[VIDEOS] Behaviour of Police forces during Coronavirus lockdowns around the world

New Delhi: Armed with a stick, a man is seen tipping over "thelas", or vegetable carts, in a video taken in Delhi amid a lockdown over coronavirus. The man caught on camera turned out to be a police constable in plainclothes, apparently bullying vegetable sellers for "violating" lockdown.

The constable, Rajbir, has been suspended after the video, filmed on mobile phone camera on Wednesday at Ranjit Nagar in central Delhi, emerged on social media and was widely circulated.

Rajbir is seen going from cart to cart, tipping them over, leaving vegetables scattered on the road. Three vendors look helplessly as he goes around lifting the plastic sheet covering their wares before toppling them.

The constable, who reportedly told his seniors he was trying to enforce the lockdown, was suspended today.

Vegetables are among essential goods that can be sold during the lockdown period but vendors have been targeted in many places due to confusion over what is allowed, what is not.

There have been instances of police excesses from many states since the country went into what Prime Minister Narendra Modi called a "total lockdown" for 21 days to break the chain of transmission of coronavirus or COVID-19.

The virus has infected nearly 700 and 16 have died.

Videos of police punishing those who violate curfews and ignore restrictions on movements have emerged from across the country.

In a video from western Uttar Pradesh's Badaun town, a group of young men are forced to hop like frogs down a main road with bags strapped to their backs for violating the lockdown.

Migrant labourers, mostly daily wagers, have been forced to walk hundreds of kilometres with their bags in the absence of public transport that has been shut due to the lockdown.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/del...n-video-suspended-2201319?pfrom=home-bigstory

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 100%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/ghbv9/swkkwo" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

In Pakistan

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 100%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/ftnye/dsjuj" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

If people don't listen to instructions, I can see many countries using this type of aggressive tactics.

People need to follow instructions. They are putting people in danger by not listening.

New Delhi: Armed with a stick, a man is seen tipping over "thelas", or vegetable carts, in a video taken in Delhi amid a lockdown over coronavirus. The man caught on camera turned out to be a police constable in plainclothes, apparently bullying vegetable sellers for "violating" lockdown.

The constable, Rajbir, has been suspended after the video, filmed on mobile phone camera on Wednesday at Ranjit Nagar in central Delhi, emerged on social media and was widely circulated.

Rajbir is seen going from cart to cart, tipping them over, leaving vegetables scattered on the road. Three vendors look helplessly as he goes around lifting the plastic sheet covering their wares before toppling them.

The constable, who reportedly told his seniors he was trying to enforce the lockdown, was suspended today.

Vegetables are among essential goods that can be sold during the lockdown period but vendors have been targeted in many places due to confusion over what is allowed, what is not.

There have been instances of police excesses from many states since the country went into what Prime Minister Narendra Modi called a "total lockdown" for 21 days to break the chain of transmission of coronavirus or COVID-19.

The virus has infected nearly 700 and 16 have died.

Videos of police punishing those who violate curfews and ignore restrictions on movements have emerged from across the country.

In a video from western Uttar Pradesh's Badaun town, a group of young men are forced to hop like frogs down a main road with bags strapped to their backs for violating the lockdown.

Migrant labourers, mostly daily wagers, have been forced to walk hundreds of kilometres with their bags in the absence of public transport that has been shut due to the lockdown.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/del...n-video-suspended-2201319?pfrom=home-bigstory

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 100%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/ghbv9/swkkwo" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

This is a constable from Delhi. He is suspended now after this video went viral.

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 100.000%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/duqck/jwasqs" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

And more examples

This is disturbing to see but predictable. Police just needs an excuse to beat people up. Only the weak and powerless part of the population though.

It is just an irrational expectation to believe people are going to stay home and change their daily routine from one day to another. Not everybody is following live numbers of corona infected nor can everybody afford to chill at home and watch netflix. It's a luxury only few can afford.

I am for a carrot and stick approach. Before you can apply the stick though you have to give some carrot.

A strict but humble approach for first few days wouldn't have been too much to ask. Distributing flyers and educating people how they can protect themselves and others. Those who are out because they are desperate for money need to be guided on how they can get a part of any help package by the government. Even in Europe it took people a few days to finally get the concept and stay home.

A lone rickshaw driver alone in his rickshaw isn't endangering anyone. Nor is a vegetable seller standing alone next to his vegetable. What's endangering even more lives is forcing people to stand together in a group and hand out collective punishment. Even if one person in that group happens to have the virus the police just put the whole group at risk. Fighting the virus is supposed to be a collective effort.

Let see how long they can keep this up.

India and Pakistan are two of the most poorest nations on the planet.

Telling people to stay inside seems great but people will not sit in if they are starving to death.

Total Lockdown is the most foolish of policies, it could kill more than it will possibly save in these nations.

This is a constable from Delhi. He is suspended now after this video went viral.

The punishment is too light for his crime. He should provide financially support to those vendors for the time as long as the lockdown lasts.

Pakistanis are a nation full of foolish people. The only way these people listen is by using force. I wish we could see something similar here in the UK too, as I see a lot of idiots still going out and about and not maintaining any social distance, despite the lockdown.

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 100.000%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/duqck/jwasqs" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

And more examples

The most ironic part is that in some of these clips you have a larger group of security personal standing by then the public violating the lockdown. At 0:39 for instance you have like 5 kids forced to do push ups as if that's going to teach them why they should remain home, while 10+ policemen are standing by and enjoying the show.

They also stand awfully close to the strangers they are trying to punish. If this continues then policemen are going to be the main carrier and transmitter of the virus.

When I watch these videos, I used to live there for the half part of my life. It saddens me. First of all, our so called politicians have not done a single thing to provide basic education and get rid of the real virus that is illetracy. Secondly, look at the infrastructure and overall quality of life. Going beyond 50 is a miracle for most women and men in Pakistan. In Germany, that age bracket is considered as a young age and people do look really young and active. Then, Pakistani politicians shout like Pakistan Zindabad and Indian politicians celebrate like Pakistan is a failed state.
It is freaking 2020. We are talking about having electric cars in the USA in the 5 years span. People will be playing watching movies and sleeping cars will drop them off at their exact home address.
It is more so hartening to see when the majority of these crooked politicians have had an experience of lifestyle that is prevalent in the developed countries.

Danda should be the last option but at the same time in our part of the world it should always be an option.

We have way too many morons lacking basic civic sense and social etiquette.

The only way to deal with these jaahils.

