwal policies, but his politics is similar to IK and he has got a brand new set of people entering politics.

His policy is Dosti sabse, par ghulami kisi ki nahi. He wants Pakistan to remain neutral in other countries war. He does not want bases for the US in Pakistan. You might think his foreign policy is a joke, however majority of Pakistanis agree with him.

If you believe everyone is corrupt but rely on same people to run your government you are an hypocrite. If you believe everyone is corrupt then get some new fresh faces like Kegriwal is doing in India

He has said that was a mistake and for the next elections he will not do that.

I think IK should respectfully resign and let the PDM rule. No point in fighting for a people who don't want to fight for themselves.

Trump comparison is false because Donal Trump was from the Republican Party. That is a huge political machinery behind him with decades of history. It’s not the same as a party that got voted in due to frustration and anti-Incumbency in the public.

The similarity is they have a huge personal base of supporters, they insult their opponents, they are seen as outsiders.

His policy is Dosti sabse, par ghulami kisi ki nahi. He wants Pakistan to remain neutral in other countries war. He does not want bases for the US in Pakistan. You might think his foreign policy is a joke, however majority of Pakistanis agree with him.

He has said that was a mistake and for the next elections he will not do that.

Here is why i think he is naive and may even be not honest about the lettergate. If he was convinced that whatever communication that he received from his diplomat was threating, the best diplomatic route would have been to summon US ambassador and ask for a clarification. it happens everywhere. Heck it happens in every facet of our work and lives. if he found ambassador answer not convincing he could have taken it to the next level. He should have called an immediate security meeting and get everyone on board and convince them about the threat he was seeing. Then as a team should have come up with a response. He did none of it. From the face of it everyone in the cabinet and core team came to know when he waived it in a public rally. Do you think that is a how any mature leader of a country behaves? Knowing the kind of impact it can have in Pakistan's relationship with the sole superpower, it cleary shows he is not fit to handle international diplomacy. Only rogue dictators work like that. I welcome you to show me any other instance of any other democracy acting the same way.

Majority of overseas Pakistanis live in the gulf arab countries. They will eventually go back to Pakistan as they don't get citizenship in those countries.

yeah, but if they are so convinced about IKs leadership, shouldn't they be running back when he ruling.

Blessing in disgusie.

PDM will take charge, the petrol prices will become sky high. They will loot like they have never looted before. Inflation will rise so much buying regular food will be tough for most.

By August 2023 Pakistan will be near broken. Next Election IK and PTI will sweep. Soon after these crooks will be jailed or hanged.

yeah, but if they are so convinced about IKs leadership, shouldn't they be running back when he ruling.

No because they are making money in Riyals, and Dirham. That lets their families who live in Pakistan have a much better quality of life. Go to private schools, buy a house, etc. Can IK make Pakistan like Dubai or Doha in a few years? Is that realistic?

These overseas Pakistanis are making Halal money. Unlike people like Zardari, Nawaz Sharif , and Diesel.

Here is why i think he is naive and may even be not honest about the lettergate. If he was convinced that whatever communication that he received from his diplomat was threating, the best diplomatic route would have been to summon US ambassador and ask for a clarification. it happens everywhere. Heck it happens in every facet of our work and lives. if he found ambassador answer not convincing he could have taken it to the next level. He should have called an immediate security meeting and get everyone on board and convince them about the threat he was seeing. Then as a team should have come up with a response. He did none of it. From the face of it everyone in the cabinet and core team came to know when he waived it in a public rally.

He changed the entire political narrative of Pakistan. Instead of people taking about inflation, people are taking about the US meddling in Pakistan's election. The next election will be about foreign policy and not the economy. This is why he wants elections asap. He is convinced he will win.

Do you think that is a how any mature leader of a country behaves? Knowing the kind of impact it can have in Pakistan's relationship with the sole superpower, it cleary shows he is not fit to handle international diplomacy. Only rogue dictators work like that. I welcome you to show me any other instance of any other democracy acting the same way.

Lets say IK is lying, he is a politician. Other politicians whether in US, or elsewhere will understand that he needs to win elections. If the US can get over Pakistan helping Taliban while taking American money, then compared to that this is not really a big deal. I doubt US will care that IK humiliated Donald Lu.

Now one can safely say the Panama Decision apart from being made on merit also had the backing of the higher powers in the country.

I remember seeing a youtube vid of Hassan Nissar long ago saying, that the ones running things are always the Establishment, sometimes they take the drivers seat and sometimes they sit behind and say ok to others so you can drive for a bit, but they are always in control.

So all the crooks got their mission accomplished I hope IK has another surprise

Blessing in disgusie.

PDM will take charge, the petrol prices will become sky high. They will loot like they have never looted before. Inflation will rise so much buying regular food will be tough for most.

By August 2023 Pakistan will be near broken. Next Election IK and PTI will sweep. Soon after these crooks will be jailed or hanged.

IK should cut the petrol price tonight by 30 rupees. Let the opposition raise the price.

The similarity is they have a huge personal base of supporters, they insult their opponents, they are seen as outsiders.

That is not a qualification to run a country.

Imran’s equivalence is not Trump or Modi but I see similarities with Kejriwal in India minus the same level of hysterical popularity for IK. However credit where due Kejriwal has all new and fresh faces in his party, IK seems to have fence sitters and opportunists. I don’t have to be an expert in Pakistan politics to say that I am assuming based on the events of the last month.

He changed the entire political narrative of Pakistan. Instead of people taking about inflation, people are taking about the US meddling in Pakistan's election. L

That’s not a good thing, the average joe on the street should be concerned about food and basic amenities not minutes of a meeting between a couple of diplomats.

There was barely even a mention on CNN etc about this conspiracy.

