[PICTURES/VIDEOS] Ali Raza: A genuine quick bowler from Sheikhupura

Muhammad Saad

He seems easily the quickest bowler of this ICC U19 World Cup (2024)

Your views? I personally think he is very accurate and hit the bat hard and get some minor but both ways movement.

iSh2O5O.png

Dont see too many wickets from him in this tournament.

Seems to have a mix style between Ambrose and Mervin Dillon , good height and nice bounce and can definitely breach 140k consistently, I wonder if Vidler clocked 145k as per the commentator then Ali seems to be even more quicker than him easily.

The ingredients are definitely there. He is sharp and pacy. But he looks like one of those players that will fall away and never really develop.

Not seen him today but has a beautiful action. But his age looks faked. He is around 19, if not 20
Yep he faked his age by 3 years as per the evidence from his intro video by PCB as he was in 9th class when corona started so atleast was 14 in 2019/20.

Does anyone have a full video of him from today. I have seen a few balls on YouTube but you can't tell much

Ali Raza has got some pace as well. His line and length were also pretty accurate. Hitting those good-length areas regularly is not everyone's cup of tea. The only thing I fell missing is the swing. He lacks at that. Maybe working with junaid khan can improve his skills. Hoping for the best.

No comments on his bowling today? He bowled with genuine pace and heart today and really destroyed BD middle order in all this important knockout game.

"Ali Raza is a superstar. He really is in the making. It is never dead once he's got ball in his hand. He creates life out of nothing!" - Ian Bishop

After taking his 3rd wicket vs Australia in the U19 WC Semi Finals

He is the only player in this U19 side who is most ready for national team in a season or two of FC cricket , 2nd one is Ubaid if he increase his pace in next couple of years.

Zeeshan will need 3/4 seasons of domestic to become good enough

Arafat also have some potential if he actually improves and become more consistent.

Rest of them will get vanish in few years even from domestic cricket , may be Azan ,Shahzaib and Shamyl will might get in to a FC team and that’s their ceiling

Saad Baig despite being the best captain we ever had at U19 level is just a glorified tailender with the bat and it will be really difficult for him to get any FC team.

Looks like a bowler who will hover around 145ish when at peak. No need to rush this kid. Let him get experience.
Interview se laga ki bechare ko logo ne khoob tang kiya hai :p seems like an innocent kid.

He is the only positive from this world Cup.He has potential and certainly got the talent. I m excited to see his development.

A lot of people are making him sound like he is some 25 year old guy in reality he doesn't look older than 17-18.

Why did he only play 3 matches?

Yet took 9 wickets, economy rate of 3.20.

Why did he only play 3 matches?

Yet took 9 wickets, economy rate of 3.20.
Because M.Yousuf got no clue about his players , He played Ali Asfand and Haroon the whole World Cup too even though it’s pretty clear that M.Naveed and Riazullah are far better players then them , Ali Raza just got luck on his side otherwise Aamir Hasan would have played all games in this worldcup who is just a trundler.

Three years ago, Muhammad Masroor, Pakistan U-19 assistant batting coach saw a 12-year-old with torn shoes bowling his heart out in the nets at Rana Naved-ul-Hasan cricket academy in Sheikhpura. The boy was Ali Raza, who on Thursday, almost took Pakistan into the final of the U-19 World Cup.

“Raza is a future prospect,” Masroor had told The Indian Express on the eve of the semifinal. “He hails from Nankana Sahib in Sheikhpura. He has played most of his cricket in the village. He hates going to the gym. He just loves bowling in the nets; you have to literally pull him out. That part of Pakistan has always produced good pacers such as Mohammed Asif, Aaqib Javed, and Rana Naved-ul-Hasan. All three were masters of their craft,” said Masroor.

It was Masroor, who spotted Raza’s potential and in November 2022, selected the youngster in a home series against Bangladesh.