You first need to watch the videos. The biggest jaahil in these videos are the security personal themselves. They are the one puttting people under unnecessary danger.

One video is about a police personell in civilian clothes tipping vegetable carts! How arrogant and cruel does one have to be to do such a thing.

Then there is another video, hardly a minute long video and I could identify so many dumb moves by the police which could potentially contribute to the virus spreading:

0:02 unnecessary use of violence the guy seemed to be on his own. A simple instruction and a pamphlet to stay home should have been enough for now. But the dumb police guy not only feels the need to beat him up but also touches his victims hand and holds his arm in order to beat him. Potential spread of the virus.

0:10 police needlessly beating and touching lone walkers on the street instead of distributing information posters with pictures on how and why.

0:19 the security guy at the right is wearing a mask but has his nose and even perhaps mouth uncovered. Again they seem to be beating a lone guy just passing by.

0:28 you can see that there are at least 4 guys with a helmet. So the security guy (who isn't wearing a mask) not only told them to get off their bikes but also lumped them together in a group of other strangers in close proximity potentially exposing them to the virus.

0:32 the security guy with the gloves starts slapping the two kids on the bike and touches their face. That's a potential health hazard right there. His gloves could be contaminated with the virus, since you know he has been beating and touching random people all day, and thereby potentially exposed those kids to the virus.

0:40 dumbest part of them all 5 kids forced to do push ups while around 20 grown up stand by in a close group enjoying the show. Is this social distancing? Do the kids now know why they should stay home and how they can protect themselves and their family from the virus.

0:42 in the left circle the policeman is standing awfully close to the three guys he has stopped. No sense of social distancing. If this police guy catches the virus he is then endangering everybody he stops and has a chitchat with at close proximity. Then at the bottom right you have a bunch of policemen standing too close to each other.

Does the police itself understand the concept of social distancing and knows what the instructions are?

The lockdown is only there to serve as a mean to a goal. It's not the goal in itself. If stupid policemen have no clue of how the virus spreads and have no clue why they should be keeping their distance when warning the public and why they sure as hell shouldn't be touching people's face and hands then they are most likely going to be the biggest transmitters of the virus pretty soon.

Overnight people have been told to stay home. It's expected that not everyone got the memo. I can understand the use of force if this was day 10 of the lockdown and the government had clearly reached out to the poor and explained how they will get their financial support.

Not everyone is on twitter. Not everyone even has a tv. Not everyone understands the concept of the virus. Hence why I believe for the first few days they should have been hanging posters on the streets and distributing flyers to raise public awareness.

This thing is supposed to be a team effort. If people aren't properly clarified about the measures necessary and their is a lack of trust then it could get ugly.

When I watch these videos, I used to live there for the half part of my life. It saddens me. First of all, our so called politicians have not done a single thing to provide basic education and get rid of the real virus that is illetracy. Secondly, look at the infrastructure and overall quality of life. Going beyond 50 is a miracle for most women and men in Pakistan. In Germany, that age bracket is considered as a young age and people do look really young and active. Then, Pakistani politicians shout like Pakistan Zindabad and Indian politicians celebrate like Pakistan is a failed state.
It is freaking 2020. We are talking about having electric cars in the USA in the 5 years span. People will be playing watching movies and sleeping cars will drop them off at their exact home address.
It is more so hartening to see when the majority of these crooked politicians have had an experience of lifestyle that is prevalent in the developed countries.

Its not all doom and gloom as you portray. We have come a long way in the last 70 years. Pakistan is easily in the top 10 and often in the top 5 producers of most crops in the world. We have I think 6th or 7th largest strength of engineers. Our motorway network rivals even developed Europe and North America. In 1947 electricity wasn't even available in smaller cities let alone villages. Now we have spread electricity to 90+ percent of our population. We are also in the top three of the world for people providing IT services through freelancing. Pakistan had a massive contribution in the Large Hadron Collidor. The electric vehicle policy was recently launched and already two indigenous companies have come forward and developed electric rickshaws (Sazgar being off of them who even export rickshaws to Japan). A few companies are working on electric motorbikes. A couple of companies are setting up joint ventures with Chinese firms for electric cars. Also I work in the self-driving car segment, we are atleast a decade or more away from "people sleeping in their cars" if we even get there. To remove liability car manufacturers will always require drivers to be 100% attentive.

Yes we have not educated our population and ALOT more needs to be done, but still we shouldn't put down yourselves the way you are doing.

Heck 100 years after its independence, mighty US superpower, was fighting a civil war within itself to decide if they want to keep slavery or not.

Indian and Pakistani cops deserve to get their heads punched in. Bunch of cowardly fat idiots who are only making things worse for poor people.

Our cops do as they are told. And they only know one way to enforce orders. Danda.

Indian and Pakistani cops deserve to get their heads punched in. Bunch of cowardly fat idiots who are only making things worse for poor people.

People should obey orders, the police is only trying to stop the spread.

I am with police in this one. Anyone who breaks the lockdown needs to be dealth with.

Beating vegetable sellers if they are allowed to sell vegetables is wrong and for that the constable should be punished. Other than that any person who breaks the lockdown needs to be dealt with a danda.

One of the main reason why police behave like this is because the upper middle privileged class cheer when poor people are beaten.

I am fed up of people in my social media circle posting how they are saving the world by sitting at home and watching nextflix for 8 hours. As for those poor vendors? "Well they should have saved up for a rainy day"

Under videos of people being beaten up in Dhaka, the arrogant upper middle class Dhaka dweller or the expat Bengali in Canada is posting how they should instead be killed in an encounter

Where is cruelty? Doing sit ups e.t.c is not a barbaric act. Infact its a good exercise :))

Every scholar, government of India Pakistan begging people to show some sense of responsibility, there carelessness can kill some one. So doing sit up or danda is not harmful at all.

I am with police on this.

There is a difference between penalizing someone, and disrespecting someone.

If someone breaks a curfew, they should be penalized. I believe in Europe you will be given a ticket.

Making someone a "murga", making them roll on the street etc. are things done to the lower classes. Do not for a moment believe that this would happen to the man sitting in a chauffeured car.

Unfortunately the lot of the lower classes in the subcontinent is wretched, and these societies remain feudal.

Such thread shows contempt. No different than ridiculing the poor as dumb, dirty people.

The police is part of the system. And developed nations use extension AI, technology, facial ID, so thats also problematic in terms of privacy...

