The Pakistani (or desi) superstitions thread

Dhoka indeed. When I think about that era, I think of sipping Ovaltine in front of the TV after dinner, listening to Khalid Hameed on PTV Khabarnama telling me all was well with the world.

And it was too. Compared to now :(
And it was customary to wipe the sweat off your forehead with a thandi Pepsi ki botal like Imran did in the ad before drinking pepsi .

Here is another addition to the thread by the way : Eat right from the pot the food is cooked in and it will rain on your wedding day .

Khuda janay pot ka rain se kia connection hai :manzoor

Eat from your right hand, never eat with your left hand even with fork and knife :facepalm:

Sent from my Nokia 3310 using Tapatalk 4

Never drink water standing up.

If you forget to say bismiallah before starting to eat then satan will be get your food instead of you. But dont worry if you remember half way through it then say it and satan will vomit. I always used to do that even if i remembred before eating so satan can vomit again and again when i was around 7-8 years old. Feel sorry for satan now :(

During your kindergarden days in Pakistan, every kid is told to cover his mouth while yawning or else Shaitan will enter through it.

Never drink water standing up.

If you forget to say bismiallah before starting to eat then satan will be get your food instead of you. But dont worry if you remember half way through it then say it and satan will vomit. I always used to do that even if i remembred before eating so satan can vomit again and again when i was around 7-8 years old. Feel sorry for satan now :(

thats Shaitans problem not mine:usman

During your kindergarden days in Pakistan, every kid is told to cover his mouth while yawning or else Shaitan will enter through it.

That's etiquette more than superstition

Never sit with folded legs or use scissors or sew a cloth during an eclipse

The Pakistani Superstition thread

Not one mention of homeopathy in this thread?

It can cure anything. Especially "those" ailments. Often dispensed at "clinics" in the seamy side of town, in the back alleys.

And things like humzaad / chilla katna would be considered superstitions too or not ?

Well, there are ways to find out, as outlined in the black magic books found next to the old Playboy editions on those roadside bookstalls.

You need "bitter" oil ( karwa tail in vernacular parlance), a lamp, and a deserted house.

Light the "karway tail ki shamma," place it behind you such that your shadow falls on the wall. Then, settle down and recite verses of the Quran backwards. I don't have the book handy to tell you which verses, and how many times.

Anyways, brace yourself, because the hamzaad will address you soon enough.

Best done in an abandoned, dilapidated house next to a graveyard.

Let me know how it went.

You're welcome.

Well, there are ways to find out, as outlined in the black magic books found next to the old Playboy editions on those roadside bookstalls.

You need "bitter" oil ( karwa tail in vernacular parlance), a lamp, and a deserted house.

Light the "karway tail ki shamma," place it behind you such that your shadow falls on the wall. Then, settle down and recite verses of the Quran backwards. I don't have the book handy to tell you which verses, and how many times.

Anyways, brace yourself, because the hamzaad will address you soon enough.

Best done in an abandoned, dilapidated house next to a graveyard.

Let me know how it went.

You're welcome.

You forgot to advise wearing a black cloak and a bit of Gothic make up for the sake of authenticity

Too Hollywood. We like our black magic pure, without gimmicky and cliched props and accoutrements.

Re: The Pakistani Superstition thread

Too Hollywood. We like our black magic pure, without gimmicky and cliched props and accoutrements.

Lol Yeap. Just vintage goat heads, a group of saeeins with long braided unkept unwashed hair, sitting in a circle in a clay baked residence in some remote village.

Possibly. Dreadlocked Saieens sitting in a circle in adobe huts are more likely to simply be indulging in bhang. The goat heads are for the siri payee feast afterwards, for the post-bhang munchies.

The authentic black magic practitioner dresses very normally. He is however enfeebled, unnaturally dark, and has poor oral hygeine.

Possibly. Dreadlocked Saieens sitting in a circle in adobe huts are more likely to simply be indulging in bhang. The goat heads are for the siri payee feast afterwards, for the post-bhang munchies.

The authentic black magic practitioner dresses very normally. He is however enfeebled, unnaturally dark, and has poor oral hygeine.

He is also someone with unnaturally high pitched nasal voice and a penchant for poondi

Penchant for poondi is a national trait, as is crotch scratching whilst standing on street corners.

Is it true that if you drink milk after eating fish you can get white spots on your skin?

I don't think that it's a medically recognised thing, but it is said so by our elders.

If you eat an egg before you take an exam, you'll get an 'anda' on your exam -- Just too too common in the Bangladeshi community. :facepalm:

I don't think that it's a medically recognised thing, but it is said so by our elders.

I can remember having come across quite a few people in Pakistani having these white spots, and our elders used to tell us, "Look, he ate (fish), he drank (milk).... "

But never was it confirmed by any patient suffering from it - but neither rejected by anyone, given I can´t remember having ever asked anyone about i.