“We were playing a three-day game at the Rana Naved Cricket Academy. In the morning, I saw a young boy wipe and clean the nets with the broom, and bowl for two hours on the trot. During lunch, he rested for an hour and started bowling again. He is that lambi race ka ghoda (in for a long haul). He knows how to bowl long spells that you don’t see in the current pacers. He is not a T20 bowler,” Masroor had said.

All the traits Masroor had spoken about were visible in the semi-final clash. The 15-year-old bowled with cramps, hobbled off after bowling his last over, but only after conjuring one of the finest spells of the tournament picking up 4 for 34. But it was not enough as the last wicket stand between Raf MacMillan (19 not out) and Callum Vidler (2 not out) took Australia home and set up the final clash against India.

“I will remember this spell from this young man for a long time,” Ian Bishop gushed in commentary. “He is a super star!”

Raja turned in figures of 4-0-9-3 in his second spell to almost seize a victory. “This is absolute gold from Ali Raza,” Bishop screamed in his iconic way after Raza dismissed Australia’s No 10 Mahli Beardman.

“Ubaid and Zeesahan have injury-prone actions. If they will bowl in the pressure situation in the PSL or any match, they will succumb. But not Raza, this boy has got a big heart. When Ubaid and Zeeshan play first-class cricket, they will break down. The training in Pakistan is all gym-oriented nowadays. They are not bowling too many overs in the nets. Raza can bowl long spells. All three of them are good talents but it is work ethics after the U-19 World Cup that matters the most,” said Masroor.

“To participate in any local tournament, I would personally finance my trips to neighbouring areas and try to play. However, the participating teams would not give me a chance but I stayed dedicated and waited for my opportunity. On one occasion, they gave me a couple of overs and I impressed them with my skills. From thereon, I earned the respect of my peers and would often win my local team tournaments,” Ali had said on PCB’s YouTube channel ahead of the tournament. “Masroor bhai has supported me a lot. He sat down with me to analyse my bowling and expand my armoury with variations. Additionally, he supervised a consistent run for me at the Pakistan Junior League as well.”

At 15, Raza has the world on his feet as Bishop said he can still play two U-19 World Cups. but he needs to be taken care of, which Masroor feels is going to be a challenge.

“Sadly, we don’t have that system for the fast bowlers. We don’t have a proper rehab system. We don’t have good bowling coaches. The biomechanics labs are also not working. Raza indeed is a future superstar, but we all have to take care of him like our own kids.”

Commies keep repeating 15 year old. Doesn't PCB do any kind of scrutiny when someone is obviously not looking 15?

Commies know what they are doing. It's like repeatedly calling North Korea as Democratic People's Republic of Korea.

He is a fantastic bowler though. Even if he is 19 or 20 and not 15.

Commies know what they are doing. It's like repeatedly calling North Korea as Democratic People's Republic of Korea.

He is a fantastic bowler though. Even if he is 19 or 20 and not 15.
He played in PJL, he looked 15-16 then

The lads need looking after- he needs a proper nutrition plan, proper muscle development and work load management. Off course none of that will happen. Zeeshan seems needs the same

The commies are just trying to make an issue out of nothing.

Did Wayne Rooney look 16 on debut

Does luke littler the darts player look 16.

Even if ali raza has fudged his age he's no older than 18.

He somewhat resembles me Ishant of young. Not as smooth as him though. At 19 he unleashed a spell for ages against Punter at the WACA.

He will be turning 19 next week so it is good that he can bowl 140k and seam it both ways and can absorb pressure as well.

Has been the find of the tournament for team Pakistan. If he had played all the matches, i am sure he would have been the top wicket taker surpassing ubaid.

I know a genuine 14 and half year old who clocks 78mph regularly , soon he will play U19 domestic tournament this year.

His official age is 12 though.
He must be freakish. I have known the likes of Josh Tongue and Adam Finch since they were 11 and 12 and at the age of 15, they were around 80mph, in Finch's case even less

I remember seeing Pattinson bowl in Melbourne. 15 year old clocked 135 to 137

Need to play first class. 1 to 2 good seasons and then play for Pakistan test/odi team

I think he need to build up his body physique with proper diet and gym and increase his pace by 5k and then he should be in the team in next couple of years.