Goes both ways.Many people are openly flouting the rules and putting others in danger.only danda works with them

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">How insensitive can one get &#55358;&#56620;<br><br>These are difficult times & what he is carrying only essential supplies, right? <br><br>Why should he be beaten black & blue like he is some criminal &#55357;&#56862;<br><br>Indian police, you can do better. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid19Out?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid19Out</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Lockdown21?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Lockdown21</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/lockdown?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#lockdown</a> <a href="https://t.co/vrNXPv3NSX">pic.twitter.com/vrNXPv3NSX</a></p>— Santosh Addagulla (@santoshspeed) <a href="https://twitter.com/santoshspeed/status/1242819959387914241?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 25, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Bengal man who was out to buy milk dies after being beaten up by police - India News <a href="https://t.co/cRl5j4zl7y">https://t.co/cRl5j4zl7y</a></p>— Swara Bhasker (@ReallySwara) <a href="https://twitter.com/ReallySwara/status/1243247168175013889?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 26, 2020</a></blockquote>

There is something wrong. The message is not getting to both sides of the equation

This is supposed to be team effort. Government and public working together. Lockdown isn't the goal, social distancing is. Intial phase should be to gain public's trust.

6 policemen gathering around a lone motorcyclist is the dumbest thing ever.

There should be a leeway. Before police goes all danda on the public give them 3 days to properly internalize the message. If a big part of the population is staying at home and has gotten the message then that's already a good job done. No need to be a control freak and beat down each and every individual. Show some compassion first and distribute proper information for those in need.

We need to realize that those who are still out on the streets are motivated by their basic human needs for food and necessites of life.

Without a team effort and getting the public on board it would be difficult to go on with the lockdown for weeks.

do not go harsh on public. we do not know why they are out. we do not have complete story.

punish those who are socializing but i am sure not everyone out there socializing.

5 to 6 police officer together will not get virus but 2 people traveling will get virus.

This is supposed to be team effort. Government and public working together. Lockdown isn't the goal, social distancing is. Intial phase should be to gain public's trust.

6 policemen gathering around a lone motorcyclist is the dumbest thing ever.

There should be a leeway. Before police goes all danda on the public give them 3 days to properly internalize the message. If a big part of the population is staying at home and has gotten the message then that's already a good job done. No need to be a control freak and beat down each and every individual. Show some compassion first and distribute proper information for those in need.

We need to realize that those who are still out on the streets are motivated by their basic human needs for food and necessites of life.

Without a team effort and getting the public on board it would be difficult to go on with the lockdown for weeks.

That was done when Janta curfew was imposed

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shameful. Nothing but shameful. <a href="https://t.co/GhCOoSDOxZ">pic.twitter.com/GhCOoSDOxZ</a></p>— TGS Bedi (@tangosince74) <a href="https://twitter.com/tangosince74/status/1243064862449610752?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 26, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/RonitBoseRoy?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@RonitBoseRoy</a> <br>We can collectively win this war sir.<br>Kindly share the video.<br>God bless us <a href="https://t.co/jnCALJYuZy">pic.twitter.com/jnCALJYuZy</a></p>— Rahul kumar (@singh24_rahul) <a href="https://twitter.com/singh24_rahul/status/1242554976460656640?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 24, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

That was done when Janta curfew was imposed

I don't follow Indian news regularly. Did people know that after janta curfew a 21 day total lockdown will follow? I think it wasn't clear.

Look I understand people in the subcontinent are stubborn and slow learners. I am not against the stick approach but my philosophy is that before you apply the stick give some carrot. Motivate people to stay home.

Those violating the curfew right now, stop them approach them friendly and hand in a flyer with all the information. Like how they can contact authorities if they need financial support and food.

I saw a video where all the police guy said was "don't you know there is a curfew?" and started beating him up. Instead he should have told him that staying home will protect him and his family. He should have reassured him that the government will look for everyone needs and right now it's important for them to stay home and not catch the virus. Though most probably the policemen themselves don't understand what's going on.

We shouldn't forget the goal here: slow the spread of the virus. With no more public events, markets and restaurants closed down India has already done a great deal to stop the virus from spreading in an uncontrolled manner.

This isn't day 10 of the lockdown and 100k+ confirmed cases. There are hardly 1000 cases in India right now. This is right time to show compassion and gain public trust.

You can escalate the severity of punishments once the lockdown progresses. If this mindless bullying continues sooner rather than later people will run out of patience and things could get out of hands.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shameful. Nothing but shameful. <a href="https://t.co/GhCOoSDOxZ">pic.twitter.com/GhCOoSDOxZ</a></p>— TGS Bedi (@tangosince74) <a href="https://twitter.com/tangosince74/status/1243064862449610752?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 26, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/RonitBoseRoy?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@RonitBoseRoy</a> <br>We can collectively win this war sir.<br>Kindly share the video.<br>God bless us <a href="https://t.co/jnCALJYuZy">pic.twitter.com/jnCALJYuZy</a></p>— Rahul kumar (@singh24_rahul) <a href="https://twitter.com/singh24_rahul/status/1242554976460656640?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 24, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

The second video is pretty heart warming and this type of gestures should be promoted.

In the first video you see a typical big mouth aunty with no manners.

The second video is pretty heart warming and this type of gestures should be promoted.

In the first video you see a typical big mouth aunty with no manners.

Yes just posted them to show the other side :)

Some people deserve danda.Ofcourse not endorsing all the cruelty.

I don't like seeing this, but why are people being so stubborn.

I have a relative in Pakistan who was proudly telling me they drove from Pindi to Islamabad yesterday without any problems. What an idiot.

It's great and all that people are being told to stay home but majotiry of the asian country has huge population that are so poor, can't even get more than 1 meal a day. What exactly is the governments of these countries doing for them. Simply telling them to stay home is meaningless for these kind of people.

Think this is the way to go.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/KolkataPolice?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@KolkataPolice</a> today arrested 1302 persons out of whom 640 persons arrested for Disorderly conduct & 662 arrested u/s 188 IPC for violating Restriction Orders. I again appeal people to <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/StayHome?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#StayHome</a> & kindly cooperate with us <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/stayhealthy?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#stayhealthy</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/MamataOfficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@MamataOfficial</a> <a href="https://t.co/Pwaf2GHMfM">pic.twitter.com/Pwaf2GHMfM</a></p>— CP Kolkata Anuj (@CPKolkata) <a href="https://twitter.com/CPKolkata/status/1242494809581006850?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 24, 2020</a></blockquote>

PM announces corona relief fund, orders release of lockdown detainees

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Imran Khan has announced the establishment of corona relief fund and ordered concerned authorities to release the citizens who have been arrested during ongoing lockdowns, ARY News reported on Friday.