If a black cat is present at the ground, Pakistan will lose a cricket series within a matter of 1 over :misbah

I can remember having come across quite a few people in Pakistani having these white spots, and our elders used to tell us, "Look, he ate (fish), he drank (milk).... "

But never was it confirmed by any patient suffering from it - but neither rejected by anyone, given I can´t remember having ever asked anyone about i.

Vitiligo. That's the name of the condition. This belief is so prevalent that the chutneys at those roadside battered and fried fish places are non-yoghurt based. The waiters will even tell you which fish will cause Vitiligo and which won't.

So it actually exists and is not a myth?

Vitiligo certainly exists, but I've never heard the fish and milk theory anywhere else in the world. The waiters at the fish fry joints probably know no more than anyone else, and the chutneys are just so customers aren't scared away.

Don't tell others the sex of your child you're expecting because it will change it. Lol. Ok.

One belief prevalent in the villages is that a woman who has recently had a miscarriage can induce another pregnant woman into having one simply by looking at her.

In other words, one miscarriage can spark off a chain reaction. It's a wonder anyone ever gets born in the countryside.

One belief prevalent in the villages is that a woman who has recently had a miscarriage can induce another pregnant woman into having one simply by looking at her.

In other words, one miscarriage can spark off a chain reaction. It's a wonder anyone ever gets born in the countryside.

Yea heard this one :))

Buri nazar

Vitiligo. That's the name of the condition. This belief is so prevalent that the chutneys at those roadside battered and fried fish places are non-yoghurt based. The waiters will even tell you which fish will cause Vitiligo and which won't.

Thanks for letting me know its name. Quite useful.

Or how about the (negative) effect of the presence of a widowed woman at weddings? Has anyone else heard this one? I have been told that this belief is more common amongst the Indians..... No idea!

The only thing that really threatens a wedding is the presence of a former flame intent on creating trouble.

Sort of like Sultan Rahi screaming, "Yeh Shaadi Nahien Ho Sakti OYE!"

There's the "gaod bharai" tradition too, the highlight of which is the cracking open of a coconut.

The coconut isn't the run-of-the-mill coconut one finds in the rest of the world though. Our coconuts are veritable oracles. A sweet coconut prophecizes the birth of a girl. A bitter one indicates a boy.

I find it very sexist, this insinuation that i was a bitter coconut. Sexism of the "Sugar and spice and everything nice" variety isn't an exclusively Western trait.

I know vegetarians who have this condition so it can happen without combining fish and milk.

This theory is just one of those Pakistani things! I never believed it to be honest, but had to obey the elders considering the "What if... ?" factor.

So right, not to prove anything, but by chance I ate fish yesterday and then drank milk. So far looking pretty much the same. You guys are welcome to congratulate me.

Vitiligo is called "phulweri" in Punjabi.

Another few, based on facts such as the health benefits of green tea, whole grain bread and honey. These foods are not only good alternatives to their counterparts, eating them makes you lose weight. Not aid weight loss. Actually make you lose weight as you eat them.

So people eat obscenely heavy dinners, then wash it down with green tea in the belief that the dinner will be "digested," i.e. disappear.

And eat three times as many slices of whole grain bread, because they are "losing weight" in the process.

And stir in so much honey in their tea it is more of a syrup than tea.

Bit of a Pakistani belief is that flu relents after its initial three days. Does this have any medical truth to it? Would love to know.

I've heard it too. Would be interesting to hear a doctor's take on it.

Do we have any doctors here?

Must have been mentioned before but taveez wearing surely comes into the category of superstition as well. Apparently you are not supposed to open up the taveez to see whats written/drawn inside. And I never got the chance to see for myself what really is written on them. I've heard its reversed ayats...

Verses backwards, and verses written incorrectly to say the opposite of what they did. And prayers to pagan deities.

I'm writing a story which features one such amulet.

I've heard it too. Would be interesting to hear a doctor's take on it.

Do we have any doctors here?

Hmmm.... I think that as is the case with most of the things mentioned in this thread, this too won´t have much of a medical explanation behind it. Not sure about the doctors on our forum.

Verses backwards, and verses written incorrectly to say the opposite of what they did. And prayers to pagan deities.

I remember hearing this theory that reading the verses of the Qur´an backwards does black magic.

Well, there are tutorials online. There are certain surahs that work, and they need to be recited backwards in a certain order a certain number of times.

Scroll back on this thread and you'll find my posts about attracting the Hamzad. They will tell you about the other requirements.

I know I am drifting away a bit from the original topic of common superstitions amongst Pakistanis, but I must add the below:

Kids are known for being curious to find out about things such as how babies come to the world, and how an earthquake takes place is as well one of those things that fascinate the kids, albeit a bit less common perhaps.

So the elders often used to answer it by saying that a bull is carrying the planet earth on its horns, and an earthquake occurs when it decides to shift the "ball" from one horn to the other. The "ball" shakes during those moments of transfer:))).

This explanation was quite famous in villages.

I know I am drifting away a bit from the original topic of common superstitions amongst Pakistanis, but I must add the below:

Kids are known for being curious to find out about things such as how babies come to the world, and how an earthquake takes place is as well one of those things that fascinate the kids, albeit a bit less common perhaps.

