[VIDEOS/PICTURES] The IPL 2020 (19th September - 10th November) Tournament Thread

Rajasthan Royals' fielding coach Dishant Yagnik has tested positive for COVID-19, the IPL franchise announced on Wednesday, days before leaving for the UAE to take part in the lucrative league. The 13th edition of Indian Premier League is set to take place in the UAE from September 19 to November 10. "Rajasthan Royals would like to inform that their fielding coach Dishant Yagnik has tested positive for COVID-19," the franchise said in a statement.

"The test was undertaken keeping in mind that the team members need to assemble in Mumbai next week for their flight to the UAE.

"The franchise implemented an extra test for all players, support staff and management travelling to the UAE in addition to the two tests recommended by BCCI, to ensure as robust a process as possible."

Yagnik is currently in his hometown Udaipur and has been advised to get admitted to a hospital for the mandatory 14-day quarantine.

https://sports.ndtv.com/ipl-2020/ra...ive-for-covid-19-2278204?pfrom=home-sshowcase

Almost a 2-month long tournament?! That'll be a drag.

Good thing is there is a 4 month break between this year's IPL and next year's IPL. So IPL specialists like Pandya will get much needed rest between this period to heal their injuries. International cricket is already dieing a slow and painful death. Demand for more and more IPL is increasing day by day so I don't think die hard IPL fans will complain about it. :inti

Lol at 'IPL is promoting cricket'. What's the use of promoting cricket when its sole aim is not to find talent for India? How is it increasing the quality of domestic cricket setup? Where are the quality players then? I see blind fans like you praising IPL everyday here and not to forget the way you guys hype mediocre players like Pandya and Pant.

I can't help you if you can't see the biggest con of IPL within this thread itself. Your fellow IPL buddies are celebrating IPL taking place at this time of the year and they have no problem if it disturbs the international calender. These same fans also think that IPL can survive without international cricket lol. :inti

But international calendar has been disturbed because of Coronavirus not the IPL. So every board is trying to reach solutions which is in the best interest of themselves.
World T20 got postponed completely with all boards backing including the PCB. If World T20 had happened in late decemeber, Big bash would have been in danger. If it had been postponed to next year in Feb/March window then PSL. So all boards reached a consensus.
Quality of domestic cricket is improved in terms of infrastructure, TV Coverage and exposure to domestic players, as well as their increased salaries. Forget Pant and Pandya, there are guys like Gill, Panchal,Gurbaani, etc. coming out of domestic setup. Also, Pant was talked about only after his Ranji performances where he scored some 800 plus runs in 5-6 innings. So I am not sure where the IPL is to be blamed for hyping of these players.
No one gets selected in Indian ODI and Test team based in IPL performances else Vihari would not have played. IPL is pure entertainment and Tamasha, and generating money which is used to run 40 State cricket associations and fund them.
Please watch a couple of domestic matches telecast on Star cricket. You will see the different in quality of ground turfs. Compare that to the Pakistan grounds. If not for IPL, it would have been same as money and resources would have been lesser. Also new grounds.

But international calendar has been disturbed because of Coronavirus not the IPL. So every board is trying to reach solutions which is in the best interest of themselves.
World T20 got postponed completely with all boards backing including the PCB. If World T20 had happened in late decemeber, Big bash would have been in danger. If it had been postponed to next year in Feb/March window then PSL. So all boards reached a consensus.
Quality of domestic cricket is improved in terms of infrastructure, TV Coverage and exposure to domestic players, as well as their increased salaries. Forget Pant and Pandya, there are guys like Gill, Panchal,Gurbaani, etc. coming out of domestic setup. Also, Pant was talked about only after his Ranji performances where he scored some 800 plus runs in 5-6 innings. So I am not sure where the IPL is to be blamed for hyping of these players.
No one gets selected in Indian ODI and Test team based in IPL performances else Vihari would not have played. IPL is pure entertainment and Tamasha, and generating money which is used to run 40 State cricket associations and fund them.
Please watch a couple of domestic matches telecast on Star cricket. You will see the different in quality of ground turfs. Compare that to the Pakistan grounds. If not for IPL, it would have been same as money and resources would have been lesser. Also new grounds.
I can guanrantee that person never saw a domestic match in his life but sees plenty of IPL. Thats hoe usually these things are and the points he argues all point to this

Another dumb post. I have actually listed all the points of why I dislike IPL but a dumb troll like you only comes up with his useless one liners and ignores the rest of it. You can assume all you want but not everyone is as crazy about IPL as you are here. Not everyone loves to swim in gutters like you lol.

This is a discussion forum and people can post about their dislikes as well. Nobody except mods can stop me from posting here. :inti

Another dumb post. I have actually listed all the points of why I dislike IPL but a dumb troll like you only comes up with his useless one liners and ignores the rest of it. You can assume all you want but not everyone is as crazy about IPL as you are here. Not everyone loves to swim in gutters like you lol.

This is a discussion forum and people can post about their dislikes as well. Nobody except mods can stop me from posting here. :inti

So ipl is played only in its own 2 month window like psl and other leagues are. So still wondering what other issues do you have. I am sorry I am new here you may have mentioned it in other posts.

IPL, PSL, CPL, BBL all of them are tamasha leagues but since I am an Indian I am only bothered about IPL and its side effects on Indian cricket. I didnt like the way [MENTION=3327]Indiafan[/MENTION] was feeling proud and was giving credit to IPL for postponing WT20. For more you can either read this thread or go through my earlier posts. Can't repeat the same thing over and over again just because you are new here. :inti

Have you seen the telecast and coverage of any domestic Indian games lately ? Also the ground infrastructure?

I have seen it. Are you going to give credit to IPL for that? Cricket was already quite popular in India even before IPL came. Not sure what are you trying to prove here. I am actually talking about quality of players, their performance in knockout matches, their ability to win big matches since they are quite used to it in IPL, how some players are getting chancew after chances because they are IPL superstars and you are busy talking about the quality of telecast, coverage and how green the grass looks now. We are in 2020 now. With time quality of telecast will get even better.