PM Imran Khan, while talking to media persons in Islamabad today, said police should release those people arrested during lockdown. He added that the government is fully aware of the difficulties being faced by the nationals and further steps are underway to provide relief to the people.

https://arynews.tv/en/coronavirus-relief-fund-lockdown-pm-imran-khan/

Nice to see this - and kinda explains what the Police forces are facing

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.000%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/x1m62/kcraqx" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Sardar had every right to apply danda after the "lady" attacked him with her scooter but didn't. #feminism #girlpower

His career would have been destroyed by the woke feminists if he did that

At times I wish the UK police were allowed to 'shake-up' a few criminals and wannabee gangsters on the streets.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WATCH?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#WATCH</a> Police thrash people for violating <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Coronaviruslockdown?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Coronaviruslockdown</a> in Belgaum. The incident happened outside a Mosque when people were leaving after offering prayers. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Karnataka?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Karnataka</a> <a href="https://t.co/tF9Vx4iqV5">pic.twitter.com/tF9Vx4iqV5</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1243161110468890624?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 26, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

To be honest in this case it is justified: A large group of people gathered together in a close confinement.

but some muslims in india believe that life & death is in hands of allah so we don't need to worry anything. See this below chap he says he will not exercise any restraint bcoz death is in hands of allah na so I won't keep myself clean..

Yes they were idiots especially after so many fatwas of people saying don't come
But officer was not right even when people were coming out he kept hitting

but some muslims in india believe that life & death is in hands of allah so we don't need to worry anything. See this below chap he says he will not exercise any restraint bcoz death is in hands of allah na so I won't keep myself clean..

Unfortunately a lot of people in the subcontinent arent very educated in religion and behave stupidly like this

Yes muslims believe death is pre written but the guidance is clear everyone needs to take all precautions and then put the trust in the almighty

You dont go and jump into a fire believing god will save you now do you?

Absolutely stupid from both sides.

<iframe width="516" height="290" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/VdDGUvLoJvI" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

PUNJAB (Pakistan): Authorities here have imposed stricter measures under the garb of law, including fines and imprisonment for people failing to comply with the government's directives, without any reasonable excuse, to control the coronavirus spread.

The provincial government on Sunday promulgated the Punjab Infectious Diseases (Prevention and Control) Ordinance 2020, allowing civil administration and health department to control the pandemic outbreak in the country, Dawn reported.

The new rules levied by the provincial government stated that those violating the law would be punished, with a jail term not extending more than two months or a fine not exceeding Rs50,000 or both. However, on the repeat offence, the person, upon conviction, may be punished with imprisonment for a term not exceeding six months or a fine not exceeding Rs100,000 or both.

And if such offence is committed by a body corporate, the fine for a first offence shall not be less than Rs50,000 and not exceeding Rs200,000; and for a repeat offence not be less than Rs100,000 and not exceed Rs300,000, the law said.

The Punjab province has reported maximum positive cases of the contagious infection in the country. Health officials confirmed that the tally reached 593 on Monday.

After reporting new cases, authorities, today, announced that the novel coronavirus has infected at least 1600 people in the country while 17 others have succumbed to the infection.

The army has been deployed at every check posts and borders of the country in a bid to stain the surging cases. The government has also imposed a lockdown until next month, barring people from moving out of houses without valid reasons, and suspending international flights until further notice.

The ordinance concludingly said that it shall be "the duty of every person, including head of a family, any health professional, who knows or believes that a person under his care, supervision or control is suffering from an infectious disease or is contaminated, to report such case to a notified medical officer immediately."

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...rce-to-harass-people/articleshow/74886075.cms

"Disinfectant" Sprayed On Migrants On Return To UP, Shows Shocking Video

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Who r u trying to kill, Corona or humans? Migrant labourers and their families were forced to take bath in chemical solution upon their entry in Bareilly. <a href="https://twitter.com/Uppolice?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Uppolice</a><a href="https://twitter.com/bareillytraffic?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@bareillytraffic</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/Benarasiyaa?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Benarasiyaa</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/shaileshNBT?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@shaileshNBT</a> <a href="https://t.co/JVGSvGqONm">pic.twitter.com/JVGSvGqONm</a></p>— Kanwardeep singh (@KanwardeepsTOI) <a href="https://twitter.com/KanwardeepsTOI/status/1244508599038009344?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 30, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Source: https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/cor...s-shocking-video-2202916?pfrom=home-topscroll

<iframe width="759" height="422" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/PhY9JZI75Fs" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Surat city police lobbed 30 tear gas shells to disperse an angry mob of textile factory workers who attacked the cops when stopped from leaving for their homes in Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and other states late Sunday.

A mob of around 500 came on to the streets confronting the police, which charged at them with lathis to drive them back to Pandesara, where they live in colonies. This led to stone-pelting, where three police vehicles were damaged by the angry crowd. The police later arrested 96 people on charges of rioting.

All the arrested are textile labourers who wanted to walk back to their native places in UP, Bihar, and so on. Due to the lockdown and shortage of food in the textile labour colonies in Surat city, thousands of workers left their rented rooms and started walking to the reach national highway around 20 km away.

Near Sachin, these labourers walking in groups were stopped by the police and told that there were no other transport services running on the highways. However, the workers, mostly working in the powerloom factories and dyeing and printing units in Surat city, insisted on continuing their journey.

When the police disallowed them, some of the workers threw stones at the police personnel. As the situation worsened, more force was called in. Soon a lathi-charge ensued and the police succeeded in driving the group back to Pandesara. Three police vehicles, including that of Deputy Commissioner of Police Vidhi Chaudhary, were damaged in the stone-pelting, though no cops were injured.

On Monday afternoon, all the arrested workers were produced before JMFC court of D L Thakor and later released on bail. DCP Chaudhari said the situation is under control now. “Our police team had done their best to convince them, but they had only one thing in mind: to walk back home.”

https://indianexpress.com/article/c...grant-labourers-violence-coronavirus-6338852/

LONDON (Reuters) - Some British police might have gone a “little too far”, a minister said on Tuesday after warnings some forces were turning Britain into a police state by abusing powers to enforce a coronavirus lockdown.

New regulations brought in on Thursday give police the power to issue instant 30-pound ($37) fines to people who gather in groups of more than two people or leave their homes without good reason such as for work, food-shopping or exercise.