He changed the entire political narrative of Pakistan. Instead of people taking about inflation, people are taking about the US meddling in Pakistan's election. The next election will be about foreign policy and not the economy. This is why he wants elections asap. He is convinced he will win.

Lets say IK is lying, he is a politician. Other politicians whether in US, or elsewhere will understand that he needs to win elections. If the US can get over Pakistan helping Taliban while taking American money, then compared to that this is not really a big deal. I doubt US will care that IK humiliated Donald Lu.

But your countries elections should be fought on local issues that the government has full control over. Not on some vague independent foreign policy. Pakistan, like India, has vast amount poverty and working to solve them should be the first priority. Taking on USA at this juncture in Pakistan's history is mere stupidity. If they have done something wrong, there are ways to highlight it diplomatically. IK seems to be bent on using it only politically so that people sa you say, will forget about the current issues they are facing.

US may or may not care about getting humiliated. But why do it? As a leader he should be doing everything to make pakistan a better place. If Pakistan was independent then it is a different story. You are still dependent on goodwill of the west. Most of us are.

IK should cut the petrol price tonight by 30 rupees. Let the opposition raise the price.

That will be a good idea, although that is like cutting nose to spite face. It will hurt Pakistan as revenues are already poor. But we both know, if opposition forms a short-term government, they will certainly do it. That way they can say they have a way to control inflation. if i am not wrong, in a recent survey, inflation was the top most concern and corruption was quite a down as far as people are concenred.

That is not a qualification to run a country.

Imran’s equivalence is not Trump or Modi but I see similarities with Kejriwal in India minus the same level of hysterical popularity for IK. However credit where due Kejriwal has all new and fresh faces in his party, IK seems to have fence sitters and opportunists. I don’t have to be an expert in Pakistan politics to say that I am assuming based on the events of the last month.

you are right. Kejriwal is the right comparison. But advantage for Kejriwal is that he was a public servant and knows how the government is run. He also has brought in a new set of faces to politics. I don't like his politics, but can't find a fault with his approach. In 15 years he has a good chance to become the PM of India. By that time he would have had some public office experience and won't be a novice like IK. Lets see.

I think at this point the Supreme Court has made a decision and however unfortunate, it needs to be respected.

I will be surprised if Imran Khan is ever able to form a government again considering the transfers, electoral changes and rigging that will take place after the current opposition forms the government. It may also lead to Imran khan being put under arrest.

My Cnic has two addresses, present address and permanent address. But my vote is in some other constituency that has no link with the two addresses.

This happened during the time of PMLN and even during the time PTI won the elections. Both govts did nothing to fix this issue.

Thus, how can you say electoral changes will happen against PTI, when they themselves didnt correct them.

If Nawaz Sharif comes out tomorrow and announces I have been involved in corrupt activities and been sucking the blood out of the country all these years our electoral system is such that he will still be able to win a substantial amount of seats in the partliment.

ISLAMABAD: The government on Thursday termed the Supreme Court's order to restore the National Assembly and nullify deputy speaker Qasim Suri's ruling as "unfortunate".

Shortly after the order, Minister for Information and Law Fawad Chaudhry said a change in government would force Pakistan to start "the struggle from March 23, 1940," as he tried to portray a picture of the country under the Opposition's rule.

"We will have to struggle again for an independent Pakistan. The Opposition is trying to push Pakistan towards slavery; we will not let them succeed," Fawad, who has now been restored as the federal minister after the court's order, said during a conversation with journalists.

In response to a question about whether the decision was one-sided, the federal minister said there were "several discrepancies" in the Supreme Court's order.

The information and law minister, in a tweet, said it was "unfortunate that the decision is now pushing the country towards further political turmoil", as early elections could have brought stability.

'Back to 1947'

Special Assistant to the Prime Minister on Political Communication Shahbaz Gill said the forefathers had sacrificed their lives and crossed Wagha Border to form an independent state in 1947.

"...but maybe they were not aware that we will be enslaved to the United States instead of the United Kingdom," the SAPM said, adding that Pakistan "might move towards the condition it was in 1947".

'Run'
Federal Minister for Economic Affairs of Pakistan Omar Ayub, in a message to Shahbaz and Pakistan Democratic Movement, said they can run if they want to.

"Run if you want to, but you cannot escape the Pakistani people as the elections will happen, no matter what," he added.

'Lotaism'
Minister for Science and Technology Shibli Faraz said: "Congratulations, 'Lotaism' has carried the day."

'Imran Khan's narrative has won'
State Minister for Information and Broadcasting Farrukh Habib said all the "thieves" had gathered in fear of Imran Khan.

"Imran Khan's narrative has won and the Opposition will know in the next election how people treat those who back foreign conspiracies."

GEO

The caretaker is someone who both the PM and the Leader of the Opposition agree upon. So he/she will be neutral.

I maintain IK should've dissolved the assemblies and called an election without this foreign interference drama being used to quash the NCM.

Now the explanation some posters gave was quashing the NCM was to ensure the opposition don't form an interim government and rig the elections.

But if the interim government has to be agreed upon by consensus of the Government and Opposition, then what's the issue ?

The threats to the SC by the mafia worked.

Which threats? Man this guy is soo delusional.

Judiciary is a seperate branch...

Plz bring proof before pressing enter.....

The constitution is there infrotn of you, supreme court exist to interpret that constitution.....

I maintain IK should've dissolved the assemblies and called an election without this foreign interference drama being used to quash the NCM.

Now the explanation some posters gave was quashing the NCM was to ensure the opposition don't form an interim government and rig the elections.

His popularity increased after the "foreign interference drama".

But if the interim government has to be agreed upon by consensus of the Government and Opposition, then what's the issue ?

His popularity has increased. They are scared they will lose an election if its held now.