Would love to talk about cricket side of it like how many match finishers IPL has produced for India or how many trophies have we won but I have already discussed it in this thread with Mr Sab Changa Si. Kindly read it. :inti

Suicide is fast becoming a bigger issue in India.. it was already an issue when so many Students committed suicide, now its taking away actors, cricketers.

I think unfortunately religion is going to become major in people’s lives, unfortunate but no other support system..

If one goes ketto.org so many are fighting for their lives or lives of their family..and here

I have seen it. Are you going to give credit to IPL for that? Cricket was already quite popular in India even before IPL came. Not sure what are you trying to prove here. I am actually talking about quality of players, their performance in knockout matches, their ability to win big matches since they are quite used to it in IPL, how some players are getting chancew after chances because they are IPL superstars and you are busy talking about the quality of telecast, coverage and how green the grass looks now. We are in 2020 now. With time quality of telecast will get even better.

Would love to talk about cricket side of it like how many match finishers IPL has produced for India or how many trophies have we won but I have already discussed it in this thread with Mr Sab Changa Si. Kindly read it. :inti

But to improve that infrastructure you need money. And at least the money is being pumped back into domestic cricket.
Knockout matches vs overall performance, don't you think Indias performance in last 2 WC has been good.
Reached SF both times, Champions Trophy Finals.
2015 WC had an unbeaten run upto Semis and played well upto Semis in 2019 WC(only lost to England).
I am not giving excuses for finals performance. That is some thing to be improved.
Under Ganguly also we lost 11 finals on the trot before Natwest trophy win.

if you check ICC rankings post 2008 IPL, India has been top 3 ranked team more or less in every format.
Also top 3 in tests.

Also domestic cricket gave us Pujara, Vihari and now Gill,Panchal for the future. Surely you don't think that indias domestic structure is bad.

Don't you think that a team reaches final/semi final by playing good and quality cricket up to that point.
Then Semi Finals and finals are about handling pressure and a bit of luck.

What i intend to say is that IPL is only 2 months window, it does not interfere with both Indias domestic season and Indias international season. Domestic and grass roots cricket is given utmost importance by BCCI.
So IPL complements Indias cricket by generating revenues and that money can be used other places.
Regarding producing finishers, you are expecting IPL to produce finishers for ODI cricket??
I don't think thats the intention or idea of the IPL. It is purely a money making exercise to keep the game functioning and have more resources available.

Empty stadiums and playing on awful UAE pitches. Too much desperation . I enjoy the IPL but not sure how enjoyable this year competition will be.

Lol what? Another big statement. I would like to know more about this. How will IPL survive after International Cricket dies a slow death? Who will create superstars for IPL? IPL expert Mr [MENTION=152021]Rajdeep[/MENTION] can you please explain it to him that IPL is just a business and was not created to find talent for India let alone world? :inti

IPL will get superstars from other countries' domestic T20 leagues, duh.

Cricket Australia Executive General Manager said that their starting point is to support the IPL, to support the players playing in that tournament.

Delhi Capitals have announced Anrich Nortje as the replacement of Chris Woakes for the upcoming edition of IPL 2020. A really good pacer, he's some real pace and surely will be fantastic on UAE pitches.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">All packed and ready to go &#55358;&#56819;<br>.<br>Will miss <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/stclair?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#stclair</a> and everything that comes with it <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/mygirls?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#mygirls</a> <br>.<br>Exciting times ahead however with <a href="https://twitter.com/RCBTweets?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@RCBTweets</a> ...... can’t wait to get started after our isolation in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/dubai?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#dubai</a> <br>.<br>.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/playbold?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#playbold</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/rcb?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#rcb</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ipl?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ipl</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ipl2020?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ipl2020</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/StarSports?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#StarSports</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/skysportnz?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#skysportnz</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/uae?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#uae</a> <a href="https://t.co/fLLoY6XWEE">pic.twitter.com/fLLoY6XWEE</a></p>— Mike Hesson ONZM (@CoachHesson) <a href="https://twitter.com/CoachHesson/status/1295813400757297152?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Good thing is there is a 4 month break between this year's IPL and next year's IPL. So IPL specialists like Pandya will get much needed rest between this period to heal their injuries. International cricket is already dieing a slow and painful death. Demand for more and more IPL is increasing day by day so I don't think die hard IPL fans will complain about it. :inti

Wait, is it really just a 4 months break till the next edition? Talk about overdose!

To hell with this stupid league, that too in cursed 2020.

The tour to Australia this year will determine the reputation of our team and many of our players. If we lose without fight, it is back to square one despite our best ever bowling pool. Now watch half the team turn up injured or fatigued before first test.

People need to earn a living and need to be entertained.

The economy and the well being of domestic cricketers is the only reason I support IPL. Even if IPL detered Indian Cricket Team (which I dont think it does), I would still support IPL. Because if I had to chose between a country that does well at international cricket but only has a few rich international cricketers and a national team with average performance with a secure professional and financial setup for domestic cricketers, I would always chose the latter.

However, I am not entirely convinced that this particular IPL will help the Indian economy much, because it is being held in the UAE. The local stadiums wont earn much money, nor will the hospitality industry or the airlines. The only money makers will be the players, the franchises and BCCI coffers.

However, I also understand that holding an IPL in India is not possible. So, I am a little divided on this issue.

Speaking of turn up, how many Indian fans do you thing are going to turn up in front of the TV to watch the test matches and how many will turn up to watch the IPL?

The boards need revenue, the players need revenue, sponsors need to sell their products, the fans need some sports. So boards are going to turn to what guarantees them the highest $$$. Real world is a whole lot different than the forum world. Welcome to the real world.

