<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/OnThisDay?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#OnThisDay</a> in 2002. Stumps flying everywhere, electrifying pace, as Shoaib Akhtar took career-best Test figures of 6-11 versus New Zealand in Lahore <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/bTihrGwtlL">pic.twitter.com/bTihrGwtlL</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1521398001444564992?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 3, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
He was a Legend. End of.
Greatness includes substantiality, longevity etc. So he can’t be in that argument with the number of games he played and wickets he took. But Legend status doesn’t require that. Will people be talking about him in folklore in 100 years. 100% yes
You can’t bracket him with Thommo and Andy Roberts either. Shoaib’s strike rate is miles better. Shoaib also played on flatter tracks than either of them.
One point on Longevity though. Many fast bowlers lost their lethality as the years went on. Shoaib never lost that in 13 years of international cricket. His pace lasted all the way through. Maybe a few Ks slower at the end, but still 150k+. That in itself is phenomenal
What makes him a legend?
Good bowler but was pretty average against top batting sides.
Shoaib Akhtar gave useful tips to cricketers at Pindi stadium after he was invited by Head Coach Saqlain Mushtaq.
amazed to see his fitness level.. still way better than many current pak players
His knee was always the problem. He hid that injury for years before he got exposed.A wasted talent. The guy got fat due to over eating and alcohol, this led to injuries and then he would try to lose the weight too quickly and injuries mounted up. On the up side, he was the last PK bowler that physically scared people
Great bowler
Big wicket taker.
He wanted headlines by taking big wickets.
Back when we didn’t have sky sports and had to follow matches on scorecards…He’s my cricketing hero, Akhtar in the lime green, in the English summer of 1999 is part of my culture & heritage. I was lucky to watch him bowl live in 2010, during the T20 series, he was past his prime but still so rapid.
Back when we didn’t have sky sports and had to follow matches on scorecards…
I used to remember that every time there was a big game for Pakistan you would see this guy’s name against the big names taking their wickets. He would be 1-50 in his spell at times but the 1 wicket he took was the crucial one.
Just goes to show the caliber of the guy. He upped his game when the big man from the opposition would come to the crease!
Shoaib Akthar wore his heart on his sleeve and humiliated the so called Bhagwaan of Cricket, Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar, by gifting him his first EVER golden duck Infront of 100K home crowd, with over a billion watching, in Chennai, 1999.
For these mere 2 reasons, Shoaib Akthar is a defacto hall of famer for me!
As much as I liked Shoaib, I’d put Zak above him. Achieved much more. Won overseas tests and bossed a World Cup!Great bowler
Bumrah
Imran khan
Wasim
Shami
Then shoaib
Waqar
Zak khan
Vaas etc after
SRT too* as there were other factors like I mentioned before (PCB being a key culprit).I’d blame SRT for completely changing the trajectory of one of my favorite bowler’s career.
Shoaib’s ODI stats
Before 1 March 2003:
Average: 21 SR: 4.5
After 1 March 2003:
Average: 29.42 SR: 5
He was never the same again.![]()
I like express pace so I was being generous. You are right thoughAs much as I liked Shoaib, I’d put Zak above him. Achieved much more. Won overseas tests and bossed a World Cup!
Not going to lie. He was my favourite to watchI would call him the OG fast bowler who retired in 2000s+
I rate him above Waqar thoughI would call him the OG fast bowler who retired in 2000s+
Actual, he was never the same bowler after that Gabba 5fer in 2002.I’d blame SRT for completely changing the trajectory of one of my favorite bowler’s career.
Shoaib’s ODI stats
Before 1 March 2003:
Average: 21 SR: 4.5
After 1 March 2003:
Average: 29.42 SR: 5
He was never the same again.![]()
Joginder has more ICC trophies than Akhtar.
Yes, and more than Dale Steyn too.Joginder has more ICC trophies than Akhtar.
Mohammad Kaif is one of themFavourite pace bowler, the arrogance which he carried because of his pace made him an iconic character.
One of the best moment was when he was in his run up and some batsman( dont know who) started charging down and Akhtar paused his run up, got annoyed and stared at the batsman because how dare he walk out of the crease against him. Box office.
Yaar yeh kya bongi hai?A selfish bowler who played for himself.