However, some officers have been accused of being overzealous by using drones to spy on people taking walks at beauty spots, stopping dog-walkers from driving their pets to open spaces and reports they had even urged some shops not to sell Easter eggs because they were not essential items.

“The tradition of policing in this country is that policemen are citizens in uniform, they are not members of a disciplined hierarchy operating just at the government’s command,” Jonathan Sumption, a former UK Supreme Court judge, told the BBC.

“This is what a police state is like. It’s a state in which the government can issue orders or express preferences with no legal authority and the police will enforce ministers’ wishes.”

Unlike other countries, forces in Britain “police by consent” and pride themselves on being answerable to the public and not the state.

Martin Hewitt, chairman of the National Police Chiefs Council (NPCC), said they were looking to ensure consistency in the police response as everyone got to grip with the new “unprecedented measures”.

“Our plan is that we will engage with people, we will explain the measures ... we will encourage people to go home but then as a very last resort we will enforce,” he told BBC radio.

The government drafted in the new regulations amid concern some Britons were failing to heed advice to avoid social gatherings to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.

The weekend before the new regulations were introduced, parks and beauty spots had been packed, leading to the Archbishop of Canterbury to tell people not to act selfishly.

“The police are doing a difficult job and they are doing it well,” Transport Minister Grant Shapps told Sky News.

“I am sure there are individual examples where perhaps you look at it and think that is perhaps a bit further than they should have gone but in general terms I think the case is that if people help everybody out, including the police, by staying home and the rest of it, then there will be no problems.”

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-...r-overzealous-lockdown-response-idUSKBN21I0PS

Police against vegetable sellers in India...

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 100%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/xmp3e/qxvsop" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

UK police accused of abusing power to enforce COVID-19 lockdown

As Britons navigate their way around restrictions to try and contain the spread of the new coronavirus, there are growing fears that police officers are abusing their new powers.

Some British police might have gone too far, Transport Secretary Grant Shapps told Sky News on Tuesday, less than a week after the UK approved emergency legislation that gave police the power to issue instant 30-pound ($37) fines to people who gather in groups of more than two people or leave their homes without good reason such as for work, food-shopping or exercise.

"I am sure there are individual examples where perhaps you look at it and think that is perhaps a bit further than they should have gone but in general terms, I think the case is that if people help everybody out, including the police, by staying home and the rest of it, then there will be no problems," said Shapps.

Some police have been accused of being overzealous by using drones to spy on people taking walks at nature spots and stopping dog-walkers from driving their pets to open spaces. There were reports they had even urged some shops not to sell Easter eggs because they were not essential items.

"The tradition of policing in this country is that policemen are citizens in uniform, they are not members of a disciplined hierarchy operating just at the government's command," Jonathan Sumption, a former UK Supreme Court judge, told the BBC.

"This is what a police state is like. It's a state in which the government can issue orders or express preferences with no legal authority and the police will enforce ministers' wishes."

As the national conversation turned to the lockdown enforcement, #policestate trended on Twitter in the UK, with several users offering their views.

"In all this, we cannot forget the importance of our civil liberties. Whilst this does not mean we should be able to do whatever we want, it does mean that the police should not abuse their power in such a vulnerable time," said Twitter user Olivia Lewis.

Unlike other countries, forces in Britain "police by consent" and pride themselves on being answerable to the public and not the state.

Martin Hewitt, chairman of the National Police Chiefs' Council (NPCC), said they were looking to ensure consistency in the police response as everyone got to grip with the new "unprecedented measures".

"Our plan is that we will engage with people, we will explain the measures ... we will encourage people to go home but then as a very last resort we will enforce," he told BBC radio.

The government drafted in the new regulations amid concern some Britons were failing to heed advice to avoid social gatherings to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.

The fast-tracked 329-page emergency bill faced little resistance in Parliament.

Before the regulations were introduced, the opposition Labour Party's Lord Falconer of Thoroton said he supported the powers.

"In normal times it would be utterly unacceptable. These are not normal times. As long as the emergency lasts and these powers are necessary, they should be available to the government."

In recent interviews with Al Jazeera, human rights experts said draconian measures to contain the spread of coronavirus were understandable in the short term, even if they limited civil liberties, but warned global governments should not abuse their powers.
https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020...nforce-covid-19-lockdown-200331084607759.html

Police brutality is present in Bangladesh too. Our cops aren't nice.

But, some people probably deserve to be beaten during this Coronavirus outbreak (if they don't listen to the instructions).

Police against vegetable sellers in India...

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 100%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/xmp3e/qxvsop" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>
Idiots aren't these essential workers since food is a requirement for everyone

A woman arrested by police for breaking a new coronavirus law has been fined £660 by magistrates.

According to police, Marie Dinou, 41, refused to explain to officers her reason for essential travel when they found her on a platform at Newcastle railway station.

She was arrested for breaching the new Coronavirus Act and ticket fraud and appeared in court two days later, where she denied the offences but was found guilty of both.

Dinou, from York, was fined £85 for ticket fraud, but £660 for breaking the new COVID-19 regulations on leaving home without reasonable excuse. She was also ordered to pay £80 costs, by North Tyneside Magistrates.

British Transport Police said in a statement: "On Saturday 28 March at around 8am, officers at Newcastle Central station received a report from rail staff of a woman loitering between platforms.

"They approached Dinou and engaged with her in an attempt to understand her reasons for essential travel, but following several more attempts by officers to explain and encourage she refused to speak to officers.

"Having explored all options, Dinou was arrested on suspicion of travel fraud and breaching the restrictions imposed under the new Coronavirus Act 2020."

https://news.sky.com/story/coronavi...using-to-tell-police-why-she-was-out-11966813