For you it’s easy to say “To hell with IPL” but many domestic cricketers salary depends on it but you obviously don’t care.

So the salary of Indian domestic cricketers depends just on this one IPL wich won't even be held in India. Does BCCI have any transparency when it comes to financial matters? Star has already paid BCCI for the media contract, if they didn't take insurance protection their fault.

Our domestic cricketers used to play cricket for free. Thanks to IPL for changing all that and providing roti, kapda and makaan to all our domestic cricketers. :inti

Speaking of turn up, how many Indian fans do you thing are going to turn up in front of the TV to watch the test matches and how many will turn up to watch the IPL?

The boards need revenue, the players need revenue, sponsors need to sell their products, the fans need some sports. So boards are going to turn to what guarantees them the highest $$$. Real world is a whole lot different than the forum world. Welcome to the real world.

I am posting in the forums so I will talk about here only because forum world also relies on real humans.

I don't have the numbers for TV ratings but I have noticed this in last 2-3 years that very few of your IPL buddies post in IPL match threads but these same guys are pretty active in international matches. I mean for an example match thread of India vs Afghanistan will have more pages here than the whole IPL matches discussion combined in one thread. This is just one example and it shows even you guys enjoy international cricket more than that tamasha league. Then comes the media hype. The way media hypes India vs Pakistan or India vs Australia matches and the whole of India is involved in it you will never ever see that in any of your IPL matches. Nobody gives a damn about those and nobody wants to remember their matches lol. There is no loyalty in fans either. You will never see any Indian fan breaking his TV after his favorite IPL team failed to win a knockout match. :inti

Yes it depends a lot on IPL. Did you missed all those reports where some of the domestic players salary weren’t paid? If IPL doesn’t take place BCCI will lose $800M approx. which is roughly Rs 4000 crores. Please tell me which insurance would cover covid? All major leagues around the world are playing behind the closed door to mitigate the loss.
You’re either refusing to accept the economic dependency of IPL or downplaying it’s importance to Indian cricket. Anyways, you’re always welcome to switch the channel. Majority of Indian fans are excited about IPL.

I am posting in the forums so I will talk about here only because forum world also relies on real humans.

I don't have the numbers for TV ratings but I have noticed this in last 2-3 years that very few of your IPL buddies post in IPL match threads but these same guys are pretty active in international matches. I mean for an example match thread of India vs Afghanistan will have more pages here than the whole IPL matches discussion combined in one thread. This is just one example and it shows even you guys enjoy international cricket more than that tamasha league. Then comes the media hype. The way media hypes India vs Pakistan or India vs Australia matches and the whole of India is involved in it you will never ever see that in any of your IPL matches. Nobody gives a damn about those and nobody wants to remember their matches lol. There is no loyalty in fans either. You will never see any Indian fan breaking his TV after his favorite IPL team failed to win a knockout match. :inti

Since you mentioned you don't have the numbers, please go through this:
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.fo...ure-fans-and-dominate-television-ratings/amp/

As per BARC India viewership data shared by broadcast rights holder Star India, a whopping 462 million viewers watched the 12th edition of the league on Star network channels between March 23 and May 12th. The reach of the tournament was up 12% compared to previous season.

Also if you watch on hotstar, it will give you on the screen number of viewers watching it online in real-time and most of the matches averaged 10million plus viewers online..

A UK-based firm, which created the bio-bubble for the two Test series in England - against the West Indies and Pakistan - is likely to be roped in to manage the bio-secure bubble for the Indian Premier League (IPL), scheduled to be held in the UAE from September 19.

Restrata - a company that specialises in integrated safety, security and mobility operating system - has been working with the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) to build the bio-secure bubble for England’s dual Test series.

When the UK hosted the Olympics in 2012, Restrata was tasked with developing and implementing specialised security systems and services for the Olympic Park and other venues in London.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and Restrata - which also operates from the UAE - remained tight-lipped on the issue, however, it has been learnt that the company has been zeroed in for the project because of its prior experience and cost-effectiveness. Although the local UAE media has claimed that VPS Healthcare - a local company - are the front-runners.

Also, Tata Medical and Diagnostics was in the fray, but it is understood that Restrata is in advanced talks with the BCCI and things will be formalised in a day or two.

“They have started executing the project a couple of days ago. They are getting all the equipment and other things required for the project to the UAE and preparation is underway. Even their local units have done a recce of the hotels to come up with a plan,” one of the officials confirmed to Sportstar.

In its meeting with the Board top brass a few days ago, the UK-based company stressed on the fact that it will develop a track and trace technology, to keep a tab on the people working in specific zones.

It has been also learnt that the accreditation cards issued to all the stakeholders could have a GPS chip, which will give the IPL authorities and the franchises a real-time update to track the movement of the people inside the bubble. This system - used by the ECB during the Tests against West Indies and Pakistan - will be useful to keep the bubble intact, keeping all the health and safety standards in mind.

“Since the tournament will be held across three venues - Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah - it is important to make sure that the bio-bubble is intact. In the time of pandemic, the health and safety issues of all the players and other stakeholders are of utmost importance, so we cannot afford to compromise on that,” an official said.

The IPL teams are scheduled to reach the Emirates, starting from Thursday. They will have to go for a mandatory six-day quarantine and undergo COVID tests, before starting the training sessions.

https://sportstar.thehindu.com/cric...ely-to-hire-uk-based-firm/article32397436.ece

The coronavirus pandemic has stalled all cricket and sporting action throughout the globe. Cricket is slowly resuming with England playing Test matches against West Indies and Pakistan while the Caribbean Premier League is the first major T20 league to take place. However, all eyes will be on the Indian Premier League (IPL) that will take place in the UAE due to the rising coronavirus cases in India. After the tournament was postponed in April, the BCCI has pounced upon the opportunity to hold the tournament in the UAE in September. The tournament will be played from September to November first week.