So the elders often used to answer it by saying that a bull is carrying the planet earth on its horns, and an earthquake occurs when it decides to shift the "ball" from one horn to the other. The "ball" shakes during those moments of transfer:))).

This explanation was quite famous in villages.

Yes I heard this as a kid.

As for babies, they used to come up with elaborate tales. These days they just tell kids they download babies off the Internet.

The Pakistanis Superstitions thread

One of the things told was that if you happen to see a snake, do not use its name when you shout loud for help. So instead of crying "Sapp, sapp, sapp!" (the Punjabi word for it), one should use a similar sounding word such as "Happ", so that whereas people will have a good idea why you are calling for help, the snake won't attack knowing that its presence is not the issue.

This theory is of course based on the idea/assumption that snakes understand the Punjabi language:))).

Some snakes of the insidious variety do speak Punjabi, amongst other languages.

One of the things told was that if you happen to see a snake, do not use its name when you shout loud for help. So instead of crying "Sapp, sapp, sapp!" (the Punjabi word for it), one should use a similar sounding word such as "Happ", so that whereas people will have a good idea why you are calling for help, the snake won't attack knowing that its presence is not the issue.

This theory is of course based on the idea/assumption that snakes understand the Punjabi language:))).

:)):))

This is common.Do not know the context behind it.Anyways,If you touch your neck with your hand,you should blow your hand afterwards.

I have also heard never to attack a snake if you see it indoors because jinn tend to take their form and it might be one of them.

?

If you see a jinn then take you shalwar off and light your lighter or a match.

If you walk over someone (usually younger person) than it apparently makes them physically smaller.

The Pakistanis Superstitions threa

Some snakes of the insidious variety do speak Punjabi, amongst other languages.
Which makes me wonder whether snakes are more intelligent than humans. :P

I have also heard never to attack a snake if you see it indoors because jinn tend to take their form and it might be one of them.

?
What the hell is this:)))! Hilarious! I am unable to control my laughter!

What! The winner! I am now in stitches! :)) :)))

?

Snakes too, but cats are the vehicle of choice for the Jinn. Recall please the cat I mentioned in that thread about the Jinn.

That's why I always keep a Zippo handy.

And wear shalwars with elastic bands, to avoid having to undo that rope thingie when surprised by a Jinn.

Churail dress like dulhan to trap her victims.

I thought this was a very Indian belief. What do Pakistani dulhans dress in? Indian brides will be in gorgeous red, ideal for churails

Depends if its a traditional pichal pairee or a hip, trendy one. The former swear by red. The latter go for whatever is en vogue.

I believe mauve is in this winter. Irrespective of color, the Pakistani pichal pairee is oft seen hitch hiking on deserted roads. As I've stressed previously, do not stop. Step on the gas. Get away.

Depends if its a traditional pichal pairee or a hip, trendy one. The former swear by red. The latter go for whatever is en vogue.

I believe mauve is in this winter.

Ah, but the second kind is more of a materialistic, slow death variety and hence more scary. At least the former is kind of romantic in an old fashion, traditionalist way and if and when I have to go, I would not mind going that way

I concur. There is no substitute for tradition.

Yep. Not even for churails. Unfortunately with the burgeoning metropolises, the expanding cities, the boom in population and the lack of free time, the new generation has as much time for the seductive, mysterious, scary churails as for you and me

:))) :))) What? Is it the lack of the shalwar that drives away the jin or the match/lighter?

I think it's the exposing of your genitals.

Yep. Not even for churails. Unfortunately with the burgeoning metropolises, the expanding cities, the boom in population and the lack of free time, the new generation has as much time for the seductive, mysterious, scary churails as for you and me

Who cares? Let the young whippersnappers have their Justin Biebers, their skinny jeans and whatnot.

I will grab my walking stick and go cruising for traditional pichal pairees in the back roads.

Stand back because here I come!

I think it's the exposing of your genitals.

But then there are prayers for going to the bathroom, to avoid having the Jinn see one's genitals. How then can they be scared away by the sight of them?

Maybe there are asexual Jinn? Or at least ones with low libido?

Nostalgic did you hear about the first jinn to get a twitter account?

But then there are prayers for going to the bathroom, to avoid having the Jinn see one's genitals. How then can they be scared away by the sight of them?

Maybe there are asexual Jinn? Or at least ones with low libido?

I think they may be attracted to what is extracted from those regions rather than the regions themselves.

Man I couldn´t sleep the whole night because of this hilarious post:)):)))! Just imagine a man standing Shalwaar-less with a lighter in hand. If there are females Jinnaat, then this idea has a proper reason behind it, which being of course coming across as more scary than a jinn can.

"Jinn has favourited your tweet" sounds hilarious to start with.

I did, and I eagerly checked it. To my dismay, there were obvious clues that it was a charlatan wannabe Jinn.

One of these days though. One of these days.