Look at this video. Police behaving like stupids

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">State Police in Ahmedabad helping the public to get vegitables<br> <a href="https://t.co/zBAbXjnRs9">pic.twitter.com/zBAbXjnRs9</a></p>— Ravi Nair (@t_d_h_nair) <a href="https://twitter.com/t_d_h_nair/status/1244923819304853505?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 31, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">When Police was searching for people who had returned from Nizamuddin, Delhi. Local Muslim People's started<br>Stone pelting on Police at Kasaai ni Chawl area of gomtipur, Ahmebabad.. Please take action.. <a href="https://twitter.com/CMOGuj?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@CMOGuj</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/vijayrupanibjp?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@vijayrupanibjp</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/PMOIndia?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@PMOIndia</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/AmitShah?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@AmitShah</a> <a href="https://t.co/IeVF77BOZ3">pic.twitter.com/IeVF77BOZ3</a></p>— Gaurav Chauhan 🇮🇳 (@ChauhanGaurav07) <a href="https://twitter.com/ChauhanGaurav07/status/1245326580873740289?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 1, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Height of covid-iocy. Despite being told to pray at home, these Muslims in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Dharwad?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Dharwad</a> in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/karnataka?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#karnataka</a> assembled at the mosque-cum- madarsa on Friday. The police waited for them to finish and then gave them the treatment. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CoronaUpdate?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CoronaUpdate</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/FilterKaapiLive?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@FilterKaapiLive</a> <a href="https://t.co/uL4oW7vdG1">pic.twitter.com/uL4oW7vdG1</a></p>— T S Sudhir (@Iamtssudhir) <a href="https://twitter.com/Iamtssudhir/status/1243810148864241664?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 28, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

PM Imran Khan requested police today not to hit people with batons and sticks and to be sensible.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Height of covid-iocy. Despite being told to pray at home, these Muslims in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Dharwad?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Dharwad</a> in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/karnataka?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#karnataka</a> assembled at the mosque-cum- madarsa on Friday. The police waited for them to finish and then gave them the treatment. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CoronaUpdate?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CoronaUpdate</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/FilterKaapiLive?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@FilterKaapiLive</a> <a href="https://t.co/uL4oW7vdG1">pic.twitter.com/uL4oW7vdG1</a></p>— T S Sudhir (@Iamtssudhir) <a href="https://twitter.com/Iamtssudhir/status/1243810148864241664?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 28, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Good on the police to let them finish their prayers.

Anyways I am sure the next set of prayers will be inside of their houses and some of them will still get the same closeness to god from praying indoors

PM Imran Khan requested police today not to hit people with batons and sticks and to be sensible.
Nice I really didn't like the hitting part it seems cruel

Imran Khan on Police's behaviour:

"They are starving and have no work to do [during this lockdown] and when they [people] want to come out, they are faced with harsh behaviour by police which doesnt allow them to come out"

"I want to say this to the Police today that for God's sake please don't hit people with 'danday' [sticks] who come out [during this time]; They are humans, speak to them and they will understand so explain to them why its wont be beneficial to everyone if they come out and to themselves as well - they will understand this"

"This war cannot be won by beating people with sticks and by putting them in jails; We all have to explain this point of view to them"

"Inshallah the Tigers group that is being created will be tasked to go out and explain this to people by going door to door"

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.426%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/t72ee/cswsub" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

EUn0SN6UMAIgZXZ

Police in Hyderabad now wearing Coronavirus costumes to promote campaign against Coronavirus Outbreak. Cops on horseback, motorbikes, on foot & directing traffic are wearing Covid-themed helmets.

A woman convicted under the new Coronavirus Act is set to be cleared after police admitted she was wrongly charged and apologised.

According to British Transport Police (BTP), officers approached Marie Dinou, 41, at Newcastle railway station and asked her what reasonable excuse she had for being outside her home.

In a press release on Wednesday the force said she refused to engage with them several times and was arrested on suspicion of ticket fraud and breaching new coronavirus restrictions.

The press release said she was later fined £660 for "failing to comply with requirements imposed under the Coronavirus Act 2020 and was also fined £85 for ticket fraud".

It later emerged she was charged on both counts under the new law, brought in last month to enforce social distancing in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The particular section of the Act gives police powers in dealing with "potentially infectious" people.

Now BTP has admitted Dinou, from York, was charged under "the incorrect section" of the Act and will ask Tyneside North Magistrates to set aside the conviction. The force will not pursue a new prosecution.

Deputy Chief Constable Adrian Hanstock said: "There will be understandable concern that our interpretation of this new legislation has resulted in an ineffective prosecution.

"This was in circumstances where officers were properly dealing with someone who was behaving suspiciously in the station, and who staff believed to be travelling without a valid ticket. Officers were rightfully challenging her unnecessary travel.

"Regardless, we fully accept that this shouldn't have happened and we apologise. It is highly unusual that a case can pass through a number of controls in the criminal justice process and fail in this way.

"We have shared the latest version of guidance from the National Police Chiefs' Council this morning with all of our frontline officers to help them interpret the new legislation.

"I must remind the public that officers will continue to engage with people and seek to understand their reasons for their journeys. Where we determine that there is no justifiable purpose for them being on the transport network, we will explain to the public why they should not travel.

"As a last resort, and where situations develop, we may need to apply the law as set out in the new Coronavirus Act and the Health Protection Regulations."

The original police handling of the case was condemned by privacy campaign group Big Brother Watch.

https://news.sky.com/story/covid-19...-coronavirus-act-was-wrongly-charged-11967745

Fury in Kenya over police brutality amid coronavirus curfew

Nairobi, Kenya - Since November, Emily Nyambura had been running a thriving mobile coffee business in Mathare, a densely populated settlement in Kenya's capital, Nairobi.

With a growing customer base, she would earn on good days up to 1,500 Kenyan shillings ($15) - but all that changed last week.

On the evening of March 27, Nyambura was, as usual, walking the streets of Mathare, selling to her customers who drink tea in the morning and coffee after work.

But at 7pm, police descended on the area to enforce a dusk-to-dawn curfew announced by the government as part of a series of sweeping measures aimed at slowing the spread of the coronavirus pandemic.

The officers fired tear gas, shot guns in the air and beat people with canes and rubber hoses, residents said. Nyambura was hit while trying to flee the scene, breaking in the process one of her flasks that she uses to sell coffee.

"There was no warning, they just started to beat people," Nyambura said on the phone. "Everyone on the road - it didn't matter your age, even grandparents - all were being beaten."

According to Nyambura, many people in the area had no idea the 7pm-to-5am curfew was actually in place. "It was a surprise because most slum people don't have a TV; they get information from one another and don't always get the right information."

Informal workers such as Nyambura are disproportionately bearing the brunt of the curfew crackdown. In areas like Mathare, where people often live in poorly built dwellings housing entire families in one or two rooms, most business takes place outside.

This means forcing people to be home by 7pm significantly reduces working hours for those selling goods from roadside stands and outdoor markets, further exacerbating the economic hardship brought on by the coronavirus.

Street vendors and workers with long commutes - some of the poorest and most vulnerable groups in Nairobi - are the ones most at risk of being caught outside and punished by the police. Additionally, these groups are the least likely to be successful reporting such abuses, activists say.