Ravi Shastri, the current coach of the Indian cricket team, remarked that the resumption of the IPL is the ‘ideal chaos’ in times of the coronavirus pandemic. Speaking in a webinar, Shastri said, “You know with this COVID thing happening, once this IPL starts in the UAE, you will see that chaos back again, which is much needed. t’s been depressing, it been unforeseen, the world hasn’t seen anything like this since the second World war, to just get some sport action, back on television, day in and day out will lift the spirits of a lot of people and it is much needed at this moment of time.”

The United Arab Emirates will play host to the Indian Premier League for the second time, having hosted half of the 2014 IPL season in the country due to the General Elections in India. Shastri remarked that the UAE was more than capable of pulling off the tournament brilliantly.

“It is a great gesture by Indian government to take cricket to the UAE and the UAE government in responding (to it). I remember, in 2014, when the IPL came there (to the UAE), his Excellency did not leave one stone unturned and ensured that it was a top-class IPL and the public responded brilliantly. I am so happy that it’s gone to the UAE, because they put up such a good show last time around,” he pointed out. “They know now what to expect when we come with the IPL and the eight teams and I think it’s (IPL) going to be a runaway success – Covid or no Covid,” Shastri said.

https://www.dnaindia.com/cricket/re...-in-times-of-coronavirus-ravi-shastri-2838275

Rajasthan Royals, Kings XI Punjab and Kolkata Knight Riders set to take flight for the UAE today.

All the CSK players have been tested negative for COVID19 for the test conducted on Tuesday.

Harbhajan Singh won't be travelling with CSK squad for the UAE. He'll join the team within 2 weeks time.

Not interested at all.

Huge downgrade. All the way from watching Test cricket in England to seeing the ball getting slogged into empty stands in the UAE. :stokes

I m disappointed.If it was Indian patanjali league I might have watched a game or two. I hope next year they make this Indian patanjali league.LOL

Not interested at all.

Huge downgrade. All the way from watching Test cricket in England to seeing the ball getting slogged into empty stands in the UAE. :stokes

Empty stands in England also for the foreseeable future.

IPL 2020: Don't you dare break Covid-19 protocols, BCCI warns players

The coronavirus cases in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) are increasing rapidly -- according to the latest report -- making the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) a little worried about the cricketers, who are reaching the gulf nation for 13th edition of Indian Premier League (IPL 2020).

The UAE is scheduled to host the IPL 2020 from September 19 and two teams -- Kings XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals -- have already reached Dubai. Other teams will also be reaching in a couple of days.

A senior BCCI official told news agency IANS that all the players and IPL team owners have been told to take care of themselves. "Strict instructions have been given to all the players, coaching staff, owners and other members. We don't want that because of someone's mistake, others get infected and suffer," the official said.

"UAE will provide all the help needed regarding safety of players (medical or other). The teams' owners have also been asked not to roam here and there freely because coronavirus cases are no less in that nation. After so many delays, the IPL is going to happen and everybody will have to respect it and be more responsible," he said.

Last month, England fast bowler Jofra Archer was dropped from the playing XI for the second Test against West Indies after it was learned that he had broken the team's bio-secure protocol.

The IPL 2020 will be played across three venues in Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah till November 10.

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/wap....tocols-bcci-warns-players-120082001118_1.html

Nice - making their own rules as they go....

==

England and Australia cricketers who feature in the Indian Premier League (IPL) do not have to serve the six-day quarantine upon arrival in UAE, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Chairman Sanjeev Churiwala said on Thursday. This could make cricketers from the two nations available for their teams' opening IPL matches.

Australia will compete in a limited-over series in England, which will conclude on September 16. A day later, players from the two countries are scheduled to arrive in UAE via chartered flights, Churiwala stated. The IPL commences on September 19.

“Players from England and Australia would already be in a bio-bubble as they would be playing the series there (in England). The BCCI Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) states that they (England and Australia players) can participate without quarantine, provided they satisfy certain very, very stringent measures. They have to continue to be in the bio-secure bubble (in England). From the bio-secure bubble, they have to go straight to the charter flights without getting into the extensive immigration procedures, and without getting in touch with the general public.

The BCCI is working with various cricket boards to ensure that this can be done. Given that they (players from the England-Australia series) are already serving a bio-bubble requirement, it will be an extended bio-bubble for them,” Churiwala stated in a web conference.

RCB has three Australian cricketers (Aaron Finch, Kane Richardson and Joshua Philippe) and one English player (Moeen Ali) in its squad. As for the other foreign players, Churiwala stated that South Africa players (A.B. de Villiers, Chris Morris and Dale Steyn) will arrive in UAE on August 22, and the lone Sri Lankan in the squad (Isuru Udana) will arrive on September 1.

Churiwala added that Indian players and support staff - who are under quarantine in a Bengaluru hotel - will travel to UAE on Friday. Upon their arrival in Dubai, they will undergo a six-day isolation and three Covid-19 tests before entering the bio-bubble.

RCB has booked a full wing at the Waldrof Astoria Dubai Palm Hotel for its players and staff. The gym, team room, AC duct and restaurant will be reserved for exclusive use of the team. All hotel staff and service members will stay in-house and will be tested. Gym and other essential equipment will be carried from India, Churiwala stated.

https://sportstar.thehindu.com/cric...stralia-sanjeev-churiwala/article32404468.ece

Nice - making their own rules as they go....

==

England and Australia cricketers who feature in the Indian Premier League (IPL) do not have to serve the six-day quarantine upon arrival in UAE, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Chairman Sanjeev Churiwala said on Thursday. This could make cricketers from the two nations available for their teams' opening IPL matches.

Australia will compete in a limited-over series in England, which will conclude on September 16. A day later, players from the two countries are scheduled to arrive in UAE via chartered flights, Churiwala stated. The IPL commences on September 19.