Currently his body looks fragile and might not coup up with the rigors of international cricket.

If he has the fitness to bowl longer spells then he is an ideal workhorse type candidate for test cricket as a first change bowler.

He does have the potential to become express pacer in next 3 to 4 years but I think it will be better for us if he just maintain his pace and bowls between 140-145k in test cricket for us. We really lack long format bowlers.

he is not 15 but does look probably one of the youngest in the team. If not 15, maybe he’s 17,18. Regardless he’s still very impressive

Any kids with brains will prioritize t20’s earning goid moolah and providing themselves with a good future with financial stability.

He is seriously quick!

If he gets proper care and training he can easily hit 150+
But we know that hardly any of our bowlers fully develop. Too many variables including intelligence of the bowler, support from the board and injuries all factor in development

He is the most talented fast bowler I have seen in under 19 team since Shaheen . Hope he will be groomed properly , and not rushed to pajama cricket anytime soon . Need to play 2-3 years of FC cricket before making it to Pakistan A or something like this . He also need to improve his fitness, gradually . He is very young and very fragile for a fast bowler ATM.

ALi Raza is still very young and the way things are going for him, he will play the next U19 World Cup as well. He really needs to be careful about being rushed into the national side. He is nowhere near to making it there and should not be hyped and rushed. Let him develop his game, fitness, and ability to bowl in tough conditions, then we can surely be getting him up with the national side.

One of the findings of the tournament, definitely, for Pakistan. Looks more lethal than Ubaid Shah with his line and length and that pace he has got.

ALi Raza is still very young and the way things are going for him, he will play the next U19 World Cup as well. He really needs to be careful about being rushed into the national side. He is nowhere near to making it there and should not be hyped and rushed. Let him develop his game, fitness, and ability to bowl in tough conditions, then we can surely be getting him up with the national side.

One of the findings of the tournament, definitely, for Pakistan. Looks more lethal than Ubaid Shah with his line and length and that pace he has got.
But but but Marina said he has not got the pace of Ubaid and should stick to his line and length ☹️

Marina who? that lady who can do some commentary, that too was not good at all. From what I have seen, Ali is few KPH above ubaid. Speed guns can confirm it only but through naked eye, he looks quick.

Any reason why there were no speed guns in this competition? There have been in previous U19 WCs. Even as far back as sarfraz’ World Cup in 2006

in the last world cup they showed speed from only one end. It is the responsibility of organizers

She's knows nothing. Ali Raza is comfortably quicker then ubaid.
Yeah Marina might have missed the trick here. Ali is definitely 1quicker than Ubaid. Speed gun was needed in this world cup but poor stuff from organizers this time.

He is one of the most talented U19 fast bowler I have seen in recent times. He needs one season like Mohmmad Amir or Shaheen Afridi

I can see him as a workhorse Peter Siddle type bowler in Test Cricket provided he bulk up a bit and increase his pace by 5k more.

But we know that hardly any of our bowlers fully develop. Too many variables including intelligence of the bowler, support from the board and injuries all factor in development
I think in Ali Raza's case intelligence is there which is why he was able to take that many wickets in this World Cup. All he needs is proper care and support from PCB. I am sure he will emerge as one of the best bowlers for Pakistan.

He is just a bit less as quick as Amir when he was 16 and possess same intelligence level as well , let’s hope things turn out good for him.

Hearing he’s doing well in the PSL…

How fast is he bowling?

He comes out to be a very good talent, he is only 16, but this raw product needs refinement.

He has taken 2 wickets so far against Stallions in the Champions One-Day Cup match, including those of Mohammad Haris and Shan Masood.

He comes out to be a very good talent, he is only 16, but this raw product needs refinement.

He has taken 2 wickets so far against Stallions in the Champions One-Day Cup match, including those of Mohammad Haris and Shan Masood.
Let's stop the 16 year old stuff. He looks young but he ain't 16