According to Michael Ndung'u, a human rights advocate and youth leader with the Kiamaiko Community Social Justice Centre, this comes down to a basic lack of trust between underserved communities and the police.

"We have tried to bring the police and the people together, but that can't happen when they see the police shooting people," Ndung'u said. "This is not a war, this is a disease. You are supposed to treat people in a manner that will help the community ... not treating people like animals."

Kenyatta apology

While officials and others in Kenya defend the curfew as a crucial tool in the fight against COVID-19, the highly infectious respiratory disease caused by the new coronavirus, its implementation has been widely criticised.

In the coastal city of Mombasa, officers were filmed beating people waiting for a passenger ferry, as well as journalists covering the events, two hours before the start of the curfew on Friday. The next day, a motorbike taxi driver was assaulted by the police after reportedly dropping a pregnant woman off at the hospital and later died of his injuries.

When asked about the violence in Mombasa, police spokesman Charles Owino said the incidents were "regrettable" but defended the use of force. "This is a serious war against a serious disease ... When instructions have been given that we are going to have a curfew, they must be followed ... I have to particularly blame members of the public because we are protecting life."

President Uhuru Kenyatta has since apologised for the violence following the enforcement of the curfew.

"I want to apologise to all Kenyans for ... some excesses that were conducted," he said on Wednesday in Nairobi. "But I want to assure you that if we work together, if we all understand that this problem needs all of us, and if we pull in the same direction, we will overcome."

His comments came a day after police said they had opened an investigation into the death of a 13-year-old boy on Monday evening, when officers attempted to clear out street vendors in the informal settlement of Kiamaiko in Nairobi.

According to witnesses, rocks were thrown and officers began firing live rounds into the air. Yassin Hussein Moyo, who was out on the balcony of his house alongside other children watching the scene, was hit in the stomach by one of the bullets and died, his family said.

In a matter of days, the death toll from curfew enforcement has already exceeded the official coronavirus death toll of one, while reports of police beatings continue to emerge.

"Yesterday, after the apology they were still beating people," Ndung'u said on Thursday. "My neighbour arrived from his job as a matatu tout late yesterday, and was confronted outside his gate and beaten with sticks and pipes. Now he can't even walk outside, it was only 7:20pm, he was 20 minutes late."

Despite several requests for comment, the Kenya Police Service declined to comment further on the actions of their officers.

The incidents have renewed anger in Kenya over police brutality, a pervasive issue in high crime areas such as Kiamaiko, where trust in authorities is low.

In a February report detailing the killing of at least eight people in Nairobi's low-income neighbourhoods, Human Rights Watch said police "continue to kill crime suspects and protesters in cold blood despite persistent calls to end the killings and the use of excessive force".

'We are getting angry'

Hassan Usman lives in Kiamaiko, near where Monday's shooting took place. Since COVID-19 entered Kenya, he has seen his work at the local goat market and surrounding slaughterhouses dry up, slashing his income at a time when all seven of his children are staying home due to the closure of schools.

For Usman, the curfew is a step too far, crippling people's livelihoods during an already tough time and further stoking anger at the police.

"They come at night to harass people here and close businesses by force, even if you have meat you still need to sell," Usman said. "We are getting angry, it has affected many people. If you want people to remain at home under curfew, you should give them something to eat and drink."

For him, the curfew is another burden for the working class, a poorly designed measure from a government that is out of touch with the situation on the ground.

While Usman said he is worried about COVID-19, hunger, rising crime and avoiding police beatings are much more pressing issues.

"We are hand to mouth, people are sleeping hungry," Usman said. "If you defend against corona[virus] this way, many people will die of hunger."

Back in Mathare, Nyambura has given up selling coffee for now, switching to bananas which bring in only 200 shillings ($2) a day. Since her customers drank only coffee in the evening, she decided the extra money is not worth risking a beating.

It is a hard transition, especially now that she has temporarily adopted a street child who has nowhere to go during the curfew.

Nyambura feels that her community, already struggling with a slowing economy, is being unfairly targeted.

"We are essentially helpless, we can't report the police. Most people they prefer corona[virus] then the beatings of the police."
https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020...ality-coronavirus-curfew-200402125719150.html

5e873de867d14.jpg

Police vs Lockdown violators in Pakistan

Police said on Friday its officials were assaulted after they stopped congregational prayers from taking place as Sindh undergoes a lockdown owing to the spread of the novel coronavirus.

Police said a local mosque’s Imam led the Friday prayers despite the three-hour complete lockdown in place in the city's Liaquatabad area.

Upon violation, police officials tried to stop the prayers but were attacked by the violators. “People were instigated by the Imam when police asked them to stop the congregational prayers,” stated police.

Two policemen were assaulted by people, who later had to find cover at a citizen’s home.

Provincial authorities took strong measures today to ensure a complete lockdown across Sindh from 12 to 3:30 pm. Movement of people was also suspended during these hours as the streets and roads wore a deserted look.

The measures were put in place to stop the public from going to mosques for Friday prayers and avoid the spread of the coronavirus pandemic.

In a statement issued on Thursday night, Sindh Information and Local Government Minister Syed Nasir Hussain Shah formally announced the lockdown. He said that stopping people from the congregational prayers was a painful act, but it was an unavoidable measure to prevent the spread of the coronavirus epidemic.

Sindh Home Department also issued a notification to order complete closure of public, private, transport, business other public activities on Friday.

The notification only allowed three to five people to offer congregational prayers in the mosques.

Pakistan has seen more than 2,400 cases of the coronavirus, with 35 deaths.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/280749-karachi-policemen-assaulted-for-stopping-lockdown-violators

He mentioned it today once again.

Difficult situation for the police if people are not listening to them.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Residents attack a police party in Karachi's Liaquatabad. A few officials brutally tortured, taken to nearby hospital. <a href="https://t.co/UPLh0fj9XJ">pic.twitter.com/UPLh0fj9XJ</a></p>— Sameer Mandhro (@smendhro) <a href="https://twitter.com/smendhro/status/1246027264971718657?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 3, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">وائرس یہ لوگ ہیں، کرونا نہیں!<br><br>Dozens of People attacked Sindh Police at Liaquatabad <br> Karachi, when they tried to stop gatherings for Friday Prayers. <br>Illiteracy is the greater virus than <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID%E3%83%BC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVIDー19</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CoronavirusPandemic?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CoronavirusPandemic</a> <br> <a href="https://t.co/Ah9Eqbby7F">pic.twitter.com/Ah9Eqbby7F</a></p>— Shama Junejo (@ShamaJunejo) <a href="https://twitter.com/ShamaJunejo/status/1246032401547046913?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 3, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Today when police reportedly tried to stop a Friday prayer congregation at a mosque forcibly in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Karachi?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Karachi</a>’s Liaquatabad, residents reacted violently. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/lockdown?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#lockdown</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SocialDistancing?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SocialDistancing</a> . <a href="https://t.co/1MaNI0Am6W">pic.twitter.com/1MaNI0Am6W</a></p>— Zia Ur Rehman (@zalmayzia) <a href="https://twitter.com/zalmayzia/status/1246015911930232833?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 3, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Spit guards should be “in the pocket of every single police officer”, a senior UK force figure has said after reports of people spitting and coughing in the faces of emergency workers.