“Players from England and Australia would already be in a bio-bubble as they would be playing the series there (in England). The BCCI Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) states that they (England and Australia players) can participate without quarantine, provided they satisfy certain very, very stringent measures. They have to continue to be in the bio-secure bubble (in England). From the bio-secure bubble, they have to go straight to the charter flights without getting into the extensive immigration procedures, and without getting in touch with the general public.

The BCCI is working with various cricket boards to ensure that this can be done. Given that they (players from the England-Australia series) are already serving a bio-bubble requirement, it will be an extended bio-bubble for them,” Churiwala stated in a web conference.

RCB has three Australian cricketers (Aaron Finch, Kane Richardson and Joshua Philippe) and one English player (Moeen Ali) in its squad. As for the other foreign players, Churiwala stated that South Africa players (A.B. de Villiers, Chris Morris and Dale Steyn) will arrive in UAE on August 22, and the lone Sri Lankan in the squad (Isuru Udana) will arrive on September 1.

Churiwala added that Indian players and support staff - who are under quarantine in a Bengaluru hotel - will travel to UAE on Friday. Upon their arrival in Dubai, they will undergo a six-day isolation and three Covid-19 tests before entering the bio-bubble.

RCB has booked a full wing at the Waldrof Astoria Dubai Palm Hotel for its players and staff. The gym, team room, AC duct and restaurant will be reserved for exclusive use of the team. All hotel staff and service members will stay in-house and will be tested. Gym and other essential equipment will be carried from India, Churiwala stated.

https://sportstar.thehindu.com/cric...stralia-sanjeev-churiwala/article32404468.ece

This will only be possible if the bio secure bubble can be extended to the airports.

Have a feeling that there is no right and wrong about this - but ICC should publish some guidelines for this so its consistent.

Shady match-fixers will find it harder to approach cricketers in the Indian Premier League's coronavirus bubble, Indian cricket's anti-corruption chief has told AFP. The world's richest Twenty20 league will start September 19 in the United Arab Emirates after being moved because of the coronavirus crisis. Confining the eight teams to "bio-bubbles" will also help anti-corruption officials "keeping a watch on people" said Ajit Singh, chief of the anti-corruption unit at the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

"Controlling interaction between players and others will not be very difficult."

Cricket has become a key battleground in the fight against spot-fixing – illegal bets on a certain part of the action, such as how many runs are scored in an over.

Singh said he will assign two liaison officers to monitor each team during the 53-day tournament.

Players' Twitter comments will also be watched for coded messages, he added.

The money-spinning IPL has been plagued by corruption and match-fixing controversy since it started in 2008.

Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan was suspended last year for failing to report corrupt approaches, one of them over the IPL.

A 2013 scandal caused the Chennai Super Kings, led by ex-India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, and Rajasthan Royals to be suspended in 2015 for two seasons.

The scandal saw Shanthakumaran Sreesanth, a Rajasthan Royals bowler, being banned for life along with teammates Ankit Chavan and Ajit Chandila over the illegal spot-fixing and betting scandal.

The three were arrested in 2013 with scores of bookies as part of a probe into allegations that players had underperformed in return for cash. Sreesanth's ban was revoked by India's top court last year.

The T20 league is a huge revenue earner for the BCCI. Before the virus it was estimated to generate more than $11 billion for the Indian economy each year.

Teams have already started arriving in the UAE where players will be under a week's isolation before they start training.

The games will only be played in Sharjah, Abu Dhabi and Dubai while a normal season in India sees more than 10 venues used.

https://sports.ndtv.com/ipl-2020/co...hwart-ipl-match-fixers-bcci-acu-chief-2283214

Have a feeling that there is no right and wrong about this - but ICC should publish some guidelines for this so its consistent.

I dont think ICC can really do anything in this matter as IPL, as it is a domestic tournament and comes solely under BCCI’s jurisdiction. Im pretty sure BCCI will follow very strict regulations( UAE might have some regulations laid down as well) and will do everything to ensure safety of everyone (players, officials, broadcasting team, commies, security team etc)

Its not about jurisdiction.

Consider ICC playing the role of WHO.

Cricketers involved here are international cricketers so ICC can tell us the proper guidelines for a Bio-Secure environment and of course the Boards can decide to implement that or not.

The only country which has an idea of this is UK (or England) - UAE have not hosted a tournament so far.

_99344096-e3b3-11ea-aae4-2b178f7f5029.jpg

Rajasthan Royals arrive in Dubai!

Interesting attire.

Cricketers involved here are international cricketers so ICC can tell us the proper guidelines for a Bio-Secure environment and of course the Boards can decide to implement that or not.

The only country which has an idea of this is UK (or England) - UAE have not hosted a tournament so far.

An UK based company Restrata will be building bio-secure Bubble for the IPL in UAE.

According to NN Sports, the first 5 matches of IPL 2020 would be:

MI Vs CSK - 19th September.
DC Vs KXIP - 20th September.
RCB Vs KKR - 20th September.
SRH Vs MI - 21st September.
CSK Vs RR - 22nd September.

According to InsideSport, there will be no relaxation in quarantine period for Australian and England players.

The same company which worked on creating the bio secure bubble for England pakistan series is the one which will be in charge for doing the same for IPL

Source

https://www.timesofindia.com/sports...re-bubble-in-uae/amp_articleshow/77646079.cms

The company, which specialises in "covering last-mile safety, security and mobility operations", had worked with the International Olympic Committee (IOC) during the London Games in 2012 and most recently was hired by the England & Wales Cricket Board (ECB) to build the bio-secure bubble for the series against the West Indies and Pakistan, when cricket returned after a five-month break.

An UK based company Restrata will be building bio-secure Bubble for the IPL in UAE.

its the same company which has built the bio secure bubble for the current england pakistan series and previous england west indies series

Questions over quarantine: Rules must apply to England and Australia players too, say franchises

MUMBAI: Twenty four hours after Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) chairman Sanjeev Churiwala said that players from England and Australia, who will be arriving in the UAE to play the Indian Premier League (IPL) immediately after the white-ball series in England, should not undergo the mandatory one-week quarantine, some other franchises have raised objections.

"Why is it not being made mandatory for all players who will arrive later (read: English and Australia players who will finish playing a white-ball series by September 16) to undergo the compulsory one-week quarantine? The rules have to apply to everyone", two franchises told TOI.

RCB believes players arriving from England can avoid the mandatory quarantine because they'll be switching from one bio-secure bubble to another, provided they satisfy certain "stringent measures".

"So? Even we (other franchises) quarantined in India before heading to the UAE. But we're going by the rules and quarantining again in UAE for a week. That should be the case with all," some other franchises insist.

For instance, players participating in the final of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) will fly to the UAE immediately after September 10 and BCCI believes they should undergo the mandatory quarantine period of one week and do all the relevant tests. "Shouldn't the same apply to everyone else? If you're going to stay only within the franchise bubble and not interact with others in general at stadiums, etc, then it's a different matter. Else, everybody should follow a single-point mandate," some IPL stakeholders say.

This comes at a time when the BCCI has sent out a circular to all eight franchises, who have either already flown to the UAE in the last 24 hours or are gearing up for it. Signed by the IPL's executive head, the circular states: "We would like to share information on the measures being put in place to minimize the risk of the introduction of Covid-19 into the League and to protect all participants. These measures must be coupled with the cooperation, commitment and adherence of all the participants".

The circular aims to address multiple policy matters related to Covid and issues directions on the protocols that teams will have to observe. While the circular is still being read and dissected by the franchises, confusion continues to prevail on certain other fronts.

Despite the teams having landed there, the schedule of the IPL is still not out, even when it's ready. "The BCCI has not informed us anything. No meetings have been held between the franchises and the IPL GC," they say, and insist they have multiple queries on which clarity has to be sought.

Between Thursday and Friday, when the teams began flying to the UAE, it became apparent how franchises had done their own "homework" though in terms of precautions to be taken for safe travel. Some teams, in fact, took the flights wearing PPE kits after having undergone severe quarantine over the last two weeks. "These precautions are necessary. Hope everybody is made to respect it," they said.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...s-too-say-franchises/articleshow/77686677.cms

One mistake could “spoil” the entire tournament, Royal Challengers Bangalore captain Virat Kohli on Monday warned his colleagues in the IPL’s first virtual team meeting, while imploring them to do all they can to keep the bio-bubble secure.

It was a team meeting like no other but Kohli meant business straightaway as he urged his colleagues to strictly follow the protocols put in place by the authorities in the UAE, the venue for the upcoming edition of IPL, in view of COVID-19 pandemic.

“We have followed what’s been told to us and I would expect everyone to be on the same page in terms of securing the bubble at all times and making sure that nothing is compromised,” Kohli said.

”Because I think one mistake by any one of us could literally spoil the whole tournament. And none of us want to do that.”

RCB’s director of cricket operations Mike Hesson, who was present in the meeting along with head coach Simon Katich, spoke about the consequences of violating the rules after Kohli posed him a question.

“It (violation) will be dealt with very seriously. For accidental breach, players will be removed and sent into isolation for seven days and then come back only after he tests negative.

“There will be strong consequences if players chose to do that (violate protocols). Players will sign a document which explains the consequences,” Hesson said.

Kohli added, “We have to understand that we need to protect the bubble.”

- Good team culture -

The Indian captain stressed on the need to develop a good team culture from the first day.

“I can’t wait to get to our first practice session, something that we all are going to cherish. An opportunity to create a good team culture from Day one.

“For me it’s all about what can I do to create an environment where everyone feels a part of the team equally and everyone feels responsible for where we want to go equally,” he said.

“And I think all of us have to contribute towards that. Firstly the seniors in the team. So lets start things on the right note.”

Moved out of India due to the pandemic, the 13th edition of the world’s biggest T20 league will be played across the three venues of Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah in the UAE from September 19 to November 10.

At the start of the meeting, a video of which the franchise shared on its Twitter handle, Kohli said, “From my end it’s very awkward to have a welcome meeting like this but (this is) something that we probably have to get used to quite a bit.

“I think we have done pretty well to Dubai firstly safe and sound.”

The players are currently undergoing a mandatory six-day quarantine which is in line with the Standard Operating Procedure issued by the BCCI.

As per the protocols, RT-PCR tests are to be conducted on everyone on Day 1, 3 and 6 of the quarantine, after which all the players who return negative for all the three tests will enter the tournament bio-bubble.

Subsequently, they will be tested every fifth day of the tournament.

The players and support staff were already tested multiple times before departure for the UAE.

https://sportstar.thehindu.com/cric...o-bubble-covid-tests-bcci/article32430581.ece

Chris Gayle will now join his team after testing negative for Coronavirus. Gayle had attended the birthday party of Usain Bolt, who has tested positive for Coronavirus

IPL 2020: NADA officials to conduct doping tests in UAE

Three high-ranking National Anti-Doping Agency (NADA) officials, along with six empanelled Dope Control Officers (DCOs), will be travelling to the UAE for sample collection during this year’s Indian Premier League (IPL), which starts on September 19.

According to sources in the NADA, the agency is targeting collection of at least 50 samples during In-Competition (IC) and Out-of-Competition (OOC) testing during the 60-match event which will run till November 10.

“NADA will have nine people in UAE and they will also take help of the UAE’s National Anti Doping Organization if they require further manpower, in this case chaperones who help in sample collection,” a senior BCCI official told PTI.

NADA will have three teams with one official and two DCOs at each of the three venues along with local NADO staff in each of the units.

He, however, didn’t divulge whether the entire cost will be borne by NADA or BCCI will share bill as it is being held outside India.

In India, it’s the NADA which bears the cost of collection, transportation and testing.