Across the UK, dozens have been sentenced to weeks or months in jail for the worrying rise in these types of assaults on officers in recent weeks.

Sergeant Simon Kempton, the operational lead for Covid-19 at the Police Federation, told the Home Affairs Select Committee this afternoon that spit guards should be issued to stop the virus being “weaponsised”.

He said: “Now more than ever, while Covid-19 is being weaponized, we need those spit guards in the pocket of every single police officer, not just in custody, on the street as well.”

Sgt Kempton also told MPs of his fear that the lockdown could see a rise in online grooming.

He said: “More and more of our young people are inside on their different devices and I think one thing that policing has to keep across is the increased potential for them to be subject to online grooming and all sorts of offences.

“While it’s absolutely right that we put our efforts and resources go into enforcing regulations and protecting the NHS, at the same time, the balancing act for chief officers, is to make sure we don’t take our eye off these balls as well.

“This is because somewhere somebody will take advantage of the situation for their own ends.”

The evidence session, which was carried out remotely, also offered MPs the opportunity to grill senior officers over the use of their powers.

Now more than ever, while Covid-19 is being weaponized, we need those spit guards in the pocket of every single police officer, not just in custody, on the street as well.”

In recent weeks forces have come in for criticism for being “overzealous” in enforcing social distancing.

Chief Superintendent Paul Griffiths, president of the Police Superintendents’ Association of England and Wales, in response to questions said: “Enforcement is the last resort, this is about us trying to police a health issue through social distancing.

“We don’t want powers for power sake, that is not the way that we place our society.”

“But, you know, we can’t afford to for groups of people to meet in parks or on beaches, because this is how the disease spreads.

“So we just need to continue the communication strategy with the public, so they can have a thorough understanding of what they can and can’t do under the law.”

https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/f...otect-police-officers-senior-uk-officer-says/

Police forces in India do come up with novel ways

upk7qleo_jabalpur-coronavirus-lockdown-pti-_625x300_07_April_20.jpg

Within my circle, I now know those who are calling for people on the streets to be shot down, amazing how haughty people with guaranteed incomes, hiding in their basements, and playing video games can be.

There was a recent video from Kenya of some Masai warrior being hired by police to whip people standing outside their homes, and the glee and cheers under the video spoke volumes

People should follow police orders, but I find amazing how the same subcontinental police which were seen as so corrupt are suddenly the heroes for beating up poor people on the streets

Greater Manchester Police has warned people not to breach lockdown rules over Easter after it had to break up 660 parties during the pandemic.

Chief Constable Ian Hopkins said "each and every one of us need take this seriously".

There were 1,132 coronavirus-related breaches reported between 25 March and 7 April, the force said.

That included 494 house parties - some with DJs, fireworks and bouncy castles - and 166 street parties.

One woman in Bury became the first person in Greater Manchester to be charged under the Coronavirus Act 2020 after police had to repeatedly shut down one of the gatherings.

The force, which has released updated figures, also had to deal with 122 different groups gathering to play sports, 173 more gatherings in parks and 112 incidents of anti-social behaviour and public disorder.

Greater Manchester Mayor Andy Burnham said such behaviour was "completely unacceptable".

"They are putting everybody at risk," he said.

"The vast majority of people in Greater Manchester are observing the guidelines, but we cannot have a situation where we've got people flouting the rules.

"If you are going out and about you are putting at risk the most vulnerable members of our community and you need to have a good hard look at yourself."

The region's deputy mayor for policing and crime, Beverley Hughes, said the number coronavirus-related incidents had risen considerably.

Officers responded to about 500 callouts a day last weekend, she said.

However, she said calls for enforcement for businesses not complying with the rules had fallen.

Mr Hopkins said: "We understand the desire people will have to spend time with family and friends over the Easter period, however it is vital that we follow the government guidelines.

"The single most important action we can take in fighting coronavirus is to stay at home in order to save lives."

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/amp/uk-england-manchester-52221688?__twitter_impression=true

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Some 81 migrant workers were arrested in the western-Indian city of Surat after they started fires and threw stones in protests, demanding to be allowed to go back to their home areas, police said <a href="https://t.co/j0DQ4LPxXB">https://t.co/j0DQ4LPxXB</a> <a href="https://t.co/5IPu5vOou3">pic.twitter.com/5IPu5vOou3</a></p>— Reuters (@Reuters) <a href="https://twitter.com/Reuters/status/1248967789060059139?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 11, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

More than 1,000 fines issued by police in the UK

Martin Hewitt says police are “in a strong position” to enforce social-distancing rules, urging people to “keep reporting crime to us”.

Data from 37 forces shows that 1,087 fines were issued for breaches of the rules up to 8 April, he says.

“This shows the overwhelming majority of people are staying at home to save lives."

He says police will publish “enforcement data every fortnight as we move through the crisis”.

Moving onto police powers, the home secretary thanks the police for working "tirelessly to keep us safe" during the lockdown.

Addressing the public, she says: "If you don't play your part, our selfless police, who are out there risking their lives to save others, will be unafraid to act."

Her words come amid concerns some police are overstepping lockdown powers.

She hands over to Martin Hewitt, chairman of the National Police Chiefs' Council (NPCC).

“This feels a very different Easter weekend for all of us," he says. "It feels different for police officers too."

He says police are "taking new risks" as they seek to enforce the rules.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Karachi Police badly thrashing pedestarians (location unknown) after apparently heated arguments<br>(pink dress wala was only spectator, caught in the fight) <a href="https://t.co/P6pWpHOBDr">pic.twitter.com/P6pWpHOBDr</a></p>— Khalid khi (@khalid_pk) <a href="https://twitter.com/khalid_pk/status/1249010413855006721?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 11, 2020</a></blockquote>