“The NADA officers will be asked to stay in the BCCI created bio bubble,” a source informed.

The NADA has asked BCCI to prepare five separate Dope Control Stations (DCS) in the UAE -- three at the match venues in Abu Dhabi, Sharjah and Dubai along with two at the practice facilities in Dubai and Abu Dhabi.

While the sample numbers may be limited but it is expected that the BCCI might collect a few blood samples too as transportation from Dubai to the WADA-accredited lab in Doha will be easier.

Logistics will be a lesser hassle in the UAE compared to India where rising cases of COVID-19 have caused operational difficulties for NADA.

https://sportstar.thehindu.com/cric...ndian-premier-league-news/article32436007.ece

The Board of Control for Cricket in India has still not finalised the schedule of the Indian Premier League 2020 that starts September 19 in the United Arab Emirates.

Sportstar understands that the delay is due to the different rules in Dubai and Abu Dhabi. There are travel restrictions for the spike in COVID-19 cases in the region. While entering Abu Dhabi, one has to undergo mandatory rapid tests, and since a couple of teams — Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders — are in Abu Dhabi, the BCCI is in talks with the government to ensure smooth movement.

In case there is no headway, there were speculations that the initial stage of the tournament could only be held in Dubai and Sharjah. However, it is believed that for now, the Board plans to restrict the number of matches in Abu Dhabi.

Sharjah is 55 kms and an hour’s drive from Dubai with no restrictions. To reach Abu Dhabi from Dubai, 150 kms away, one needs a permit. IPL Governing Council chairman Brijesh Patel and acting CEO Hemang Amin are already in Dubai to sort things out. They are in regular touch with the Emirates Cricket Board and the authorities to get a clarity on the travel and other protocols.

The IPL Governing Council has ‘informally’ told the franchises about the schedule with Chennai Super Kings taking on Mumbai Indians at the inaugural fixture, possibly in Dubai. The BCCI is trying to sort out a few ‘last minute’ issues before officially releasing the final schedule; even though Patel had said that it should be out by this weekend.

Extreme heat is another reason behind the BCCI deliberating over the double headers. “While the weather is pleasant in the evenings, in the afternoon, the temperature soars. So, efforts are being taken to ensure that we don’t have too many day games, at least in the first leg,” one of the BCCI veterans said.

Some of the players are concerned with the weather. The humidity doesn’t really drop in the evening. The wind is warm; just that the sun disappears around 7.30 pm. "We might have to play at least three day games which will be hard. We have to get used to the heat, but looking forward to the training at the ICC Academy in Dubai," said a player.

As a tradition, the board usually invites the state association officials for the inaugural ceremony and the final. But that won’t be possible this time around due to travel restrictions and the bio-bubble. In a letter to state units, BCCI secretary Jay Shah has stated: “While I am confident that we will be able to deliver a memorable tournament, I will be approaching the start of the tournament with a heavy heart as your absence would render the opening incomplete.”

He indicated that the board might invite the state units in the later part of the tournament if the situation improves. “I am hopeful that till the time we reach the playoff week, we would have more relaxations on travel and interactions, which would allow us to have you all travel to the UAE,” Shah wrote.

Teams to train

The Dubai-based teams - Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab - could slowly resume their training activities at the ICC Academy in Dubai starting Wednesday, after their mandatory tests are negative. It has been learnt that the activities will be in phased manner, so that teams maintain the social distancing norms and other protocols. Initially, there were talks that teams would only train in Dubai and Abu Dhabi and would travel to Sharjah only on match days. But Mazhar Khan, secretary, Sharjah Cricket Council, indicated that in the current scenario, some of the teams would travel to Sharjah for training.

https://sportstar.thehindu.com/cric...-dhabi-dubai-sharjah-bcci/article32440177.ece

Harry Gurney of KKR has been ruled out of the IPL.

Gurney was signed for 75L INR. IMO, his replacement should be signed from the players currently playing in CPL. I also see KKR doesn't have a back up of Andre Russell. Last year, they had Carlos Brathwaite but he was released and I believe that he couldn't play spin very well and got out to spin too often over the years.

My recommendations for the replacement of Harry Gurney are (Base price 75L INR or less):

1. Scott Kuggleijn (St Lucia Zouks)

As of now, the top wicket taker of CPL 2020. Can bowl at pace and can tonk the ball. Ex CSK player. IMO, the best replacement.

2. Jason Holder (Barbados Tridents)

The Tridents captain. Can hit monster sixes with his 6.8 height, handy with the ball. Ex KKR, CSK player.

3. Kesrick Williams (St Lucia Zouks)

Bowls good change-ups.

4. Ali Khan (Trinbago Knight Riders)

The USA & TKR pacer. Excellent at the death.

5. Naveen-Ul-Haq (Guyana Amazon Warriors)

An emerging Afghan pacer with good change-ups.

In social media, the name of Aussie & Sydney Thunder pacer Daniel Sams who is the top wicket taker of BBL 2019-20 and named in the squad to face England is also mentioned as a replacement of Harry Gurney.

After a change of thought, I would love to see Jason Holder for KKR than Scott Kuggleijn. If not Holder then Kesrick Williams.

Jason Roy has been ruled out of the IPL & Delhi Capitals has signed Daniel Sams as his replacement.

Ben Cutting is an interesting probable name for replacing Harry Gurney in KKR squad. Holder vs Cutting.

A 14-day quarantine rule in Abu Dhabi has put Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Mumbai Indians (MI), the two IPL teams based there, in a spot. While the remaining six teams in Dubai can start training, KKR and MI players need an extra week before they can step out of their rooms. In Dubai, Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab have already begun training, the others are likely to start in the next couple of days.

The reason for KKR and MI spending an extra week without being able to train is that Dubai and Abu Dhabi have different quarantine rules. International travellers getting into Dubai need to have a Covid-19 negative test report from the point of departure and need to be quarantined till the result of the test on arrival, which is usually 48 hours. If they test negative, they don’t need to be isolated. (Full coverage of IPL 2020)

KKR reached Abu Dhabi on August 20 and per IPL’s Standard Operating Procedure should have completed their six-day quarantine on Wednesday. That should have cleared them to be a part of the IPL bio-secure bubble from Thursday and allowed them to start training. That has not happened.

“We are waiting for a go-ahead from our team manager,” said a team official from their hotel in Abu Dhabi on Thursday.

Mumbai Indians reached Abu Dhabi on August 21. Unless exceptions are made or teams shift base, they won’t be able to train till September 2 or September 3.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...i-in-a-spot/story-oCDP5k0FfdLJP6uy4xmMtM.html

Chennai Super Kings, who were expected to kick off their pre-season camp on Friday for the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020, had decided to extend the mandatory six-day quarantine in UAE. Reports now suggest that the franchise took the decision after several members from the CSK contingent tested positive for COVID-19.

As reported by The Times of India, the Yellow Army decided to extend its quarantine as some of the members of the CSK contingent have tested positive for coronavirus. The report added that the members tested positive after their arrival in Dubai.

"Even when football started in Europe, a few players had tested positive. So with eight IPL teams and over 1000 members, this was a possibility. This could have happened to any team. It is just unlucky that it has happened to CSK despite taking all kinds of precautions," a source told TOI on Friday.

The TOI report added that four tests have been done on CSK contingent post their arrival in the UAE on August 21. The result of the fourth test, conducted on Friday, is yet to be known.

On the other hand, sources confirmed to India Today that 12 members of support staff and one pacer have tested positive for coronavirus. The members have now gone into isolation.

No names have been announced so far and an official confirmation is expected soon from the CSK management.

Keeping the coronavirus situation across the world, IPL 2020 was shifted to UAE. The UAE government had issued strict protocols where all franchises arrived in UAE with two Covid-19 negative reports for every member.

After their arrival in UAE, every franchise was asked to stay in a bio-security bubble. Covid-19 tests were conducted on the players on Day1, day 3 as well as day 5.

IPL's first case of Covid-19

As players were practicing in India ahead of departure to UAE, Rajasthan Royals fielding coach Dishant Yagnik was tested positive for COVID-19.

"Hi all, I hv tested COVID +. Pls get tested if you hv been in contact with me in the last 10 days. In line wd BCCI protocols I will be now quarantining for 14 days. I will then need 2 ngtv tests b4 joining the team [MENTION=8098]raja[/MENTION]sthanroyals in UAE. Thx 4 yr blessings & good wishes!" Yagnik tweeted from his account on August 12.

All eight franchises have been staying in different hotels post their arrival in UAE.

Recently, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) captain Virat Kohli had also urged the team-members to strictly follow the protocols issued for the 13th edition.

“We have followed what’s been told to us and I would expect everyone to be on the same page in terms of securing the bubble at all times and making sure that nothing is compromised. Because I think one mistake by anyone of us could literally spoil the whole tournament. And none of us want to do that. We have to understand that we need to protect the bubble. I can’t wait to get to our first practice session, something that we all are going to cherish. An opportunity to create a good team culture from Day 1,” Kohli said.

https://www.timesnownews.com/sports...f-test-positive-for-coronavirus-report/644230

The tests are pointless, if you don't have symptoms, it can lead to fear and disruption of life. If you don't have symptoms and test +ve, you cannot infect others.

Your qualification?

The above is not true. We don’t know enough about this virus. Rest is just speculation.

Doctor Saab can you please enlighten us further on this amazing discovery. Share some studies or sources to back this up?

He is partially right. The chance of a non symptomatic person transmitting the disease is very less.

In a major development, at least 10 members of IPL franchise Chennai Super Kings - including a current India limited-overs bowler and several members of its staff - have tested positive for Covid-19 in Dubai on Friday. The result came out a day after the CSK squad and support staff were tested on Thursday. Although the names are unknown, this seems to be the reason behind CSK delaying the start of their practice – originally scheduled to start Friday – by a few days.

The development has forced CSK to extend the quarantine period till September 1. The report also suggests that the entire CSK contingent has had to undergo a fourth Covid-19 test on Friday to gauge its spread. CSK reached the Emirates on August 21 and as per the protocols dictated by the BCCI, the teams are to undergo three Covid-19 tests before they could start practice.

“Yes, a right-arm medium fast bowler, who has recently played for India, along with a few staff members have tested positive for Covid-19,” a senior IPL source told PTI on conditions of anonymity. “As far as we know, one of the senior-most officials of the CSK management and his wife, and at least two members of their social media team are also Covid-19 positive.”

The results of the test are expected to be out Saturday. This means that CSK will be the last team to hold its team practice, although its players were part of a six-day preparatory camp in Chennai before leaving for the Emirates. MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Piyush Chawla, Deepak Chahar along with bowling coach L Balaji were some of those involved in the camp.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...d-19-report/story-MsJi0Eb9V3nOhFOssRbJ6M.html

Its all about the splashing the Rs 222 crores and flaunting it in front of the rest of the world. Who cares about spreading the virus

This is height of simplicity to think that so many teams and members will somehow be free of the virus given the number of infections in India.

It's unfortunate what has happened, not sure how it will proceed from here.

They were only tested because they were catching an international flight and they were set to take part in a sports tournament.

Same thing with Pak v Eng before the tour.

Makes you wonder how many of us are positive and we don't know about it.

There are probably 750,000 cases a day in reality but we're only reporting 75,000.

It's unfortunate what has happened, not sure how it will proceed from here.

Nothing will happen.

Paisa at stake will ensure that tournament proceeds without a hitch.

There is no such thing as "No-Symptoms".

While Fever, Cough and Pains are most common symptoms, Covid patients may have one of many many other symptoms, some remaining unnoticed.

Secondly, Incubation period varies from person to person.